Subaru Forester Reviews

Subaru Forester 5door crossover L_1

Subaru Forester 4th Generation 2014-
  • Subaru Forester 5door crossover S_1
  • Subaru Forester 5door crossover S_2
  • Subaru Forester 5door crossover S_3
  • Subaru Forester 5door crossover S_4
  • Subaru Forester 5door crossover S_5
  • Subaru Forester 5door crossover S_6
  • Subaru Forester 5door crossover S_7
  • Subaru Forester 5door crossover S_8
More Photos
  • Production 1997 - present
  • Subaru Forester is an urban SUV, which returns 24/32 MPG on the city/freeway. It is one of the most fuel efficient four wheel drive SUVs today.
  • Forester features a lot of plastic and metal on its exterior, which gives it a unique combination and feel.
  • Standard equipment on the Subaru Forester includes Bluetooth, USB connectivity, parking camera and a four speaker audio system.

New & Used prices

Models by year

Reviews

Forum

Overall Rating

exterior 4.5
interior 3.8
engine performance 4.6
travelling performance 4.6
ride quality 3.9
fuel efficiency 3.8
Total 4.2

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 15, 2017
exterior 4.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 3.8

My impression after driving 1000km.

<exterior>
I like the rugged look of a typical SUV. Rounded design is current trend, but it is going on its way, which is so Subaru. I personally like the front face of S-limited, XT. The width narrower than 1800mm makes it easier to handle; I can drive in narrow streets, too.

<interior>
I am not that unhappy with it, but it looks cheap overall than Harrier. It looks cheaper because of the color grey used for the dashboard and the steering wheels...
XT has heated seats to the rear, which I find excellent. If feels bigger than its size. (I compared it with former CX-5, but the difference was clear.) The boot is not so big with its high floor, though.

<engine performance>
This was my first time to get a car with 2L turbo engine, but the acceleration is more than enough! You cannot see it in town, but when you need, you can accelerate easily.
It is so quiet that I cannot hear boxer sound much.

<drivability>
It is difficult to compare as my previous car was a sedan with low height, but it does role. Having said that, it is easy to grasp its size, so it is easy to drive.
Changing the mode makes a big difference, so if you want to drive relaxed, it is better to go for I mode, S mode if you want to drive sportily, and S# mode if you want to drive aggressively. With S# mode, you even forget that it is CVT with its gear change. I like it! (It doesn't mean it is practical, though...)

<comfort>
It is better than I expected. It doesn't absorb all the shocks from bumps on roads, so it is not as good as a luxury car, but it tames shocks softly. It is perfect if you want to drive sportily, but it may not be good if you seek high-end feel to it. This is not that type of car anyway, though. My family likes it.

<fuel efficiency>
Because it has a turbo charged engine with high octane fuel, I didn't expect it to be good, but it is about 8 to 9 km/l at the moment.
Because it has a fuel meter, if you drive fuel efficiently, it would be better.
11-12km/l on expressways. If you do short trips, it can do 6-7km/l.

<overall>
I actually wanted Ford Explorer, but I decided on Forester for its practicality and price. I still have trouble parking sometimes because of this size, so it might have been a good idea I didn't go for Explorer.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 22, 2017
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 2.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 3.0
fuel efficiency 2.0
Total 3.3

My impression after driving 150,000km in 9 years.

As I have written in the title, this is my impression after traveling 150,000km in 9 years.

<exterior>
With Euro type original full aero parts and bringing it down by 5cm, the space of wheel wells get smaller and it becomes a very well balanced look.

<interior>
Every part is simple and easy to use, but it ha no high-end feel. It has enough and necessary storage.

<engine performance>
I which it had more torque at low speed. It roars not only on expressways but also in town if it is uphill. With throttle controller, it doesn't start sluggishly. It has 4AT, which is old fashioned, but using a paddle shifter for Impreza makes driving fun.

<drivability and comfort>
By using a third party damper, low down spring, tower bar and reinforcement parts, and by adjusting the suspension, it becomes a totally different car. Especially how it steers obediently is good.

It is so noisy inside that I cannot hold a conversation in normal voice on expressways. Road noise is noisy, too.

