HUAWEI P9 lite Reviews

Lowest Price P9,276 12 Prices
RAM
  • ALL
  • 2GB
  • 3GB
Color
Huawei P9 lite is a 5.2inch of display, Emotion UI 4.1 Android OS v6.0, fingerprint scanner.
  • Release date : Jun 2016
  • Smartphone, Android 6.0 +...
  • 5.2 inches, Full HD (1080...
  • 2G, 3G, 4G (LTE), 16GB, 2... more specs
Related Models
HUAWEI P9 lite
Latest model
HUAWEI P20 lite (nova 3e)
4.6(8)
P11,500 - (111 Prices)

Compare prices

Specs

Reviews

Forum

News

Overall Rating

Design 4.5
Portability 4.2
Operability 4.2
Response 4.2
Display 4.4
Listenability 4.1
Battery 4.3
Total 4.3

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 21, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 4.0
Operability -
Response 2.0
Display 4.0
Listenability -
Battery 5.0
Total 3.8

The camera is so disappointing.

My opinion after three months.

<design>
Not good or bad. I don't have any particular complaints.

<portability>
It fits in my pocket perfectly. I don't have problem in holding it.

<pushbutton usability>
The response can be slow sometimes, but it is not that bad.

<camera>
This is the worst in response among the smartphones I have used. It often takes nearly 10 seconds till I can actually take photos since launching the camera. Also, AF sometimes freezes at odd spot, and it stops working. As I photograph my children, it can be stressful.

<ringtone, music>
I feel the vibration is a little weak. I fail to realize getting calls when it is in silent more of than with my [previous phones.

<battery>
So far so good.

<overall>
It would have been perfect if the launching speed of the camera was fast.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 16, 2017
Design 3.0
Portability 3.0
Operability -
Response 3.0
Display 4.0
Listenability -
Battery 2.0
Total 3.0

The hardware is good, but the software is not so.

The device as a hardware is not bad, but preinstalled software is terrible. Especially, with HICare, I am leaving it off, but it often shows a pop up to ask permission for connection. I would like to delete all the software I don't use, but I cannot do so. Pretty stressful.

The display is beautiful. The response is no that light but not bad. The camera takes pretty good photos, too.

As for the cons of this smartphone, I can say the fingerprint sensor is not so good. The response is not so good, and it doesn't work when it is slightly dirty. As it is so useless, I turned it off.

All in all, this is OK. This is reasonable for the price.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 3, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 5.0
Operability -
Response 4.0
Display 5.0
Listenability -
Battery 5.0
Total 4.6

My review after using it for 4 months.

<design>
Some complain that its back panel is made of plastic, but I think it is not too bad as it looks simple and smart.

<portability>
It is thin and easy to hold, but it is slippery and easy to drop.
I put an rugged armor, and I think this probably fits the best.

<pushbutton usability>
It is not bad in terms of response.

<response>
It sometimes gets heavy, but it is fine for daily use.

<menu>
It is simple and easy to see.

<display>
Beautiful. I am not expecting anything better than this.

<ringtone, music>
The sound quality is unexpectedly good. There is no difference with Xperia Z3.

<battery>
It lasts very well with Android 6.0.
It lasts 10-12hours using it continuously.

<overall>
I do have small complaints, but all in all, I am happy with this.
This is not supposed to use with Android 7.0, so I recommend using this with 6.0. It is very stable with 6.0.
This applies to all smartphones, but the battery run time drops if you update OS. I can feel the difference.
It may reduce the amount of battery usage at the back, but it feels it uses more battery.

Nova Lite would be same if you update to 8.0 from 7.0.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 1, 2017
Design 3.0
Portability 3.0
Operability -
Response 4.0
Display 3.0
Listenability -
Battery 3.0
Total 3.2

2GM RAM is not enough sometimes.

The design is not so good, but it is good all in all.

But when I attach images to e-mail or try to upload images, the memory is not enough.
Finishing apps didn't help, so I uninstalled some apps.

