Suzuki Alto Reviews

Suzuki Alto Hatchback L_1

Suzuki Alto 8th Generation (Alto 800) 2014-
  • Suzuki Alto Hatchback S_1
  • Suzuki Alto Hatchback S_2
  • Suzuki Alto Hatchback S_3
  • Suzuki Alto Hatchback S_4
  • Suzuki Alto Hatchback S_5
  • Suzuki Alto Hatchback S_6
  • Suzuki Alto Hatchback S_7
  • Suzuki Alto Hatchback S_8
More Photos
  • Production 1979 - present
  • Also known as Suzuki Celerio
  • Suzuki Alto is powered by a four stroke three cylindered engine block that helps this hatchback accelerate from 0 – 60 kmph within 11.5 seconds.
  • It is offering maximum features and popular as a budget car, returning a practical fuel economy of 19 kmpl.
  • Small ergonomics of the Suzuki Alto enhance urban practicality, even though its interior is practical enough to accommodate 5 persons.

New & Used prices

Models by year

Reviews

Forum

Overall Rating

exterior 4.0
interior 3.5
engine performance 4.3
travelling performance 4.3
ride quality 3.7
fuel efficiency 4.1
Total 4.0

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 28, 2017
exterior 5.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 3.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.0

An amateur driver with not much driving technique shouldn't buy this.

You just have to change this car to suit your liking. You need to make this as a second car; it wouldn't make a good main car. It is made to run aggressively; that's it. Did someone say comfort? You cannot seek that for Works. As for style, it is not cool, but it is OK once you get used to it. Doesn't it remind you of box-shaped Skyline around its lightings?
Anyway, I am going to write a review on it. The response is quick. You get tired after driving in town, but it is pleasant to drive in mountains or on winding roads. You cannot go for long distance travel with this. You should enjoy short trips with this. I got it a year after its debut waiting for its custom parts to be on a market. Unless you drive on circuits, you don't need to customize to enjoy driving this. If you seek great texture, buy Lexus as a main car. It is a silly idea to seek great texture with kei-cars. The same thing can be said with your driving technique. If you are not good at driving, don't buy Works!! Thank you Suzuki for making a good car!

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 26, 2017
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 5.0

I got Works as a loner vehicle! It made me want it!

This is my impression after driving 200km when I got this as a loaner vehicle.

<exterior>
It is chic. It doesn't have odd design to make it look unique. Fashionable.

<engine performance>
I didn't hit the gas as this was a loaner vehichle, I felt more torque. This worked pleasantly.

<drivability, comfort>
AGS has been matured to work well with the engine with better performance. It has better acceleration than RS. I can see they sought joy of driving.
As for ride quality, it feels it got slightly harder, but it works well at tight corners too. Amazing Works!

<fuel efficiency>
I didn't fill it right up at the start, and I only have done 200km, but I think it is about 14km/l.
You probably can get the number on the catalogue depending on how you drive it.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 12, 2017
exterior 3.0
interior 2.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 3.8

I sold it…

The engine is torqueful from low speed, and it is fast. The transmission feels so rigid that I cannot believe it is a kei car. The body is rigid too. It doesn't squeak or sway at corners.
13-14km/l in town, 20-12km/l on expressways; fuel consumption is not bad.

The problem is its steering wheel being too far!
When I adjust the seat to the position right to the steering wheel, it is too narrow for operating the pedals; my knees shake after long distance travel. When I adjust it to the position right for the accelerator, my arms go straight and my shoulders get hurt.

The interior is cheap, too. The piano black panel for aircon gets dust a lot probably because of static electricity.

I drove it for about 10 months, but I sold it as I couldn't go for long touring with this...

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 11, 2017
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 3.0
ride quality 3.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 3.8

All in all, this is a good car.

To be honest, I don't care about the interior. You shouldn't ask for that kind of thing with Alto.

