Subaru Legacy Reviews

Subaru Legacy 4door sedan L_1

Subaru Legacy 6th Generation 2014-
  • Subaru Legacy 4door sedan S_1
  • Subaru Legacy 4door sedan S_2
  • Subaru Legacy 4door sedan S_3
  • Subaru Legacy 4door sedan S_4
  • Subaru Legacy 4door sedan S_5
  • Subaru Legacy 4door sedan S_6
More Photos
  • Production 1989 - present
  • Midsized compact 4-door Sedan model; introduced in 1989. Standard model features flat 3.6L, 6-cylinder engine producing 252HP power. Featured as Flagship car.
  • Subaru Legacy offers AWD platform, CVT power transmission system; alternate engine configuration features 2.5L, 4 cylinder engine producing 173HP power.
  • Adaptive Cruise Control mechanism, Eye Sight active safety system, rear view camera monitoring, Pre-collision brakes; visual and audible alert systems etc.

New & Used prices

Models by year

Reviews

Forum

Overall Rating

exterior 4.6
interior 3.8
engine performance 4.6
travelling performance 4.9
ride quality 4.5
fuel efficiency 3.9
Total 4.4

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 14, 2017
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.7

I highly recommend Smart edition.

<exterior>
It doesn't look too unique like recent cars, so I think you can keep driving this without getting tired of its design.
Because I went for Smart edition, the bumper is black. I was not sure about it before purchase, but when I saw it in real, it suits with Outback.

<interior>
I am happy with its simple design, but it is a pity that it doesn't have MFD though it is a flagship.
Outback has high performance in sound proofing, so it is fun to listen to music. I wish the glove box was bigger. The space for little things is too little.

<engine performance>
Compared to flat 6, it is not as powerful or torqueful. However it works smoothly from low speed to high speed, so I have no complaints. If you cannot be satisfied with BS9 engine, you need to be careful not to hit the gas too much. I would be bitterly disappointed if Flat 6 version is added to Japanese models, so I hope they remain the same in terms of the engines LOL.

<drivability>
It is a Crossover, but because the center of gravity is lower than wagons, I try to steer more carefully. Having said that, I can turn at corners as I would like even at relatively high speed. Amazing.
My wife used to drive Lapin, and now she drives Outback. She says it is very easy to drive and enjoys driving it.

<comfort>
I wish it was more flexible, but you cannot ruin this drivability by making it soft, so I think this is good as it is. I saw a review saying new Impreza with SPG has better ride quality than Outback, but I definitely will go for Subaru cars anyway, so I decided not to mind it.

<fuel efficiency>
When I bought my previous car, I was single; I didn't mind the fuel efficiency then. However, now as a father, it is great that it is easy on my wallet.
I mainly drive in town, so it is not as good as I expected, but it still does about 10km/l.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 12, 2017
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.7

3months after delivery, traveled about 4000km.

<exterior>
I have owned Legacy Touring Wagon BP and Impreza XV. This one looks familiar, so I feel comfortable with it and attached to it. I chose Tungsten hoping dust won't sound out when I am too busy to wash the car. The color is better than I expected.

<interior>
It doesn't look cheap; the buttons such as the ones for Eyesight or the boot are located orderly.
The steering wheel and seated heat are useful when it is cold outside. It is comfortable even without aircon.

<engine performance>
I usually drive with iMOde. I have no complaint. Legacy Turbo plus S sharp's acceleration was addictive, but Outback has joy of driving slowly. I don't feel uncomfortable with its Idle stop either.

<drivability>
As it has a time lag when you change the gear from R to D, so you need to used to it. Once you get used to it, it should be fine.

<comfort>
Very quiet. It doesn't have much knock up feel, and I can drive feeling safe in rainy days. I use Eyesight mainly on expressways; it makes driving so much easier as I don't need to operate on the accelerator pedal for about 150km one way. Because it is big, I got 4-corner sensors and rear view camera. Because it is long at front, you need to get used to park from the front.

<fuel efficiency>
Traveling 3000km (70% on local roads), it is about 10km/l. It is not so good, but it is still better than Legacy or Impreza. I will try to become better at driving fuel efficiently.

<overall>
All in all, this is a satisfying car.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 26, 2017
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 3.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.3

I would like to recommend this to young family. This is a practical car that suits all weather, which makes your life more enjoyable.

It's been a year and three months, and I have traveled 18,000km. I think I know about this car enough to evaluate now, so I would like to write a review.

<exterior>
I like its plain shape. I don't think I will get tired of its rear design.

