Canon EOS 70D Body Reviews

Compare prices

Specs

Reviews

Forum

Coupon5

Overall Rating

Design 4.0
Image Quality 4.5
Operability 4.3
Battery 4.3
Portability 3.9
Functionality 4.4
Display 4.4
Grip Performance 4.4
Total 4.2

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jul 24, 2015
Design 4.0
Image Quality 3.0
Operability 3.0
Battery 3.0
Portability 3.0
Functionality 3.0
Display 3.0
Grip Performance 5.0
Total 3.4

If you like taking pictures by manual, please be careful!

For those who switched camera from 60D and would like to photograph manually, the focusing screen from this model is not interchangeable! It is not possible to take photos using Super Precision Matte with F2.8 macro lens, so please keep that in mind.

Among the current line-up, the models with more than two digits or Kiss have no interchangeable focusing screens.

Well, in manual mode, if your lens is compatible, it makes a sound when it focuses... But if you find it noisy you can mute it.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Aug 19, 2015
Design 5.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 5.0
Total 4.5

Replacement purchase from Pentax K-30.

I mainly photograph sports-related stuff and people.

My entry-model camera was a Pentax K-30, which I used because I liked the Pentax-like hue and its rain-resistant body.

But, because I used to photograph people, and as I was dissatisfied with the AF, I decided to switch.

[Design]
It is a typical design of Canon, and as I had always liked it, I have a smirk on my face.

[Image Quality]
Without a doubt, the image quality is better than that of K-30.

However, I felt like it was not as good as I hoped for... Well, it is more than beautiful, though.

[Operability]
Because I was used to Pentax, I still do not get used to it.
Speaking of operability only I still prefer Pentax.

However, since there is no difficulty to understand, it may be fine after getting used to it.

[Battery]
I mainly use high speed continuous shooting, but I have no complaint.

70D has a wonderful video quality as well, but I guess the battery does not last long if you only take videos.

[Portability]
The lens I use is EF70-300mm F4-5.6L IS USM, so the total weight is about 1.7kg, which is a pain for girls to walk around with it for long period, or take photos with one hand (lol)

But it is SLR, so once you accept it, there is nothing to complain.

[Functionality]
It impressed me that this camera provides many functions which Pentax does not have.

Tthe AF speed, a special feature of Canon, is the best!

The Wi-fi is naturally good too, but the AF is very fast with vari-angle and video recording too!

[LCD]
With K30, I could not even think about rotating the screen (lol).

The LCD is beautiful when looking at preview. Nothing to complain. Wonderful.

[Grip]

Pentax cameras often felt slippery but 70D is nice. The grip is easy to hold.

In general, I felt great for having bought it!

I thought Canon is indeed the best for shooting portraits.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Sep 11, 2015
Design 4.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Portability 3.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 5.0
Total 4.5

Step-up from Kiss X5

I purchased it for 97,000 yen.

The trade-in value for the X5 was 29,000 yen so I had to think, but I decided to keep it as a sub.

I was having hard time choosing between 7D and 70D, but I settled on 70D because I wanted the wifi function.

I am an amateur so frankly, I was happy with X5 as far as the image quality is concerned, but the continuous shooing function and shooting during the night work significantly better than X5.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jul 2, 2015
Design 4.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 5.0
Total 4.6

I am satisfied with it for now.

I am an amateur so I will make it simple.

I am switching from KissX2, X4, X5, and 60D.

The operability has not changed much and it is easy to use.
While I was using a 60D, the images were somewhat blurred and frustrating, so I switched to the 70D after one year and a half.

After that, I fully enjoy the quality of the camera and I cannot help thinking, "What was all that stress for?"

The AF works well at the center but it gets blurry at the edges which makes me wonder what the purpose of this AF is.

But the edges do get sharp with some lenses, so I am studying about AF on the edges (lol)

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 18, 2015
Design 3.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 2.0
Functionality 3.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 3.5

Excessive expectations are the cause of dissatisfaction?

[Design]
The texture is not bad, and the design is also quite good.

[Image Quality]
Apparently, many users described it as a disappointment, but I do not think it is worse than 60D, and personally I think that thanks to the higher pixels amount, it deals better with trimming, so I do not think it is bad.

The progress level is low, I think, but I feel the high sensitivity has slightly improved as well.

In terms of product positioning, it is not too much to expect a little better resolution, but for me it is good enough.

[Operability]
After I got used, it is quite comfortable to control.

[Battery]
I do not use it in such a way to drain the battery in a single day, so I refrain from reviewing it.

