Toyota Estima Reviews

Toyota Estima minivan L_1

Toyota Estima 3rd Generation (XR50) 2006-
  • Toyota Estima minivan S_1
  • Toyota Estima minivan S_2
  • Toyota Estima minivan S_3
  • Toyota Estima minivan S_4
  • Toyota Estima minivan S_5
More Photos
Price(New)
---
  • Production 1990 - present
  • Also known as Toyota Previa
  • Toyota Estima offers 2.4L inline 4/3.5L V6 gasoline engine with 4 speed automatic and 6 speed CVT transmission. With FF layout, it has roomy interiors.
  • Another hybrid variant is available with Synergy Drive drivetrain spec, and 2 motor engines. Additonal features include new exteriors and tech support.
  • Better interior design with ample space for cargo and passengers. Has RW or FW drive capacity, with better infotainment features and technological specs.

New & Used prices

Models by year

Reviews

Forum

Overall Rating

exterior 4.4
interior 3.9
engine performance 3.8
travelling performance 3.7
ride quality 3.7
fuel efficiency 3.7
Total 3.9

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 17, 2017
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 3.0
travelling performance 3.0
ride quality 3.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 3.5

A matured car

Because my beloved car broke down and I had to replace it, I tried 2016 model.
My previous car was the previous model of this one, 2.4L 4WD.

<exterior>
I cannot believe it is a 10-yera-old car. I still think this is beautiful and it has nothing to compare with. I don't mind going for this car just for its style. I like its thin headlights and daylights that look futuristic.

<interior>
The meter is digital and placed in the center. It makes it look futuristic, too, which I like, but it is difficutl to see the tachometer from the driver seat.
The interior has been changed a lot compared to the one before facelift. The seat arrangement was completed 10 years ago. I am amazed how Toyota sees the future.

<engine perfromance>
It picks up speed lightly. It has pretty good sound, too.

<drivability>
It has light engine, and it doesn't roll too much. It is sporty. The brake works naturally, too.
It feels safe with Toyota Safety Sense C.

<comfort>
Because the course for test drive was flat, I cannot tell, but it was not too hard at the front. It is quiet instead.

<fuel efficiency>
It showed 11km/l on the meter after test drive.

<overall>
Because my previous car was previous Estima, I was able to drive without feeling uneasy about it. Having said that, it didn't feel new.
I know it is not fair to compare, but trying Alphard, this is not so good in terms of ride quality or usability. However, it is also true that there are charms only this car has. I thought about getting this, but I decided on another one wanting roominess.
I still envy the owners when I see this stylish car in town, though.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 5, 2017
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.5

I've been driving Estima for 16 years.

My 6th Estima got delivered.

When it got delivered, it had 17inch studless tires, so I am not sure about its drivability, but I can say that its engine pick up has been improved. (It has the same engine as my previous car. It might be because of the improvement of computer control.)

As for interior, the speedometer got small and is less easy to see. I can show the speed with digital display, so I am using it.

The steering wheel is now a little thicker. I can steer nicely.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 22, 2017
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 4.0

Amazing Flagship model!

<exterior>
Cool. It looks powerful and satisfying. It is only a work car, though.

<interior>
It has high-end feel. This is perfect for picking up and dropping off customers. It is nice that 8 adults can get on and is still practical.

<engine performance>
It is fast.

<drivability>
It doesn't roll much, and I can enjoy driving for a minivan.

<comfort>
Good. Amazing.

<overall>
It is a good car. I want it.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 21, 2016
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 3.0
travelling performance 3.0
ride quality 3.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 3.7

Good car

I bought Estima in November 2006, and I had driven it for about 9 years till I replaced it in July 2015 with Honda Odyssey (RC) Absolute.

I have traveled about 90,000km in total, and it gave me a lot of memories. I would like to write a review thanking it.

I go for a trip with a lot of baggage in a car, and we eat and rest in a car, so it has to be a car all my family members can relax for a long time and it has to be less tiring to drive. Also, we don't do outdoor activities much, so minivans suit us better than SUVs.

<exterior>
It uses curved lines well, and it has massive feel and smartness at the same time. It is tasteful. It's been 10 years since current model was released, but it still looks cool. I don't think not many people talk badly about Estima.

I personally had admiration to Estima from its first generation, and I was attracted to the style of the third generation strongly and decided to get it. I chose the cars I had before this attaching importance to life style of our family, so I had never felt fully happy with them. I was able to drive Estima for this long probably because it gave me satisfaction of owning this.

