Subaru XV Reviews

Subaru XV hatchback L_1

Subaru XV 3rd Generation 2017-
  • Subaru XV hatchback S_1
  • Subaru XV hatchback S_2
  • Subaru XV hatchback S_3
  • Subaru XV hatchback S_4
  • Subaru XV hatchback S_5
  • Subaru XV hatchback S_6
  • Subaru XV hatchback S_7
  • Subaru XV hatchback S_8
More Photos
  • Production 2010 - present
  • Exterior specs of Subaru XV include HID headlights with auto levelizer. Power options are available for both exterior and interior equipment. Ample spacing is provided.
  • It is powered by a 2.0 L engine, which is mated to a six speed automated transmission system, aiding power delivery and displacement.
  • Standard 17-inch alloyed rims are present along with a permanent all wheel drive train. This helps the Subaru XV tread off road with ease.

New & Used prices

Models by year

Reviews

Forum

Overall Rating

exterior 4.6
interior 3.9
engine performance 4.3
travelling performance 4.6
ride quality 4.3
fuel efficiency 3.5
Total 4.2

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 5, 2017
exterior 5.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 3.8

It's half way but a right way.

"It's been a year since purchase. I have traveled about 7000km, so I am writing a review here hoping it will be some help.

<exterior>
It is more like a proper SUV with the decorations around the fog lights and roof rails. It is not just Impreza with a facelift. It is casual and well done.
I chose Hyper Blue. It stands out in a car park, and there are not many people who have this. I find it is an advantage.

<interior>
Simplicity and fortitude. It doesn't look luxurious or flashy. The GPS is placed rather low, so I need to look down. It is fine in terms of its run, but it feels old.
The visibility from the driver seat is excellent. With Eyesight, it shows their principle in safety.

<engine performance>
At first, it started very sluggishly with intelligent mode, but it must have learned; it is not that bad.
With sports mode, I had never had a trouble.

<drivability>
It is not too small or too big; it is easy to drive. As it has been uplifted, the wind from the side felt harder.
It has no problem with driving straight or at curves. It is stable.

<comfort>
It uses room efficiency well. It is roomy for three of us. It was not too narrow at the back even when I, a 183cm tall man, sit in a driver seat.
Eyesight's auto cruise is excellent. I feel less tired on expressways. I thought I could drive more after three hour drive with no stop.

<fuel efficiency>
This is not so good, but it is not bad as a full time 4WD with regular petrol. I mainly drive this for going shopping in town, and it does 10km/l.

<overall>
As an SUV, they have Forester and Outback. As a sporty car, they have Levorg. This may be halfway, but as an SUV for city, this might be right.
"

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 26, 2017
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 4.0

A good car.

My impression after driving 9000km in 10 months.

<exterior>
It is my first time to drive this size car, and becase of its curvaceous design, I got muddled not being able to grasp its size. However, I like this look of a naughty boy with black outline rather than Impresa's quiet look.
I was surprised with the thinness of the rear bumper; it got a dent just when my knees hit.
I am happy with the roof rails. I like the style with it. Actually with Subaru, I liked angular shape of the first generation Forester. I like angular cars. Lafesta is angular.

<interior>
I have never driven a luxury car, so I don't know if this is luxurious or not, but I do feel this has high end feel to it. I didn't know it had power seat, so I was surprised. This is quite convenient.
What I am not happy with is its storage space. My previous car had a lot, so when I moved the stuff on it to this new car, many things didn't fit. I wish the glove box was bigger. The pockets on the door are not so good either.
It is quite inside. As my previous car was quiet, I was worried, but I can hear music on expressways without making it louder than playing on local roads,

<drivability>
Because I don't hit the gas, I cannot say much, but I like the feel that it doesn't roll and turns smoothly. The body is rigid, so I feel safe on expressways. I was impressed with this run of a 4WD.

<engine performance>
My previous car also had a 2L CVT engine, and it was about the same weight, too. However, this feels it has a bigger engine with its big torque. The acceleration from low speed is amazing. The motor torque as big as one kei car may be affecting here.
This is not about engine performance, but I expected this to have the sound of a horizontal opposed engine. I was surprised as it was very quiet and it had different sound. I was disappointed a little.

