Sony Xperia XZ Reviews

Lowest Price P11,987.90 35 Prices
Go to Shop AliExpress
Storage
  • ALL
  • 32GB
  • 64GB
Color
5.2 inch water resistant smartphone that features full HD display with curved glass equipped with 23 MP main camera and 13 MP front camera
  • Smartphone, Android OS v6...
  • 5.2 inches, Full HD (1920...
Sony Xperia XZ
Latest model
Sony Xperia XZ2
P28,474.99 - (22 Prices)

Compare prices

Specs

Reviews

Forum

News

Overall Rating

Design 4.5
Portability 4.1
Operability 4.3
Response 4.5
Display 4.4
Listenability 4.5
Battery 3.7
Total 4.3

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 28, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Operability -
Response 5.0
Display 3.0
Listenability -
Battery 4.0
Total 4.2

From Aquos to Xperia

I have used three AQUOS smartphones, but all of them had failure, so I decided to change to Xperia smartphone.
I think I made a right choice.
The response of the device has been improved.
Compared to AQUOS ZETA SH-01H, which got hot easily when watching movies or surfing the Internet, it got a lot better.
The battery run time got better, too, probably because it doesn't have heating issues.
If I point out its bad points, it would be is color; I wish it shows more natural colors like AQUOS. When the contrast is too much, my eyes get tired, so I wish it showed more naturally. Other than that, I don't have any complaints. It is amazing that it only has this one little problem. It is a safe choice, so when you have trouble choosing your smartphone, go for this.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 23, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Operability -
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability -
Battery 3.0
Total 4.4

It is a very good device, but I do have some complaints, too.

<pushbutton usability>
It is convenient that the power button is also a fingerprint sensor.
Also it has a separate camera button, so I can launch the camera when I want to take photos. Convenient.

<menu>
I can move the app icons at the bottom on the home that I usually cannot move, which I find good.

<display>
Very beautiful.

<response>
I don't play games, but I find it very good.

<battery>
Xperia Z3, which I used to use, needed to be charged only once in two days, but I need to charge this every day. Having said that, it lasts for over 24 hours, so I charge it before going to bed.

<Misc.>
The edges of the display are a little rounded, so it cannot be covered with a protection film. I put a small protection film, but the edges started to come off. I thought it might be damages if sand gets in between, so I tool a protection film off to use it.

Recent smartphones are rounded at corners, but because the glass is getting strong, may be there is no need for protection films.

<overall>
I think it is a well made smartphone. Having said that, I am not happy with its battery run time and the rounded corners.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 16, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 4.0
Operability -
Response 3.0
Display 3.0
Listenability -
Battery 3.0
Total 3.4

This is so Sony in a way.

<design>
The bezel on top and the bottom is big. Not so good.

<portability>
Average.

<pushbutton usability>
The camera button can be pressed accidentally, and it launches without my intention often.

<response>
It is good for several hours since the launch. Once it gets heated up with games, it is terrible. It gets as jumpy as infamous Xperia Z4.

<menu>
Good.

<display>
It has been improved a lot compared to Z4 in terms of visibility under the sun, but compared to iPhone 6S, it is not even comparable.

<ringtone, music>
I even think it might be broken with its little volume. I often fail to realize I am getting a call when I leave it in my pocket.

<battery>
Average. I can use it from 6 in the morning to 6 in the evening even when I use the Internet, camera and e-mail heavily.

<overall>
With sarcasm, this really is a Sony product.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 15, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Operability -
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability -
Battery 5.0
Total 4.8

Xperia, a trustworthy series

I replaced Xperia Z3 with this. I don't play games much. As I use it mainly for the Internet and SNS, I have no major complaints. The camera performance is good, too. I am satisfied with this.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 10, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 4.0
Operability -
Response 4.0
Display 4.0
Listenability -
Battery 3.0
Total 3.8

I replaced ZL2 with this.

Replacing Xperia ZL2 with this, I get muddled with the position of the power button, which was changed, and the newly introduced fingerprint sensor. I have no problem in using it.
Because the glass on the display is rounded, protection films and glass covers don't fit properly. Because it cannot be covered fully, when you drop it and hits a wrong spot, it breaks.
I dropped it on a rock on the 5th day, and I used exchange service.
Before getting it replaced, I tried if it would break more if I bend, but it didn't. It seems it is strong against bending.