I don't install much apps anyway.

SONY will release Vaio Android phone soon. It has 3GB RAM, and is SIM free. It also supports VoLTE with 13MP camera. I am thinking to get it.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 21, 2017
Design 3.0
Portability 3.0
Operability -
Response 3.0
Display 3.0
Listenability -
Battery 3.0
Total 3.0

As an inexpensive Android phone.

It's been a while since purchase, but I have no particular complaint. I think address book is difficult to use when making voice calls, but I have no problem other than that.

I am not using most of the preinstalled apps. I download apps such as Gmail from Google Play. So the update app it the only original app I use. With update app, I can update it with one button, but it takes long to update. Now it doesn't update that often, so if you would like to use the newest Android phone all the time, it may be unsatisfactory.

As an inexpensive device just to try out, I can recommend this.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 20, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 3.0
Operability -
Response 4.0
Display 4.0
Listenability -
Battery 3.0
Total 3.6

Only the evaluation

<design>
It is an ordinary design. I use a cover that came with it, but I have no problem.

<portability>
It is fine. I think it is average size.

<pushbutton usability>
It comes with protection film, but it has no problem.

<display>
I set it to automatically adjust the brightness. No problem.

<voice call sound quality, ringtone, music>
I don't mind it.
The speakerphone works fine, too.

<battery>
No problem.

<overall>
I was not fussy with a make, so I got it cheaply with conditions. I have been using it with no problem.
"

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 5, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Total 4.6

I'm happy with this.

<design>
This is totally fine.

<portability>
Because my previous phone was iPhone6, I thought it got slightly bigger at first. Having said that, this is still acceptable.

<pushbutton usability>
No problem.

<IME>
I thought this is easier than iPhone to type in.

<response>
No problem.

<menu>
This is totally fine, too.

<display>
A lot brighter than iPhone6.

<voice call sound quality>
I don't have any complaints.

<battery>
Because it was highly talked about, I expected it too highly; I thought it would last longer. It is not a problem, though. I think it lasts longer than iPhone 6.

<overall>
This is my first Android phone, so I was a little nervous about getting this. However, I don't feel uneasy about it and there is not much difference with iPhone 6. This works smoothly. I am happy with this.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 24, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 4.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability -
Battery 5.0
Total 4.7

I replaced Nexus 5 with this.

I got tired of the bad battery life of Nexus 5, so I got it replaced.

<design>
It looks more luxurious than its price. Gold looks even better.

<portability>
It is slightly bigger than Nexus 5, which means it is less portable, but I don't mind it much.

<pushbutton usability>
I was able to operate Nexus 5 with one hand, but it is hard to do so with this. I wish it had narrower bezel.

<response>
Fingerprint reader is quick and convenient. Now that I am used to it, I cannot go back to Nexus 5.

<menu>
Default menu is fine, but as there are many varieties of widgets, you can customize it, too.

<display>
It looks more bluey than Nexus 5. This might be easier to see in dark environment.

<battery>
With Nexus 5, battery only lasts for half a day, but this lasts for a few days.

<overall>
I didn't feel stressed changing from Nexus 5. It is a pity that it now doesn't support charging without a plug. It is very disappointing that qi is no longer popular.
Having said that this has the best cost performance. I can recommend this to those who are not too fussy.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 21, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 4.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.7

My second Huawei smartphone【Ascend G6 → P9 lite】

<design>
I chose white. It's stylish, and I like it.

<portability>
It is bigger than my previous phone, so it is slightly heavier. But it is within acceptable range.

<pushbutton usability>
As this has a bigger display, it is difficult to operate with one hand.

<response>
Response is better than my previous phone.

<menu>
Average.

<display>
Full HD and IPS LCD. Beautiful.

<voice call sound quality>
No particular problem.

<ringtone, music>
It feels better than my previous phone.

<battery>
I can use it for two days without charging.

