Toyota Land Cruiser Prado Reviews

Toyota Land Cruiser Prado L_1

Toyota Land Cruiser Prado 4th Generation (J150R Facelift) 2014-
  • Toyota Land Cruiser Prado S_1
  • Toyota Land Cruiser Prado S_2
  • Toyota Land Cruiser Prado S_3
  • Toyota Land Cruiser Prado S_4
  • Toyota Land Cruiser Prado S_5
  • Toyota Land Cruiser Prado S_6
  • Toyota Land Cruiser Prado S_7
  • Toyota Land Cruiser Prado S_8
More Photos
  • Production 1984 - present
  • Also known as Lexus GX
  • GX body model of Toyota Land Cruiser Prado consists an engine spec of 3.0L turbocharged diesel engine with a transmission of 5 speed automatic or a 6 speed manual.
  • It consists 4 inline cylinders with 4 drive wheel type drivetrain. Independent front transmission and 5 link rear transmission offers stability with 4 disc brakes.
  • Exterior paint is gloss, with additional work on headlights and bumpers. Interior seating include velour seats, along with power options and cruise control.

New & Used prices

Models by year

Reviews

Forum

Overall Rating

exterior 4.5
interior 3.7
engine performance 3.8
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.1
fuel efficiency 3.8
Total 4.0

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Devy

  • Review by Devy
  • Jun 23, 2017
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

Toyota Land Cruiser Prado

My husband and i decided to bought this car because we have four kids and i think our old car has enough space for us we love to travel we have also relatives in province so this car is the best car for us the space is just enough for us the design is so elegant at the same time its so sporty very flexible design and the engine is so powerful even me i i like driving big cars like this its so comfortable to drive the fuel is a bet expensive and also the maintenance but the performance is so amazing this our dream car so its fine.

  • Generation

    4th Generation (J150R Facelift) 2014-

Good Review

elesse mae

  • Review by elesse mae
  • Mar 28, 2017
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

Toyota Land Cruiser Prado

my very own Toyota Land Cruiser Prado got this last i choose this one instead of a small car because i use to travel a lot that is why i like the design very luxurious very spacious inside and the engine performance is quite impressive travelling performance is so good ride quality is very comfortable!

  • Generation

    4th Generation (J150R Facelift) 2014-

Good Review

Dan daniel

  • Review by Dan daniel
  • Feb 6, 2017
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

Toyota Land Cruiser Prado my new car!

it was just a plan on buying a new car and my mom insisted to buy this car kasi i want a sports car but when i saw this one i like the design ang ganda tignan at ang laki niya spacious talaga ang inside niya kaya nga my mom love this and also ako rin mahusay din ang makina because nag test na ako nito at ang ganda niyang i drive super high technology ang car na ito kahit d gaanung efficient sa fuel pero okay lang kasi im single and all i want to have a good speed and a good ride with my car kaya nga happy talaga yung mom pag bili ko nito gusto kasi niya mag travel kami so ito nga rin ang napili ko kasi gusto ma travel siya with my car no worries kasi sa long travel ang car na ito kaya maganda at ang design niya sa labas ang ganda talaga ang luxurious tingnan.

Good Review

mestizo

  • Review by mestizo
  • Nov 29, 2016
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

My land cruiser car the nice one

My car was the most beautiful and a sporty type I really like my car and I always take good care of it so nice. The engine performance was excellent cause it has a good quality of the engine and the parts of this car are all original. this car will run in a fast ways so much nice cause even in a rough road it run fast. And the gasoline is not so big expensive of it so much nice.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Dec 2, 2015
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.5

Prado 150series diesel 2.8l, fuel efficiency and optional equipment

I get excited every time I drive this car. This is fun to drive.

<exterior>
You can put roof rails later on as it has holes for attaching them.
Auto retractable mirrors make it very comfortable because this is such a wide car.

When you put them in Auto, LED lights light up one by one when I start the engine.
When I stop the car, it turns off when I shut the doors.

<interior>
I highly recommend asking for free service when you add a third-party GPS system.
You need to prepare three signal wirings separately for steering remote function.

