Apple MacBook Air MB940ZP/A (Late 2008) Reviews

Overall Rating

Design 5.0
Processing Speed 4.7
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 2.7
Usability 4.5
Portability 4.7
Battery 4.0
Display 4.0
Total 4.2

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Dec 16, 2008
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 4.0
Graphics 3.0
Expandability 2.0
Usability 4.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Display 2.0
Total 3.6

no title

Defective pixels make me sad.
Other than that, I'm very happy with it, though.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Dec 25, 2008
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 4.0
Usability 4.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Display 5.0
Total 4.8

no title

A month has passed since I bought it.
I'm very satisfied with it. It's working briskly without defective pixels or thin lines.
However, it feels a bit strange to type on the keyboard.
Maybe I need to get used to it.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 1, 2009
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 2.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 3.0
Display 5.0
Total 4.4

no title

This one will test your loyalty to Apple.
CPU performance is excellent probably due to 6MB cache.
SSD 128MB model is just as good as older MacBook White Core2Duo 2Ghz 250GB.
Regarding display the wallpaper of OSX looks somewhat coarse, but this is probably due to LED backlight.
The HD movie edited by iMovie is wonderful, thanks to NVIDIA GeForce 9400M.
With 802.11n, the data transfer rate was about 16GB per hour.
As the main body is designed for WiFi use, you can use a LAN cable to hook it up.
When you go out, you need to bring AirMac Express rather than an external SuperDrive.
The design is perfect, and you should be able to develop love for this product.
For that reason, it's 10,000 yen more expensive than MacBook, and it requires you to pay the same price as MacBookPro.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 4, 2009
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 3.0
Expandability 1.0
Usability 4.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Display 3.0
Total 3.6

no title

I selected the SSD model to fully enjoy its slim body.
I haven't purchased a Mac in 6 years since iBook compatible with MacOS9,and I don't know if the performance of SSD is spectacular or IntelMac is powerful, but it surprised me how swiftly everything operates (Only takes 40 seconds to start).
I wish the display was a little higher in resolution, but the screen is beautiful and keyboard/track pad control is good..
This device doesn't have any problems associated with cheap laptops such as keys getting stuck, and although the body is slim, the build is rigid and it feels safe and unbreakable.
The LCD display can only be lowered to 130 degrees, so at times it's hard to view the screen and I wish it had at least one more USB port.
It might be a con that its aluminum body feels very cold during winter.
(On the other hand, during the summer its coolness is a plus)
It feels great to own an Apple product.
All in all, I'm very much satisfied.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 18, 2009
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 4.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 3.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Display 5.0
Total 4.3

no title

I've used computers since the days of Fujitsu FM-7 and such.
6809 Arch texture attracted me, but I could not go against the flow of time and used PC9801, and to run Linux I got into DOS-V.
Mac had held my attention, but I just watched from aside since I did not feel comfortable with its unique operation.
After Intel Mac was developed and being enchanted by the smooth BSD operation, I finally purchased a black Macbook, and fell in love with it.
I was using Windows at Parallels, and I thought I probably could use this.
I was useing black Macbook for 2 years too often, and I repaired the trouble at hard disk crash and keyboard by exchanging.
I use Windows at my work, and I thought that I have no problem if I can use Linux on VM.
I was considering note by Windows as my next computer, but I decided to purchase this when I touched Air at shop.
Repair service in Ginza Apple Store was very good, so...
No matter how many computer I use, I always want to have this one near.
I think it's a machine that makes you think so.
It's amazing how much attention it focuses at work.
It's kind of heavy and the battery could last about two hours more, but that would be asking for too much.
Whatever you would say, it's a machine that fulfills your hunger for possession.
I bought an original case (brown) at the Apple Shop.
It was an expensive purchase, but I have no regrets.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jun 15, 2009
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 4.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Display 4.0
Total 4.5

no title

The purpose I bought it for is to be a spare iMac for business trips.
In the end, my main device is an iMac, so I never expected customizability or good graphics.
No unneeded soft is installed on it, so it launches rather quickly.
Catalog-wise, its mechanics' speed is nothing special, but in case of a Windows machine, weird soft is working in the background all the time, which is a nuisance.
Once you get used to how briskly Macs work, there is no coming back.
It's quite easy to operate and I learnt it just one day.
I stopped using WORD, EXCEL, and POWERPOINT, and instead, started using PAGE and KEYNOTE NUMBERS.
They have more excellent design and are fun to work with.
They are compatible with WINDOWS documents and it is cheaper to purchase software.
In total, comparing to WINDONWS, it is an alll-around computer: smooth, fast, easy to use, and stylish to carry it around.
I haven't had any trouble like some of the others had.

Good Review

Page 1 of 1

  • 1

Latest Reviews for Laptops

ay grabe talaga ang ganda ng pagpili ko sa bagong model ng apple macbook kasi bukod sa apple brand to alam talaga nating lahat kung gaano ito kaganda lahat ng quality na hinahanap natin sa isang ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.5
  • Review by green
  • Date : Nov 20, 2019

Still using until now. Kicking and very useful specially on my research and studies. Battery is great it last up to 5-6 hours of using. display is just right. The design is heavy as if I'm working ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.1
  • Review by Romel Conquilla
  • Date : May 21, 2018

Kung long running lang naman na laptop ang gusto mo ito ang bagay sayo kasi naman for whole day kaya ng laptop na ito and ang dali pang gamitin ito manipis siya and okay naman para sa akin lalo na at ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by jarden argallon
  • Date : Mar 24, 2018
View Mode: PC | Mobile