<overall>
I have used Ascend G6 for two years, and I bought this for 20,000yen at the year end of 2016.
It has faster processing speed, and the resolution now is Full HD, so I can see movies more clearly.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 19, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 4.0
Response 4.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.4

High cost performance

It's been 2 days since I got this, but this is a lot better than I expected.

Design is thin and flat. Sophisticated.
I was worried that the display could be warped around Huawei logo. My lot (black) had the problem, too (the glass protection film can be pushed up), but I pressed G-Color Huawei P9 Lite film firmly, then it fit OK.

I have no problem with its response. It has no problem for playing relatively light games, and it works very lightly with business app.
I was worried as it only has 16GB ROM, but it seems fine; I have installed about 60 apps, most of them were business apps, but it only went over 10GB, so I still have more than 4GB left. I needed Micro SD, so I got SanDisk 128GB (extreme). Possibly because I went for the fast one, it is working pleasantly.

What I expected this to be good the most was battery. It is just amazing. I left it on standby with wi-fi connected from last night, and it only went down by 1% from 100%.
Also, when I am installing apps, it never needs to be charged during installing, and I feel its stamina. Battery saving mode comes as default. When you use it, the battery doesn't go flat.

If you won't be happy with warped display, I cannot recommend this, but if you would like to choose a smartphone for its performance, this would be more than satisfactory. This is a great model with high cost performance.

I recommend 128GB Micro SD. You might regret if you go for slow SD card trying to save money.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 18, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability -
Battery -
Total 5.0

I think I will go for Huawei again.

I had used Kiwami of Freetel as my main phone, but I staretd to experience problems since I updated to Android 6.0. I couldn't downgrade it either. I couldn't put up with it, so I bought this with good reputation.

When I play games, I used Kiwami, but it worked slugishly even with not so heavy games, so I used this. P9 lite scored 10,000 points higer in benchnmark test, but I actually was not expecting it to be good. But it worked amazingly lightly unlike Kiwami, so I was surprised with the difference.

With the phones in low price range like Priori 3S or Kiwami, I always thought it cannot be helped that they were inconvenient as they were cheap. So I was relatively happy for its price. But now that I know P9 lite, I cannot go back to Freetel.

If Huawei makes a smartphone with removable battery, they would have a corner on the smartphone market.

I only have got it recently, and I might start to see it differently later on, but I am honestly happy that there is one more choice of a make called Huawei.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 15, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 4.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.7

Huawei P9 Lite, high cost performance

<design>
Its 5.2inch screen is not too big or too small. It looks simple.

<portability>
It is compact and light.

<pushbutton usability>
Because I had been using a tablet, at first I found this difficult to use. But I got used to it now. The sensitivity is good.

<response>
It works lightly and pleasantly.

<menu>
There are not too many or too little menu, so it is easy to use.

<display>
Bright and beautiful. The sensitivity of automatic brightness control is good, too.

<voice call sound quality>
I think it is not because of this device, but with Line free voice call, it sometimes gets noise or gets cut off.

<ringtone, music>
It sounds clearly.

<battery>
Because I am a light user (I use it for e-mails, LINE free voice calls and messaging, browsing when I am out), it lasts for about 6 days to reach 10% from fully charged. Amazing stamina. My image of smartphone having short battery life is blown away.

<overall>
I had used a feature phone and a tablet, but the battery of the tablet started to get deteriorated, so I bought Huawei P9 lite.
Because I still have an image of a smartphone having short battery life, I still take my feature phone with this when I go out, but P9 lite actually has more stamina than my feature phone. Surprising. I can feel safe with one smartphone when it has this much stamina. It is high in cost performance. I am happy with my purchase.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 12, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 5.0
Response 3.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.7

Failing in push notification is a disadvantage.

I bought this last June. I change my smartphones frequently; I have used Huawei smartphones three in a row, and I have used 4 other phones.

