Toyota Land Cruiser Reviews

Toyota Land Cruiser New SUV L_1

Toyota Land Cruiser 9th Generation 2015-
  • Toyota Land Cruiser New SUV S_1
  • Toyota Land Cruiser New SUV S_2
  • Toyota Land Cruiser New SUV S_3
  • Toyota Land Cruiser New SUV S_4
  • Toyota Land Cruiser New SUV S_5
  • Toyota Land Cruiser New SUV S_6
  • Toyota Land Cruiser New SUV S_7
  • Toyota Land Cruiser New SUV S_8
More Photos
  • Production 1955 - present
  • Also known as Lexus LX
  • Land cruiser from Toyota comprises a whole series of 4 wheel drives in production since 1951. Latest version comes with LED lights and bigger grille.
  • It comes with features such as HD radio, satellite radio along with the Toyota Entune. It control the infotainment and navigation system in the car.
  • Land cruiser runs on a 5.7 L V8 engine. It produces nearly 381 hp and almost 401 lb-ft of torque. It also comes with six speed automatic transmission.

New & Used prices

Models by year

Tire

Reviews

Forum

News

Overall Rating

exterior 4.3
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.4
travelling performance 4.3
ride quality 4.2
fuel efficiency 3.9
Total 4.2

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 17, 2017
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 5.0

I got 2.8D. I did 10,000km in a year.

<exterior>
It looks big, but it is easy to drive around. It actually is narrower than 1.9m in width, and about 4.7m in length. It has a short wheel base.

<interior>
It only has a choice of 7 seater. I have never folded up the third row seats. I didn't like its plastic steering wheel with wood grain, so I changed it to the leather one.

<engine performance>
It starts with low gear like all other cross country car, and it is easy to control its torque. Once it picks up speed, it drives with high torque and low rpm. It drives quietly and I don't get tired even for long distance travel. I think the 6 speed transmission is good.

<drivability>
It is a full time system, but it has big potential as a Land Cruiser. It now has defrock and brake LSD, so it might be better that it is full time. KDSS at winding roads has good stabilization, and it works effectively.

<comfort>
Sometimes the rear goes everywhere at the seams on expressways, but when you make it harder a little bit like TEMS with the switch in the center, it solves the problem.
I can easily change to the way I like on local roads and expressways easily. Great equipment.

<fuel efficiency>
10km/l on average.
This fuel consumption with this size is amazing.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 4, 2016
exterior 3.0
interior 2.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 3.7

120 Prado to 150 diesel Pardo

<exterior>
Compared to 120Prado's plastic fender, it looks more luxurious. Because it is spread, it looks big from driver seat.

<interior>
With TX grade, compared to 120Prado, it has less plated parts inside, and plastic parts like a switch for the filler, door knobs and switches for power window look cheap.
Seats got thinner, which makes it looks cheaper, too.
Width at the celling is narrower possibly because of the airbags.

<engine performance>
Compared to 120Prado's 2700cc petrol engine, diesel engine is more torqueful; it is pleasant when I merge or overtake on expressways. Some people says its acceleration is not so good, but as a RV car, it is enough and necessary with torque.

<drivability>
It is pleasant with more torque with a diesel engine.

<comfort>
It is heavier than 120Prado, but it has less nosedives when it stops.

<fuel efficiency>
In autumn when it was delivered, it was over 10km/l, but in winter because I warm up the car, it can be less than 7km/l.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 29, 2016
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 3.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 4.2

A review on TX petrol 2.7L 6AT 7 seater

<exterior>
The headlights of TX are halogen, but I got LED with factory-installed option. Now it looks sharper.
With auto, three LED lights lining vertically near the grille become daylights. I think I made a good choice.
The face looks thick, powerful and big.
The width and the length is bigger than mid-sized minivans and smaller than big-sized minivans. It looks big because of the face with thickness and tall height.

<interior>
Because I don't like leather seat, I gave up on TX-L. I like fabric seats, and I made a right choice.

I got wood steering and shift knob with optional equipment offered by the dealership. Especially with wood steering wheel, around the instrument panel looks sharper. The demo car I tried had urethane steering wheel, so I decided to change it when I saw it in real.

Vertical decoration from the aircon switch to bottom and horizontal decoration on the dashboard are piano black. They are glossy, so they look luxurious and have high-end feel though they are not wood.