<fuel efficiency>
I had known that Subaru doesn't care about fuel efficiency, but I was disappointed with its fuel consumption at first. It is 8km/l in town and 11km/l on expressways. (I don't drive fuel efficiently)

<price>
Reasonable.

<overall>
If you drive it as it is, it probably is difficult to pull full potential of this car out, but when you adjust its suspension, even when it is powerless, it can become a fun car to drive.
My previous turbo charged car was powerful and drove easily, but I didn't think anything in driving depending on its power. It can be said, though, that it might have been because I was not good at driving.
Rather than hitting the gas of a car depending on its power, driving a powerless yet fun car to drive might suit my taste. This car made me realize this, and in this sense, this was a very valuable car.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 8, 2016
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 3.0
ride quality 3.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 3.7

A car as expected

<exterior>
It looks cool when I see one in town. Of course, when it is your own, it looks cooler.
I got NA in white, but if you go for XT, I don't recommend white; the part under the front grille is black plastic, so it stands out when you go for white. So if you choose XT, go for darker color. White itself looks beautiful.

<interior>
It doesn't have high-end feel, but it might be good as it is thinking it is a SUV. It looks cluttered around the steering wheel, but other than that, it has unity where GPS system it and around the aircon wind outlet, and I like it.

<engine performance>
I have only driven in town, but I have no problem. I can drive up feeling safe even at steep hills.
With S mode, I can feel its power more. A sales rep said that S mode can produce better fuel efficiency on steep hill.

<drivability, comfort>
I am fully satisfied with it. I can go to the beach, mountains or rough road. Of course, it is very comfortable in town, too, with its nice cornering with AWD and its firm suspension. People say "recent cars are quiet even when they are big." It is that quiet. It is not as quiet as Prius, but it makes no sound at all at idle. When on a flat road, it drives very smoothly.

<fuel efficiency>
11km/l in town
14km/l on expressways

<price>
I think it is reasonable thinking it has EyeSight.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 7, 2016
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.7

An excellent car

<exterior>
I chose Ice Silver. It looks sedate and not flashy. It calms my mind. There are not so many new models, well, or rather, Subaru cars out there, so it stands out in a good way.

<interior>
It doesn't have much storage. If you are to replace your current car with this, you have to do "Dansyari", letting things go. You even don't have a place for a duster, so it would be more for men than for women. The door pocket is small, so you cannot put a big map.
Interior is not too flashy or cheap; simplicity and fortitude.

<engine performance>
I don't know about its fuel efficiency, but I think it has enough torque. I drive with eco mode, so it feels sluggish at start. Because it is AWD, it turns well at corners even when I press the accelerator hard. I love the typical engine sound of Subaru.

<drivability>
Eyesight's cruise control is excellent. It is the most useful in traffic jam with flow. I didn't press the accelerator or a brake pedal for about half an hour. I think Subaru is one step ahead of other makes in terms of the technology of avoiding crushes.

<comfort>
My previous car was a luxury minivan and it shook, but Forester feels it grasps the road surface and runs. I feel safe going over gaps on roads or bumpy roads with its suspension working well.
My children sitting at the back say it feels quieter than our previous car. The quietness inside is excellent, too. DOP GPS system works very well, too. I can connect it with iPhone using a cable, so I can not only listen to music but also make phone calls with the GPS system.

<fuel efficiency>
Fuel efficiency is not so good at this stage, but I hope it gets better.

<overall>
Minivans are better if you have small children. But this is a fun car to drive with a lot of safety equipment, so I recommend this to older people who love cars. It would be very difficult to cause an accident with this car.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 6, 2016
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.7

A review at driving 10,000km!

<exterior>
I fell in love with it at first sight! It looks powerful. Though I didn't need turbo, I chose S-limited because I couldn't give up on XT's look.

<interior>
It looks simple around the meter, and because I got steering remote control added, it is easy to operate, too.
But I wish the display was located higher. It doesn't have high-end feel like Toyota.

<engine performance>
It is NA, but I don't feel powerless on public roads. It is CTV, but it doesn't have sluggishness, and accelerates smoothly.

