Apple MacBook Air MB003 (Early 2008) Reviews

Overall Rating

Design 5.0
Processing Speed 3.9
Graphics 3.8
Expandability 3.2
Usability 4.8
Portability 4.6
Battery 4.3
Display 4.7
Total 4.3

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Chandria Villaluz

  • Review by Chandria Villaluz
  • Sep 14, 2015
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 5.0
Usability 4.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Display 5.0
Total 4.6

My Macbook Air

[Good]

It's easy to use and handy you can carry it anywhere you want. The design are good and beautiful. The graphics are very good you can design its own app more utilities and beautiful. It is very thin that's why I love it and like it so much and it actually easy to carry sobrang ganda nya kahit saan mo dalhin ang gaan tapos ang ganda lang talaga though di naman sya sobrang affordable pero ok na din.

[Bad]
it overheat easily and the battery.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 23, 2008
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 3.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 4.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Display 5.0
Total 4.5

MacBook Air 1600/13.3 MB003J/A

"The overall impression about the environmental construction: Mac and WinXP environments via Parallels over Air.

Air has arrived on February 17, migration from PB4 12 30G(160GB) to Photoshopcs3 ex took 4 hours via wireless (AirMac) connection, Acrobat8pro started with no problem followed by successful Parallels installation, took about 3hours to complete the migration process of Windows Xp from Dell note 510 (60GB). Now the point was to unify the ParaTransporter revision for both Air and PC. Attention is required for Para since its revision takes place frequently. With all that described above, I have tested the coherent mode that enables Mac and Windows to start simultaneously.

Since VB macro is no longer in use with Excel 2008 (Mac), I used Win Excel. I am looking forward to how the usability will evolve as I was able to come up with a new dimensional note PC environment weighing less than 1kg.

Strength: Migration can be performed via wireless network connection. I used cross cables from my PC (mine is 54 Mb). The LCD brightness is a positive rating factor.

Request for the manufacturer: I have only 25GB left for my HDD capacity which is not good enough. If you are planning to increase the variety of OSs, we should at least need 160GB or so.

Request for the succession model: Upon USB connection, I have to hold the both sides of Air. This regard has been improved comparing to the bush-button feel of the power cable ."

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 4, 2008
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 2.0
Graphics 3.0
Expandability 5.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 4.0
Battery -
Display 5.0
Total 4.1

MacBook Air MB003 Review

This product had a strategic win for its design.
I don't like the design, but i gave it a good score in terms of the slimness standing out.
(Personally I prefer a flat one for portability)
It takes time to start since HDD processing is slow...
The Leopard OS seems to be heavier than the previous one.
It was breathtaking when I opened it.
I was so impressed and about to say ""what the...!!!"" to see as if the screen is afloating in the air.
I believe the LCD is of such good quality.
Extensibility is unneeded as USB and wireless work for everything and anything.
I have no complaints to make about the Mac touch pad operation because I like it.
Windows users may find it difficult for practical use.
(since its interchangeability and instruction manual are not fully provided)
You should enjoying using it as if it were a toy.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 27, 2008
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 4.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Display 5.0
Total 4.6

MacBook Air 1600/13.3 MB003J/A

"I was motivated to buy this Mac notebook for the first time 13 years since I last bought PowerBook.
The decision making factor was its design and its thin body.
I don't care how much it costs for what I got."

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 9, 2008
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 4.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 2.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Display 5.0
Total 4.3

MacBook Air 1600/13.3 MB003J/A review

"As for Air that involves pros and cons, I am pretty content with it (my spec is 1.8G, SSD, with US key)
Design: My hat is off to Apple. I have no complaints to make. Those black keys remind of the first generation PB G4.
Processing Speed: Let alone MBP, though its clock frequency is not as good as MB, I don't think it is that slow.
Adobe editing apps are not planned to be installed on mine, so I have no problem with it.
Graphic: No problem as I am not a game player
Extensibility: This is often rated as ""negative"" for not good, but no problem to me.
Bluetooth mouse will do, and I would seldom install a software from a CD while I am not in the office or at home.
While I am not in the office/at home I use USB modem of emobile.
I have once filed a request to Apple to come up with ""Express Card"".
With it installed, I could easily customize FW and USB for personal use.
Userability: The multi-touched track pad is interesting, and I like the key touch as if it is more like a new aluminum keyboard rather than MB.

Portability: In fact I used it during my commute to work today and the experience was very comfortable. Although Let's note users may find it heavy for sure, I have no complaints when it comes to one of Job's quote that goes, ""full processing performance, large display, and fullsize keyboard.""