<fuel efficiency>
As I wrote, I got a hybrid car without paying extra for hybrid, so I don't mind it, but it is not so good;
Over 17km/l on expressways at 100km/h.
8-9km/l for commuting driving on local rods with many traffic lights.
11-12km/l on average calculating from a full tank.
I woudl have disappointed if I had paid for hybrid. It is OK, though, as it is better than my previous car by 10%.

<overall>
I just bought one with Eyesight, but I was impressed with this. ACC is excellent. I don't need to operate on the accelerator or brake much.
I was amazed how good cars Subaru makes.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 4, 2017
exterior 4.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 3.0
fuel efficiency 2.0
Total 3.5

This is a hybrid car which is not ecological.,

<exterior>
70% of the reason why I chose this is color Plasma Green, which they stopped making. Other than the color, I don't see much difference with Impreza. So if you don't mind the design of Impreza, this would be good.
I will go for other car as they decided not to make Plasma Green with facelift.

<interior>
It is similar to Impreza Sports, so it is not good or bad. Because it is hybrid, it has less storage for the battery. But you need to consider that the heat of the battery could affect things you put in the boot in some case.

<engine performance>
Because I am not a street racer, this is powerful enough, well, it has more than enough horse power. Actually, I feel I should have gone for smaller displacement.

<drivability>
I have no complaints for acceleration. Some people are talking about CVT, but because I am not Subarist, I cannot see the difference. Having said that, compared to Toyota's AT, it smoothly accelerates. I think it is because the motor is supporting torque; this shows that hybrid is not just for eco.

<comfort>
Amazing horizontally opposed engine. It drives so smoothly with stability at corners that I even find it odd. Well, this is only my personal impression; I have never driven cars with high performance anyway.

<fuel efficiency>
Because I mainly drive in town, it doesn't do better than 12km/l. This doesn't look like that of a hybrid car; some might say it is bad. If you are not happy with this, go for other make.

<overall>
What I am the least happy about this is its fuel efficiency. I wish it did at least 15km/l for driving in town. It might improve depending on my way of driving. But users shouldn't have to make effort in the first place. If you are not happy with this Subaru's attitude, I don't recommend this.
Second thing I am not happy with this is its narrow boot. This is only my personal impression. It is not acceptable that the rear hatch door doesn't shut depending on how I put things there.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 14, 2017
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.8

A review after traveling 2000km.

<exterior>
I went for desert khaki with roof rails. It has right casualness and practical beautifulness achieved at high level. I don't like models from other makes that focus on design. Cars have to be safe, have sense of security and functions, and these have to be prioritized.

<interior>
I have no complaints with it. I read reviews saying Subaru has cheap interior, but I don't mind it at all. It is SUV in the first place, so there is no point making it too flashy. The visibility is exceptionally good. When I sit at the driving seat, there is no dead angles at the front, back, left or right.

<engine performance>
No complaints. Even XV is this fun to drive; I wonder what Levorg is like. Eyesight Ver3 is impressive. Once I get on an expressway, I can set it, and rest my hands on the steering wheel to enjoy coffee and conversation with my wife in passenger seat. I don't get tired driving for a few hours with no rest. It is like how I felt when I first walked on a snowy mountain with crampons. I cannot go back.

<comfort>
No complaints. My family doesn't get motion sickness even after 5-hour drive; everyone takes a nap comfortably.

<fuel efficiency>
2000cc for a 4WD. It is great enough. I don't seek fuel efficiency with XV in the first place.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 8, 2016
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.2

My first Subaru.

<exterior>
It somehow looks cooler than Impreza Sports.

<interior>
It looks a little cheap.

<engine performance>
With the accelerator opened slightly, it drives fast.

<drivability>
I don't get the benefit of AWD as I live in Tokyo.

<comfort>
It is not bad, but it feels rough a little.

<fuel efficiency>
It was 11.8km/l from the first time I filled it right up to the second one.

<price>
Not so expensive. I am happy with it.

<overall>
I heard Levorg's side camera has the same shape as Levorg's side view mirrors. I wanted this to have it, too.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 4, 2016
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.7

Replacing to XV

<drivability>
It starts more lightly than my previous car, Impreza. Steering feels lighter, too. Engine brake worked to well with my previous car, and it was not good in terms of fuel efficiency. With XV it works just right, so it is easy to drive.

