Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E420 Reviews

Overall Rating

Design 3.3
Processing Speed 3.7
Graphics 3.6
Expandability 3.3
Usability 3.7
Portability 3.4
Battery 3.3
Display 3.3
Total 3.4

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Imelda Dahab

  • Review by Imelda Dahab
  • Jun 24, 2014
Design 3.0
Processing Speed 2.0
Graphics 2.0
Expandability 2.0
Usability 3.0
Portability 3.0
Battery 3.0
Display 3.0
Total 2.6

cheap

Basically this laptop is ordinary laptop only, you can used it as simple internet browsing and downloading, but not totally a high tech laptop that can make your life more easy and convenient, you know what this laptop is too poor processing speed very slow even though it has excellent connection. as of now im patiently using this boring laptop, ill find another laptop which is really good performance, thats why the price of this lenovo notebook is expensive but the quality is cheap, i dont liked this laptop anymore..disappointed so much..

Good Review

Romeo Boholano

  • Review by Romeo Boholano
  • Mar 14, 2014
Design 3.0
Processing Speed 2.0
Graphics 2.0
Expandability 3.0
Usability 2.0
Portability 3.0
Battery 2.0
Display 2.0
Total 2.4

Walang kwenta

Honestly i dont like this laptop,it comes with a poor processor and the design is not good,..i look another brand if i buy soon another laptop,Hindi ko talaga ginagamit naiinis kasi ako kasi kahit pa g on at pas shutdown man lang sobrang tagal na ,update ng update wala namang effect,,kaya nakakainis diba,ang dali pang magka virus reformat ako ng reformat..kaya hindi ko nalang ginagamit..nagsisisi talaga ako bat ko pa to binili,,walang kwenta.pati yung display sobrang dilim,mukhang walang brightness hindi ko ma adjust yung mga settings nito..

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 25, 2011
Design 3.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 4.0
Usability 4.0
Portability 4.0
Battery -
Display 3.0
Total 4.0

I bought it because it was inexpensive, but...

Considering carrying this around, I limited myself to a 14 inch device, but I still wanted high specs so I purchased this device.
I used a 10% off coupon with Direct price.
(In reality I only paid 41,000 yen)
I added an HD camera (2000,000 pixels) and IntelMyF compatible WI-FI card with options.
[Design] It's a simple design.
The quality feels cheap.
(Maybe it is suitable for its price.. )
Overall, it is thinly coated with a matte rubber, and feels slightly soft.
(In the long run, the places where it gets the most friction gets worn and shiny.)
It reminds me of the old IBM that it comes with the pointing device, but it's odd that it also comes with the track pad.
It says that it's 14inches, but in reality, it's more like a smaller 15inch. I think the Lenovo and TinkPad Logos on the cover and inside are a bit tacky.
(Speed) For this price, it's amazing that it comes with Core i3 Sandy generation.
You can process 4 threads max at the same time, so a small process causes no problems.
It is 5 out of 5 without question.
(Graphics) Pretty good for a low price laptop.
I have no complaints.
(Extensibility) There are enough ports.
But there is only one audio port for headphones and microphones, so you may need to get a special one-plug headset if you use Skype frequently.
[Usability] First of all, it seems that you can only use the function key (F1~F12) while pressing the Fn key.
Because it is always designated to changing lights and volume, it is not good for a process that requires a lot F1~F12 functions.
The mouse is really soft to click, and I feel like the springs won't last long.
[Portability] As it is labelled as 14inches, there is definite thickness and weight...
Other 15 inch wide notebooks may have been lighter and easier to carry.
[Battery] As I have only just purchased this, I will not rate this.
The eco setting can be done quite specifically.
[Screen] Although it is 14 inches, it is not square and doesn't leave much working space.
As I have stated for the design review, there are a lot of wasted space due to the thick framing.
The quality is what you would expect from this price.
The overall color tone is a bit overexposed and is tiring to the eyes.
It is painful to the eyes if it is set the maximum brightness.
[Overall rating] I waited two weeks for the delivery but the result was a a disappointing impression.
It was a already a great disappointment as I had high hopes for the effects of the installed CPU.
(Those who expect notebook PC in this price range might be wrong)
In addition, the cross key malfunctioned during the time of the purchase.
These are the three points.
[Additional Information] You should buy another HD camera, the one that is built-in has a weird colour and slight noises.
The angle of view is fine though.
Also about the audio, there is only one audio port for headphones and microphones, so if you want to divide the audio and the microphone, you have to buy a cable that lets you do so.
(I'm not even sure there is such thing though..)
The website didn'T mention anything about this, so I totally didn't consider this part.
Audio uses Conexant20671 and will not display the stereo mixers.
(I tried using the ~ but it still didn't display it.)
There was a button for the built-in microphone to "Listen to this Device" which lets you listen from the speaker, so I tried that, but didn't work.
So there is probably no stereo mixing function.
The built-in microphone is very sensitive and picks up the smallest voices.
But as vibrations can be felt directly, you may not be able to use it because of sounds of HDD working, typing on the keyboard, and using the track pad.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jun 27, 2011
Design 4.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 3.0
Usability 4.0
Portability 2.0
Battery 3.0
Display 3.0
Total 3.5

