Volkswagen Up Reviews

Volkswagen Up 3door hatchback L_1

Volkswagen Up 2011-
  • Volkswagen Up 3door hatchback S_1
  • Volkswagen Up 3door hatchback S_2
  • Volkswagen Up 3door hatchback S_3
  • Volkswagen Up 3door hatchback S_4
  • Volkswagen Up 5door hatchback S_5
  • Volkswagen Up 5door hatchback S_6
  • Volkswagen Up 5door hatchback S_7
  • Volkswagen Up 5door hatchback S_8
More Photos
Price (New)
---
Price (Used)
---
  • Production 2011 - present
  • Volkswagen Up is a small Hatch back family car also reffered to as a city car. Provides astonishing fuel economy of 40/59 mpg for city/highway.
  • Basic version comes with five speed manual transmission and front wheel drive. It comes with 1 L three cylinder engine.
  • It can generate power of up to 75 hp and 70 lb-ft of torque. Maximum speed id of 106 mph. Accelaration of 0-60 under 14 secs.

New & Used prices

Reviews

Forum

Overall Rating

exterior 4.4
interior 3.9
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 3.9
ride quality 3.9
fuel efficiency 3.9
Total 4.0

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 27, 2017
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.7

Cute and safe

At first, I thought this red was too flashy, and I hesitated. But when I get on it, I like it more and more day by day finding its depth and brightness in red is unique and cute. Aircon wind outlet on sides are cute, too. Its exterior is simple, but It has its character.

Other than its cuteness, I need to mention that its windows get fogged up often. Because I don't like aircon wind, I usually don't use it, but I use it to defog.

It is comfortable to drive on expressways and bypass where there are not many cars. Fuel efficiency reaches to 22km/l easily. 8-hour one-way drive is easy, too. I don't get tired, and with auto cruise setting, it ran amazingly well.

Steering is excellent, too. It drives well on winding roads. I easily get motion sickness, but I don't get sick with this.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 6, 2016
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.7

It runs, stops and turns restlessly

This is my second VW car. I have driven many cars before, but I quite like this one. It is natural I like it because I chose it, but I would like to recommend this if someone is having a trouble in deciding which car to get.

As I wrote in the title, it runs, stops and turns restlessly. This can do this basic things naturally and surely.

If you are torn between up! and some other car, I recommend up!

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 7, 2016
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency -
Total 4.8

It is a good car for those who don't ask too much for a car

<exterior>
It is small, but it is assertive.

<interior>
Simple. Golf from several generations before was like this, too. It would have been better if it had more drink holders/trays for small items.
I was surprised that the driver seat power window switch doesn't have auto function.

<engine performance>
It is far from high-end feel. But it is not unsophisticated. It runs more than necessary.

<drivability>
You would be surprised if you start driving this thinking this to be an average car with AT. It is excellent when you drive with MT mode. It drives very briskly. I was able to drive stably on expressways in snow. In town, I don't see the disadvantages of FF. It gives more sense of security than 4WD with not so good motor.

<comfort>
It is universal with all VW cars in whatever class. The shape of the seats look like that of a cheap kei car, but when you actually sit in it, you can tell it is VW.

<fuel efficiency>
I don't know as I got this as a loaner vehicle.

<price>
I don't know as I got this as a loaner vehicle.

<overall>
Though this car doesn't look gorgeous (maybe all VW cars don't), it is a genuinely good car. You can drive this for a long time. If you are thinking getting this, please give it a try.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Dec 14, 2015
exterior 4.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 3.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 3.8

It is a good car once you get used to ASG

I drove 200km, and travelled another 200km in rear seats when we rented it.

<exterior>
Its front is unique. The rear looks stylish with its glass.

<interior>
Instrument panel uses shiny plastic, so it has high-end feel.
Seats are hard, but it is amazingly comfortable. These seats are amazing for the price. I hope Japanese cars follow this.
I can see they cut the cost with other part of the interior. Especially the ceiling is a thin iron board covered with fabric. You need to think it is reasonable for its price.
It doesn't have storage like drink holders. As for utility, Japanese cars win.