I recommend third-party films with IR (infrared rays) blocking function.
The front glass has high heat insulating performance, so the first row is comfortable. The second and the third rows don't have aircons unlike foreign model, so it is hot and cold.

<engine performance>
Toyota's horsepower doesn't feel like it is as strong as what it says in the catalogue.
I usually use 1200rpm-2000rpm (2400rpm), and I don't have any complaints so far.
It doesn't feel unpleasant when I go over 3000rpm on highways.

This winter, with idle up, it got about 1200rpm, the water didn't get warmed up enough with 30 minutes drive.
The torque is within practical range, so driving is rather comfortable. It is cold, though.

<drivability>
With 6AT, when you drive trying to avoid lockup to be off, it doesn't accelerate as well as light vans. Even when you drive without thinking about lock up to be off or shift down, it doesn't affect fuel efficiency much.
When you drive thinking shift down is normal when you accelerate, the driving is pleasant. (There is a downshift control to keep it over 1200rpm)

<comfort>
The first row is comfortable, the third row is cramped but it is OK. The second row shakes.
If you get motion sickness easily, you need to be careful; it shakes as if you were on a boat. (In foreign Bilstein site, products for KD diesel has the same item number, so I'm thinking about changing the shock absorber)

<fuel efficiency>
I creep as I start, and when I have enough space with the car in front, I drive at less than 2000rpm. I calculate fuel efficiency with this way of driving. This way is good in terms of fuel consumption, it matches with the other cars and I have no complaints for starting.

On expressway (300kg for passengers and luggage)
12.0km/l ---130km/h constant speed fuel consumption, kept 6th speed (in my dream)
11.5km/l ---100km/h - 130km/h 6th speed. Lock up got off sometimes (in my dream)
12.6km/l ---100km/h constant speed fuel consumption, kept 6th speed
13.5km/l ---90km/h – 100km/l kept 6th speed (using cruise control)
13.9km/l ---70km/h – 90km/h on mountain roads, kept 5th and lock up

local roads with traffic lights
12.7km/h ---a by-pass, suburban area and area with less traffic lights
11.0km/h ---roads where cars are driving smoothly at 50km/h – 70km/h
7.9km/l ---0.8km to 3.5km one-way drop off/pick up and shopping on roads with speed limit of 40km/h – 50km/h

<price>
Please, Toyota, could you make it cheaper, with Bilstein suspensions and rear diff lock as standard equipment?

<overall>
Personally, I think 3.8D TX 5seater with cold weather specification is the best.
Thanks to AdBlue, it has less chance to be stolen to sell abroad. I feel safer.

Good Review

Junard Cajes

  • Review by Junard Cajes
  • Aug 3, 2016
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

perfect car land cruiser!

My land cruiser it is the best car I've known cause for me its a good car and has a beautiful design and this type of car will run fast and also in a high speed. The travelling performance is very nice and even in a rough road its still good and I love to ride and drive this car I feel comfortable so much better. The gasoline also is not so expensive so its perfect car and its durable one.

Good Review

Jammy

  • Review by Jammy
  • Dec 29, 2015
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

Toyota Land Cruiser Prado

Ang kabuoang design ng sasakyan na ito ay sobrang ganda at pang mayaman nga naman tingnan. Ang makina ay napaka tinay nga pulidong-pulido ang pag kakalagay ng mga pisa nito kaya kampanti akong bilhin to kasi nakaka siguro akong hindi masasayang ang pera ko. Ang bilis din naman tumakbo kahit sa rough road pa yan ay hindi nag babago ang takbo nito. Mas komportable nga naman akong gamitin ang sasakyan na ito kasi mas nasanay akong mag maneho nito. Hindi rin naman gaanong magastos sa gasolina kaya kahit saang outing ay okay na okay.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Sep 13, 2015
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 3.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 3.8

2.7TXL6AT

[Exterior]
The exterior has an impact. The LED head ramp is optional for the 2.7-L car, but it was good to add it.

