Toyota RAV4 Reviews

Toyota RAV4 wagon L_1

Toyota RAV4 4th Generation (XA40) 2013-2018
  • Toyota RAV4 wagon S_1
  • Toyota RAV4 wagon S_2
  • Toyota RAV4 wagon S_3
  • Toyota RAV4 wagon S_4
  • Toyota RAV4 wagon S_5
  • Toyota RAV4 wagon S_6
  • Toyota RAV4 wagon S_7
  • Toyota RAV4 wagon S_8
More Photos
  • Production 1994 - 2018
  • Toyota RAV4 is powered by a 2.5 litre four cylinder engine system which is capable of producing enough horse power and awesome torque.
  • Its engine system is mated with a 6 speed automatic transmission system. It has either a front wheel drive or an all wheel drive.
  • LE, Limited and XLE are its three trim levels. It has average fuel economy or mileage rate of 22-29 mpg on any street and highway.

New & Used prices

Models by year

Reviews

Forum

News

Overall Rating

exterior 4.1
interior 4.1
engine performance 4.3
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 3.8
fuel efficiency 4.1
Total 4.1

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

ImSexy@IKnw8!

  • Review by ImSexy@IKnw8!
  • Jun 13, 2018
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 4.3

durable to the max

I own one compact SUV vehicle, the toyota RAV4 an ideal cargo holder and a family vehicle. Sa tagal na paggamit ko nito masasabi kong maganda talaga ang quality niya. I can't say anything about the interior and exterior since maganda naman na siya para sa akin and comfy pa at creative ang design niya internally and externally. About the performance of the car, napaka durable niya running four years na rin ang car ko na to and still wala pa akong na encounter na malfunctioning.

  • Generation

    2nd Generation (XA20) 2000-2005

  • Variant

    4x2 AT

Good Review

s.DAVAN

  • Review by s.DAVAN
  • Jun 24, 2017
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

Toyota RAV4

My car is so cool i just loving using this one because i used to travel a lot so this one is so good for me i have a lot of space inside and i personally like a big type of car the design is so gorgeous the engine is so amazing never had any trouble with my car and its so fun using this one and im using this for two years now and i love it!

  • Generation

    4th Generation (XA40) 2013-2018

Good Review

benjeimen

  • Review by benjeimen
  • Apr 5, 2017
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

Toyota RAV4

been using this one for two years now nothing change to this one i am traveling a lot this year and i didnt experience any trouble with my car and also this car is so powerful in engine this car can go off road a very sporty yet luxurious car to look and also the design very spacious and it is so easy because this car is automatic very safe and comfortable to used i have nothing to say with all i can say is that it gives the ride that i deserve.

  • Generation

    4th Generation (XA40) 2013-2018

Good Review

aGaTha

  • Review by aGaTha
  • Feb 9, 2017
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

Toyota RAV4 ay magandang sasakyan!

Gandang Buhay!
ang ganda naman ng sasakyan na ito ang formal ng design niya at makina maganda din ang gusto ko kasi talaga sa saksakyan ay ang travelling performance niya at pasuk itong car na ito sa subrang ganda pati mga friends ko sinsabi sakin na gusto rin nilang bumili ng sasakyan na kagaya ng sa akin mahusay kasi ang ride quality nito so okay rin talaga at pwedi rin sa off road ang car na ito enjoy gamitin siya at hindi naman gaanung magastus sa fuel kaya bongga talaga!

Good Review

Nilda Tangkay

  • Review by Nilda Tangkay
  • Aug 10, 2016
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

drive drive sa toyota car!

Sa wakas na tapos na rin ang aking pag-aaral sa driving ngayon makaka gamit na rin ako sa aming sasakyan kaya sobrang saya ko kasi ngayon makaka drive na ako sa aming toyota nga, ang makina din naman nito ay ang tibay-tibay pa nga naman kaya ang ayos nito. Ang bilis pa din naman ng pag takbo nito kahit medyo matagal ko na itong ginagamit. At mas komportable na nga akong gumamit at mag drive nitong sasakyan namin. kaya ang galing-galing at hindi rin naman magastos sa gasolina ang car na ito kaya patuloy pa din naman akong gumagamit nito.

Good Review

MJ Amatong

  • Review by MJ Amatong
  • Jul 12, 2016
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

own car in young age!

