Toyota C-HR Reviews

Toyota CHR SUV L_1

Toyota C-HR 1st Generation 2016-
  • Toyota CHR SUV S_1
  • Toyota CHR SUV S_2
  • Toyota CHR SUV S_3
  • Toyota CHR SUV S_4
  • Toyota CHR SUV S_5
  • Toyota CHR SUV S_6
  • Toyota CHR SUV S_7
  • Toyota CHR SUV S_8
More Photos
Price(New)
---
Price(Used)
---
  • Production 2016 - present

New & Used prices

Reviews

Forum

Overall Rating

exterior 3.4
interior 3.1
engine performance 3.2
travelling performance 3.4
ride quality 3.4
fuel efficiency 4.7
Total 3.6

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 19, 2017
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

Driving just by myself or two adults with a baby.

A week after the delivery.

<exterior>
Some like it and some don't, so it cannot be said unconditionally, but I like it, and I find it cool.
I wanted white, but talking with my wife, I chose silver. This is not just silver but metallic!

<interior>
Because it is S grade, it is not luxurious, but is sporty and that makes driving fun.
My wife is happy in a passenger seat, too.
My daughter in a car seat at the back is not really happy but I don't mind its narrowness when I drive with my wife and a baby.

<engine performance> <drivability>
I don't know much about cars to be honest, but when you change the mode, you can drive suited to each mode. When I want to hit the gas driving by myself, I can go for sports mode. Then I can drive pleasantly.

<comfort>
Probably because I only dirve with normal mode or eco mode and drive safely with my wife and daughter, it seems it is not unpleasant in the passenger seat either.

<fuel efficiency>
When I drive to work for 45 minutes or so on a national road with good flow, it is about 25km/l.

<overall>
This is not the car I recommend definetly. I only can show this as a car I like.

It will make a good car if it suits your life style and likings.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 18, 2017
exterior 4.0
interior 2.0
engine performance 1.0
travelling performance 1.0
ride quality 2.0
fuel efficiency -
Total 2.0

I cannot believe such a car sells well...

I tried both regular petrol one and hybrid one as a car to replace my wife's. What I can say is that they both are not powerful enough for their heavy bodies.

Especially the hybrid is terrible.
I tried Prius as well, but it was so powerless that I couldn't believe they share the same system. Just by presenting the accelerator, the engine roared, which disappointed me. The regular petrol one was better.

The straight line stability was bad, too. It went everywhere on the ill conditioned roads, so you will be tired after long distance travel.

What I was disappointed with the most is the angle of the seat surface. No matter how high I set it, my thighs don't sit properly, and cannot find a good sitting position. If it had power seat, it would have been OK, but this car doesn't even with the highest grade. I highly recommend you to try this before purchase.

After all, there is nothing attractive about this car other than its look. It was a very disappointing test drive.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 10, 2017
exterior 3.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency -
Total 3.8

It is as expensive as Harrier. Now, the conclusion is…?

<exterior>
The sense of existence is amazing. I have seen C-HR in town, but it has different atmosphere. It is not even comparable with Harrier though Harrier is more expensive...

Having said that, it has got a typical Toyota's sharp face with a chubby body, so it is not well balanced.
I cannot bring myself to like Mazda design, but compared to this, CX-3 is cooler.

I may be able to say that its bizarre sense of existence may be coming from the unbalanced face...

<interior>
My image of the interior of Toyota cars are that they are made to fit everyone's taste and uses inexpensive material. But the interior of this car is excellent. Very well done. This is more chic and cooler than Harrier; this looks more expensive.
As for the cockpit, their concept might be not to show unwanted information. It is opposite of Subaru cars' instrument panel that shows everything. Well, this kind of design might suit this better.

Vezel and CX-3 are not bad, but as this was released later than them, so I can see they have well thought.

<engine performance>
""1.2L down sized turbo engine... So it means its engine is the same size as Auris. Mmm... I'm not sure,"" I thought. However, it has performance as good as my beloved Levorg.
It starts a little sluggishly because it doesn't have motor assist, but it has enough torque at low speed. Also, I thought it might be loud, but it is not so when keeping the same speed.
The sound of the turbo of Juke is noisy, so C-HR is more sophisticated.
I need to see what it would be like when 4 people are in the car and when driving on expressways.

