ASUS Eee PC 1215B Reviews

Compare prices

Specs

Reviews

Forum

Coupon4

Overall Rating

Design 4.3
Processing Speed 3.4
Graphics 4.5
Expandability 4.2
Usability 3.4
Portability 3.7
Battery 4.3
Display 3.8
Total 3.9

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 28, 2011
Design 3.0
Processing Speed 2.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 4.0
Usability 2.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Display 3.0
Total 3.4

All the more because I expected...

This is going to be a harsh review

[Design] Average

[Processing Speed] Worse than a 1+ year old su2300 even though it's a new processor

[Graphic Function] Plays Youtube HD1080 videos without problems

[Expandability] It has UBS 3.0 ports, but they're useless with the processing speed of an E-350 when they'll be used everywhere next year.

[Ease of Use] Keyboard depends on your personal preference.
I hate the touch pad, it malfunctions, the click button is hard and the pad sometimes sinks.
I thought it was defective the first time I used it.
Some people would just use a mouse, but this reduces its portability, which is a reason people buy it.

[Portability] Okay

[Battery] Okay

[LCD] Average for the price

The processing speed of the E-350, which is much slower than I thought it would be, hinders appreciation of graphics.

The touch pad has a lot of problems.

These two issues make me unable to recommend this laptop to anyone.

As for any good features, it stays cool and hums a bit but is one of the quieter laptops on the market.

You'd be making a mistake buying it at this price.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 29, 2011
Design 4.0
Processing Speed 3.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 5.0
Usability 4.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Display 3.0
Total 4.1

It's good for this price.

I purchased it for the purpose of such as preparing a document and using internet, or sometimes creating a program.

[Design]

I purchased the black one, and the dirt is noticeable on this color.

[Processing Speed]

Hmmm, it is not good enough.
There is no particular problem since the main purpose is for browsing and document creation and so on.

But the system will get to freeze if the multiple processing is created.

[Graphic Function]

The Mobility Radeon HD 6310 is really good as expected. The screen is beautiful.

[Expandability]

When compared to other PCs with similar functions, this product features USB3.0.
Just this already makes the product appealing.
Also BlueTooth is built in and is very useful.

[Ease of Use]
To be honest, I have difficulties with using the keypad.
As other people have mentioned, the click button is really hard to push and sometimes the touchpad doesn't work smoothly.
Usually I use a wireless mouse which I bought separately.

[Portability]
It has a compact size, which is a good thing.
But I held it, I realized it is heavier than I expected.

[Battery]
It usually lasts for about 4 hours when I use it for browsing or creating documents.

[LCD]
It has too much luster and I find it rather difficult to see.
Also, I think the viewing angle is very limited.
But when I think of its price, it might be good enough.

I bought this for browsing, writing documents and sometimes creating simple programs etc., so I'm satisfied with it.
I think it's a good buy for this price as it comes with various things such as MOBILITY RADEON HD 6310, USB 3.0, and Kingsoft Office 2010 Standard.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jul 16, 2011
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 4.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 5.0
Usability 1.0
Portability 2.0
Battery 3.0
Display 3.0
Total 3.5

The touch pad is not good.

[Design]
I bought a silver model and it's really good.

[Processing speed]
It's faster than Atom, but it would've been better if it were a little faster.

[Graphic quality]
very good.

[Expandability]
I was surprised that it had USB 3.0 considering this price.

[Usability]
After using the touch pad for a few minutes, it stops responding.
And after another few minutes, it starts working again.
This is continuous.
I usually carry my laptop around with me, so this is really inconvenient.
I thought it was a defect, but found similar symptoms on other websites.

[Portability]
There's no problem as long as you use a computer mouse, but the touch pad is bad so it is inconvenient if you want to carry it around with you.
The size and weight aren't a problem.

[Battery]
The battery life is neither long nor short, it's average.

[Screen]
The screen looks white or black when you look at it from above.
But for general use, there shouldn't be a @roblem.

