Apple MacBook Pro MB991ZP/A (Mid 2009) Reviews

Compare prices

Specs

Reviews

Forum

Coupon4

Overall Rating

Design 5.0
Processing Speed 4.8
Graphics 4.6
Expandability 3.8
Usability 4.8
Portability 3.8
Battery 4.5
Display 4.8
Total 4.5

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 21, 2010
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 4.0
Usability 5.0
Portability -
Battery -
Display 5.0
Total 4.8

There is no loss in buying!

I have been thinking of changing my computer to a mac one since 6 months ago.
And finally I got enough money and I'm about but it.

[Design]
No complaints
it's completed design that you don't get tired of it even you only look at it for long time.
The back light of the key is also one of the part make me satisfied.

[Speed of cope]
I only use web but I feel no stress so far.

[Graphic design]
No problems with graphics as OS.
Although it still cannot open heavy files, its present condition seems to work fine.

[Expandability]
Since there is no card slot and very few USB plots, the feedback regarding this is a bit poor.

[Ease of Use]
It cannot be said that this computer is difficult to use.

[Portability, Battery]
I have no comments since I have not brought it out from my house yet.

[LCD]
Although it is rather gleaming, this is not a point for concern during usage.

The focus may change when it is used in a spacious house.

[Satisfaction]
Generally speaking, I will rate it full marks.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 1, 2010
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 3.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Display 5.0
Total 4.6

My first Mac after using Windows all my life.

It has been 10 years since I touched a personal computer for the first time.
I finally purchased a Mac as my financial situation allowed me in October last year.
I purchased, hoping I can use it for net and Office.

[Design] Awesome. I can use it outside perfectly.

[Processing Speed] I feel no stress whatsoever in terms of Office, net, and data transfer etc.
If I had Adobe, which is heavy, it would be another story, though.
The sand clock, which appears during processing on Windows, hardly appears on Mac.

[Graphic Function] Good. Beautiful.
I do not want to adjust images on my current Windows machine.

[Expandability] Hardly any. With an external 2.5 inch HDD, the two USB ports are occupied, and with an SD card, it sticks out. It is too bad.

[Ease of Use] I chose the US keyboard, but I do not find it strange while using it.
The blind touch feels natural, too.
As far as I am concerned, typing is excellent.

Start-up/shutdown is very fast, so I was surprised and confused at first, but I got used to it now.
I am grateful.

[Portability] I have no complaints because I knew it was not that light, but it feels a bit heavy.
I wish they would image training on the spec weight.

[Battery] It lasts a long time. I have never used it this long only with a battery.
When it goes down, I will just charge it.
It lasts about 3 hours while I surf the net.
At least it is better than the ThinkPad I own.

[LCD] Beautiful. In my environment, reflection does not bother me, even though I was worried.
But it gets easily dirty, so it is bothersome to keep cleaning it.

[General Comments]
Good design. The battery lasts long, processing speed is fast, and you can use it on a business trip without worrying about the remaining battery.
Also, you can get connected with S21HT and Bluetooth plan, so it is convenient and comfortable!

However, Mac has no freeware unlike Windows, which I find inconvenient.

In addition, except for Virus Buster security programs are all expensive!

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 3, 2010
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 5.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 3.0
Battery 4.0
Display -
Total 4.6

"I'm very satisfied! "

I have been a Mac user since last fall.
As I own an iPhone, I thought about music, DJ, and net surfing when I decided on this item.
It works briskly, so I am using with without feeling stressed.
It is a bit too heavy for carry it around, but I love it very much because of the elegant aluminum and excellent design.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 2, 2010
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 5.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Display 5.0
Total 5.0

My first Mac! I've used it for half a year.

