Toyota Alphard Reviews

Toyota Alphard MPV L_11

Toyota Alphard 2nd Generation 2015-
  • Toyota Alphard MPV S_11
  • Toyota Alphard MPV S_21
  • Toyota Alphard MPV S_31
  • Toyota Alphard MPV S_41
  • Toyota Alphard MPV S_71
  • Toyota Alphard MPV S_81
  • Toyota Alphard MPV S_91
  • Toyota Alphard MPV S_101
More Photos
  • Production 2002 - present
  • Minivan 5-door, large MPV style model featuring a maximum 8-seating arrangement; has three variants; primarily targeted for Japanese and South-Asian customers.
  • Toyota Alphard features 2GR-FE 3.5L, V-6 cylinder engine producing 276HP/250lbft torque; has superCVT automatic 7-speed power transmission;FWD & AWD platform.
  • Focus on strong, unique, sophisticated exterior design, luxurious interior; safety features include blind corner, back guide monitoring & radar cruise control.

New & Used prices

Models by year

Tire

Reviews

Forum

Overall Rating

exterior 4.4
interior 4.6
engine performance 3.8
travelling performance 3.7
ride quality 4.3
fuel efficiency 3.5
Total 4.1

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 5, 2017
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 3.0
travelling performance 3.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 4.0

2.5L Special editinon

I got it new, and drove about 500km in town and on expressways. To be honest, it is not as good as European cars in terms of drivability, stability at high speed and quietness. Having said that, it is enough and necessity and it categorized as a luxury car. (I didn't buy this for drivability in the first place.)

The quality and quietness has been improved so much that it is not even comparable with 20 series Alphard. If you are a 20 series owner, you can see the difference. It is natural, but if your previous car was of Lexus or Benz, this is not so good. In short, everyone would feel differently.

If I point out minor things in the function, the sound of door mirrors, the sound of opening and closing of the sunroof and the window is totally different from 20 series Alphard; it is smoother and quieter.
Also, if I touch the door lock even while the sliding door is closing, all the doors lock automatically when the door shuts when getting off the car. It is a small thing, but I find it convenient.
Also, long sliding seat of the passenger seat is very useful. When my child on the second row seat starts crying, my wife can easily take care of him. The second row is roomy, so my wife says it is easier to get the child changed.

As for the fuel efficiency, no matter how hard I try, it gets less than 10km/l. This is for those who would like to drive in a relaxed manner; this is not for those who change lane often on expressways or seek drivability.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 12, 2017
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 4.7

Toyota's flagship. Just amazing.

S-grade 8 seater. I have traveled 4000km in three months.
The more I drive, the more I get to like this.

My previous car was HiAce. Though they are both minivans, it is not comparable with its great drivability and comfort.

This is only my personal impression, but it is not at all powerless even when 8 adults are in the car.

I tried 3.5L EL. It does have more torque, but if you drive carefully with eco mode, there is no point going for 3.5L; it is for rich people. Well, if your money is not limited, going for 3.5L is an option.

No matter what grade you go for, they are all categorized as "Alphard."

Because I spend a night in a car, I definitely wanted a 8seater; so there was only one choice, S.

It says the third row is for three people, but it actually is for two people. The seating is for two, so if you sit at the middle, your bottom hurts, and you would be sitting at higher seating position. I personally like the third row the best, though. I think it has the best holability and comfort.

It is very quiet.

Because I use idle stop, I feel happy at idle stop when waiting to turn right at busy intersection.

It makes driving a lot easy when it is following the car in front.

I was also amazed with the automatic parking. The driver doesn't have to keep pressing the brake. I am used to it now, but for the first month, my body remembered to put it in P, so when the engine started or when getting at the destination, my hand automatically went to the hand brake.

Intelligent clearance sonar at low speed sounds alarm too loudly where I can still go closer, and it automatically stops with too much space left; I don't use it now.

As for fuel efficiency, I know I have to give up here; it is 12.8km/l on the catalogue with idle stop, but it actually is 7km/l or so. ON expressways, it is about 10km/l driving at 100km/h. It is not as good as I expected.

Other than the fuel consumption which is the matter of software, in terms of hardware, this is truly amazing.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 26, 2017
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 3.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 4.0

I have traveled 2,000km after purchase.

