Apple MacBook Air MC505ZP/A (Late 2010) Reviews

Compare prices

Specs

Reviews

Forum

Coupon4

Overall Rating

Design 4.9
Processing Speed 4.5
Graphics 3.9
Expandability 3.3
Usability 4.7
Portability 4.7
Battery 4.1
Display 4.3
Total 4.3

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 10, 2011
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 3.0
Expandability 3.0
Usability 4.0
Portability 3.0
Battery 3.0
Display 5.0
Total 3.9

I switched to Mac.

The PC I have long patronized was NEC Lavie only, but I ended up following a typical pattern of transition from iPhone--> iPad--> then eventually replaced the main machine to Mac, as well...

MacBook was also in my consideration too, but my decision making factor was SSD.

Even though with 64GB, as the main machine of iPhone and iPad, it has no restriction at all.

It is quiet at any rate, and everything gets processed very fast.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 18, 2011
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 5.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Display 4.0
Total 4.8

I bought it on impulse. It's the best partner depending on how you use.

"[Design]
Personally I rather like the previoius air because of its premium feeling.
However, this is a design that is possible for Apple only.

[Processing Speed]
The specification is not so great, but its balance is excellent.
Primarily, since this is not a PC to use for encoding movies,
I think it's good as a mobile sub-note one, balancing with its price.

[Graphic Function]
There is no problem for normal use.

[Expanfdability]
This PC is built in order to pursue the idea of connecting with the wiring
which makes it good enough.

[Ease of Use]
I'm using a normal US keyboard.
Giving priority to the cost, this time I picked JIS.
It's a bit difficult to use the keyboard.

[Portability]
It's amazing.

[Battery]
I wish it could last 7 hours.

[LCD]
It is vertically challenged but it'd be OK if you configure it to hide the dock.

[General Comments]
With MBP 15 as main and data crowded, I purchased the MBA 11 as a sub note.
It satisfies me more than the MBP, and all I can say is wonderful, for this price.
I may buy a new model right after the model change, but I'll take good care of it for now.
"

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Nov 26, 2010
Design 4.0
Processing Speed 4.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability -
Usability 5.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 3.0
Display 3.0
Total 3.9

Ideal as a portable coding environment

[Design]
This is very Apple.

The simple design fundamentally based on the minimalism way of thinking is very simple without unnecessary appeal.

But Apple's recent products seem to be a problem in terms of vulnerability for those who care about the scratches on them.
Especially MacBook Air is made to be used for actively carrying it around but if you put it into your bag with no cover on it, you have to pay attention when you're doing so because there's a high possibility that it is damaged by the graze against the rigid objects in your bag.

I like the design but I felt that there was a little gap between the concept and the product design so I downgrade the ratings with one stage.

[Processing Speed]
The specifications of this PC show the numbers that seem to limit the processing speed but it works more smoothly than the specifications described.
The main storage is SSD. You can use this PC comfortably without feeling the decrease in the speed by page-in and page-out probably because the product itself is built based on the main storage being SSD.
This product has the extremely enough graphic function as the product classified under so-called UMPC.

[Expandability]
I don't evaluate this point because this PC is not designed for expansion.
I think you don't have a trouble in any occasion because there are 2 USB ports equipped in the right and left side of this PC when you use it.

But it will cause a trouble for those who'd like to connect various devises to your PC.

[Ease of Use]
I use this PC mainly for coding but it's more than comfortable to use.

With more high vertical display resolution, I would give higher ratings.
13 inch model is too big for me (and too heavy) so I couldn't make a purchasing decision soon but considering the size, I purchased this model.

I felt uncomfortable a little because the capable number of lines displayed is short when I start using the editor but once I got used to it, I don't feel unpleasant so much, thinking that ""this is what it is"".
But this could be a major problem if you are thinking about editing images etc., so I think you need to think about the 13-inch model depending on your applications for it to be a good buy for you.

[Portability]

I have no complaints for both the size and the weight.

But as I mentioned earlier, the design is so delicate that you have to be careful not to scratch it when putting it into a bag.
I do not intend to use it up just as I might do for ultra-mobile PC from a third-class maker, so the current situaltion is something like hit or miss when I care for an even minor scar for a mobile PC.