[Design] I love the cuteness of the white unibody design.
[Processing speed] I purchased it without any customization, but with 2GB memory, it is sometimes tough when I edit images on photoshop.
I am thinking of expanding it.
[Graphic quality] I think it is great that HD movies launched by HTML5 could be played without heavy loading the CPU.
I believe having GeForce is a great advantage.
[Extensibility] It's rather disappointing to me that there is only Mini Display Port for video output interface.
I do have an adapter but...
Well, I don't take it seriously because if it came with DVI or VGA, the great design of this machine would have been lost.
[Usability] I must emphasize that the usability of the multi-touch track pad is fantastic!
Also, the unified operability of MacOSX is perfect.
[Portability] The size is just fine, but it's a bit too heavy.
However, considering it contains long lasting battery on it, I guess it can't be helped.
[Battery] I bring this to school and make documents and edit images.
It doesn't require WiFi or Bluetooth, so it lasts quite long.
[Screen] Very easily viewable and beautifully displayed.
The brightness is easily adjustable, and is very nice.
[Final Verdict] I bought MacBook because I wanted to start developing applications for iPhones, and I was skeptical at first.
But now, I am completely enthralled by the machine.
This is one product that makes you satisfied!

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 20, 2010
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 4.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Display 5.0
Total 4.8

The weight doesn't bother me.

This is heavier than a DOS/V mobile notebook, however the functionality is better with this machine and you'd forget about its weight once you own it lol.
I put Intel SSD and the boot time got super fast which is 15 seconds.
I recommend this if you move around a lot.
I upgraded the memory with 8GB and installed Win7 on VMWareFusion3.
That way you can use softwares that do not support Mac.
You wouldn't need DOS/V any more.
This 13-inch is an excellent balance of value for money and functionality, so I highly recommend it.
I'm using the US key model of CTO.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 27, 2010
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 4.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Display 5.0
Total 4.6

As a sub machine

<Design> I wanted a 13 inch sub-machine, so I customized it to 500GB, with US keyboard at Apple store.
<Processing speed> It has 4 GB core 2 Duo/2.53GHz, but it moves very smoothly.
< Graphic quality > It plays movies very beautifully and works speedy.
< Extendability > Correspondence to SD card helped me a lot, as my camera recording media is SD.
< Usability > Including my main iMac, Air and this one, I use US keyboard for all of them.
I feel that customizing it makes me cherish it more and more.
< Portability > I didn't purchase MacBook Pro intending to bring it around, so no mark on the weights.
Even if I did carry it around, I guess I could bear it for half a day in a bag.
< Battery > If you only browse website, it might last long.
However, in actual use, when I listen to music, net surfing, and process images with Photoshop etc.,
it doesn't last that long.
I set the battery display with percentage display, and I start charging when remaining battery level is 20%.
< Screen > I like the glaring screen as it adds a luxurious taste, so I do not have any problem with it.
For reflection, I don't expect too much, so no concern.
< Satisfaction level > I place it next to iMac27(MB952) as a submachine, but for space wise, it is 13 inch and it's compact, and for processing speed, it's quite quick, so it is very helpful.
I am very satisfied with the purchase.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 28, 2010
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 4.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Display 4.0
Total 4.6

My first Mac! I've used it for half a year.

[Design] I love the cuteness of the white unibody design.
[Processing speed] I purchased it without any customization, but with 2GB memory, it is sometimes tough when I edit images on photoshop.
I am thinking of expanding it.
[Graphic quality] I think it is great that HD movies launched by HTML5 could be played without heavy loading the CPU.
I believe having GeForce is a great advantage.
[Extensibility] It's rather disappointing to me that there is only Mini Display Port for video output interface.
I do have an adapter but...
Well, I don't take it seriously because if it came with DVI or VGA, the great design of this machine would have been lost.
[Usability] I must emphasize that the usability of the multi-touch track pad is fantastic! Also, the unified operability of MacOSX is perfect.
[Portability] The size is just fine, but it's a bit too heavy.
However, considering it contains long lasting battery on it, I guess it can't be helped.
[Battery] I bring this to school and make documents and edit images.
It doesn't require WiFi or Bluetooth, so it lasts quite long.
[Screen] Very easily viewable and beautifully displayed.
The brightness is easily adjustable, and is very nice.
[Final Verdict] I bought MacBook because I wanted to start developing applications for iPhones, and I was skeptical at first.
But now, I am completely enthralled by the machine.
This is one product that makes you satisfied!

