Apple MacBook Air MC234ZP/A (Mid 2009) Reviews

Compare prices

Specs

Reviews

Forum

Coupon4

Overall Rating

Design 4.9
Processing Speed 4.6
Graphics 4.7
Expandability 3.3
Usability 4.4
Portability 4.6
Battery 4.2
Display 4.4
Total 4.4

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 13, 2013
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 4.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 2.0
Usability 4.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Display 5.0
Total 4.1

My evaluation

I hastily purchased it as the new MacBook Air has an innovating design.
Its simple design compares well to other new models.
Maybe because it's thin, it's hard to type on the keyboard.
Also, it's hard to do maintenance as the batter can't be changed.
The price is inevitably higher than other models.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Nov 19, 2009
Design 4.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 4.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Display 4.0
Total 4.6

Not bad.

This is the first Mac laptop in a long while after PowerBook G3 (Pismo) and PowerBook 2400.
[Design] Not bad.
It would be better if it had the design that makes the bezel part stand out less like MacBook Pro.
[Processing speed] Sufficient.
[Graphics] No problems.
[Expandability] It's good that it doesn't expect you to expand it much.
[Usability] It's easy to lift it up from the desk when I change its position.
[Portability] Excellent.
It's easy to take it out from the bag.
[Battery] It lasts a long time if I use it without WiFi and Bluetooth on the menu bar.
[LCD] Honestly, it's a bit narrow, but it feels comfortable if you enlarge or shrink the screen with the touchpad's gesture while browsing the web.
[General comments] I bought it mainly for remote shooting with digital single-lens reflex camera (EOS) and modifying RAW videos, and I'm satisfied with it.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 27, 2010
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 4.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Display 5.0
Total 4.8

I finally got it.

[Design] I've become captivated with this design.
[Processing speed] I selected SSD so it doesn't feel different from a MacBookPro(MB991), but I'm not planning on any heavy processing.
[Graphics performance] This device isn't meant for gaming to begin with, so more than enough performance.
[Extensibility] I've interpreted that the sole USB is part of its charm.
[Ease of use] Although this is a full-sized, slim and light laptop, it's loaded with Apple's prized function and technology.
<Portability>This is very useful.
Of course, it does so when I take it out of the home, and it is also easy to take around in my house due to its lightness.
<Battery>I am not sure whether it keeps for a day outside with full charge.
But it could be possible to keep the battery longer up to the way to use.
<Display>It looks serene different from MacBookPro.
In comparison, Air seems to show in light color and the weight for the eyes could be much lighter.
It looks sharp.
On the other hand, MacBookPro looks in vivid color in exaggeration.
<Satisfaction>Though I have longed for MacBookAir since its first model had released, it was so expensive.
So I have looked for the opportune time to buy.
Then, as the maintenance item of Apple store, with US keyboard, it had appeared with 30,000yen cheaper than proper price, I did impulse buying with one click, though I have MacBookPro.
But, thanks to it, now I spend happy MacLife surrounded by 3 Mac PCs, and I am so satisfied.
Although I need to save money for a new iPad, but I want to use my favorite Mac as it's not good for my health not to buy what I want.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 15, 2010
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 4.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 3.0
Usability 3.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 3.0
Display 3.0
Total 3.6

I am satisfied.

It's been a year since I purchased it only because of its design.
Despite this, it's been very useful.
It was my first Mac in a long while, but it has progressed greatly.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 9, 2011
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 4.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 3.0
Usability 4.0
Portability 3.0
Battery 4.0
Display 4.0
Total 3.9

My first Mac since the Powerbook G4 Titanium

As I remembered Macs are great.
It feels really well balanced.
Now it's an older model, but it was being sold cheaply new so I bought it.
In the past half year I've bought 4 PCs, so waiting for a bit to buy seems like the right call.
At work (at a webshop) I mainly do tagging, internet, and image processing, so for that the 2G is okay.
I don't do video so I can't comment on that.
I also purchased a Windows 13-inch, but the thickness is about the same so when it comes to ease of carrying it I think I can say that the Mac actually wins.
The prices are different though.
Next I think I'll get an iMac.
The new 11-inch ones are nice...
I can't really use it for work.
Getting back to the original topic, they used to be about 200,000 yen, so if they're in stock they're worth a buy.
If your usage is similar to mine you shouldn't have any complaints.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 23, 2011
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 4.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 4.0
Usability 4.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Display 5.0
Total 4.6