The engine performance is amazing. I couldn't forget its acceleration with boost, so I signed the contract several days after the test drive.
The fuel consumption doesn't go down unless you use boost. On the other hand, when you use boost, it uses a lot of fuel. This is a car you should rev it up.

As for ride quality, it is very hard. You get all the shocks from the road surface. With a terrible bump, my body jumped. Having said that, thanks to this hardness, it drives well at corners even at high speed. I am not intending to change at this stage. My priority is joy of driving rather than comfort.

As for muffler, you should think about it carefully. If you are thinking to getting it changed, it might be better to go for 4WD. Because FF's muffler is a unified one and you would nee do get it cut. With 4WD, on the other hand, you can just change the rear part...
The dealer rejected doing it for me as they had to cut it. It is not a difficult thing to do, so maybe I can do it...

As for seating position, I don't mind it as I am short. You can lower it with extra money, so it shouldn't be a problem.

Some like this and some don't, but all in all, this is a good car. As I mentioned before, you cannot seek good interior or comfort for Alto.
It is good for MT because of the age.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 16, 2017
exterior 2.0
interior 1.0
engine performance 3.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 2.0
fuel efficiency -
Total 2.4

What's wrong Suzuki? Previous model was better.

<exterior>
I think everyone has different taste, but I cannot accept this. The rear is only as good as a minitruck. I think it is dangerous.

<interior>
It is just cheap. The previous model had higher texture. It is not even as good as Mira e:s. I wonder why they didn't make the rear seat 50/50split fold seat.

<engine performance>
Because it is light, it feels more powerful than it really is. It is quiet, too.

<drivability>
It drives briskly thanks to its lightness. Kei is great!

<comfort>
Seat is too squishy, and I feel it is not for long distance travel. I want them to improve.

<overall>
It was disappointing. Both the design and interior are not good.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 16, 2016
exterior 3.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 3.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 3.3

I like where it is heading to

<exterior>
It has a proper Suzuki-look. I want them to think more freely, but I assume I can customize it.

<interior>
I think this is reasonable. I didn't mind seating position of Recaro much.

<engine performance>
It is quite powerful.

<drivability>
Shift lever is good. The clutch is light like kei-cars, and I find it good to play with it.

<comfort>
This is not that bad. I cannot get used to its braking.

<fuel efficiency>
Reasonable.

<overall>
Rather than getting a car like Abarth, which is difficult to handle and expensive, it would be better to get this and play with it freely. It won't be a bad purchase.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 8, 2016
exterior 2.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency -
Total 3.6

Stimulating

Below is a review after a test drive.

<exterior>
I don't like it much. If those who do not know much about cars see it, they would think it is ordinary Alto. If this at least has coloring like turbo RS... Well, everyone has different taste.

<interior>
It is inorganic and far from fashionable, but it is OK. Passable.
Many people talk about the seat height of Recaro seat, and yes, it certainly is high. But it is not Roadster or S660, so I don't mind it. It doesn't have footrest either, but it has no problem.

<engine performance>
More than I expected. The acceleration is amazing. But when it reaches 80km/h, you don't feel it as powerful. It cannot be helped because it is a kei car, I assume.
I gave it one less star because it noisy. You probably can drive it quietly if you try, but it would be difficult to do so on expressways. You have to put up with it.

<drivability>
Short stroking of the gear is good, but didn't feel crispy... I'm sorry I cannot explain it well.
Crossed gears are good, but I wish it had 6th speed... Maybe I am asking too much.

<comfort>
It is hard. But it is supposed to be so. Actually, those who fuss about this hardness should just avoid this.

<fuel efficiency>
N/A. I've only done a test drive.

<price>
I think it is reasonable.

<overall>
Exciting. It does have some disadvantages but it has excitement that covers them all. Imagine commuting in this car every day; it will be a great stress relief.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 3, 2016
exterior 3.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.3

Acceleration that makes me smile!

<exterior>
I think it is cool. Alto Works' stickers on sides may not be necessary.

<interior>
The feel of manual transmission is good. It is disappointing that it doesn't have footrest for left foot.
Legroom for rear seat is unexpectedly roomy.