[Interior]
I chose the black model. The simple interior is good.
The storage space is enough as of now.

[Engine Performance]
The movement is dull when driving it normally, and its performance on uphill roads is not good. (I had a good impression of it when I test-drove the 2.7 L 4 AT car.)

However, driving it in manual mode proved to be excellent. The 6 AT car shows its real worth in the manual mode.

[Driving Performance]
The car jerks at curves, so you have to be careful when there are passengers on the rear seats. It efficiently absorbs the shock on uneven surface, but I feel as if I'm floating.

[Ride Quality]
I am satisfied because its very quiet. The vehicle's height and its good seats prevent fatigue during a long-distance drive. The third row seat is good for children, but it's hard for an adult to sit there for a long time.

[Fuel Efficiency]
I have traveled 2000 km so far. The average fuel efficiency is 8.9 km/L and 6.0 km/L when driving around the city with many steep roads.

[General Comments]
I was hesitant to choose the diesel engine, however, having considered the serenity during idle state, the time of the delivery and the fact that I had another Kei (light vehicle) car, I realized fuel efficiency was less important.
So, I decided to purchase 2.7 TXL.

I am so satisfied with the car so far.

There are many hills in my region. I regretted not purchasing a diesel car at first, however, as I manually shift gears, the car became powerful on a hill and the acceleration improved. Now I am free from the stress when driving. Rather, I enjoy driving the car.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jul 1, 2015
exterior 3.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 2.0
travelling performance 2.0
ride quality 3.0
fuel efficiency 2.0
Total 2.5

2.7-Liter Prado is powerless.

[Exterior]

It looks old-fashioned.

[Interior]

The plastic parts stand out.

[Engine Performance]

The 2.7-Liter model lacks power and is noisy.

[Driving Performance]

I only test-drove it on public roads so I'm not sure, but it was nothing special.

[Ride Quality]

Acceptable.

[Fuel Efficiency]

It seems bad.

[Price]

I think this is expensive.

[General Comments]

I think that this car is not unique nor is it attractive.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 21, 2015
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.8

Bought this TZ (4 liter V6 engine car)

[Exterior] It looks so cool. I like this one the best in all the Japanese cars.

[Interior] If you compare with high grade cars, there are points looks inferior. But this is very satisfactory car for its class. Personally, I wanted tzg leather seats but I have a family member who does not like it. So, I chose fabric tzg. I came to like it now as it is classy.

[Engine Performance] It is pretty powerful. A explosion sound "Vroooom" can be heard right after you turn the key.

Sound of engine is quiet after it started to run maybe because it still got extra power. I sometimes drive v8 sedan. If you compare it to this it certainly makes a louder engine noise. It somewhat sounds like a 4wd and I personally like it. On relatively free roads when you are speeding around 60km, the rotational frequency goes to around 1100. It will be around 1700 to 1800 on the highway with the speed of a little less than 100km. It makes nice engine sound and fuel efficiency improves too.
When I accelerated fully with s mode several times, it raced up to over 5,000 revs at a stretch, and the engine sound roared explosively at the same time as it accelerated very violently. That acceleration for the big body felt even dangerous. I will never do it again.

[Driving Performance]
I have not yet tried off-road travel. Even in cornering it keeps running stably on the ordinary road, probably because of kdss. Even those who get sick as soon as getting in other suvs were all right in the long-distance travel in it. It is smooth in accelerating and comfortable, too.
The performance is stable on the expressway too, though not as much as the sedan's performance.

[Ride Quality]
I felt impact when I climbed the step, probably because of the 18 inch-genuine aluminum wheel. As I mentioned above, the cornering is stable too, and I think that it is at the level of most people's satisfaction, which is different from what it appears to be. Only point for possible complaint could be that the suspension feels a little hard.

[Fuel Efficiency]
10-10.5 km/L when I cruise at around 100 km/hr on an expressway. 7-8 km/L when I run on ordinary road.
When I'm caught in traffic or driving through residential areas, my fuel consumption rate drops to below 6 km/L. Though my daily commute is 30 km to and from my workplace, my drive in the morning is bogged down by traffic and the roads are clear when I return home in the evening, which yields roughly a fuel consumption rate of 7 km/L according to my car's fuel consumption meter.

