Nissan Serena Reviews

Nissan Serena van L_1

Nissan Serena 4th Generation (MkIV C26 Series) 2010-
  • Nissan Serena van S_1
  • Nissan Serena van S_2
  • Nissan Serena van S_3
  • Nissan Serena van S_4
  • Nissan Serena van S_5
  • Nissan Serena van S_6
  • Nissan Serena van S_7
  • Nissan Serena van S_8
More Photos
Price(New)
---
  • Production 1991 - present
  • Nissan Serena belongs to the class of van based on a mid-engine layout and is installed with Rear Wheel Drive (RWD) and 4WD system.
  • The current generation model is powered by a 2.0-liter inline four Nissan MR engine having direct fuel injection and Xtronic CVT transmission.
  • With a seating capacity of 8 it has body dimensions of 4.77m X 1.73m X 1.87m, 2.86m wheel base and 15.2 km/L fuel economy.

New & Used prices

Models by year

Reviews

Forum

Overall Rating

exterior 4.5
interior 4.2
engine performance 3.8
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.3
fuel efficiency 3.7
Total 4.1

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 27, 2017
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 1.0
travelling performance 1.0
ride quality 2.0
fuel efficiency -
Total 2.6

replacement

Thinking replacing a minivan which I drove for 7 years, I tried Voxy, Serena HS and Stepwgn CS.

<exterior>
HS is cool. I like this the best. I decided on this for it.

<interior>
It has high-end feel to it. Good.

<engine performance>
I cannot believe how sluggish it is at start. It doesn't accelerate enough for the amount I press on the accelerator. When I press the accelerator pedal more, the engine roars, which makes me disappointed.

<drivability>
It wobbles at curves and feels soft. The steering wheel is light but it is too light. It is not fun to drive (I am not such a good driver anyway, though.)

<comfort>
It wobbles, so those on the second row might get motion sickness. I don't like its height, either.

<overall>
I like the look of the exterior and interior, but I was not happy with its run especially how it starts and the engine sound. I wonder why people give it 5 stars. It definetly is better to try and compare. This was not fun to drive at all.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 20, 2017
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 2.0
travelling performance 3.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 3.7

The look is perfect.

I did a test drive.
Other than the price, engine, drivability, acceleration, noise and steering response, it was very good. As for ride quality, it cannot be helped with this chassis.

It starts terribly.
A sales rep said it is made to be so for fuel consumption.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 19, 2017
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 3.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency -
Total 4.0

I'm very happy with this.

My previous car was a 10-year-old Stepwgn (2.5K RG3). This is a comparison with that.

<exterior>
The face is different from C26. I prefer this look, and this is one of the reasons why I got this.

<interior>
I have no complaint for this class car. You can arrange the seats to suit a family with three children.
Compared to my previous car, the floor is not low, and I have to be careful in getting in and out. I think you'll get used to it as the time goes by.

<engine performance>
The acceleration response at start is not as good my previous car or cars from other manufacturers, but it really doesn't matter as I drive fuel efficiently and slowly.

<drivability>
I am not fully happy with the road noise of the tires. It is easy to drive at corners in town and on expressways. To accelerate form low speed, you need to press the accelerator hard, but it is OK for mid to high speed.

<comfort>
No problem.

<fuel efficiency>
I don't know the average as I only got it delivered recently, but it is about 8.5-14km/l.

<overall>
Pilot V1.0 function is very convenient for driving on charged expressways. I can drive 50% of the time with the controller on the right of the steering wheel. Of course, I operate on the brake and the accelerator to accelerate or decelerate when I want to, but when you think this is only a system that supports your driving, this makes driving a lot easy.
However, at corners on expressways, it doesn't recognize if the corners is too sharp or when the white line is not there, so just think this is only a support.
I have to press the accelerator harder than with my previous car, so I think I need to get used to it, too.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 19, 2017
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 3.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 4.0

Overall, this is the best!

