PENTAX Optio P80 Reviews

Compare prices

Specs

Reviews

Forum

Coupon5

Overall Rating

Design 4.7
Image Quality 4.1
Operability 4.1
Battery 3.4
Portability 4.7
Functionality 3.9
Display 3.9
Grip Performance 3.9
Total 4.1

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 17, 2010
Design 4.0
Image Quality 1.0
Operability 1.0
Battery 1.0
Portability 3.0
Functionality 1.0
Display 1.0
Grip Performance 1.0
Total 1.6

[Not to be used for work!]

"As my title goes, I think this cannot be used for work purpose like product image photos.

I was using Lumix and Exilim, but this camera does not compare

to them in terms of business-use performance.

Pentax does not provide good support service, so my general comments are rather harsh.

Good points and bad points

Good points

Its image stabilization is really powerful.

As for the design, it is thin. And the LCD is wide, so it is easy to view.

Its portability is also on a good side as it is thin.

Bad points

About its battery

The battery runs flat so quickly that I think to myself if it is broken.

Its battery meter starts going down by taking between 30 to 50 photos without flash.

The manufacturer does not recognize this as malfunction.

Image Quality

It has a macro mode, but the noise is really bad when taking close-up photos.

ISO setting has to be brought down to 100, or so much noise gets in the way of the product.

I simply cannot take a close-up photo itself. (Maybe this is the spec of this camera.)

Also, I take photos using a blue background. But wavy lines appear at the back, so
most of the photos are treated as rejects.
It is hard to use because I cannot perform exposure correction in a single operation like others normally allow.

(I can allot only 1 on the green button)

Also, the operation stopped completely when I was in the middle of using.

The support desk did not admit it was malfunction and I was not given a replacement camera,

so this is really inconvenient for me.

Personally, I think the support service is not as great when compared to other brands.

I think there should be no problems when the user wants to take normal photos like landscapes.

My general comment is that my satisfaction level is 1 that is close to 0.
"

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 18, 2010
Design 5.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 5.0
Battery 3.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 5.0
Total 4.6

"Very satisfied "

I have only used DMC-FX30 from Panasonic in the past.
And recently I always take the photos by the camera function of my cell phone, (F-01B, 12.2 Megapixel, 28mm wide-angle).

If I fixed them by using the software, the pictures which were taken by the cell phone camera were good enough for personal use.

I have left my former camera FX30 without using it for more than six months .
When I stopped by KITAMURA the camera shop, I found P80 for 11000 yen and they offered me a trade-in for 500 yen .
So I was surprised with the reasonable price of the digital camera, and I could not help buying it.
Because I have been using the cell phone camera mainly for a long time
I am happy with the price, the number of pixel, and tools.
Even though the image stabilization on the camera is a little bit worse than the one on FX 30 series, it might be the differences between prices. But, the battery in the camera tends to be dead soon.
I think the price deserves the camera in terms of how well the camera is.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 15, 2010
Design 5.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 3.0
Total 4.5

Correcting the camera shake is powerful as I had expected.

I bought at the end of last year.

I like image quality when I take at an outside in ISO64 and sharp depiction.

Because I used FUJI F31fd for indoor, I did not have chances to take photos.
But I used this one in the indoor this time, so I review.

As reputation, image stabilization was great.
As other reviewers also said, image quality is extremely deteriorated with ISO.
So I took pictures in ISO200 which is the acceptable range.

Although the picture was shaken a bit with the shutter speed for the first image because of lack of my skill,

In general, I could take photos I was happy with.

For the shutter speed on the 2nd and 3rd photos,

(personally) I feel that I took photos that fully satisfied me.

However, this is only the case of still objects, so moving objects do not turn out as cleanly still images

with the above-mentioned shutter speed.

(That is a common sense, I know but...)

But I could confirm that its image stabilization works perfectly even on moving objects with the shutter speed of the 1st photo.
I felt that it was as what all others are saying in review or forum comments.

Its portability is the best kind, and

(Personally, the squeezed design on the sides makes it hard to hold though)

the setting is detailed and it is extremely easy to use for this level of camera.

Maybe it is a fate of thin models, that is what I tell myself, so I accept it is what it is.

(Still, I can take 200 photos easily because I use it without flash.)

I bought it for 15,000 yen.

But it is now even lower and costs about 11,000 yen. That's a bargain.

This is a price that makes me want to consider getting another one as an extra. Strongly recommended.

This time around, my review is mainly about its image stabilization.

But I personally think that this camera's best part is the image quality of outdoor photos when taken on low ISO.

You could think that it comes with a powerful image stabilizer in addition.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 12, 2010
Design 5.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 5.0
Total 4.8

It takes good pictures.

"I bought Casio Z750 four years before then took photos of party events but they usually ended up useless jigged images.
Looking for better camera to match my purpose, Sony WX1 seems to be the option. But its price is almost double of Optio P80 and Optio P80 seems to have nice image stabilizer, fascinating wide Angle 27.5 mm, fast lens F2.6.

It's little too small but so make it possible to take a natural figure of subject.
I've just attended the funeral of my relative with it inside my pocket then snapped photos mainly relatives as no one took a record. Surprisingly no jiggled pictures (useless picture ever) without flash light. Well clear picture in their face indeed. AWB should be adjusted frequently for better one.