<engine performance>
Exciting acceleration is fun.
I even wonder if it is OK to sell an energetic car like this in this ecology-orientated age. Especially torque at low speed is powerful, so I can enjoy its speed in town in acceleration like after turning intersection.
On the other hand, even when I rev it up to red zone, it doesn't pick up speed that much.

<drivability>
I only did a short test drive, so I don't know much, I think this has joy of driving a car with powerful engine.

<comfort>
It was not hard.

<fuel efficiency>
It did show about 12km on the display.

<price>
It is expensive for a kei car, but even expensive sports cars cannot offer drivers easy to understand joy more than Alto Works does.
I think you get good trade-in price for this, so I think it is reasonable.

<overall>
I was surprised that the make produced a car like this which accelerates radically in this ecology-orientated age. Please focus on this car if you like to drive energetically.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 28, 2016
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.2

Which to choose, Works or Turbo RS? I went for Works RS!

<exterior>
It is good that this has got the design which I cannot see elsewhere, but considering my age, it would have been better if there were sedate color choice like with Works or the ones which uses one color all over. I changed the color of the door mirrors from its standard color red to pearl white, which is the same as the body color. It looks more sedate thanks to it, and I think I made a right choice. I should have asked to take the decal off from the sides.

<interior>
It uses red here and there to match its exterior. I like it. It is a pity that it looks cheap as this is a kei car. The rear is very roomy (There is enough space for 180cm tall person). It is not good that the rear seat cannot be separated and reclined.
I liked Recaro seats of Works, but thinking that it costs 210,000yen more and also thinking about my lifestyle, I decided I wouldn't need that.

<engine performance>
The best for a kei car. The light body helps it here.

<drivability>
I feel uneasy with 5ASG. It's been two weeks since the delivery on the 15th January, but it still feels odd. I think I'll get used to it eventually.

<comfort>
I was attracted to Works' MT, but the suspension felt harder than Turbo RS. Thinking my family would be on this car, ride quality outweighed. In the end, I thought Turbo RS which I did a test drive with would be better.

<fuel efficiency>
Because my previous car was Legacy Touring Wagon 2.0GT spec B, I shouldn't compare them, but I am very happy with this.
I mainly drive for commuting (5km), so it probably is about 16km/l.

<price>
It is a fun kei car to drive with, and I don't have any big complaints. I only drive short distance. So including its running cost, this price is great.

<overall>
I am very happy with almost everything about this car (other than 5ASG).
The price difference with Works is 210,000yen. This is a difficult decision to make, but I think they should have made Works cheaper than Turbo RS by not putting Recaro seats and putting steel wheels rather than aluminum rim to let the owners customize. I hope they introduce Works' MT to Turbo RS. With the price difference, I think Turbo RS will be customizable including its exhaust system.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 22, 2016
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.7

A sporty model car with the best cost performance

<exterior>
It is obvious that they stole the idea of the color coordination from elsewhere, but it suits retro and simple new Alto. It even got said that it looked cool from children on the street a few times. If you don't know about Works or Recaro seats, this might look faster. The metallic feel of plated part and wheels of Enkei are good accents, and they are helping in reducing the cheap feel of Alto, which is the cheapest model.

<interior>
Just like its exterior, it is differentiated from standard models and it has better texture; it uses red and gilt, has piano black parts and it uses leather for steering and the gear shift boot. Especially the meters are easy to see, and it has good texture.
You cannot tell the difference of seats with standard ones, but when you sit, you get good support from it. The size is bigger than average vehicles', so putting aside Recaro seats, this is well-done for a popular price sporty car.
Also, thanks to the newly designed frame, it is amazingly light. I heard it has about 10kg difference with Recaro.
By using third party floor mats, which cover floor tunnel, you can reduce the amount of cheap grey floor carpets shown, so it increases the texture.