I have driven this for about 3 months, traveling 1500km.
I have tried this in town and on expressways.

<exterior>
It stands out in a good way, it doesn't stand out in a bad way.

The door at the back is separted, which I find hard to use.

<interior>
It doesn't look too luxurious, which I find good. I can feel comfortable.

Its roominess is more than enough.

<engine performance>
It shouldn't be that different from its rivals for its output and body weight, but because of the CVT setting, is doesn't respond sportily.
The manufacturer says it is made to be so considering driving with many passengers, but I would say it is for better fuel efficiency.

As for idle stop, it is good to leave it on. With ECO, it is better to turn it off so that it picks up speed with no problem when I press the accelerator slowly. My previosu model was sports model but I have no complaints with this.

<drivability>
It drives strongly in mountains, but when I hit the gas at curves, passengers on the third row screamed. It is more pleasant not to drive like that.

You can drive this feeling safe on expressways if you stay under 110km/h. The suspension is firm.

<comfort>
Because it is tall, it has good view; it gives me sense of liberation, which makes me comfortable. I can relax.

<satisfaction>
All in all, this is the best!

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 2, 2017
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 3.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.2

I replaced C26HS later model with this.

I got it delivered in late December let year. I've been driving this for a month (1300km.) I am comparing it with C26.

<exterior>
C26 looks like Elgrand, whereas C27 looks more radical. Everyone has different taste, but I find it cool.
The rear looks more sedate than its front. The dual rear door is more usable than I expected.

<interior>
With C26, I thought the meter graphical, but that was about it. With C27, it has a display in the meter to show a lot of information. Along with ProPilot switches around the steering wheel, this makes it look cool.
Speedometer looks too simple.
It would be better to enable the GPS monitor to show around the view image. I got it done at the dealer before delivery.
The meter hoods now are lower, which gives better view.
As for the dashboard, C26 was plasticky overall, but this one has leather parts, which enhances high-end fell.
The first row seats are narrower with narrower armrest. Having said that, it made the part you can walk through wider, which I find good.
The second row now adopted different seatbelt system, which allows me to leave the car seat on. I like it. As for the legroom, it is roomier even when you don't have to slide it to the back.
I haven't used the third row. It has been folded since I got it delivered. The luggage room is the same as C26, but there is no handle on the lid for the space under the floor of the luggage room, which makes it difficult to use.

<drivability>
It is more sluggish than C26 at start... It doesn't pick up speed if I operate the accelerator like I did with C26.
It feels similar to when you decelerate at 3rd till just before it stops or when you start at 2nd with cars with manual transmission. I know they chose this setting attaching importance to fuel consumption, but I fell it would be more fuel efficient if it picked up speed to the target speed quickly and the drived can ease off on the accelerator.
The body is more rigid with less roll.

<comfort>
Compared to C26, even the sound of the door shut is different. It feels more luxurious.
It is a lot quieter inside. This probably is thanks to the better rigidity.
Because I only sit at the driver seat, I don't know about other seats.

<fuel efficiency>
It is about the same as C26. It doesn't reach two digit for driving in town and 12-14km/l on expressways.

<overall>
I highly recommend this for its design, function and equipment. When I got C26, I got it for my family. With C27, though, my love of driving got back. This is very fun to drive.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 18, 2017
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 4.2

This is a well-balanced car.

<exterior>
Cool.
I chose red (one tone), It is easy to find when I park it at a car park of a shopping mall. I have never seen the same color in town, which I like the best about this car. I want the rear design to be better, but all in all, this is well done.

<interior>
I am not happy that the center console is poking our. It is not luxurious, but it is not cheap either.

<engine performance>
There is no benefit of hybrid other than the engine sound when it restarts from idle stop being quiet. Many people say it starts sluggishly, but I don't feel so. Maybe they fixed the program to improve? My family say that it would be dangerous if it accelerated more.