My first Mac in ten years

I bought a refurbished Mac.
It was 10,800yen.
[Design] Excellent.
It's a laptop that's easy to use.
[Processing Speed] I have Xcode, safari and chrome open at the same time but don't have any problems.
Probably because the processor is 2.13GHz.
[Graphics] Very nice.
The UI is very refined, as expected from a Mac.
[Extensibility] I think everyone already knows that it doesn't have a CD-ROM player.
At first I setup Wifi, and then I was able to install various drivers and software from the Web.
The HDD doesn't have a large capacity (125GB), so online storage is needed.
When you think about swapping parts or increasing RAM, it can't match a ThinkPad.
[Ease of Use] The keyboard has a good feel.
It is light so you don't have to type hard like on a Windows machine.
I often use it with my children sleeping nearby, so it's nice that it is quiet.
In particular the keyboard backlight is great.
The ThinkPad illuminates from above, but this one shines up through the keys.
It seems as though this design has disappeared in recent years, but I'd like to see it come back.
It's really convenient.
[Portability] It's light.
[Battery] It last for 5 hours so there's no problem.
[Display] It's probably due to the high resolution, but it looks good.
[Overall] I purchased this to use the iPhone App development environment and the Objective-c execution environment.
For PCs I have a ThinkPad x200i for work and a DELL Inspiron 15 for private use.
But this one is clearly a but above them.
If you just look at the specs and cost performance the Windows machines might be better, but for normal use this device (Intel core2 duo 2.13GHz, 2GB RAM, 128GB SSD) is plenty.
Not everybody runs power intensive development environments and server architecture on their own machines.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 8, 2012
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 5.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Display 5.0
Total 5.0

A stunningly beautiful and perfect notebook

I use it for my main machine for work, and it has enough power that I have no issues with apps, photo management, or video editing.
Also it is thin which makes it easy to carry.
Being able to use it on the go and on a long flight without a problem is also good.
It only has two USB ports, so I made sure to get an adapter for expandability.
I wish it had three USB ports.
I am very satisfied with this machine.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 17, 2010
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 4.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Display 5.0
Total 4.9

Startup, shutdown -- everything is fast

I've been using it for about 2 months and I just find its design and portability are great.
I don't mind carrying it in my bag everyday and it reminds me of PowerBook2400 that I used to use long time ago
(I was using PowerBookG415 inches till I bought the new one).
Also, I felt that the trchnology of SSD is playing a big role.
I can feel its speed when I operate Windows on Parallels Desktop.
Exchanging files between Mac and Windows is smooth too.
I recommend it for those who don't often use a drive and already have a main computer with a drive.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jul 27, 2010
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 1.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 3.0
Display 4.0
Total 4.0

My first Mac

I had used Windows for more than 10 years, but I couldn't find a notebook with an appealing design, so I decided to buy Air.
But this is because I use an iPhone so I was interested in MacOS, and on my other Windows machine I use Gmail and cloud services such as Dropbox a lot and have no problem with synching data with Mac.
Also, in the worst case scenario, I could use Windows on BootCamp.
At any rate, people who would buy this are limited, so I'm just going to write what I felt.
- It feels great to own it.
People around me are Windows users, so they think I'm a bit odd.
- Mac OS is much easier to use than Windows.
It's a wonderful OS.
- However, it all ends up with the sofware.
The Mac version of Office is no good.
- I ended up using Vista on Bootcamp.
I only use MacOS when synching my iPhone.
- I avoided glare LCD because of the reflection, but I'm used to it now because of this machine and my iPhone.
Anyhow, the Mac version of Office is useless.
I can't recommend this if you've used Windows Office even a little and want to use Office more than once a week.
In my situation, I couldn't use the copy machine at work.
(It said something about the postscripts.)
It is truly a wonderful OS.
The multi-touch track pad that can sense up to four fingers is the best.
The beautiful feel of it as industrial goods is also wonderful.
There is no Windows laptop like this.
However, I need to use Office, so I probably will not use MacOS as my main in the feature.
A Macbook that is not Air with a balance of a feeling of ownership different from others, price and practical use might be satisfactory.
I also have an XP and a Windows 7 machine, but in the end, the irony is that the old XP is the best.

Good Review

Page 1 of 1

  • 1

Latest Reviews for Laptops

ay grabe talaga ang ganda ng pagpili ko sa bagong model ng apple macbook kasi bukod sa apple brand to alam talaga nating lahat kung gaano ito kaganda lahat ng quality na hinahanap natin sa isang ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.5
  • Review by green
  • Date : Nov 20, 2019

Still using until now. Kicking and very useful specially on my research and studies. Battery is great it last up to 5-6 hours of using. display is just right. The design is heavy as if I'm working ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.1
  • Review by Romel Conquilla
  • Date : May 21, 2018

Kung long running lang naman na laptop ang gusto mo ito ang bagay sayo kasi naman for whole day kaya ng laptop na ito and ang dali pang gamitin ito manipis siya and okay naman para sa akin lalo na at ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by jarden argallon
  • Date : Mar 24, 2018
View Mode: PC | Mobile