<engine performance>
The car is only 670kg. AGS, which actually is a standard dry clutch manual transmission, has direct feel, so it has acceleration, which no current domestic cars other than Works, can achieve. Even when it gets in the red zone, it still has power and you can experience direct accelerator response. It is excellent for a normal kei turbo car.

<drivability>
I can feel the advantage of this car being light; I can easily change my posture and the car works lightly. Having said that, I don't feel it is a kei-car other than its size; the feel I get allows me to drive with no worries at high speed.
Brake has rigidity, and it works well because the car is light. It does roll, but its turning circle is very small.
If you drive on winding roads often, you might want to harden it up and lower it.
About AGS everyone is talking about, as long as you can release the accelerator a little when it changes the gear, it has become a good transmission from update on its control program as the smoothness and the speed of changing the gear have been improved. If it was 500rpm higher in accepting downshift, it would be more fun. But thinking margin in case of over revving and engine protection, I understand it cannot be helped.

<comfort>
It is very good. It doesn't have knock up feel or hardness. It has good texture and firmness. Having said that, because it is an inexpensive car, it doesn't have high sound proofing performance. The engine sound, road noise and wind noise get inside the car while driving on highways. It is passable considering the car's characteristic, but it is not a type of car you can enjoy listening to music.

<fuel efficiency>
Because of constant stops in town and short distance travel, it is about 16km/l on average. It got 11km/l in summer, which was the worst, and it did 20km/l at its best when I traveled on highways mostly on right lane. It is better than my previous car, current model Moco, by a few km/l, so I think it is good for a turbo charged sporty kei car.

<price>
Without thinking the price of base Alto, and just by comparing it with other cars from other makes, this is a bargain. It is that well made. It has safety equipment like crash prevention function, too. (It probably can be cheaper if it didn't have that equipment.)

<overall>
The build of this car is as good as Evolution, Type R and STI of other makes other than its engine.

The framework of the body around its suspension got thicker, tower bar was added, the gusset is added on the door openings, it got additional welding on spot, and the rigidity of suspension push got improved. It has specialized suspension of KYB, 13inch ventilated front brake, Potenza RE050A, aluminum wheels which are based on Enkei all one, and it has the same gear ratio as former Works. This is a 5 speed AGS with which you can enjoy professional level shift down and smooth shift up which is better than amateur with its paddle shift anytime you like without any mistakes.

Other than the specialized manual transmission, new Alto Works is almost the same as this car. Also, according to the result of circuit and acceleration test on a magazine, Works is only faster by 0.5seconds than Turbo RS, so Turbo RS can be faster depending on the driver. Alto Works is only an improved version of Turbo RS in feeling and manual transmission.

If you don't have any problem with this car in terms of load and passenger capacity, you can drive this even if your license is only for automatic ones. This can be a family car which has everything with high cost performance. Other than the maintenance of cost on its tires, it is the same as other kei cars.
Because it has the same hardware with new Works, you can enjoy after parts and tuning. It is a great material to drive for fun.
If you know what driving a car with manual transmission is objectively, you can understand how well this AGS is made. If you don't feel reluctant to using AGS, I can recommend this with no hesitation.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 20, 2016
exterior 4.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 3.0
fuel efficiency -
Total 3.6

They offered me to drive a demo car freely for half an hour

A good friend of mine had a former Alto Works, so I have driven it many times. Times have changed, and Alto Works became gentle, too.

I find the seat position of Recaro seat is too high. I think they will start selling parts to lower it at aftermarket.

What I was surprised more was the fact that it didn’t have water temperature gauge in the meter! Vitz RS didn’t have it and I was surprised with it, too, but Alto Works is sportier than Vitz RS. Suzuki now cannot tell what they can omit and what not?

Also the sound of the blinker. It is the current Suzuki cars’ sound, but my Swift Sports doesn't sound like that, so I was surprised. If the next Swift Sports have that sound, I don’t think I would buy that.

The torque at low speed is enough, but it doesn’t do well once it reaches 6,000rpm. It is easy to use, but I wanted them to break their own limit of 64 horsepower.