[Battery]

The duration of the battery is not as long as I had expected.
Even when I still hadn't installed a Flash software, I got surprised to find that the battery had been run out when I used it much.

That doesn't mean the battery doesn't last long but it is just OK for this type.

[LCD]
The LCD quality is not that good. I think that you use a product of this size on your lap or on a table, etc., which makes it necessary to look at the screen from different angles.
But there are occasions when you have to really fine tune to be able to see light colors.

I think it wouldn't have been a problem if it had an IPS LCD but I guess you just have to accept it.

[General Comments]

I have some small complaints but I'm basically very happy.
It's very comfortable that you can do coding when you're out, and I now write scripts with Vim when I'm not home, which is natural now.

I wish I had this product when I was a college student.
That would have been wonderful.
I'm glad that I can work anywhere I want.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 3, 2011
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics -
Expandability 4.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Display 5.0
Total 4.6

Recommended to an adhering female PC user!

This is my first Mac in my life.

I had used only Windows for work, It was an adventure for me to use Mac thinking about software I have and compatibility.

The condition to repurchase mobile PC was excellent portability and processing speed.
And stylish design.

I could not absolutely tolerate that my PC would be thick with Men's specification, although I am picky about fashion, my personal belongings and nail.
So I decided to buy Mac Book Air that meets these conditions.

And the result did not disappoint me.
It stars up quickly. It shuts down quickly. Return from the sleep mode is touching.

It is pleasant that I put it in my bag in sleep mode and use it immediately taking it out of my bag.

I do not have to waste business partners' time nor my time.

The processing speed is enough for me.
Even if I use animation on Power Point reproducing voice on iTunes, it runs smoothly.

I think the battery about which I was worried, lasts at least hours even if I use like the way above mentioned.
At times, the battery indicator says 8 hours 30 minutes, but that's not possible.
The only issue is that it's too thin and difficult to open.
It's thin and stylish that much.
Just as you expect from Mac. I'm completely a fan.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 7, 2011
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 4.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 3.0
Usability 4.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Display 4.0
Total 4.0

Mac is wonderful!!!

"This is an evaluation for 1.6GHz 4GB 128SSD US.

My impression after using the product is that it seems almost complete.

Although totally different, ipad is often comapred which is still in the developmental stage, but air's degree of completion seems pretty high.

As mac appstore has opened, I admit the fact that the presence of ipad seems more vague.

Its heat generation does not bother me, and fan does not spin and very quiet.
I purchased it as a 11-inch full spec, but as it's practical number full spec custom, it's a bit expensive, but considering you can't change it for yourself, I would recommend it even though it's rather expensive."

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jul 30, 2011
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 4.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 3.0
Usability 4.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Display 4.0
Total 4.1

Simple review

[Design] Simple and good.
[Processing Speed] Good for its size.
[Expandability] It'd be ideal if it had 2 more ports.
[Usability] A little uncomfortable with the keyboard, probably because it's thin.
[Mobility] Very good.
[Battery] It easily lasts for 4 hours.
[LCD] The characters were hard to see with the initial setting.
[Overall] The cost-performance is excellent.
It's ideal for someone who wants to carry a PC with high performance.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Aug 12, 2011
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 3.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Display 5.0
Total 4.6

I have no complaints

I purchased this in April 2011.
My impression after 4 months is that this meets almost all my needs, and most of the worries I had turned out to be nothing.
This is an unexpectedly good machine.

- You can carry this around at home or outside
- slim
- small
- both Win/Mac are ok
- close the top for standby, open it and it starts right away. very stable.
- I'm not a big fan of touch pads, but it's big and easy to use that a mouse may be unnecessary.
- It's enough as a Windows machine if you arrange the keyboard keys with a free software
- Relatively low price
- Relatively high spec (although I have a main computer aside from this, this can handle various tasks)
- Relatively big screen
- Relatively good battery life

I say "relatively" on the major premise that this is a substitute machine considered to carrying around.
But this can handle most tasks.
As for me;
- surfing the net (wireless LAN at home, WiMax mobile router outside)
- Emailing (I save messages in NAS and share them with my main computer)
- making websites (I put XAMPPlite in a USB memory and use it when I go out)
- stock trading (Rakuten Market Speed. 11 inch monitor is sufficient for me)
- Games (it can handle low spec games quite well)