<interior>
You might get disappointed if you expect it to be a luxury car, but considering this as a practical car, it is functional and lean. It has ivory leather, and that makes me feel relaxed when my son tips drinks over or drops food on it. I am glad I chose this.
Also, I don't need to worry about it getting dirty with the black floor, which is another good point.

<engine performance>
Compared to my previous car's 6 cylinder horizontally opposed engine, it is nothing special; it is just a practical unit, but it has enough power and torque.

<drivability>
This is my third Subaru car since BH, which means I have been driving Subaru cars for 20 years. I drive 60 Harrier too for my work, but with this, I can feel the benefit of BOXER and symmetry 4WD: though it is tall, I can drive aggressively using a paddle shifter with its high cornering performance, and it has great performance driving on snowy roads, which makes me feel so safe that I don't have accidents.

<comfort>
With its long wheel base, wide tread and relatively low height, it feels stable though it has 200mm for the minimum height from the ground.
It is much better than Toyota's minivans which feel too soft.
Also, I tried the type B Levorg, which was said to have better ride quality, but this was much better for going over seams on roads.

<fuel efficiency>
Because my previous car BP3.0R did about 7km/l in town using high octane fuel, full time 4WD which does over 10km/l with regular petrol feels excellent. When you drive on expressways with good flow, the average fuel consumption gets a lot better.

<overall>
I go out with my two-year-old some often.

When I open the rear gate, I have enough space to change his nappy easily. I thought I wouldn't need a power gate at first, but it is very convenient for getting stuff in and out.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 11, 2017
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.2

I replaced Outback 3.0R with this. Harman, 13,000km second hand.

<exterior>
Excellent! So cool! It was a love at first sight. It is sophisticated yet has pushiness. It is not like other Subaru cars in a good way.

<interior>
It is so different from BPE. The texture has been improved a lot. But the steering is slippery, and the leather seat can get wrinkles, which I find disappointing. Also, a professional musician said that the sound of each musical instrument of an orchestra sounds beautiful with Harman.

<engine performance>
What I was worried the most about replacing 3.0R with this was here. It is not bad. The acceleration when I press the accelerator fully is not as good as 3.0R, but it is passable. It has no problem for daily use. Especially for merging from road sides or from low speed, this is as good.

<drivability>
It has the newest electrical device like Eyesight, which makes me feel safe and comfortable. The matching XMODE and torque vectoring, Eyesight, CVT and the engine is excellent. I wish it had at least 200ps with this...

<comfort>
People say its hard, but compared to BP, the suspension feels more flexible. The engine sound or vibration are not as good as silky 6 but close to V6 of other makes. It has good sound proofing, too.

<fuel efficiency>
Considering this grade and the fact that this is AWD, I think I can say good. I drive 80% of the time in town and 20% of the time on expressways, and the display shows 11.8km/l.

<overall>
I got this for its exterior and its size. I want its engine to work harder, but I am happy with it overall.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 10, 2017
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 5.0

I am very happy with a Subaru car for an adult.

<exterior>
Good: I think both Levorg and Outback have design that are easy to be accepted. They are both quite big and need to be careful in driving, but this has great sense of existence as a popular Legacy touring wagon in the US.

<interior>
Excellent: No complaints with its overall expression. Compared to old Subaru's rugged interior, it is so much better that it brings tear in my eyes.

Excellent: Steering heater and seat heater are very useful. Aircon doesn't start working till the engine warms up, but these start working straight away, which I find comfortable.

Good: Panasonic Audio (Strada) have been improved for its sound quality, operability, hands free phone, a remote united with the steering wheel, which was a surprise.

Bad: The glove box on the passenger seat doesn't have a space for vehicle inspection certificate, so when I put stuff in there, 80% of it is taken with the certificate.

Not so good: The center console box is made for storing CD/DVDs sizewise, but it has a removable tray on which I can put coins and some items. If you put CD/DVDs in and out a lot, it is difficult to use. Having said that, CD can be recorded with SD GPS system and if you don't watch DVDs while driving, they probably didn't think about taking them in and out.

<engine performance>
Good: It has enough torque at low speed for daily use, and I don't have any trouble driven in town, on expressways or in mountains. I started to enjoy driving sensibly like a proper adult. You can grow to be an adult with this.

<drivability>
-Cruise control from Eyesight
Excellent: I set it at 80km/h for all time on expressways. It stops recognizing lines even when they are dark, so you cannot call it "automatic driving", but it is quite well done. Safe and comfortable. It has high performance as I expected.