There are no switches around the shift knob other than the cigar lighter, and it looks dull with its lid on. I thought I should have got USB at least.

<engine performance>
This is what I was not sure about!
I read comments saying 2.7L petrol engine is powerless, so I was worried after purchase, too. I did a test drive on long uphill in housing estate, and I decided it had no problem and bought it.
After delivery, I drove in town and in housing estate, and I still don't find it powerless.

<drivability>
Because it is a heavy car, I still am not used to its move as I brake. When I press the brake pedal rather hard, I fall forward but it doesn't stop as well as I expect. It is natural from physical principle, but I need to get used to this.

At curves, unless I steer harder, it goes over a center line. You need to be careful with the speed, too.

<comfort>
I felt its fluffiness like other people are saying in their reviews. This is more than you would expect.

<fuel efficiency>
It is 6-7km/l, which is about the same as my previous minivan, so I don't feel uneasy about it. I bought this knowing it.

<overall>
I am very happy with its interior and exterior. Its engine performance is enough and necessary, and I don't feel it is powerless. As for ride quality, it feels too fluffy and you need to be careful with it. I strongly recommend you to try with a demo car.
You have to give up on fuel efficiency.

This is a car for hobby, so you need to give up some things to get what you want. I bought this for camping and skiing. I am very happy with my purchase.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 27, 2016
exterior 4.0
interior 2.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.0

My impression after a year since purchase

<exterior>
I see Prado in town often, but I started to like its look gradually. Because the color is black and windows are tinted and black, so I don't get challenged by other cars though it is powerless.

<interior>
It is limited edition, and because my family is not a fan of leather seats, it doesn't have high-end feel even though I got optional equipment added. But I am used to this now.

<engine performance>
I thought it would be powerless as it has 2700 petrol engine, but I have no particular complaints. I don't hit the gas, and drive in relaxed manner.

<drivability>
I don't have any complaints even when I compare it with GX460.

<comfort>
At first, I had to drive carefully as it only has cruise control, but I'm quite used to it now. To be honest, I wish it had automatic braking system.

<fuel efficiency>
It is much better than my previous car. It is about 6-8km/l in town, and 10-12km/l on expressway.

<price>
I think it is reasonable, to be honest.

<overall>
Because I usually drive Golf in town, I haven't been able to driven PRADO much. But I am happy I bought this. I would like to cherish this car.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 17, 2016
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 3.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 3.8

Prado TX diesel!!

<exterior>
It feels bigger than its actual size. I love it! I think it looks cooler than LandCruiser 200 exterior-wise. It looks big and it has presence. I am very satisfied with this.

<interior>
It is simple and it doesn't look luxurious. But it feels good unexpectedly, and I feel relaxed. Flaxen is bright, and it looks good among interiors of TX. I am not happy with the urethane steering wheel, though. I wish they made it leather with standard, too.

<engine performance>
I expected torqueful diesel engine, but I was disappointed! After delivery, It feels heavy and slow at start, so I sometimes get annoyed with it. I don't hit the gas and drive slowly, but I wish it started lighter.
I get excited with the feel I get from 40-60km/h! It is a fun car to drive after all.

<drivability>
I don't know much about it, but I don't have any complaints with it. When needed, it can drive on ill conditioned roads, so I have sense of security.

<comfort>
I don't think it is bad, but it is not as good as I expected. Brake pedal feels a little soft, and I had to pay attention, but I got used to it.

<fuel efficiency>
It is partly thanks to 87L capacity tank, but I can drive 800km with a full tank on local roads! I think it can drive 1,000km full tank if driven only on expressways.
Actual fuel efficiency is about 10km/l, so I think it is passable.

<price>
It is expensive, but I find it acceptable. I was not happy that there weren't 7passenger version for TX.

<overall>
I am very happy with its look. The level of eyesight is high, so driving is fun with this. I feel safe driving with my family. This is a great car that makes me feel like going to many places actively!!

Good Review

adulfo@yandex.com

  • Review by adulfo@yandex.com
  • Jun 27, 2017
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

Toyota Land Cruiser

A very strong and durable car for me its a bet expensive but its fine because the engine and the travelling performance is so good very nice inside spacious and also its automatic sop easy to drive very nice fuel efficiency and very nice design outside.

