Apple MacBook MB063ZP/B Reviews

Compare prices

Specs

Reviews

Forum

Coupon4

Overall Rating

Design 5.0
Processing Speed 4.6
Graphics 3.7
Expandability 3.4
Usability 4.8
Portability 3.3
Battery 4.1
Display 3.4
Total 4.0

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Nov 11, 2007
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 4.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 3.0
Battery 5.0
Display 4.0
Total 4.4

no title

I am writing this review as I have finally obtained a long-cherished MacBook.
Although I wanted to have one when first launched, I have hesitated to purchase since there seemed to be some incipient failure problems, but I have got one this time when both the OS and the hardware were updated.
Before this I had used the original Mac mini with the Panther OS, so in fact I have skipped over the Tiger to the Leopard.
So please note that I would just compare it with the OS before the previous.
<Design>
I say It's perfect ten design now.
I feel MacBookPro attractive also though, in terms of the design I see MacBook beats it down overwhelmingly.
I experienced a note PC of Toshiba before, but their design is rather wasteful or somehow I can hardly claim it a smart look like MacBook.
The layout of back side is particularly so complicated that one will feel "why so confusing?"
The back side doesn't worry you when you use a PC, but that is the brilliance of Apple to go that fur sparing no pains.

<Transaction speed>
Perhaps because I switched from 1.25GHz of G4 also, I find 2.2GHz of Core2Duo so predominantly quick.
In regard to the start of the applications, they begin loading within a bound of icon after clicking it.
As it took at least five or six times bounding with Mac mini, I was a little surprised to see the loading starts within one or two bounds.
And, my memory capacity is yet standard 1GB, but I have no complaints about this for the moment;
I would make 2GB when I come to feel dissatisfied sooner or later.
It is reasonable that it can cope up to 5GB.
<Graphic performance>
Although I can't review the graphic performance well since I don't do much of image processing, it should have considerably improved by updating the graphic chip ...
<Extensibility>
I gave four points because I am afraid some may feel unhappy about the fact that it has only two USB ports.
It seems that one can have more if necessary by using USB hub, so I don't have much complaint about it.
One may think that another port could have been added spacewise if only you are ready, but probably it would be reasonable since, when I come to think about it, the 15 inches MacBookPro is also equipped with just two of them .
<Usability>
The keyboard is of a strange design unlike other note PCs, but does not have any problem at all regarding the easiness of the input.
Because the keyboard is built-in to the body, one can punch in with little deflection, and I like this sort of keyboard personally.
The touch-pad works by two-finger scrolls from right to left or up and down, and two-finger clicks for right-button clicking, etc. and is devised to be ok even without a mouse.
Very easy to use, too.
<Portability>
My rating only go down in this respect but I suppose it may be within the tolerance level for the people loving Apple.
Of course there are some Windows notebook computers that weigh less than 1kg.
But I think those which combine such features and body rigidity are hardly found.
In fact, Toshiba's notebook computer I previously used was also about 1kg and handy, but it did not have CD drive.
And compared to MacBook, the body was also poorly built.
Since I can tell MacBook's high body rigidity from its sturdiness, I am satisfied with 2.27kg.
It is a bit inconvenient to carry, but if you have affection for MacBook, I am sure it is not so bothersome..
<battery> It is only one day after it arrived, so actually I do not know how long the battery will last.
I have no complaints if it lasts for about 5 hours.
<liquid crystal display (LCD)> As for this, it seems that the reputation among people who is familiar with graphic-related things is not good.
But compared to Toshiba's notebook computer I bought 4 years ago, the LCD is much more clear and easy-to-read.
So I gave it 4 points.
The reason why I did not give 5 points is because it is a glare type LCD.
I have trouble with glare LCD monitor as long hour use make eyes tire easily, so personally I like non-glare.
But recently, only little images register on glare LCD, so it doesn't bother as much as I thought in terms of using it at home.
The lighting at the shop were considerably bright that the image of the light is registered onto the monitor, when in reality I think it doesn't really register that much.
Be careful about this point, because when I saw it at the shop, I almost wanted to get the non-glare MacBookPro.
<Satisfaction> There are some small points that I am not satisfied with but in general, I can give 100 out of 100 points and I think it is near perfect.
There are no problems such as sudden shutdown like the earlier MacBook, so it is very comforting to use.
There are functions that I haven't tried yet but my opinion for playing around it with a day could be described in one word.
"wonderful".
I would like to take care and use it for a long time.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Nov 11, 2007
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 4.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 3.0
Battery 5.0
Display 4.0
Total 4.4

no title

I am writing this review as I have finally obtained a long-cherished MacBook.
Although I wanted to have one when first launched, I have hesitated to purchase since there seemed to be some incipient failure problems, but I have got one this time when both the OS and the hardware were updated.
Before this I had used the original Mac mini with the Panther OS, so in fact I have skipped over the Tiger to the Leopard.
So please note that I would just compare it with the OS before the previous.
<Design>
I say It's perfect ten design now.
I feel MacBookPro attractive also though, in terms of the design I see MacBook beats it down overwhelmingly.
I experienced a note PC of Toshiba before, but their design is rather wasteful or somehow I can hardly claim it a smart look like MacBook.
The layout of back side is particularly so complicated that one will feel "why so confusing?"
The back side doesn't worry you when you use a PC, but that is the brilliance of Apple to go that fur sparing no pains.

