ASUS Eee PC X101CH Reviews

Overall Rating

Design 3.6
Processing Speed 2.7
Graphics 2.8
Expandability 2.5
Usability 3.2
Portability 4.0
Battery 2.9
Display 3.1
Total 3.1

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Aug 24, 2013
Design 4.0
Processing Speed 3.0
Graphics 2.0
Expandability 2.0
Usability 4.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 3.0
Display 3.0
Total 3.3

It's not bad. Here is my review after I've used it for more than half a year. It's good enough.

[Design]
I did not choose the color because they only had white but I like it.
It looked tacky on the picture but it is actually fairly good.

[Processing Speed]
The attached hard disc was hard to use so I changed it to SSD.
After I changed it with SSD, the speed got to the level where I can get satisfied.
It is better to change it to SSD rather than using ReadyBoost of SD card or changing the settings as you do not feel any mental stress.
I tried installing Linux.
If you are not insisted to have Windows I recommend Linux because it is faster.

[Graphic Function]
Because the graphic board is poor it is impossible to edit videos and images or play 3D games.
I think it is nonsense to expect those functions from netbook in the first place.

[Expandability]
It is close to impossible.
Having 2 USB is not enough. It would be better if there is one more.
It is also disappointing that I cannot change the size of memory.
Because it has SD card slot, I guess it is good for ReadyBoost.

I have not used it since switched it to SSD though.

[Ease of Use]
ASUS software is interrupting than I expected. It is easy to use after deleting it.
It is convenient for using the internet, checking emails, checking and editing documents in word and excel.
Usability of the keyboard is not bad.
I personally think the Shift key on the right is too small as I use it often.

[Portability]
It is very easy to carry around as it is small and it only weigh about 1kg.
[Battery]
It said on the catalog that the battery lasts for about 4 hours but it hardly lasts for 3 hours even with a brand new battery.
It did not change that much even after I switched it to SSD.

[LCD]
I think it is not on the level that I say it is beautiful but it is just normal.
It has a narrow view but I think it is good in a way to use on business trips.

[General Comments]
I was thinking about purchasing Android tablet with keyboard at first but I decided to purchase it because I found it was attractive to be able to use Windows and to be able to us sort of Excel and Word.
It is actually convenient to use for work.
Hard keyboard is convenient.

I heard that there is a model with Bluetooth but I think it would have been better to have thinking about it now.

The concept of this computer is Netbook so there are no problems with just using the internet.

I have a screen protector on the LCD. I think the protector might have the adverse effect depending on the product you use it on.

HDD operation on this X101CH is slow.

It would be out of guarantee if you switch it to SSD but it is better for this device to switch to SSD.

I tried installing some of Linux based OS but if you do not have anything especial you would like to do on Windows, I recommend Linux as I feel it is faster.
However, there are a lot of setting so it would be difficult for beginners.
Linux is lighter than Windows7 Starter so I think it has the benefit of it.

These types of netbooks are now disappearing.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Aug 16, 2013
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 1.0
Graphics 3.0
Expandability 3.0
Usability 4.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 3.0
Display 4.0
Total 3.5

Hmmm, I guess this is about right?

The price was rather higher than when it was first released but I decided to purchase it by taking advices from reviews because I wanted to find a smaller device to carry around as I broke the LCD of my 11 inch ultra book by carrying it around almost everyday and I had to exchange the LCD.

The activation speed when I first purchased it was about right.
The activation speed of ultra book is fast so it is slower than that but I think it is faster than a normal laptop.
I think the processing speed after connecting to the internet is good.
I have heard bad reviews that it gets slow if you install Endonote5X which is necessary for document creation but when I installed Google Chrome it got really slow and it even stopped moving when it is worse.
Viewing pages is slow without saying but when I have multiple tabs displayed it takes a few minutes or even freeze and shows a message asking me if I want to restart when I switch the tabs.
I was not expecting it to be this bad so to be honest, I am shocked.
I guess it cannot be helped if it was a bit cheaper but I cannot recommend it for the latest price.
It seems the problem is not with CPU but with the size of memory.
This device is the one I cannot add more memory so there is nothing I can do about it?
I have not tried watching videos but I guess it will not work at all.
If the problems do not get resolved I cannot use it but I do not feel like letting it go nor have budget to look for another one so I am pondering about what I can do to make the processing speed optimized.