Bettery Power: General opinions would go, ""Only good for 5 hours? Too short comparing to Windows!"", but I think it lasts longer than expected.
Using emobile, playing songs on iTunes, and browsing through Safari... I have tried to use it in many ways, and it was good enough to last for 4 1/2 hours while setting the LCD brightness at the mid level. Extra battery may not be necessary so long as you carry the power cable with you.

LCD monitor: It is enough comparing to MB, but may not be bright enough comparing to MBP.
Providing that, I have no problem doing paperwork out of the office.

Degree of satisfaction--- It's a perfect score. More than anything, it's an ""amusing"" notebook PC.
There were criticisms about expandability, but as I wrote earlier it would be okey if an ""Express Card"" slot were mounted.
Like a USB expansion card for USB usages and a FW expansion card for data migration by FW.

My impression after using is its thickness after all.
After all I think thickness is more important than heaviness.
This model may not be for business usages, but this is a model I want to recommend strongly for personal mobile usages.

"

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 9, 2008
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 4.0
Graphics 3.0
Expandability 2.0
Usability 4.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Display 4.0
Total 3.8

MacBook Air MB003 Review

Needless to say, the cosmetic design is very good thanks to Apple's stylish design.

Regarding the performance, it's very comfortable when I use Office or browse the Internet.
But it is a little tough to run professional applications.

I don't think I have to mention about graphic performance because it's on board type, so I skip it.

Regarding the extensibility, I have lots of complaints.
I wanted them to equip two USB ports, one FireWire port and Ethernet, at least.

Regarding usability, it got better thanks to the newly equipped multi touch pad.
In terms of portability, it's very thin and decently light, so it is enough for mobile usage.
The battery is NG because it is not detachable.
The actual battery life is around three hours, therefore, I want them to make it detachable at the next hardware update.
The LCD is bright enough and easy to use.
As a summary, there is no problem other than extensibility.
Since they sacrifice the expandability to this extent, I wanted them to make it as light as two and a half pounds.
Other than that, I am satisfied with it.
In my personal opinion, I would anticipate the next Air will be evolved on many points.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 7, 2008
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 4.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 2.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Display 5.0
Total 4.4

MacBook Air MB003 Review

The low extensibility cannot be denied.
The major problem may be because of CD drive being not attached.
However, Apple was the pioneed that promoted to abolish floppy discs at its height, as well as proposed how to enjoy music with HDD in the heyday of MD.
And now that they are going to get rid of CD as a media.

We are lighter weighted further more.

Perhaps the usability may not be improved just like that.
However, while using this MAC that eliminates all the nice-to-haves, I almost feel as if I have already obtained its next generation.

I feel so good about investing on Apple with an anticipation for its further innovation in the future.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 13, 2008
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 4.0
Graphics -
Expandability 3.0
Usability 4.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Display 5.0
Total 4.3

MacBook Air MB003 Review

It's after all Mac, and its design is authentic.
The feeling of held is good.
Despite the differentiations between Windows and Mac, I bet those manufactured Toshiba Dynabook SS RX1 or Panasonic Let's Note must be bewildered.
The advantage is the thin keyboard panel which allows users continue their work without lifting their wrists up or getting tired.
Often times when PC is miniatualised, the tranquility gets killed by the noise of the cooling fan, but since SSD type I bought does not have the cooling fan, there is no noise that bother me and I am pretty happy about it.

I have copied the entire data from my existing MacBook via wireless LAN.
Let alone Mac2008, I was impressed being able to copy the entire softwares and 3,000 musics I had kept in iTune. Although it took a few hours to get it done, it was worth paying.

My machine died on me when installed ""the freeware to colour the Apple logo that appears at the system start"" mentioned on a magazine called MacPeople March edition (http://namedfork.net) with the symptoms of no image installation and no system start.
Never had such an issue with the existing MacBook though.
When I brought it to the MacStore in Shibuya, the store staff ridiculed at me and went ""there are quite a few softwares that are compatible with MacBook, but not with air.
Never had an issue with air though.""
I have wasted the whole day for purchasing the SuperDrive, coming home, initializing SDD, and copying from MacBook.
Be extra careful with the software installtion.