Excellent: It has lane keeping supporting system, which made driving a lot easy. When I leave the cruise control off, it sounds alarm when I go on the line like its previous model.

<comfort>
Good: It has firm feel like a typical Subaru car focusing on it steering. I have never thought it to be uncomfortable. All the previous Legacy have rather firm rear seat. Other domestic cars finally started to have hard suspension, but those who are used to other makes' cars might find this uncomfortable.

<fuel efficiency>
-Driving in town
I try to start at 1500-2000rpm, and I use Eyesight Cruise control on roads with less traffic lights and good flow of cars. When I see a red light from further distance, I shift down using a padlle shifter to make it 5th speed, and use engine brake a lot. Then, it does about 12-14km/l.

Not so good: When I use RES button of Eyesight Cruise Control, it goes over 2000rpm, which makes it impossible to achieve the best fuel consumption. You need to be careful with that.

-express ways
Excellent: I basically drive at 80km/h using Eyesight Cruise Control. With slight uphill or downhill, the fuel consumption shown on the display become less trustworthy. When I check it using "equalizing fuel efficiency for both ways", it is about 16-18km/l.

Good: There are not much difference in the fuel consumption shown on the display and the fuel consumption I calculate it with both in town and on expressway.

<misc.>
Not so good: Subaru cars' lights went off when the key is out, which was a characteristic of Subaru cars for a while, but with BS9, it doesn't. Instead, it goes off in 20 minuets.

<overall>
Amazing: A car that grows its driver an adult. I am very happy with it. I am intending to drive this car for a while.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 8, 2016
exterior 5.0
interior 2.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 4.2

A car with high completion level.

<exterior>
It has an excellent form of having good points of both SUV and a station wagon. It looks amazingly powerful and has sense of presence both from the front and the sides. It is like "a king of beasts, lion" or "the world's strongest country, the U.S." with "gentlemen's maturity". One thing I want them to improve is its front grille. I want them to think about it more.

<interior>
I am not happy with it personally. I want it to have more high-end feel and originality. However, Subaru's interior attach importance to safety, and it has wide field of view. It doesn't make me feel its big size. Amazing. Some manufactures sacrifice safety for high-end feel, but Subaru doesn't, with which I am impressed.

<engine performance>
I don't know much about it, but it has good acceleration and is quiet. Idle stop feels unnatural.

<drivability>
It drives as I want it to for driving at curves and parking in a garage. I can feel the unity with the car. I don't feel its big size.

<comfort>
Average.

<fuel efficiency>
You have to give up on this.

<drivability>
It is difficult to explain going for other cars other than Outback logically.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 3, 2016
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.7

Legacy B4 BN9 for matured people

As for exterior, I find the punch of the big hexagon grille and hawk eye LED headlights very cool. Pleaides logo at the back stands out.

When you starts driving pressing push start button, NA horizontally opposed engine's low sound quietly sound while keeping car's balance.

As for ride quality, it has hard suspension that parries shocks nicely, which is not like Bilstein's suspension it used to have. It matches nicely with low profile tires with aspect of 50. The ride quality of AWD with this and seat cushion is impressive.

Engine pick-up is not as light because of the grade of the car, but it has no problem.

Front visibility has been improved a lot with more spacious room inside and the position of a mirror.

Needless to say, Eyesight Version 3 is the newest and safest function usable on roads in rural area, traffic jam on expressways and in town. I think it can be said the best item at the moment.

I would like to enjoy driving cherishing this.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 28, 2016
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.8

Joy of driving relaxed

<exterior>
I got an impression this to be very big. I researched a lot before doing a test drive; I thought its face is well made, but it is not good enough in other area. But when I saw it in real, it actually was very well done, and nicely balanced. Also, Lapis Blue is totally different from the blue of my previous car. It is not too flashy or too dark. It is a good color. I get nice comments on it, and people say it is better than my previous car.

<interior>
Personally, I find it luxurious. That's it. I don't like that the display is positioned in the middle, so it is good that all the information is shown in the meters. Also, it is excellent that it is easy to see. People say it is simple but it is good. All the switches of each sensor are nicely done and easy to use.

<engine performance>
It is excellent. I think it is powerful enough. I have no complaints.

<drivability>
I think it is well made. The height is rather short for a SUV, but that reduces wind resistance and allows stable driving. I don't mind its rolling much. It turns and hold well. I feel sense of security even when it snows. Needless to say, Eyesight is amazing.

<comfort>
Quiet! It is very quiet; I even can call it a room that moves. Also, seats are not too hard and nicely finished. All the seats are heated, so I turned it on as it still gets cold at night. It got warm right away and it is very useful in this season. Passengers were happy about it, too. It doesn't have much noise, and it makes me feel like driving relaxed.