<interior>
It seems many people are saying the instrument panel is plasticky and cheap. It certainly doesn't have luxurious feel, but it is OK as it is a family car. I liked it because it had a lot of storage and it is made considering usability well like positions of switches. Drink holder of the driver seat secured any types of drinks from paper cup, can to bottles, and the drawer of the drink holder itself was well made so I was able to use it smoothly. I was able to see Toyota's uncompromising attitude. It is a lot better than my present car, Odyssey, in terms of usability.

Estima is well known for 7 seater relaxing captain seat. I expected it highly, but when I tried, I found the seat are rather small and it was not as comfortable as I expected. So I decided to go for 8 seater bench seat. The second row only can be slided half of captain seat, but it is relaxing enough with roomy leg room, and seat is bigger and has good holdability. I think ride quality is better with bench seat.

<engine>
Compared to Odyssey's engine, engine sound is rather rough and is not as smooth in turning. But it is very quiet for cruising. In terms of power, though it is rather heavy for a minivan, I never felt powerless with its 2.4L engine on steep hills or on expressways. Its torque was natural and easy to drive for standard use. Also, thanks to simple direct-acting cam, it had great durability. I had never had engine trouble driving 90,000km. It is not fun to drive in terms of engine sound and how engine works, but it is a practical and good engine. It matches with Estima's character.

<drivability>
It is tall, but it has stability thanks to long wheel base and wide tread. You can drive feeling safe on expressways, too. It rolls at curves, but it is mild, so you can drive with speed without feeling scared even on tight winding roads. Also, you don't feel its size much for driving. My wife drove this just for going for grocery shopping. This is not a car to enjoy driving, so if you seek joy of driving, go for another cars.

<comfort>
It is not uncomfortable, but it uses torsion beam suspension for its rear to achieve roomy cabin, and you get knocking up feel and feel shaken on rough roads because it is not good in rigidity because of its shape. Also, comparing it to recent cars, the design is old, so I think you can get more comfortable cars for the same, or even cheaper, price. Having said that, it is not that bad.

<fuel efficiency>
7-8km/l in town with many traffic lights, and is about 11km/l on expressways with 2.4L petrol engine. Now the technology has been improved a lot, recent cars in the same class probably has better fuel consumption.

<price>
Considering standard and optional equipment, it probably is more expensive than other cars. I think you would get discount because this is later model, though...
I think we paid 3,200,000yen or so.

<overall>
As there are only three people in our family, a big car like Estima might have been too much. Considering cost performance, a smaller car might have been better. But because it was Estima, we were able to go to many places from the time when our kid was only little, and we got a lot of memories. It made me happy owning this with its untiring style, and it had great usability as a tool. I am very happy I got Estima.

You may feel it is not good enough in terms of sensing technologies compared to current cars, but it has great basic performance. So if it meats your needs, you wouldn't regret even if you buy it now.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 16, 2016
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 2.0
travelling performance 2.0
ride quality 2.0
fuel efficiency 2.0
Total 2.7

Vulnerability on snowy roads

<exterior>
This successes the style of ""the genius egg"". There is no room for improvement.

<interior>
They are trying hard to cut the cost; it uses a lot of plastic and looks cheap.

<engine performance>
It has no problem in town. It doesn't accelerate for its rpm when it takes over on expressways.

<drivability>
Straight line stability is not so good. It has an electric power steering, and it is too sensible to drivers' operation.
When I turn right at intersection watching oncoming cars, I get scared as there is a time lag of 0.2 seconds till it starts when I press the accelerator.

<comfort>
I don't feel uneasiness when I drive this, but my family says that they get motion sickness easily on this car.
The instrument panel is slanted towards driver seat, so passenger in passenger seat loses sense of balance and gets motion sickness.

<fuel efficiency>
It's of ten years ago, so it is not fair to compare it with recent cars.
It uses petrol a lot while it is at idle, so it is not good for driving in busy town or at a truck stop on expressways.

<overall>
Estima Aerus is 2WD and it slips amazingly a lot at intersection, railroad crossing and at car parks. Even when I quickly operate the shift knob to D and R, it takes a while till it starts, so you cannot use the principle of pendulum you can use with cars with manual transmission.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Nov 30, 2015
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 3.0
travelling performance 3.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 3.7

Satisfied overall

As for exterior, because they haven't had model change lately, it doesn't feel old. I have been driving Toyota cars, so when I started to think getting a bigger car to suit my children's growth, Estima and Alphard became my choices (I decided not to go for Velfire for its image).