  • Generation

    8th Generation (200 Series) 2008-2015

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 2, 2016
exterior 3.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.5

I replaced petrol 95TZ Prado with this

6months have been passed since purchase. It has traveled 15,000km and refilled AdBlue.
We live half way up a mountain and we get snow, too. Hoping Prado diesel's run-through performance, I chose grade TZ-G.

<exterior>
I preferred 150 Prado early model, but I started to get used to this. This design stands out, and I get good comments from my son's classmates.
LED headlights have directions in light, so surrounding doesn't get bright. It is very dangerous when I turn into side street in dark as it doesn't light up direction of travel. It is difficult to check, so I give up going that way when the street turns big or too narrow. When they don't put equipment to move lighting to direction of travel, I wish they used halogen.

<interior>
The position of the seatbelt on the driver seat is odd, so it is difficult to put on and off by one hand. Other than that, it is sedate, and it is good that it is normal so I don't get tired of it.
Because my children and dog get on the car, I wish there was another choice than leather seat with TZ-G. But it uses firm leather, so it seems I don't need to pay too much attention. This is my first car with leather seat, but because it is black inside, it gets hot in summer and cold in winter. I thought heating function of the seat is not necessary, but it actually is helpful.
As for space, the rear feels narrower and it is not so easy to use. Compared to 95 Prado, the floor gets higher because the third row seat is stored, and it is difficult for our dog to get on or off. Even a big dog needs to run up to jump in. I think it would be tough when the dog gets old.
When I see this as a tool, it got inconvenient, but my family, who sits on the second row, is happy with this.

<engine performance> <drivability> <comfort>
Right after I got this to replace my petrol car with, I was annoyed with its sluggishness when accelerating, but I felt its performance on snowy roads. It feels stable on frozen road surface, when the snow is new or slushy. I can feel in the driver seat that all four wheels are controlled, so even though I am not good at driving, I have room to breathe. It is heavy, so when I try to maintain speed on uphill, I need to press the accelerator. I drive on a truck lane thinking fuel efficiency, but if I want, I can accelerate.
I don't feel stressed on expressways. It feels comfortable, and quiet. It doesn't get road noise much.
Acceleration from high speed is smooth. It is not like a sports car, but sometimes I get surprised when I find I am driving at 140km/h though I am driving relaxed. It is that easy to drive. Cutting the wheel is east, too.

<fuel efficiency>
If I'm asked from someone who's got different type of car, I wouldn't say it is good. But the cost of fuel now is half compared to 95 Prado. Around our house where it has not so many traffic lights but has a lot of ups and downs, it is 8.7km/l. 11-12km/l on expressways. The average at the moment is 9.8km/l.

<price>
About 5,900,000yen.

<overall>
I chose this thinking about driving in snow in winter. In the end of January, we got a lot of snow, and I realized that I made a right decision. Till then, I thought this became more like a high-end SUV for driving in town compared to 95 Prado, and it is not a practical car for daily use which I wanted. I felt inconvenient when I drove carefully and beautifully, so when I got it scratched in a mountain, I actually got relieved. At the end of the day, how you use it depends on your way of thinking.
Considering what equipment you get with Prado, this price is reasonable. But it would be better if I could make more precise choice on optional equipment to adjust the price to pay as this was not cheap for me.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 21, 2016
exterior 4.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 4.5

I replaced X-trail with Prado

I replaced 2003 X-trail with Prado diesel. I haven't driven much yet, but I would like to review it overall.

<exterior>
This totally suited my taste. This has a presence, and I don't get tired of it.

<interior>
As I chose TX, it doesn't have luxurious feel. It is enough and necessary for using for hobby or leisure, though. I actually was surprised with the improvement of recent cars as my previous car was old. If you seek high-end feel, I recommend TZ-G.

<engine performance>
It does have the sound and the smell, which is a characteristic of diesel engine. I personally like its dry rattling sound as I find it pleasant, but I think some don't.
Because it is heavy, it doesn't accelerate that well. Because of its grade, it drives gently. After it picks enough speed, it is comfortable as the acceleration is enough and it is quiet. Because my previous car was an old car with little displacement, I have no complaints.

<easiness in driving>
It has high eye level, and it is easy to grasp the size of the car. So even though it is bigger than my previous car, I didn't feel uneasy about driving it. RX has soft suspension and I cannot avoid getting the springy feel as I brake. I recommend going for higher grade if you don't like that.