<exterior>
After the full model change, I thought, "Uh-oh." But after a year, I started to get used to its look, and it started to look cool with its lion-like look. I still love it. It is amazing what getting used to does.

<interior>
Around the cockpit looks luxurious. I like it.

<engine performance>
It is a little powerless. When I press the accelerator a little hard, the engine makes sound that makes me feel uneasy. Having said that, I don't press the accelerator that often, so 2.5L is enough for driving in town or for a trip. Enough and necessary.

<drivability>
No problem.

<comfort>
I heard it was as god as Crown, which made me excited, but I can see the clear difference with Crown. But compared to the previous model my friend drives, this is amazingly better. This is the fact.

<fuel efficiency>
Not good. But I only have to fill it up less than once a month, so I don't mind it. It is about 8km/l mainly driving in town.

<price>
Considering is look, satisfaction you get from owning, ride quality and resell value, this is inexpensive.

<overall>
Now I look forward to weekends. This the biggest advantage. Because I enjoy driving, I go out more actively with my family. My wife now seems to think better of me... Happy family is priceless.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 6, 2017
exterior 2.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 2.0
travelling performance 2.0
ride quality 3.0
fuel efficiency 2.0
Total 2.7

It is a knockout.

I think its interior is well done. Toyota is really good at doing interior. They are not putting too much cost there, but they are good at making them look spending money there. The ride quality is a little soft, but it is good!

It does roll. We go "wow" at curves.

When I park next to a M class minivan, it looks totally different in size. It gives e a sense of superiority.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 4, 2017
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 4.5

Good.

"I'm writing a review as I have traveled about 1,000km.

<exterior>
When I first saw it, it was so terrible that I even laughed. But once I got used to it, it started to look cool.

<interior>
I got DOP 10inch GPS monitor. I got 12.1inch monitor for the rear, too. 10inch monitor is quite big! The image quality is good. I might not have needed a monitor for the rear. It seems the GPS system is the same type as my previous car, Harrier, and the usability is simple. It is big and easy to see. But it is not one easy step to turn it on or off, which I find slightly inconvenient. It is easy to connect with my mobile, iPhone, but I cannot use hands free phone for some reason. I read the instruction manual many times, but I couldn't. I rebooted my iPhone for other problem, and it became OK. If you are experiencing the same problem, please give it a try.

<engine performance>
I chose 2.5L petrol. When I tried 2.4L Harrier 30 series, I thought it was powerless and I got 3.5L. But with this engine, 2.5L is satisfactory. It doesn't have outstanding acceleration, but when it drives this big car over 2t, this is excellent. I was looking for a car that I can drive relaxed, but this does better than I expected.

<drivability>
What I was surprised the most with this is its drivability. Though it is this big, it turns well. It doesn't roll much, and it is easier to turn compared to my previous car. Even on the road where my previous car would have jumped, this doesn't with its suspension getting the shocks.

<comfort>
The wheels are standard 18inch ones, but the one with 17inch wheels might have felt better. Having said that, as I wrote above, it has the easiness in turning at curves and it probably is thanks to this 18inch wheels. I thought about going for 17inch wheels when I got it, but for my usage, 18inch probably was a right choice (I drive relaxed, but sometimes I want to drive briskly). The ride quality of the driver seat is not bad, but the second row is amazing. I would like to sit there, but somehow, I always am the driver.

<fuel efficiency>
8km/l at the moment. I drive 25km one-way for commuting. I expected it to be better as I read some reviewers saying it does 10km/l, but this might be reasonable.

<overall>
It is such a good car. I don't have much complaint.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 24, 2016
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 3.0
travelling performance 3.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

I finally got used to this.

It's been 7 months since purchase. I have traveled over 15,000km, so I would like to write a review.

<exterior>
This is up to each person's taste. To be honest, I thought it looked like Transformer with its big grille at first, but now I got used to it driving it every day. Another reason I got used to this is that I see this model often in town as this is Toyota's popular model.
It has many plated parts, so it looks uneven when it is not wiped properly...

<interior>
I am not writing about how comfortable the second seat is as everyone is talking about it.
Driver seat is comfortable, too. The texture of semi-aniline leather is wonderful. I chose flaxen for color, so I assume dirt stands out, but it looks good.
The damper of the rear doors may be weak, and it started to make squeaky noise as I open and shut it every day.