I drive long distance a few times a year to go visit my family, so we got the dealer to put a monitor at the back seat for my children to watch DVDs. This might have been the best thing we got from this change.

As for noise while driving, even though I changed the tires to minivan ones that say they are quiet, I still hear the noise in the car. Especially on highways, it is so loud that I have to turn the volume up of the DVD.

Because I can arrange the rear seats more freely, I devise depending on situations.

Drivability is not as good as I expected, but it is passable as I try to drive safely for my family (considering fuel efficiency, too). Acceleration performance is not bad for driving on highways sensibly, but it may not be good enough if you are severe.

The height is not too high to get in, but the line of vision is not too low like of when I drive in sedan or sports cars. It was just right for me.

I was expecting ottomans at the second row, but because my children sit at the second row, they are not being used. When I spend a night in the car once, I tried them. The legroom is roomy anyway even without ottomans, so it is relaxing enough.

Storage is enough, too. So far, I'm storing kids bikes in the boot for crime-prevention.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Oct 20, 2009
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.7

2.4G Edition

I turned in a 2001 Odyssey.

Honestly speaking I feel that the car is easy and effortless to drive.

The steering wheel is very smooth, it feels just like I was driving a Corolla.

It easily accelerates to 80 kilometers per hour, by barely putting your foot on the gas pedal.

When turning a corner or breaking, there is a feeling of weightlessness.

This car is so smooth that it almost feels like I am not even driving at all.

Due to the fact that it is so smooth, I do not get tired, which is beyond comparison to my previous car.

I believe Honda makes the best car for driving, but after test driving Odyssey and Elysion
When I drove on normal, everyday roads with a 2.4 liter engine, I felt that the Estima was the easiest to drive.

It has much more storage than I thought. There is still plenty of room without folding down the third row seat.

I like the fact that I can put my golf bag in the car standing up straight.

When I read reviews somewhere, they said, when you stop the car the engine is noisy or that there was an annoying CVT sound, and that worried me. But I really cannot hear that much engine noise from inside the car.

The second row seat is very comfortable, therefore, I have no complaints at all.

The only negative point is that only children can fit into the third row seats.
I might be wrong, but the thing I like the most is the cruise control, but to use this feature you must drive more than 40 kilometers per hour.

This cruise control is not radar cruise control, so it only maintains the speed, but does not maintain the distance between the cars.

However, I was completely impressed by the fact that I did not have to accelerate, and the price of the car is just 2,900,000 yen without a navigation system.

I thought Toyota was really incredible.

So far, the fuel efficiency is averaging 9.7 kilometers per liter.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Oct 16, 2009
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.5

3.5G

I switched from MCU20W. I selected 3.5G taking the equipment as an important point.
As for the appearance, now I think I'd better select an Aeras model. It is too plain.
I wonder it the manufacturer had to distinguish it from Aeras models. Observing cars running around, most of them are Aeras models. I do not feel good when one of them is my side in a parking.

As for driving performance, it is enough. I have to decrease speed at a curve in a ridge, but I think it is a good car for being a mini-van.

In regards to the ride quality, it is not as well as Sedan of course, but it is like a passenger car, so I have no complaints.
Fuel efficiency is given the emission and power. It has evolved in comparison with the previous vehicle 3L-V6.

Price is considerably reasonable with this spec.

When going on a drive with 4 family members, I switch driving the car with my wife. I am satisfied with the fancy rear seat.

Unfortunately, the instrument panel is not great. Although it is recycling-oriented, the material can be easily damaged. Storage place is spacious, but there is no box to store the car verification, vehicle manual, and navigation manual together.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 2, 2014
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 4.2

It's been 8 years already.

In a motor show 2005, I came across the car and got fascinated by the style at once. After the full model change in January 2006, I singed the contract right away and had it delivered on March in that year. Eight years have passed since the delivery.

As I previously owned a Honda car, I struggled to get used to the soft ride quality at first but now I come to find it best.

There were glitches of dimness of the headlights or extreme engine oil consumption but the car layout was just for my family of three - underfloor storage on the third row and Super Relax Seat on the second row.
This model is the forerunner of the two-row emphasized style.

