ASUS ZenFone 3 Max ZC520TL Reviews

Lowest Price P5,039 29 Prices
Color
Featuring 5.2 inches display, Android 6.0 OS and, 1.5 GHz processor.
  • Smartphone, Asus ZenUI(An...
  • 5.2 inches, 720 x 1280 pi...
Related Models
ASUS ZenFone 3 Max ZC520TL

Compare prices

Specs

Reviews

Forum

News

Overall Rating

Design 4.0
Portability 3.4
Operability 3.5
Response 3.5
Display 3.9
Listenability 3.6
Battery 3.9
Total 3.6

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 13, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 3.0
Operability -
Response 3.0
Display 4.0
Listenability -
Battery 3.0
Total 3.4

A little disappointing.

The battery run time is not as good as what its says on the ads.
I should have checked the camera functions more; usual cameras are fine, but because the movie it takes is of HD image quality, it looks pixelated when I see it with the FHD display. I am regretting getting this as it was a present to my wife.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 10, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 2.0
Operability -
Response 1.0
Display 3.0
Listenability -
Battery 5.0
Total 3.0

I got this as a substitute machine for ZenFone 3.

I got this as a substitute machine for ZenFone 3.

<design>
The camera was poking out with ZenFone 3, but this is flat. I like it. Metallic color is cool.

<portability>
I feel this is a bit too big, but this is pretty thin at the same time. No problem.

<pushbutton usability>
The volume button is difficult to use... I need to get used to this.

<response>
Very sluggish.
It gets jumpy and heated up with light apps. I cannot use this as a main machine.

<menu>
ASUS menu is difficult to see, but I can see the improvement.

<display>
Beautiful. I like its intensity, too.
Its automatic adjustment of brightness is highly sensitive, too.

<ringtone, music>
I cannot see improvement from ZenFone 3. It has many preinstalled sound, though.

<battery>
It lasts vert long. I surf the Internet with this, but I can used this for three days without charging. Even if I become suddenly in need of this, I have no problem.

<overall>
Because this is a phone with great battery run time, this is not so good with other functions. This works worse than a tablet from three yeas ago, so I cannot recommend this as a main machine. It is a good device to use as a substitute machine, though.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 22, 2017
Design 3.0
Portability 1.0
Operability -
Response 3.0
Display 4.0
Listenability -
Battery 1.0
Total 2.4

The idle time while tethering is terrible.

<design>
Average.

<portability>
Big. Just big. I don't want to put it in my pants pocket.

<pushbutton usability>
No problem.

<response>
Average.

<menu>
No problem.

<display>
Average.

<voice call sound quality>
No problem.

<ringtone, music>
Average. I want them to download it from elsewhere; I don't want it to use the capacity for these kind of things.

<battery>
It lasts for a day if you are lucky. This is certainly not satisfactory.

<overall>
I got this for tethering, so this was too expensive a purchase.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 8, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Total 5.0

The speed is the advantage

I have read many comments on its long battery run time, and I do agree with it; it lasts long.
I got it on the very next day I ordered. I was relieved with their prompt support.
I had been using iPhone 6, but I found this to be functional enough as it was only released last month.
I am glad I decided on this.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 4, 2017
Design 3.0
Portability 3.0
Operability 3.0
Response 3.0
Display 3.0
Listenability 3.0
Battery 4.0
Total 3.1

I am happy for its price.

<design>
Average.

<portability>
Average.

<pushbutton usability>
No problem.

<IME>
Average.

<response>
It is better than I thought it would be.

<menu>
Average.

<display>
Average.

<voice call sound quality>
Average.

<ringtone, music>
No particular problem.

<battery>
It lasts long.

<overall>
The battery lasts longer than average smartphones. It lasts for two days easily, so I don't need a mobile battery anymore.
Considering its price, this is a good smartphone.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 3, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 2.0
Operability 2.0
Response 2.0
Display 3.0
Listenability 2.0
Battery 1.0
Total 2.3

The battery goes down quickly.

I got this attracted to its price and the battery capacity.