<drivability>
The response improves with S mode. Paddle shifter is useful in mountains.
Because it is full time 4WD, it is very stable, and the steering is steady, too, so it is very easy to drive long distance.

<comfort>
It is very quiet inside, and it doesn't roll much. I think it has high quality.

<fuel efficiency>
It is 12.8km/l on average according to the display. Probably because of Zahren engine oil, it seems I get better fuel consumption than other people. It is very good for a full time 4WD.

<price>
I think it is reasonable for what you get. XT Eyesight, the one with one grade higher, is a bargain as you get twice as big horsepower, 280 horsepower, for 200,000yen extra.

<overall>
Driving is fun! I made a right choice.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 23, 2016
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 4.3

Sharpness is not quite there!!

<exterior>
It looks rugged and magnificent! I replaced SG with this, but this is a lot bigger!!!

<interior>
Simple. The interior is black and is not flashy. It is fully equipped, but switches are simple, too. However, as other people have pointed out, it doesn't have storage for small items. It has nowhere I can put bits and bobs. Glove box gets full just with the vehicle inspection certificate.

<engine performance>
Because it's turbo charged, it should be powerful enough, but you don't see its benefit with I mode. You need to go for S mode. With SG, turbo worked even with eco mode.

<drivability>
It is not so sharp. When I did a test drive, I was able to experience the feel that the tires are smitten to road surface, and I got happy that Subaru is back. That's how I decided to get this, but... Why?

<comfort>
Seat doesn't have side support, so I don't feel right. Suspension doesn't feel too hard, but it lacks in unity. I haven't done a long distance travel, so I'll see.

<fuel efficiency>
It is about 7km/l for commuting and just driving around my neighborhood. Same as SG. If you don't drive on expressways, NA might be better.

<price>
It cost me 3,400,000yen in total for many kinds of safety equipment and turbo! It is bigger and more expensive compared to the car from 10 years ago, but safety equipment is not even comparable. This is a bargain.

<overall>
It is bigger, taller and look more magnificent. I haven't been able to experience the unity of a man and a car I felt with the test drive and the feel of driving where exactly I want it to. Was it illusion?

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 17, 2016
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.7

A car with sense of security, which I can drive for long

I've been driving this for a year. I have driven about 25,000km for commuting.

<exterior>
Like other people are saying, it looks rough. LED liner stand out on XT, and it looks sharp. It looks cool for me. To make it look sophisticated, I didn't get roof rails.
I like the design of 18inch wheels. It shows its strength and agility, and it attracts people's eyes.

<interior>
Possibly because I decided on S-limited, there is no cheapness in decoration. If I have to point out, I wish the cancelation button of the hand brake to be silver metal. Because of the remote controller of the GPS system I got later, it has many buttons; my family says it looks like a cockpit of a plane.
I wish they did something about its storage. Because I only can place coins in center console, it is annoying when I pay at manual toll gate on expressways. It has a big luggage room, and it has no problem for a golf lover like me. I don't feel it is narrow when I put bags in. Also, it is one-touch operation to recline the rear seat. Very easy to use.

<engine performance>
Considering this as a SUV with a 2L NA engine, it is powerful enough. I drive on expressways to commute, but I don't use S-mode. When it felt sluggish on uphill, I tried S-mode. Then the response improved, and it felt the torque got bigger. I don't need to use it often, though.

<drivability>
Amazing Subaru for having this stability. I don't think this performance of AWD to be used to its limit, but you can especially experience this high performance in rain on expressways. It is easy to grasp its size, and I can feel sense of security in driving.

<comfort>
It might not be as good as a luxury car, but it is not bad. It doesn't roll much, and I don't feel I get shaken.
I felt uneasiness with its rough suspension till it has traveled 2000-3000km, but after breaking it in, I started not to feel it anymore. My wife and children don't complain about it.

<fuel efficiency>
It is about 11-12km/l on average for my usage. It is about 10km/l if I drive only in town. If you just think about fuel efficiency, hybrid would be the choice, but this car has other values, and I don't care about fuel efficiency much.