Having said that, the compatibility with CVT is not so good. The time lag before acceleration after I press the accelerator is not pleasant. If they can improve this, this would be a fun car to drive. Toyota's HV system is well made, so as for the gear control, HV might have higher completion level.

On the other hand, Harrier is so noisy and cannot pull its own body, so C-HR is more sophisticated in terms of run. I am sorry for Harrier owners.

<drivability>
They say that its run is improved in Nürburgring, but because I drive Levorg, it felt average.
4WD system is not all time, so the stability is average. It doesn't sway sideways much and it doesn't roll much either; it is good when considered it is an SUV. But it is not. It actually is a hatchback. Hence, I only can say it is average.

Juke and Vezel are made to suit driving in town, but like CX-3, this is made to do well for long driving.

The visibility at the front is good. It is easy to drive. It may be because it is slightly taller than hatchbacks.
It is easy to drive as it is small, but the visibility at the back is not so good.

<comfort>
The front seat is sports seat, so it was very pleasant. Sports seat is better even for driving in towns.
However, though it can be said with all other cars like this, the rear seat is narrow. Vezel has both good design and roominess, so it is amazing.

I would like to evaluate it highly for its awesome balance that is pleasant for both driving in town and for long distance travel, but this is only for two people; it is a pity.

<fuel efficiency>
15.4km/l for turbo is pretty good. I don't know its actual fuel consumption, though, as it was only a test drive.

<overall>
Recent Toyota cars are going aggressive. It no longer has an impression of ""all-around score of 80.""
It may not sell well like Prius because of this attitude, but they have to be aggressive and change something to survive this age.
In this sense, I might be able to say that this is the result of their effort to survive.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 30, 2017
exterior 2.0
interior 2.0
engine performance 2.0
travelling performance 2.0
ride quality 2.0
fuel efficiency -
Total 2.0

The rear seat is narrow. Out of the question.

The rear seat is narrow. Too narrow.
I have sat at the rear seat of Demio, but this is only a little bit better than that.

I cannot invite guests in with a car like this.

It seems popular to put the door knob on a C pillar, but I don't like it as it makes it difficult to open.

As for interior, it is good that it has power braking system, which is rare for Toyota.

The fuel consumption might be good, but the rear seat is narrow. It is difficult to see the rear, too. I will definitely not buy this! I cannot recommend!

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 2, 2017
exterior 2.0
interior 1.0
engine performance 3.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 3.2

As one of the choices to replace Prius with.

<exterior>
The front has been changed to the look like an insect from the look like a reptile of Prius and Sienta. It is acceptable. It sometimes looks cool.

<interior>
It is well done and simple, but it is not my cup of tea. Disappointing.
The first impression was "narrow". Because it has small windows and black inside, it is dark. I even feel sorry for those who sit at the back. It gives me a feeling of oppression. I cannot stand it.

<engine performance>
1.2L turbo charged engine feels rough. Hybrid is smooth.

<drivability>
With 1.2L turbo, I was not happy with its tire noise. However, with hybrid, I don't mind it at all. The suspension is good.

<comfort>
I evaluate it highly. Amazing.

<fuel efficiency>
Hybrid should be good. It is about 18km/l. 1.2L turbo probably doesn't do even 10km/l.

<overall>
Who buys this car? I couldn't understand it.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 8, 2017
exterior 4.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency -
Total 4.2

Urban Cross Over SUV

<exterior>
When I saw it at a motor show, I was not impressed much. But it got sophisticated before it got released. If you find Prius too sharp, this will be a good choice. Because it is low, the tires look big from sideways.

<interior>
I love the seat. Once you get on a car, it feels like Harrier.
They even pay attention to the details like sun visors, which impressed me.

<engine performance>
There is no choice of 4WD with hybrid, so if you want to go to snow mountains as SUV, you need to go for petrol. It is so quiet that it makes me wonder if it really is a petrol car, so I got a good impression.

<drivability>
Because it accelerates smoothly, you need to be careful not to speed. I thought it does well for cornering or overtaking. TNGA improves stability a lot better.

<comfort>
The side shakes are absorbed with the seat at the front. I am trying the rear seat some other time.
I feel it catches the bumps on roads, but it should be fine for daily use.