[overall]
I would have rated this as perfect if the touch pad was good, but it's not.
It makes me wonder if the price is inexpensive because they reduce costs on things like this.
This is not a machine for touch pad users, so I would recommend it to people who prefer computer mice.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jul 17, 2011
Design 3.0
Processing Speed 3.0
Graphics 3.0
Expandability 4.0
Usability 4.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Display 4.0
Total 3.6

reasonable considering its price

I bought the silver model for 40,000 Japanese yen.
With the silver body, fingerprints aren't that noticeable so I have no problem.
The processing speed is faster than the Lenovo ideapad (Atom) that I used before this, but you don't want to expect too much.
There is no problem in viewing general videos such on youtube.
The graphic performance is neither good nor bad.
No problem in expandability.
As for the ease of use, the shift key on the right side of the keyboard is small, so some people may find it uneasy depending on how you type.
Other than that, there's no problem.
My biggest concern was the multi touch feature of the touch pad.
Even when I use only one finger, it turns into multi-touch mode and the operation becomes slow.
It was honestly hard to use unless I turned off the multi-touch feature and set the sensitivity of the touch pad to the fastest.
Obviously it isn't as portable as an 10.1 inch, but it's not that heavy, so you should be able to carry it around.
The battery should last a while.
Though for some reason, it doesn't charge more than 97%.. The monitor is glare.
It's a bit difficult to see depending on the angle.
But it doesn't bother me much.
Overall, I guess this is what you would expect from a computer with this price.
The 12.1 inch size is perfect for carrying around and using while lying down, so it wasn't a bad buy.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jul 27, 2011
Design 4.0
Processing Speed 4.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 3.0
Usability 4.0
Portability 3.0
Battery 4.0
Display 5.0
Total 3.9

I think the cost-performance ratio is good

I bought this to use at home and for mobile use.
I use this for e-mailing, web surfing, viewing PDFs, Excel and Word documents.
What were important to me were the price, battery run time, compactness and lightness.
I also considered Lenovo IdeaPadS205, since the performance and price are similar, but decided to buy this, expecting the battery run time.
(Design) I got silver. The color looks good.
(Processing speed) I don't know how recent CPUs are, but I am not frustrated at all with this.
(Graphic performance) It seems good.
(Expandability) I only use USB so I'm not sure.
(Ease of use) It’s good, but the touch pad is not so good, as many people have mentioned.
But since I use a computer mice, it is no problem for me.
(Portability) I wish it were a little smaller.
(I used a Panasonic CF-R5 before this)
(Battery) I don't know yet, but looking forward to it.
(LCD) Beautiful.
(Total evaluation) The main body is 39,636 yen, 2G memory is 2,380 yen.
Bought this from Amazon.
bought this model after 5 years of using my old one.
It is more than I expected and I am very satisfied.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Aug 25, 2011
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 3.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 4.0
Usability 4.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Display 4.0
Total 4.0

So-so

It would've been nice to have a bit more choice in colors and CPU varieties, a little more like other countries have.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Sep 19, 2011
Design 4.0
Processing Speed 4.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 5.0
Usability 3.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Display 4.0
Total 4.0

It is fairly OK, except for the touch pad.

I really liked the HP Mini2140 netbook, but the small screen and lack of HDMI started to get to me so I decided to purchase a new machine.
(Design) I was debating whether to get black or silver, but I liked the overall look of black better and went with it.
The PC on display at the store (also black) had a lot of fingerprints (lol), but I wasn't too concerned about that.
I think it would have been good if the base and palm rest materials were more like the embossed ones found on the 1015PD.
Comparing with similarly priced machines from other manufacturers, I think it might have the best design.
I really like the blue LED lights on the front.
Also, ASUS computers have a very small AC adapter with a very slim cord which is good.
Very different from HP adapters.
I wish HP could improve this point.
(Processing speed) Maybe it's because it supports dual core architecture, but even for things like movie playback it works without any problems.
(Graphics) I don't play games or edit movies so I can't say for sure, but I haven't had any issues.
(Expandability) Getting USB 3.0 on a machine in this price range is great.
I really like how you can use the USB ports to charge electronics even with the machine off.
(This must be due to the motherboard manufacturer.)
The HDMI and Bluetoosh3.0 + HS are also good.
I wish the LAN supported gigabit connections.
(Usability) Because the screen is larger it is easier to use than a netbook.
Because the chassis is large the bottom doesn't get too hot.
However, the following points are extremely unfortunate.
- The touchpad is awful.
When using the touchpad sometimes it won't respond at all.
Sometimes when pushing the left or right buttons it won't work.
In particular the right button is stiff, and often won't respond.
This is a huge flaw in an otherwise great design.
- USB ports. It's great that there are three USB ports, but because the two on the right are so close together it is difficult and sometimes impossible to plug use both ports at once.
- AC adapter. It is nice that the cord is slim, but the connection isn't that good and it's easy to change from AC power to battery.
- WiMAX. Even if it meant raising the price a bit I wish this would include an on-board WiMAX.
(Portability) It is larger than a netbook, but it isn't that much heavier so there shouldn't be an issue.
For me it is just within the limits of being portable.
(Battery) It doesn't seem particularly good or bad.
(It lasts for about 6.5 hours.)
Even if you didn't have the AC adapter it seems like it would last long enough to get things done.
(Display) Support for 1366x768 resolution is great. Ghosting is very minor and is a non-issue.
(General comments) I think people who are currently using a netbook will like the feel of this machine.
I am very thankful to be able to purchase a machine with this much power for only around 40,000 yen.
(I purchased it at Yodobashi Camera for 42,800 yen.)
However, the touchpad is horrible, and because I had so many problems with it from day one I was forced to purchase a mouse separately.
I usually like using touchpads so this was particularly unfortunate.
I don't understand how they could overlook such an important component.
ASUS laptop computers helped lowering laptop prices and the design is superior to any other manufacturer, but it is unsettling that the manufacturer would fail to correct this obvious issue even after multiple generations.
My previously purchased 901-X had a C drive of only 4GB and suffered from many small freezes to the point where I couldn't put up with it and returned it right away.
As an user I'd like to use it for a long time, but first I'd like the manufacturer to improve the basic points of a machine.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Oct 2, 2011
Design 4.0
Processing Speed 3.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 3.0
Usability 4.0
Portability 3.0
Battery 4.0
Display 2.0
Total 3.4

