Apple MacBook Pro MC723ZP/A (Early 2011) Reviews

Compare prices

Specs

Reviews

Forum

Coupon7

Overall Rating

Design 4.3
Processing Speed 4.6
Graphics 4.4
Expandability 4.0
Usability 4.5
Portability 3.5
Battery 4.0
Display 4.4
Total 4.2

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Romel Conquilla

  • Review by Romel Conquilla
  • May 21, 2018
Design 4.0
Processing Speed 3.0
Graphics 3.0
Expandability 5.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Display 4.0
Total 4.1

Still until now.

Still using until now. Kicking and very useful specially on my research and studies. Battery is great it last up to 5-6 hours of using. display is just right. The design is heavy as if I'm working with a bunch of metals. the speed is fine for it uses only a SATA type HDD wishing to proceed with latest the soonest. Yes memory is expandable.. All in all I'm still satisfied despite of it's weight.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 23, 2011
Design 3.0
Processing Speed 4.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 3.0
Usability 3.0
Portability 3.0
Battery 3.0
Display 3.0
Total 3.3

My company bought one machine, but...

The other day I bought this model at my company. Hmmm.
For some reason the person in charge insisted on upgrading from last year's model (2010 Corei 5).
He claims that compared to the previous model you can see spec improvements.
Use under the Mac environment, it shows its full capability, so please ignore it if you're using MacOs.
Those who use Bootcamp mainly should worry about heating.
Especially, when you use a non-multithread program, the turbo may not work effectively because of the heating processing.
Especially, compared to the previous model, if it's not a multicore program, the operation speed may not improve that much.
When compared to the 2009 model, I can recommend it without hesitation, but when compared to the 2010 model, depending on the program you use, the rating will change drastically.
So you should not expect too much change in term of specs.
However, if you a multithread program under this Mac environment, you cannot compare it to the previous model.
Personally, I'm using last year's Corei7 model, and it's almost twice better than that in terms of spec performance (when using 3D software Modo501).
It's rather contradictory to my previous comments, but it's a huge difference when compared to the previous model.
However, I would buy next year's model if I were upgrading from last year's.
Those who know a lot about CPUs probably know this, but you can expect more from next year's model.
This MacBookPRO's specs tend to be influenced by the heating problem.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jun 5, 2011
Design 3.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics -
Expandability 3.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 3.0
Battery 5.0
Display 4.0
Total 4.0

Be careful with support.

All in all, I'm satisfied.
It starts up and shuts down much faster than Windows.
I was surprised as this was my first Mac.
The multi-touch trackpad is very easy to use.
I can't believe I used to think a mouse was a must.
The batter lasts longer than what the catalog indicates.
I wish it had one or two more USB ports.
Generally, I have no complaints about the device, but support sent me the wrong one twice when I asked them for exchange during the warranty period, so you should be careful.
I can't really trust support in the future.
It's a shame because I plan to use it for a long time. Customer support should not make users feel uncomfortable. That's my only complaint.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jun 19, 2011
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 4.0
Graphics -
Expandability 3.0
Usability 4.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Display 5.0
Total 4.1

I feel that I have obtained a toy I can enjoy.