It shows on the catalogue that it has KYB’s shock absorber, but it is average.

I was surprised how bad Potenza RE050 was. How can they call themselves Potenza with its grip power? I got the tires of my beloved Swift Sports changed to RE-11 right away, and now it has RE-71R. With different tires, the advantages and disadvantages of KYB’s shock absorber may become more obvious.

Well, as a kei-car over 2,000,000yen, this car’s cost performance is quite good. I am a Suzuki fan as they make inexpensive and fun cars.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 20, 2016
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 3.0
fuel efficiency -
Total 4.2

My impression after a test drive at a dealer

I only did a test drive at a dealer.

<exterior>
The front bumper garnish which looks like glasses are a little embarrassing; it makes it look like for young kids. But other than that, it has sedate feel to it. I prefer this to Turbo RS.

<interior>
This looks hardcore, too. I think it doesn't need to be piano black, but the interior, which uses all black produces high-end feel than normal Alto. It is not too much like Turbo RS, which I find it good, too.
Recaro seats are very comfortable to sit. I saw reviews that say the seat is too high, and I do agree that the point of view is not low like of sports cars'. But this is Alto in the first place, so they cannot lower it much. I didn't mind its height.

<engine performance>
As it is called Works, I thought it is a sort of car you drive revving it up to high rpm. I had imagined it would be hard to use for daily use. But it had enough torque from low rpm, and you can drive it gently without worrying about its engine sound for daily use.
When I accelerated as the traffic light changed, I got its dry high-pitched sound and powerful acceleration which I cannot believe it is of a kei car.
I think it is thanks to the lightness of the body. I got the feel that its goes forward smoothly, and that was very pleasant. I wowed unexpectedly, and the sales rep in the passenger smirked and said, “I understand.”
You'd be happy every day with this if you don't drive on highways and use this for commuting in suburban area.

<drivability>
The test driving course was former national route, so I couldn't see its marginal performance or anything, but you can feel the body's rigidity for its lightness. It doesn't squeak like cheap kei-cars.

<comfort>
I hear people say it is bad, so I was ready for it, but it wasn't that bad compared to Premacy I usually drive possibly because I only drove on well-paved roads like national route. I think its ride quality is better than NA, NC Roadster. You can feel its rigidity, so you can feel sense of security as you drive. Of course it is not great in ride quality as it is not that sort of car, but I think there are many cars that are less comfortable than this.
I have driven many cars using rentals for my work, but honestly, I didn't find this that bad.

<fuel efficiency>
N/A. I only did a test drive.

<price>
I don't drive that aggressively so I don't need Recaro seats. I want them to make it cheaper by making Recaro seats optional. But I think it is a good purchase; 1,500,000yen for this is reasonable.

<overall>
This was to replace my main car, so I ended up getting normal L-grade rather than this. My wife didn't want a car with manual transmission and this didn't fit in our budget. If I had more money, and this was a second car, it would be fun.

Four people can get in easily, and its cost of maintenance is cheap as it is a kei-car. I hadn't found a car I wanted this much for a long time. I would buy this when I get enough money.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 17, 2016
exterior 2.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 3.0
fuel efficiency -
Total 3.2

This is the fastest among kei cars.

I tried S660, old Beat (used), Copen and Alto Works all with manual transmission.
Copen was out of question as its engine feels sluggish and it is slow. I am 178cm and have long arms, but I have to reach out for a shift laver. It didn't feel sporty at all.
S660 was too heavy being 830kg. So it didn't have acceleration and cornering good enough to write here.
It is fun to drive Beat as I can bring it up to 9000rpm, but it feels powerless because it is NA. Its torque is only 6.1.
So light body of 670kg with torque over 10kgm won with its spec. Alto Works is the kei car you can enjoy driving the most.
I did like it, but didn't purchase it because it is only a kei car after all.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 16, 2016
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 5.0

I tried FF MT

I sold Palette SW NA, and I was looking for a car with manual transmission, which I always wanted to drive. Then I found new Alto Works.

