Sony Xperia XZ Reviews

Lowest Price P11,876.96 43 Prices
Go to Shop AliExpress
Storage
  • ALL
  • 32GB
  • 64GB
Color
5.2 inch water resistant smartphone that features full HD display with curved glass equipped with 23 MP main camera and 13 MP front camera
  • Smartphone, Android OS v6...
  • 5.2 inches, Full HD (1920...
Sony Xperia XZ
Latest model
Sony Xperia XZ2
P31,099 - (25 Prices)

Compare prices

Specs

Reviews

Forum

News

Overall Rating

Design 4.6
Portability 4.1
Operability 4.2
Response 4.6
Display 4.4
Listenability 4.5
Battery 3.9
Total 4.3

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 18, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Operability -
Response 5.0
Display 4.0
Listenability -
Battery 3.0
Total 4.2

I failed again in choosing a smartphone.

<design>
It is simple. I won't get tired of it.
Forest Blue is chic. I like it.

<portability>
Because my previous smartphone was big, this is much better in terms of portability.

<pushbutton usability>
Without a protection film on it, fingers slide smoothly over it. Easy to use.

<response>
Very good. I don't get stressed.

<menu>
It looked cluttered at first compared to my previous smartphone, but I am used to it now.

<display>
Very beautiful. It has higher contrast. It looks brighter and the color is darker.

<voice call sound quality>
I have nothing to say about it. Average.

<ringtone, music>
This is disappointing. Because there are not so many apps that follows the equalizer setting, it doesn't work as I want it to. I bought this to use this equalizer. This makes this smartphone a failure.
Also, I think it is not loud enough when used with an earphone.

<battery>
It seems to have many functions to make the battery last longer. Even using them, it feels the battery run time is not so good.

<overall>
It is a good smartphone, but as I have written above, it doesn't do what I expect it to. I failed in choosing a smartphone, I must say. I didn't do enough research, but how could I imagine it wouldn't do what it was doing before.
Luckily, it has no problem in using for daily use, so I will put up with it. I will think about smartphones other than Xperia or Android next.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 14, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 3.0
Operability -
Response 5.0
Display 3.0
Listenability -
Battery 4.0
Total 3.8

I have no complaint so far.

<design>
Forest Blue is pretty good. It is darker than I expected, though.

<portability>
Because it has wider bezel on the top and the bottom, it feels slightly too big. Having said that, it is not inconvenient.

<pushbutton usability>
I don't have any complaint.

<response>
It is partly because I got it only recently, but it works as lightly as iPhone. I hope its stays like this.

<menu>
Not bad.

<display>
It is easy to see. With my previous phone, I used blue light cut mode often, so it is disappointing that this one doesn't have that function.

<overall>
It's only been a week since purchase but I am happy with its quick response. The design is beautiful, too, and I feel like showing it to other people. I would like to use this at least for three years. I want this to stay like this for a long time.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 14, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability -
Response 3.0
Display 5.0
Listenability -
Battery 5.0
Total 4.6

The parts I expected to improve didn’t. Disappointed...

<design>
I got Platinum. I don't see silver device often with current mobiles. I can say I chose this for its color.

<portability>
When you carry it without a case on, you can feel its thinness. I used to have Xperia Z1, but I think this is thinner than that. Having said that, because I carry it in an anti-shock case, I cannot actually feel its thinness.

<pushbutton usability>
This has a button for camera, which other cameras don't have. This is the advantage of this device.
I can take photos whenever I like. The camera starts very fast, so I think it is utilizing its advantage.

<response>
The problem is here. I don't feel it's fast compared to Galaxy S5. I sometimes even think Galaxy S5 is faster. Especially, when I try to check which apps are in use, it always fail to show it promptly.
With Chrome, when I open the second tab, it gets jumpy.

<menu>
Original for Xperia. It is easy to use.

<display>
When it shows photos taken with the camera, I can see the details of the photos. Beautiful. This model has a good camera, too.

<ringtone, music>
It has a stereo speaker, so when you can enjoy realistic sound from the top and bottom when held vertically, right and left when held sideways.

<battery>
My previous phone only lasted till lunch time whereas this lasts till evening. But it still doesn't last for a day.
It now has unwanted function like caring charging, but it is not practical that it takes 12 hours to charge up.
It is very sluggish anyway, and it is even worse when I use stamina mode, so I don't use it.

<fingerprint sensor>
Compared to fingerprint sensor for phones such as iPhone, this is not quite there yet. You are lucky if it works with a few touches.
Once every three times, it says ""you cannot use fingerprint sensor,"" and it stops unlocking with fingerprint. As it happens often recently, I unlock it with PIN.