Good Review

Evangeline Liban

  • Review by Evangeline Liban
  • Jan 27, 2014
Design 3.0
Processing Speed 3.0
Graphics 3.0
Expandability 2.0
Usability 3.0
Portability 3.0
Battery 2.0
Display 3.0
Total 2.8

difficult to recognized the small letters

insufficient battery (it should be more longer atleast 4 to 5 hours)
it doesn't have USB 3.0 port (it should be have to make it more fast connection)
small screen size,it's a bit difficult for me to recognize the small letters (so..i often use its size settings )

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 27, 2012
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 3.0
Graphics 3.0
Expandability 3.0
Usability 3.0
Portability 5.0
Battery -
Display 3.0
Total 3.6

I bought it as a sub machine.

[Design] I think the design is good for its price.
[Processing speed] My main machine is a Fujitsu 2011 winter model LIFEBOOK.
Compared to this, the speed is obviously slow, but after some getting used to there;s no problems at all.
Sometimes when I type as if it was my LIFEBOOK, keys are not recognized.
[Graphic performance] Normal.
[Expandability] They tried to accomodate despite of its price, as you can see with 2 USB, HDMI port, and SD card slot
[Usability] I'm pretty satisfied except that the keyboard reacts slow.
[Portability] I was surprised by how light the computer was.
However, it's obvious since my main computer has 15.6 inches screen...
[Battery] Since I haven't used the computer with the battery only, no evaluations.
[Liquid-crystal Display] There's no big complaints.
[General Comments] My wife requested for buying a small and light computer, I decided on this because the price was cheap, the size was small and had windows7.
Overall movement is slow, but it's not a problem for beginners or commune use.
You might be wondering how the business software KINGMAX OFFICE 2012 trial is.
It can be used interchangeably with WINDOWS so I didn't bother, but i plan on purchasing the full version.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 7, 2012
Design 4.0
Processing Speed 2.0
Graphics 2.0
Expandability 1.0
Usability 4.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Display 4.0
Total 3.3

The best portability.

(Design) Outside: Because it isn't the shiny piano style that was popular long ago, fingerprints are not conspicuous so I think that's very good.
Look: There's nothing useless so I think that's good.
It dosen't look particularly cool but it dosen't look bad either.
(Processing speed) Comparing this model to a desktop is strange, but compared to the 5 year old 2.13G dual core with 4GB of memory I use as my main machine everything is slow.
(Graphic capabilities) Playing a 3DMMO is difficult.
The device turns on so I can perform store management, chat, and 2PC item receiving.
Youtube videos play normally.
[Expandability] I couldn't upgrade its memory.
[Ease of use] The keyboard strokes are shallow, so I like it.
It might be uncomfortable to those who prefer deep keystroke.
Powering on is fast but shutting down feels slow.
[Portability] Small and light enough to put in a hoody's hood..
[Battery] I haven't used it up completely so I don't know about the duration, but from the remaining battery life I'm estimating that it lasts about 4 hours.
[Display] I didn't measure, but it's at least 10.1 inches.
The screen looks beautiful to a newcomer.
[Overall] I'm very satisfied with my use.
If I were to use this at work though, I'll probably cry over the insufficient memory.
No problem with internet browsing to pass time, Rajico, keyhole, and Jane.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 24, 2012
Design 3.0
Processing Speed 2.0
Graphics 2.0
Expandability 2.0
Usability 2.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 3.0
Display 3.0
Total 2.8

Compact, but it's somewhat lacking.