<overall>
I don't have complaints much because I bought this as I liked it. But because this is a cross country 4X4, you might find some points you may not like; it is difficult to get in and out, it is slow in acceleration, and it has a soft suspension. This is not for everybody, but this is great as a tool for hobby and leisure, and its sense of security on ill conditioned roads and snowy roads is amazing.

Good Review

lousiana

  • Review by lousiana
  • Apr 20, 2017
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

Toyota Land Cruiser

our car is with us for three years now and nothings change a very durable fits for the family i like the design very elegant and classy engine performance is so good it has an advance technology that you can experience to this car and also very comfortable to ride although the fuel efficiency is a bet expensive but its fine.

  • Generation

    9th Generation 2015-

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 18, 2016
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 5.0

TZG with air suspension doesn't feel fluffy!

I tried TXL first as the one with diesel engine was introduced, but it had fluffy feel as I read in some reviews. I wanted it with diesel, but the second row seats felt too soft, so I gave up. When I tried TZG next, the impression I got was totally different. I was surprised and thought how can it be this different when the only difference is one grade, but it was because it had air suspension. I didn't know about air suspension, but if you are buying TX, it is better to go for TZG with extra money. Trade in price is better, of course, than TX too, so I recommend it. I usually drive it with sports mode with air suspension, and I choose different mode on mountains. The people on the second row were surprised with the difference with TX, which they had experienced with their friend's car.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 16, 2016
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 3.0
ride quality 3.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.2

From Vellfire to Prado

<exterior>
This is the car you should go for if you are looking for a car to buy now! I love this.

<interior>
Leather seats of flaxen have luxurious feel. I like it!

<engine performance>
I can feel its torque!

<comfort>
It has fluffy feel compared my previous car.

<fuel efficiency>
About 11.2km/l without trying to be fuel economical. It is about the same as what it says on the catalogue. As it uses diesel, I can drive with 6,000yen worth of fuel a month!

<price>
It is OK.

<overall>
It is fun to drive this!

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 14, 2016
exterior 5.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.2

From a sports car to a ladder frame SUV

I got TXL-D delivered on the 9th of January. I had been driving sports type cars for 20 years till my previous car Golf 6R, but I decided on SUV this time.

<exterior>
I like its atmosphere. I prefer the look after facelift. It has a big face, but it suits well with its body.

<interior>
I like the way they used straight lines, but the design is old fashioned and the material is cheap. I especially don't like the way they used fake wood.
Leather seats are average. Golf is way better.
It is roomy enough which comes from its width, but I don't find it too spacious, and I feel it just right. (I don't like minivan's feel.)

<engine>
It is quiet and smooth with clean diesel. It was a good surprise. It has big torque, but because the car weighs as much as an elephant, it doesn't accelerate strongly.

<comfort>
I find this extremely good as I have driven cars with hard suspension. This made me realize tires are made of rubber LOL. It may be just me.
It is very quiet, and I think it is right for the price.
The stability on highways is good with its heavy body.
Cornering is only passable.

<safety>
I cannot choose millimeter-wave radar or safety camera. I assume some people don't go for this car for it.

<overall>
If you don't want to go for a minivan like me, this is a rare 7-seater family car. I think there are many people who want that.
This is shorter than Alphard and the visibility is good. It is easy to drive this car.
It is a genuine SUV with ladder frame. This drivability on ill-conditioned road can be too much, but this is the biggest advantage of this car.
I don't like Toyota much, but this car was attractive.
But I was surprised with its cheap beeping sound of the horn. This is Toyota.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Dec 26, 2015
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.7

TX D

<exterior>
I prefer 70, but among the current 4WD, I think this is cool.

<interior>
It's simple. I like it. I don't like wood panel, and I don't seek high-end feel anyway, so this is good. If I have to point out disadvantages, I wish they used leather for the steering wheel. It doesn't have high-end feel, but it is not cheap either.

<engine performance>
When I did a test drive, I thought, ""Is this it?"" But now, wherever I drive, I don't feel it is not powerful enough. I expected 6AT's blipping, but it seems it is not working. Maybe diesel one doesn't have it. Both engine and AT are smooth and fast enough. It is quiet, too. When it starts, it is loud, but once it warms up, it is quiet enough even from outside. Especially, traveling at high speed is very pleasant as it is easy to maintain speed.

<drivability>
The body is big, but its visibility is good. So it is easy to drive. As long as the nose gets in, you can drive OK even on narrow roads. I don't have complaints for driving both highways and local roads. I haven't driven on ill conditioned roads, but it should have no problem for my destination.