<overall>
I was able to see its improvement with its camera, music and the display, but response and the battery, which I expected it to be good, haven't been improved much. I find it disappointing.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 13, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Operability -
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability -
Battery 4.0
Total 4.6

Getting a new phone.

I replaced URBANO L01 with Xperia XZ last December. This is a review after having used it for about three months. I might have written too much.

<design>
From the display to the sides and the back, everything is beautiful. There is nothing cheap about it. But because it is thin and flat, it is difficult to pick it up placing it on a desk.

<portability>
Because it has 5.2inch display, it is slightly big; it is hard to operate with one hand.

<pushbutton usability>
Each button is easy to press, but it would be better to have volume button on top of the power button. It feels I press it accidentally especially when I hold it in my right hand.
The camera button is located at the good spot when I take photos holding it sideways (SONY logo on the left.)
The accuracy of the fingerprint sensor is pretty good. It fails to recognize when my fingers are moist or when I have my gloves on, but I can used facial recognition for those time.
It seems flinger print recognition and facial recognition are done at the same time; when it recognizes one, it unlocks.

<response>
I feel it is very fast.

<heating issue>
When I switch pages while browsing the Internet, the back heats up, but it doesn't seem to be affecting the operation. Almost all the back panel is made of aluminum, so it has high performance in releasing the heat. Having said that I haven't used this in summer yet, so I'll see how it goes.

<menu>
The original one is fine. Multi windows introduced with android 7.0 is very useful. It allows me to browse the Internet while surfing the Internet.

<touch panel>
The sensitivity of the touch panel is excellent. The function of launching from sleep by double tapping the center of the touch panel didn't work well with Android 6.0.1(its success rate was about 20%), but it has been improved a lot with the update to Android 7.0. It now works 100% of the time.

<display>
It is bright and beautiful. It is interesting that I can adjust the white balance.

<voice call sound quality>
The sound quality is good. I like that it has speakers on the front, too. I find it interesting that I can change the sound quality with audio setting.

<battery>
I only need to charge it once a day. However, if you are switching pages often while browsing, it seems it goes flat relatively quickly.
The charging speed is fast. I use Type-C AC adapter 01. It charges up to 36% from 8% in half an hour, and it goes up to 67% in an hour.

<malfunctions I realized>
Since I updated to Android 7.0, the battery use while at sleep increased (When I check the battery image the percentage used while at idle is high). It didn't improve just by turning off the auto brightness adjustment. It still lasts for a day, so I don't think t is a big issue.

<overall>
It does have slight issues like the ones I have written above, but I am happy with this all in all. I think I can used this for a long time, and I would like to used it for a long time.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 10, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 3.0
Operability -
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability -
Battery 3.0
Total 4.0

It is well balanced.

<design>
The new material called Alkaleido has nice texture. I like it.
Silver tends to look futuristic in a dodgy way, but XZ's silver (platinum) is cool.
As an overall smartphone design, it is basically squarely, but the display is slightly rounded at corners and the corners of the phone is also a little bit rounded. It is great that it is not too round.

<portability>
Recent smartphones have big displays and big battery capacity, so they are less easier to carry around compared to old ones. I think it cannot be helped. It is not surprisingly heavy or anything, though.

<pushbutton usability>
It responds quickly when I want to operate. I particularly thought the speed of fingerprint recognition is fast. This surprised me when I first used this. You shouldn't experience it failing in recognizing fingerprint or slowing down.

<response>
This is not that good catalogue-wise, but unless you use it heavily, it works lightly.

<menu>
As I have been using Xperia UI for a while, I chose the same one. There is nothing I cannot put up with or anything.

<display>
It is so beautiful that I get excited looking at it. The camera performance is amazingly good, and it takes better photos than compact digital cameras.
Because the lens is bright, I can take photos feeling safe in dark environment. This is the biggest selling point; this is the most improved part from former Xperia. If you show this to those who use smartphones from a while ago, they would definitely be surprised.

<voice call sound quality>
This has been improved, too. Even with free calls with a messenger app, it sounds clear.

<battery>
I don't get amazed with its battery run time, but I think it does pretty well.

<overall>
I like taking photos, so I own cameras such as mirrorless camera. However, because I can take photos easily with smartphones whenever I want, I use it often. This one is not just easy to take photos but it takes good photos.
If you like taking photos, you wouldn't regret getting this.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 8, 2017
Design 3.0
Portability 3.0
Operability 4.0
Response 5.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.0

It responds lightly.

<design>
If I take it positively, this is the design that never gets old. The metal rear panel has high-end feel to it.
Loop surface looks modern at a glance, but I prefer the design of P-02E, with which I was able to tell front from back just with the feel of it.