<drivability>
I was not happy with its steering being too light, but I got used to it right away. steering is not quick, but it has no problem for traveling at decent speed.
I think its limit is not high, but I don't try driving fast in mountains with a minivan anyway.

<comfort>
I think it is quiet. I tried Noah and Stepwgn, too, but Serena was the quietest. Especially on expressways, it is as quiet as a luxury car once it reaches to the cruising speed. I cannot hear wind noise either. I can still talk to the people on the second row when driving at 100km/h.

<fuel efficiency>
11-13km/l on local roads. 15-16km/l on expressways.

<overall>
Serena has many support function for the driver such as Pro Pilot, automatic brake hole, automatic parking brake. It makes driving a lot easier. It is not stressful to go for a long distance travel with my family. This is a well balanced car. Especially, people say they envy the look of this car.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 14, 2017
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 3.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 4.0

High completion level as a family minivan.

I replaced Tiida with this. I mainly use this for going back to my parents' house or for going out. I wanted a car that I can easily travel long distance.
The reasons I got this are
- a lot of equipment
- comfort
- Pro Pilot
- my wife liked it.
Because my wife drives it, too, I chose optional equipment to suit her needs.

<exterior>
It is well thought. I especially like the design of the rear door. No complaints. 4 stars.

<interior>
The instrument panel has both enough storage and design as a family car. I am impressed with the design of A pillars. Dual back door and comfort package (USB and table) are very convenient.
It would have been better if they could have an armrest each for the second row seat. I know it is difficult to do so, though.

<engine performance>
The sluggishness it had has been improved. It might be because my body has learned how much I should press on the accelerator. Acceleration is not as bad as others say. This is enough and necessary for my usage.
However, the sound quality of the engine and sound proofing are not so good. Also, I am not fully happy with this in terms of innovation. Three stars.

<drivability>
It does feel the center of gravity is high. It rolls at sharp curves, but it does hold; I don't feel that scared.

The straight-line stability is good.
Good rigidity and HS specialized suspension are working effectively.

<comfort>
It has sense of openness, and it has rigidity with its upper body, so it is pleasant.
Seat is well made, so I don't get tired much. It is not too fluffy or too hard; it is just right. However, it cannot reduce vibration fully, so I feel it sometimes, which I find disappointing. (Especially on the second row.)
Having said that, I am very happy with it, so I give it 5 stars.

<fuel efficiency>
8-9km.l in town, 13-14km/l on expressways. It is reasonable for this engine and body. I don't drive this that often, so I don't mind it.

<overall>
All in all, I am happy with this.

I feel this is a car for female drivers, so if you go for this car, you have to forget about complaints you have when looking at this car from men's perspective.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 12, 2017
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.3

Amazingly well-balanced

My previous car was C25 Highway star. This is a review at traveling 2,000km after delivery.

<exterior>
It feels its sharpness and grade have been improved. Not too flashy, not too plain. It would be good for men or women, old or young. I personally find it good.

<interior>
It looks more luxurious around the front seat. The second and the third row seem to remain the same.
Because I need to put two child car seats on the second row, I found inconvenient to get to the third row. Now the seatbelts are integrated with the seat, and there is a seat slide pedal for the second row and the sliding door switches are on the third row. It got a lot more convenient.
Dual back door is very light to handle. I can easily access to the luggage in the luggage room without worrying about things get fallen. Very convenient. I use luggage room more often.

<engine performance>
It is not good or bad. Having said that, though the model itself hasn't been changed, 80% of the parts are newly designed, and it is said to be quite an improved version with sodium filled valve and spray coated bore.
After the engine is warmed up, idling vibration is very small. It has enough torque and is practical.
What I find disappointing is that the sound proofing for high frequency sound is not so good including CVT, and we can hear it inside the car. It is not that bad, but this sound gets annoying at low speed, which makes its impression worse. Skyline's 2L turbo charged engine is of Daimler, but it is still noisy. This is what Nissan is poor at.

