ASUS Eee PC 1005P Reviews

Compare prices

Specs

Reviews

Forum

Coupon5

Overall Rating

Design 4.5
Processing Speed 3.5
Graphics 4.5
Expandability 3.8
Usability 4.2
Portability 4.2
Battery 4.8
Display 4.0
Total 4.2

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

wok

  • Review by wok
  • Jun 5, 2013
Design 4.0
Processing Speed 5.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 4.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Display 4.0
Total 4.5

great and cheap..

Gusto ang quality ng ASUS Eee na ito sa ngayon ito ang ginagamit kong personal laptop ko .Its very easy and comfortable na gamitin itong ASUS Eee laptop ko sa soft keyboard and the spec is good for me.matagal din ito ma low bat so magagamit mo sya ng matagalan i think more or less 5hrs or 6hrs mo sya magagamit.Actually 2 klase ng color nito ang pwede mong pag pilian i choosed black kasi madumihan or magka scracth man siya hindi ma papasin agad.Mabilis din sya makaconnect sa internet at mabilis din ang access hindi naman siya ganung kamahalan sa presyo pero masasatisfied ka sa pag gamit nito.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 28, 2010
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 4.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 5.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 3.0
Battery 5.0
Display 4.0
Total 4.4

Amazing!!

My review is based on the fact that this is a product that costs about JPY40,000.
First of all, I really like this product.
(Design) Personally, I like this top panel better than smooth ones so I give it a high rating.
The design is made for 6 cell battery, so the battery doesn't run over the edge and it's a excellent shape.
(Processing speed) I upgraded the memory to 2GB right after I got it, and changed it to SSD (requires disassembling by breaking the guarantee sticker) and changed to XP a few days later.
Therefore, my review is based on my computer under this condition.
I am a Dell Netbook mini9 with Atom M270 user.
I don't feel any functional improvement compared to former Atom platform.
I believe there is enough functionality to drive XP.
I think that 7 has an excellent response for mounted function but the OS is too much for an Atom.
(Graphic function) I don't think it's fair to expect great graphic function from this machine.
I don't play games on this machine and I don't edit images and videos so I'm satisfied.
As for streaming videos online, unless it's in really high definition, you should be satisfied.
(Scalability) Standard scalability for a netbook.
If I get into much detail, mini9 SD card reader cannot boot from SD card, which may be because it is not an expansion from USB.
1005PE can boot it from SD card. (Maybe mini9 is special?)
I heard that it is compatible to 802.11n by word-of-mouth, but I have not confirmed this since I don't have the applicable router for n. XP recognizes it as AR2427.
When I disassembled it, I found a very tiny module is mounted on the mini PCI express slot. (it may be common recently)
It looks like there is one antenna. (the reception isn't bad)
(Ease of use) Since I switched from mini9, I am very satisfied with the key pitch.
To be honest, there is a lot of deflection, but it would be harsh to ask more from this price.
I am happy with the touchpad.
It is compatible with two-finger (though I don't use it), and it can handle very detailed setting.
I don't like the fact that the buttons are not separate between right and left.
(Portability) The footprint is a regular 10 inch netbook.
But I think it is thicker than other manufacturers.
I feel it is definitely heavier than others as well.
However, I am convinced personally because it lasts at least 5 hours of actual driving time with full-time internet connection.
The adaptor is small.
It is not Mickey type, but Glass type, which I like.
(Battery) This is the biggest attraction of this machine.
It lasts a long time.
It lasts at least 5 hours no matter how you use it (excluding charging other things through USB).
(Display) I was afraid the most about there being no guarantee for dead pixels.
Fortunately, my machine didn't have any.
It is a glare display. Brightness is enough.
(Overall) It is what you can see from my title.
If you can accept the obvious cons, such as the Atom spec not being enough, the size is too big, and it's too heavy, there is nothing wrong with this machine.
On running too much, the left side of the palm rest is heated up from the bottom.
There is N450 here and portionally this part is heated up maybe because of the integrated chip.
The fan is noticable when it is runs heavily (mini9 was fanless so I notice this even more).
However, heavy running is very rare during this season.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 11, 2010
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 4.0
Graphics 5.0
Expandability 4.0
Usability 5.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Display 5.0
Total 4.6

Very satisfied!

I have purchased it to carry around and use it outside and at home.
I was wavering with other Netbook, but considering the price, design, and presuming the mobile battery won't last very long, Idecided to purchase this one.
I was wavering in between black and white, but thinking that dusts would be less noticeable on black keyboards, I chose black.
I am very satisfied with the top pannel design.
As for me, I am not concerned about the flexure of the keyboard, as I didn't even recognize it.
There is no dead pixel and there is no default at initial set up completion which is said that could happen from time to time.
Although the spec on the catalogue said it is not compliant, I checked that it is compliant to 802.11n.
Memory is 1GB, which is standard, but I don't have any issue with processing gets too heavy (just for website browsing).
I guess thanks to Windows7.
As for the battery, I cannnot make a definitive statement as I have not yet used it until it's empty, but it has never shut-down while using, and it is working very pleasantly and comfortably for now.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 15, 2010
Design 5.0
Processing Speed 4.0
Graphics 4.0
Expandability 4.0
Usability 4.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Display 5.0
Total 4.5