[Price] If you get additional features and accessories, you would most likely pay 5 million yen, but it was worth it.

[Summary] First of all, it's a really cool car, and when driving it, it feels really sturdy and powerful. I'm very satisfied with my purchase.
Although eco-cars have greater fuel efficiency than this, it is better than you would expect. The width of a eco-car is almost 190 cm and the hood is so thick that it creates many blind spots. If you are not sure about your driving skill or if you are an aggressive driver, it would be better for you not to drive an eco-car.

To tell you the truth, I have been considering about a diesel-powered vehicle that will be on sale soon, but I dared to decide on a V6 engine vehicle this time because I heard from the salesperson that V6 engine vehicles would be discontinued. I am not expecting to put the V6 engine vehicle on resale.
Toyota's LandCruiser 200 is the top of the line vehicle if you are seeking a luxurious ride with the best noise-suppression. However, I think that the Toyota Prado 2009 is an excellent vehicle that is part of the LandCruiser series. I am greatly looking forward to driving it.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 30, 2015
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.8

Prado 150 in later stage. Very satisfied.

[Exterior] I attached the Modellista, so the front mask looks very different.

[Interior] Only black was available for Argento Cross, but I wanted a flaxen.

[Engine Performance] I drove a 4.0 L car of a friend of mine, but I think 2.7 is enough. It is not a model for speeding, anyway.

[Driving Performance] I switched from a Honda CR-V, which has the same displacement, so it does not annoy me...

[Ride Quality] Compared with CR-V, the driving feeling is totally different.
I wish I had purchased a Prado before.

[Fuel Consumption] The CR-V is FWD and makes 10 km/L, but Prado is 4WD and makes 8,5 km/L, which is enough for a Prado.

[Price] Definitely not cheap, but it is reasonable if you consider the reselling price.

[General Comments] I drove 380k kilometers with my CR-V. It did a really good job 8 years. It has only been a week since I bought the Prado, but I feel 100% satisfied.

I will be happy if my review is used as a reference. I used it a lot before making my purchase.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Oct 12, 2009
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 4.3

4L has flexibility.

4.0L TZ Black was delivered.

It has been 13 years to buy Prado since I had driven 95 one (3.0L, diesel) previously, and 4.0L model has

enough flexibility.

I had considered 2.7L model, but in order to relieve stress which I had felt with 95 type

I dare to buy 4.0L this time and it was actually the right decision.

It has enough weight, so I have to step on the accelerator a little morewith 0 start,

but after that it is very comfortable.

As for the exterior and the interior, there seem to be arguments both for and against, but for me, who have not driven 130,
I am very satisfied with it.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 11, 2014
exterior 4.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 3.0
travelling performance -
ride quality 3.0
fuel efficiency -
Total 3.3

My first 4x4 vehicle !!

[Exterior]
Although there are arguments for and against the face, I like the shape of the LED head lights!

[Interior]
It depends on the grade. On the TX model it feels cheap and does not match well with the price. But, I am going to change a few things.

[Engine Performance]
The 2.7L engine has a bad reputation but I have no problem because I only drive non-expressway roads now. It sure is loud when increasing speed.

[Driving Performance]
I am going to review this after driving on a bad road surface.

[Ride Quality]
I have only driven on non-expressways as I mentioned, but there was no no problem there. Road noise is less than expected, which I like.
[Fuel Efficiency]
I have always been the type to tell people to not even consider driving if they are concerned with gas mileage, so personally this doesn't really concern me. I think it is great considering the weight of the car and the engine.