<drivability>
It steers quickly and obediently. Also, it doesn't work oddly for the left and right, front and back, so it is easy to drive and you don't get tired easily. E53 Elgrand has similar feeling. Both are FF, but feel like FR. It feels as if it turns with its waist. It is easy to drive.
Steering gets light at high speed with C25, and it got difficult to drive. On the other hand, C27's steering is sedate, and it traces the line accurately, so I can drive feeling safe.

Pro Pilot relieves stress in driving long distance. Once you experience it, you cannot do without. It is cruise control, so if the speed is too fast, it cannot turn well, and if the setting for the distance from the car in front is short, it brakes suddenly. It is just like people driving. At this stage, users need to understand this in using this. The manufacture is not informing its users enough.

<comfort>
At low speed, because the air pressure is high, it does feel a little rough though it is not unpleasant. It is very smooth at high speed, flat and comfortable. Some people seem not happy about its center of gravity because of it floor being high, but as long as you drive it like a minivan, you wouldn't feel its high center of gravity.
With C25, I found the wind sound from certain speed annoying, but with C27, the noise while cruising is little. The noise and vibration while cruising are very good compared with other makes.

<fuel efficiency>
It is what it said on the meter, but it is about 10km/l for commuting 25km for one hour. It has done 16.7km/l for traveling 200km (80% of the time on expressways.) It is quite good. With cruising (ECO mode), it seems it does good.

<overall>
It is well balanced all along for a minivan as a family car. This certainly is not a driver's car, but if you seek comfort for all the passengers including the driver, I can recommend this to you.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 5, 2017
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 4.3

My impression after delivery.

<exterior>
I chose Highway Star. I like its look, so I am happy with it.

<interior>
There are many choices in seat arrangements, It is useful that I can slide the seat without taking off the child car seat.

<engine performance>
I was ready for it, but it feels sluggish at start probably because of CVT.

<drivability>
I haven't driven on expressways, but I don't feel it is powerless.

<comfort>
Seat is easy to sit. My daughter sleeps comfortably.

<fuel efficiency>
I would be happier if it was better.

<overall>
Its not-so-good fuel consumption and sluggishness in acceleration cannot be avoided because it is not a newly designed engine. I am happy with this other than that.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 4, 2017
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 3.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 4.3

I got this falling in love with Pro Pilot.

We are a family of four with two children. This is usually used when my wife goes shopping and for leisure on weekends.
I chose Serena because I thought Pro Pilot would reduce my fatigue from driving when I go long distance travel when I go back to my parents' or for leisure.

<exterior>
How you see its exterior is up to each person's taste.
In terms of functionality, the half of the rear door opens, which is very convenient. At first, I was not sure about it, but I now only use it when I go shopping. It is light for opening or closing, and I don't have to worry about the space at the back. I usually don't open it fully.
Kids have no problem in opening and closing the sliding doors , and I don't have to worry that the doors damage the cars parked next. It was a right choice.

<interior>
It has drink holders and storage here and there. Also, the seat at the center is useful. You can arrange it to be able to walk through or make it bench seat.
You need to decide when you purchase with Noah Voxy and Stepwgn, whereas you can change according to the situation, which I find good.

<engine performance>
At first, I thought it was sluggish, but it basically depends on how you work on the accelerator; it picks up speed when you give it a good press. When you use kickdown, it accelerates enough.
Having said that, it is a minivan, and I usually drive slowly and relaxed, so starting sluggishly is totally fine.

<drivability>
Well, it is a minivan, so I shouldn't evaluate this like I do a sports car.
Having said that, because it is a M class minivan, I am not happy that it lacks in quietness on expressways. When it drove at 100km/h, the wind sound and road noise are noisy, so I need to turn the volume up of the audio. This is the difference with Alphard, Velfire and Elgrand.