<fuel efficiency>
It is not good or bad. My previous car was FF and had MT, and it had smaller displacement and lighter than Outback. But it has about the same fuel consumption. It is affected how you drive it, but the fuel efficiency got slightly better. Considering it being full time AWD and considering its weight, this might be rather good. I am satisfied with this. It is better to go for another car if you seek fuel efficiency, though.

<price>
It has many safety equipment and sensors as standard equipment, and its seat and details are well considered. I think it is reasonable. It was a bit over my budget, but I think it's worth it.

<overall>
I think it is a very good car. I had decided to buy another SUV first, but I changed my mind right away when I tried Outback LOL. It runs briskly, and it is very roomy. It is appropriate for outdoor even with my family. Also, there is no doubt that this will be a good partner in many situations like using for hobby outside when you are a single, too. I was nervous about parking this because it has got a lot bigger including its width. But I can somehow park it with no problem. I don't feel uneasy, and I can park so smoothly that I even feel I have been driving this for a long time. Also, this is very easy to drive, and I don't get tired. This is a car made for outdoor and for trips. You won't regret getting this.
I am very satisfied. I met a partner I can drive for a long time.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 27, 2016
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.8

It perfectly suits its concept, Life Quality.

My first Subaru. I always had a longing for Legacy wagon. Because I go for long distance travel for my hobby, I decided on Outback because I can travel easily and can stay in the car at night. Because this is the most expensive car I have ever bought, my personal evaluation on this car probably will be lenient. Type-B Limited, Tungsten. My impression after traveling 3,000km in three weeks. I own Honda car with Sensing, so I compare Eyesight with it.

<exterior>
Big pushy front mask with fog lumps that look those of SUV. It is big but sedate with presence. Cool.
People comment on Tungsten that it is a good color. With this color, dirt doesn't stand out, but I don't mind even when it is dirty. It is big but is easy to grasp its width, so I can park the car in the garage as I expect.
Steering feel is good, and it is easier to park than my previous car. I was able to park in the pallet parking facility at our apartment somehow. It would be better if it had side cameras.

<interior>
There is nothing flashy about it. It feels right and is easy to use.

-advantages
Heated seats are excellent. I wish it had a heated steering wheel, too. Seating position memory is good, too. I set my driving position in 1, and sleeping position in 2. I can get the position right in one go, so it is good. It is excellent that the seat comes up automatically.
I don't get a backache with this seat, and my neck and body don't get hurt even when I take a nap. There was even a time when I woke up in the morning though I intended only a short nap.
It has roomy rear space which I can easily spend a night. It doesn't have much gaps either whereas Forester had. The rear seat is roomy and heated, so passengers are happy with it.

-things I want them to improve
My sunglasses don't fit in sunglasses holder. It now is my disposable contact lenses holder.
I wish it showed time on multi display. The one on aircon is too small and difficult to see. The sound of blinkers and the sound it makes as it reverses have bad reputations, but I got used to it. Because I don't forget to turn the blinker off thanks to this, I even think this is good. But sometimes, when I turn the blinker off, it feels there is a time lag. It makes me think "What's going on?"
Honda's Sensing recognizes road sign and shows it. I think Eyesight can do it, too, so I want it to show it.

<engine performance>
It has enough torque at low speed, and I don't hit the gas anyway, so I find it enough. If you seek speed, you might want to go for another car. But I am waiting for them to make one with boxer diesel.

<drivability>
It is quiet from the start. It accelerates well with sports mode. This is enough for me.
It doesn't roll much and has stability for its height, and I can feel its high rigidity, which makes driving fun.
Eyesight is amazing. ACC in traffic jam is excellent. It stops smoothly. Sensing doesn't work under 40km/h. Its braking is rather sharp, too. I feel Eyesight has higher completion level than Sensing. I use it a lot on expressways and highways. I never knew not operating on the accelerator makes driving this easy... But when it loses the car in front at curves, it accelerates just before curves, so you need to be careful. Restarting from idle stop while using ACC gives a slight shock. It sounds alarm when it goes over a line strictly on local roads, but it gives me sense of security on expressways.
I haven't used X-MODE yet. But I have loaded a tow rope.
Advanced Safety Package that you can add from Type-B detects pedestrians or bike riders while reversing. This is very helpful.

<comfort>
Good. It is gentle. It is fun and easy to drive this car. I don't get a backache even after driving 4 hours straight. Suspension has been broken in, and it now is even better.
My wife and children fall asleep right after getting on it.