I think this style color has not been worse from the beginning of its sales. There is nothing more than this since I have gotten used to the interior.

Just as in the title it has been eight years, but there has been no model change.

Noah which was sold after the Estima had a model change, and the dealer suggested that I trade it in for the Noah. However, I could not decide whether to trade in the Estima for the Noah so I think I will wait a bit longer to see if there will be a model change.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 2, 2014
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 4.5

Limousine style minivan, still in good shape after driving 160,000km

After eight years passed from the purchase of the car, I would like to review the car in the hope it would be informative for those planning to buy it brand-new/second-hand or the current owners.

[Exterior]
Even now I can remember that vivid impression in those days (November 2005) When I found the article about Estima Aeras on a car magazine which reported the release and the car was the first minivan which had 280 horse power, I was so intrigued and decided to buy it at that moment.
That first impression became faint because it was so common among the general public but it shows a spot of genius as no new model has come out and made people feel it is old.

[Interior]
I think it is good to choose beige seat to make a bright and relaxed interior. I think center panel is easy to see and seat is large and thick, good to support and setting is less.
The air-conditioner powerfully worked on each of the front parts, the rear and the rearest seat and I felt comfortable. However, the painting part or the leather fitting part on the steering started to peel off by the time I had the car taken for its second check-up.
I hoped for thick and sturdy coating on those parts.

I chose the pearl white color on the exterior and the ornament. Thanks to the thick coating, it has not been worn out yet. I think it was good to choose the color.

[Engine Performance]
I expected the 3500cc V6 engine sound would be great but it was not very impressive actually. Because of the thick torque, the total weight of the car is over 2t but I do not feel it heavy much. As the tachometer hardly hit over 2000 rpm, it is quiet and less stressful for me. Probably it would be rare that I drive the car with high engine speed on both local roads or expressways. So, it is a good torque setting optimized for a practical range.

[Driving Performance]
The car is good at a driving on the straight basically. Also, its cornering grip is not that bad for its type of car.
Although you cannot drive it on the highway feeling like a 2,000cc class at 100 to 110km/h, its safety and stability is excellent as you can easily keep it at 120 to 140km/h. Besides, I had to drive on the steep snow-covered road (1km) 5 to 10 times per year where I live, but I felt comfortable because I could use 4WD (with radial tires) and did not need to change tires.

[Ride Quality]

It drives comfortably, because it starts smoothly, is always quiet and bumps relatively little.
In my case, my child's high school and university are in the same direction as my office, so my child sat on the 2nd row (the 3rd row was always stored underneath) for 6 years. It must have been really comfortable as he was stretching his legs and sleeping tightly, thanks to its captain seat. I did not feel that tired even when I went on a trip or went back to my hometown (500km). Since I changed the tires from normal ones to REGNO GRV, I used them always and never changed them. It was really quiet with little road noise.
However, due to the heavy weight, the braking distance on both dry and wet road conditions tend to be longer. So, you should replace a new set of tires every 40,000km. (First: 33,000km 2nd: 71,000km 3rd: 118,000km)

Probably I do not need to tell you about it but I mistakenly have had my car run into the rear of the car ahead partly because of that. Please be careful not to let that kind of mistake happen.

[Fuel Efficiency]

On normal roads with traffic (it takes 1 hour 40 minutes for 30km one-way), it was 7km/L, it was 10-10.5km/L on highways only. I think this is great for a minivan that weighed 2 tons, but I felt it was a big burden for a driver who drives long distance (20,000km annually) because of the increase in gasoline price by 50 yen/L as compared to 120 yen /L in 2006. So I have replaced it with Hybrid Sedan in April last year (I still own Estima).

I have realized I would have to discuss about fuel efficiency on both conditions, when driving alone and also when having 7 people in the car.
It cannot be said that the fuel efficiency is good when driving with few people, but I think it is fairly good fuel efficiency when driving with many people.

[Price]
The total cost was 4,500,000 yen, DOP navigation system, rear seat monitor, and rearview monitor were included in this price. I thought it was expensive at first. But later, I had to change the following; burned out left side light bulb at 55,000km, leaking shock absorber oil at 96,000km, cracking exhaust at 98,800km, whole parts of both lights at 112,000km, and also I had to repair the engine mount at 12,6000km. But all of them were repaired by using Toyota's warranty, so all these repair were free. I think the cost of keeping this car was reasonable in the end.
I do not mean to praise Toyota too much but I felt Toyota was supportive to their customers.