<exterior>
I was surprised with its very unique front face. I fell in love with it.

<interior>
As my previous car was Palette SW, the capacity is less and it is not as roomy, but its rear seat is spacious. No problem.

<engine performance>
This is my first turbo charged car. I was surprised that it is a kei-car. I have no single complaint.

<drivability>
It has excellent acceleration and quick operation. No problem.

<comfort>
Its hard ride quality is amazing.

<fuel efficiency>
You cannot ask for it with turbo charged car.

<price>
Reasonable.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 10, 2016
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency -
Total 4.6

This is Suzuki's at its best

It can be said for Alto Works, too, but Suzuki's cars are great in cost performance.

<exterior>
It is excellent that it looks more massive than a normal Alto. It doesn't look cheap, so I think I cannot help looking at it if it is at a car park. As for the lines which make it look like a car of street racers, I would say it is not everyone's cup of tea.

<interior>
In one word, simple.
The rear is roomy and relaxing.
The driver seat reminds me of a cockpit. The seat feels hard and enhances excitement for driving.

<engine performance>
I thought it would roar a lot, but it accelerates smoothly from low speed.

<drivability>
It is stable. I didn't need to steer constantly.
AGS makes driving more fun. If you only have driven cars with CVT, you would get muddled. But you would get used to it right away.

<comfort>
This is well made. I realized the lightness of the body affects comfort a lot.

<fuel efficiency>
N/A. I only have done a test drive.

<price>
Texture and cost performance are high in this order; Alto Works, Alto Turbo RS then Alto.

<overall>
The cost performance is good overall!
But if you feel uneasy about MT or AGS, or if you are not good at driving cars with MT, I recommend Alto.
I wonder why Suzuki's cars have such great cost performance.
I recommend trying before buying with AGS.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 10, 2016
exterior 4.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 4.0

I tried 5MT

<exterior>
I prefer round eyes, but the look as a whole is good. I wish they did something about around its grille.

<interior>
I like its chic look. If I could ask more, I wish the switch for power window was not piano black but normal or carbon to avoid getting it dirty.
This doesn't have audio, but it still comes with audio switch. (I didn't mind it when I actually drive it, though.)
As for Recaro seats everyone is talking about, the seat height is reasonable considering sharing this car with my wife. (I'm 170cm, and my wife is 155cm.)
I forgot to check, but I heard it doesn't have an ashtray on cigarette lighter socket. I don't smoke, but I have to think where to place cards and a charger.

<engine performance, drivability>
I did a test drive with two people, but I didn't feel heavy or anything. I assume it would feel better if I drive it by myself. This is not the type of engine you try to customize, but you can enjoy driving as it is.
Things I was not happy about was the lightness of the clutch and the strange move of the power steering wheel.

<comfort>
This is comfortable enough for me; I drove a car with hardened suspension 20 years ago.

<fuel efficiency>
I don't know as I only did a test drive. I hope it dose 17km/l or so.

<price>
5MT feels expensive because of 5AGS, but this is reasonably priced. I want a discount, though.

<overall>
I think it is made well to make driving on mountain roads fun with its transmission, lightness of the car and enough torque from low speed.
I almost have decided on Alto Works next, but I'm thinking when to buy. I'm wondering if I should wait till March at the end of the financial year or summer thinking they might introduce a specially equipped car. I cannot decide.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 10, 2016
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 3.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 4.2

Comparison of Alto Works and Turbo RS

I tried both Alto Works 5MT and 5AGS at the end of the year. I drove about 20km in town as I like with 5MT. With 5AGS, I drove a few kilometers with a sales rep.

My current car is Turbo RS (I bought it in summer 2015), and I drove Swift Sports (2007model, MT) before that. I have been driving MT car for about 25 years.

<exterior>
It's got the same shape as Turbo RS, so I don't have any complaints. I like the color for wind mirrors and the body are the same (With Turbo RS, I chose the same color as an option). I don't think it needs yellow on the sides.