The matt-finished aluminium seems fragile, and as I did not have the case for the cellphone, I went to Tokyu Hands and bought2 sheets of A4 sized large leather for JPY 850 each and the leather glue for JPY 450, then crafted an envelope-shaped leather case.
I love the moment when I pull the leather envelope out of the atache case...
I'd recommend readers trying the same.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 11, 2008
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 4.0
Graphics 2.0
Expandability 1.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Display 4.0
Total 3.6

MacBook Air MB003 Review

I was attracted to the beauty of Air and MacOS, I made an impulse buy.
Below is my impression of Air from a Windows user perspective.
The 3D graphic seems weak, but I can use MS Office stress-free.
If it is a light-loaded 3D games, it'd work.
Since the shortcut key array is different from that of Windows, I am wondering if I should get used to Mac myself, or change the array like Windows by using the software.
The sound did not come out when I installed Win XP SP3(RC) with Boot Camp, but the issue was resolved after installing Universal Audio Architecture (UAA) driver.

Since then, things have been all good.

This is how the benchmarking goes:
3DMarks03 1365
3DMarks05 571
3DMarks06 251
FF11 Low Resolution 2360
FF11 High Resolution 1587

Up until now, I did not realize there are quite a few services on the web exclusive for windows (i.e. Gyao, Yahoo video, etc.).
I thinkthis is a bigger problem than restrictions like no optical drive, fewer USB, and no terminal available for the wired ethernet.

Comparing to Windows machine, its cost performance is inferior, but it is a buy considering its beautiful design and the value of MacOS.
Either way, it is an epoch-making laptop, so it won't disappoint you.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 11, 2008
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 4.0
Graphics 2.0
Expandability 1.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Display 4.0
Total 3.6

MacBook Air MB003 Review

I was attracted to the beauty of Air and MacOS, I made an impulse buy.
Below is my impression of Air from a Windows user perspective.
The 3D graphic seems weak, but I can use MS Office stress-free.
If it is a light-loaded 3D games, it'd work.
Since the shortcut key array is different from that of Windows, I am wondering if I should get used to Mac myself, or change the array like Windows by using the software.
The sound did not come out when I installed Win XP SP3(RC) with Boot Camp, but the issue was resolved after installing Universal Audio Architecture (UAA) driver.

Since then, things have been all good.

This is how the benchmarking goes:
3DMarks03 1365
3DMarks05 571
3DMarks06 251
FF11 Low Resolution 2360
FF11 High Resolution 1587

Up until now, I did not realize there are quite a few services on the web exclusive for windows (i.e. Gyao, Yahoo video, etc.).
I thinkthis is a bigger problem than restrictions like no optical drive, fewer USB, and no terminal available for the wired ethernet.

Comparing to Windows machine, its cost performance is inferior, but it is a buy considering its beautiful design and the value of MacOS.
Either way, it is an epoch-making laptop, so it won't disappoint you.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Sep 14, 2008
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 4.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 4.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Display 5.0
Total 4.6

MacBook Air MB003 Review

My first Mac after 10 years.
For my job I need to use Windows, and I made an excuse that there is no really good laptop from Mac that I can accept.

After long though my love goes back to Mac, and thus purchased.

I do not care about expandable capability.
I do not care performance neither.
I just wanted Mac.

The design, posture and good feeling using, that satisfy me.

I finally meet laptop that my heart beat high.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 27, 2008
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 5.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Display 5.0
Total 5.0

MacBook Air 1600/13.3 MB003J/A

"Bought the item as an impacting amplifier for presentations, lol.
It is 1.6GH model.

No complaints as far as use it as a main machine.
But as for me this is a sub note PC as a mobile product.

As an additional effort, I have also installed Windows Vista with Boot Camp, and it just work so and incredibly smooth (perhaps this is not surprising?).

I am very happy because I have got this portable tool which allows me to carry Mac and Win without worrying about the internet connection environment wherever I may be on business.

I am sure just carrying this machine would flatter my clients, but I can easily picture how iBook would turn out to be in 6 months... with full of DVD slots, LMAO.
"

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 11, 2009
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 3.0
Graphics 3.0
Expandability 1.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Display 5.0
Total 3.9

no title

I bought this in an Apple Store, which was a restored product.
The track pad is very easy to use.
It'ha very high performance being as such a thin PC.
If you use the wireless LAN and Bluetooth to the fullest extent, this will converted into a high performance mobile PC with no wiring except the power cord.
Medical DICOM images can be used using OsirX.
2D images can be seen comfortably.
JPEG image conversion is also smooth.
If you already have a Windows machine, this will be a good Mac for beginner.
I use this with my iPhone, but there have been no problem until now.
What were regretful were that it once had an initial defect and that a third party optical drive cannot be used to install a Windows using BootCamp.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 19, 2009
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 5.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Display 5.0
Total 5.0