<fuel efficiency>
It is good on expressways. On expressways.... It does well on expressways slower than 100km/h. It probably is less than 10km/l in town. It is about 12-13km/l on average.
The fuel consumption shown on the display is more than what it actually is, so it is about 1-2km/l worse. I think it is reasonable for 2.5NA AWD with regular petrol.

<price>
It goes over 4,000,000yen when you add many options, but thinking its best quality safety equipment and ride quality, it is a bargain. My friend who is a BMW fan was surprised with the price, too.

<satisfaction level>
The usability is not perfect in terms of interior, but I am very happy with this other than that. This matches my life style the best. I can put tools of my hobby and sleeping bag, and go to a beach and mountains. I think I will continue to have enjoyable days off like that.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 4, 2016
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 4.3

I am very satisfied

<exterior>
It is not too flashy, and has the design which people don't get tired of. I don't like cluttered face which are becoming recent Japanese cars trend, so I like this.

<interior>
It is high quality rather than luxurious. It has ordinary design both in a good and bad way, so those who like flashy design may get bad impression. This is easy to use, but I think they could place the clock in the center display. It sill should be easy to see with small characters.
Luggage room is large enough!! I can put all the fishing equipment and still has some space left.

<engine performance>
There were no other choice other than 2.5NA, so I didn't expect it much. But is has more torque from low speed than I expected and acceleration is smooth. This is more than enough for practical range. I was surprised with this.

<drivability>
With bp Legacy, I was impressed with its lightness in steering, but it was too quick. With this one, it feels heavier. However, I don't get shoulder ache like I drove long distance with bp Legacy. The initial response has amazingly high level, and its stability is amazing. Considering the character of the car, it is no exaggerations to say this has got the best setting.

<comfort>
I don't know if it is thanks to Stablex ride, but when it goes over bumps, the vibration it gets settled straight away. It is almost like a luxury car. My wife knows nothing about car performance, but even she realized with this. LOL
Rolling at corners is little for this height. The feel I get as if I am pushed to sides is a lot less than SUVs.

<fuel efficiency>
I mainly use this for commuting 30km one-way. The average fuel consumption is 12.3km/l, and I am happy with it. On the other hand, when I only do short distance travel, it is about just below 6km/l; the fuel consumption differs too much depending on the use compared to my previous cars. I think it can achieve good fuel efficiency if I drive well.

<price>
This is definitely cheap for its equipment. I think they are cutting the cost from small parts in interior. LOL

<overall>
I think Outback is the only car in Japan that achieves all these performance in high level. There are many cars like this concept for foreign cars, but the price is...
You wouldn't regret getting this other than its size.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 30, 2016
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 4.7

My first Subaru. Excellent

<exterior>
This has a distinctive character. I love it.

<interior>
Design is OK. It is spacious inside.

<engine performance>
It is powerful and smooth.

<drivability>
EyeSight is excellent. I cannot imagine driving without this.

<fuel efficiency>
12km/l on expressways, and 6km/l for commuting 3km. I hope it gets better.

<price>
It is reasonable for the car.

<overall>
This is a great car. EyeSight's auto cruise is an amazing technology.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 29, 2016
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 2.0
Total 4.2

I am happy with everything about this car but fuel efficiency

I got driver's license when I was 18, and I have driven about 30 cars since then (they are all used ones, though.) This is the most satisfying car among them all.

I had looked for a white one with sunroof for a long time, and I finally found it on Carsensor.
My previous car was 2015 Outback, too, so my family reacted like ""the same car again?"", but this one after facelift is totally different to my previous car. I am happy with it 100%. I felt the time I waited for it to be delivered very long.

As for drivability, as it has 2500cc turbo charged engine, it runs amazingly fast with s# mode. It is almost scary. It consumes petrol in one go.

Full time 4WD runs stably on rainy roads. I can drive feeling safe.

As for audio, even though it has McIntosh, I wasn't impressed with it much as I had experienced sound navi with my other car.

Because I have never driven luxury cars, I cannot say much, but I feel good texture with this interior. I have never heard vibrating sound or squeaking sound.

It's been 3 years since getting this as secondhand. As for maintenance, I get oil exchanged every 5,000km and get it checked when I feel like it, but it has never had troubles. I have replaced expendables and that's about it. I have driven 7 Subaru cars, but I had never had troubles with any of them.

The thing I like the most about this car is the sound it makes when I shut the doors. My mother in her 80s said it made good sound. I have Stella (Subaru), too, but it makes better sound when I shut the doors than Prius though it is a kei car.