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 2, 2010
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 3.0
Usability 4.0
Portability 3.0
Battery 4.0
Display 5.0
Total 4.1

It's been awhile to own a Mac.

The aluminum unibody MacBook got my attention, and I finally pucrhased it last month.
Since MacOS 9, it's been a long while, but the user interface that you can operate instinctively is still there.
A Mac gives its owner a feeling of satisfaction.
(My previous machine is PowerBook 2400c, which I still own).
I have just bought a hard cover, a LCD film, and a keyboard cover, among other things.

I installed Windows7Home64bit on VMWareFusion.
Functions very lightly and smoothly.
They say the battery lasts 7 hours, but actually around 5 hours.
I don't mind so much about the weight as I don't carry it around every day.
The keyboard with a back light is useful.
If you were to buy a white MacBook, you'd be more satisfied with this model with a few extra bills.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 8, 2010
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 4.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Display 5.0
Total 4.6

I've always been a Mac user.

I've always used Mac and I feel it's evolving steadily.
This is my second Intel machine and I don't get a sense of discomfort.
However, it doesn't have a key to switch Japanese and English input.
It'll take long for me to get adjusted.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 10, 2010
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 3.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 4.0
Battery -
Display 5.0
Total 4.4

My first Mac! I've used it for half a year.

[Design] I love the cuteness of the white unibody design.
[Processing speed] I purchased it without any customization, but with 2GB memory, it is sometimes tough when I edit images on photoshop.
I am thinking of expanding it.
[Graphic quality] I think it is great that HD movies launched by HTML5 could be played without heavy loading the CPU.
I believe having GeForce is a great advantage.
[Extensibility] It's rather disappointing to me that there is only Mini Display Port for video output interface.
I do have an adapter but...
Well, I don't take it seriously because if it came with DVI or VGA, the great design of this machine would have been lost.
[Usability] I must emphasize that the usability of the multi-touch track pad is fantastic!
Also, the unified operability of MacOSX is perfect.
[Portability] The size is just fine, but it's a bit too heavy.
However, considering it contains long lasting battery on it, I guess it can't be helped.
[Battery] I bring this to school and make documents and edit images.
It doesn't require WiFi or Bluetooth, so it lasts quite long.
[Screen] Very easily viewable and beautifully displayed.
The brightness is easily adjustable, and is very nice.
[Final Verdict] I bought MacBook because I wanted to start developing applications for iPhones, and I was skeptical at first.
But now, I am completely enthralled by the machine.
This is one product that makes you satisfied!

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 31, 2010
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 4.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 3.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Display 5.0
Total 4.5

Mac at its best!