<overall>
Because my previous car was Impreza with 1500 NA engine, after changing my car to Forester, everything feels good. I still can drive this feeling fresh.
What I definitely have to mention here is EyeSight. Not only safety level has been improved, but using this in traffic jam helped me not getting tired; commuting got easier. I would like to cherish this as a car I can drive for a long time.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 16, 2016
exterior 4.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 3.0
travelling performance 3.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency -
Total 3.4

It looks it only has enough and neccesary but it actually is an excellent SUV.

I am comparing this with CX-5 and that. I gave it 3 stars, but I actually am highly evaluating it. (I only have done a test drive.)

<exterior>
Its previous generation looked sedate, but now it is more rugged.

<interior>
It looked cheap wherever I looked at it from, but it now has better texture compared to when it first debuted. I thought seats are not well done, but no one looks at seats while driving anyway. I got on it with my coat on purpose, but it has good holdability; it has no problems.

It uses blue as main color around driver seat, and it feels a bit much. But with bright lighting like Celsior, it looks good.

Around the driver seat attracts men with EyeSight unit. Unlike plasticky Citroen DS5 which tried to make it like that, the feel that it ended up being like this when they put functions of machines is Subaru-like. You need to see it in person; you cannot feel this with the catalogue.

What I thought good about this car is its easiness in getting in and out of the car with both the front and the back. Even when I get in with my child in my arms, I can easily get in thanks to its height, roominess from the front seat, opening angle of rear doors, step at the rear and high roof. It is higher than the front seats, so visibility is good, too.

<engine performance>
I didn't expect this to be good as it was S limited, but it was enough and necessary. Rather than going for XT with bigger tires and gets harder, going for 17inch to get better ride quality is better for me as I have a family. It would have been better if it had about 27kg torque, though.

I wasn't to go for Forester as I didn't want CVT, but it is smooth enough for my wife to drive in town or for leisure. I haven't tried on expressways, though.

You might have to go for turbo XT grade if you only have one car for a whole family. In that case, unnaturalness of CVT might be a problem,. I couldn't tell the difference in drive mode in town; maybe geeks can tell. This was the same with Golf 7. They need to either get rid of this or make difference clearer.

<drivability>
I didn't like that the accelerator pedal being responded too sensitively; there was no play. This car's biggest problem might be this, not CVT.
As for steering, I couldn't find out about it much with the test drive because there were not many curves where I tried. A sales rep said that type-D has less play and the driver can enjoy more direct feel. The steering wheel felt light, but I wanted to try on narrow roads and on hills. Third speed engine braking worked well, so I assume they chose gear ratio attaching importance at start. It made me feel like driving more. This might be the benefit of this car.

<comfort>
The quietness inside is excellent. It is outstandingly quiet while driving, too.
When I am sitting in the rear, I even don't realize that the engine restarted from idle stop. In driver seat, on the other hand, I can feel that the idle stop starts, and it is annoying a little. It feels rigid and I can feel the hardness under the frame, but it needs to be like this to feel safe driving on expressways. This kind of solid massive feel gives me sense of security in driving.

<overall>
It is enough as a practical car, and this is perfect in terms of total balance in all weather condition and safety.

I love this. I really want this.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 12, 2016
exterior 1.0
interior 1.0
engine performance 3.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 1.0
fuel efficiency 1.0
Total 2.0

It is a good car, but…

I have driven this for a year.
I was torn between this and Harrier, but we decided on this as my wife said it was easy to drive.
Performance, engine and EyeSight... I had no complaints with them, but so what? I don't get excited. No one knows about this car.
My satisfaction of owning this car got less and less day by day, and I started to use this roughly. So I replaced it with Harrier.
You have to fall for cars like for women.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 10, 2016
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 4.3

I bought S-limite. FYI

I bought type-D S-limited.

<exterior and that>
- LED accessory liner (it comes with base kit)
You should get this! It is not too sedate or too flashy. It is fashionable rightly. It looks beautiful in daylight, too.

-roof rail
I recommend this. It changes the impression. It makes it look more sturdy and sharp. I'm glad I got this. Car geeks might say it is not a good idea to put heavy stuff on a car with low center of gravity, though.