<comfort>
It has less knock up feel than my previous car.
It has less driving sound. It was delivered with studless tires, so I haven't experienced summer tires yet. It should be better than studless tires (Dunlop WinterMaxx).
The rear hatch is made to the details, and it now looks heavier. It's got better.

<fuel efficiency>
It only has traveled 700km, so I only have filled it up twice. It is about 9km/l on average. It still hasn't been broken in and it has studless tires. I also haven't done a long distance travel and have only driven short distance, so I think it is reasonable. I think it will be better when it gets warm and I put summer tires on and I start traveling long distance.

<load capacity>
I am happy as it is almost the same as my previous car. But because it doesn't have a spare tire in, when I put its original tire in as a spare tire, I won't be able to put much baggage!

<trouble I experienced>
On the day it was delivered, I tried to get out of the passenger seat, but I couldn't unlock it. I got out opening the door from outside. The dealer was closed on the next day and its next day, so I had to get it fixed three days later. They said the lock was disconnected from the wires.

<What I am happy about>
All in all, I am happy with this. Especially, I am satisfied with ASP (Advanced Safety Package). The road information of the GPS system is shown on MFD, and I find it very convenient. Eyesight now is more accurate with Version 3. Because the minimum ground clearance got higher, it now is easier to park the car. I am glad I chose desert khaki, with which it is hard to tell when it gets dirty.

<overall>
Drivability is good enough for both daily use and driving on expressways. Safety performance is excellent. I can drive feeling safe. Cost performance is good, too. I recommend this.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 18, 2016
exterior 5.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 4.0

My impression after driving it for four days renting it

<exterior>
Plasma green metallic, special color for hybrid, turned out more sedate than I expected. I like it.

<interior>
Seat has suede on its surface, but the comfort level is the same as petrol one.
Meters look flashy. Petrol one is plain with black as base color, so I like the design of hybrid.
The luggage room looks pretty much the same by the look, but the capacity is less because of the battery. When you put a tonneau cover, the practicality drops with lack of height.

<engine performance>
Because it weighs more than 120kg, I don't feel that the acceleration has been improved right after starting.
Looking at the monitor, because it gets motor assist often, rpm doesn't go up like a petrol one, and it is clearly quieter.
It is powerful enough for overtaking up to 80km/h, but once it goes over 100km/h, the acceleration feels the same as petrol. In terms of full acceleration, petrol one probably is faster.
I can feel it is more poweful at low to middle speed. I can feel assistance of the motor, but it is not that powerful.

<drivability>
I couldn't tell the difference in steering though it has been said it is turns more quickly. I also heard the weight ratio has been changed, but I couldn't feel it either.
Because I always used aircon, I couldn't experience driving just with the motor.
It was quieter when accelerating, but I couldn't tell if the roof's sound proofing got better as it didn't rain. This is what I wanted to find out the most, though.

<comfort>
The ride quality got softer. But it makes it shake more to the front and the back. It is good in a way, and bad in another.

<fuel efficiency>
This is not helpful as I mainly drove on snowy road, but the fuel consumption on expressways seemed to be better than the normal one by 10%.

<price>
The price difference is 300,000yen. I think it is too much. I can understand if the difference was 100,000yen or so.
If the motor output was three times more, 300,000yen difference may be reasonable.

<overall>
I would rather go for a petrol model for its cost performance and agility.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 18, 2016
exterior 5.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

My impression three years after the delivery. Distance traveled 8,000km

<exterior>
I was worried that I might get tired of orange, its special color, but I really like it.
Thanks to its wide tires and enlarged tread, it has more punch than Impreza.
What I like the most about this car is its simple face and the look as if it is leaning forward from the rear.
Aluminum wheels are characteristic, too. I wish they make wheels in this design with orange accent.
Possibly because of its forward-bent posture and big bumpers, bumpers both at the front and the back gets streaks of dirt easily. I want to do something about is.

<interior>
It is simple and has good texture. I have almost no complaints with it. But it is too simple. I wish this had orange stiches Type-E has.
It doesn't have vibrating sound, and I get the impression that it is well made. It is still good after three years.
As for storage for little items, it is OK. The glove box is small, and the instruction manual of the car is so thick that I cannot put anything else in. This is my biggest complaint.

