ASUS Eee PC 1008HA Reviews

Compare prices

Specs

Reviews

Forum

Coupon5

Overall Rating

Design 5.0
Processing Speed 3.8
Graphics 3.8
Expandability 3.0
Usability 4.2
Portability 4.7
Battery 4.4
Display 4.7
Total 4.2

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jul 12, 2009
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 3.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery -
Display 5.0
Total 4.7

no title

Bought it on the release date (7/11).
I give a harsh review. Design: This is a design conscious product and I have nothing against it.
It's glossy as if it's pearl coated and looks classy, doesn't look it's under 50k.
It doesn't look cheap or plastic.
As it's called Seashell, I felt like opening a shell.
Processing speed: I mainly use it for internet and email so it's good enough for a mobile PC to be used at home.
Graphic: I knew I couldn't expect 3D quality and I don't.
It functions well with a normal use.
Expandability: All ports that are at each sides of the body are hidden with covers.
Having only 2 USB ports might be too few.
It got occupied with a mouse and and an external disc drive.
Usability: It's skewed when you look from the side and that makes it easy to type.
The spacing is good and you wouldn't type in wrong keys.

The keyboard is easy to type because the shape of keys are flat and wide, and the key strokes are deep.
Touch pad... The pad is standard generally left-positioned type, which is different from the former model, so there is not a possibility that the hands happen to touch the touch pad during blind touch.
The pad itself is not smooth for sliding a finger because its surface is concavo-convexed.
Additionally, the border between the palm rest and the pad is not clearly recognized, which is may be because of its white color.
But I will not claim about it because I usually use a mouse.
Portability: Light-weighted. As I hardly carry this, the portability is not important for me.

Battery: It doesn't really matter since I don't use it where I don't have a power source.
I don't give a review for this part since it's unconfirmed.
LCD: Glossy but not too much. Easy to see, You only notice its glossiness when turned off.
You might not even realize it.
Resolution is 1024x600.
I knew about this before the purchase so I leave no comments on here.
You could make it 1024x768 too.
Attachments: A mouse ... Glossy and has a ASUS logo.

Is it a deficit?
You have to click hard the left click in order for it to function.
I don't know if I can return the part but I have an unused mouse home and I use it instead.
For that it gets subtracted 1 point from the overall score.
Noise: Almost zero.
To hear any noise you have to get 15 cm close to the body.
Even then you only hear the fan.
Heat: The keyboard and the palm rest can get slightly warm to the extent you can feel a little heat.
It seems the bottom left part gets some heat.
You should be careful when using it on your thighs.

Overall score: 95/100 with my harsh judgement.
I have no complaints.
Its design, figure and high-class pearl coating, makes it perfect for a sub laptop.
Though it's becoming my main.
The bad point is you can't replace the battery easily.
If you don't feel that it's a deal breaker, this is a must-buy product.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Aug 13, 2009
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 4.0
Graphics 3.0
Expandability 3.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Display 5.0
Total 4.3

no title

My main concerns were design, weight, and battery life.
I ended up purchasing this PC.
So I'm very satisfied with the 3 criteria.
Battery lasts for 3 hours and plus when using wi-fi, and 4 hours and plus when making documents offline (Bluetooth is set to off at both times).
My hands are pretty big but I didn't feel any stress when typing.
Touchpad is often a problem but this one is textured and I never experienced a stress.

The skidding is not bad, and sensibility is quite good.
I rather like it as I can feel the touch of the pad.
I am very satisfied with this product!

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Aug 28, 2009
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 3.0
Graphics -
Expandability 2.0
Usability 3.0
Portability 3.0
Battery 3.0
Display 4.0
Total 3.3

no title

I did not plan to use this at home at all, I bought this to use mainly for entering data to an Access2002 database at places like McDonalds.
I also have a 900 (an SSD type, C drive with 4GB), which I used for browsing the Internet.
But I added this so that I can enter data on Access, since I could not install a software in the C drive with only 4GB...
For now the DB contains approximately 700 data and the mdb file size is about 3.5MB, but I can input data without any stress using the numeric keypad.
But when I input data in a text field using the keyboard, I feel that the display somewhat delays.
But I should give it up, as it is Atom...
So I made text-only forms and numeric-only forms separately so that I can enter text data at home from my computer, and when I get tired I can enter numeric data using the numeric keypad at McDonalds or other restaurants.
I save the mdb files in my USB memory, so writing on HDD shouldn't occur (or even if it occurs, very little) but I see that the battery level will be 50 to 60% after I input data for 2 hours.
For my use, this is sufficient.
The touch pad is comfortable with my fingers.
The concavo-convexed surface doesn't bother me at all.
Rather, the smooth surface of EeePc900 is not comfortable for me.
One complaint is that I feel a little frustrated when I browse the Internet on e-mobile.
Maybe the reception is not good in the 23 wards of Tokyo because there are so many e-mobile users.
I feel no frustration when I use this PC using McDonalds wireless LAN.
It's not super-speedy but still speedy.
I would recommend this for those who don't mind that the battery is incorporated, those who'll only use this for a few hours on battery power, those who don't expect too much to Atom's capability and not do many works that would apply much load to a PC, those who love its design, and those who don't mind not having SSD and rather prefer HDD type with greater capacity.
For me, I am satisfied with this as this works well under my using condition..