-advanced safety package
I recommend this. It doesn't have side view monitor like Levorg, but adaptive driving beam feels good. When I drive at night time on mountain roads, it controls the range they light up naturally. My eyes don't get tired because of its movement.

-auto retractable mirrors
Convenient! I read reviews saying the movement is less natural than that of other makes (When I turn the engine on they open automatically, but they stop for a short while during opening), but it should have no problem unless you start going right when you start the engine. It is only for a second. I am more happy that they don't open when I unlock.

-Ultra glass coating neo
You should get this! It makes it shiny! Those who know about cars seem to get different coating at after parts shop, but if you are not, I recommend getting this as this is a safe choice.

<interior>
-Panasonic built-in GPS system specialized for Subaru
Operability is good. I have driven in mountains and underpass, but it had never lost connection. I wish it did a bit better with its audio system but image quality is outstandingly beautiful.

-steering remote control
I recommend this! It is especially helpful for me because I use handsfree calls using Bluetooth.

-iPod terminal connection cable
It is necessary for iPod users.

-AC accessory power port
You need this! It is very convenient when you can use many electrical goods in a car.

-Room lights with plasma cluster
I like it. It is slimmer and more compact than I expected. I don't find the roof to be too narrow because of this.
It makes noise even when it is set to be low. I usually leave it off, and turn it on when I eat food with smell like takoyaki in the car. Because I don't like chemical smell of air freshener, I find this useful.

At this stage, I attached importance to comfort for my family; I didn't go for turbo which I can enjoy acceleration but S-limited which has good suspension. I still have never felt it to be powerless. Amazing quietness and AWD's powerful run. I am happy with this great purchase.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 7, 2016
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.5

My first Subaru. A good car

<exterior>
Type D has a front look that suits my taste. LED headlights are bright, and the performance is good.
Rear looks a little too simple, but I added STI rear under spoiler and STI sports muffler to make it a little flashy.

<interior>
It is simple, and they may be using cheaper material than other makes. But is it not that bad.
Heated seats have good performance, so they get warm easily. It is better than that of other makes (foreign makes). Front seats do not have much support from sides as it has been said, so my body sways side to side, but because it is a SUV, it is a good seat when you drive gently.
It would have been more relaxing if it could be reclined more.

<engine performance>
Horizontally opposed direct injection turbo engine is smooth. With S# mode, it drives incredibly fast.

<drivability> <comfort>
The ride quality is flexible, and it doesn't roll much compared to other SUVs. Of course, it has more rolling than sedan, hatchbacks or sports model wagons.
It has less knock up feel than S4 or Levorg, so this would be good for those who attach importance to comfort.
As for braking, it seems it is set to start working with harder press on the brake pedal than cars from other makes. It doesn't start stopping with light press, but you need to press the brake pedal hard to make it work. I got used to it right away.

<price>
I think it is reasonable. I thought the price for DOP is rather expensive, but I assume they give bigger discount for it.

<overall>
This is my first Subaru. This is worth trying.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 7, 2016
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 3.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.5

Perfect partner for outdoor

Mine is type A early model. The exterior and interior have been improved with facelift with type D, so this is just for your info.

<exterior>
- It is easy to grasp the size of the car. Very good.
- Small widows at A pillars are actually very effective in improving visibility. Very good.
- Fouling prevention function of side sills are excellent in using outdoors. Very good.
- Lights are rather dark. Not so good.
- The grade is compact though it is roomy inside.

<interior>
Heating seats function is excellent. In general, it is enough and necessary. But...
- It doesn't have much storage.
- Rear door lights should be located on the doors and light from top.
- Rear seats should be closer to full flat when they are reclined.
- I wish it had a steering wheel heater.
So I give it 4 stars.

With the facelift of type D, around the meters and steering switches have been improved a lot.
If they introduced dive-down rear seats like Outlander, it would be flat...

<engine performance>
NA is good enough. I go to mountains both in summer and in winter with luggage on the roof and in luggage room, but I don't feel any stress on expressways, local roads and in mountains. I don't think you need to go for high-octane turbo engine.

