Toyota 86 Reviews

Toyota 86 coupe L_1

Toyota 86 1st Generation 2012-
  • Toyota 86 coupe S_1
  • Toyota 86 coupe S_2
  • Toyota 86 coupe S_3
  • Toyota 86 coupe S_4
  • Toyota 86 coupe S_5
  • Toyota 86 coupe S_6
  • Toyota 86 coupe S_7
  • Toyota 86 coupe S_8
More Photos
  • Production 2012 - present
  • Also known as Scion FR-S, Subaru BRZ
  • Toyota 86 is an affordable two-seater Coupe, powered by a naturally aspirated 2.0 L engine, producing 147 kW, along with 205 Nm of torque.
  • Its engine block is hooked on to an optional six speed manual/automated transmission system, aiding power displacement, while helping the Toyota 86 return 25/34 MPG city/freeway.
  • Its rivals in class include the Volkswagen Golf GTi and Mitsubishi Lancer Ralliart. It is not just the cheapest among the three, but is also the most refined and reliable.

New & Used prices

Models by year

Tire

Reviews

Forum

News

Overall Rating

exterior 4.4
interior 3.5
engine performance 3.9
travelling performance 4.1
ride quality 3.6
fuel efficiency 3.3
Total 3.8

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 2, 2017
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.8

I bought a later model 4 months ago. I have traveled 9,000km.

<exterior>
I fell in love with the face of the later model, and I got it. My family and friends give good comments on it, too.
It is said that it was designed with 200GT on its side. It surely has the similar crease line.
I chose Azurite blue. It is more reddish than I thought it would be. I prefer Galaxy blue silica of the early model, but I get good comments on it, too, so I like it. I would get TDR aero parts if it comes in blue, but it doesn't, so I am driving it as it is. I really want them to make one!

<interior>
Compared to GT limited, GT's seat is cheap. I wish my budged allowed... It has a lot more luxurious feel than early model with the instrument panel and with the steering. I am happy with that. It wouldn't be a problem to sit at the back if it is behind the passenger seat (Up to 170cm.) I have done 2-hour drive with three of us several times, but no one had complaints. Because we are physically close to each other with this car, it was easy to talk to. I was not impressed with its original 8 speakers much. I would like to get them changed when I have enough money.

<engine performance>
It feels like being pulled strongly with pleasant sound when I press the accelerator. You cannot use this power fully on public roads, but you can enjoy its powerfulness on uphill or merging on expressways. How it goes up smoothly to high rpm is pleasant.
I thought sound creator would be useless, but it actually does a good job.

<drivability>
I think it is easily influenced by weight. It works totally differently when I drive by myself and when I drive with someone else. When I drive this by myself, it has amazing acceleration and deceleration and cornering ability; it works just like the way I want it to. When two people are in the car, it works quietly. I know it is difficult to do so, but I want you to do a test drive by yourself. I think it is difficult to tell the charm of 86 unless you drive by yourself.

<comfort>
As it has been said, the feel of it touching the ground is excellent. The suspension is normal. I felt relieved that passengers don't mind this ride quality. The seating position is low, which is a disadvantage, but you get used to it. Actually, now I feel like it lowering it more.

<fuel efficiency>
9km/l for commuting, 15km/l on expressways according to the meter.

<overall>
As for driving, because this is MT and is wide, I was nervous about driving this at first. However, I got used to it in one month. In another month, I found out how to drive this pleasantly. I would like to try driving on the circuit. I'm so excited.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Dec 30, 2015
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 3.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

It was delivered on the 23rd December

<exterior>
Modellista aero, LED fog, and I installed HID while keeping G-lighting shape. I'm happy with it.

<interior>
It is simple for ST series, but I knew it before purchase, so I don't mind it. I said it was simple, but it has no problem for actual use.
But because it is quite cramped, I recommend you to sit in a driver seat at least once.

<engine performance>
It is well made considering it is 2000cc NA engine.
I like its characteristic sound of horizontally-opposed cylinder engine. I cannot bring myself to like its rattling sound at very low speed, though.

<drivability>
Hard. You should try its hardness doing a test driving on bumpy roads.

<fuel efficiency>
Because I don't get in traffic jams much, it is pretty much the same as the fuel efficiency written on the catalogue. It uses high-octane fuel, but it is passable.

<price>
It's up to each person if they decide this is cheap or not...
I was able to buy this within my budget as a sales rep from the dealer gave me a big discount and high trade-in price.

<overall>
I fell in love with this with just one test drive, and I bought it. This is for my personal use. (I have a family car for my family.)
It chooses its driver, and this is in a niche position in the Japanese car market. I like this for it.
I would like to cherish this car for along time.

Good Review

MJ The cute!

  • Review by MJ The cute!
  • Dec 14, 2016
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

The toyota 86 car

It was the nice and cute car the Toyota 86 its like a sporty type of car so it was nice to have it. The engine performance is perfect cause its original and its in a good conditions. it was also run s fast in off road still run fast so its best to have it. When I used and ride this car I was so safe on this car and feel so relax and the gasoline is not big expensive.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Dec 9, 2015
exterior 4.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 3.0
travelling performance 3.0
ride quality 3.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 3.2

Perception gap?