<load capacity>
It is small for the size of the car, but it still has 380L, so it is usable. Because it is 4WD, even without a spare tire, the storage under the floor is narrow. It is disappointing.
The biggest problem is that it is taller, so it is too high to the bottom of the luggage space, and rear hatch goes up too high, and make it difficult to close. If you are a woman shorter than 160cm, you might get troubled closing it.

<engine performance>
The engine is very quiet. I don't get much vibrations even at high rpm. I don't feel it is powerful, but it is very smooth.
I have no complaints with its performance. It is not fast or slow; average 2L car. It would be perfect if there was 1.6L turbo.

<drivability>
On winding roads, a passenger in the passenger seat gets swayed side to side, so she seems she doesn't like it. But for me, as a driver, I prefer it to be like this than having big roles.
CVT seems to have learning function. It feels sluggish when I keep driving fuel efficiently, but when I drive pressing the accelerator hard for several days, it starts driving briskly again. This is my third car with CVT, but Lineartronic mission feels the most natural.

<comfort>
It feels hard, but it is comfortable on most roads. This doesn't do well on bumps; the rear jumps.
After three years, possibly because it is broken in, the comfort level has been increased. I think I get less knocking up feel, too. (It might be it is just me got used to it.) Hip-point is 600mm, so it is rather high and very easy to get in and out. My family likes it. It is good for knees and backs.
We have a narrow car park, but you don't need to open the door wide to get in and out with the front seat.

<fuel efficiency>
It is 12.5km/l on the meter in the car (average at 8,000km). It is 15-18km/l on expressways. 10km/l in town, 12km/l in suburban area, and with short distance trip under 1km, it is about 6km/l. It is 2-3km/l better than Wingroad 4WD (1800cc) or RAV4 (2000cc).
Half of 8,000km, the distance traveled so far, was with studless tires. Considering this is a 4WD SUV with 2000cc petrol engine, this is excellent.

<price>
I bought it without any optional equipment. I paid 2,330,000yen in total as I got some cash back. I think this car has high cost performance as a 4WD with 2000cc engine.

<EyeSight>
It often sounds the alarm. It made me realize I brake later than I should. When a bike comes out from side street, the alarm sounds before I notice it. When I sped into the garage thinking I can get in before automated shutter closes, it braked for me and the car stopped. I was surprised as I didn't know it works like this.
With the backlight in the afternoon, it becomes unusable. It works with no problem at night or in rain.
As for adaptive cruise control, I sometimes wish it could see far at the front. With version three, I heard it's got telephoto on. I envy that. I wonder how smooth it can cruise. I would like to try lane keep assist, too.

<overall>
It has a right size with many comfortable equipment. It is also high safety level. It is a satisfying car.
But it seems it has been improved every year, so I would like to find out how much it has been improved.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 24, 2016
exterior 4.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 4.5

great ride quality

<exterior>
It looks like a compact car from its back, but it actually is a three-number car. I like its gap.

<interior>
It directly affects its usability, but the meters are very easy to see, and the operational buttons are all located within reach. It is united well compactly, so it is convenient.
It is well made and beautiful overall. I'm happy with it. I think this is better than Harrier or Prius in terms of interior.

<engine performance>
The cars I have driven are Vitz 4WD, Probox and AD van, which have engines lower in grade than this, so I am muddled with XV hybrid's powerful acceleration. I should compare this with the car in the same grade. 15ps motor is enough for slow acceleration. Engine has good acceleration and it gets powerful acceleration from motor assist. I think it feels better than what it says on the catalogue.

<drivability>
Because the engine power is strong, and the size of the tires are big (225/55R17) for the body, I can drive aggressively even on snow or icy roads without slipping. The price of winter tires is a drawback; the official ones are 190,000yen.
The stability I can drive feeling safe on expressways is amazing.
Stopping and starting just with motor in town is very smooth, and I cannot believe it is 15ps.

<comfort>
I don't get tired from driving for long because it has good drivability. It is related to the drivability, but it has sense of security which feels as if the tires are sticking to roads, and I can drive on highways without being affected by side wind. Great sense of security.
EyeSight 2.0's assist is convenient. I cannot say much about it as I haven't seen its full ability yet. I just want to remind you that EyeSight gets turned off when driving in heavy snow.