I bought this one as a sub-machine.
I think this is enough for net surfing and e-mail etc.,
but not suitable for viewing videos and playing games.
It's lousy that reaction of the keyboard is a little slow.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jun 20, 2012
Design 1.0
Processing Speed 1.0
Graphics 1.0
Expandability 1.0
Usability 1.0
Portability 2.0
Battery 1.0
Display 1.0
Total 1.1

They fooled me.

I was bewitched by the price around 18,000 yen and purchased this a few months ago.
However, without any sort of impact or anything a portion of the screen suddenly went white, and when I tried to get it repaired I was made to wait for two weeks, then just when I finally heard back they said, "The repair cost will be 12,000 yen."
In the end it became a 30,000 yen purchase.
I didn't really have that much faith from the beginning, but since this happened so soon after I purchased it it really is awful.
Their response was also disappointing, so that was another hit.
With this price, you should lower your expectations.
I will stay away from it, though.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jul 26, 2012
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 5.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Display 5.0
Total 5.0

It is small and light!

[Design] Cool.
[Processing speed] I can stand it.
[Graphics performance] Good.
[Expandability] Good.
[Usability] Usable.
[Portability] Convenient to carry it as it is small.
[Battery] It lasts.
[LCD] Clear.
[General] I wish it had hdmi terminal and usb3.0....

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Aug 6, 2012
Design 4.0
Processing Speed 3.0
Graphics 3.0
Expandability 2.0
Usability 3.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 3.0
Display 3.0
Total 3.1

My impressions after using it for 6 months

[Usage Environment]
Memory after expansion: 2GB
Main Usage Objective: Office work (Work, Excel) and statistical analysis (R, amos)
[Design] The entire thing sports a thin and curved design.
The casing itself seems cheap, but the matte looks good and I like the color.
[Processing Speed] It is faster than the 701SD I had before.
The dual core Atom works well.
Doing statistical processing at work it doesn't slow down.
I guess it is about the same as the XP desktop I had a while ago.
[Graphics] When I took a look at video captured by the handicam there were image issues.
I guess it's what you'd expect from a low cost device.
Youtube and the like run smoothly.
[Expandability] This is its main weak point.
There are only two USB ports (USB2.0), one on each side of the casing.
If you use USB memory and a mouse they are all full.
Other devices (external DVD, etc.) can't be connected.
[Ease of Use] If you ignore the limited number of USB ports, it is sufficient.
As long as you don't overtax it it doesn't hang up.
[Portability] It's thin.
Even carrying it in a portable bag is easy.
[Battery] Normally for my use I get about three hours out of it.
[Display] I don't have anything to compare it against, but it seems average.
It should be fine even if you turn down the brightness.
[Overall] Unfortunately after using it for about two months the enter key became sunken in a bit.
I guess maybe I use it too much, but it happened pretty quick.
The other keys are fine.
Also, the AC adapter has kind of an odd shape (the transformer is attached to the plug), so it takes up some space at the outlet.
In short, it s not much different from a netbook.
But great cost performance.
If you want to, you shoud buy one with Office or Winmax.

Good Review

Tony Kimura

  • Review by Tony Kimura
  • Jul 29, 2013
Design 3.0
Processing Speed 3.0
Graphics 3.0
Expandability 3.0
Usability 3.0
Portability 3.0
Battery 3.0
Display 3.0
Total 3.0

personal laptop..

Pang personal use laptop ko lang itong ASUS Eee PC X101CH kaya binili ko hindi naman siya ganung kamahalan netbook laptop type lang ito na merong 10.1screen size ok naman yung resolution screen nito kaya hindi ganung kasakit sa mata gamitin.Lagi akong nag i-interney brow dito mabilis naman kasi yung access nito via internet at yung mga functions sytem nito well responsed naman lalo na yung keyboard tsaka sa usb soft ware nito well working naman naman over all.Magaan pa siya kaya naman nadadala ko siya sa mg wifi zone area katulad ng coffee shops mahilig kasi akong mag-internet.