But for seat (I only sit in the driver seat), I feel my bottom starts hurting earlier than with other cars when I drive for a long time.

I have no complaints for its ride as I can enjoy variety of ways of driving with SI drive.

As for fuel efficiency, it is about 6-7km/l in town, and in suburban area with expressways, it is about 10-12km/l.

I can enjoy driving 350km one-way with this car when I go back to my in law's house. I appreciate this car.

At a car park, current model Outback was parked next to mine, and my 20 year-old daughter said to herself why it gets uncool when it gets newer. That made me happy for some reason, and I bought things I didn't need to buy for her.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 28, 2016
exterior 4.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.7

Likes and dislikes of people split in two with this car

I liked the design and went for a test drive. I liked the feel of it when I drove, so I decided to get it on that day.

I bought this as I liked its exterior and ride quality; I hadn't seen a car this perfect for a long time. But I think its size and suspension is not everyone's cup of tea, and also I only have given 4 stars for price.

<exterior>
Unlike Levorg which you can see it's targeted on Japanese market from its size, this one attach importance to design rather than the size. This size may be the reason for dividing people between those who like it and those who don't; some might say it doesn't fit in the car park of their apartment or it is difficult to handle.
Unexpectedly, however, it is easy to drive around for this size. I have driven BG and BP, and this car does have situations where I need to be careful with its width like them, but I don't worry cutting the wheel at all when I park.

<interior>
It is up to each person's taste, so I recommend you to go to a dealer.
The leather seats were not so attractive to me, but I chose Limited as I wanted stablex-ride. Actually sitting in it, the leather seat is not bad. As they are heated seats, they don't have coldness of leather seats.

<engine performance>
As I only have started driving this, I haven't rev it high. I am driving below 2,000rpm trying to breaking it in, but I don't feel stressed possibly thanks to good CVT setting.

<comfort>
It feels sturdy even when I change lanes on expressways. I like it. This feel of it being sturdy can be described as hard or rough for some people.
It would change when it travels over 1,000km to 2,000km, but this suspension certainly is not soft.

<fuel efficiency>
As I only have driven 2L turbo cars for Subaru, this is better than the image I had. During breaking it in, it would do about 12km/h even in town.

<price>
Considering the overall quality of this car, I think the cost performance is high. Having said that, Subaru cars other than STI, which costs over 4,000,000yen drive away feels expensive for its image. But you'll forget that when you drive this.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 22, 2016
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.8

I met a great partner

<exterior>
I don't have complaints. There are some opinions that its rear is average, but it has no problems. Its sedate look even gives me sense of security.

<interior>
It is roomy, and I can sit comfortable though I am 180cm tall. This is my first time to experience leather seats, but I don't find it slippery or anything. Steering wheel has many switches, but I got used to it right away. I am looking forward to going for a trip staying in this car with my son in elementary school.

<engine performance>
My previous car was BP Outback. The weakness at low speed has been improved and it is not stressful at all for driving. Normal mode is enough. I don't think it is powerless even on highways. NA engine's obedient engine pick-up, powerfulness and the sound are well done for the same displacement. I appreciate Subaru's technology.

<drivability>
I've written pretty much everything in engine performance. I don't feel any stress both on local roads and on highways. Eyesight3 is excellent. It is very convenient for not only driving on highways but also driving on local roads. I get tired a lot less. If all cars had Eyesight, traffic jams on uphill on highways would be reduced.

<comfort>
They say Limited has hard suspension, but it feels it goes over bumps better than BP. It is well-done including cornering and changing lanes on highways. The quietness has been improved. It is amazing.

<fuel efficiency>
10-11km/l in town. 12-13km/l when I go for a drive. It doesn't do over 15km/l on highways because I drive fast. But it is good for AWD in this grade.

<price>
This is definitely not cheap, but considering performance and equipment, I don't have any complaints with its cost performance.

<overall>
Thank you Subaru for making such a great car. Some people complain about its size, but you wouldn't mind it unless you go into narrow roads. I enjoy driving both in town and on highways with my family. I would like to keep driving this for a long time. We decided to call it “Bakurou”.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 13, 2016
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 4.7

It is a good car

<exterior>
I like its front design. Many people say it is cool.

<interior>
It is roomy and easy to get in and out with every seat. Heated seats warm up my bottom and back. Very useful. Warm wind coming out at the leg space is not strong enough.

<engine performance>
It is powerful. I cannot press the accelerator to the floor as it is too scary. It is quiet and smooth.