<engine performance>
It works well. It sounds good, too.

<drivability>
As for steering, it turns better than I expected. It is not scary to drive fast with this car.
It has enough and necessary performance. I cannot believe this is an A-segment car; it drives lightly.
The problem is its ASG. When I'm driving uphill with AT mode, it suddenly shifts down. It is unpredictable. When I try to accelerate while pressing the accelerator, it gets jumpy like torque converter AT. When you do shift change, with AT mode or MT mode, you have to decelerate like when you drive MT cars. I recommend using MT mode all the time. When you get used to this, it gets fun to drive this car. Of course this doesn't have creeping, so you have to be careful on hills and when you park.
The brake has a lot of free play, so you need to be careful. It is better to use engine brake with MT mode.
It makes me feel as if I am driving a big car with its wide visibility.

<comfort>
I heard German cars are hard, but this one is flexible. It has a soft suspension, but it is stable on highways, and it drives strongly on mountain roads. It also drives well over bumps. Personally, this is ideal.
Rear seats are roomy. I can put my feet under the seat in front, so it is easy.
As for quietness, even though the body is paper thin, it is quiet. How are they doing this? LOL

<fuel efficiency>
We traveled 400km; 40% on highways, 30% on mountain roads, 30% in town. We didn't care about rpm, and we drove roughly, so it was about 15km/l. It should be better. It is a pity that it uses high-octane fuel.

<price>
Cheap. It is a good buy if you get used to ASG.

<overall>
Get used to ASG.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Nov 23, 2015
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.5

Design and stability

I fell in love with cornflower blue color, and I bought it as a second car. This is fun to drive. It is more spacious than I had imagined. This makes me realize how attractive a car can be.
This uses high-octane fuel, but its fuel efficiency is good. My wife is very happy, too.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Nov 21, 2015
exterior 3.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 2.0
travelling performance 2.0
ride quality 2.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 2.5

Transmission

Transmission of Volkswagen UP is unique. It has advantages of both manual and automatic. Robotized transmission. This is a manual transmission with automated clutch and automated shift change called ASG. Its advantage is that it's an inexpensive system with good fuel consumption, and its disadvantage is the shift shock which is caused by its unique transmission.
This system is the same as Suzuki's ASG. This was what they developed during their technical tie-up. These low-cost cars are mainly sold in developing countries, so cheap automatic transmission like ASG has a big advantage. ASG is a single clutch, and from the class Golf falls in, it uses dual clutch. Cars in expensive range have two clutches, so its shift change is smooth. But it means it needs more complicated control.
We're off track here, but this system is introduced when it had a tie-up with Suzuki to sell in India. Many of Suzuki's cars sold in India use this system, too.

ASG is a transmission which is getting popular, but I think Dual logic of Fiat and Selespeed of Alfa Romeo started to get attention back in 2003. There were systems like this before that, but these are the ones of recent years. Thinking this background, Italian cars are more trustworthy here, but this still is a system with many troubles. Up is not an excellent car either, and its quality is amazingly bad.
I don't recommend this car.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Nov 9, 2015
exterior 5.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

I chose this for compactness

<exterior>
As I wrote in the title, I chose this for its size. This is for my wife, and she's driven Dingo, Grandis, Sienta, Porte and Voxy. She was over sliding doors, and wanted to get a small car with good maneuverability (not light vehicle, though). She had a glance, and decided on it... She is happy with it.

<interior>
I am not happy here, but my wife doesn't worry about all the disadvantages this car has; there are almost no storage. I cannot put the vehicle inspection certificate in the glove box, so I put it in the door pocket of passenger seat. That means I cannot use that door pocket. It only has two cup holders. It only has one room light (front). It had a luggage light from the start, though. It is a built-in seat, so headrest is integrated.

<engine performance>
Even when four adults are in the car, it drives OK. Merging on highways is OK, too, if you press the accelerator hard (But when I accelerate slowly, I feel it is too slow because the shift change between the second to the third is too quick, and it is not within the power band of the third. My wife doesn't seem to care as she accelerates hard. Maybe I'm not pressing the accelerator hard enough?)