[General Comments]
All in all, it is the most satisfying car in my 38-years car life. Even now my children want me to keep it because they want to use it when they go back to their home town.
We went on a trip to Okayama, Hiroshima, Hagi in Yamaguchi, Tsuwano in Shimane, Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Tokyo or Toyama with the car last year. It plays an important role in our life.
Honestly I wondered if I should buy another car on the second or third check-up in those days but I did not in the end because I found the car was too wonderful to be let go.
I replaced a navigation system with the Sound Navigation System Premium because I was going to continue to own it. Alpine DLX-F177 brought out the goodness in the car so that more and more I was not able to part with it.

I would like to review it again by the time the total mileage reaches 200,000km. I hope it will be informative on the maintenance for those who already own the car or are planning to purchase.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 2, 2014
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 4.2

It's been 8 years already.

In a motor show 2005, I came across the car and got fascinated by the style at once. After the full model change in January 2006, I singed the contract right away and had it delivered on March in that year. Eight years have passed since the delivery.

As I previously owned a Honda car, I struggled to get used to the soft ride quality at first but now I come to find it best.

There were glitches of dimness of the headlights or extreme engine oil consumption but the car layout was just for my family of three - underfloor storage on the third row and Super Relax Seat on the second row.
This model is the forerunner of the two-row emphasized style.

I think this style color has not been worse from the beginning of its sales. There is nothing more than this since I have gotten used to the interior.

Just as in the title it has been eight years, but there has been no model change.

Noah which was sold after the Estima had a model change, and the dealer suggested that I trade it in for the Noah. However, I could not decide whether to trade in the Estima for the Noah so I think I will wait a bit longer to see if there will be a model change.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 2, 2014
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 4.5

Limousine style minivan, still in good shape after driving 160,000km

After eight years passed from the purchase of the car, I would like to review the car in the hope it would be informative for those planning to buy it brand-new/second-hand or the current owners.

[Exterior]
Even now I can remember that vivid impression in those days (November 2005) When I found the article about Estima Aeras on a car magazine which reported the release and the car was the first minivan which had 280 horse power, I was so intrigued and decided to buy it at that moment.
That first impression became faint because it was so common among the general public but it shows a spot of genius as no new model has come out and made people feel it is old.

[Interior]
I think it is good to choose beige seat to make a bright and relaxed interior. I think center panel is easy to see and seat is large and thick, good to support and setting is less.
The air-conditioner powerfully worked on each of the front parts, the rear and the rearest seat and I felt comfortable. However, the painting part or the leather fitting part on the steering started to peel off by the time I had the car taken for its second check-up.
I hoped for thick and sturdy coating on those parts.

I chose the pearl white color on the exterior and the ornament. Thanks to the thick coating, it has not been worn out yet. I think it was good to choose the color.

[Engine Performance]
I expected the 3500cc V6 engine sound would be great but it was not very impressive actually. Because of the thick torque, the total weight of the car is over 2t but I do not feel it heavy much. As the tachometer hardly hit over 2000 rpm, it is quiet and less stressful for me. Probably it would be rare that I drive the car with high engine speed on both local roads or expressways. So, it is a good torque setting optimized for a practical range.

[Driving Performance]
The car is good at a driving on the straight basically. Also, its cornering grip is not that bad for its type of car.
Although you cannot drive it on the highway feeling like a 2,000cc class at 100 to 110km/h, its safety and stability is excellent as you can easily keep it at 120 to 140km/h. Besides, I had to drive on the steep snow-covered road (1km) 5 to 10 times per year where I live, but I felt comfortable because I could use 4WD (with radial tires) and did not need to change tires.

[Ride Quality]

It drives comfortably, because it starts smoothly, is always quiet and bumps relatively little.
In my case, my child's high school and university are in the same direction as my office, so my child sat on the 2nd row (the 3rd row was always stored underneath) for 6 years. It must have been really comfortable as he was stretching his legs and sleeping tightly, thanks to its captain seat. I did not feel that tired even when I went on a trip or went back to my hometown (500km). Since I changed the tires from normal ones to REGNO GRV, I used them always and never changed them. It was really quiet with little road noise.
However, due to the heavy weight, the braking distance on both dry and wet road conditions tend to be longer. So, you should replace a new set of tires every 40,000km. (First: 33,000km 2nd: 71,000km 3rd: 118,000km)

Probably I do not need to tell you about it but I mistakenly have had my car run into the rear of the car ahead partly because of that. Please be careful not to let that kind of mistake happen.