At my young age I have now my very own car so I'm so happy cause I can go wherever I want to go, I can travel now with my friends cause I can used my car. I really love the design of this car and its perfect for me since I have a lot of friends so on this car all of they will be ride also. This car will fast so its better and even in a rough road still it will run in a high speed. I was so comfortable also in driving this car and the gasoline on this is not so much expensive so better and this car is durable enough.

Good Review

Rizza Gonzaga

  • Review by Rizza Gonzaga
  • Jun 7, 2016
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

Ang aking toyota Car!!

Sobrang ganda nga naman ng aking sasakyan isang Toyota RAV4 super cute nga naman nito hindi lang naman bagay to sa lalake pati na rin sa mga babaeng katulad ko kaya ang ayos talaga nito. Ang blis pa din naman ang pag takbo nito kaya mas napapa dalas ang pag outing ko kahit saan lalo na sa malayo ay hindi bali yan sa akin. Ang bilis din naman tumakbo nito hindi rin alintana ang rough road sa car ko na ito kaya sisiw lang sa akin ang pag maneho nito. Mas komportable din naman akong gamitin to kasi feeling ko mas safe ako nito. Hindi rin naman magastos sa gasolina ang car na ito kaya sulit ang pag bili ko nito kasi ang bilis ng tumakbo hindi pa malakas lumaklak ng gasolina kaya ang ayos din naman nito. Pag iingatan ko talaga to.

Good Review

LALA-A

  • Review by LALA-A
  • Dec 15, 2015
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

Toyota RAV4

For this car I used it for almost a year now its still in a good condition and it looks new this car has a durable engine performance it is in a good condition. The travelling performance is perfect for me it can run so fast even in a rough road still its nice car. I really had a fun in riding this car and also driving this and I'm comfortable to this car I feel like I'm safe driving or riding this. In terms of the fuel its a little bit expensive but its okay for me.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 19, 2015
exterior 3.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency -
Total 3.6

Though it's my parents' car

This is my impression after driving the car I borrowed from my parents.

[Exterior] Well, it's very simple. It's okay. It's a TOYOTA-like car. Conversely, the design is not interesting as it feels like an old standby car.

[Interior] It's also very simple. My parent did not add any specific options.

[Engine Performance] It's very powerful. It considerably speeds only by slightly pressing the gas pedal.

[Driving Performance] The handle seemed heavy. It's comfortable since it can run smoothly on mountain roads.
I don't know if it's just that the rear is light, but the rear shakes when driving during winter.

[Ride Quality] It's not that bad. The seats are a little hard. But I do not feels uncomfortable about that.

[Price] My parents said it was about 2,400,000 yen. I think it's inexpensive.

[General Comments] Although it's one of the cheapest among Toyota's SUV, I think it's better to buy X-TRAIL or Forester.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 15, 2008
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 3.0
ride quality 3.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 3.7

Toyota review

I change to this car from my RAV4L on November 2005 right after a full model change. 4WD Sport Grade. I have driven more than 20,000km so far. Since I live in Hokkaido, I drive to go to work on compressed snow or icy road about 80km every day.

Exterior still remain the look of RAV4 and it is ok. So I give 4 for the exterior.

There is nothing special about interior as well though.
The body size is bigger than the previous RAV4, and I feel more space inside. So interior is 4.

The acceleration of CTV is smooth. I do not feel it, but it gets at high velocity without noticing. It has plenty of speed even on the highway. It is much faster than the previous model. The engine is 4.

The stability is not so good despite its weight. I get a bit worried about losing grip on the winter road. VSC instead saved me twice in winter, so it works great.
So driving performance is 3.

Comfort is as I said, it is not very stable and comfortable. The suspension damping is too weak. So comfort is 3.

Fuel efficiency is ok. It is about 9km/L on the high way and not bad for 2,400cc engine. I give 4 for it.

The cost performance comparing to similar cars of other manufacturers is superior. So the price is 4.
The gear ratio is set high, so it contributes to good fuel efficiency. But on the winter road, I have to use the engine break often to prevent slipping, which can be very scary. Again VSC has to kick in for such situation.

After two years of purchase, I got a strange sound (like something hitting inside) when starting the engine. There was no problem for driving, but took the car to the dealer, and they found a damage on the rubber mount in the CTV transmitter. I got a free fix and it is all gone.