<drivability>
I tried lane keeping system on a highway on purpose. Amazing Subaru's technology! When I go close to a line, it brings me back to where it should be. I have never experienced something like this. Eyesight works naturally like a man is driving; it brakes naturally following the car in front. I understand why production can't keep up with demand.

<comfort>
Average. Well, I think all the domestic cars are pretty much the same. It is quiet inside as this is Subaru's highest-grade car.

<fuel efficiency>
This is big and AWD, so it is about 8-9l.

<price>
It was a registered unused car, so I was able to get it a lot cheaper than a new car. I got it delivered quickly, too. Thinking about the technology of Eyesight and its high rigidity, this is cheap.

<overall>
I have driven about 10 cars. This is very fun to drive. This is definitely not cheap, so I had difficulty in deciding, but as a result, I can recommend this.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 1, 2016
exterior 5.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.7

Impression after 6months

In one sentence, “Japanese car has finally reached this level."" If I had done a blind test with this car 20 years ago, I would have answered it is a German car (BMW, Audi). Thinking its safety equipment, maintenance, service from the dealer, it can be said that it is now superior to German cars. (I'm not denying choosing foreign cars to suit your taste.) You can buy this car for 3,000,000yen. This is one of the best current cars.

Advantages:
Half automated driving on highways using Eyesight.
Rigid body.
Torque at low speed. (Easy to drive in town)
Fuel efficiency. (Compared to NA 10 years ago)

Disadvantages:
Height of the luggage room. (Because the car itself is high, luggage room is not that high. I mind it because I put my bike in, but it has no problem for normal usage.)
There are not so many accessory trays and storage for bits and bobs.

When I was deciding which car to go for, I was torn between this and CX-5. (Mazda's diesel engine is excellent.) Cars like this and CX-5 prove that Japanese manufactures and consumers are getting matured. We are in a good age.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Dec 19, 2015
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.5

Good car

<exterior>
I fell in love with its look, and I chose the last model Legacy. I wonder why they stopped making touring wagon. Sad.
I don't hear good reputation on its exterior, but I think it is gallant and it is suited as the last model.
It has a captivating style wherever you look at it from.
It doesn't matter what other people say; if you like it, that's good!

<interior>
It doesn't have much storage, but it looks good with sedate design.
It is cool that illumination of the aircon switches and that are red. They look sporty.
I think when the seats get dust, it is difficult to remove it.
Some people say it looks cheap for its price, but I think this car spends money on drivability not on interior.

<engine performance>
It is a good engine that works well.
It is a pity that it lost its boxy sound the previous Legacy had.

<drivability>
Because my previous car was a minivan, I feel joy of driving with this car. Its rather hard suspension and the seat that holds driver's body help making driving more fun.

<comfort>
Its center of gravity is low, so it turns at curves smoothly. My family told me that my driving got rough.
As I have written above, the suspension might be rather hard, but I prefer Legacy's suspension which can trace the line I want to drive along rather than soft ride quality.

<fuel efficiency>
I mainly use this for commuting 15km one-way, and it is about 10-11km. When I drove on a highway with a lot of camping equipment, it was about 14km.

<price>
I think it is reasonable. It would be better if it was cheaper, though.

<overall>
Subaru's flagship car with long history reached its perfection with this.
I added a roof box other than the big sized luggage room, so it is great for camping and snowboarding.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Dec 12, 2015
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 5.0

You'll never know till you try

<exterior>
I fell in love with this design. This is not a beauty that stands out, but the more you look at it, the more you like it.

<interior>
It is as good as, or maybe better than Peugeot 308SW, another car I was thinking about getting. It has nothing flashy, but the texture and how it feels in the car is very good.

<engine performance>
It doesn't disappoint you. Even when four men are in the car, it drives powerfully on mountain roads with eco mode with light press on the accelerator. It drives fast on highways, too. This car is fuel efficient, so this engine performance is surprising.

<drivability>
The stability on highways is excellent. This car is strong against crosswind. Even when other cars are wobbly, Outback doesn't get affected with it; I can hear the sound of the wind, but that's about it. This is a tall car, so I wonder why.

<comfort>
It is better than Peugeot 308SW. Very quiet. I assume Base is better in terms of ride quality, so if you are buying Limited, you should change the shock absorbers to Base if possible.

<fuel efficiency>
My previous car was Sienta. The fuel consumption in town is about the same. It is about 11.3. On highways or with many passengers, Outback wins. To be more precise, it doesn't make much difference even when there are many passengers. Sienta's fuel consumption got worse with many passengers. Considering this to be a 4WD, this fuel consumption is very good.