<comfort>
Good.

<fuel efficiency>
Good. I don't drive economically, but I don't hit the gas either. For me, it does about 8-10 on local roads, it does about 12-13 on highways easily.

<price>
Including subsidies and tax reduction, TX is reasonably priced.

<overall>
If there was a diesel version for 70, I definitely would have bought 70. Having said that, thanks to is easiness in driving and its modern equipment, I can get satisfaction I cannot get with 70. Moreover, I'm happy with the revival of diesel.
I heard some say 1st is low, but I don't mind it. It might be the matter of experience, and I kind of wish for ill conditioned roads.
2TR is not bad, but it feels it is not powerful enough. Also, 2TR is not a quiet engine, but it's up to each person's taste and has personal difference.
Diesel has a supercharger, so it is easy to get the effect of after parts.
Things I'm concerned about are when I go on mountains, I wonder how AdBlue does in sub-freezing temperatures and the fact that the second seats only have double folding. So it doesn't have a lever to fold from the luggage room. It would have been better if it had safety sense option or something. It is very disappointing. Personally, it is not necessary, but is convenient if it has. It is popular these days.
Its performance, maintenance cost, dependability, sense of security, and overall satisfaction level is high. Because I think cars are tools, I like it a lot.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Dec 22, 2015
exterior 1.0
interior 1.0
engine performance 3.0
travelling performance 2.0
ride quality 2.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 2.0

I think it's reasonable

<exterior>
It has nothing attractive about it.

<interior>
Looks cheap.

<engine performance>
I think it is not powerful enough, but possibly enough and necessary for off roads.

<drivability>
Even on paved roads, after going over little gaps, I can feel funny shakes. It is relatively heavy, but it doesn't feel that steady.

<comfort>
Because of the shakes I mentioned above, those who sit at the rear may experience discomfort.

<price>
You get what you paid for. As I thought, 200 was better in every way.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Dec 21, 2015
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 4.5

I replaced 55 Estima 2.4 litter with this

I bought it second hand as TZ was the only one with KDSS and rear coil springs. I was looking for the former model at first, but because the number of TZ itself was limited, when I heard the later model one with not much distance traveled in my budget was in auction, I didn't even hesitate to decide on it.
I wanted cold weather specification, too, but I thought I wouldn't find one if I ask too much, so I compromised.

<exterior>
I preferred the former model first, but now that I got used to its look, the later model started to look cool, too. I wonder why the car logo was not hollowed.

<interior>
From the later model, simulated grain was introduced to TZ, too. I think it improved the texture.
I wish TZ had power seats, too.

<engine performance>
Because of my experience with Estima 2.4, I decied to go for the highest displacement available. So I'm very happy with it.
Restarting the car at traffic lights, when I press the accelerator hard thinking I was a bit too slow, it accelerated as if leaning back.
I can go uphill without making rpm much higher.

<drivability>
I was worried about rolling and nose-diving, but this doesn't have those problems. It might be thanks to KDSS. This is my first SUV, but I don't feel uneasy at all.

<comfort>
Because I had adjusted the height of Estima lower, this feels it has great ride quality.
I don't even feel that the tires are studless because it doesn't have road noise.

<fuel efficiency>
The meter of cruising range goes down really fast. After the delivery, I fueled right up, but the cruising range it showed was less than 500. I was surprised. With Estima, it was about 650 with full tank.

<price>
It was a used car, but it was almost new and had a lot of optional equipment. I'm glad I was able to get it within my price range.

<overall>
Because I had lowered Estima too much, I even couldn't park it in a car park at a park I went with my children. I felt miserable, and decided to change to a SUV which looks cool with normal height.
Because I like to go fishing, snowboarding and outdoor, I was also thinking I cannot enjoy fully with Estima.
Driving this car is easy, too, so I'm very happy with it.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Nov 6, 2015
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.8

Replacing early 2.7 to 2.8D

<exterior>
I prefer the earlier model because it has unity and is simple. I made the headlights LED, so it's OK.

<interior>
I made steering wheel, shift knob, black part of the glove box wood-grain, and the interior now looks good.
I'm not sure if the 6 speakers have been changed or the 2014 model of GPS system from the dealer has been improved, but the sound is much better than earlier model with 2012 model GPS system from the dealer.