<drivability>
It drives well on dry roads, snowy roads and on icy roads with Subaru's 4WD and Xmode. Also, it is good that it has small turning radius and turns well. It is easy to grasp its size, too, so it is even better.

<comfort>
Because rolling is suppressed at corners, the shaking problem is even disappointing. I wish they improved this with facelift of type A or B. With type D, it seems it has clearly been improved. I envy that. How it shakes when it goes over bumps is not well done. I paid 70,000yen for Neotune trusting the review on the Internet, but it didn't make a big difference, to be honest. 3 stars.

<fuel efficiency>
It is surprisingly good though it is full time 4WD. It does about 15-17km/l for traveling long distance at 80-100km/h using Eyesight's cruise control.

<price>
It is a package well done, so this price is reasonable.

<overall>
This is a perfect car for using for outdoors with your heart content.
I get a lot less tired thanks to Eyesight. With high drivability, I can go anywhere. Fuel efficiency is good with small turning radius, which makes it easy to use.

Good Review

japhet

  • Review by japhet
  • Apr 25, 2017
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

Subaru Forester

got my baby subaru forester i just bought this last month this is my dream car and i like the design to this one very sporty at the same time its classy so got no worries with this one the engine is so strong and it has an advance technology and very comfortable ride its easy for me to drive this because its automatic its a bet expensive in the fuel but its fine because the travelling performance is so good.

  • Generation

    4th Generation 2014-

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 21, 2016
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.3

Test drive

<exterior>
It has powerful design unlike current roundish SUVs.

<interior>
It doesn't have luxurious feel to it, but it is simple and my eyes easily catch the information of Eyesight.

<engine performance>
It is 2000ccNA, but it is more powerful than I expected. I was amazed. It takes a little long for acceleration, but you get enough speed once it hits 2000rpm. One thing I'm concerned is its big accelerator position angle. Even when I press the accelerator lightly, its rpm goes up suddenly, so you need to be careful.

<drivability>
The stability of 4WD gives its driver sense of security. Ground connection is great, and I can feel all the four wheels are grasping the road surface.

<comfort>
It is very comfortable to drive even at high speed with its profound feel it has because of the body weight. This is different from turbo model.

<fuel efficiency>
The average fuel consumption was 10km/l. I think it is good for a test drive.

<price>
Thinking that it has Eyesight and is a full-fledged 4WD, the price is reasonable; it is definitely not cheap. But this is a car you can keep driving for 10 years if you want to, so the cost performance is high.

<overall>
This is an all-rounder that can be used no matter what kind of life-style you have. I think you wouldn't regret getting this.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 16, 2016
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 3.8

This is an easy to drive car with sense of security

I travelled 1,000km after delivery, so I am writing a review on it. My previous car was a compact car (1500cc). I am mainly writing on my first impression after replacing my car.

<exterior>
It looks sharp from the front with accent of LED accessory liner. (Hawk eyes are cool!)

<interior>
This is based on comparison with my previous car. The heated power seats are easy to use, and the interior is simple yet has high-end feel to it. (Heated seats are particularly convenient when I leave home for work on winter morning. While waiting for the aircon to work, within a minute or so after starting the engine, my thighs and back get warm. Very helpful.)

<engine performance>
I only have tried turbo charged one with test drive, so I cannot compare. It is more powerful from low rpm than my previous car and this does well in overtaking or merging on highways. It feels it is powerful enough but not too powerful in town, too. This is the best engine performance for daily use.

<drivability>
Eyesight Ver3 contributes in making its driver less tired and giving them sense of security like Ver2 did. I felt so on highways when I drove back to my hometown for New Year holiday. Traffic jam as long as 40km always bothers me, but this time, I set ACC right after I got on the highway, then I didn't need to press on the brake pedal or accelerator not even once to the exit. (Of course when it made a complete stop, I had to set it again, but it only takes one press on a button.) This gives its drivers room to breathe. I'm so glad I chose Subaru.

I have experienced auto-braking system once. (It seems I didn't recognize the distance from the car in front on uphill.) It is not a sudden braking; it sounds the alarm first, then it starts braking. So I was able to start braking, too. I felt sense of security, and at the same time, I thought I couldn't depend on the system too much depending on situations.