If you have no need the rich function, simple usage is enough, I definitely recommend this with price 11 thousand yen. "

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 13, 2010
Design 5.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 5.0
Total 5.0

I always carry it with me.

"I was looking for a camera that is ""light, thin and with good photographic image"" and finally found OPTIO P80.

In actual use, I came to know that it was all-round.

The features of ""optical zoom ratio being about 4, lens brightness F=2.6, and wide-angle 28mm"" are satisfying and convenient in actual use.

I have IXY2000, too, which is slightly heavy to carry in the pocket, and therefore I purchased this P80, too.

In trial photographing in the room at the start, when I confirmed the image in the LCD screen of PC,
""Was this purchase a failure?"" I thought like that, but then I became aware of the characteristic that ""ISO is easy to go up in preventing blurring,"" which changed my evaluation.

I set the green button at ISO adjustment now and photograph at less than ISO200.

It was an example where we could know the trouble of the development team who had focused on the preventive measures of blurring considering women photographers.

The lens is so bright that the night scene comes out well.

Not to mention that I can make a good refreshing photograph at ISO64 in the outdoors.
It is always in my pocket now.

A camera that you can use anytime and make ""good images"" is useful very much.

The IXY2000 is in my car and I use it now for the photography at the time of moving by car.

The image is good and it has good points as a product, so I cannot part with this.

As for my compact cameras, this ""double feature"" use seems to continue for a while.

However, should sell this camera at this price, we are in a terrible times.

Well, Pentax, I will be counting on you in future, too."

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jul 5, 2010
Design 4.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 3.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 4.0

A camera to carry around always

I'm a strange middle-aged man who runs around mountains with the camera.
My purpose to use the camera is to talke pictures of nature easily in the mountain.
While using Canon S90, I always looked for a simple and convenient camera.
Finally, I bought this one online for ten thousand yen.
A good thing is ,definitely, its portability.
This light, thin, small camera is unrivale is incomparable!
This is really 'runner-friendly' camera.
As for Image quality, it has any problem.
You can take beautful photos.
The color representation outdoors is also natural.
The problem is the LCD when taking pictures.
When you take photos indoors, some purple lines appear on the parts illuminated with light (from windows and doors) In other respects, I give average score.
Overall evaluation
It's more than sufficient for a ditigal camera of this price.
It's portable and it makes it easy to take anywhere.
If you want to check the photos taken by the camera, please look at the following blog.

http://ramu007.blog2.fc2.com/blog-entry-48.html

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Aug 29, 2010
Design 5.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 5.0
Battery 3.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 3.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 4.1

Beautiful even when taking photos with auto

[Design] I chose white.
A quiet friendly design.
Although it's not a luxury, it's favorably elegant and clean.
It's good that fingerprints and dirt doesn't stand out.
[Quality] I rated it at 4, but placed at 4.4.
Auto white balance, spits out a pretty good color.
In the dark, it's likely to become more than iso400 when in ISO auto, like tinting orange, but it tends to get noisy, since I often hear blur prevention, no-flash shooting in 剝I think is what they are.
[Operability]
Good. I mostly use AutoPict.
As it doesn't have many funtions, it's easy to figure it out.
I appreciate the 2-second self timer and green button (in my case, ISO setting).
[Battery]
Not strong. Rather weak.
You can buy a reasonable backup battery from other companies.
You should take it with you.
[Portability] Thin and light -- very good.
It doesn't feel heavy when you hang around your neck.
It doesn't bother you when you put it into your pocket.
It's fitting for carrying around every day, and it surprisingly takes good shoots.
[Functionality]
Even though it doesn't feature many functions, it can add special effects (pinhole camera, print club style).
The video has some noise, and the sound is normal, but it's easy to switch to video, so you will have a chance to record unexpectedly.
I use it quite often.
[LCD]Normal.
[Hold]Nomal.
It causes no issues while shooting.
The flash position is adequate as it doesn't get in the way of your fingers.
It takes great photos in well-lit places (the blue sky is its speciality).
In dark places, it works with its strong anti-shaking function.
Even with no flash and with parameters at hand, the image doesn't get blurry while it's not of high quality.
It's not perfect, but it may be more useful than a digital single lens camera, except for telescope.
It's hard to believe it only costs 10,000 yen.

Good Review

Page 1 of 1

  • 1

Latest Reviews for Digital Cameras

The good thing in using this is very nice to bring around wherever you go especially if you travel a lot this is a good compact camera and it has good quality shots when you use it parang kang ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.1
  • Review by Jake adventure Time
  • Date : Apr 2, 2018

Better kesa sa ini-expect ko. Mas maraming functions kesa sa Pentax kesa sa customer support nito. Halimbawa ay yung dust shake-off na function ay hindi naka-indicate sa manual pero included ito. ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by Carl Marte
  • Date : Mar 26, 2018

First to use this and I really fell in love already, sobrang ganda ng mga shots ko, ang lilinaw, okay din ang quality ng video niya, most important of all waterproof ito kaya kahit nasa beach or pool ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.5
  • Review by shimmer
  • Date : Mar 13, 2018
View Mode: PC | Mobile