However, this model does not have much disk space so it's not suitable for saving many things on the computer if you are installing BootCamp.
Basically, I use NAS and USB memory as the default location for saving data.
(thought it depends on the data).
When I use my main machine, I transfer the data from NAS to the HDD hooked up via SATA.
It also backs them up.
If you use it like this, 64 GB should be sufficient.
If you have a main computer and want to use it for certain purposes anytime anywhere, this one is good enough in terms of specifications and ease of use.
At this point, I would recommend the new model, but even with the limitations of the current machine, it is a capable one.
I have no complaints whatsoever, so I don't get excited even if i see other laptops.
The important thing is whether or not the machine is suitable for your use.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Aug 31, 2011
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 4.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 4.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Display 4.0
Total 4.5

Also recommendable for Mac starter girls: With lowering of price, now is the time to buy it!

...For difficult explanations like specs, please check other reviews.lol
I seriously want to recommend this to fashion-conscious girls (especially for those who want to use it outside sometimes).
It is different from the old Macs and is easy to use even for Windows users.
If you're the type of person that uses a computer only for interenet browsing, writing documents, and saving image data, now's the time to buy this since the price has dropped thanks to new models.
(the specs of the new model are unnecessary.)
[Design] Excellent. As you can tell by looking at it, it's stylish.
[processing speed] Excellent.
Joy of being able to browse websites 30 seconds after powering it on.
[usability] Good.
You can change the layout of the keyboard to the windows version.
For word documents, you can install Word and Excel.
If you have questions, ask the MAC boys around you.
[portability] Excellent.
It's 1.06 kg. Portable for girls too.
[battery] Excellent.
Works fine for 4 to 5 hours.
[overall review] This price for these features..
there's nothing to say.
But my only problem would be that it boots so fast and it's so easy to use that I think I spend more time infront of the computer...lol

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Sep 5, 2011
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics -
Expandability 3.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 3.0
Display 4.0
Total 4.3

I'm satisfied.

【Design】 Very thin and light.
Now I carry this macbookair, rather than ipad.
【Processing speed】 It's sufficient as a sub-PC.
【Expandability】 I would be glad if it comes with an SD slot.
【Ease of use】 The full keyboard is so good that I can write e-mail messages easily.
【Expandability】 As this is very thin and light, it is easy to carry in a bag!!
【Battery】 Hmmm.. It's normal.
【LCD】 imac's LCD is better than this.
As a sub-PC, this is the best PC.
Activation is quick and not frustrating at all.
The processing speed is good, too.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Sep 25, 2011
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 5.0
Usability 4.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Display 4.0
Total 4.6

I want a new one.

I could somehow work with 64GB in memory.
If I had 256GB, I could use it as a main machine.
I wanted this to be my sub machine, and this was my preferred choice when compared to iPad, but this machine's specs are great even as a main machine.
It can be put into my bag easily, so I tend to bring this out more often than Macbook.
However, doing so, I use up its memory more and more, and there have been some memory issues.
I tried not to install any unnecessary software and used only when it was necessary, but I've slowly started installing some useful stuff.
I'll get it organized, try to save up while I use it until it breaks, and wait for the 256GB model.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Oct 12, 2011
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 2.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Display 5.0
Total 4.4

It's great.

I bought this model after using macbookpro.
I was afraid if 64GB works well, but there is no problem.
For doing light tasks, it's good, maybe it's processing speed and the core are better than those of pro.
When I have to do complicated calculations or processing, I connect this with 24 inch LCD.
As I use this, now I want to buy a 27 inch iMac with SSD.
The next time I will buy that, perhaps.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Dec 24, 2011
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 4.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 2.0
Usability 4.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Display 5.0
Total 4.3