<fuel efficiency>
The actual fuel consumption only driving on snowy roads is 4km/l. 16km/l on expressways. I only have traveled 800km, so I would like to see how good it does by traveling more. I'm looking forward how much this will change with summer tires on.
The battery capacity is little, and it doesn't drive with its motor that much. So I cannot expect the fuel efficiency to be that good. It probably is better to think motor just as support for better acceleration.

<price>
3,500,000yen in total. Because I cannot see any corner cutting job done with this, I am satisfied enough.

<overall>
The drivability on snowy roads is amazing, so I am very happy with this. I am sure I can drive feeling safe on off-roads.
People say that the specification of the motor on the catalogue is not so good, so it is half way as a hybrid car. I find it has well enough performance, though. Many people evaluate with the specifications written on catalogues, so it would have got higher evaluation if it had 60-80ps.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 16, 2016
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 4.2

I bought E model 2.0i-L EyeSight in December. I haven't traveled 1,000km yet.

I replaced a domestic sedan with this. I also thought about CX-3, Axela, Golf, Volvo B40 and Levorg. I didn't go for Axlea or V40 for its bad visibility and cramped room and I thought I wouldn't be able to utilize its space with Levorg. I was impressed with Golf's quietness, comfort and smoothness, but it was difficult to use in terms of operation, and it didn't have anything special other than its high quality and high performance. I was torn between this and CX-3 till the end. I was attracted to its cool exterior and interior and good fuel efficiency of diesel engine, but I was not happy with its cramped room and bad visibility. That's how I decided on XV.

<exterior>
It is not particularly cool, but hyper blue, which is a new color, draws people's attention in town. Like it is said often, it is casual and sporty. I like it.

<interior>
It is not as good as the newest Mazda cars or European cars, but it has texture which is reasonable for its price. I find orange stitching and the tags on seats fashionable. It feels roomier than it actually is, and it helps making long distance travel easy with rather roomy seats. The usability on switches is good.

<engine performance>
It is not as powerful as Levorg 1600 turbo, but it has enough torque. I don't feel it is powerless when with another passenger on highways or uphill with 10% grade climb. It is easier to drive and the engine works better than with EJ engine Legacy (turbo GT) or Impreza (2000NA), which I used to own.

<drivability>
It has stability of amazing Subaru. I feel its powerful driving power not only at high speed but also on narrow paved mountain farm roads. I would like to evaluate its good visibility highly, too. I feel happy I chose this when I drive on roads narrower than 4m in mountains or on farm roads.
The performance of EyeSight is just amazing. The warning when I nearly go over lines is useful as I always notice a little late. When it warned me when an old man on a motor cycle trying to turn right at intersection forcibly, I was glad I got this. Adaptive cruise control is very smooth and it makes me 50% less tired. You get addicted to it once you use it.

<comfort>
It is rather firm, and I do feel shocks on bumps. It is not uncomfortable, though. It is within passable range. When I drive on ill-conditioned farm roads, this actually helps me understand the road condition.

<fuel efficiency>
It reaches to 14km/l when I use adaptive cruise control on highways, but it is about 7-10km/l in town. I didn't choose this for its fuel efficiency, but I hope it improves a little. This is the only thing I am not happy with this car.

<price>
It is a bargain considering its performance.

<overall>
I am a Subarist who have driven the first generation Legacy touring wagon GT and the first generation Impreza sports wagon HX-20S for 10 years in total, and I think this is the best car. It is just small enough to drive on farm roads or in forests, and it has enough height and drivability which has no problem for gravel roads. And yet, I can drive like I do with sports hatch back on paved roads, and it fits OK in mechanical parking facility. If you usually drive in town but have chance to drive on rough roads occasionally, this is the best car. If I was in my twenties, I might have thought I wanted Levorg 1600 turbo or Legacy 2500 NA engine, but now that I am in my forties, I don't drive roughly; I'm happy with this.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 4, 2016
exterior 5.0
interior -
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.6

This is Subaru

<exterior>
Excellent. I especially can see its functional beauty in its rear style. It is a proper Subaru style. I don't think I will get tired of this for a long time.

<interior>
This is good enough.