no title

I enjoy this supreme mobile, PIX-DT141-PU&STAX SR-001MK2.
The LCD is easier to see than that of Macbook, and the images of DTTV on Air is also clear than that of Macbook.
As for the movie quality on the WEB, Mackbook is better because it incorporates speedy NVIDIA.
If you wander which to buy between Macbook and Air,
I think you can feel more happy if you choose Air.
Air is far more excellent for its ellegant appearance, and the ease of use of Multi Touch of Air is lighter than that of Macbook.
Also, I feel that Air's weight is less than half a Macbook.
I hope that Macbook will be equipped with Blu-ray in the near future.
The first model with Blu-ray will be iMac,
I suppose. I hope such a model will be released by the end of this year.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 14, 2009
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 4.0
Graphics 3.0
Expandability -
Usability 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Display 4.0
Total 4.3

no title

I purchased it on Yahoo Auction, I hate Yahoo Auction myself but I gave an exception for Mac.
I'd been using PB540c, G3, G4 12", G4 17", my dear Macs, they never broke when they were hit or dropped.
I thought it would work fine if the surface looked fine.
It cost me 1,400,000 yen with a super drive and Apple care, I think this was a great purchase.
I removed all foreign languages and printer settings to make the HDD lighter, I can use it very comfortably now.
MS Office 2008 can be run smoothly on this model, though it was not so in G4 model.
One concern is BootCamp's performance.
I installed a game called "Nobunaga No Yabo Fuunroku" (meaning: The ambition of Nobunaga - The adventure) for biting time during a business trip, but when play it, it emits heat.
Said game doesn't require so much spec, it can be used on a PC of 3 generation before, but the heating is too bad.
So bad that sometimes it goes automatically in the sleep mode.
May it be due to the graphic board? I'd like to see how will be this on new Air.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 25, 2009
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 5.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Display 5.0
Total 5.0

no title

I have ever used more than 5 Mac laptops including PoweBook1400, the first model of iBook, PowerBookG3 and the later G4 version of iBook.
Now finally they released a light weight sub-laptop, so I bought is compulsively.
One complaint is that the fan rotates and emit heat when I use applications like CS3 or Fusion.
But I love this design very much.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Aug 11, 2009
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 2.0
Graphics 3.0
Expandability 2.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 3.0
Display 4.0
Total 3.5

no title

The Air that I've longed for became available at a reasonable price, so I compulsively bought it.
My main purpose is web browsing, e-mailing and sorting photos.
For other stuff, I use my Macbook.
I use Macbook as my main computer, and Air as a substitue.
The advantage of Air it is its simplicity.
If you can accept this, you'll be satisfied with Air.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 2, 2010
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 4.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 3.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Display 5.0
Total 4.5

It's thin and good!

I bought a Mac for my work as I started using a iMac at home.
I thought it would be hard as Windows PCs are everywhere, but there is no problem!
But I need Windows for two reasons, so I run it on Fusion -- account software and a HP that requires IE (the Mac version of IE does not work).
At any rate, it is great that it is so thin.
I don't even need a bag for a PC.
Along with documents, I put it in my bag.

There are other PCs that are much lighter, but I have come to believe that thinness is more important because of this machine.
At first, I was worried about the lack of external interface ports, but it has a great wirless device; there is no problem as wirless is becoming the standard.
I cannot let it go!!

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Nov 7, 2011
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 4.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 3.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Display 5.0
Total 4.4

So light!

[Design] Very good.
[Processing Speed] Okay.
[Graphic Quality] Okay.
[Expandability] Only has one USB port.
[Usability] Very good.
[Mobility] Very good.
[Battery] I've been using it for awhile and still works fine.
It doesn't last very long, though.
[LCD] Very good.
[Overall] It's very light.
I recommend it as the price dropped significantly compared to its first release.

Good Review

Page 1 of 1

  • 1

Latest Reviews for Laptops

ay grabe talaga ang ganda ng pagpili ko sa bagong model ng apple macbook kasi bukod sa apple brand to alam talaga nating lahat kung gaano ito kaganda lahat ng quality na hinahanap natin sa isang ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.5
  • Review by green
  • Date : Nov 20, 2019

Still using until now. Kicking and very useful specially on my research and studies. Battery is great it last up to 5-6 hours of using. display is just right. The design is heavy as if I'm working ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.1
  • Review by Romel Conquilla
  • Date : May 21, 2018

Kung long running lang naman na laptop ang gusto mo ito ang bagay sayo kasi naman for whole day kaya ng laptop na ito and ang dali pang gamitin ito manipis siya and okay naman para sa akin lalo na at ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by jarden argallon
  • Date : Mar 24, 2018
View Mode: PC | Mobile