Great for portability

Aside from this I own an iMac, so my review is based on my experience using it on business trips and on the road.
In addition, I process quite large Word documents and ppt files, So I expanded the memory to 4 GB.
[Design] I have nothing to sayl!! I just love it!
[Processing speed] I can't say it's enough, but considering that I use it when I'm out or on the road, I guess it's okay.
Speeding up the processing speed might jeopardize the battery life.
It is difficult to work with Word documents that have about 100 pages and a lot of graphs and on top of that recording editing history.
However, it functions fast if you hide the history beforehand.
[Graphic capability] I do not play games so I'm not sure but I think it's enough.
[Expandability] With only a few USB ports, I can't help but wish for more.
When using cable to for the Interent, there's only one USB port left.
I think this is where it's important to just accept it.
[Usability] The base is a Mac, so it's easy to use once you get the hang of it.
After getting used to the track pad, there are times when I think it is easier to handle than a mouse.
I cannot use it well for drawing, but for other things, it is extremely easy to use.
[Portability] Extremely good!!
There are similar computers recently, but I think that the release of similar products proves how well this product is.
[Battery] Lasts long enough.
I use it on the train when travelling, but I have used it for nearly a year and I have never had any problems
[ Screen ] I think it is good enough.
I don't have any persistency or fondness regarding the screen, so I think it is displayed beautifully enough.
[overall review] If you own a main machine and are planning to only use this outside, I think it is a very good model.
But it's a different story when you compare this to an iPad.
If you are only planning to browse emails or texts, personally, I would recommend the iPad.
However, if you are going to use Office outside, I think MacBook Air is better, as it has a keyboard.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 7, 2012
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 4.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 4.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Display 4.0
Total 4.4

Mac sure is great.

[Design] There's no need for me to waste words here, is there?
[Processing Speed] If you ask me what I mean by "normal" I might not be able to answer, but it shouldn't be a problem for normal use by a normal user.
[Graphics] Plenty powerful.
[Augmentability] It's enough because using a lot of wired devices is not the conceptt.
That kind of usage is not for this product.
Use wireless LAN and bluetooth to its most and leave the 2 USB ports open.
That's the stylish way to use this.
But if you have to, let's just keep it to connecting a card reader, or for charging you cellphone (or pocket wifi).
[Ease of Use] Once you know what you are doing, I don't think any other PC could match this in terms of ease of use.
The track pad has so many functions that I can't remember them all.
[Portability] I finally understand why they put more effort on the thickness than the surface area of this device.
For 10 inch Windows net books, even the most compact are somewhat thick and takes up space in your bag.
With it being this thin, even it it has a larger surface area it is easy to pack.
And of course having a larger surface makes it easy to use too.
[Battery] With some adjustments it will last for four hours, so for me that seems sufficient.
[Display] I think how they processed the display is different, but the iPad 2's screen is nicer so I took a point off there.
[Overall] I got a used model of this at Sofmap Used Products Center for 59,800 yen.
By signing a year contract for wimax and trading in an Eee PC 900-x the price came to 35,000 yen, which was really attractive and I jumped to it.
I upgraded to Lion right away.
I already mentioned it above, but the multi-use touch pad is great.
However, remembering all the commands is quite a challenge.
I think once I get the hang of it it will be really easy to use and pretty cool.
I was very impressed with the booting and shutting down speed of the SSD, and I find myself using my main Windows PC less.
I went from Color Classic, Centris 660Av, and a Performa 5210, and iBook G4 but I haven't used a Mac since then.
For work and various things I have been using Windows recently, but this machine has reminded me of how nice Macs are.
I can't really explain it well, but no matter how much you decorate a Windows machines, it kind of has that "work" feel, which is completely different from the "exciting" feeling I get from Macs.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 26, 2012
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 4.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 4.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Display 5.0
Total 4.6

Can be used as a main machine for standard users.