[Fuel Efficiency]

On normal roads with traffic (it takes 1 hour 40 minutes for 30km one-way), it was 7km/L, it was 10-10.5km/L on highways only. I think this is great for a minivan that weighed 2 tons, but I felt it was a big burden for a driver who drives long distance (20,000km annually) because of the increase in gasoline price by 50 yen/L as compared to 120 yen /L in 2006. So I have replaced it with Hybrid Sedan in April last year (I still own Estima).

I have realized I would have to discuss about fuel efficiency on both conditions, when driving alone and also when having 7 people in the car.
It cannot be said that the fuel efficiency is good when driving with few people, but I think it is fairly good fuel efficiency when driving with many people.

[Price]
The total cost was 4,500,000 yen, DOP navigation system, rear seat monitor, and rearview monitor were included in this price. I thought it was expensive at first. But later, I had to change the following; burned out left side light bulb at 55,000km, leaking shock absorber oil at 96,000km, cracking exhaust at 98,800km, whole parts of both lights at 112,000km, and also I had to repair the engine mount at 12,6000km. But all of them were repaired by using Toyota's warranty, so all these repair were free. I think the cost of keeping this car was reasonable in the end.
I do not mean to praise Toyota too much but I felt Toyota was supportive to their customers.

[General Comments]
All in all, it is the most satisfying car in my 38-years car life. Even now my children want me to keep it because they want to use it when they go back to their home town.
We went on a trip to Okayama, Hiroshima, Hagi in Yamaguchi, Tsuwano in Shimane, Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Tokyo or Toyama with the car last year. It plays an important role in our life.
Honestly I wondered if I should buy another car on the second or third check-up in those days but I did not in the end because I found the car was too wonderful to be let go.
I replaced a navigation system with the Sound Navigation System Premium because I was going to continue to own it. Alpine DLX-F177 brought out the goodness in the car so that more and more I was not able to part with it.

I would like to review it again by the time the total mileage reaches 200,000km. I hope it will be informative on the maintenance for those who already own the car or are planning to purchase.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 5, 2014
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 3.0
travelling performance 1.0
ride quality 1.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 2.7

It's a most opportune time to purchase it.

I was driving a mid-model Aerus white ACR50, but I was offered an unexpectedly high trade-in value

upon the 5th year inspection. So I took this chance and replaced the old car with the late-model Aerus white ACR50.

The following points include the impressions I had in comparison with Odyssey upon my purchase.

[Exterior]

I definitely like the exterior of the mid-model than the late-model. It's sporty enough

without adding any body kits.

The rear bumper is so thin that it dents when I apply my weight on my knee to load and unload a baggage.

This has not been improved since the mid-model.

I was shocked by such reduction of manufacturing cost, which I am used to.

And although the middle period model had blue mirrors, the latter period model changed it to normal mirrors quietly.

No water repellent glass is used anymore, either.

Some favor but others don't the much plating of Odyssey,
and personally I did not like the bonnet line from the headlight to the windshield; dowdy as viewed sidewise,
But I like the impression of the rear.

[Interior]

The latter period model was made to the premium edition, and the black decoration
presents an image of high-quality. Dust and dirt are more conspicupuis on it than on beige.

When I purchased the middle period model I could only choose beige, which frustrated me. Besides I feel it raised the air tightness than the middle period model.

As for the long slide console, it is hard to use because I can just put in CD sideways then I do not see the title or can not open it if I put something before it.
The optional console seems to be more user-friendly but I could not have it for some reason.
The information display which was not in the middle period Aeras is nice.

It is troublesome for my wife and me to move the electric sliding seat every time.

If without memory function, the manual operation was just fine.

The black basic tone interior decoration of Odyssey was calm enough; Estima gained the advantage in number of pockets, did not it?

[Engine Performance, Driving Performance]

As for the driveability, I took a test ride on Odyssey expectantly, but had no big impression, though I recognized the lower seat position. The less rollings
is typically for Odyssey, but the accelerations at the time of stepping on the brakes were felt similar in both of them.