<drivability>
Because the ride quality is just comfortable, I am not writing about it here.
It is easy to grasp the size of the car, too.
It feels more comfortable than its previous model. I had a chance to drive Alphard previous model as a loaner vehicle the other day, but it jumped surprisingly a lot. This improvement is good, but it still has room for improvement. I personally prefer more firm ride quality, but when you think about passengers on the second seat, this might be good.
Because the engine is 2.5L, it does make roaring sound. If you seek quietness and smoothness, you should go for V6.

<fuel efficiency>
I think it is reasonable for this big sized car.

<price>
I think those who buy this grade don't worry about price much, to be honest. But as a driver who has been driving Alphard from its early model, I just think this look became splendid, but the price got splendid, too.

<overall>
All in all, this is a good car. Velfire seems to sell better still, but I see Alphard more often in center of Tokyo. This is not fun to drive; This is a car to drive comfortably. When I want to enjoy driving, I drive Axela LOL. This is perfect as a car to drive with my family or my friends. It has every equipment user would want, too.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 21, 2016
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 3.0
travelling performance 3.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 4.0

It really is a good car

It's my impression after driving 600km in about two weeks after delivery.
I decided on this for its design and interior, so I have no complaints with it. The pushy powerful look of the front grille is good. As for interior, it has high-end feel with its instrument panel and seat, and they match nicely with the interior color, black.
As for joy of driving, because it weighs over 2t and the engine is 2.5L, there is nothing interesting about its acceleration and steering. However, it has new functions like radar cruise, and that makes driving a lot easy; I don't mind long distance travel with this.
Especially, the ride quality of the second seat is outstanding. It is roomy enough for an adult to sit with his/her legs crossed. I even fall asleep without noticing.
All in all, it is an excellent car even considering its negatives in driving. This is my first Alphard, but I would like to get Alphard again when I get a new car.

Good Review

loiza94

  • Review by loiza94
  • May 25, 2017
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

Toyota Alphard

Ito yung regalo ko para sa aking family ang minivan na ito kasi i just realized kasi na family ko ang gagamit so mas gusto ko yung spacious na sasakyan and this one is the best kasi kilangan ko rin ng sasakyan na mahusay matagal na rin kasi akung nag tatrabaho sa ibang bansa at mas maganda kung pag uwi ko enjoy kami ng family ko sa travel gamit ang sasakyan namin medyo may kamahalan nga ito pero garantisadung mag tatagal ang sasakyan na ito maganda din talaga ang design at ang engine kaya for me masasabi kung naka pili ako ng isang magandang sasakyan at matibay.

  • Generation

    2nd Generation 2015-

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 28, 2016
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.7

My impression after traveling over 20,000km since the delivery in March 2015

<exterior>
At first, I thought the design of the front grille was too much, but now I got used to it, I came to like its intrepid face. I like the neo-futuristic design from diagonally back the best. The quality of painting with self-restoring coat is high, too.

<interior>
It differs depending on the grade, but this looks more luxurious than its rival cars, so I am pretty happy about it. I wish the resin part of the door panels had more high-end feel, but it would be difficult when it is this roomy.

<engine performance>
It has enough power and torque though it is 2.5L petrol engine. I don't feel it's powerless for daily use. If I have to point out, it does struggle a little when I overtake on expressways. The vibration and noise when it restarts from idle is suppressed.

<comfort>
The thing I was the most amazed with this car from replacing my previous Stepwgn is its ride quality. Having said that, it doesn't roll big at curves, and it drives stably all the time. I don't get shocks on the seams of roads or small bumps. I am very happy with this. I feel safe to put a little baby in this car.

<fuel efficiency>
I don't worry about being fuel economical when I drive but it is about 10km/l. It does about 12km/l for driving on expressways or in suburban area. This is satisfactory considering this size.

<price>
It cost me about 5,000,000yen in total when I added factory-installed GPS system, safety equipment and twin moon roof. But I think it's worth it, and this price is reasonable.

