MSI U100 Plus Reviews

Overall Rating

Design 4.5
Processing Speed 4.8
Graphics 4.2
Expandability 3.4
Usability 4.2
Portability 4.4
Battery 3.1
Display 4.2
Total 4.1

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Cesz Lachenal

  • Review by Cesz Lachenal
  • Aug 5, 2014
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 4.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 5.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 3.0
Display 5.0
Total 4.5

MSI U100

[Good]
It is easy to carry with its one kilo gram weight... and very user friendly interface... super portable... not consumable with space... the design is great for beginners... the built in webcam is good though very light sensitive... the display is good though it has a low resolution...

[Bad]
It is not suitable for my hobby which is gaming... easy to went battery low or empty or does not support long life battery system.... Sound is not loud... the keyboard is sensitive and have it repaired on the time igot it since itwas only given by mother which isin the japan... the display has a small resolution...

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Aug 16, 2009
Design 3.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 3.0
Expandability 3.0
Usability 3.0
Portability 3.0
Battery 2.0
Display 2.0
Total 3.0

no title

Very cheap.
This spec for 30,000+. Fast.
It features Atom N280 and you wouldn't have a problem with the turbo mode.
The body looks cheap. The LCD is bluish.
Thick power code (I replaced it with a thinner one).
Touchpad doesn't function well.
Loose hinge.
3-cell battery doesn't last long.
There many cons about this product but overall good as it's fast and cheap.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Sep 24, 2009
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 3.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 3.0
Display 5.0
Total 4.4

no title

It is already high in satisfaction level with its price, size and performance as it is a mini one.
Although it has been stated by many others, the battery life as well as the portability of the AC adaptor is really a demerit.
The portability was not a concern for me while choosing it so I don't find it a problem at all.
As it is used as a submachine and there is no unnecessary application installed, thus the boot up time after switching on is quite fast.
Maybe it is a mini model, the temperature of the base is quite high when at use.
I would leave enough space for that part when using the machine.
Regarding the keyboard, although it is convenient to have bigger keys, the position of the hands may lead to the touch of the mouse pad and move the mouse point to somewhere else unexpected.
I would lock the pad and use the mouse instead, so there is no problem.
I am using it with satisfaction except the battery issue.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Nov 28, 2009
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 5.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Display 4.0
Total 4.8

A very satisfying and wonderful machine

Although it seems a bit late to say, it is really a wonderful model.
When compared to other netbooks, the degree of freedom is the most outstanding advantage over the others.
It is filled with playful ideas including overclocking and the exchangeable parts which all other manufacturers have never considered.
Although its reputation is widely known among DIY users, it is still much lower than those famous manufacturers and the popularity could not sustain after the first lauch.
However, with the wide keyboard pitch, the easy-viewing non-glare display, Atom, the smooth operation with surprisingly only 1G memory, as well as the stability, I personally think that it is the best model among the same class of products.
If I have to point out some concerns, probably just like what the others said, the thickness of the cable could be a problem, also the USB position while using EM.
As there are 3 cells of battery, certainly the battery life is also compromised.
If it becomes a concern, U123 can be another choice or the batteries of other brands are also compatible.
Althought the netbooks of every brand are continuously advancing, this one is quite cost effective in terms of performance with the price of around 30,000 Yen.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Dec 26, 2009
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability -
Usability 4.0
Portability 4.0
Battery -
Display 5.0
Total 4.5

fast boot and shutdown

It might be quite late, but I would like to review, as I am satisfied with it.
[DESIGN] I chose red.
My daughter is very happy with it.
[PROCESSING SPEED] Amazing!!!!
It works just as fine even compared to desktop (CeleronD351 3.20GHz, 533MHz).
Especially, activation speed and shut-down speed is incredibly fast.
No stress caused by virus check.
[GRAPHIC QUALITY] It plays golf swing check software (exclusive movie software) and Youtube HQ movies with out any problem.
Stress-free on virus check(NIS) as well.
[USABILITY] The key is wide with deep stroke, and the touch is quite fine.
I guess it is one of the best in these sort of notebooks.
[SCREEN] Very viewable.
It is said to be LED pannel, but it is bright.
I use it near the southside window, but it is still easily viewble.
[EVAL] It activates really quickly, so it became my main machine for the market check in the morning, golf swing check and emails.
Considering I could purchase this in 25,000 yen, I am very satisfied.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Aug 16, 2009
Design 3.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 3.0
Expandability 3.0
Usability 3.0
Portability 3.0
Battery 2.0
Display 2.0
Total 3.0

no title

Very cheap.
This spec for 30,000+. Fast.
It features Atom N280 and you wouldn't have a problem with the turbo mode.
The body looks cheap.
The LCD is bluish. Thick power code (I replaced it with a thinner one).
Touchpad doesn't function well. Loose hinge.
3-cell battery doesn't last long.
There many cons about this product but overall good as it's fast and cheap.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Sep 24, 2009
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 3.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 3.0
Display 5.0
Total 4.4

no title

It is already high in satisfaction level with its price, size and performance as it is a mini one.
Although it has been stated by many others, the battery life as well as the portability of the AC adaptor is really a demerit.
The portability was not a concern for me while choosing it so I don't find it a problem at all.
As it is used as a submachine and there is no unnecessary application installed, thus the boot up time after switching on is quite fast.
Maybe it is a mini model, the temperature of the base is quite high when at use.
I would leave enough space for that part when using the machine.
Regarding the keyboard, although it is convenient to have bigger keys, the position of the hands may lead to the touch of the mouse pad and move the mouse point to somewhere else unexpected.
I would lock the pad and use the mouse instead, so there is no problem.
I am using it with satisfaction except the battery issue.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Nov 28, 2009
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 5.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Display 4.0
Total 4.8