After two weeks, I was disappointed. It goes down by 50% just to keep the Wi-Fi connection.

I only check message apps and browsing the Internet, but I need to charge it every day.

It is very disappointing especially because it looks cool, has great UI usability and high completion level with fingerprint sensor.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 3, 2017
Design 1.0
Portability 1.0
Operability 1.0
Response 1.0
Display 1.0
Listenability 1.0
Battery 3.0
Total 1.3

Go…

<response>
It certainly is worse than P9 or 3racer. The previous model 2racer is better.

<menu>
ASUS, both in a good and a bad way.

<display>
Well...

<voice call sound quality>
I think it does have some noise.

<ringtone, music>
Android.

<battery>
It lasts long. It is not usable as a mobile battery.

<overall>
The cost Performance is great! I thought this to be a successor model of GO. Maybe not. I am sorry if it isn't.
The advantages I can see with this are its cost performance and battery.
I wish I hadn't bought this.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 8, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 3.0
Operability 3.0
Response 3.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 3.0
Battery 5.0
Total 3.6

The battery is pretty good.

<design>
It is simple and good.

<portability>
It is the biggest it can be for me.

<pushbutton usability>
The response may be too good? Sometimes it's good, sometimes it fails to respond unless I press harder.

<response>
The response may be too good. It sometimes scrolls down to the bottom in one go.

<menu>
It is good that I can customize it!

<display>
Beautiful. As for a camera, iPhone is much better. If you focus properly and shoot, it does OK. It is troublesome to do so, though.

<voice call sound quality>
N/A. I use it with data SIM.

<ringtone, music>
I don't listen to music. The ringtone is small.

<battery>
It lasts well. This is the reason I got this.

<overall>
I usually use iPhone 7. Android is easy to operate, but most Android phones have bad battery life. I like this as a substitute machine. Considering the battery capacity being double of iPhone, it is a little disappointing, though.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 6, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 3.0
Operability 3.0
Response 4.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 3.0
Battery 4.0
Total 3.6

It is good enough for a light user.

It is well made for its price. This has good enough performance for normal usage, too. This is a good price for replacing after a few years.

Personally, I find 5.5inch display to be big, and 5.2inch feels just right.
I use it with data SIM, and I haven't tried voice calls; I don't know about DSSS.
It is fast enough for just browsing, and it works lightly.

The battery remaining is only shown with the gage; I find it easier when it says in percentage. Well, I wouldn't mind it when I get used to this.

Because the CPU is weak, you need to be careful for playing newest games. For playing Cinderella Idol Master, because it doesn't' support Media Tek CPU, it doesn't seem to work smoothly.

It is up to your usage, but this should be satisfying enough considering the price.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 31, 2017
Design 3.0
Portability 3.0
Operability 2.0
Response 3.0
Display 4.0
Listenability -
Battery 3.0
Total 3.0

Is it inferior to the first model?

I am a first generation MAX user. Along with iPhone 5S, I have been using the first generation MAX, and when I first heard about its successor model, I got excited and went to have a look. I tried for about 30 minutes, and decided not to make an impulse purchase. Well, actually, it seems to be degraded, so I decided not to. I would like to show my disappointment here.

<design>
Well, the body made of metal did have a high-end feel. But other smartphones are doing it, too, and it felt colder than the body with leather grain. It was more angular than the first generation, and honestly, I found it boring.

<portability>
It is big like the first generation, but it cannot be helped as it is MAX.

<pushbutton usability>
It's got worse. The first generation had a electrostatic physical button, but probably to cut the cost, it now has buttons on the screen. It is difficult to use, and It feels like a waste of space.

<response>
I only have tried Google map and web browsing, but it's not that different from the first generation. So it shouldn't be a problem.

<menu>
UI is tiny bit cooler than the first generation. I like ASUS's original UI. It is well done to the details.

<display>
Beautiful as usual.

<voice call sound quality>
I haven't tried it.

<ringtone, music>
I haven't tried it.

<battery>
In terms of the specification, it is worse than the first generation. This made me not to go for it. The first generation had 5000mAh, so it is totally different. Reverse charge function is expected to be used with this.