I compared the engine sounds of Odyssey and ACR50 middle period on the same road, and felt Odyssey's grew more annoying as the engine speed became higher.

What surprised me most was the feeling of manual transmission which was identified after the car was delivered.

In the manual shift mode, it makes a move into low gear to automatically match the engine rotation in the latter period model, which was done by the accelerator in the middle period model.
It is a function I can not find in the catalogs, is not it?

I have looked it equipped in Exiga in a site before, but how should I know that it is also equipped in my car so discreetly ... I cannot make light of Toyota.

I get impatient a little when I can not exert the expected engine braking immediately because I am not used to use it.

[Ride Quality]

This has been a point of my dissatisfaction from the time I rode the middle periode model. You can say it soft and light or doddering along. Fluffy high-quality sofa like, too. If you deem it acceptable or bad may be the point.
So I changed it for the suspension of TRD at the time of purchase, which I take as the right answer personally.

It gained a stable softness and I want them to make this the standard.

Still Odyssey will be more advantageous with its lower center of gravity, but I do not
want so much; Estima +TRD is enough.

[Fuel Efficiency]

Around 7.6 - 8.0KM/L in the city and 11 - 12KM/L in highs peed running.

I do not know about Odyssey; probably it does not differ much?
May my model go longer distance if they install the idling stop device?

I wanted them to push forward the improvement even if it was only about such ideas.

[Price]

Estima was in its last period of production and I could make a rather good bargain.

On the other hand, Odyssey was the worst. I made it the purchase condition to include the electric slide on both sides and no navigator, but they had already added various options when I chose the electric slide on both sides, discouraging my condition. I just wanted to have the electric slide even putting their nice options aside,
The option costs approximately 500,000 yen. Do not tell me that.
That was the deciding factor.
[General Comment]
Regarding the details, the Estima has managed to increase its classiness.
This is a matured model that has matured well, so it is probably the best time to purchase.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 29, 2011
exterior 3.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.2

Comparison with my old Odyssey Absolute 2005 4WD

2010 2.4G Edition 4WD
[Exterior]
It is not my type, but I got accustomed to it.
[Interior]
It looks cheaper than the Odyssey. I had third-party leather seats and third-party floor mats to increase classiness installed. I also had a deck board installed as it does not come it.
[Engine Performance]
Not bad or good. My previous car was great.
[Ride Quality]
Thanks to the leather seats, it has improved.

As it is taller, I get more easily tired after a long drive.
My wife said she would get car sick with the Odyssey, nut does not say anything about the S.
[Fuel Efficiency]
It is slightly better now.
My previous car used high-octane gasoline. With the S I am using regular.
[Price]
Expensive. I would be convinced if safety equipment were standard.
[General Comments]
Vehicle inspection forced me to make a decision. Based on the trade-in value of the Odyssey, which was more than I imagined, I decided to make this switch. With financial support.

I did not want to bring down exhaust at my whim, so I looked around. The S did not impress me at all, but when I talked to the salesperson I knew well, he offered me a surprisingly generous discount.
It is a good car with no peculiarities.
My 2-year-old son loves it.
When I was driving alone, the Odyssey was more fun.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 27, 2011
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance -
travelling performance -
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.5

Stylish

I was looking for a low-ceiling, stylish car for 8 people, but there was only the Estima, so I bought it.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 1, 2014
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.5

Replacement from 2004 Estima

[Exterior]
I have wanted this for ages so I am very happy.
The styling is just my style. It doesn't feel dated.

[Interior]
I bought it with the leather package, so I am happy with the inside.

[Engine Performance]
Since I swapped to a hybrid I have been driving ecologically.
The S Mode is quite powerful and I am satisfied with it.

[Driving Performance]
I could enjoy the hybrid a bit more if it could drive on the battery alone a little more but, the engine switches in quickly.

[Ride Quality]
I changed tires to BlueEarth product and I am very happy now.
I am not worried about driving in rain.

[Fuel Efficiency]
I mainly drive my car in highway in the weekend. It is about 14 to 15 km per liter.

[Price]
I could not buy brand-new car. It is too expensive for me.
This model is cheaper than Alphard. But the cost-performance ratio is not high.

[Satisfaction Rating]
I am very much satisfied with this model since I had a longing to have it.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Dec 6, 2007
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.2

Toyota review

White color was optional on Aeras 2400 and it does not have aluminium wheels and audio. I bought is at 2,850,000 JPY (Paid 350,000 JPY separately for navigation, ETC, and rearview camera system). The car I previously owned was yellow Lucida, which ran well, but the air conditioning broke and reluctantly changed my car.