A very satisfying and wonderful machine

Although it seems a bit late to say, it is really a wonderful model.
When compared to other netbooks, the degree of freedom is the most outstanding advantage over the others.
It is filled with playful ideas including overclocking and the exchangeable parts which all other manufacturers have never considered.
Although its reputation is widely known among DIY users, it is still much lower than those famous manufacturers and the popularity could not sustain after the first lauch.
However, with the wide keyboard pitch, the easy-viewing non-glare display, Atom, the smooth operation with surprisingly only 1G memory, as well as the stability, I personally think that it is the best model among the same class of products.
If I have to point out some concerns, probably just like what the others said, the thickness of the cable could be a problem, also the USB position while using EM.
As there are 3 cells of battery, certainly the battery life is also compromised.
If it becomes a concern, U123 can be another choice or the batteries of other brands are also compatible.
Althought the netbooks of every brand are continuously advancing, this one is quite cost effective in terms of performance with the price of around 30,000 Yen.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Dec 26, 2009
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability -
Usability 4.0
Portability 4.0
Battery -
Display 5.0
Total 4.5

fast boot and shutdown

It might be quite late, but I would like to review, as I am satisfied with it.
[DESIGN] I chose red.
My daughter is very happy with it.
[PROCESSING SPEED] Amazing!!!!
It works just as fine even compared to desktop (CeleronD351 3.20GHz, 533MHz).
Especially, activation speed and shut-down speed is incredibly fast.
No stress caused by virus check.
[GRAPHIC QUALITY] It plays golf swing check software (exclusive movie software) and Youtube HQ movies with out any problem.
Stress-free on virus check(NIS) as well.
[USABILITY] The key is wide with deep stroke, and the touch is quite fine.
I guess it is one of the best in these sort of notebooks.
[SCREEN] Very viewable.
It is said to be LED pannel, but it is bright.
I use it near the southside window, but it is still easily viewble. [
EVAL] It activates really quickly, so it became my main machine for the market check in the morning, golf swing check and emails.
Considering I could purchase this in 25,000 yen, I am very satisfied.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Dec 31, 2009
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 2.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 3.0
Display 5.0
Total 4.4

A problem with memory upgrade.

If I could change one thing, I wish the cost-free repair doesn't run out as soon as the sticker was off.
I did not want to spent 10,000 yen for expansion, I gave up on cost-free repair service....
Well, it works fine though, so except that point, I have no concerns with it.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 9, 2010
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics -
Expandability -
Usability 4.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 3.0
Display 5.0
Total 4.5

My first netbook

[DESIGN] I think the glossy black surface is beautifylly done.
[PROCESSING SPEED] Using skype,googlechrome,openoffice,avast all at the same time didn't make it glitch at all.
As a netbook, I think it is fast enough.
[USABILITY] The keyboard is very easy to type, and has decent key pitch.
However, I sometimes accidentally touch the touchpad with my thumb while typing.
[PORTABILITY] It is around B5 size, and as it is not very heavy, it fits in the bag just fine.
The AC adapter is rather bulky compared to the main unit.
[BATTERY] It doesn't last very long, as it is 3 cell.
[SCREEN] It is non-glare display, and easily viewable.
The brightness can be easily adjusted by keyboard shortcut.
[EVAL] I purchased this as a portable sub PC.
It works more smoothly than expected, so I am satisfied with it.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jun 21, 2010
Design 4.0
Processing Speed 3.0
Graphics 3.0
Expandability 2.0
Usability 2.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Display 3.0
Total 3.4

Usage confined, but robust.

A quick review due to addition in "possession list".
[Main use] Internet browsing, Java programming, Java compile.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Sep 4, 2010
Design 4.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability -
Usability 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 2.0
Display 4.0
Total 4.1

Mobile laptop you can play with.

I use it mainly in bed (as well as when I'm out) and it's been a year and a half since the purchase,
[Design] Simply and plainly designed.
The bad part is the glossy surface leaves fingerprints.
[Processing Speed] You can stream videos without a problem unless it's very big.
You can play 2D online games smoothly.
[Usability] The keyboard is big enough so it feels like you're using a normal keyboard.
You often touch the touchpad by mistake but it can't be helped when using a laptop.
[Mobility] It weighs about 1kg and small.
It's easy to carry around.
[Battery] 3 months after the purchase, it started shutting down suddenly when the battery remaining battery in less than 10%.
Now it shuts down when I have 20% of battery left.
I bought a 6-cell battery and it works fine so far (It lasts about 4.5 hours with a 6-cell),
[LCD] It's non-glare and easy for eyes.
I like it you can adjust the brightness with the keyboard.
[Overall rating] This is mainly to use in bed, but I upgraded the memory (+1GB), replaced the battery with a 6-cell, and put a SSD.
Now it works silently.
If you plan to put a SSD on this machine, you should be aware that this is SATA1.0 (max 150MB/s).
(I was upset when the speed didn't improve.)

Good Review

Page 1 of 1

  • 1

Latest Reviews for Laptops

well, you're just add another ram like mine that has 8gb so it became 12 gb. Good gaming for offline and online and also for programming and offices, because of Intel i5 8th gen.

  • Rating : 4.8
  • Review by Carlo Celso
  • Date : Dec 15, 2019

Subrang dream ko ang laptop na ito medyo mahal talaga siya and very powerfull ng laptop na ito form the specs subrang galing ng resolution ng isang ito super design ito for gaming talaga processing ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by bels lean
  • Date : May 24, 2018

You can never go wrong with MSI laptops very powerful ng laptop na ito kaya best talaga siya for gaming and also for video editing, cool din kasi yung colorful keyboard na colors niya kaya very ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.4
  • Review by organic.baby
  • Date : Apr 3, 2018
View Mode: PC | Mobile