Having said that, Pro Pilot is amazingly useful. Lane keeping assist system has high performance, too. So Other than sharp curves or narrow tunnels, I leave driving to Pro Pilot. With Shin-Tomei expressways, I can keep driving only with Pro Pilot unless I overtake. I get stuck in traffic jams on expressways when I go for a family trip or when I go home, but all I need to do is to press the button, so I don't get stressed much. I can stretch and relax while in a driver seat, so if you have drink, food and some sort of entertainment to kill time, it is perfect. You have to keep an eye to the front, though.

<comfort>
It is softer and more comfortable than a sports car. It has high view point, which makes driving easier. It has high ceiling and is roomy, so my wife and children are happy with it.

<fuel efficiency>
Not good. It usually does a short trip of several kilometers for grocery shopping, and the area we live in is hilly, so it is about 10km/l. It does about 14km/l on expressways. Because I only drive about 7,000km a year, I am not worried about fuel efficiency at all. I cannot get the money's worth even if I go for full hybrid or an electronic car.

<overall>
Driving support system develops every day; all the makes introduce new technologies with full model changes in several years. I don't think I would have bought expensive Serena if it hadn't had Pro Pilot. But at this stage, this is the only one.
Serena is a car that both the driver and passengers can be happy.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 22, 2017
exterior 4.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 2.0
travelling performance 1.0
ride quality 2.0
fuel efficiency 2.0
Total 2.3

Passable.

<exterior>
I am not interested in box shaped minivan, so all the cars look the same. This is my company car anyway.

<interior>
It does have decent high-end feel. Passable.

<engine performance>
It does run well.

<drivability>
It rolls a lot and is not stable. It is just a labor to drive this car. Wait a minute, this is a company car; of course it is a labor!

<comfort>
It is too soft. it makes me sick.

<overall>
It is a company car. I definitely won't buy this car.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 3, 2016
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.2

Highway Star 4WD V selection with Safety 2.

It has many storage which I can put a boxed tissue as it is. It has a safety equipment with which it automatically brakes when the sonar detects something moving around the car and shows what it is on the display. This car offers joy of driving, safety and convenience.

As for drivability, the setting of CVT is unexpectedly sporty, and it responds well to the operation on the accelerator. I wish it was milder...

It is big, but because it is angular and has a large glass with little dead angles, it is easy for my wife to drive. I recommend this.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 22, 2016
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.7

After all, I decided on Serena!

<exterior>
It is very well-made, but because I am fussy, I added a lot of optional equipment.

<interior>
It is well done. I got MOP GPS system with rear monitor with this and with the car before, but its memory has got changed and not it has functional restrictions. It is disappointing. Also buttons for GPS system and aircon were glossy before, but now they are matte rubber. It is another disappointing point.

<engine performance>
Previous model didn't have s-hybrid, and this later model has s-hybrid. In terms of fuel efficiency, previous model seemed to be better.

<drivability>
This remains to be good.

<comfort>
It is excellent here, too.

<fuel efficiency>
10-12km/l.

<price>
I paid 3,500,000yen after discount because I got too much optional equipment.

<overall>
Awesome.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 28, 2016
exterior 4.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 3.0
travelling performance 3.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 3.3

My impression after driving it for a year

As for exterior, I like the look of lights which uses LED and that like Elgrand does.

The interior may not have much high-end feel when you look closely at it; two types of materials are used and plastic has been used a lot. The worst thing about it is that a little hole on the inside the door (compartment for small items?) has screws as they are without covers, so it is possible that they get rusty.

As for engine performance, it starts slowly, but it has enough torque to make driving easy. It is good enough for driving on expressways when you drive within the speed limit.

The ride quality is rather hard as it has original 16inch tires and it also is affected by the air pressure. I like it and my family says it is quiet.

For fuel efficiency, I think I should have gone for hybrid when I see the fuel consumption in town. Driving only in town for short trip is about 8-9km/l. When I drive longer like in suburban area, it is about 10km/l. If you drive carefully for long distance, it does as good as what it says on the catalogue.
On expressways, because it has big air resistance, when I drop speed a little like 95km/h rather than 100km/h, the fuel consumption gets noticeably better.