<comfort>
I was worried it could shake sideways on roads with continuous curves as this car is high, but that is suppressed well compared to my previous car. (It shakes less than lower compact cars.) As long as you drive at curves with speed limit, you may not mind its shakes.

On the other hand, it has shakes vertically. It does well on small bumps on roads like wheel tracks, but when it goes over speed bumps at big supermarkets, I feel soft shakes like aftershocks. It doesn't last, but some people may mind it.

<fuel efficiency>
I checked twice after delivery calculating from full tank. It is about 10km/l for travelling on highways on weekends and short distance travel for commuting. If I don't travel on highways on weekends, it would drop to 7-8km/l. My previous compact car did about 13km/l on average without traveling at high speed, so I was not expecting this. I'm glad it uses regular petrol. (At the moment, I use studless tires, aircon, heated seats doing short distance travel as it is winter, so it would get better when I change the tires to normal ones in summer.)

<price>
Comparing with the same class cars from other manufacturer, this feels it has high cost performance. The turbo grade, which is the highest grade of this car, is inexpensive for what you are getting, and NA grade is reasonable, too, thinking its standard equipment. (I tried cars of N and M, but safety equipment is optional with them, so if you get what Forester has, you feel they are expensive.)

<overall>
These are the things I realized after travelling 1,000km. At first, I was thinking N, M or T, but I tried Subaru to experience Eyesight and I just fell for Forester. If you attach importance to safety, I recommend you to try this once. When you sit at the driver seat and see front, you can feel the difference. This makes driving fun.

Good Review

Dally

  • Review by Dally
  • Mar 13, 2017
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

Subaru Forester my brand new car

Yes! never been so happy for my entire got promoted form work and now im having new Subaru Forester so much blessing for this year i choose this car because it is my my dream car the exterior is good love the design the interior design is nice very spacious and were planning with my friend for an outing exciting the engine is so good but its a bet expensive but its fine the travelling is good also ride quality is very comfortable so much happy to this one!

Good Review

xy

  • Review by xy
  • Dec 9, 2016
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

Good sports car for me its subaru

My two years car and it was a good car because the design and display of it was look so sporty and its was the cute car. The engine of it has functioning will and all the parts of this car is original. The travelling performance of it is perfect cause it will run so fast and even in a rough road its still okay and run in a high speed. I feel so relax in using and driving this car its not hassle for me. And the gasoline also is not a big expensive so much nice to have it. And the subaru is very nice car.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Dec 12, 2015
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.5

D model. Pretty good

<exterior>
100 out of 100. Very rough and intrepid front look is especially cool. I added front skirt of optional equipment and that is looking good.
Old model 18-inch wheels are still cool.

<interior>
It is not flashy, but the texture has been improved, so it is not bad. It is unlike Toyota's interior; it doesn't just focus on how it looks.
There are too many displays around the meters and multi FD, so it takes time to understand.
There is not much space for putting things in, and there aren't cases for cards. I find it inconvenient.

<engine performance>
The displacement is less than my previous car Legacy by 500cc, so it has less power and torque. But the engine works lightly in town, and it has torque for low speed, so Forester feels nimble and its body feels lighter.
It accelerates well on highways without making me feel stressed up to 100km/h. No complaints.
The engine sound is quiet, and how it works with idling stop is passable, too.
However, it feels it starts suddenly. I was used to Legacy's slow start, so it surprises me. Especially when I reverse the car into a garage.

<drivability>
It is stable. It doesn't make me fell it's a tall car.
It doesn't roll much at corners and drives where I want it to go pleasantly on highways. I feel the strength of the body.

<comfort>
When I drive at low speed in town, even on bumps or on rough roads, it doesn't feel too rough compared to C model. Not bad.
But when driving at high speed on winding roads, it shakes up and down. Legacy, which is a sedan type, wins here.

<fuel efficiency>
I drove 380km, 60% on highways and 40% on local roads, and the meter showed a bit more than 12km. Considering this is a full-time 4WD, it is good.

<price>
Honestly, S-Limited feels too expensive. Advanced with S package is about the same price as old model XT. If you are OK with its front look, XBreak is the best in terms of its price and equipment.