<overall>
I have to tell myself, ""Right, this is a totally different product; this is Max of ZenFone 3."" I just couldn't bring myself to get this.
5000mAh battery of the first generation MAX is amazing. I think there should be other options if you go for this not that fast MAX with not so big battery capacity.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 29, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 4.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.9

It's been two weeks since purchase.

<design>
I don't say it looks luxurious, but it doesn't look cheap. I like it.

<portability>
I use it in a diary case. It is slightly big. It fits easily in my pocket without a case.

<pushbutton usability>
It only has a power button and volume button. Both the feel when I press it and the response are good.

<response>
No problem. Pleasant. I don't play games, but my children who play games with this (they use the same model) seem happy with it, too.

<menu>
Average.

<display>
No problem. Beautiful.

<voice call sound quality>
Average. No problem.

<ringtone, music>
There are not much choice in ringtones. Well, I am not fussy with ringtones, so I don't have any complaints.

<battery>
I got it on the 14th January at 10 in the morning. Since then, I only have charged four times. If you use it heavily, you might need to charge it every day, but for my usage, it lasts for four days once I charge it. I am very happy with it.

<overall>
I think it has high cost performance. I got this for 17,284yen, so considering how much I paid, I have no complaints at all. I am very happy with this.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 24, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 2.0
Operability 3.0
Response 4.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 3.0
Battery 4.0
Total 3.4

Excellent considering its cost performance.

<design>
It is not cheap. Sometimes it feels hot with heating issue.

<portability>
It somehow fits in my pocket. 5.2inch might be the biggest it can be for me.

<pushbutton usability>
No problem.

<response>
It sometimes gets jumpy with games and browsing.

<menu>
No problem.

<display>
HD is good enough. Because my previous phone was worse than HD, I can see small characters.

<voice call sound quality>
No problem.

<ringtone, music>
No problem.

<battery>
It is not as good as it is said on its ad.

<overall>
What I use this smartphone for
-LINE (call)
-checking e-mails
-Facebook
-Messenger
-Puzzle and Dragons (for 2 hours)
-voice calls (for about 20 minutes)

I chose this for the battery capacity and price. For using this phone for above, it used about 50% of the battery. So it goes flat in 2 days. I played Puzzle and Dragons for 5 hours on my day off, it used battery in one day.

This is my first device with a fingerprint sensor. I find it convenient. Sometimes it fails or takes time to recognize.

LED notification has two different colors; red and green. It is a pity that it doesn't have blue.
Battery... red to green(over 90%)
Notification... green
When I get a notification while charging, it remains red. Green flashing light is not prioritized.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 23, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 3.0
Response 3.0
Display 2.0
Listenability 2.0
Battery 4.0
Total 3.1

Personally, I am happy with this.

I got this for waiting for calls and for Google Play Music. The previous phone was 5.5inch and was thick, so I didn't go for it.
After using voice calls and SMS, it goes back to LTE very quickly from 3G.
It is a pity that it doesn't support aptX, but BT doesn't get disconnected easily and it sounds loud, too.
Color and resolution of the display and the camera are good enough for my usage.
Battery doesn't last as long as I expected, so I turned power saving mode on. It cannot be helped, though, because I leave Google Play Music on all the time.
As for voice call sound quality, as I am used to VoLTE, I cannot evaluate it highly. But it is unexpectedly convenient that it can record all the conversations of calls and has a function of notifying how long I am on the phone.

It has a lot of preinstalled apps. Possibly because this is my first Android 6.0, some apps I had been using regularly like MX Player Apex Launcher cannot be used with this.

Good Review

Warren Bombales

  • Review by Warren Bombales
  • Jun 28, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Total 5.0

This phone is good in gaming!

Playing game soft no lags no bugs, so adorable and nice spec'! Love ASUS forever!