[Price]
I have not driven the 4.0L grade I cannot be certain, but even though my 2.7L grade is in the same price class it comes equipped with safety and theft-prevention equipment. So I guess the price adds up. However, if you take a look at the TX grade interior you will see that it is not good enough.
[General Comments]
I bet there are people out there who are saying "well, since the TX is so cheap, why don't we go with the TX - L!" but as long as you do not mind getting your hands dirty the only things you cannot add-on yourself later are the power third seat (pull-out seats), and the leather option for the seats. As long as all you need is 2.7L, then I would stick to the TX based on the price difference.
If you're the type who drives on high-speed roads, then go with the 4.0L. City drivers -- stick to the 2.7L.
Which ever one you choose the Prado is a great car.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jun 20, 2014
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.7

It is a really wonderful car.

It is 120 Prado.

[Exterior]
It has a funny face but I think it is better than up-angled eyes that we see on a lot of cars now a days. I do not think it looks old to drive even now.

[Interior]
I feel the ambience of the first Celsior's interior. I like it. Engagement of each part is steady and I think it is carefully designed.

[Engine Performance]
4L has enough torque and it is smooth and quiet. I think it needs 4L for this body.

[Driving Performance]
I do not drive off road much but it is fun to drive on sand beach and snowy road.
It runs stably on high ways too

[Ride Quality]
There are some people who say it is too soft but I think it is enough to ride with family.

[Fuel Efficiency]
It is about 7 to 8 km per a liter. I think it is adequate considering its weight and displacement.

[Price]
Considering it is 4 liter V6 engine SUV with real leather seats, 3.5 million yen is reasonable. The trade-in price is around half of the initial price and I think it is a bargain.

[General Comments]
This is my most favorite car of all the other cars I have purchased before.
It is not a luxury car but I think it is a high quality trusted car. It is disappointing that there is no more 4 liter TX since they have released 150 later edition. I think I would have renewed it if there were 4 liter TX limited (real leather seats). It seems that they are going to release 150 special edition but do they have 4 liter model?

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 29, 2011
exterior 3.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 3.0
travelling performance 3.0
ride quality 3.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 3.0

From 120 Prado 2.7 TX-L to 150 Prado 2.6 TX

I had bought 120 Prado twice (first one, 2.7TX and second 2.7TX-L), getting the current 150 Prado 2.7TX delivered on January 14th, 1911.

A considerable number of people point out its lack of power, but I think that only 4 liter one will satisfy you if you are after the power of Prado.

My friends own 120 Prado 4, 0TZ, Land Cruiser 100 or 200, and they sometimes allow me to drive them partly for pleasure,
but, you should not ride them, to say from 2,700cc user's point of view... as she will surely overwhelm you by her 4 liter power by all means. At the same time, It will be the moment you will see that disparate society with your own eyes.

I have had it tow a bass boat from 120 Prado years, and frankly speaking feel the lack of power.

Though I feel so, I suppose that if one want the power from the very first, Prado would not have been the final choice before purchasing...

One should buy Prado taking it as a car for
those who cannot buy Land Cruiser 100 or 200 and should purchase it.

You shpuld understand your position biting your lips, accept it against your wish, and persuade yourself that Toyota developed Prado as a relief measure for the people who cannnot afford cars of more than 3 liters (from 3 liters the tax rises markedly ...), and purcase Prado finally swallowing all.

If I get into swing further with hte topic of lack of power, which may collapse the image of Prado,
we cannot cast aside the future users' anxious feeling, can we ...

If you like to have power, please get 4 liters or Land Cruiser 200 without hesitation.
Or, for one who is attracted by the look of Prado and do not demand power so much 2.7 will be quite sufficient.

In this day and age, to think of lack of power...

A man having it tow a boat is writing this now, you know...

Surely 2.7 can tow the boat just capably enough .
If you haull such a thing by low liter car, it is overloading the mission system!
If you think like that, you should not haul anything by car, I advise.

For, by Just running a car, some load are on the drive system including the mission (and on the whole car after all), you know...

Only the one who can understand this should get into a car, and could haul something, too, pleasel.

Thus, I gave most of the evaluation points 3, with Satisfaction 4.

I can say that it was a foregone evaluation before I purchased it.
A man having it haul a bass boat is writing this now, you know.

2, 7 will suffice; it tows the boat capably enough.