This is my first Mac since XP.
I use it mainly for editing photos.
But after the purchase, I got into Garage Band.
My model is CPU2.3GHz/4G with a non-glare monitor.
Please take into account that I'm not only a Mac beginner but also a computer beginner when you read this review.
[Design] It's simple, yet you don't get tired of it.
I think it's time the design will be changed drastically, but even so, I like it as it shows its attractiveness as a tool.
[Processing speed] I think it's sufficient, but sometimes the screen gets slow down while I edit photos.
I'm not sure if upgrading memory to 8G will help.
Sometimes it gets slow while I use Garage Band.
It's been almost 2 months since I bought it, but it's getting slower at the startup.
Maybe I should think about how I'm using it.
For instance, I will use an external HDD for backing up data or add an SSD to the main body.
I guess it's not a good idea to store everything there.
I think I need to upgrade the memory (8Gx2 in the future) and add an SSD in order to use it for a long time.
This also depends on the evolution of the main body itself.
[Graphics] I bought it also thinking about video editing, but I haven't tried it yet. It takes time to make a slide show and transfer it to a DVD, but I haven't compared it to other models, so it may be relatively fast.
This also will be improved as I upgrade the memory, so I can't give a definitive answer at this point.
[Expandability] It's almost non-existent, but I don't mind.
You can be greedy.
As I use it for photos, it's good enough.
So far I haven't used a mouse.
The trackpad is so easy to use.
[Portability] It's heavy for a laptop.
It is my first Notebook so I'm content with just carrying it around, but to run around with the Notebook inside a bag is quite a hassle.
But that's like bringing along a photographic studio, a music studio and a movie studio when I think about it lol
[Battery] I'm attentive to battery life as many work-related stuffs require long duration.
I thought the power adapter to be a must but if it's just things like surfing the Internet or checking emails it appears able to last long enough.
[LCD] I was concerned with the reflection, so this one turned out to be a right choice. Its performance is adequate.
When I show photos to my clients, they are surprised, commenting how beautiful they are.
However, I get nervous when I clean stains on the screen.
[General comments] Because of the constant model change, it's difficult to decide when to buy a new model, but I decided on the Quad Core model as I thought it had similar specs to iMac.
I'm highly satisfied, but a program is sometimes interrupted.
Maybe it has to do with the way I use it.
I will ask Apple Store about it.
As a main machine, it's sufficient.
I'm currently considering whether or not I'm going to buy peripheral devices such as iPad etc.
It's a fun toy that lets you do everything.
Your dream will expand according to how you use it.
If the level goes up, I will upgrade each program.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jul 29, 2011
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 4.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Display 5.0
Total 4.8

I bought it before Lion was announced.

I upgraded from MacBook unibody late2008.
I use it at home and outside.
[Design] You can wipe the screen with cloth and make it shine.
It's good that scratches wouldn't stand out on the aluminum body.
This can be said about the aluminum body in general, but it's flexible enough that the body doesn't creak.
[Processing speed] Very fast.
It causes no stress while I use it for RAW (Aperture) and 3DCG(Cinema4D R11).
Especially, SandyBridge is beneficial for those who use programs optimized for multicore such as Cinema4D.
You can render it fast with 8 threads.
However, if you use Windows on VM etc.
you need to add more memory.
[Graphics] I tested a 3D game named ARMA2 on Windows 7.
It worked briskly with 1440x80 and normal graphic setting.
3D games from a few generations ago (Call of Duty MW etc.)
play briskly even with high graphics setting.
[Expandability] As it has only 2 USB ports, you may want more, depending on how you use it.
As I don't connect it that much on a business trip, so I have no complaints, but you may need a hub at home or at work.
I can't evaluate Thunderbolt as I don't have a device for it.
It's easy to change the memory and HDD etc.
If you have a screw driver, you can open the back so easily.
However, you may want to use the threaded protective solution you can buy at a Home Center to protect the fragile screws.
[Usability] I chose Lion with an up-to-date program, but F4 key stays dashboard, and I can't get it adjusted to the Launchpad.
You can use FunctionFlip to fix this issue.
The current model has the Lion specs for the F key arrangement.
If you care about this, you should watch out.
[Portability] I take often by bicycle and I put it in my backpack every day but the weight is at the very limit of what is permissible for me.
Considering that I can work with this spec, the size is good.
[Battery] It lasts long for the present.
If I drop the brightness, I will save the power consumption.
[LCD] I think that the maximum brightness is too bright.
I cut in about 30% usually, but when I want to work with awake, I set it at the maximum brightness :)
There is no problem even photo editing, if it is a hobby level.
[General comments] It's amazing that a laptop with this capability is available for 150,000 yen.
It's cheaper than the MacBook Late2008 I used to own.
As the CPU and graphic board are excellent, I think you can use it for a long time if you add an SSD even if a new model becomes available.
(I wish the price of an SSD would have gone down by then).
As DDR3-1333's 4GBx2 costs only 5,000 yen, you should exchange the memory on your own.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Sep 5, 2011
Design 3.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 4.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 3.0
Battery 5.0
Display 5.0
Total 4.4

You can trust this MBP with normal evolution.