Good Review

rosita

  • Review by rosita
  • Jun 15, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 4.0
Response 4.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Total 4.0

ASUS ZenFone 3 Max ZC520TL

Maganda pang gaming ang phone kung ito kasi naman ang bilis nito at hindi din ito hang ap kaya maganda ang dali lang e operate hindi din ako palaging nag charge na kasi hindi ito madaling ma lowbat kaya okay talaga ang ganda pa ng design elegant talagang tingnan so far sa pag gamit ko nito wala akung issues kaya sulit ang pera ko sa phone na ito.

Good Review1

Ryan Santos

  • Review by Ryan Santos
  • Apr 10, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.9

Great battery life!

Ang kunat ng battery life! Tiyak magsasawa ka kakalaro, etc then hindi mo pa kailangang mag charge ng madalas.

Good Review2

Vergara Teyette

  • Review by Vergara Teyette
  • Feb 6, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 3.0
Response 3.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 3.0
Battery 3.0
Total 3.4

Not that bad

Design and portability is okay. I would want to have the speakers at the bottom because if you are listening to music or talk with somebody while you lay your phone on the table, you wont be able to hear a thing or it would be muffled. Camera resolution is so so. Not impressed considering they claim to have 13mp and 5mp. Nonetheless, it's better than nothing phone.

Sample pic using asus zenfone3max

Good Review

nES

  • Review by nES
  • Jan 20, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 4.0
Response 4.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Total 4.0

Used android phone from Ate

My second hand smartphone thanks to my Ate cause she gave me her android phone to me and I like it much. I really like the design and display of this asus phone cause it was so great and also it was portable and handy phone it was not hassle to bring this and all the functions are working will. The battery life of it has a long long life. I will love this new phone of mine thanks to my Ate.

Good Review

Mb

  • Review by Mb
  • Nov 29, 2016
Design 4.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 4.0
Response 4.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Total 4.0

durable phone asus!

Pros!
this smartphone has a elegant and presentable phone. The handy and not hassle phone so its best to have a phone like this for me its perfect. I like it because it can access the internet connection quickly and great, All the functions of it are functioning will. The camera also has a good quality of the image and the speaker is loud also so nice and the battery have a long long long life so I enjoy using this smartphone.

Cons!
as of now no negative thoughts.!

Good Review

Efren Gustillo

  • Review by Efren Gustillo
  • Sep 15, 2016
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Total 5.0

ASUS ZenFone 3 Max ZC520TL

Balik bayan nga naman ang aking kuya kaya may pasalubong kaming natanggap ang aking natanggap ay isang ASUS ZenFone 3 Max ZC520TL aba isa pala itong bago na model ka ang swerte ko kasi bagong-bago ang phone ko na naman. Gusto ko itong smartphone na ASUS ang gaan lang din naman dalhin nito sobrang handy din naman ito kaya ang ayos. Mabilis na mabilis din naman ang pag downlaod nito ng mga applications at ma-update pa naman. Mabilis pa nga naman mag response ang mga apps nito. Matagal din naman malowbat ang phone na ito kaya ang galing din naman ang camera din nito ay ang ganda ng kuha kaya perfect na perfect na talaga itong smartphone ko. Alam ko rin naman na ang tibay nitong phone na ito kaya salamat talaga sa bago kung phone bro.

Good Review1

Page 1 of 1

Latest Reviews for Mobile Phones

Ang phone na ito ay di man lang nagtagal sa brother ko nang anim ba buwan before na magsimula iktong mag freeze. Ang touch screen ay hindi maganda at halos hindi maka-receive ng call. Ang speaker ...Read more

  • Rating : 2.4
  • Review by Maggie Ferrer
  • Date : Oct 29, 2018

Ginagamit ko ang ASUS ROG Phone ZS600KL for already 6 months na at so far ay nagugustuhan ko talaga ito. Sobrang solid ng phone na ito in terms of build at sa quality at ganon din ang speed. Maganda ...Read more

  • Rating : 5.0
  • Review by Jean Diaz
  • Date : Oct 24, 2018

These phone is good for 6K budget!

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by Jeremiah Paul Managantan Pacaldo
  • Date : Oct 20, 2018
View Mode: PC | Mobile