<engine performance>
It feels it has remaining power both on highways and on local roads. I'm very satisfied with it.
As for the sound, it starts loudly but it is quieter once it's warmed up as it drives with lower rpm than petrol 2.7.

<drivability>
I have no complaints about driving and turning.
As for stopping, brake works well, but the soft suspensions show if the driver is good at braking or not. It pitches a lot, but it is fun.

<comfort>
It is softer than the earlier model, and I find it comfortable.
It is similar to normal air suspensions of TZ-G. 2.7TX was similar to sport.

<fuel efficiency>
It's keeping above 10km/l on average. I've never seen fuel economy this good. It drives 1.5 times more than petrol 2.7.

<price>
It is very inexpensive compared to petrol car thinking about its power, fuel efficiency and the eco-car tax break.

<overall>
I waited for 4 months before delivery.
I already know it is good even though I've only done 500km.
I'm glad I replaced it.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Nov 1, 2015
exterior 3.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.3

I recommend 2.8D

<exterior>
I didn't like its vertically long grille which reminds me of Parthenon and its line on the headlights. But eventually I got used to them.
After driving in mountains, minor scratches from branches and grass stand out on black paint.

<interior>
I think its layout is easy to use. Having said that,
- I cannot add a cup holder because aircon wind outlet is located above GPS system.
- The hazard light switch is located in a good spot, but it doesn't stand out. So it takes a few seconds to find it.
- The center diff lock button is far. It would have been perfect if it was closer to the driver seat or at least located on the right hand side of the gearshift dial.

<engine performance>
The engine is very powerful, which is strong enough to make 2.2ton body easily accelerate on uphill. Engine sound can be both noisy and quiet.

<drivability>
It is easy to drive on highways and in town with good visibility.
On winding roads, it just is a typical full time 4WD. Some people describe cars with good handling "they can trace lines", but this car is far from that. In a way, though, it is fun to control a car like this. Brake works well for its weight.
The real advantage of this car can be seen on off roads. I've only done forest roads, but I found it comfortable driving on those rough roads. This sense of security you cannot get from anywhere else makes me feel this is the car that drives all over the world.

<comfort>
Just comfortable.

<fuel efficiency>
12km/l in total. I've never driven a car which is better than 10-15mode, so I'm happy.
- A round trip to a shop which is 3.5km away: 8.7km/l (No warming up)
- Mostly on highway (going a bit too fast): 12.5km/l

<price>
As it is a good car, I think this price is reasonable. I'm glad I got government subsidies for a diesel car, too.

<Things I feel uneasy about>
- 2nd gear and 3rd gear are too far apart in S-mode. On uphill on local roads, I feel the engine brake works too much with 2nd gear, but with 3rd, it feels like it is accelerating.
- My previous car was Estima Hybrid (20 series), so I have a habit of not to press the accelerator hard as I start the car to avoid staring the engine. Putting my habit aside, I cannot feel Prado's acceleration unless I press the accelerator really hard. When I do so, it works with 1st, which is very low. Because the gear is low, it feels it is not accelerating at all even though it is making a lot of noise. I also feel there is a gap when it changes to 2nd. It takes the same time as Estima Hybrid to reach 100km/h, so it is not actually slow. Also, this problem can be solved if you use 2nd start mode.
- On steep forest roads, I feel the engine brake is not strong enough with 2nd gear. 1st feels too strong, though. Also, when I change from 2nd to 1st when I'm using S-mode, I have to be careful not to make a big shock.
- I want Intelligent AFS which Estima Hybrid had. The light is of halogen, whereas my previous one was discharge. So I was expecting it to be too dark, but it is not as dark as I thought it would be.

<overall>
My first Land Cruiser. I always wanted, so this is my dream come true. When I read reviews from other people, some seem to be happy and some seem not, but I'm happy with my purchase.
Diesel cars like X5 and CX-5 have amazing acceleration which is not at all like of diesel engine. Diesel cars from Benz are as quiet as petrol cars. Prado's diesel is different to those. But you'll find this engine matches with Prado well when you drive it for a while.
I was surprised with its fuel efficiency. I thought it would be about 70% of what it says on the catalogue, but it went against my expectation in a good way.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Oct 31, 2015
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 1.0
travelling performance 2.0
ride quality 2.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 3.2

New diesel which disspoints me as I drive

<exterior>
It looks stylish. The front looks rough.