<engine performance>
It is powerful enough. It loses its unpleasant feel when I rev it up. It does have vibration while idling like some people say, but it is because, according to a mechanic I know, it doesn't have much play between the engine and the body as its engine mount setting is hard. It is for better handling, and it can be done only by horizontally opposed engine which doesn't have much vibration.

<drivability>
This is the reason why I got Subaru. It feels it sticks to the road, so I can drive where I want to. I don't get scared of driving on highways at high speed I cannot tell here. I don't see disadvantages of SUV at all. CVT is well made, too. I now understand that some CVT are good, and some are bad.

<comfort>
I bought type-D. It feels flat from low speed to high speed. It is very quiet.

<fuel efficiency>
I have done 9,000km, and it shows it's 13km/l on its display. I haven't experienced traffic jams, and I don't drive fuel efficiently. It doesn't get worse with S-mode.

<price>
It overpowers rivals in the same price range.

<overall>
Its dynamic texture coming from suspension and rigidity of the body is very high. Now I know the reason why there are people called Subarist. I think time has caught up with Subaru. That is why I now am a Subarist.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Dec 21, 2015
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 4.5

Fuel consumption report (October 2015 MC version)

I will report on its fuel efficiency as those who are thinking about getting this would be interested. I drove on the similar course with some report, and checked the fuel efficiency. (There is a difference in route.)

Course 1: highway
Course 2: suburban area
Course 3: in town

The result was as follows;
Highway: 16.1km/l
Suburban area 15.9km/l (in the evening with a traffic jam)
In town: 12.0km/l (a lot of traffic jams)

This was the result.
I think it is better than some report on fuel efficiency.

Also, as for performance, exterior and comfort, I am very satisfied. I'm so glad I bought this. I'm looking forward to my car life from now.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Nov 9, 2015
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 3.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 3.7

The reson I decided on Hybrid

I replaced BLE Legacy with this.

I bought type-D in April 2015.
When I bought it, I couldn't compare with petrol XV, so I wasn't sure if I made a right choice.

Type-E came on the market the other day, and I was able to try petrol XV at the dealer. Now that I know the difference with Hybrid, I would like to write a review here to return a favor to this website for being helpful when I was choosing a car.

<Advantages of XV>
It feels lighter than Hybrid. You feel it right after starting the car.
Eyesight 3. More accurate than 2.
Meter panels are beautiful.

<Advantages of Hybrid>
Comparing to petrol XV, it feels heavy and drives steadily.
It feels more powerful than petrol XV with its motor assist system.
The fuel efficiency is better.
It starts smoothly from idling stop. (This is due to ISG motor starting. Petrol XV uses cell motor)

<Who should choose hybrid?>
If you are choosing XV for downsizing, you won't regret choosing hybrid. As my previous car was 3000cc, that applied to me. I thought I paid extra 250,000yen (the difference with petrol XV) to get sedate ride quality and a little better fuel efficiency.

If you choose this for fuel efficiency, you'd regret. I think it is difficult to get the money back by the difference of the price of petrol.

<FYI: My impression of petrol XV>
When it starts, it is just an ordinary 2000cc car. It is simple, so it is good as a means of travel. Personally, I thought it was less fun to drive than hybrid.

Eyesight 3 is attractive. Eyesight 2 is good enough, but I wish I could choose Eyesight 3.

Meter panel is beautiful, but I got used to it right away. The panel of the hybrid is good, too. What was all my uneasiness when I first bought it...

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Oct 19, 2015
exterior 5.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 4.0

Very satisfied with its drivability and EyeSight. I expect for an improvement of interior.

I'm writing a review as I did about 2000km with type-D.

<exterior>
We can tell that it is XV at a glance because of its characteristic wheels and that. I like that. It is easy to find at a car park. I think it is a unique design.
It is easy to see the back and the side when I'm sitting at the driver's seat. It is not just cool but it actually is made considering the safety of the users, too. I think it is great.

<interior>
It has a lot functions including EyeSight. I haven't been able to use it fully yet.
As for interior, I like its simple design. I wish they made the backseats more comfortable, though. I personally think it would have been better if the back seats can be reclined. I hope they improve here.

<engine performance>
My previous car was 1.5l. I always thought it was not powerful enough. XV is 2l, so I think its acceleration is more than enough.

<drivability>
Because the seats are high, I was worried about the cornering. I didn't need to worry; it is stable. Even when I make turns with speed, it still turns well.