As for price, this was the most reasonable among its rival cars when safety equipment included. Discount price is not so helpful as information, so I put 0. You cannot get much discount when you live in rural area.

What I thought after driving it for a year.
Because the design is old, the floor is higher than cars from other makes; it is harder to get in and out. I had a chance to have a look at Esquire after purchasing this, and the difference is clear. I kind of regretted getting this. It squeaks when going over bumps. Especially in winter, it makes strange noise from everywhere of driver seat and passenger seat. Because it is quiet, it stands out. There are some other parts I am not sure with its quality for the price.
I think it is inexpensive price-wise, but because they are releasing new models, it would be better to wait.
If you buy it now, following sales condition, going for Toyota would be a safe choice considering the service at dealers and trade-in price. They release aero version for hybrid, too. But no cars are perfect, so I would like to cherish this car.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 24, 2016
exterior 2.0
interior 1.0
engine performance 1.0
travelling performance 1.0
ride quality 2.0
fuel efficiency 2.0
Total 1.5

It drives sluggishly

This is by far the most sluggish among M class. It starts slowly, which is annoying. The one that works lightly and powerfully in this class is Stepwgn, then Noah brothers hybrid, followed by Noah brothers petrol. Serena is the worst.
The interior is not good as it only can be arranged like captain seat.
It seems the next model will be released in summer. Wait for it.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 17, 2016
exterior 4.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.5

A review after driving it for 6 months

<exterior>
This is my favorite among current minivans. I find it cool. I prefer the design before facelift rather than the design with separated headlights.

<interior>
It looks toned and has high-end feel. I had a good first impression.
Moreover, it has many ways for arranging seats. I like that the second row center seat can slide to the first row. Noah series have function of the second row slides back to the third row, and you can arrange seats in the same way as Serena. Not that I have tried it yet.

<engine performance>
It has smooth acceleration. It feels heavy sometimes, but it cannot be helped as it is a minivan. No complaints.

<drivability>
I like its cruise control system. I only started using it recently, but my legs don't get tired thanks to it. Automated driving system will be put into practice in the future, and I think the safety equipment Serena has is really close to it.

<comfort>
It is quiet and comfortable. It is not noisy on highways. The eye level is high, so it is easy to drive.

<fuel efficiency>
10km/l on average. I think it is good for my way of driving, which is not really economical.

<price>
I think the cost performance is very good. As this is the latter version of this model, it is reasonably priced even with fully equipped.

<overall>
I am happy overall. I got a quote for a hybrid of Noah, but I thought it was rather expensive. Serena's safety equipment is very attractive, and I think I made a right choice.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Dec 27, 2015
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

I have travelled about 100km

These are the impressions I got as a driver when we went out with some of our friends.
I was torn between this and Esquire when I was thinking getting a new car.

This looks cool, and because this is the later model, the ride quality is matured for this size car. If you don't drive a turbo charged car or a car with over 2,000cc displacement, you wouldn't feel this is not powerful enough.

But,

1)If you choose Cross gear package, you cannot choose side curtain airbags! I cannot put safety equipment...
2)Because it was in winter, I drove while wearing winter boots of Sorel (26cm). While travelling about 100km, the tip of my boots got caught a few times... It will be better if you take your shoes off or change your shoes to the ones you find easy to drive with.

This was a good car. I know why it sells well.
But there are some critical problems for me.

Good Review

Maybelle Galas

  • Review by Maybelle Galas
  • Jul 8, 2016
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

gamitin ko ng ilang buwan!