Please do not waste the price difference between 2.7 and 4.0, about 400,000 yen.

It would be even smarter to have it wear shiny brand-new 20-inch aluminum wheels with that 400,000 yen, I think ...

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 4, 2010
exterior 5.0
interior 2.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 3.8

My impressions 1 month after the TX 2.7 was delivered.

Exterior:

MODELLISTA's aero is equiped and I am satisifed with its quite a stringency. But, I am worried about the clearance between the two mufflers' blow openings (two mufflers). I couldn't buy the mufflers too.

Interior:

Honestly, it's too deep. I don't think it's the interior of the car of which its total amount is over 4 million JPY. I am planning to change to the wood panel when not genuine ones are released.

Engine Performance:

As verious users say, it's fairly tough at sloping roads etc. with 2.7. In short, it's powerless. Although I stamp on the accelerator, the engine seems screaming and I fairly pull the engine at sloping roads. I feel it's OK at general roads. I don't get worried about the engine sound. 4.0 is recommended to the users who often go to mountains etc..

Comfortability:

As long as driving this, I don't get tired even driving long distance. Also the driving position is high and it's very easy to drive.
However, my passengers in the rear seat (my wife and kids) used to get motion sickness at the begining because of the airy and fluffy feeling. But they seem getting used to it now without getting sick.

Fuel Efficiency:

I used to drive Surf 185, 2.7, so I was aware of its bad fuel efficiency. But I am satisfied as it came out as about 6.5 km/L for a town ride, and about 8-9 km/L on the freeway.

Price:

For the amount of money I paid, the interior and equipments and equipments are not acceptable.

Satisfaction:

Despite my statements on pros and cons, I am content as a whole.
As for interior and equipment, if I had more money, I would have bought a higher grade and been satisfied. As for the engine, if there was a middle ground between the 2.7 and the 4.0, I think it's best. As the body is study and you can feel safe, so I hope to take good care of it.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Oct 5, 2009
exterior 4.0
interior 2.0
engine performance 2.0
travelling performance 2.0
ride quality 3.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 2.7

Incompetent & cheap

Purchased 2.7TX-L, and it has been delivered yesterday.

This is a shift from my old TX-L 2004 (CBA-TRJ120W-GKPEK - F) .

Like others are saying, honestly this model is not powerful enough for 2700. It runs fine on start, but then slows down on the hill...

Quietness also got worsen, and the suspensions are harder and not very comfortable.

Surely my old 120, which mileage is 100,000 km, runs much better.
Interior is also cheap that probably targeted EOL Surf users.

It relies on the Prado brand, but nothing else.

600,000 yen audio, the most expensive wooden panels etc...they are all non-sense...

I guess 120 was too good...

I would say to everybody to see and try the real car if it is really what you want.

Well, I will try to find any good about this car because we are going to be partners for a while...

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Oct 3, 2009
exterior 5.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 1.0
travelling performance -
ride quality -
fuel efficiency 1.0
Total 2.5

Please read before purchase

TX-L of 2700cc has been delivered on October 2.

Although I wasn't sure if I should have chosen 4000cc of V6 before the contract, I determined comprehensively to purchase 2700 in the light of driving in the city, cost of maintenance, the texture of the interior, and others.

Until it had been delivered, I was worried if 2700 could truly run.

Once it was delivered, I could realize that the anxiety wasn't beside the point.

The new model, 2700, can't run at all!!!! Power is severely insufficient.

If driving in the city, it can run because it has four wheels.
However, its power is considerably insufficient to go the uphill.

This isn't a personal impression. In a long uphill, it doesn't even kickdown and the rotation doesn't increase even if I press the accelerato strongly as well as the speed decreases.

Speaking without fear of misleading, I would have to say that it is ""an unfinished product"" or ""a defective"".

I would have to abide by the inevitable if it was a light car, an old model, or cheap.
However, total amount of payment for the car is beyond 4 million yen, The entire performance could not be true.

Of course, I had prepared for lack in power to some degree.
If one of the original objectives is a tool for driving to the mountain or the sea, I think that it should generate power as much as hitting the gas pedal.