<comfort>
It feels hard, but it doesn't have a knocking up feel. It is generally good.

<Eyesight>
This is very convenient. I used it in a traffic jam on highways. I didn't have to accelerate or brake, but the car automatically followed the car in front. It was very easy. I get less tired after long distance drive.

<fuel efficiency>
8-9km/l in town, 13-15km/l on highways. It is about 10km/l on average. I think it is not bad.

<price>
It was about 2,800,000 yen drive away. It includes extra cost on special color, GPS system, ETC rear view camera, base kit and 5-year service pack. I didn't add much optional equipment.
It is a pity I couldn't get eco-vehicle tax break for this.

<overall>
Drivability is excellent, and EyeSight works just like I expected. I'm very satisfied. I'm really happy about my purchase.
I hope they improve the interior.

Good Review

Paulo Avila

  • Review by Paulo Avila
  • Jun 24, 2016
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

Ang subura ko na car

Its so cool to have a your own car that what's I feel now cause finally I have my own car and it so great cause it was a Subaru XV. The engine also of it was so good its functioning will and all the parts of this car was easy to locate in all car accessories. The travelling also of it is very fast and its so good to travelling in long distance. I love to ride this car and I feel so relax in riding this car. The gasoline also of it is not so much expensive.

Good Review

Cresencio Belen

  • Review by Cresencio Belen
  • Apr 28, 2016
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

ang Subaru XV ko

Isang Subaru XV ang sasakyan na ginagamit ko ngayon kaya ang saya nga naman sa feeling na may sarili na akong sasakyan. Ang ganda pa naman nito sobrang bungga tingnan. Ang makina rin naman nito ay ang ayos at pulido ang pag kakakabit nito kaya sigurado akong matibay at maayos ang car na ito. Ang travelling performance din nito ay ang tulin at mabilis pang tumakbo nito kaya okay na okay. Ang gasolina din ay ang hina-hina lumaklak kaya bagay na bagay talaga to sa akin kasi mahilig akong mag byahe eh ito talaga ang bagay sa akin.

Good Review

Doris

  • Review by Doris
  • Dec 16, 2015
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

Ang aking Subaru XV

Salamat nga naman kasi nabili ko na rin ang Subaru XV ang ganeda nga naman talaga ng sasakyan na ito. Sa ngayon hindi na ako aalis ng maaga para hindi ,malate at mag hihintay ng masasakyan araw-araw. Thanks to Subaru XV ng ganda nga naman ng kalidad nito. Ang makina ay matibay at nakaka sigurado talaga ako na pulido ang pag kakagamit nito. Ang bilis din naman tumakbo nito kaya ang ayos nito lalo na pag may byahe sa malalayong lugar. Ang simple lang naman paandarin ang sasakyan na ito at mas komportable akong gamitin to. Ang fuel din naman ay matipid hindi magastos kaya ang galing nito.

Good Review

hot josh

  • Review by hot josh
  • Aug 18, 2015
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 5.0

Subaru XV

HELLO! we are glad to have these new car Subaru XV finally we can travel in a far place because we have now are own car that would not make as hassle and more expensive. And with these car we can enjoy are ride and make as comfortable to travel. The engine performance is very excellent and it also durable. We can economize the fuel efficiency that's why we really love this car. We also like the design of this car it is very cute and cool to the eyes. These car is very attractive, the inside of that car is very simple and also the inside view of that car is very clean to your eyes you can feel relax.

Good Review

Page 1 of 1

Latest Reviews for Cars

I replaced BMW 320M Sports with SporVita. This is my first impression after the delivery. <exterior> The massive body line matches well with the width. All in all, it is well done. It is a pity, ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.5
  • Review by Japanese user
  • Date : Mar 11, 2017

This is my first Subaru in my history of driving 24 cars including a commercial one. I would like to write a review as 4 months have past. <exterior> I like its shape that is like a European car and ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.2
  • Review by Japanese user
  • Date : Mar 7, 2017

I had to wait for three months till it get delivered, but I am glad I got this! My only compliant is that tonneau cover, which is standard equipment for Levorg, is optional equipment. I also think ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.8
  • Review by Japanese user
  • Date : Feb 28, 2017
View Mode: PC | Mobile