<fuel efficiency>
N/A

<overall>
Considering not using motor assisting system, petrol has more power. Fuel consumption is better with hybrid, but the equipment is better with petrol cars for its equipment.

Also, it has Toyota safety Sense P as standard equipment. ACC that doesn't follow the car in front or the one that cannot keep braking won't remain, so this is a standard from now. This is the starting point of TNGA, so we can expect it to improve!

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 6, 2017
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 5.0

Small version of Harrier

I can drive to anywhere without worrying.
It is an every day car I can drive anywhere pleasantly.
It is a right size, which is easy to drive. It has a right size engine.
A popular SUV. A fashionable SUV. Everyone is interested in this. The interior is perfect.
Only Toyota can achieve this quality. Amazing Toyota, a world leading company.

I paid extra attention to the suspension at the front and the back during the text drive; it was totally different from Prius. It is more similar to Auris. If you want to enjoy driving, the choice definitely is CH-R!

Diesel engine only should be used for cargo vehicles. Turbo is good, but as a car to own, hybrid that does over 30km/l is the best choice.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 5, 2017
exterior 5.0
interior 2.0
engine performance 3.0
travelling performance 3.0
ride quality 3.0
fuel efficiency -
Total 3.2

It can be a good-enough car to buy with a facelift.

I have had Prius for 9 months. I am not planning to replace it for a while, but because I wanted to see it in real and give it a try, I went to a dealer.

<exterior>
This is not made to be liked by everyone. It is like Prius or Sienta.

<interior>
It is slightly better than Prius. Not so much high-end feel. It doesn't have much storage either. Switches and the GPS system is facing the driver seat, which makes it easy to operate, but at the same time, it feels like a disturbance, too.

<engine performance>
I tried G-T. When I press the accelerator, it accelerated smoothly for its size. It probably has bad fuel efficiency. It made me feel like trying Hybrid, too.

<drivability>
TNGA, which Toyota is trying to sell. Operability and response were good. Driving this was fun.

<comfort>
It was slightly worse than Prius for its unsturdiness, knock up feel and operability. Having said that, it is reasonable for this height. As others are saying, rear seat is narrow, and the rear glass was small, too. When I saw it in real, though, it was not that bad.

<fuel efficiency>
It was only a test drive.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 4, 2017
exterior 2.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 3.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 3.0
fuel efficiency -
Total 3.0

I did a test drive.

I am thinking to get CX-5, but this seems to be its rival for its price and styling, so I did a test drive.

<exterior>
It looked smaller than it actually is. It looks garish all in all, and it can be said that it looks young, but it is not my cup of tea.

<interior>
Unlike its exterior, interior looked simple. It didn't look luxurious considering the price. Actually, it was a little too plasticky, and looked cheap.
What I was not happy the most was the position and the size of the monitor of the GPS system. It gives a feeling of oppression.

<engine performance>
It is not good or bad. Just an average engine. The response may be not so good...

<drivability>
I turned at corners with speed, but it was stable. Not bad.

<comfort>
I did feel knock up feel on ill conditioned roads, but it was not too bad. The shape of the seat looks it has good support, but it actually was not that good.
The firmness of the seat was good.

<overall>
How you see this car is up to if you like this styling.
Other than its styling, this is not too good or bad compared to the cars in the same grade.

Good Review

Page 1 of 1

Latest Reviews for Cars

Opinyon ko lang, para sa akin hindi durable ang engine parts ng toyota rush. Kasi naman my mommy lola was gone long enough sa state at iniwan niya sa Manila ang toyota rush niya at hindi ito ...Read more

  • Rating : 3.5
  • Review by dona chang
  • Date : Jun 20, 2018

Because my beloved car broke down and I had to replace it, I tried 2016 model. My previous car was the previous model of this one, 2.4L 4WD. <exterior> I cannot believe it is a 10-yera-old car. I ...Read more

  • Rating : 3.5
  • Review by Japanese user
  • Date : Feb 17, 2017

I can say that this car is really powerful kasi we used it muddy, rocky, steep and we did not encounter any problems with it. Its a really reliable car, it can even tow a little car in case na may ...Read more

  • Rating : 5.0
  • Review by Jerielyn Magbanua
  • Date : Jun 13, 2018
View Mode: PC | Mobile