<overall>
I can feel higher quality than its price, and all my family is very happy with this. Especially, if you attach importance to comfort, I can recommend this.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Dec 28, 2015
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 2.0
Total 4.5

Amazing

I got a quote in late November. I ordered straightaway, and I got it delivered on the 27th November. My previous car was of 10 series. Because they gave me a big discount, I decided on it without hesitation.
This is amazing.
I was not fully happy with its price; it was expensive as its selling point was luxury. But that's the only disadvantage.
I will enjoy driving next year.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Nov 22, 2015
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 4.0

I replaced 20Alphard with this

<exterior>
I like its traditional Toyota face. I especially like its front. But the window wipers make vibrating noise with the glass-coated window. This is not good.

<interior>
This has been improved compared to 20series. But LED room light is not bright enough.

<engine performance>
My previous car had 4-cylinders, and I was not unhappy about it. But I got V6 which I wanted. It drives well and the fuel consumption seems not so bad.

<drivability>
It is fast. Some may wonder if it is necessary for a minivan, but this is self-complacent.

<comfort>
Much better than 20 series. As good as Crown. Well, it may be not that good, but it is passable.

<fuel efficiency>
8km/l on local roads, 11km/l on highways. I think this is reasonable.

<price>
It got more expensive, but it cannot be helped for this upgrade. I think it's OK.

<overall>
I'm satisfied. The window wipers are bad, though.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Nov 6, 2015
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.8

I was impressed with the improvement after 8 years

<exterior>
Because this is a design, it's up to each person's taste. I didn't like this at first, but I came to love it. I especially find Z on its sides is fantastic.

<interior>
It has a high-end feel, and I'm happy here, too.
I wish it had storage under the centre console. (My previous car had)

<engine performance>
My previous car was not so common Elysion prestige, and it had a sporty engine. So I feel this engine is rather quiet, but I like its relaxed feel.

<drivability>
This is again the comparison with my previous car, but its suspensions have softness, and easy to drive. I'm happy with its acceleration, too.

<comfort>
It feels wobbly compared to my previous car. But it is not that bad.

<fuel efficiency>
I knew this before purchase. I just hope the petrol price goes down not as much as economic climate goes bad.

<price>
I might have been fooled by Toyota's strategy. I'm going to work hard.

<overall>
Until February, I was planning to keep driving Elysion. When I did a test drive at MEGA WEB and the dealer, it arose my interest. I ordered this in March, and got it delivered in the end of August. It was long, but was fun to wait, too.
Now, I'm looking forward to every weekend.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Nov 4, 2015
exterior 1.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 2.0
travelling performance 1.0
ride quality 1.0
fuel efficiency -
Total 1.6

Thinking about buying this

<interior>
It looks more luxurious than 20 series.

<engine performance>
I wish it was more powerful, but it is good enough to drive in town.
If you want more power, go for 3.5 or hybrid.

<drivability>
It is not a type of car that excites me as I drive.

<comfort>
It is not comfortable.
It has knocking up feel on bumpy or uneven roads possibly because of the height of the car. It may improve if you lower the car.

<fuel efficiency>
I don't know as I only did a test drive.

<price>
Even the lowest grade model costs 3,000,000yen. Too expensive.

<satisfaction>
I'm very unhappy even though I haven't bought it.

<overall>
No character or charm.
All my family members were unhappy, so I'm not getting it.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Oct 21, 2015
exterior 4.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.5

Changes a lot in 10 years

<exterior>
I didn't like its rugged look when it first came on the market. I even thought about waiting for a next car to be released. But now I'm used to it and I even think it has a high-end feel to it.

<interior>
It's black, so it looks good with white body.
The interior of SC seems to be made to give high-end feel. When I did a test drive of SA, the seat sank, but SC felt different. I'm assuming the material is different not just the outside but the inside, too.
The console box looks luxurious, too, but it would have been more convenient for women if it was like a little table so that they could put bags on.

<engine performance>
My previous one was 2.4, so no problem.

<drivability>
I've only driven 50km. No problem so far.

<comfort>
Excellent. I was worried as its wheels are 18-inch, but I didn't have to. It is quiet and we don't feel any vibrations or shakes. My family is happy and says it is like a plane.

<fuel efficiency>
I don't know yet, but I think it is better than 10 years ago.