This is my first Mac.
I had used Windows PCs for 18 years, but I could no longer contain myself and ended up buying a Mac.
At the Shibuya Apple store, I purchased it for 138,800 yen with a student discount.
I also bought a case and a MagicMouse.
[Design] It is so beautiful that it takes my breath away.
There is no laptop that is as complete as this one.
It has been 2 months since I bought it, and I feel delighted to own this.
Let alone the aluminum uni-body, I love the back-lit keyboard in particular because it's a privileged feature for those who own a MacBookPro.lol
In addition, it's freezing cold when you touch the body on winter mornings...
well it's kind of rubbish information but it's extremely cold. lol
[Processing Speed]
This machine is equipped with slightly old Core2Duo processors.
However, thanks to the great quality of MacOSX, I feel the processing speed is fairly high comparing with Windows PCs with similar specs.
I am looking forward to MacBook Pro with Core i5 or i7 to come out in the future.
I hardly feel stressed while I use this machine for editing music, videos and photos, making and programming applications.
It's sufficient enough for me as a middle user.
[Graphic Performance]
I'm not sure how to judge as I don't play 3D games at all, but it's well enough for me.
I don't mind the absence of graphic cards as the architecture of Mac is marvelously well made.
[Expandability]
It's a notebook, so it lacks expandability.
However, it already comes with Firewire and Air Mac as standards, I don't miss anything.
[Usability]
Best.
As for hardware, the wonderful keyboard with a backlight, and the trackpad responds to any touch.
As for software, of course Mac OSX is great, and iLife is exceptionally wonderful.
Apple's software such as Logic, FinalCut, or Apature are all excellent, and realize great user interface and usability that you cannot find in Windows.
Once you use a Mac, you cannot go back to Windows.
Needless to mention the affinity with iPhone.
It is so easy to synchronize and share phonebook, schedule, music and photos.
Since it's a UNIX based OS, this laptop is also good for software programming.
You can only make iPhone applications on MacOS.
This is another reason why I bought this.
When I absolutely have to use Windows, like for using Office applications, I use BootCamp and VM Ware Fusion to use Windows7.
However, most of my needs can be done with Mac, and Mac is easier to handle and faster as well.
The MagicMouse I got with this computer is also excellent and easy to use.
The trackpad itself is extremely good, so a MagicMouse isn't really necessary, but I would recommend it to those who have enough budget.
[portability]
There's no match against Macbook Air, but I think it's light weight enough.
I take this with me to cafes and mcdonalds.
You can't call it a laptop unless you can't carry it around.
[Battery]
Very good.
It lasts for about 5 hours.
It says 7 hours on the catalog, but there's no way it'll last that long.
But I've never seen a laptop that has batteries that last this long.
A lot of cafes and mcdonalds have a wall outlet nowadays, so there's no need to worry about batteries that much.
[Display]
The LED-backlit display is very beautiful and bright.
I don't mind the reflections much too.
The screen is 13.3-inch so the resolution is normal, but the anti-aliasing makes texts clear so I don't mind much.
You would be better off buying a Macbook than a netbook.
[Overall review]
I have one word: Excellent.
I own a Windows desktop computer too, but I hardly use it.
With the multi touch trackpad, Mac is almost at it's extreme, so I think now's the time to switch to Mac.
Not that I was avoiding it, but there weren't any Mac users around me, so I was hesitant.
But after actually using the Macbook Pro my thoughts changed 180 degrees.
It's cool, easy to use, and high spec.
I'm satisfied with all of it.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Aug 31, 2010
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 3.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 3.0
Usability 4.0
Portability 3.0
Battery 3.0
Display 5.0
Total 3.8

My first Mac

I split a partition with BOOTCAMP, put in Windows 7 64bit, and am operating that.
With a software called AppleK BC, I switched the Caps key and Control Key, and the Option key and the Command key, so it can now be handled almost like a Windows machine.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 30, 2011
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 5.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 3.0
Battery 4.0
Display 4.0
Total 4.5

My first Mac.

I use Win PC as a main machine, but as I have never tried Mac, I convinced myself to purchase it 2 years ago, by making up two reasons.
Curiosity towards using Mac, and to use iMovie...
I upgraded the HDD to 500 GB.
However, recently, its main use is to watch DVD movies.
I regret lack of motivation of purchasing, and prepurchase research.
Also for iMovie, I haven't familiarized with it yet, until now.
For those who intend to use MacBookPro as a main machine, I think it is sufficient enough.
Nothing could be said more.
However, it is a bit too heavy to carry it around on daily basis.
To use Internet and emails, I think MacBookAir or iPad would be more sufficient.
If I get budget in the future, I would like to try virtualizing windows, using VMware and make it my main PC.

Good Review

Page 1 of 1

  • 1

Latest Reviews for Laptops

ay grabe talaga ang ganda ng pagpili ko sa bagong model ng apple macbook kasi bukod sa apple brand to alam talaga nating lahat kung gaano ito kaganda lahat ng quality na hinahanap natin sa isang ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.5
  • Review by green
  • Date : Nov 20, 2019

Still using until now. Kicking and very useful specially on my research and studies. Battery is great it last up to 5-6 hours of using. display is just right. The design is heavy as if I'm working ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.1
  • Review by Romel Conquilla
  • Date : May 21, 2018

Kung long running lang naman na laptop ang gusto mo ito ang bagay sayo kasi naman for whole day kaya ng laptop na ito and ang dali pang gamitin ito manipis siya and okay naman para sa akin lalo na at ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by jarden argallon
  • Date : Mar 24, 2018
View Mode: PC | Mobile