I had a diary case on, but I wish I chose the one with clasps.

After two years, when its battery is deteriorated, I will use exchange service to use this for four years.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 9, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Operability -
Response 4.0
Display 5.0
Listenability -
Battery 4.0
Total 4.4

Xperia is always a go!

<design>
It is flat at the back, but because it is rounded on the sides, it is easy to hold.
Forest Blue is cool!

<portability>
As my hands are not big, 5.2inch is the biggest it can be.

<pushbutton usability>
I wonder why the volume button is placed there. The places of the shutter release is good.

<response>
I find it works lightly. No problem.
As it has water resistance function, it gets heated up after using it for a long time, which makes it work sluggishly. I think it cannot be helped, though.

<display>
BRAVIA engine is beautiful.
As I am a fan of SONY's unique color reproduction, I evaluate this highly.

<ringtone, music>
As for ringtone, I am not evaluating from the same reason as voice call sound quality.
As for music, because I am a Walkman fan, I find the sound quality great.

<battery>
As the specification is different, I cannot simply compare them. Having used another smartphone with Snapdragon 820, this is much better in battery run time, though.

<overall>
There are many smartphones which have everything in. But to me, the smartphone with the best design is Xperia XZ. You won't be disappointed! I think I can use this for a long time.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 8, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 5.0
Operability -
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability -
Battery 5.0
Total 4.8

Amazing SONY! Amazing Xperia!

It is amazing.
This is perfect in every way such as display, sound, camera and CPU. I can say this has everything of SONY's technology.

This has better technology than its rivals, iPhone and Galaxy with its graphic as good as BRAIVA, Hi-Res audio and the camera.
Amazing.

I am thinking to get XZ Premium with 4K display, which will be released in June.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 8, 2017
Design 2.0
Portability 1.0
Operability -
Response 2.0
Display 2.0
Listenability -
Battery 1.0
Total 1.6

I regret getting this...

<design>
I think its texture is good.

<portability>
The screen is small but it is big. I don't understand.

<pushbutton usability>
Average.

<response>
It is fine when you start using it, but it gets jumpy after a while. 3GB RAM is not enough.
Just with Android OS, it uses over 1GB. With other things added, it uses 1.5GB. It means it only has 1.5GB left, which makes its response bad. Also, when I use it continuously, it gets hot. You can clearly see it starts working not properly when it gets hot.

<battery>
The battery run time is bad.

<overall>
As other people are saying, this is a smartphone for new users.

As for the screen size, this is smaller than G2 though its body size is bigger. Preinstalled apps are all unnecessary. This might be causing bad response.

Only advantage is its water resistant feature. If you are thinking to get this, you might want to try various devices at shops. If you still find this good, go for it. This is my first Xperia, but it is disappointing.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 6, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Operability -
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability -
Battery 4.0
Total 4.6

That's why I chose Xperia.

<design>
It looks luxurious and beautiful. It is good that it feels silky, but it might have been good with glass like Z series, too.

<portability>
It is bigger than 5inch smartphones, but I have no problem with it.

<pushbutton usability>
It is easy to press. I like the position of the buttons.

<display>
Very beautiful. I cannot help looking at it.

<voice call sound quality>
Average.

<ringtone, music>
Surround effect is good. I can hear it clearly.

<battery>
It lasts at least for two days.

<overall>
I was thinking to wait till XZs to be released, but because the image quality of the camera will be worse, though I was attracted to 4GB RAM, I decided on this.
Amazing Xperia. I am very happy with this in every way. 5.5 inch is too big; 5.2inch is perfect.
I feel the front camera is placed towards right, but I have no problem in using it. It has Type-C USB jack; I can use it without worrying which side is front or back, so I am happy with it.
This is my first Xperia, but I am glad I chose this. The camera has high image quality. Even the front camera is good.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 3, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Operability -
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability -
Battery 2.0
Total 4.2

I made a right choice!

<design>
I got black.
Comparing with other smartphones, I like the design of Xperia the best. It is simple and cool. I like it particularly because it is not rounded.
Fingerprints stand out on the rear panel, but if you are not happy with it, you can put a cover on.