Sufficient specifications for an inexpensive model

Since the note PC I used for more than 5 years had a lot of defects, I purchased a new one.
I have to carry my PC several times because of my job.
So I was looking for a 12.1-inch PC with DVD drive.
However, since I couldn't find the perfect model, I took the price and performance.
And I bought this at 38,000 yen using a coupon.
I ordered a memory and added 4GB (total memory is 6GB).
[Design] I chose the one with a red top panel because I wanted a beautiful color.
The color was more quiet than I had thought.
I like the color anyway.
The lenovo logo blends in with the red, making it hard to see.
[Processing speed] I use word, illustrator and photoshop, and I'm satisfied with its processing speed.
I had a harder time with driver, setting, and license registration since I came from a 32bit, but it's definitely faster than XP.
It doesn't hold as much heat as the older laptop, and it really helps with this season.
[Graphics performance] I don't play games so 'm not sure.
It can play movies and there is no problem as long as I use.
[Expandability] We have to take care of this point.
-There is no USB3.0. -The USB port of the left side is hard.
(Many of them have same symptom.)
If you often put USBs into them and take out, it might be a problem.
It will be soluted mostly by choosing the system on Bluetooth.
[Simplicity of use] In my opinion, the keyboards are very easy to type.
They are arranged as standard, which I think Japanese will like.
When I saw and touched actual machines, I thought the keyboards of Lenovo was the easiest to type.
This is one reason why I bought it.
Since this depends on individuals, I recommend you to try on actual machines.
[Portability] I don't ask too much comfort for this.
It can be put in a bag, so you can carry it if you try.
Better than 15 inch.
I connected 13 inch model and 12 inch model with the external display at home.
However, I don't have to do it with a 14 inch model.
I can use it under the same conditions at home and outside, which might be a big advantage.
ThinkPad feature the toughness, so it may resist some shock.
[Battery] It is enough because I don't use as a mobile PC.
I hear it lasts for about 4 hours.
[LCD] I don't care because I don't want PC to have high resolution and easy viewablity.
If you want them, it might be better if you connect it with the external large monitor.
In that way, I don't care.
I chose Glare, which offers much brightness at its max, 15 level.
In the normal use, 8~11 levels are enough.
My eyes won't be tired for some reason.
I'm not satisfied with only the display color.
It's too bluish.
I can't adjust it completely and I have a problem with processing images.
[Overall] I am fully satisfied with it because it has such performances at about 43,000 yen, including a memory.
I loaded Experience, but if you want to measure its graphic capability, be aware that you need to change switch control to high performance.
Incidentally, if you can buy it for this price, it is cheaper to buy the next low priced model and productivity increases.
PCs have really become tools.

Good Review

Rico Ferrer

  • Review by Rico Ferrer
  • Jul 30, 2013
Design 4.0
Processing Speed 4.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 4.0
Usability 4.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Display 4.0
Total 4.0

Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E420

Malaki ang naitutulong sa akin nitong Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E420 sa work ko binili ko siay kasi maganda naman yung specs nito tsaka mataas yung hard drive size nito sa 500GB.Meron din itong 4GB capacity sa internal memory storage at yuung processor speed nito nasa 2.33Ghz yung processor nito CORE i5 pa.Notebook laptop type siya na merong wide screen na 14inches size.Ok siyang gamitin for internet mabilis yung access nito lalo na sa mga opeartions well performed talaga siya kaya naman comfortable akong ginagamit ito.Tsaka yung keyboard nito soft press din naman cool gamitin.