<interior>
Interior has luxurious feel to it. Where DC is located has been improved, too. True to the name of Toyota.

<engine performance>
My biggest disappointment is this engine. Its slow start may not be helped, but it acceleration from the middle speed is terrible. It has no problem as long as you drive at 50-60km/h in town, but on highways and on mountain roads, I cannot feel the strength of diesel.

<drivability>
The suspensions feel soft overall. It feels comfortable, but I feel anxious on ill-conditioned roads.

<fuel efficiency>
If you drive only in town and don't worry about the acceleration at the start, the fuel efficiency is good.

<satisfaction>
Comparison with other cars (Mitsubishi Pajero and Mazda CX5)

Exterior and interior are good, but the engine, which is the most important part, is terrible. Maybe because they tried to improve the fuel efficiency, shift up is quicker and rpm doesn't go up.
It doesn't give me sense of excitement like other cars do.
I don't feel powerfulness of torque which is a characteristic of a car with diesel engine.
Did they just follow other makes? They should have introduced paddle shifter like CX5 to improve drivability...
This is the worst engine among the cars I had driven (Pajero 2.8D, Prado 4.0TX). Other makes introduced cars with clean diesel, and I expected Toyota as it introduced clean diesel the last to be good. It was my mistake. My biggest mistake probably was not doing a test drive thinking the delivery date and the date of servicing.
Without about 3.0little displacement, it won't have enough torque for its weight. Makes should consider the reason why they choose diesel.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Oct 27, 2015
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.8

My first new diesel car from Toyota

It's been a month since the delivery.
I had been driving mostly Skyline. To enjoy outdoor activities more, I bought Prado diesel.

<exterior>
It has a rugged look like a bulldog, but I personally like its powerful look.

<interior>
It feels like a high-grade car rather than a luxurious car. I'm very satisfied.
With the windows closed, the sound of diesel is not as loud as I expected. The Audio sound is good, too.

<engine performance>
This is my first diesel.
It feels slow when I start the car, but its torque is so big that I don't have any complaints on going up hills or passing other cars on highways.

<drivability>
Both the feeling and the usability are great.

<comfort>
As I like hard suspensions, I was unsure about this car rolling back and forth and side to side. I finally started to get used to it after a month. 4 stars.

<fuel efficiency>
It is not cheap. But considering the grant you get from the government and its resell price, I don't think it is not that expensive. I'm not sure about resell price at this stage, though.

<overall>
I'm very satisfied with this for its rank. The fuel efficiency is great. And the cost effectiveness is excellent; it drives 700km with the fuel which costs less than 10,000yen.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Oct 25, 2015
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality -
fuel efficiency -
Total 4.8

Diesel TXL

<exterior>
I feel strength and dependability in its classic design. I thought it was a big car when I did a test drive, but I got used to it within a month.

<interior>
It is cool as a 4WD jeep. As a SUV, it is ordinary.

<engine performance>
It adjusts to road situations (hill, highway, winding roads etc.).
When you first press the accelerator, it feels it starts economically, but when you press harder, the strong torque helps its heavy body to drive.

<drivability>
Please refer 'engine performance'.

<comfort>
Considering the fact that the driver's eye level is the same as that of a 4t truck, it doesn't shake much.
It does have right softness, but it drives briskly. If you like sport type, you'll find this too soft.

<fuel efficiency>
It depends on how you drive. Please refer to the reviews from other people.

<price>
I'll think about it when I trade this in.

<overall>
I'm fussy about cars, but I'm happy with this.

Good Review

Page 1 of 2

Latest Reviews for Cars

Itong Toyota Avanza ay maaasahan talaga sa kahit anung byahe. Maganda ito na bilhin kasi marami ang pwedeng sumakay sa look kaya sabi nila its a good family car siya at totoo naman kasi malaki ang ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by Nathaniel Dude
  • Date : Oct 16, 2018

I truly would like to recommend this car if you are looking for one and a beginner. It so small and easy to drive around town. I am never disappointed with its quality because everything in it was ...Read more

  • Rating : 5.0
  • Review by Mary Grace Olarte
  • Date : Oct 16, 2018

Overpricing po sakin but I know na maganda siyang gamitin. May practical wisdom po yung gumagawa ng ganitong vehicle. With regards sa interior and exterior niya wala akong masabi kasi sobrang ganda. ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by shaney Limar
  • Date : Oct 15, 2018
View Mode: PC | Mobile