Below minimum quality

(Design) The chiclet keyboard is stylish.
The fingerprint resistant casing and palm rest leave a good impression.
(Processing speed) If you expand the memory to 4GB it runs smoothly.
Web surfing is problem-free.
(Graphics) The on-board RADEON raises the standards and helps cover for the weak CPU.
(Expandability) Normal.
(Usability) I didn't experience the much talked about issues with the slide pad.
(Portability) It's a little heavy.
I wonder if it would be possible to make it as slim as the Acer Aspire ONE 722.
(Battery) Lasts for a long time.
(Display) Some issues with black/white contrast.
Not the best display.
(General comments) I bought because I really liked the USB 3.0, but returned it due to issues with teh motherboard and AC adapter.
However, the replacement would not recognize Bluetooth devices.
The retailer was very helpful during the return process. Because an item like this could cause customers to lose faith in the retailer, it must be tough for stores to deal with.
It is just what you'd expect of a Chinese product.
Clearly they have some serious issues with production control.
Due to all of the issues with this model it seems that a large percentage of people who purchase it get lemons, so the model should probably be reconsidered.
The AC adapter is fairly small and light and the fingerprint resistant design is nice, giving it a good overall appearance.
That makes the issues even more unfortunate.
So far I have purchased three ASUS machines, but only one of them has worked properly.
I am hopeful that they will improve their quality, but for now I will avoid this manufacturer.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Nov 17, 2011
Design 4.0
Processing Speed 3.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 4.0
Usability 3.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Display 4.0
Total 3.9

A machine that, with some tuning, can deliver high performance at a good price

A model with on-board E-450 is now out, but the specs are largely the same so I gave this one to my son and purchased another.
It seems many reviewers have had issues with this machine, but most of them can be solved with some tuning.
1) The display's default black/white contrast is too strong, making text hard to read.
This can be solved by adjusting the gamma and contrast using Catalyst Control Center.
However, if you change the gamma too much the colors will look odd.
2) Touchpad errors and poor response.
This appears to be an issue with the hardware in the first generation lot, but it appears it is no longer an issue.
If you update the driver and Bios all of the software side problems will go away.
However, in order to use all gesture commands some delicate tuning and getting used to it are required.
If you simply set vertical scroll to one finger on the right side of the touchpad, don't make the usable area too large, and set two-finger control to smooth only, then it behaves okay.
3) Processor speed.
The CPU index is 3.8, so if you are expecting high end performance you will be disappointed, but as long as you don't use intensive programs such image processing software it works fine.
1080p HD also plays without issue.
In conclusion, for a 30,000 yen machine that is as light as possible (even better than 1.5 kg it weighs 1.4 kg) with as large of a screen as possible (even better than 11.6 inches it has a 12.1 inch display) and a good keyboard along with a good battery (about 6 hours), this is a good machine for people who don't like netbooks because the screen is too small (in particular the vertical direction) as long as they are willing to spend a little time making some modifications after purchasing.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Dec 23, 2011
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 5.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Display 5.0
Total 5.0

Having a brand-new PC after 10 years is so nice!