I realized that I don't get push notifications with Yahoo! auction and LINE. Especially with Yahoo! auction, it fails to notify me 80% of the time. This would be one and only problem.
Other problem can be that it gets jumpy when I use it heavily. As for operation, it probably is because there are too much programming and gets heavy, or I use it too heavily.

The developer seems they are not making effort to make it work lightly, so I think it can get heavy easily.

Having said that, it should be fine for light users. Those who use a lot should go for more expensive device or iPhone.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 11, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 4.0
Response 5.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Total 4.1

Unexpectedly good

I got this as my ZenFone 2 Lase broke.

The response is light. It is natural but it is a lot faster than ZenFone 2 Laser.

It is as big as ZenFone 2 Laser, and the display is bigger with 5.2inch display. But the home button is shown in the display, so the area it shows is about the same.

I haven't used voice calls as I use data SIM.

The speaker is monoaural, but it has better sound quality than the phones I had before: Xperia acro HD and AQUOS Phone Serie SHL23.

It is better at catching wi-fi connection and GPS than ZenFone 2 Laser or SHL 23.

The battery lasts as long as SHL23, too. I only check e-mails and browse the Internet during lunch break and on the way home, and I don't play games or make phone calls. So it uses 15-20% of the battery a day.

It works fast and stably. The battery lasts well, too. Fingerprint sensor is very convenient, and it doesn't have too many unwanted preinstalled apps compared to other phones.
All in all, I am very happy with this. The only problem I have at the moment is that the back key is located closer to the center compared to my previous phone, so I press where there is no key.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 11, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability -
Battery 4.0
Total 4.8

It can still fight against other smartphones.

I bought it in June 2016. This is my impression after using it since then.
I am comparing it with ZenFone 3 Laser and RAIJIN.

<design>
It is not cheap. High quality. I don't care about it, though, as I put a case on.

<portability>
Because it has a smaller battery than RAIJIN, it is lighter. I personally find this is a good size. Please have a look at it in person at a shop.

<pushbutton usability>
Accuracy of the fingerprint sensor is good. It is much better than ZenFone 3 Laser or RAIJIN.
The positions of the power button and volume button are good, too.

<response>
This is the point I highly evaluate. This must be by far the best in middle-range smartphones. It has got No.1 for a reason. It only has half the RAM of RAIJIN or ZenFone 3 Laser, but this is much better than those two.

<menu>
This is the matter of getting use to.
If you don't like, change it.

<display>
Reasonable. It is not particularly good or bad.

<voice call sound quality>
N/A. I only use it for data communication.

<ringtone, music>
N/A. I use it in silent.

<battery>
I think this is very good, but it cannot beat a physical difference, battery capacity; you cannot compare it with RAIJIN. When you think about its capacity being 3000mAh, the battery life is good.

<overall>
It doesn't look cheap, and it has the best cost performance.
Even after getting ZenFone 3 Laser and RAIJIN, I am still using this as a main machine.
Also, as this is a very popular device, there are many accessories out there, which I find handy.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 6, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 3.0
Response 2.0
Display 3.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Total 3.7

I replaced ZenFone 2(ze551) with this.

The battery of ZenFone 2 (ze551) started to get deteriorated, so I replaced it.

<design>
It doesn't look cheap for its price. Good.
It is only my opinion, but it looks more expensive than my previous phone.

<portability>
It is now smaller from 5.5inchs display to 5.2inch; it is thinner and lighter, which means better portability.
My previous phone was about 240g including its case, but P9 lite weighs about 160g including the case. it is a lot lighter.

<pushbutton usability>
Average.

<response>
It is not slow, but compared to ze551, everything is slower. Every operation takes a little longer to be finished.

<menu>
There are no big difference.

<display>
Beautiful.

<voice call sound quality>
Average.

<ringtone, music>
I think it sounds a lot better now than my previous phone. Not a difference when using a headphone.

<battery>
For my usage, I needed a mobile booster with ze551 since it was new, but I don't need it with P9 lite.