[Portability]
Recently, mirrorless cameras are being praised, but I still prefer this.

This many functions are compacted in this size, so personally I am satisfied.

[Functionality]
I did not feel any special evolution worthy of mention.
But, the functions to photograph, the easiness to take movies, and then vari-angle LCD. These satisfy what I seek in a camera in terms of function.

[LCD]
It is easy to see, and it is vari-angle, so I have nothing to complain about.

[Grip]
As I have big hands, this grip is not as good as that of 5D3, but it is much better than too-small-Kiss series and mirrorless cameras.


[General Comments]
I bought in a period that must be close to model change, but as a sub-camera, it is doing a better than expected job.

Opinions regarding image quality seem to be divided, but I still think an overexpectation is leading to these bad reviews.

Recently, it is not rarely compared to 8000D, but I think it is built in a much better way.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 15, 2015
Design 3.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 2.0
Functionality 3.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 3.5

For still pictures, this is better than 7D series.

I was wavering betwwen this product and 7D Mark2 ranking up from Kiss X5, but I bought this product in the end.

I do not photograph moving things, so the speed of continuous shooting is good enough.

The best thing of all is that it is more reasonable than 70D Mark2. I think the cost performance is very nice.

The image quality is not that important to me, so I think this is neither good or bad.The high sensitivity is better than I thought. Personally, I like the noise, so I think it is quite strong to high sensitivity.

Live View has become faster too.
Even with these there seems to be a lot of people who are dissatisfied...

Another thing is that the button is hard to press, which is a bit disappointing. The wheel gets on the way, and because of the smaller difference in level, it is a little hard to press. Other than that, the good and bad points are just normal.

It is equipped with wifi, which I am personally a little happy for.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 12, 2015
Design 5.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 5.0
Total 5.0

EOS 70D body

[Design] The best.

[Picture quality] Good.

[Operability] Good.

[Battery] Good.

[Portability] Cool.

[Functionality] So many functions. Cumbersome.

[LCD] Beautiful.

[Grip,] Good.

[General Comments] I am satisfied that I bought it. I feel I want to brag about the camera to everybody.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 30, 2015
Design 5.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 4.4

It was a good buy.

The design and functions are good, and it was a change from KISS5. There is nothing to complain about so far, although I bought it right after the new model was released.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 3, 2015
Design 4.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Portability 3.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 4.1

Bought more

The 60D has become a little tiring so I bought more.

Design:
Almost the same as the 60D.
Image quality:
The resolution of the images has increased a little. It depends on the lens too.
Its high sensitivity to noise has become less noticeable.

Operability:
It can be operated by a touch panel and if you get used to it it can be extremely easy.

Battery Life:
The previous day I took as much as 2200 pictures and there was still battery life. (still images only)

Portability:
It's a single lens reflex camera so....

Performance:

The live view shooting is speedy and convenient. I do not know about the video.

About the AF, yield rate of moving targets has improved considerably compared with 60D.

[LCD]

There is no specific problem.

[Grip]

There is no problem because it is almost same as 60D.

[General Comments]

I also considered the full size, but 6D had a bottleneck of continuous shooting performance and 5DM3 was beyond my budget excessively, so I chose 70D.

Continuous shooting is also pleasant and I am very satisfied.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 15, 2015
Design 5.0
Image Quality 3.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 4.3

If you value functionality, choose 70D. For picture quality go with 6D.

Used kissx4 for a year and half-> 70D for a year and 3 months-> recently got 6D...
This is topical CANON step up amateur.

[Design]
Very cool. It looks good on SIGMA17-70mmDC.

[Picture quality]
This is the problem. I always adjust with DPP.
I thought I was used to kiss pink but I realized it after using 6D vivid coloring.
And, I was a little frustrated with too sharp picture quality as if too much unsharp mask was applied. Regarding only the picture quality, I preferred X4. The noise in the dark part is less than X4, but, once you know 6D picture, you might be sad.

[Operability]

Quite good. You can intuitively use the touch panel.

[Battery]

The life time is quite good,

[Portability]

It is very light, small and good.

[Functionality]

The portion you touch on the variable angle LCD comes into focus instantly. It is the same for moving pictures.

As for still images, your smartphone can do the same thing. Focusing and shutter is fast and accurate. (7D series are too quick for ordinary people.)
As 70D has these unique advantages, I can not relinquish 70D even if I am frustrated with picture quality.

[LCD]

Quite good. In addition to link to smartphone, variable angle LCD and touch panel are very convenient.

[Grip]

It is too small for my thumb to push AF button. But I prefer a small grip to a big one.