Good Review

hades_636

  • Review by hades_636
  • Jun 17, 2013
Design 3.0
Processing Speed 4.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 3.0
Usability 4.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Display 4.0
Total 3.8

Lenovo ThinkPad Edge

Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E420 this is a type of notebook laptop yung screen size nniya is 14inches tapos meron siyang 1366x768 na resolution at harad drive size na 500GB kaya para sakin maganda ito dahil yung mga specs niya masasabi na mataas naman maganda siyang gamitin as your personal laptop kasi comfortable ka talaga itong gamitin lalo na kung mahilig ka sa games mabilis yung speed response niya sa mga operation.Meron din itong internal memory storage na 4GB at yung memory type niya is DDR3 nagustuhan ko pa dito yung operating system niya na windows 7 home premium.

Good Review

Joan Chinita

  • Review by Joan Chinita
  • Mar 20, 2013
Design 3.0
Processing Speed 3.0
Graphics 3.0
Expandability 3.0
Usability 3.0
Portability 3.0
Battery 2.0
Display 3.0
Total 2.9

pang work ko.

isang taon na yung ganito kong laptop at hanggang ngayon naman eh gumagana pa rin ito.. okay naman eh.. more on typing documents ang ginagawa ko dito.. pang work talaga.. okay naman yung peroformance nito tsaka yung keyboard tsaka yung touchpad nito eh okay naman at comfortable ko namang nagagamit.. affordable naman kasi itong laptop na ito kaya ito na rin yung binili ko.. hindi rin ito ganun kabigat tsaka okay rin naman yung webcam nito.. tapos buti na lang din eh marami itong usb ports.. meron itong apat.. kaso ang pinaka problema ko dito eh yung battery nito.. saglit lang kasi yung tinatagal nito eh..

Good Review

Freddy1521

  • Review by Freddy1521
  • Nov 23, 2012
Design 4.0
Processing Speed 4.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 4.0
Usability 4.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Display 4.0
Total 4.0

for business persons

Magaling. Maganda mag type dito kasi malambot lang yung mga keys at okay rin yung touchpad niya.. Okay rin yung viewing angles niya. Tapos konti lang yung mga preloaded softwares niya. Ang ganda rin ng webcam niya kasi 720p ang quality ng video at images na nakukuha niya. Hindi rin gaanong umiinit yung laptop kahit manuod ka ng video dito. At astig rin yung fingerprint reader nitong laptop na toh. Kaso nga lang, walang USB 3.0 na port, puro 2.0 lang. At ang pinaka downside eh yung battery niya na tumatagal lang ng less than 6 hours.

Good Review

max

  • Review by max
  • Sep 13, 2012
Design 3.0
Processing Speed 4.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 4.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Display 4.0
Total 4.0

stylish than its other lines

The major downer with our test unit, as previously mentioned, was its performance. It turned in a lackluster WorldBench 6 score of 98, and frame rates on our Far Cry 2 and Dirt 2 gaming tests were equally disappointing, topping out at 32 frames per second for Dirt 2 running at 800 by 600 resolution with the lowest detail settings on the laptop's 1366 by 768 display. Of course, those scores were not particularly surprising given the low-end Core i3 CPU and the integrated graphics, but they should give pause to anyone who needs to run processor-intensive applications such as large databases or video editors. The good news is that Lenovo offers faster processors and more memory as customization options--but you'll pay handsomely for such upgrades.

Good Review

Page 1 of 1

  • 1

Latest Reviews for Laptops

Magandang choice itong Lenovo IdeaPad S145 14 sa mga naghahanap ng laptop on a budget at hindi gagamitin pang gaming o sa iba pang mga heavy applications. Dalawa ang RAM variants ng laptop na ito, ...Read more

  • Rating : 5.0
  • Review by Marcuz Punzalan
  • Date : Jan 28, 2021

Binili ko talaga ito para mapalitan ko na ang luma kong ginagamit na Dell laptop. Talagang sobrang napakaimportante sa akin ng laptop na ito lalo na ngayong nagwo-work from home na ako dahil sa ...Read more

  • Rating : 5.0
  • Review by Avenir David
  • Date : Oct 30, 2020

Nabili ko lang ito nung magkaroon ng Sale tapos eh nag-upgrade ako para maging 16GB ang RAM nito. Kaya kahit na meron itong bloatware na naka-installed pa rin, mga 10 seconds lang eh nagbo-boot up na ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.9
  • Review by Butch Canstaneda
  • Date : Oct 26, 2020
View Mode: PC | Mobile