A truly useful Ultra-Mobile

(Design) Early eee PCs were cheaply made, but as far as things like footprint this has a high-quality feel to it. Even when comparing it to domestic models it doesn't look too bad.
(Processing speed) There is no problem with things such as internet browsing and using Office software.
(Graphics) It is sufficient as long as you don't play 3D games.
(Expandability) It has 3 USB ports and is Bluetooth compatible so it's enough for a mobile computer.
(Usability) From this model, there's space between the keys on the keyboard.
This makes it easier to type without mistakingly typing the key next to it, so I think it's easier to use.
(Portability) It is both small and lightweight, making it very portable.
It would be nice if it were a little lighter, but at this price you can't complain.
(Battery) Lasts for more than 10 hours.
This is the main reason I recommend this machine.
No other company produces machines that will last this long on a single charge.
(Display) I was worried about finding defective pixels, but there were none and it looks good.
(General comment) Getting this functionality (extremely long battery life) at this price (I purchased it for 34,800 yen including shipping) is something that can't be matched by other manufacturers and is a big advantage.
However, I was surprised to find that unlike the older eeePC701 this one did not come with extras, such as a soft case and a mouse.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Dec 22, 2010
Design 4.0
Processing Speed 2.0
Graphics -
Expandability 3.0
Usability 3.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Display 3.0
Total 3.4

2 months after purchase.

nikoniko Douga at a time, it didn't work very well and if the movie size is big, even one movie doesn't play.
When my friend used it, he said What happens to this PC? Too Slow. Basically, everything works slowly.
Though it only have a half of the spec I wanted, Photoshop works somehow.
Graphical feature is dead.

(Expandability) There's no such thing.
(Usability) Easy to type at a keyboard.
(Portability) Light and easy to carry around.
(Battery) It prompted me to buy the product.
About 6 hours of video replaying is available.
It lasts about 10 hours if you use only for doing paperwork.
For 2 months I’ve been using it everyday, but it doesn’t have any problems even though the duration has been shortened a little.
(Screen) Clear.
(Conclusion) You can have internet everwhere if you have a contract with Docomo or Emobile and you can search, study, kill some time.
But PC spec is really low though I didn't expect that much.
It takes some time to start the app even if the application is light.
Everything is quite slow.
If I suppose a mIddle price desktop PC has 9000 processing ability, this PC only has 1200.
I can say this to all netbooks that the motion is really slow.
I kept badmouthing, but I give it 4.5 points since I can’t do without such a convenient thing.
After rounding off the number, it would be 5 points.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Dec 22, 2010
Design 4.0
Processing Speed 2.0
Graphics -
Expandability 3.0
Usability 3.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Display 3.0
Total 3.4

A model worth calling a "NETBOOK"

I purchased this for about JPY60,000 when it first came out in the market because I am on trains and bullet trains more often than ever.
I wasn't happy with the memory and OS so I upgraded the memory to 2GB and the OS to HomePremium.
I also have Ubuntu 10.10 now.
(Design) I like the design of top panel because it is unified in black.
I felt uneasy about the shape of the touchpad at first, but it's not so bad in terms of design.
(Processing speed) I think it's harsh to criticize the processing speed of a netbook, but if I had to, I would say, yeah, it's not good.
I changed the Microsoft Office to 2003 because 2007 and 2010 were a little irritating.
You don't want to watch HD movies on video sharing websites.
(Graphic) There's no point in evaluating the graphics.
(Scalability) Not bad among this type of model because it has 3 ports of USB2.0, a VGA port and a SD card slot.
(Ease of use) I wasn't sure about the touchpad, but it won't be a problem once you get used to it.
The keyboard is troublesome.
For me, it is too shallow and it is skewed due to its structure so it affects my typing more or less.
I'm not good at typing to start with and now I make even more typing mistakes.lol
(Portability) This is the reason why I got this machine.
I give it 4 stars because wireless is not compatible with n and it is not compatible with WiMAX (though I had no choice because of the timing).
I also think they should've been able to design it a bit thinner.
(Battery) Perfect.
It easily lasts for about 6 to 7 hours without minding the battery.
It will eat more battery if you keep playing music videos, but it causes no major issues.
(LC Display) View angle is not very wide.
It becomes hard to see if you have any little smudge such as fingerprints.
The LC seems to be easy to distort a little due to structure issues.
Overall, I am satisfied with this product.
But if I had a little more on my budget, I would have purchased a Let's note or a CULV laptop.
But in terms of learning how powerless Atom is, this is a good experience.

Good Review

Page 1 of 1

  • 1

Latest Reviews for Laptops

Sobrang ganda ng VIVOBOOK na to. Mahal nga lang sya pero hindi ka naman mag sisisi. Design is simple lang pero ang SPEED is napakabilis. Pati na din and storage and memory ay mataas kaya pede mo sya ...Read more

  • Rating : 3.9
  • Review by Larry Hill
  • Date : Sep 22, 2020

Ang bilis ncra nung ganto ko laptop npkmahal pa nman ng bili syang pera 2yrs lng inabot sakin lagi syang namamtay at yung battery madali malowbat

  • Rating : 2.5
  • Review by 💮💖maria ⟠
  • Date : Sep 6, 2020

Malinaw ang resolution ng screen ng laptop na ito at okay ang speed. Kalimitan ay ginagamit ko ito sa trabaho kaya hindi ko masasabi kung okay ito for gaming. Gumagawa ako kalimitan ng data analyzing ...Read more

  • Rating : 5.0
  • Review by Rommel Saavedra
  • Date : Aug 30, 2020
View Mode: PC | Mobile