[General Comments]

You may not be impressed by the picture quality itself even if you buy 70D stepping up from Kiss series.

However, much less pictures would miss the focus. You can take moving pictures in the similar way to the video camera, and you can enjoy various useful function such as linkage to your smartphone. The key thing is how you utilize it. I will use 70D and 60D for different purposes, such that 70D for moving objects, movies and telephoto shooting and 60D for others.

Good Review

Uyo Kalas

  • Review by Uyo Kalas
  • Feb 15, 2015
Design 4.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 5.0
Total 4.6

70D features

Kailangan ko ng camera na may ganitong features , sobrang ganda ng quality talaga nito promise , gana ng mga photos ko yung quality ng picture perfect na hindi na kailangan pang mag edit , tapos may wifi ready na so easy na alng mga upload agad agad no hassle, wow talaga, pero wala na to na babad kasi sa tubig mahigit 30 mins kaya nasira yung lens pati yung battery nito grounded na, sobrang tanga lang talaga kasi nahulog pala sa tubig di ko talaga napansin, tsk..pero wala ng availabale na ganito ngayon kaya hanap ako ng kapalit pero gusto ko kasing galing padin ng CAnon 70Dna model..

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Sep 10, 2013
Design 4.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 5.0
Total 4.8

Functionality earns more than 5 stars.

Compared to the conventional single lens reflex cameras, this seems much more evolved.
The reason for this is because it has many functions that you would want, such as its variangle function, touch panel screen, manoeuvring smart phones from afar using wifi, face-chasing AF etc.
The price is quite reasonable, and has a high cost performance.
I recommend this camera, both the photograph and video functions have evolved.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Oct 1, 2013
Design 4.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 5.0
Total 4.5

Better than 7D, less than 5D3

Design
Nothing problematic, but neither is it amazing.Average.
Image Quality
I see a lot of people criticizing, but I would like to see bad photographs taken with this.
The fast film is nothing compared to 7D and 5D3, though.
AF is also inferior to 5D3, and is about the same with 7D.
Operation
There's nothing to state about the size or weight.
Battery
It's good that it's the same as 7D and 5D3.
It lasts well, and I could take 1280 pictures of birds for 7 hours.
Portability.
Average.
Functions
There were some excessive functions, but all the necessary functions are included and is enough.
Display
The usual Canon display.
Feeling when held
No problem.
Overall
I already own 7D2, and bought this on top of 5D3, but I like that it comes with APS-C 1.6 zooming.
As I take photographs of birds, I really needed this focal distance.
If you wan to take pictures under 1600sensitivity , it's better to use 70D rather than trim after using 5D3.
If you want to take pictures over that, then it is often better to use 5D3 and trim.
If you don't take moving objects, and don't need super sensitivity, and is in need of focal distance, then this is much better than 7D.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Oct 8, 2013
Design 4.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 5.0
Battery 3.0
Portability 3.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 5.0
Total 4.4

I'm very satisfied.

Because of ISO100-6400 automatic setting, you can take photos with the high speed shutter at dusk.
I love it.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Oct 12, 2013
Design 3.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 3.9

What's missing is what this products means at Canon.

I bought this on the date of release as a replacement for EOS60D, and have used this for a month.
[Design] It is curved on the top two corners, nothing good nor bad.
I also have EOS50D, which I prefer as a design.
[Quality] Its high definition and high sensitivity were more prominent than the actual pixels when I shot volleyball in the hall.
I will not post the pictures though.
[Operation] The operation is good like the previous models after EOS10's.
[Battery] Like the usual EOS10's.
But it uses up more battery than you expect when you use the live view, which is 70D's main function. [Portability]Nothing significant.
it is lighter than EOS50D, but I preferred the magnesium body..
[Function] Currently trying them out as there are so many.
[Display] Variangle is convenient as expected.
[Overall]It feels like Canon really put their effort in this EOS model.
I am fully satisfied with this, but it doesn't fully satisfy me in the sense that they put its status in between Kiss and 7D.
It's sufficient for taking photos, but no one would say, "Oh, great. You have 70D."
They would say,
"Oh, 70D. I have 7D anyway. I don't like that.
On the other hand, photo enthusiasts care about the model's specifications.
When I posted about the purchase of 60D, they criticized me harshly.
I still resent that.
They must be some kind of otaku.
Sorry about complaining.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Oct 17, 2013
Design 4.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 5.0
Total 4.8

This is just a beginner's impression.