Paminsan-minsan ko lang naman ginagamit tong car na ito pero ito parin ang ganda at ang ayos pa din naman patak buhin nito. Ang makina ay ang tibay-tibay at ang pulido pa kaya hindi ako mababahala sa pag gamit nito. Mabilis na mabilis pa nga itong tumakbo kaya ito ang bagay sa malayuang byahe kaya nga ang galing nito. Okay na okay din naman tong gamitin kasi hindi na ako mahihirapan kaya for how many months gagamitin ko itong sasakyan ko na ito. Pag dating naman sa gasolina ay hindi naman gaano kabilis lumaklak ng gasolina ito kaya ang galing.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Oct 12, 2015
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.7

As a tool, this is the best car

<exterior>
Front looks better than other wagons from other makes. I don't feel like buying Toyota ones because of their looks.
I'm hoping Honda to make better ones in later models.

<interior>
I'm not fussy, and am not asking for a lot. I would say it is right for its price.
Because my children make seats dirty, I put seat covers from Clazzio. That helped in adding high-end feel.
It has a table for the third row, sunshades for the second row and the quality of the seats is high. Considering that, this car is the best as a tool.
Because my previous car was a sedan, this is very spacious.

<engine performance>
No complaints for driving with my family.
It is amazing how much it accelerates just at 1,000rpm. It hardly goes over 2,000rpm.
CVT is working naturally and nicely compared to smaller cars.

<drivability>
This is not important to me.
It stops well, accelerates well and turns well.
If you are not happy with this, go for Odyssey or some other cars.

<comfort>
Not bad. When I went for a test drive, I was impressed with its comfort that is unlike for a box shaped car. That made me feel like buying this car.
When I first got this, it didn't feel as good as when I did the test drive. But the suspensions started to work smoothly after driving 2000km.

<fuel efficiency>
Better than I expected.
It is about 13km/l using idling stop system. It is good for this size car.
On highways, the fuel efficiency gets better if you use cruise control system.
Some reviewers said 5km/l, but that person must be either terrible at driving or living in a huge city with constant traffic jams.

<price>
I actually think it is too cheap. It probably is because there are a lot of competitions going on for these sized cars.
The best cost performance.

<overall>
It is not fun to drive this or anything, but this is a wonderful tool to take my family safely to destinations. It's almost like a tour bus.

I remember one of the TV ads about 10 years ago went 'If a car is just a useful tool, you wouldn't need a coupe'. That 'a useful tool' is Serena.
Serena in the later model is definitely the best car for young families.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Oct 12, 2015
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 4.7

Can be used for various occasions

My previous car was LAFESTA Highway STAR. I have been driving Serena for two and a half years now.

It's easy to grasp the size and the shape of the car as a driver, so it is easy to drive around.
I have to mention about cruise control, too.
These box shaped cars are easily affected by wind, but with Serena, I don't feel that. Even on a winding road on mountains, it drives stably.

One and only disadvantage this car has is fuel efficiency. It's about 7-8km/l in town.

I take my aged mother to a hospital, and auto sliding doors are very useful then.
It drives stably when there are a lot of passengers, too. My coworkers were surprised how spacious inside was.

I hope they add a version like Delica D-5 for snowy roads.

I'm very satisfied with my purchase.

Good Review

Page 1 of 2

Latest Reviews for Cars

<exterior> The color of the bottom part of the bumper and the wheel arch is different from the body color (less glossy.) My car is white pearl. <interior> There leather seat is slippery, and has ...Read more

  • Rating : 2.3
  • Review by Japanese user
  • Date : Mar 11, 2017

Fantastic and extreme, ito ang opinion ko about this car since I owned one. Until now hindi ko pa rin lubos maisip na mayroon na akong nissan GT-R kasi akala ko hindi na matutupad ang ambisyon kong ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.5
  • Review by vien deelan
  • Date : Aug 29, 2018

Maraming features na maipagmamalaki ang nissan GT-R. Magbibigay ako ng konting overview sa isa sa magagandang features taglay ng nissan ko for the sake of others who wants to buy a car for good. This ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.3
  • Review by Oga.Aleg23
  • Date : Aug 22, 2018
View Mode: PC | Mobile