<portability>
It is passable, but it is bigger than P-02E(5inch) height-wise and width-wise.
I heard I need aerial cable to watch TV, so I chose P-02E with internal rod antenna last time. But with SO-01J, just like a portable radio, I can watch TV with an earphone with cable. I was happy to find that out.

<pushbutton usability>
I started to get used to it, and it now is not a big deal anymore, but at first I felt uneasy as P-02E had a physical key.
The power button is also a fingerprint sensor, so as long as you register your fingerprint, you can unlock it easily.
The shutter release is a physical key. Because I use left hand a lot, too, this is not that convenient.

<response>
It is fast in loading, and it responds lightly. I like it.
I cannot bring myself to play games with a smartphone, so I haven't checked how it does with games.

<display>
It doesn't feel it is a lot more beautiful than P-02E. I have set the setting for high quality image mode as Dynamic, but when I turn it OFF or when I choose X-Reality, it seemed the color is rather sedate.
What I found it to be so Sony is that users can adjust white balance of the display as they like. If you are not happy with the color in real and the color on the display, you can adjust it to the way you like. I haven't done it, though.
Smart backlight function, which leaves the backlight on when the sensor recognizes that it is used in hands.

<voice call sound quality>
Not that different from P-02E.

<ringtone, music>
The speaker sound is loud for its size.
When you use a Hi-Res earphone, you can not only enjoy Hi-Res audio but also normal sound files with high quality sound. I haven't tried it though as I cannot see that advantage when I use it outside (Normal earphones do well, too.)

<battery>
For my usage, when I use it from it being fully charged, it goes down to about 60%.

<misc.>
The camera performance they are highly talking about on ads is very good, too. It can not only focus in dark environment easily but also adjust the image recognizing it quickly. I was amazed.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 28, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability -
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Total 4.7

Z5 (SOV32) to XZ

<design>
No complaints. Amazing Xperia.

<portability>
It is the same as Z5 size-wise, so I am not evaluating it.

<pushbutton usability>
The power button is a lot easier to press compared to Z5! The accuracy of the fingerprint has been improved a lot.

<response>
Z5 got hot when I operated it a little. With XZ, it even doesn't get warm.

<menu>
One star off, as they got rid of Small app.

<display>
It has higher resolution than Z5.

<ringtone, music>
The sound is more realistic than that of the imbedded speaker of Z5.

<battery>
It is pretty much the same as Z5. N/A.

<overall>
I think it is well made.
Sadly, XZs and XZ Premium were released, which means this will be an old device...

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 22, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 3.0
Response 4.0
Display 3.0
Listenability 3.0
Battery 3.0
Total 3.7

Location information is terrible. Not usable.

I replaced Z3 with XZ.

It looks good. The camera performance is good. Response is not bad.

However, GPS is totally unusable. Even when I change the setting to be more precise, it is still terrible. When I check Google Map in daylight at wide intersection, the point where I am supposed to be on the map moves about 100m.

It might be a malfunction coming from an individual difference, but I am so unhappy with this at the moment. I cannot use it.

SONY is so bad at GPS.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 20, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Total 5.0

Third Xperia

<design>
Good.

<pushbutton usability>
The power button is different from Z4, so I feel uneasy.

<response>
It works lightly.

<meny>
Easy to see.

<display>
My eyes don't get tired compared to Z4.

<voice call sound quality>
Beautiful.

<ringtone, music>
It has better sound than Z4.

<overal>
It doesn't have heating issues, has good reponse and good battery life. I think I can use it for a long time.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 20, 2017
Design 1.0
Portability 1.0
Operability 1.0
Response 3.0
Display 3.0
Listenability 3.0
Battery 1.0
Total 1.9

My previous phone was Z3C.

Because Z3C was not supported with the new update, I reluctantly replaced it with this. I feel I lost more than I got. Type-C looks useful, but I need a conversion connector, so I find it is still inconvenient. Other device still has micro.

Basically, I am waiting for the update of OS. If yours is not 7.0 yet, you shouldn't update it.

I feel the speed of camera, Wi-Fi and operation got faster. What I thought this to be better than Z3C is its speaker. The sound of movies is easy to hear. Well, it was a compact device, so of course this is better here.

Because of the design rounded on both sides, none of the protector film fits good.

It is so disapointing that it doesn't support OTG... It is now water resistant and it does not support OTG... I hope they might change here with an update.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 18, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.6

I replaced SHV32 with this.

I was thinking going for Motorola or ASUS, but I decided on this.

My problem with SHV32, my previous phone, was its battery life. I only have used this for about a week, but when I use it with Wi-Fi, it only declines by 1% or so even after several hours.