Design: I've gradually grown tired of it.
Processing speed: No complaints
Graphic performance: No complaints
Expandability: At this point in time, TB can't be used (bad point).
And at this price there's no USB 3.0 (bad point).
Ease of use: No complaints
Portability: It's a bit tough to carry.
Battery: If you bring along another one, image editing is quite fast - of course.
Screen: No complaints
Overall comments: After expanding the RAM to 8GB I used it for work.
The secure feeling of Mac OS X and the superior usability are as always.
I was aiming for SnowLeopard, and I made the right choice.
FCP is orz...

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Sep 6, 2011
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 3.0
Usability 3.0
Portability 3.0
Battery 1.0
Display 4.0
Total 3.5

The battery doesn't last long.

The battery doesn't last long.
It only lasts about 3.5 hours while surfing the net, even though I lower the screen brightness.
And it's worse because I can't exchange the batteries.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 3, 2012
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 5.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Display 5.0
Total 4.8

My buddy!

It looks stylish!
I mainly use it for photos, so I've set it for non-glare high resolution.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Nov 1, 2011
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 5.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Display 5.0
Total 4.9

It's the first Mac in a long time

I have been using Windows machines for a long time, but about 5 years ago I used a G4 MacBook for 6 months to carry around.
I decided to us a Mac again because it has an Intel chip and Windows programs can be used on a Mac.
As I thought I could use it for my work, I decided to purchase a Mac.
[Design]
It is good. I like it a lot.
[Processing speed] No complaints.
With the Core i7 OSX + Sandy Bridge, it's comparable to my desktop (a self-made machine with Phenom II X6 and HD4850).
[Graphic Performance] I don't game, so it's fine for me.
[Augmentability] It's a laptop, so I wasn't expecting much, but I think it's good enough.
[Ease of Use] In particular, I like the usability of OSX Lion and the trackpad.
Since I check PDF manuscripts, I value the functions such as scrolling vertically and horizontally and zooming in and out.
I don’t own an iPad, but I imagine it feels the same.
[Portability]
It’s rather heavy, but I used to carry around a 3 kg-Bio, so it feels slightly lighter now.
Even so, it´s heavy and bulky.
First, I wanted to buy a 13-inch one, but I chose a 15-inch one because I didn’t want to regret about the specifications.
[Battery]
It’s much better than the Bio I used to use.
[LCD]
Beautiful.
Reflections do not bother me where I’m using it.
[Overall evaluations]
As I wrote before, I went out to buy a lower model, but when I found Mac Book Pro 2011 late 15inc, I decided to buy it right away.
First, I was using Boot Campand Windows 7, but now with Office 2011 installed, I just need OSX while I’m using it for normal use.
I would like to use it for a long time.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Nov 14, 2011
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 5.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 3.0
Battery 3.0
Display 4.0
Total 4.3

A Mac laptop you can buy with peace of mind

Though the design has not changed from before, in some ways, this unibody design is at a level of perfection where it is almost fine to say it is the final notebook system, so I think it is all right to stay with this design for a while.
At any rate, when talking about the multi-touch trackpad's usability - mouse? What is that?
We don't need that sort of thing any more.
With multi-touch, you can do anything - send pages, scroll, change applications, right-click.
For specific uses, it is outstanding for things such as the Web, email, video encoding, the iTunes mothership, composition, and photo adjustment.
If you want to play PC games, it's possible if you install Windows.
(Though I don't play PC games myself, so I didn't install it.)
It's faster than the old desktop.
With Core i 7, the processing speed is hardly anything to worry about.
Though I think even Core i 5 is sufficient.
I am satisfied with the design, the usability, and the cost performance.

Good Review

Page 1 of 1

  • 1

Latest Reviews for Laptops

ay grabe talaga ang ganda ng pagpili ko sa bagong model ng apple macbook kasi bukod sa apple brand to alam talaga nating lahat kung gaano ito kaganda lahat ng quality na hinahanap natin sa isang ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.5
  • Review by green
  • Date : Nov 20, 2019

Kung long running lang naman na laptop ang gusto mo ito ang bagay sayo kasi naman for whole day kaya ng laptop na ito and ang dali pang gamitin ito manipis siya and okay naman para sa akin lalo na at ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by jarden argallon
  • Date : Mar 24, 2018

We always bring this laptop sa mga gala namin ng boyfriend ko and matagal na rin namin ito nabili super ang tibay talaga nito and with the gestures nito na ang dali lang din gamitin mas mataas ang ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by mea honey
  • Date : Mar 24, 2018
View Mode: PC | Mobile