<portability>
It is not particularly difficult to hold. It is thin and light. Easy to hold. It feels it is easy to drop, though, with its texture. If you are worried, again, put a cover on.

<pushbutton usability>
When I hold it in my right hand, the base of my thumb touches the volume button. I was worried it might cause misoperation before purchase, but I haven't had that problem so far. It doesn't mean the volume button is not sensitive, so I am happy.
The power button doesn't misoperate either.
I thought it is easy to take a screen shot (response is good) You press the power button and the volume - at the same time.

<response>
Very good. It works very lightly. I love playing games, but I can play pleasantly. Response speed is very important with rhythm games, but this never gets jumpy or sluggish. This actually is very good in response. I hope it keeps being like this.

<display>
Very beautiful. The color is beautiful and is easy to see.
With my family's smartphones or my tablet, it was very difficult to see in bright environment, but I can see it beautifully with this.
The camera performance is good, too. I can take good photos in dark environment.

<ringtone, music>
Beautiful. It is not even comparable with tablet. I sometimes listen to music without an earphone. With tablet, I couldn't put up with its rough sound, so I used Bluetooth speaker with it. With this, I don't need to use an external speaker. It is good that it has speaker on top and the bottom holding it vertically, or on both side holding it sideway.

<battery>
The battery run time is not good, to be honest. Compared to my tablet, whose battery run time was good, this is so bad that I was surprised. When I play games or watch movies, it doesn't last a day.

At the same time, I was surprised with its charging speed. When I charge it from the battery remaining nearly 0%, it gets 100% in an hour. You can carry a power bank, and because it charges so quickly, I find it OK.

<fingerprint sensor>
Because the power button is a fingerprint reader, I can unlock it just by pressing the power button. I even get worried if it was locked properly as it gets locked in a second. However, you can register only 5 fingerprints. It would have been better if I could register more. Well, if I could register 6, I was very happy with it. I wanted to register three fingerprints each of my each hand. (thumb, pointer and middle)

<overall>
I did research a lot on Xperia's functions and read reviews before purchase, but the reason I got this is that I fell in love with its design. I also am a SONY fan.

However, my decision was right. I don't have complaints other then its bad battery run time. Even this, I actually don't mind much. I am happy I chose Xperia.

When I replace this in the future, new ones will have been released. If the design is good, I will go for Xperia again.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 3, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 3.0
Operability -
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability -
Battery 4.0
Total 4.2

Compared to Z3.

I got this as it's been two years since I purchased Z3. This is my impression after using it updating to 7.0.

The weight and the size are the same as Z3. The display looks yellowy compared to Z3. I don't mind it when I look at this on its own. It actually looks natural.

The operability and the response have been improved. The finger print sensor is clever, so it is very convenient! As it has only 3GB RAM, it reloads when I change between apps, but it is not sluggish or anything. It is not that critical to me as I don't play games much.
It doesn't get hot after using it for a long time. Pleasant.
I was worried about the battery, but it is much better than my 2-year-old Z3.

Looking at the specification on the catalogue, I hesitated to get this as it didn't look that good. However, I can used this more pleasantly than Z3.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 2, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 3.0
Operability -
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability -
Battery 4.0
Total 4.2

I replaced Xperia ZR with this.

<design>
It is simple. I wish the bezel was smaller at the top and the bottom.

<portability>
It is slightly too big for me.

<pushbutton usability>
Average.

<response>
It responds faster than Xperia.

<menu>
I got muddled at first as my previous phone was ZR.

<display>
It is easy to see as it is big.

<ringtone, music>
The ringtone is not so good. It is good for playing music.

<battery>
It lasts for a day.

<overall>
All in all, I am happy with this. Having said that, I am disappointed that it doesn't have software it used to have such as QR code reader.
As for intelligent charging, it is good that it finishes charging by 7:30AM when I leave home starting to charge 12:30 at night, but when I had to leave home early at 6ish in the morning, it only had 80%. I panicked a little. When I leave home early, I have to change to normal charging when I get up. It is a little annoying.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 31, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability -
Response 4.0
Display 4.0
Listenability -
Battery 2.0
Total 4.0

Just as I expected.

<design>
Good!

<portability>
Average for a smartphone.

<pushbutton usability>
I am used to Xperia as I use tablet...

<response>
It surely is faster than iPad pro 12.9!