The previous car was four wheel drive and was 2,750,000 JPY, which is equivalent to Aeras, but I am surprised by the technology advancement in 15 years.
Smart key, the separate temperature control of air conditioning on right and left side, automatic sliding door,under floor storage of the third row seat are the features that I am pleased with. The fuel efficiency is exceeding 10 km per liter, which is a 20 to 30 percent improvement although the car has been driven for only about 5,000 km.

Highway driving is stress-free with the smooth acceleration made possible by CVT, and it is quiet inside the car, which suits my needs and I am very satisfied.

Thank you Toyota.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Nov 18, 2009
exterior 3.0
interior 2.0
engine performance 3.0
travelling performance 2.0
ride quality 2.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 2.5

2.4G Edition (prior to minor change)

Honestly, I didn't understand why this car was called a genius's egg. This made me not want to drive another Toyota ever again.

First of all, the interior looks cheap, so I can't believe this car actually costs over 3 million yen. What bothers me especially is a strange noise inside, the A pillar's assembly defect, the steering's noise, and loose screws on the back of the front light. The dealer was kind enough to replace the defective steering, but the strange noise was persistent.

After one year I switched to the Honda. After test driving the Vellfire, I was impressed with the difference. Currently, I'm waiting for the Vellfire. I will never drive the Estima as I'm traumatized.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Nov 18, 2009
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 3.0
travelling performance 3.0
ride quality 3.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 3.7

It's a good car.

As it's been over a year since the purchase, I will review it.
With an option, it weighs more than 2 tons, but if I drive carefully, it runs 12 km per litter, so I'm satisfied.
The suspension is soft and comfortable to drive, but it shakes when I go over a step. Especially, when one tire goes over a step, it shakes a lot.

The third row is storable seat, so it is not as comfortable as the second row. But when it is stored, it gives a big luggage space for many stuffs. The second row is comfortable because I chose 7 seats version. If the passenger is usually not 5 then 7 seater would be a good choice.

It is shorter in the front and longer back from the seated position, but by installing the front, left and back monitor plus the corner and back sensor, it shouldn't be too hard to turn around the corners.
This is a very good car for those who often drive on narrow roads, because even my wife has never crashed this car, who is not a very good driver.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Dec 4, 2007
exterior 3.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 3.0
ride quality 3.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 3.3

Toyota review

The one I own is the latter model of Lucida.
To be honest, I wanted to purchase Emina instead of Lucida with this round body shape, but this has no longer an issue as I get used to it.
I chose the diesel engine considering its maintenance and cost performance.
3 months have passed since purchase (6 years since initial registration), the only repair that has received and covered by the manufacturer's warranty was the damage of the piston chamber and its related area due to the glow plug defects. No major issues besides that.
Although I didn't have to pay for anything during the warranty period, but if the symptom did not appear until three months after that, the JPY200k expense would have been on my shoulders.
I'm not very pleased with how the automatic shifts gears,

which is too bad because I wanted quick shifting for my diesel engine.

The suspension is a little soft, so you get some rolls, which I don't like, and so I switch to a KYB down suspension (50 mm down, shock absorber Assy) and achieved my desired firmness.

The gas mileage after I purchased it four years ago is 9 km to the liter in city driving and 12 km to the liter on long trips.

Good Review

Page 1 of 2

Latest Reviews for Cars

I would like to introduce to you my brand new car that bought by my husband. Eversince naman hindi ko nagka-interest na bumili ng mga magagarang sasakyan kasi you know what? Mas prefer ko lang ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.3
  • Review by tatskie
  • Date : Oct 19, 2018

Itong Toyota Avanza ay maaasahan talaga sa kahit anung byahe. Maganda ito na bilhin kasi marami ang pwedeng sumakay sa look kaya sabi nila its a good family car siya at totoo naman kasi malaki ang ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by Nathaniel Dude
  • Date : Oct 16, 2018

I truly would like to recommend this car if you are looking for one and a beginner. It so small and easy to drive around town. I am never disappointed with its quality because everything in it was ...Read more

  • Rating : 5.0
  • Review by Mary Grace Olarte
  • Date : Oct 16, 2018
View Mode: PC | Mobile