<interior>
Recaro seats have high holdability, but I felt it is a bit too cramped for my body. The seat felt higher than the lowest point with Turbo RS. It seems I cannot adjust it, so this is a drawback.

<engine performance>
I have to press the accelerator a little hard to bring rpm higher with Turbo RS. Works, on the other hand, it responds quickly according to my operation on the accelerator. I really liked it. The change in CPU control and improving the torque may be affecting here.

<drivability>
5AGS has the same gear ratio as Turbo RS and it is heavier by 20kg. So I had assumed its acceleration feeling might be not as good, but I was wrong. I didn't feel the influence of its body getting heavier by 20kg. I didn't feel any difference in transmission response. I got really good impression about this.

5MT is more exciting than 5AGS. It has more direct feeling. Shift stroke is shorter than Swift Sports. But as other people have pointed out, I felt it was a little hard to put it in the third speed. Also, I heard 1 to 4 is cross-drive steering transmission, but actually, 5th gear is lowered. So the rpm of 5th is higher than 5AGS by 500rpm. Thinking the comfort on highways, you need to consider this, too.

<comfort>
Suspension is hard. About the same as Swift Sports. Rolling is less angle-wise and speed-wise than Turbo RS. It feels stable at corners at high speed. I am not happy about Turbo RS having too much rolling, so I like Works's stability. Having said that, it feels bumpy, of course.
Recaro seats feel good. Turbo RS has good seats, too, but its headrest is leaning towards front too much. I am not happy with it.

<fuel efficiency>
I am not sure as I only did a test drive. RPM pick up is sharp, so I assume its fuel consumption to be worse than Turbo RS. Well, those who worry about fuel efficiency don't choose Works anyway.

<price>
I feel it is cheap that the price difference is only 200,000yen with Turbo RS. I wish I knew Works would come on a market last summer…

<overall>
Compared to Turbo RS, drivability is a lot higher. The response of the engine with acceleration and acceleration performance are good. When I compare both with 5AGS, Works was better. It is also good that the rolling is suppressed.
Recaro seats are achieving high holdability, but it feels too high. Not good. Ride quality is not good, either.

I do feel attracted to Works for its engine response. But as I'm old enough not to drive around on winding roads, and I drive 400km one-way a few times a year when I go back to my hometown, I am not replacing Turbo RS whose ride quality is good.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 9, 2016
exterior 3.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency -
Total 3.6

Works and RS

I tried RS after Works.

<exterior>
I was surprised with its big eyes when I first saw it. Once I got used to it, though, they make it look different to other cars and I find it good.
Because of warped up rear door windows, visibility is bad, but it looks cool from outside.

<interior>
I like its black sporty interior. It would have been better if the ceiling was black, too. I don't care about texture, so this will do.
Recaro seat was softer than I thought. I couldn't see the difference with RS. I did feel support on my sides, though. Gemini irmscher I used to drive had harder seat. Some people pointed out that the sitting position is high, but I didn't mind.

<engine performance>
Works accelerates powerfully. You can feel more acceleration than RS. I like the sound it makes.

<drivability>
It reaches 60km/h easily. You need to be careful with the speed.
5MT felt good. You might feel unsure or heavy with 5AGS when you start or change from 1 to 2, but when you get used to it, you'll see that it is right.

<comfort>
I heard it was hard, but compared to ek sports I used to own, this is much better. It is not as hard as that car.
It feels as if I'm driving a sports car. RS feels more normal.

<fuel efficiency>
N/A. It's a kei-car, so I don't care about it.

<price>
It has Recaro seat, aero parts and reinforced suspension for that price. I think it is good.

<overall>
A small sports car. It is like Levin or Trueno. I want it!!