<price>
When you look at the price, CX-5 looks inexpensive. But Subaru has EyeSight, and I think the price difference is reasonable.

<overall>
To be honest, recent Japanese cars are not cool. They don't excite their drivers. The unfashionable design stands out. I go abroad for business often, and I think Korean cars are better in terms of design. (Have a look at KIA K5, for example.) I think the reason why Golf sells well is here.

I found this car in this situation where I don't find Japanses cars cool. When I look at it from this point of view, this was the only car I was attracted.
Each person has different taste for design, but if you think this design is not bad, I recommend giving it a try.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Nov 3, 2015
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.7

It is different to the fourth generation

<exterior>
It still has a look of BP. The thickness of the bonnet is overpowering. It is big. I like how its tail is treated. I put coated covers, which are optional equipment on door handles. It looks cool.
<interior>
It looks a lot more luxurious than BP. I could choose ivory as it was B model, but because my previous one was ivory, I went for black. Its white stitching looks beautiful. I don't have any complaints so far with the GPS system from Panasonic whose reputation is not so good.
Touch panel doesn't work like tablets. I wonder why they cannot produce audio system whose operation is as good as tablets for reasonable price. The quality of the sound was "master sound", and it was satisfactory to me. It may be better than JBL with Denon I use at home.
Ergomed seats are soft like a waterbed. I wish it had more lumbar support. It is a lot more comfortable than seats of BP, though.
There are some parts that feel cheap like the quality of the material of a rear view mirror, but I think it is well done overall.

<engine performance>
It feels heavy at start with I-Mode, but it drives nicely with its torque once it starts. It starts like BP9 with a big cab when using S-mode. It drives better than I expected. It feels heavy on mountain roads if I don't use S number. BP was better here. On highways, it easily goes up to the cruising speed, but I think its rpm is higher. I didn't feel it is not powerful for some reason, but I think it would be better if it had an engine with more displacement.

<drivability>
It feels sturdy both on local roads and on highways. I haven't tried driving on ill-conditioned roads or in bad weather, but its stability seems high. It doesn't roll much, and it drives as I want. It is as good as suspension of Bilstein on BP. It is amazingly fun and easy to drive on highway with Eyesight.

<comfort>
It is a lot milder than my previous car with suspensions of Bilstein. It has less impact on my body. As I only have done less than 1,000km, it catches little bumps on highways. I think it will improve eventually.

<fuel efficiency>
I've driven 40 percent in town and 60 percent on highway so far, and its fuel economy is 12.7km/l. I hope it gets better.

<price>
It was expensive for me, but thinking about its performance and quality, it is too inexpensive.

<overall>
It's come to another dimension compared to BP Outback in terms of its size, ride and high-end feel. I think I'll feel Legacy's blood in it while I keep driving. Its policy "To further, more comfortably" definitely is succeeded and evolved. I was going to drive BP till it breaks down, but I changed my mind as BS Outback was so attractive. I'm going to make lots of memories with this.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Oct 19, 2015
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.2

The first day I got type B.

Type-B was delivered today. I drove about 250km (mostly on highways).

My previous car was Forester CT CBA-SH5.

Now it has EyeSight; it makes me less tired when I drive thanks to its auto cruise control system. With type-B, when the rear vehicle detection system works, it shows it on the mirror.
High beam assist tends to make it high beam.

<engine performance>
Nothing to complain about.
It is smooth from the start. It has torque, and very quiet.

<drivability>
It is very stable. My seating position is the same as my previous car, but it feels more solid.

<comfort>
It rolls less compared to my previous car. It doesn't shake much.
It shakes a bit when it restarts after idling stop.

Good Review

Page 1 of 2

Latest Reviews for Cars

"It's been a year since purchase. I have traveled about 7000km, so I am writing a review here hoping it will be some help. <exterior> It is more like a proper SUV with the decorations around the fog ...Read more

  • Rating : 3.8
  • Review by Japanese user
  • Date : Mar 5, 2017

I had to wait for three months till it get delivered, but I am glad I got this! My only compliant is that tonneau cover, which is standard equipment for Levorg, is optional equipment. I also think ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.8
  • Review by Japanese user
  • Date : Feb 28, 2017

I had to wait for three months till it get delivered, but I am glad I got this! My only compliant is that tonneau cover, which is standard equipment for Levorg, is optional equipment. I also think ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.8
  • Review by Japanese user
  • Date : Feb 28, 2017
View Mode: PC | Mobile