<Transaction speed>
Perhaps because I switched from 1.25GHz of G4 also, I find 2.2GHz of Core2Duo so predominantly quick.
In regard to the start of the applications, they begin loading within a bound of icon after clicking it.
As it took at least five or six times bounding with Mac mini, I was a little surprised to see the loading starts within one or two bounds.
And, my memory capacity is yet standard 1GB, but I have no complaints about this for the moment; I would make 2GB when I come to feel dissatisfied sooner or later.
It is reasonable that it can cope up to 5GB.
<Graphic performance>
Although I can't review the graphic performance well since I don't do much of image processing, it should have considerably improved by updating the graphic chip ...
<Extensibility>
I gave four points because I am afraid some may feel unhappy about the fact that it has only two USB ports.
It seems that one can have more if necessary by using USB hub, so I don't have much complaint about it.
One may think that another port could have been added spacewise if only you are ready, but probably it would be reasonable since, when I come to think about it, the 15 inches MacBookPro is also equipped with just two of them.
<Usability>
The keyboard is of a strange design unlike other note PCs, but does not have any problem at all regarding the easiness of the input.
Because the keyboard is built-in to the body, one can punch in with little deflection, and I like this sort of keyboard personally.
The touch-pad works by two-finger scrolls from right to left or up and down, and two-finger clicks for right-button clicking, etc. and is devised to be ok even without a mouse.
Very easy to use, too.
<Portability>
My rating only go down in this respect but I suppose it may be within the tolerance level for the people loving Apple.
Of course there are some Windows notebook computers that weigh less than 1kg.
But I think those which combine such features and body rigidity are hardly found.
In fact, Toshiba's notebook computer I previously used was also about 1kg and handy, but it did not have CD drive.
And compared to MacBook, the body was also poorly built.
Since I can tell MacBook's high body rigidity from its sturdiness, I am satisfied with 2.27kg.
It is a bit inconvenient to carry, but if you have affection for MacBook, I am sure it is not so bothersome..
<battery> It is only one day after it arrived, so actually I do not know how long the battery will last.
I have no complaints if it lasts for about 5 hours.
<liquid crystal display (LCD)> As for this, it seems that the reputation among people who is familiar with graphic-related things is not good.
But compared to Toshiba's notebook computer I bought 4 years ago, the LCD is much more clear and easy-to-read.
So I gave it 4 points.
The reason why I did not give 5 points is because it is a glare type LCD.
I have trouble with glare LCD monitor as long hour use make eyes tire easily, so personally I like non-glare.
But recently, only little images register on glare LCD, so it doesn't bother as much as I thought in terms of using it at home.
The lighting at the shop were considerably bright that the image of the light is registered onto the monitor, when in reality I think it doesn't really register that much.
Be careful about this point, because when I saw it at the shop, I almost wanted to get the non-glare MacBookPro.
<Satisfaction> There are some small points that I am not satisfied with but in general, I can give 100 out of 100 points and I think it is near perfect.
There are no problems such as sudden shutdown like the earlier MacBook, so it is very comforting to use.
There are functions that I haven't tried yet but my opinion for playing around it with a day could be described in one word.
"wonderful".
I would like to take care and use it for a long time.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Nov 23, 2007
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 3.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 3.0
Battery 4.0
Display 3.0
Total 4.0

no title

I bought it as a submachine-cum-IntelMac evaluator for the PowerMacG5 that I'm currently using as mainframe.
In my opinion, it follows Pismo, PowerBookG4 and is a 3rd generation Mac notebook.
[Design] The body which consists of simple planar and curvy surfaces is very beautiful and streamlined, which I like a lot.
This notebook, which has an all-black coloring looks tight overall and is very cool.
Also there's no latch structure for opening and closing, the power-supply cord connector is a magnet which makes it easily disconnected, and the "avoid unforseen falling accidents" part which was surprisingly not advertised, which I think is MacBook's beauty.
[Capability] The performance is perfect unless you play 3D games.
The CPU is a 2.2GHz Core2Duo, and it is equipped with a high spec CPU for the price.
Graphic display also becomes Santa Rosa-based.
It seems its performance also boosted comparing with earlier models.
But I have not compared and don't know how faster than earlier model it is, and I don't feel any problem when comparing with G5.
Running Windows XP by using VMware Fusion and installing BootCamp on Mac OS X 10.5.1 is much more comfortable than running it on a poor PC.
There is no problem at all while using MS Office or Internet Explorer of Windows running in VMware.
You can watch videos with WMP stress-free.
You can switch MacOSX and Windows back and forth with spaces feature easily.
Everyone who uses both the OSs should experience it one.
You won't be able to go back to your old computer.
[Usability] The key stroke of the keyboard is rather shallow and it's probably the best of all the previous Macs.
It's very easy to type.
Trackpad would be easy if you once learn to use it with your 2 fingers.
It weighs 2.27kg, so I can't say it's light, but considering the MacBook's rigid impression, maybe it can't be helped.
Well, it was initially designed for rough usages at school.
<Cons> The view angle is narrow.
I prefer a non-glare screen better.
The function key is quite hard to use.
The fan noise while CPU loaded disturbs me a bit.
There are no PC card slot, so the network expandability is weak by all means.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Dec 31, 2007
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 4.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Display 4.0
Total 4.5