<drivability>
Compared to the other cars in this class, this quietness is excellent. It doesn't feel slippery at the junctions of roads on highways on rainy days, and its straightness is good, too. You might feel it is hard if your previous car was a Japanese car. You might feel odd if you are used to AT or CVT, with the feel it loses its power when it changes the shift, the fact that it doesn't have creep and it goes down three seconds after releasing my foot off the brake. But you'll get used to it. I sometimes sit at the passenger seat, and the thing I'm not happy with its operation is... the lever for the blinker and the windscreen wiper is other way round with Japanese cars, and she still turns the windscreen wiper on when she wants to put a blinker on after driving this for a month.

<comfort>
It is narrow inside, so I can talk without raising my voice. It turns well at low speed.

<fuel efficiency>
We drive mainly in town, but I think it is over 20km/l.

<price>
1,980,000yen drive away including GPS system (bigger one), mats, a visor, short antenna, extra key, maintenance and coating.

<overall>
The rear windows don't open, but ventilation is efficient. The fuel efficiency and drivability were more than I expected, too. I'm happy price-wise as it has safety equipment. Moreover, I'm happy that my wife is satisfied with this car and not even considered about things I'm no happy about this car (Also, she is happy because she doesn't see this car around).

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Oct 18, 2015
exterior 3.0
interior 2.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 3.0
ride quality 3.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 3.0

I did a test drive of up!

<exterior>
Not bad. There’s nothing special about the design, but that probably means I won’t get tired of it.

<interior>
It may not be good if you are used to Japanese car as for interior.
Aircon is operated only manually, and not all the windows can be opened vertically. It’s obvious that GPS system is installed later. It is a bit disappointing. The rear windows only open sideways manually.
Depending on the body color you choose, you get the same color for the dashboard.
Seats look cheap, but it is not bad to sit on. I think it would have been better if it had more hold.

<engine performance>
It is powerful for a 1l engine.

<drivability>
It is compact, but the body is solid. So it drives well.
If you haven’t driven MT, though, it might be difficult to drive smoothly with ASG (automated manual transmission). It is AT, so it does shift change by itself but… I couldn’t drive it. If you find this car is easy to drive or not will depend on how well you can use ASG. I personally think normal 5MT would be better.

<comfort>
I’ve written in drivability as well, but the body is solid and the suspensions work well. I find it good.

<fuel efficiency>
I only did a test drive, but I find it good as it did 20km/l. If I drive carefully, it will be better.

<price>
I think it is reasonable. It is cheap for an import car. The cost cut has been done around its equipment, though, so it is not that cheap thinking what exactly you are getting.
If you think about driving comfortably, go for a Japanese compact car. If you like Volkswagen, or if you’d like to buy a car with MT but you only can buy AT, it’s a good idea to go for this car.

<overall>
The value of this car depends on your view of Volkswagen and how you’d use ASG.
If you want to buy a cheap import car, this will be good for you. It won’t be as comfortable as Japanese cars, though.
It is not that uncomfortable to drive, so you don’t have to worry about that.

If you want to try AGS, Suzuki Alto has AGS features, too.

Good Review

Page 1 of 1

Latest Reviews for Cars

"<exterior> It is good compared to the models before. With the grille that looks similar to Passat, it is safely done. It may not be a luxury car; this might just have high price tag. So it may not ...Read more

  • Rating : 3.0
  • Review by Japanese user
  • Date : Feb 4, 2017

<exterior> In short, it is a lot cooler. The thin head lights succeeded from Passat and the front grille connected to it. The face with strong horizontal line. The strong, straight edgy character ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.2
  • Review by Japanese user
  • Date : Feb 4, 2017

<exterior> When I first saw it in person, I thought "Oh... it may not be as cool as I thought..." but having driven several days, I started to think it is cool. It looks sharp from the front, but I ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.7
  • Review by Japanese user
  • Date : Feb 1, 2017
View Mode: PC | Mobile