Also, it doesn't work when I am not intending, so I don't get frustrated as much.

Because the USB jack has been changed, I had to pay extra, but then Type-C will be the main stream, so it is OK.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 17, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 1.0
Total 4.3

I replaced Z3 with this.

<design>
Ordinary. It is dark, so it only looks like black at a glace. Unless you see it in bright environment, it may not look like blue.

<portability>
Average.

<pushbutton usability>
It is good, but finger print reader sometimes fails to respond.

<IME>
Good.

<response>
I sometimes feel it is not good. Is it because it doesn't have enough memory?

<menu>
I have changed to the one I like.

<display>
No problem.

<ringtone, music>
Probably it's got a better speaker now; it sounds excellent just as it is. It sounds much better when it is used as a Walkman compared to Z3.

<battery>
Terrible. It is 100% in the morning, and it goes down to 30% by bed time just leaving it at standby. I don't understand.

<overall>
Other than the battery, this is an amazing model. It sounds good and has a good camera. Movies look more beautiful than watching with other models. But it doesn't have enough battery to enjoy that. So I am using Z3 and this.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 13, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 1.0
Response 5.0
Display 3.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 1.0
Total 3.6

Terrible battery life. Is it an individual difference?

<design>
It is rounder and cuter than Z3.

<portability>
Good.

<pushbutton usability>
It starts from double tap. It fails half the time.

<response>
Good.

<menu>
It is the same as my previous phone. I like it.
With Z3, sometimes Google launched while I am typing in, so it is more useful now with long press.

<display>
I am using automatic brightness feature, but it gets dark and suddenly bright just when I tilt the phone.

<voice call sound quality>
I don't know much as I don't use voice calls much.

<ringtone, music>
The same as X3.

<battery>
It's only been a month, but I really want to replace it. It is fully charged at 7 in the morning, and I leave it for 2 hours doing nothing with it and only get notifications of received e-mails and FB, but it is down to 90% by 9 in the morning. I take it to work, open it at lunch time to find it only has 80%. When I play games or search something on the Internet, it only has 30% left by evening. It is not acceptable. It is before 3pm now, and it already is 26%... I am using this more than usual, but it is worse than Z3!

<overall>
The battery life is terrible!
I thought it might be because of individual difference, and I got it replaced. But the second one was the same, too. I'm putting up with it now thinking Z3's battery life is too good.
Double tap works only half the time, and the display gets jumpy!
Having said that, because I don't want to start from the beginning again, I am using this being frustrated with it.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 13, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability -
Battery 4.0
Total 4.8

Xperia's best work ever

I replaced SO-03H with this. I have used several types of Xperia, but this is the best one. The accuracy of fingerprint reader and response have been improved. I haven'd experienced heating issues so far.

It is smaller than SO-03H, and I think this is the biggest it can be as an easy to hold phone. Personally, I was torn with Xperia compact, but compact's color range is cheap...

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 11, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 3.0
Operability 4.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Total 4.1

I'm very satisfied with this.

<design>
On a catalogue, it looks vertically long and slim, but it actually is big. It looks simple design-wise, and I like it.

<portability>
Big... I found that it fits in the chest pocket of my jacket somehow, but now that I've put a case on, it doesn't. It fits in the pocket of my pants, so I leave it there though I feel uneasy about it.

<pushbutton usability>
The power button is in the middle of the right side, so I was worried if the case hits there when I shut the case. It seems OK so far.

<response>
I am using it without feeling frustrated, but I am worried if I can still do so in two years.

<menu>
Because my previous phone was AQUOS phone, I was not sure about the position of the icons. Having said that, every time I got AQUOS phone fixed, menu layout was changed, so it is not a big issue.

<display>
Very beautiful.
This is only my rough impression on it as I haven't compared it with recent AQUOS phones.

<voice call sound quality>
I feel it was easier to hear with AQUOS phone. This has clear sound, too, so it might be the matter of getting used to.

<ringtone, music>
Good enough. Not that my ears are good enough to tell the difference of Hi-Res audio...

<battery>
It is good so far, but I would like to evaluate this after a year.

<overall>
They didn't have the newest AQUOS mini, and they only had Pink and Platinum. So, I reluctantly chose Platinum. I was not happy at all with this, but the more I use this, the more I feel I made a good purchase.
Camera's AF is amazingly fast, and the image quality is very beautiful, too.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 10, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.7

I replaced galaxy S6 edge with this. I was amazed with the sound quality Sony offers.