<menu>
I am used to this...

<display>
It is not as beautiful as Retina, but it is still beautiful!

<ringtone, music>
As I don't have Hi-Res audio, I only have tried DSEE HX, but as far as trying a headphone I got for free, which supports Hi-Res audio, it is amazing! I decided to change to Hi-Res!

<battery>
Smartphones' problem is here. As I got Android Wear, I thought I could check calls while leaving it in my bag, but... As I use GPS and voice calls a lot for work, I ordered a power bank.

<overall>
I carried a feature phone, iPad (carrier) and Xperia tablet, but I thought I can just carry Xperia and iPad with this, but it didn't work.
However, now I have set my mind on Hi-Res audio.
It seems it is impossible to make phone calls with Xperia tablet, so I will think about going for FREETEL!

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 31, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability -
Response 3.0
Display 5.0
Listenability -
Battery 1.0
Total 3.8

To be honest, I was very disappointed.

I replaced Xperia Z3 with Xperia XZ, but my first impression is that they are pretty much the same. Actually, its inconvenience stands out.

Now there are apps to take movies, so it is OK, but I was surprised that it not longer had screen recorder. I upload movies on YouTube, so I found it very troublesome.

Also, its battery run time is terrible. I looked up on the Internet to solve this problem, but it is still terrible.

The biggest trouble is that Wi-Fi disconnects often. I found this after purchase, and it still has that problem.

All three smartphones I had were Xperia, but this made me think I go for a different one with my next phone.

Oh, the advantage is camera!
The image quality is beautiful.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 29, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Operability -
Response 4.0
Display 5.0
Listenability -
Battery 3.0
Total 4.2

I don't dislike SONY anymore.

I replaced my Galaxy Note 3, which I used for 3 years and 6 months. I am a Galaxy fan, and when I first got Note 3, I was very impressed. Having said that, after three years, it started to get sluggish. With Samsung's trouble with battery, I decided to go back to SONY. This is my first SONY smartphone after the first Xperia.

<design>
It has a beautiful shape with round, angles and lines. Mine is black, but my son chose blue. Blue one might look cooler.

<portability>
It is a right size, but it feels I drop it easily without a case.

<pushbutton usability>
Because I am used to Galaxy's physical button, I am not used to this. Once I got used to this, it started to be more pleasant.

<response>
It works very lightly. I feel it improved a lot in three years.

<menu>
It is not that different from Galaxy's home.

<display>
It is very beautiful. Impressed.

<ringtone, music>
The internal speaker is fine. Even with an average earphone, it is not even comparable with Galaxy Note 3.

<battery>
It sometimes fails to last till evening after using it for a day for normal use. I feel it is not good here.

<overall>
As I got this after three years, no matter what device I chose, I would have been satisfied with it. I was not a fan of SONY after my experience with the first Xperia, but I think I will start liking SONY.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 27, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability -
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability -
Battery 3.0
Total 4.6

For its one and only disadvantage…

<design>
Simple, and it is not rounded in a strange way. Very good. I like this much better than iPhone.

<portability>
No problem.

<pushbutton usability>
As I misparate volume keys because of its position, I want them to improve.

<response>
Amazing operability! If I say iPhone is smooth, Xperia XZ works quickly. I can use it very pleasantly.

<menu>
I used it with Xperia home. It is a basic Android home app; I have no problem with it.

<display>
Excellent! I was impressed with the color reproduction of OEL.

<ringtone, music>
It is very good for playing music using a headphone to play music and media, but the speaker volume is too small... Just like iPad Air 2, it makes the body vibrate; it doesn't use the power to make the sound big. I cannot hear in noisy environment or in the car... This is bad. Not acceptable.

<battery>
I think it uses battery more than iPhone, but it is not a big issue. I hadn't use Android phone for a while, but the battery run time at sleep is pretty good. I was impressed that they have improved this much.

<overall>
The sound volume of the internal speaker... This is the only disadvantage it had, but I couldn't put up with it; I let Xperia XZ go. I didn't mention about it, but the camera's image quality is very sharp and the color it shows is great, too. I like it other than the volume, so it was very sad and difficult decision. I want Sony Mobile to improve this speaker to be as good as iPhone's. If it had, this would have been the best smartphone.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 26, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability -
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability -
Battery 2.0
Total 4.4

Bad battery run time.