I give 4 for overall performance.
I'll keep it for a while, but I'm also planning to switch to BMW X3 or something in the future.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 15, 2014
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.8

Reviewing after using it for 5.5 years

[Exterior]
I've never had a car that I haven't gotten tired of even after 5 years until this. The look on an angle from the rear is excellent.
[Interior]
The interior is really good for a 5 year old model. I don't really like the conservative, innovative or extreme designs of new cars these days as, so this gets a thumbs up.
[Engine Performance]
It is very comfortable on long drives with a body weight of 1620 a 2.4l at 1700PS. If you don't pay attention to the regular changing of the oil you will end up with an engine that doesn't turn.
I have always used synthetic 0W-20 oil. Replacement cycle is once every six months. Always genuine.
[Driving Performance]
It has the same performance as a German car so for straight driving it is 'on the rail'. You also don't really feel the effects from wind. either.
[Ride Quality]
I think it was a trade off for driving performance and it does not suit the Japanese buyer tastes. I fitted a JAOS rear to bar soon after buying it making it somewhat better. After 5 years of driving it, I get the impression that I have worn off some of the sharp edges.
[Fuel Efficiency]
Averagely 8.8l.

At best 12.7 at worst 5.5. As its a 2.4l, I would suppose this is about right?
[Price]
In the end it was cheap. I got a 450,000 discount off the car price in November during the confusion after the the collapse of Lehman Brothers.
[General Comment]
It is an easy to drive SUV, and an easy to use sized car. Previously I drove a StepWgn and 120 Prado, I was not happy with the ""balance of agility and luggage loading"" and stuck with the RAV4. I have done registration of the vehicle twice, there was no problem with that car and I was able to have it done for 7-80,000 JPY. Periodic checking I can do myself without any problems.
I change oil and brake fluid and do maintenance on chassis, suspension, and filters. It is a good car that does not cost you a lot.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Nov 29, 2007
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 3.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.2

Toyota review

A replacement from a German vehicle.

I chose the five-cylinder engine for holding a good balance with 7 speed CVT, a better torque feel for low rpm, and its active running performance without cranking up the engine. It's faster than expected. It is surprisingly quiet for its low revolution during the cruise. Although it is 4WD, it runs at 11- 12km/L.

Majority of people votes for poor comfortability and the road noise vibration, I think it is fair considering the vehicle manufactured on a global standard.
My comment is based upon the fact that RAV4 is the no. 1 customer satisfaction model (mostly because of its trusty aspect, I guess...)

Vehicles in Germany run incredibly faster than those in Japan, but I heard German drivers feel insecured without feeling the road/vehicle conditions. Perhaps that is why the vehicle picks up the noise to mitigate thier concern, and this is how I put this noise issue in the positive light.

In reality, this vehicle is as good as those German luxury vehicles.

As to the comfortability, this is not worth complementing.
It seems a typical German vehicle for its loose setting.
it'd be a little better.

At the low speed (that's the most common driving speed in Japanese towns) , the vehicle'd pick up the road bump vibrations directly. But as you step on it, as closer as it gets to 100km, It'd become un-noticeable. This is exactly how a German car is supposed to be made. But it still had some area of improvement. It's just like the suspension system on the first SUV of BMW came out.

It just goes fast, stops sharply, and the cornering holds much stability as if they are all taken for granted. The break feeling is very natural and preferable.
The features include the S-VSC, the heated door mirrors, the heated windshield, the rear fog, push start, the downhill/hill start assist, left/right air conditioning, negative ion air conditioning, and a whole bunch of others.

In all respects, it's a highly balanced vehicle.

And when you think about the price, it makes the car even better.

Good Review

Page 1 of 1

Latest Reviews for Cars

Opinyon ko lang, para sa akin hindi durable ang engine parts ng toyota rush. Kasi naman my mommy lola was gone long enough sa state at iniwan niya sa Manila ang toyota rush niya at hindi ito ...Read more

  • Rating : 3.5
  • Review by dona chang
  • Date : Jun 20, 2018

A week after the delivery. <exterior> Some like it and some don't, so it cannot be said unconditionally, but I like it, and I find it cool. I wanted white, but talking with my wife, I chose silver. ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by Japanese user
  • Date : Feb 19, 2017

I tried both regular petrol one and hybrid one as a car to replace my wife's. What I can say is that they both are not powerful enough for their heavy bodies. Especially the hybrid is terrible. I ...Read more

  • Rating : 2.0
  • Review by Japanese user
  • Date : Feb 18, 2017
View Mode: PC | Mobile