<overall>
All in all, I am very happy with this other than its response.
If I could ask for more, I should have chosen P9 or Honor 8.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 5, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 3.0
Operability 3.0
Response 4.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.0

Just as it is said.

<design>
The surface is made of metal, and it has high-end feel.

<portability>
Average.

<pushbutton usability>
Average.

<IME>
Not good or bad.

<response>
Good!

<menu>
I cannot delete the apps I don't want. Not so good here.

<display>
Beautiful.

<voice call sound quality>
Average.

<ringtone, music>
Just as I expected.

<battery>
This is amazing. It lasts very long!

<overall>
All in all, this is good.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 3, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 3.0
Operability 3.0
Response 3.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Total 3.9

I used it for a week.

<What I like about this>
-design
Cute.

-fingerprint sensor
From standby, I can use it just by gently touching it. I can operate status bar, notification tub and shutter release with fingerprint sensor. Amazing.

<What I was not fully happy with>
-portability
Because my previous one was 4.6 inch and now it's 5.2 inch, I find it not so good. If I add making the display smaller and opening notification panel with navigation bar, and use FloatingButton, it should be fine once I get used to it. It is still big, though.

-pushbutton usability
Is it because of my fingers? I think it is not so good in responding. Because the volume button and the power button are close to each other on the side, I sometimes misoperate. This makes taking screenshots difficult.

-response
It gets jumpy just with playing simple games which even don't 3D, which is stressful.

<misc.>
-it comes with a protecting film
It comes with transparent case like a frost glass, too.

-display
It is beautiful, but because I am used to Xperia, it looks warmer in color. You can adjust color temperature, though. It feels it is bright. It is not as dark as Xperia.

-menu
It is like iPhone that I can place widgets. Home gets dark when I go setting other than with default home. It was solved when I got launcher app.

-voice call sound quality
When I made a phone call today, the person I talked to said they couldn't hear me. So... It is clear for me to hear.

-battery
I can use it without worrying for playing games and browsing during commuting or lunch break .

Now I have written above, I just thought it is reasonable for its price.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 2, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.7

My first Huawei smartphone after a while.

It is a completely different product compared to Huawei smartphone from several years ago. It is as good as a high end device in any way such as design and response.

I have used it for a month, and I still think this is of a totally different level; this definitely is the best among the smartphones in the same price range.

I am happy that it came with a protection film and a case. I can see that they think about users first.

This is so good that I am thinking about getting P9 or Mate 9 with Leica lens. This is so attractive.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 16, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 4.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.7

The best cost performance

I replaced Z3 with this.

I like its simple design.
The response is so good that I even feel Z3 was sluggish.
It doesn't have unwanted apps.
What I need to mention here is its fingerprint sensor. It recognizes very quickly.
Also, the battery lasts well.
The camera is great, too, and I can enjoy professional setting. You don't need camera apps anymore.
Built-in speaker has a lot better sound quality than Z3.
It is better than Z3 in every way.

Anyway, Chinese smartphones are too good. This price for this function. Other makes cannot win.

Good Review

Page 1 of 3

Latest Reviews for Mobile Phones

Its so sad na malaman na this phone also has some laggy issues. noong una okay naman ang phone na ito, smooth lahat even for playing games kaso after 3 months of using it ayun na lumabas na ang ...Read more

  • Rating : 3.6
  • Review by Coach Rey
  • Date : Nov 14, 2018

And so? kung mahal siya, eh gusto ko ee. si mama kasi ayaw niya nagbibili ako ng kung ano-anong mga branded na mga gadget kasi its kinda waste of money but kung titingnan niyo naman yung advanatge ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.3
  • Review by Loreen
  • Date : Nov 13, 2018

Sobrang ganda naman ng smartphone na ito. Hanggang display ko lang siguro ito ma experience kasi sobrang mahal din naman talaga niya,pero sobrang linaw ng screen niya. Ang ganda pala kapag OLED ang ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.9
  • Review by Koko Channelle
  • Date : Nov 13, 2018
View Mode: PC | Mobile