I replaced my Windows PC made by a Japanese manufacturer with this.
My computer broke down when I was in the USA and decided to buy a Mac on this occasion.
I wavered between MacBook and MacBook Air, but finally decided on MacBook Air for its design and my purpose.
[Design] Very cool.
Especially the lit up Apple logo on the back.
When I write reports and programs using this at Starbucks at night, I feel a sense of superiority, though I know it's merely a self-satisfaction.
[Processing speed] Thanks to the SSD, the activation and actions are quick and good.
My former computer had Core2Duo and a higher clock frequency, but I feel that this machine is several times quicker.
A normal user will not feel any stress when using popular software like Word, Excel, iTunes, viewing images and browsing the Internet.
It's far more comfortable than a Windows PC.
[Graphic capability] Sometimes the image jumps when playing videos.
But first of all, MacBook Air is not intended for such use, so the functionality is sufficient taking into account of this size and thinness.
[Expandability] There are only two USB ports, so if you use an external HDD and a USB memory the ports are full.
But there will hardly be a case where you use two USB ports when taking it out with you.
In my case, I use a USB hub to use a DVD drive, an external HDD and a cable iPhone.
[Ease of use] The dock is excellently easy to understand.
No offense but it's like a mobile phone or smartphone.
Once I set my favorite functions in the Dock, all I need to do is click an application icon to select a software.
I feel like I was released from the complexity of Windows PC where you have to select Start > Programs > etc, etc.
The track pad is so easy to use.
I don't need a mouse anymore.
Once you get used to this, you can never go back to a Windows computer.
You can install Windows too, if it becomes absolutely necessary.
This is a particularly notable advantage, because there is no Windows PC in which you can install Mac.
The keyboard is easy to use too.
Mine is a US keyboard since I bought this in the USA.
The space between the keys are perfect for comfortable key typing.
[Portability] This is truly excellent.
How thin this is!
I often carry this in my backpack, but it doesn't take up space.
It's very easy to carry, though it weighs more than I imagined.
[Battery] It's nice that the battery lasts this long considering how slim it is.
You don't have to worry about the battery if you're just using it a little at a cafe, or if you fully charge it home beforehand.
I suppose that a thorough energy saving measure is taken.
[LCD] so beautiful.
It's a famous story that Steve Jobs studied calligraphy and adopted it for Mac fonts.
[General evaluation] This is a very highly developed device.
I have almost no complaints with this.
However, it doesn't mean that I would recommend it to everyone.
There are still tons of softwares that only run on Windows.
So I recommend that one should buy a PC that fits his or her purposes.
Also, the hierarchy of the folders are different from Windows.
I was confused at first.
At home I use Windows and Macbook Air, and outdoors, I use Macbook Air.
(my proportion of use is Windows: Mac=1:9)
If you are interested, try it out first at the Apple store.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 28, 2012
Design 4.0
Processing Speed 4.0
Graphics 2.0
Expandability 1.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Display 3.0
Total 3.6

Review after using this for a year, for both business and private purposes

In general, I have no regret after my purchase.
But to mention one thing, I wish I had upgraded the memory and SSD.
[Disc capacity] Even after installing XCode, Eclipse, MySQL, Office, MacPorts, etc.
without deleting any existing applications and input my data for work, there's still 12GB left.
[Display] I have an external display, but I don't use it any more.
Due to its high resolution and virtual desktop (Spaces), almost all work can be easily done with the standard display.
But I had it fixed once which I will mention below.
[Mobility/durability] I've brought it with me for a year now for work and for meetings at my customers' offices.
I haven't had any problems on these occasions.
The keyboard still looks alright.
I don't worry about the battery at all either because the capacity is like using an iPad.
[Failure and repair] The other day when I changed my wallpaper, I noticed that the right end of the LCD was blinking like stars so I took it in to the Genius Bar.
As a result, I had it repaired at no charge.
They replaced the entire display, and at the same time, the SSD was also replaced entirely after the SSD test in the factory.
I wondered why because I never had problems when I used it.
After I experienced this, I think that customization, such as installing a third party SSD, should not be done at least a year, because with such customization Apple's guarantee cannot be sought.
Or was it that I was unlucky to have bought a defective machine?
I hope it was so...
The ease of use and the keyboard usability depends on each person. As for me, I will surely choose Air again and not any other PC or MacBook Pro.

Good Review

Page 1 of 1

  • 1

Latest Reviews for Laptops

ay grabe talaga ang ganda ng pagpili ko sa bagong model ng apple macbook kasi bukod sa apple brand to alam talaga nating lahat kung gaano ito kaganda lahat ng quality na hinahanap natin sa isang ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.5
  • Review by green
  • Date : Nov 20, 2019

Still using until now. Kicking and very useful specially on my research and studies. Battery is great it last up to 5-6 hours of using. display is just right. The design is heavy as if I'm working ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.1
  • Review by Romel Conquilla
  • Date : May 21, 2018

Kung long running lang naman na laptop ang gusto mo ito ang bagay sayo kasi naman for whole day kaya ng laptop na ito and ang dali pang gamitin ito manipis siya and okay naman para sa akin lalo na at ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by jarden argallon
  • Date : Mar 24, 2018
View Mode: PC | Mobile