<price>
It is about 1,000,000yen more than 10 years ago. But I think it is natural as its function has been improved and feels more comfortable.

<overall>
I'm happy with my purchase. I could still use my previous car, but it has changed a lot in 10 years; not only the look but the functions and comfort, too.
I feel like going for a long distance travel. I will enjoy this car for a while.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Oct 24, 2009
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.3

In short, it is a car that you can't take seriously.

I have continuously owned a minivan and this will be my 5th minivan. I always purchase a new car and replace it in 2 or 3 years after the purchase. Stepwgn(1st generation) -> Stepwgn(2nd generation) -> Stepwgn (3rd generation) ->Current Voxy ->This car.

Since Honda and Nissan minivans were not so attractive, I had no choice but to select Toyota again.

I do not need navigation system and aero parts, so the low end 2400X model is good enough for me. All models except X are equipped with 50 or 60 series sport tire, which can spoil the operability and the sportiness of the car. Please drive and compare it.
It depends on a person's preference, but I feel the 65 tire is perfect for me.

I do feel the heavy weight of 2t as expected, but even with the 2400cc it runs pretty well/lightly. The problem is when going downhill. It will roll down that hill just like you would expect a 2t object to, and the engine break barely works (even when you shift-down to 3 or 2-speed, the engine will make a sound but it will still barely slow down.) You will have to completely rely on the break. 2t is probably too heavy for a car.
Yet the steering wheel is easy to turn, easy to manage, little body roll, good for a Toyota vehicle. Suspension is a bit too soft which makes me sick, but I am now used to it. It takes a lot of patience before you get used to it as far as ride comfortability goes and that is how they put their priority in making this vehicle. So naturally you cannot expect sporty drive at all.

Its interior received a lot of harsh reviews, but to me it became a lot better than the previous vehicle(VOXY).
Most of the Toyota cars are prioritizing cost-down, and are therefore made of cheaper material so you will have to give up on certain things. However, while I feel this way, I also see how well Honda cars are made, which makes me feel Toyota is showing a lack of sincerity to their customers by delivering such cheaply made cars. How inconvenient the make of their cars are is now a signature of Toyota. They do not consider ergonomics at all. It is not just the appearance of the car, but also things as simple as how useful the AC system is...there is no comparison between Toyota and Honda (Honda is better.) Please try it out for yourself.
On another note, this vehicle does not have enough storage space as you might expect for a large-size car. Trinket box located at the right knee area of driver's seat so small that my purse does not get in. On the other hand, the drink holder is too big in diameter the PET bottle wabbles. It is possibly because it is designed to hold a one-liter paper soft-drink container. I just wonder if there are so many people who drink paper soft-drink container during the drive.

I drive with manual mode. Fuel mileage is about 9 to 11 k.p.l. in city streets(depending on how congested the road is), 12-13 k.p.l. on the tollways. It is about 10 percent less than that of VOXY.

To have better fuel mileage, I shift up to seventh shift gear before the velocity reaches 60 k.p.h. then leave it as the vehicle goes. When waiting for the traffic signal to change I need to turn off the engine though it is cumbersome. It could be more convenient if it has something like Mazda's i-stop (automatic engine-stop device).

Although there are a lot of unfavorable things about this vehicle, I can drive this car calmly and comfortably. Still as I mentioned above, I feel sorry because there are a number of frivolousness involved in the making of this vehicle.

However, the fact that Honda and Nissan make such sincere and good quality cars but do not sell nearly as well as Toyota, who is less sincere, makes a statement that the thing that makes a car popular is not that. It is true, that I do not feel any desire or attraction towards the ELGRAND or ELYSION. This is a scary car that knows and delivers on the key selling points, without relying on the Toyota name.

But I foresee people getting bored of it in two years or so.
It is not a rip-off for sure but it is something like you are dating with a beautiful woman, and after one year relationship... , you know what I mean.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 3, 2014
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 2.0
travelling performance 3.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.2

Quiet

As I am used to German cars, the hybrid seems weak.
However, the comfort quality is mild.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 3, 2011
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.8

240s (silver gray)

I really think that this car is affordable but very classy.
It is very spacious and roomy. In addition, the vehicle height is quite descent so that I could feel a sense of superiority although I have considered purchasing Sedan.
Once you experienced riding a comfortable minivan, you do not have any doubts purchasing this kind and would not choose other vehicles.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jun 29, 2014
exterior 4.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 3.0
ride quality 3.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 3.3

I switched from the 10 series.