I have been always buying used PCs, but this time I bought a brand-new one after 10 years.
Please take a look at my comment.
(Design) A new product is very beautiful.
I bought a black one, it presents calm atmosphere and I liked it.
(Processing speed) I am not sure from what point of view I should evaluate the processing speed, but viewing the Internet and using Office software were pretty speedy.
Movies can also be played smoothly.
I added the memory to be 8G, though I am not sure if it works.
(Graphic capability) I am not familiar with complicated things.
There are some difficulties in viewing the display; therefore some adjustment may be needed.
(Expandability) When I tried to display 2 screens simultaneously on the television using HDMI, the television did not accept the signal.
This television was made by Sharp…
(Ease of use) As I have used second-hand PCs for long, I do not have complaints regarding the activation quickness and the processing speed.
The scratch pad responds well without any problem, though I see some complaints about it on some reviews.
Maybe it was improved.
For your reference, I mainly use the mouse.
(Portability) I cannot evaluate the portability because I use this on the desk as the main device
(I did not took into account the portability when I bought this).
The AC adapter is surprisingly small, it’s very good!
(Battery) I do not comment about this, because I always use the PC connected to mains power.
(LCD) Bright.
(Total evaluation) If you plan to use this at home, only to see the Internet or so, there is no problem.
It was hard to imagine for me 10 years ago that it was able to buy such a PC at 29,800 yen plus additional memory of 8G at 2,500 yen.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 18, 2012
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 4.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 4.0
Usability 3.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Display 5.0
Total 4.4

The best part is the USB 3.0 and the cheap price.

(Augmentability) Most importantly, it has USB 3.0.
It seems as though it might use PCI for internal connections as the sequential read is 100MB/s and write is only 70MB/s, but this is plenty for a mini-notebook.
The aforementioned HDD reads and writes at up to about 70 to 80 MB/s.
Personally I appreciate the USB 2.0 + eSATA. The memory can be augmented by removing a single screw on the back cover, but the HDD cannot.
Based on reported difficulties of converting the HDD to an SSD I decided not to attempt it myself.
(Usability) I had some questions about its usability, but found the keyboard to be spacious and easy to use.
Just as everybody says, the touchpad is not great.
It feels okay, but the buttons are stiff.
If you are using it at home you will definitely want to use a mouse.
(Portability) I don't really use it outside of the house so I can't say too much on this, but it feels a little heavy as I carry it around from room to room.
It feels like carrying a 1.5 liter water bottle.
(Battery) It has a 6 cell battery so there isn't much to say.
If you do things like listen to music or watch movies the battery will drain fairly quickly.
(Display) It is not a non-glare screen, so the dimmer the lighting the harsher the ghosting.
I guess this can't be helped.
(Satisfaction) In the end I used a 2GB bulk memory expansion (SiliconPower PC3-10600, 899 yen).
When I purchased it there was only one memory card so I can't say for sure, but after adding the expansion id doesn't appear to support dual-channel architecture.
Maybe something needs to be changed in the BIOS settings...?
I was wondering if the graphics memory can also be adjusted, but unfortunately it doesn't appear possible to set it to less than 386MB.
The CPU appears to able to use the new E-450, but this will make such a small impact overall that those who are just looking for the cheapest model should chose this one.
I purchased it at Yodobashi Camera for 39,900 yen with a 10% point bonus, and based on its performance I am very happy with it.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 18, 2012
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 3.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 4.0
Usability 4.0
Portability 3.0
Battery 5.0
Display 4.0
Total 4.1

Satisfactory

Overall it's satisfactory.
Although I set the memory to 8G shortly after buying it but it's not clear just how effective that is.
Usually I'm just surfing the internet.
Occasionally I take it out and surf the net and watch videos but I haven't had any problems.
The size of the screen, easiness of typing on the keyboard, and the balance of portability seems very good.
It's become my main device.

Good Review

Page 1 of 1

  • 1

Latest Reviews for Laptops

Super value for money ang laptop na ito. Sa price nito ay ang taas ng configuration nito. Ang gaan din kaya hindi mahirap dalhin kung saan ko gustong magtrabaho. Mataas ang resolution ng monitor nito. ...Read more

  • Rating : 5.0
  • Review by Joville Sanchez
  • Date : Jun 28, 2020

Maganda at responsive naman ang keyboard nito kaya lang parang minsan ay nagloloko ang touch-pad nito at hindi responsive. Minsan pa ay naiinis ako kasi nagloloko ito at ayaw mag scroll pataas at ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by Anna Mae Manuel
  • Date : Jun 28, 2020

Ang laptop na ito ang pinaka-ideal na laptop sa mga mababa lang ang budget. Halos lahat ng mga high end game ay nalalaro dito kahit na 60 hanggang pataas ang fps. Kung isa ka ring gamer at limited ...Read more

  • Rating : 5.0
  • Review by Amie Zaratan
  • Date : Jun 28, 2020
View Mode: PC | Mobile