On the bulletin boards of ""Kakaku.com"" and ""Carview"", there are notes referring to lack in power of 120 system 2700cc.

Among them, it is no problem if driving in the city, but.
The powerlessness of 150s' is even worse than that.

I think it goes beyond patient of most drivers.

Even when I drive alone, I feel this, so if my family comes on board, It won't be so cool.

Honestly I will sell this before the market value goes down and buy a 4,000 cc.

Just to be clear, I am not trying to criticize Toyota here.
I found out about them a few days after driving it.

I decided to review this car because I didn't want anyone else to regret.

If you are thinking about purchasing it or have bought the 2700cc, but have not registered it, you can still cancel or change your order.

The 2000-c TX-L (3,740,000 yen) and the TX 4000cc (3,700,000 yen) are similar in the price.

Please consider it.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Dec 17, 2013
exterior 5.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 3.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

The car makes you feel enriched with its reliability and sense of security.

[Exterior]
Despite the car is the genuine off-road 4WD used in severe areas, it is great the way its elegant design fits into the urban sceneries without being rough.

I chose white pearl. It is very graceful, and I can drive it in a scene when I am in a formal outfit without feeling odd.

I have installed Modellista aero kit and 22"" aluminum wheel to it. The outlook appears powerful and big, but the car itself is very easy to turn.

The LED daylight is installed diagonally next to the grill: it looks very unique and no other car has such an atmosphere like this.
A vehicle with such a high attention that draws people's attention who are not even interested in cars in general. They all compliment my car being ""cool"".
LED head light appeared to be much brighter than expected. And since the colour temperature is quite high, I am very content with it.
It is not as intimidating as Land Cruiser 200, and its presense is just about.
Size-wise, I never found it inconvenient in a parking lot, either.

[Interior]
The interior is totally black since it is TX grade black interior.
The latter model seems to have increased its quality thanks to the piano black panel, however it is not as luxury as sedan.
However it does not have the wholistic equipment-like atmosphere like FJ Cruiser, so replacing from sedan may not feel so awkward.
It is of a high quality, but rather masculine with the powerful and tough appeal.
If you are particular about the interior, you may find the upper grade more satisfactory.

[Engine Performance]
2.7 Engine is so incompetent for sure.
However when you drive considering its weight and torque curve, it is not a practical issue.
There is no stretch with the high revolution, so instead of stepping on the acceleration but always sustaining at the maximum torque level, it would run as it should.
Engine noise is not quiet, but it is not that bad.
The engine is not luxurious at all.

[Driving Performance]
I kind of wished if it was 5AT instead of 4AT, but anyway if you pretend you are diriving the manual transmission car and change from 2--> 3--> 4--> with the shift lever, it runs as you wish.

Nevertheless, you may find yourself frustrated if you run as [acceleration= fully stepping on the accelerator all the way].

Since 4WD, it might be taken for granted, but its stabilized curve despite its body height makes you feel as if you are on the rail.

The viewpoint is high enough to see the bonnet, it is easy to drive indeed.

The additional mirror is also convenient. As I placed a multi-view cameras to the front and rear and a clearance sonar, the body size hardly becomes an issue.

[Comfortability]
It's quiet and comfortable.
I hardly hear anything other than the sound of the engine.
I'm surprised how comfortable to ride an off-road 4WD.
I had a sports muffler, but I still hear a low booming sound when I accelerate and brake.

As it feels its force, I like it very much, but if you don't want to sacrifice the quietness, I wouldn't recommend the Modellista muffler.

[Fuel Efficiency]
It runs about 6.5km/l commuting 10km on one way.
When I go out of town, it's about 7.0km/l.
Considering the car is equipped with 265/40R22 tires, 4WD, and heavy wheels, it's not bad at all. Besides, it comes with regular specification.

As the fuel tank holds up to 87 litters, so I can drive about 500 km with a full tank, so I don't have to bother putting gas all the time.
However, I'm surprised by the price of gas when I fill my car up.