no title

I normally use Windows machine, but as I needed second machine at home, I purchased this one.
Just as expected of 2.2GHz Core2Duo, I have never had any concerns with it.
I think it is sufficient enough for daily use.
From my image of PowerBook of old time, I chose black.
Maybe it is because I haven't fuss around yet, but the all the process seems much more faster than Windows, such as activation from power off, and and resuming from sleep mode.
I also have my self-made WinXP PC, but I cannot help using Mac.
(Because my Windows's activation is too slow that I cannot wait for...)
In my opinion, as the web apps will be used commonly and a diversity of apps become available, Macs will be dominant in the market for its speedy activation.
At first I was going to add VMWare to use it and also Windows as the situation demands, but until now I didn't add it and two months will pass soon.
(For your information, I still use this with 1GB memory.)
Leopard is that much convenient.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 21, 2008
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 4.0
Graphics 3.0
Expandability 2.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 2.0
Battery 4.0
Display 1.0
Total 3.3

no title

I purchased it.
I can't even compare the design with Win, as it's just amazing.
No concerns with both processing speed and graphic quality.
For expandability.... it's not good.
Too few USB ports.
However, it is easy to use.
Especially the pad.
I wasn't considering it for portable use, so I have nothing to say for that.
For battery, it lasts longer than expected.
For the screen...
well, as expected.
You should check it at store.
It would be better with non-glare screen....
For satisfactory, I think it is good enough.
It doesn't cost that much too...
The improvement they should make is the screen.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jun 2, 2008
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 4.0
Graphics -
Expandability 4.0
Usability 4.0
Portability 2.0
Battery 4.0
Display 4.0
Total 3.9

no title

I switched from PowerBookG4'12.
I am generally satisfied, as functions and clock has drastically improved.
However, it is quite heavy for mobile use, and as the screen is wider, it is big. PB was barely portable.
Inclusing the adapter, it is quite heavy.
For design, the black surface and Apple mark is possitively harmonious, and reminds me of the earlier PB.
It's comparably a bit expensive though!
I would recommend the cheapest white model type to Apple beginners, but for core Apple users, I think this might be better.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jun 7, 2008
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 3.0
Expandability 3.0
Usability 4.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 3.0
Display 3.0
Total 3.8

no title

I bought it second-hand, as a sub PC at home.
The memory is 4GB.
I am very satisfied with this laptop, as at work I use iMac20 inch core2duo2.16Ghz(Memory 2GB), but the laptop can process the same with it.
I think you cannot detect any difference even compared to the latest model (2.4Ghz).
I am very glad I got the black model.
It is not too much of swagger like Macbook Pro, is not laxative, but it has slight cuteness in it.
The coolness of it is just remarkable.
Also, the iMac mentioned above and low rank model based in white disturbs me with the finger prints and dusts on the keyboard, but for black model, it doesn't disturb me as much, and can use it without any constraint.
However, the only con of it is the screen.
Honestly speaking, the screen quality is not very good.
It is certainly the weak part of the low price.
However, overall, I think using it as a sub & at home machine, I think the satisfaction level is over 100%.
I think it can maintain over 80% of satisfaction level, even as a main PC.
That is to say, I believe this model is worth a purchase.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 13, 2009
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 4.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 3.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 3.0
Display 4.0
Total 4.1

no title

I find it very good overall.
The bottom of the body gets very hot when you use it for a long time or do something heavy.
It can work as a heater during the winter but I find it annoying in the other seasons.

Good Review

Page 1 of 1

  • 1

Latest Reviews for Laptops

ay grabe talaga ang ganda ng pagpili ko sa bagong model ng apple macbook kasi bukod sa apple brand to alam talaga nating lahat kung gaano ito kaganda lahat ng quality na hinahanap natin sa isang ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.5
  • Review by green
  • Date : Nov 20, 2019

Still using until now. Kicking and very useful specially on my research and studies. Battery is great it last up to 5-6 hours of using. display is just right. The design is heavy as if I'm working ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.1
  • Review by Romel Conquilla
  • Date : May 21, 2018

Kung long running lang naman na laptop ang gusto mo ito ang bagay sayo kasi naman for whole day kaya ng laptop na ito and ang dali pang gamitin ito manipis siya and okay naman para sa akin lalo na at ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by jarden argallon
  • Date : Mar 24, 2018
View Mode: PC | Mobile