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Dec 7, 2009
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 3.0
Graphics 2.0
Expandability 4.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Display 5.0
Total 4.3

Great design and mobility.

The first thing I felt was the design.
It is slim and has luxurious accent on it, exactly as I have seen on the picture, so I am satisfied with it.
If I had to say, the finger prints are terribly visible as it is black... LoL
For the back of the screen, I can wipe it off, but for the parts where the hand touches, taint concerns me a bit.
For the keyboard, some might like it and some might not.
The key touch is not bad, but it requires deeper touch than it seems.
It would be fine once you get used to it.
Touch pad also needs familiarizing with it, as the boarder of the scraburous area is difficult to detect.
I do not like carrying around mouse, so this point makes me a bit unhappy.

I didn't test out the durability of the battery yet but so far it lasts a little less than what the manufacturer states.
I had expectations with Atom N280, but it's only good enough for XP to function.
I don't play much games and it's sufficient.
The notable feature is that it's so light and small even with a battery.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 11, 2010
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 4.0
Usability 4.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Display 5.0
Total 4.8

Replaced with 900x.

I used 9OOX for about an year.
I tried 10 inch as an old-eye countermeasure, but the resolution seems good.
It is an attractive machine, and I found 1008.
I used 900X to the hilt, and did not remove the battery even once.
I wanted to use the dormant mode, so for memory, I did not expand it, even though I own 2 MB.
I do not want heavy PC!
I chose this PC for the reasons above.
It is very well designed.
I was not expecting much for owning netbook, but I was wrong.

You should apply silicon wax on a pad for a better use.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 31, 2012
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 3.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 2.0
Usability 3.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Display 4.0
Total 3.9

It’s broken after using for 3 years. So I’ll review it as a memory.

[DESIGN] It was round and easily ported, and I was satisfied with both color and design.
[PROCESSING SPEED] I only used it for making documents, editing photos, and sometimes macro writing on excel and watching movies (640x480 maximum), so it wasn't that much of a concern.
[GRAPHIC QUALITY] It was 10 inch, so it is quite good.
I was watching TV, connecting it with 24 inch moniter and degital tuner, but I could watch it with out any concerns.
[EXPANDABILITY] Poor number of USB made me concerned occasionally.
No alteration can be made until you disassemble the device, but as I bought this knowing that, I have no complaint.
[Ease of use] Keyboard is comfortable for long time typing.
Mouse pad is difficult to use because it was integrated with the button.
[Battery] CPU is powerless, so the battery lasts on its way.
Once it lasted more than 6 hours without an AC adapter.
[LCD display] Good, as I could distinguish small letters.

[Total evaluation] A model with good portability like a tablet.
I used it for 2 years and then gave it to my sister.
She used it heavily to watch TV programs and dies in half a year (The battery and the HDD were completely over).
I contacted the ASUS customer support and they gave us a estimate that was nearly 40k.
That's why I decided to buy a new laptop. It'd be nice to have a laptop with its LCD size and weight are as good as 1008HA and carries a CPU that is more than 1008HA.

Good Review

Page 1 of 1

  • 1

Latest Reviews for Laptops

Pagdating sa mga laptop, recommended ko talaga ang Asus. Maganda ang build ng laptop na ito. Kaya lang ay wala nga lang itong DVD player kasi ginagawa nilang mas manipis ito pero meron din naman ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by Icernel Oduca
  • Date : Jul 31, 2020

Usually ay gusto ko talaga ang laptop na ASUS ang brand. Nagkaroon na rin kasi ako nito dati kaya palagi akong satisfied sa pagbili ko noon pero iba ngayon. Yung maganda dito ay ang volume nito na ...Read more

  • Rating : 1.5
  • Review by Ecel Arebado
  • Date : Jul 31, 2020

Nag-purchased ako ng laptop na ito kahit na wala akong masyadong nababasang mga reviews nito sa online. Na-excite ako dito. Ang tagal kasi ng battery nito na halos whole day talaga at tahimik lang na ...Read more

  • Rating : 5.0
  • Review by Carolyn Cerrera
  • Date : Jul 22, 2020
View Mode: PC | Mobile