I have kiss x5 and 6D.
I take pictures everyday with kiss x5, but I purchased 70D because I was attracted to the AF speed and clear images.
The AF speed is really fast and accurately captures images.
It helps me a lot.
I'm used to the functionality with CANON so there are no problems.
I like it a lot.
From now on, when I want to take photos of the city or birds I'll use 70D and kiss for everyday use.
(Pancake lens).
I'll base professional shoots (Photo shoots and scenery) with 6D.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Oct 19, 2013
Design 3.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 3.0
Battery 3.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 2.0
Total 3.6

Recommended for those who are into videos.

I use both Nikon and Canon.
As I use this for work, I would be reviewing this strictly.
Because of the patent influencing the button order, I have to say I prefer Nikon.
The variangel making it impossible for the buttons to be displayed vertically on the left is too inconvenient for those who take photographs seriously.
This goes to D5000's, but I want one more button on the left where the thumb can reach.
I feel that the photograph is more true to reality than the Nikon's models of the same level.
However, the shutter noise is too tacky, and this won't be able to make the models and interviewees get into the mode.
The movie shooting of it has pretty improved and I thought it interesting to make a short movie depending on lenses.
I recommend you to buy this model because it won't be improved for a long time from now.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Oct 26, 2013
Design 3.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 3.0
Total 4.4

Wifi function is interesting.

I upgraded to this from EOS30D.
The clarity, high sensitivity, servo AF, video, live veiw, continuous shooting, variangle LCD....
All the functions you would normally use were upgraded and I'm genuinely amazed, especially with the Wi-fi function!
I think the connection to smart phones is what's attracting all the attention, but for me, I liked that you can use EOS Utility wireless.
The TabletPC installed with the wireless router software was connected to the EOS 70D using the Wi-fi function, and shooting using the EOS Utility.
And so on.
For example, when you are shooting the sea and you wait until a boat passes by..
the spreading of the water ripples...
you will almost be in the same position for more than 30 minutes.
During that time, you can place the camera on the tripod and shoot using wireless connection from inside the car.
And since the cold season is upon us, the shooting from inside a warm car might be the style more often being used.
We acknowledge that it is not possible to shoot good pictures with this frame of thinking (laugh)
but I think the features are packed with maximum originality and functionality.
This continues with the 30D, and this is a good model that can be used for a longtime.
I am glad I bought it.

Good Review

Alice Delo Santos

  • Review by Alice Delo Santos
  • Nov 8, 2013
Design 3.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 3.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 3.0
Functionality 3.0
Display 3.0
Grip Performance 3.0
Total 3.3

Ang hirap ng sharing

Maganda ang picture quality nitong Canon,dahil naka high definition na ang lens .Ok na sana dahil may wifi ,pero hirap naman makapag sharing ng photos ang bagal ng wifi nito naglo-log pa.

Good Review

David Acosta

  • Review by David Acosta
  • Oct 8, 2013
Design 5.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 5.0
Total 4.9

Built-in WIFI camera

Built-in wifi functions na itong Canon EOS 70D Body at naka dual pixels CMOS AF technology na cam na din ito.Tapos meron itong 20.20megapixels na camera na kung saan eh mas na-eenjoy mo yunng resulta ng mga pictures images nito.Tsaka naka SLR-body only type ng digital camera ito .Tuwan-tuwa talaga kami sa paggamit nito kasi hindi naman ito mahirap i-operate tsaka well functioning din yung mga system nito sa mga operations.Medyo may kamahalan nga lang ito pero satisfied and happy ka naman sa quality and performance nito.

Good Review

Page 1 of 1

  • 1

Latest Reviews for Digital Cameras

Hindi ako expert pagdating sa point and shoot camera kaya gusto ko sana ng mas advanced na camera na ang gamitin ko kung gagamit rin lang ako ng camera at ito yung napili ko. Okay ang raw mode nito ...Read more

  • Rating : 5.0
  • Review by Irish Tamayo
  • Date : Sep 17, 2020

Una ko itong DSLR na camera at hindi naman ito mahirap gamitin. Karamihan sa mga features nito ay talagang user-friendly tulad ng pag-a-adjust ng shutter speed at ng aperture. Pwede ring mai-adjust ...Read more

  • Rating : 5.0
  • Review by Rommel Saavedra
  • Date : Aug 28, 2020

Dahil matagal na akong gumagamit ng Canon na camera, hindi ako sigurado noon kung susubukan ko ba ang unang entry ng Canon sa pagkakaroon ng mirrorless na camera. At buti na lang ay ginawa ko. Yung ...Read more

  • Rating : 5.0
  • Review by Aprile Pacheco
  • Date : Aug 28, 2020
View Mode: PC | Mobile