[Price]
As it's a full-scale off-road 4WD with such a presence, it's reliable as you can drive under hard conditions.
It feels comfortable no matter where you drive. This car has no rival, as it's such a unique car.
Despite that, it costs around only 3,000,000. I think it's a bargain.

It's a shame that if consumers are avoiding it only because of the fuel economy.
Because of its resale value, its cost performance is very high.
The high resale value should offset the bad fuel economy.

[General Comments]
So far I have driven about 20 cars, and I had never had such a satisfactory car.
I love this car so much I have lost interest in other cars.
It's a great car if your priority is driving safely and comfortably.

If the travelling performance imporves, I think it would be one of the greatest cars.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Dec 16, 2013
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.3

At last I purchased it. The best partner ever.

[Exterior]

I like 150 series since it's a 4WD vehicle designed for heavy-duty yet with a sophisticated design.

I really like the front end design which changed from the late-stage model. I particularly like the LED headlight which is advanced and has a high level of visibility.

It is much better than the D4 type HID projector.

I like Land Cruiser's rear split lift-gate door better than the swing-out door.

You can't hide from the rain and it's space-consuming.

However, the back door window opens so I think it is well-designed.

[Interior]

It's cheapie, since I selected the TX model.
The door handle is made of plastic without any wood-grain pattern. Also, I wish it were using genuine leather instead of urethane-wrapped steering wheel and shift knob.
I couldn't help but to change it with the wood & leather steering wheel and the leather-wrapped shift knob option, offered by the car dealer.
The only consolation was that the wood-grain pattern has changed to luster black, like a piano, from the late-stage model.

[Engine Performance]

It is receiving a bad reputation on the net but I have no complaints driving 2700cc in a normal way.
It feels like the engine is struggling when you merge onto the expressway, but it is acceptable.

[Driving Performance]

I have no particular complaint.
You don't need to worry driving a graveled path in a camping area.

[Comfortability]

It is really good.
It won't pick up road noise and it's comfortable.
As for getting in and out of the car, my wife and I are taller than the average so it won't be a problem but those who are shorter may have trouble.

[Fuel Efficiency]

It is about 7 km/l driving long distances, and about 5 km/l driving in town. It was better than I thought. Well, it can't be helped since it's a heavy car to drive.
The only consolation is that both 2700 cc and 4000 cc take regular gasoline.
It's not a car you can drive if you care about the fuel consumption.

[Price]

There are no tax incentives on purchasing this car so the total amount is liable to be expensive, but I think it is not that expensive for its specs. Since I had a limited budget, I had no choice but the TX-L which was a good choice in terms of cost-effectiveness.

Well, I'm curious about the big difference in price between the high-end TZ-G model and the low-end 5 seater model.

[General Comments]

It's not a cheap car but I believe it's a wonderful car which can be used in any occasions.

It's not a family car since it doesn't have sliding doors, but you can go to the beach and camping in the summer, go snowboarding in the winter, and enjoy driving in the town and go to play golf. Not that much car can be perfect for any occasion like this.

I am not sure about the resale value since it's a future issue but it is ranked high in the list so I believe the value of this car can be maintained.

I used to change cars every time when the car needs to undergo a car inspection, but I think I will keep this car for a long time.
I hope to visit many places with this Prado.

Good Review

Page 1 of 2

Latest Reviews for Cars

Walang Kalampag registered madali kami kausap

  • Rating : 4.2
  • Review by Rose Nuyles Padolina
  • Date : Aug 17, 2018

Best in interiors itong Rush na kotse na ito.Elegant ang look niya in and out of the car. Perfect din ang takbo nito in any speed condition. It is not complicated to navigate,

  • Rating : 5.0
  • Review by Jan Marini
  • Date : Aug 17, 2018

sobrang liit at masikip kung madami ang passengers sa loob ng kotse na ito. hndi tuloy enjoy kasi siksikan kayo sa loob ng kotse. nothing special with its look, okay lang for me.

  • Rating : 3.3
  • Review by kyline A.
  • Date : Aug 16, 2018
View Mode: PC | Mobile