[Exterior] The exterior looks Toyota-ish. The headlight was designed thinner than the 10-series which is better. However the preferences of the large front grille and the plating that has been used in many places will depend on individual preferences.

[Interior] The interior is also designed very Toyota-ish. There is only one dashboard storage compartment so the 10-series was better. The sunglasses holder is useless. It makes clattery noise. The 10-series was better on the whole.

[Engine Performance] I was previously driving 3000 cc but I chose 3500 cc this time.

My previous car had a Drive-by-cable system (earlier model), but my current car uses a Drive-by-wire system. It may improve the fuel efficiency but the acceleration is not enough. (The response was not quick enough.) I installed a throttle controller and the problem was resolved. It has totally changed. (As a matter of course, the fuel efficiency has worsened.)

[Driving Performance] My previous car was a front-wheel drive but I chose a 4-wheel-drive this time. It's because my previous car kept losing traction and wheels tended to spin when it rained. Now, it's not spinning at all.

I didn't expect a lot since it was an on-demand 4WD, but it's a well-made 4WD that will always distribute the driving force to the rear wheel when the car starts moving. I usually select 4WD except on the freeway. I have no complaint about the engine because it's a 3500cc, but you'll feel a considerable vibration, since it's a transverse-mounted V6 engine. I also considered purchasing a hybrid model and did a lot of test-drive (like before when I was purchasing the previous car), but I decided not to buy it because it had a good acceleration only when you put the car in drive, and had a poor acceleration beyond that point. Also, I couldn't enjoy the sound of the four-cylinder engine, when the engine starts. I thought it was relatively expensive for its performance.

[Comfortability] It is not as good as I thought. It will easily transmit bumps in the road to the driver. It is probably due to the poor quality of the suspension, but it cannot be improved even by Regno tire. I think 10 series was better.

[Fuel Efficiency] If you drive in town without caring the fuel efficiency, it's 4.5 km/l and 6.5 km/l if you drive slowly. If you drive the freeway, it's around 10 to 12 km/l. If the air conditioner is turned on, fuel efficiency will drop by 10%. If you care about the fuel efficiency, you better not drive this car. I have more chances visiting the gas station so my car is always clean. (I often wash my car at the gas station.)

[Price] I think the price is reasonable. However, you can tell that the cost has been held down when you touch the interior. (Accelerator /steering has been digitized, assembling process in the production line has been significantly reduced.)

[General Comments] I chose the eight-seater type since I wanted my whole family of five sit without using the third-row seat. However, you cannot select a rear-power-door option for an eight-seater, no sunroof for 4WD, as for the special edition car which offers reasonable price; you can only select a few body colors. I wasn't happy with the range of choices, since it was limited.

I see many reviews here with disatisfaction, but my overall satisfaction is ""normal"". Despite my disatisfaction, on the other hand, this car stands out with its excellent 4WD. Also, those noise issues that were seen in the various part on 10 series (i.e. slide door) have been mostly improved, so the frequency of the claims I had to make to the dealer have dramatically decreased. I found this car with a normal evolution making improvements while saving the cost.

Good Review

Page 1 of 1

Latest Reviews for Cars

Itong Toyota Avanza ay maaasahan talaga sa kahit anung byahe. Maganda ito na bilhin kasi marami ang pwedeng sumakay sa look kaya sabi nila its a good family car siya at totoo naman kasi malaki ang ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by Nathaniel Dude
  • Date : Oct 16, 2018

I truly would like to recommend this car if you are looking for one and a beginner. It so small and easy to drive around town. I am never disappointed with its quality because everything in it was ...Read more

  • Rating : 5.0
  • Review by Mary Grace Olarte
  • Date : Oct 16, 2018

Overpricing po sakin but I know na maganda siyang gamitin. May practical wisdom po yung gumagawa ng ganitong vehicle. With regards sa interior and exterior niya wala akong masabi kasi sobrang ganda. ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by shaney Limar
  • Date : Oct 15, 2018
View Mode: PC | Mobile