I got this as it is about the same size as Xperia Z4.
It is thicker by about 1mm. The size of the display is the same.
With Z4, I experienced heating issue at the back, but with XZ, I haven't experienced it so far.
As the power button of ZX is dented, I misoperate it less often.

When you play game apps continuously, both Z4 and ZX go down to 30% in 3 hours. The battery run time hasn't changed at all.

With ZX, live wall paper gets jumpy. Its graphic processing performance is bad. I think it has a lot of burden on the OS.

Soft charging is not working well. When it is on, it won't be ready before going to work.

Z4 and ZX have the same battery capacity.

As for the browser, Z4 had its standard one and google, but ZX only has google, which makes it more convenient.

I struggled to make the lock screen live wall paper.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 24, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability -
Response 4.0
Display 4.0
Listenability -
Battery 4.0
Total 4.4

You can depend on Xperia. The safest choice as an Android device.

We have an image of Xperia being a smartphone that does well with multimedia, but this is not the best in camera performance, audio performance or game processing speed; there are better device than this.

However, at the same time, this doesn't have anything it doesn't do well. This may not be the best in every way, but does better. The overall performance is good. I can recommend this highly to anyone. The safest choice.

Because it has a base model sold all over the world, this has a lot of choice in accessories and there is a lot of information about the device. This is the only Android smartphone that you can use external stereo microphone.

Because Chinese smartphone with high cost performance are getting popular, which makes Xperia not as popular. However there are not many smartphone with high perofmrance as flagship model with wallet feature, water resistance and full segment, so this is one of the best choice of a smartphone that has everyting.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 21, 2017
Design 3.0
Portability 4.0
Operability -
Response 3.0
Display 3.0
Listenability -
Battery 3.0
Total 3.2

This is my first time to use this. It is average for the price.

I got this as I was interested in it for its good reputation as an Android phone.

However, it was not as good as I expected. This is not something you should spend a lot of money on.

This is average for me. It is overly priced.

This is OK, though.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 18, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Operability -
Response 5.0
Display 4.0
Listenability -
Battery 3.0
Total 4.2

I failed again in choosing a smartphone.

<design>
It is simple. I won't get tired of it.
Forest Blue is chic. I like it.

<portability>
Because my previous smartphone was big, this is much better in terms of portability.

<pushbutton usability>
Without a protection film on it, fingers slide smoothly over it. Easy to use.

<response>
Very good. I don't get stressed.

<menu>
It looked cluttered at first compared to my previous smartphone, but I am used to it now.

<display>
Very beautiful. It has higher contrast. It looks brighter and the color is darker.

<voice call sound quality>
I have nothing to say about it. Average.

<ringtone, music>
This is disappointing. Because there are not so many apps that follows the equalizer setting, it doesn't work as I want it to. I bought this to use this equalizer. This makes this smartphone a failure.
Also, I think it is not loud enough when used with an earphone.

<battery>
It seems to have many functions to make the battery last longer. Even using them, it feels the battery run time is not so good.

<overall>
It is a good smartphone, but as I have written above, it doesn't do what I expect it to. I failed in choosing a smartphone, I must say. I didn't do enough research, but how could I imagine it wouldn't do what it was doing before.
Luckily, it has no problem in using for daily use, so I will put up with it. I will think about smartphones other than Xperia or Android next.

Good Review

Page 1 of 4

Latest Reviews for Mobile Phones

It's been half a year since I started using it. I have used iPhone 4, iPhone 5, Xperia Z2 and Xperia X Performance. I was attracted this with its water protection feature and the music app. I like ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by Japanese user
  • Date : Apr 21, 2017

* 4inch device is easy to use as I can use it with one hand. * I think this is set to take natural photos. Because I am not good at taking photos, I prefer the photos Galaxy takes, which is adjusted ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.6
  • Review by Japanese user
  • Date : Apr 18, 2017

<design> This is the coolest among the smartphones from Japanese makes. Especially the black one! <portability> It feels a little heavy. <pushbutton usability> No problem. <IME> No problem. <display> ...Read more

  • Rating : 3.4
  • Review by Japanese user
  • Date : Apr 16, 2017
View Mode: PC | Mobile