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 5, 2016
exterior 5.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality -
fuel efficiency -
Total 4.5

Alto works FF 5MT

Recaro seat is excellent. Its sitting position is too high, though.
Steering wheel is too skinny and feels weak. I want it to be as thick as MOMO competition.
I feel uneasy about its shift stroke. 1, 3 and 5 are short, and 2 and 4 are long. I want them to be equal!
Other than that, I'm satisfied.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Dec 27, 2015
exterior 4.0
interior 2.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 3.0
fuel efficiency -
Total 3.4

I did a test drive to replace Swift Sports

Just like I wrote in the title, I'm thinking about replacing my car, so I did a test drive.

<exterior>
Compared to Turbo RS, this looks more simple (sedate), and compared to normal Alto, this looks louder. So its exterior is matching the characteristic of Works. I like it. If you want to make it louder, you can buy optional equipment.

<interior>
I did know this was only a light vehicle and I had expected it to be small, but it still felt too narrow. I'm 180cm tall, so there would be some occasions where I find it hard to drive this car.
Also, Recaro seats' height was not adjustable, so I had to sit too high. With badly located traffic lights or intersection, I had to lean forward to check.
Having said that, interior parts use silver, and meters are not too cluttered like with recent cars, so I can concentrate on driving with this interior. I like it.

<engine performance>
I didn't feel anything good or bad in particular. It is within normal range.

<drivability>
When you look at gear ratio and the taste of throttle control, not the engine itself, it is a very fun car to drive. In the situations like starting from the complete stop at national highways, it accelerates like my body is pressed against the seat. To make it match the gear ratio which is too close to each other, the shift operates just with light move of my wrist while accelerating; I hadn't experienced this for a while.
There seems not much difference in how steering feels with Turbo RS, but because it fits in my hand nicely while it feels dependable, it is very easy to operate. The car turns well with it, too. Because I tried 4WD, it would have been heavier than FF, but it still felt light.

<comfort>
Compared to Turbo RS, the change seems to be minor; KYB suspension and wider wheels. But it feels a lot firmer. To be more blunt, it is very hard.
When I drive over manholes and seams of roads, I get shocks a lot. Because it is called Works, I personally think it is great that they made it like this, but I don't know if it would be fine for daily use. It is difficult to evaluate.

<fuel efficiency>
I don't know as I only have done a test drive.

<price>
It is more expensive than Alto Turbo RS by 200,000yen, so I think its cost performance is excellent.

<overall>
I went for a test drive on the next day this came on the market. I went to a dealer I don't go often. Before going for a test drive, I was told, ""This is very exciting. You need to be careful with speed."" That made me wonder if he is implying I should do over the speed limit and enjoy it.
At the end, though, I was able to enjoy turbo within the speed limit.
The grade is totally different with my current car, Swift Sports, but this reminded me of Impreza WRXSti's rash acceleration. As Impreza WRXSti is a car I used to drive a while ago, even though this is a new car, it gave me a sense of reminiscence. It was very fun to drive this car.
You can enjoy driving wherever you drive with this car. For me, because I'm driving less, I am sadly thinking about going for another car, but this is one and only hot hatch which is so attractive that it remained in my shortlist.

Good Review

Page 1 of 3

Latest Reviews for Cars

maganda itong piliin para mag deliver ng gamit sa mga companya kasi matipid sa gas at mabilis. maliit lang kaya kasya kahit saan mo ipapark. Hindi matigas ang steering wheel sa bagong model. matibay ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.7
  • Review by Earl & Bert
  • Date : Aug 16, 2018

<exterior> I liked the old one, but this is good, too. <interior> Because it is XG, it doesn't have much comfort equipment, but a smartphone can do the job for a GPS system and audio. I'm fine with ...Read more

  • Rating : 3.8
  • Review by Japanese user
  • Date : Mar 5, 2017

<exterior> It attracts people's attention with this design. When I saw it in real, I thought it was small and thought it wouldn't be roomy enough. However, the more I look at it, the cuter it looks. ...Read more

  • Rating : 3.8
  • Review by Japanese user
  • Date : Mar 5, 2017
View Mode: PC | Mobile