I read in the magazine that the developer was saying "customize it in your way like AE86", so I decided to buy it. But the dealer didn't admit changing parts even though the third party company of those parts said they were compatible. They said they wouldn't pass their standard and didn't let me customize it. Even though I bought this car, I felt like I'm only renting it. I didn't feel like it's MY car. So I gave it up.

Good Review

Renz Topas

  • Review by Renz Topas
  • Oct 27, 2016
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

The toyota is best car worth it.

Now I will not be lazy going home to our province because I have my own car so I can go anytime if I really want it. I like to used my car because the design was very sporty and love it the most. Of course the most I like on is it will run so fast and it its good for a very long distance travelling cause it was so great car. I really like to used it cause I feel safe and comfortable, And the fuel efficiency is good cause its not big expensive so much great.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Nov 24, 2015
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 3.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 2.0
fuel efficiency 2.0
Total 3.2

My first sports car

This is my first sports car, so I cannot compare with other sports car. You can enjoy the feel of driving a sports car with this.

When you drive sensibly on local roads, there's not much difference to normal cars. Even when you drive roughly on corners and that, this keeps its tires on the road. This car has bilateral character.

Some people say it is not powerful enough, but that is this car's theme, and you should know this beforehand. If you want power, you should go for Lancer Evolution.

Also, some say its interior looks cheap, but this is sporty and cool. Especially the door trim looks cool.

I was planning to buy it with MT; I had an old-fashioned idea and thought it was nonsense to drive a sports car with AT. But I did a test drive with AT, and I decided on it right away.
This AT is different to other AT. I don't know much about machines, but I get different feeling.

My only other car with AT I've driven was Porsche. It is much more fun to drive this one. This car might be just easier to handle, but I thought the high price doesn't make sports car better.
Of course, the more expensive the car is, the higher the quality gets, but the joy of driving is not decided here.
It certainly is more boring than MT, but this is good. I think I can enjoy driving on mountain roads, too.

But because my previous car was HiAce, I feel this is too narrow... . It is not spacious, so it is not so good for long distance travel.
Too cramped... well, it is natural, though.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 2, 2014
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 4.0

You discover its charm once you drive the endangered species

[Exterior]
- Sexy if you take a close look at the design of the curvy front and rear bumpers.

[Interior]
I can tell the spirit in design because a tachometer is laid out in the center, etc. I give an A+ for the seats, too.

[Engine Performance]
It starts well from the lower speed with sufficient torque. However it is a flat torque, it doesn't have an excitement for rotating it, and the engine noise is not sensual either. I would say it is less than 200ps maybe? The actual could be more or less than 180ps or so: Toyota horsepower so to speak.
But as far as cruising , it is quiet but powerful without making rough noises. I am sufficiently satisfied with this car for my daily use.

[Driving Performance]
It optimizes the merit of its low center of gravity and FR. As an eco car, it runs through a corner in such a speed to have my heart stop beating. I enjoy cornering very much.

[Ride Quality]
It is hard and rocky so to speak, but it does not have a sense of cheapness with just simply fixing the suspension system. It is useful for commuting and long drive, too.

[Fuel Efficiency]
11km/L or so for a normal drive.
My previous car was a Hybrid, so if you use high octane gasoline it is twice as worse but if you compare increased gasoline fee with driving pleasure I think you can ignore it.

[Price]
I think it is reasonable if you take into account that car body, engine, chassis cost money for development but paying 3000000 JPY is hard for white-collared workers.

[General Comments]
It is comfortable to get in and out of the car, you can put a lot of luggage into the car, there are a lot of space for the rear passengers - I think it is not that type of a car which you choose according to the requirements of the standard family.
To express it in a few words, only those who are car lovers and feel good when they drive at the limit of speed becoming one whole with the car can appreciate the attractiveness of this car.

There are many small details that are not sufficiently elaborate, but considering that this is the best Japanese car maker that has the best HV cars, uses natural air intake engine and prefers four wheel drive design has made an effort to develop and produce this FR wheel drive Coupe with bad space use efficiency, I have entered my vote to appreciate their effort.

It is left to say that because this car is truly a rare endangered species, we as users have the duty to carefully preserve it.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Dec 14, 2013
exterior 5.0
interior 1.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 1.0
Total 3.2

It makes too much noise!

There is some annoying snap-snap, clutter-clutter noise somewhere around a high mount stop light. I had it examined at the dealer shop a number of times but the problem still persists.

It truly ruined the fun of driving. It really makes me mad!

Good Review

Page 1 of 1

Latest Reviews for Cars

Itong Toyota Avanza ay maaasahan talaga sa kahit anung byahe. Maganda ito na bilhin kasi marami ang pwedeng sumakay sa look kaya sabi nila its a good family car siya at totoo naman kasi malaki ang ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by Nathaniel Dude
  • Date : Oct 16, 2018

I truly would like to recommend this car if you are looking for one and a beginner. It so small and easy to drive around town. I am never disappointed with its quality because everything in it was ...Read more

  • Rating : 5.0
  • Review by Mary Grace Olarte
  • Date : Oct 16, 2018

Overpricing po sakin but I know na maganda siyang gamitin. May practical wisdom po yung gumagawa ng ganitong vehicle. With regards sa interior and exterior niya wala akong masabi kasi sobrang ganda. ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by shaney Limar
  • Date : Oct 15, 2018
View Mode: PC | Mobile