Good Review

Rise anne

  • Review by Rise anne
  • Jul 26, 2013
Design 3.0
Processing Speed 3.0
Graphics 3.0
Expandability 3.0
Usability 3.0
Portability 3.0
Battery 3.0
Display 3.0
Total 3.0

ASUS Eee PC X101CH

binili ko itong netbook type laptop na ASUS Eee PC X101CH kasi pang personal use ko lang maliit lang naman ito yung screen niya nasa 10.1inches size lang meron siyang speed processor na 1.6Ghz at yung internal memory storage nito nasa 2GB capacity.Actually ginagamit ko lang ito sa house or kaya sa mga coffee shop na my wifi access.Kasi light weight lang naman ito kaya hindi siya mahirap dalhin nilalagay ko lang siya sa bag ko.Enjoy naman ako sa pag i-internet dito kasi mabilis yung access nito at well responsed naman ito sa mga operations.

Good Review

Darlene Uy

  • Review by Darlene Uy
  • Mar 11, 2013
Design 3.0
Processing Speed 3.0
Graphics 3.0
Expandability 3.0
Usability 3.0
Portability 3.0
Battery 3.0
Display 3.0
Total 3.0

laptop average

okay naman itong netbook na ito. dinadala ko ito sa college lagi. para kapag sa mga notes ko, at tsaka kapag may mga pinapa type sakin na mga documents. pang gawa ko rin ito ng powerpoint sa mga reports ko. madali lang kasi itong gamitin. tapos comfortable pa akong magtype ng kung ano ano dito kasi comfortable nga ako sa keyboard nito. ang disadvantage ko lang dito sa laptop na ito eh hindi ako makapag upgrade. yun lang. pero kung sa battery at sa screen display lang eh wala akong problema. okay sa presyo itong laptop na ito.

Good Review

Meryll9007

  • Review by Meryll9007
  • Jan 23, 2013
Design 4.0
Processing Speed 3.0
Graphics 3.0
Expandability 2.0
Usability 3.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 2.0
Display 2.0
Total 2.9

pros and cons

Maganda naman itong Asus Eee PC X101CH.. Dahil ang cooling nito ay fanless, naging tahimik ang laptop na ito.. Manipis at magaan pa ito kaya madali lang madala ito kung saan saan.. Hindi pa lalagpas sa one inch yun kapal nitong laptop na ito.. Attractive at textured pa yung chassis nito kaya mas magandang gamitin itong laptop na ito. Tapos matte pa yung finish ng screen nito kaya hindi masyado yung glare at reflection sa screen. Madali rin lang ito maka-connect sa internet at huli at sobrang affordable lang ito. Kaso nga lang, may downside rin itong laptop na ito.. Kahit na matte yung screen nito, hindi naman ganun kaganda yung display nitong Asus Eee PC X101CH. Tapos medyo limited rin ang performance nito at hindi pa pwedeng ma-upgrade. At yung battery life eh sobrang bilis maubos.

Good Review

Page 1 of 1

  • 1

Latest Reviews for Laptops

Sobrang ganda ng VIVOBOOK na to. Mahal nga lang sya pero hindi ka naman mag sisisi. Design is simple lang pero ang SPEED is napakabilis. Pati na din and storage and memory ay mataas kaya pede mo sya ...Read more

  • Rating : 3.9
  • Review by Larry Hill
  • Date : Sep 22, 2020

Ang bilis ncra nung ganto ko laptop npkmahal pa nman ng bili syang pera 2yrs lng inabot sakin lagi syang namamtay at yung battery madali malowbat

  • Rating : 2.5
  • Review by 💮💖maria ⟠
  • Date : Sep 6, 2020

Malinaw ang resolution ng screen ng laptop na ito at okay ang speed. Kalimitan ay ginagamit ko ito sa trabaho kaya hindi ko masasabi kung okay ito for gaming. Gumagawa ako kalimitan ng data analyzing ...Read more

  • Rating : 5.0
  • Review by Rommel Saavedra
  • Date : Aug 30, 2020
View Mode: PC | Mobile