<overall>
With D model, front headlights got a lot cooler. I was surprised just the change of the lights can give totally different impression.
I used Eyesight Ver2 with Legacy. Ver3 has improved.
I tried high beam assist at nighttime. It switched the headlights high and low detecting a car in front and oncoming cars. I find it convenient.
Also its quietness is amazing. It is very quiet in the car, and I was surprised with it.
5 years ago, I went to have a look at former Forester, but bought Legacy for some reason, so I was not fully happy about it. This time, I finally got Forester, so I feel weight off my mind.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Nov 18, 2015
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 4.5

I don't get tired of this car

It's been about two years since purchase, but I still get excited when I dirve this car.
When I was choosing a car, the cars in the same price range from Mitsubishi, Mazda and Toyota, were on my short list. But I think I made the best choice for me at the end.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Nov 5, 2015
exterior 3.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 2.0
Total 3.5

This is a good car

I was looking for a car to replace Benz ML320 with, and I fell in love with this at the dealer. I only had driven foreign cars, so this is my first Subaru. Just before having driven this for three years, I'm replacing it with Outback limited. I've driven about 35,000km in less than three years. Before this, I only did less than 10,000km a year, so I think I drove a lot.
I really like this car, so I'll write a review on it.

<exterior>
I though it was like a normal SUV.
When you are driving, you cannot see its exterior anyway, so I wasn't fastidious about anything but these two things.
- Rain got on the bumper, and it got dirty easily. So I bought a resin bumper guard.
- I didn't like LED garnish, so I got it delivered after taking them off. It's totally up to each person's taste.

Pearl white is very beautiful and I really liked it, but we parked on driveway with no roof, so it got dirty... I feel sorry for it.

<interior>
Compared to Outback, I realized multifunction display actually was very well done. I mostly showed time on it, but as I'm used to look at MFD, I don't know what to do now.

For leather seats and other interior, it is not good or bad. It is not a car to treat guests or anything, so I don't mind this.

I think it would be better with more storage around driver seat. Especially, sunglasses holder would have been convenient if it was behind the front mirror.

I definitely need a remote for stereo on steering wheel, so I added it later on.

<engine performance>
I-mode is good enough generally. When I want to pick up speed, I use S mode. I rarely used S#. For a driver like me, its engine performance is too good.

<drivability>
I am not a Subaru mania (People call them Subarist, don't they?), but as I like Eyesight, I chose another Subaru car after Forester.
As I get older, I came to get distracted easily. Also, the timing of braking got slower. Eyesight helped me at those times. I cannot imagine driving a car without functions like Eyesight (Sorry I'm not talking about drivability here).

As for drivability, I thought it rolls when I turn curves with speed. It simply may be because of my poor driving technique. If I say this in other way, it means it has straightness and acceleration performance that make driver feel like turning with speed.

<comfort>
Not good or bad. Sometimes it felt noisy, and sometimes it felt quiet.
It drives stably on snowy roads. Even on steep downhill, it grasped the road surface, and drove down slowly.

<fuel efficiency>
It is not particularly good. About 9.5km/l on average driving both highways and in town for half a year. But I wouldn't have chosen high-octane fuel turbo-charged engine if I was conscious about fuel economy, so I didn't care about it at all.

<price>
I have no complaints.

<overall>
I love this.

Good Review

Page 1 of 3

Latest Reviews for Cars

I decided on this as I loved its drivability when I did a test drive. <exterior> People have different taste, so I am not going to talk about it much. Personally, I like its rugged face. You cannot ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.2
  • Review by Japanese user
  • Date : Feb 27, 2017

My impression after driving 9000km in 10 months. <exterior> It is my first time to drive this size car, and becase of its curvaceous design, I got muddled not being able to grasp its size. However, ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by Japanese user
  • Date : Feb 26, 2017

<exterior> It doesn't look too unique like recent cars, so I think you can keep driving this without getting tired of its design. Because I went for Smart edition, the bumper is black. I was not ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.7
  • Review by Japanese user
  • Date : Feb 14, 2017
View Mode: PC | Mobile