I don't think there was a big difference in two years, but when you change the make, there are many differences. Having said that, I didn't experience a huge difference I felt when I replaced ARROWS 202F with galaxy S6 edge.
This is my honest opinion. This review is based on this impression.

<designs>
It looks cheap a little compared to S6 edge. It feels it fits in my hand, which makes me think I would be attached to it.

<portability>
The weight is different. Size is not that different, so it somehow fits in my chest pocket, but with this weight, I feel it is there.

<pushbutton usability>
There are differences coming from the difference of the makes, but it works fine. Because it doesn't have the Edge, it has nothing frustrating about it. I can use it comfortably.

<response>
It is not that different from S6 edge. In terms of CPU, octa core and quad core may not be that different; this might mean that smartphones don't need octa core at this stage.

<menu>
It is good that it has information on setting unlike S6 edge.

<display>
Thanks to X-Reality for mobile, I can enjoy movies with sharp outline not only with 480P mid image quality movies but also 240P low image quality movies.
Movies higher than HD quality is even better, so I am enjoying more than I did with S6 edge.
People might say the difference should be amazingly big, but it is only a part of Sony's function, not general, so it is not a huge difference.

<ringtone, music>
Sony means Hi-Res audio. I don't have an earphone or a headphone that support Hi-Res, so I cannot really experience actual Hi-Res sound, but when I purchase Hi-Res audio, even with an ordinary earphone, I was able to feel the difference. I can also enjoy compressed music like HE-AA and MP3.

<battery>
With S6 edge, I was lucky if it lasted for a day. With this, even when I use it more heavily than I did S6 edge, the battery lasts longer. This is the big difference. When I use a game app for 3 hours, it only uses about 40% of the battery. With S6 edge, when I used the same game for 3 hours, the battery remaining got about 30%, so this is a big difference.
While I am writing this, I am updating some software, and I am amazed again with its low battery consumption.

<overall>
S6 edge was not compatible with SD card. They introduced it after S7, but I think their move was slow.
I was always worried about DL capacity of apps; this phone showed me the convenience of an SD card, which was an eye opener.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 8, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Total 4.9

I finally got Xperia

<design>
There is nothing I would like to write about, but it has a typical shape of a smartphone. It is symmetrical at the top and the bottom, which I find good. The camera lens is flat, and I like it, too.

<portability>
5.2inch is a good size to put in a pocket and to operate.

<pushbutton usability>
The size of the power button is just right.

<response>
No complaints!

<menu>
I didn't expect Android 7.0 to be like this...
F series was better in terms of usability. It should be fine once you get used to it.

<display>
I was surprised when I saw that same image and movies with F-02G. It is bright, sharp and clear.

<ringtone, music>
It sounds less muffled than F-02G. I was able to adjust to my liking without changing the setting much.

<battery>
It lasts for a day with normal use. Considering its capacity, this is reasonable.

<overall>
What I thought after using it for a week. This is more of a standard than its look. I was torn with Forest Blue, but I am glad I chose Mineral Black as it is not plain black.

I tried to take photos with a main camera. It takes good photos. I was impressed with the improvement of a smartphone camera.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 5, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Total 4.9

This was the right choice to use as a music player.

I am writing a review as I have used it for three weeks.

<design>
The finish to prevent oil from hands to stay is good. It is very slippery and I almost drop it, but I started to like this texture.
At first, I thought Forest Blue is too dark, but I started to get used to its subtle taste, and I like it along with the beautifulness of the display.

<portability>
It feels like dropping it as it is slippery and it is too big to operate with one hand. I am not fully happy, but it is fits fine. When I put it in the pocket of my pants, it gets cleaned and shiny, which I like.

<pushbutton usability>
I will try not to drop it and the antenna gets broken with this. The response is accurate, and is very comfortable. The finger print sensor of the power button has good sensitivity and doesn't fail to recognize. I am impressed. The volume button is good. It doesn't misoperate.

<response>
It is very good. This is a comparison with Z1, so this may not help, but it is fast! They have already released 4GB, and they have upgraded to Android 7.0 right away, but it doesn't feel sluggish at all even with 3GB.

<menu>
I chose Sony's Christmas Fantasy and show Chronograph analogue watch. I like this design.

<display>
People are saying they might release 4K version, but this is beautiful enough. The camera is excellent. Automatic adjustment of brightness is not bad either. It is very good.

<ringtone, music>
I considered carrying a smartphone and Walkman, but I decided on just carrying one device. I leave DSEE-HX on all the time, and it is effective enough for 96KHz24bit. At first, I thought it sounds rough, but it is good that it is listenable with this roughness. The sound of the cymbals is good. I usually use XB90EX for an earphone, and I use A900 for a headphone. Very good. I wanted to get this sound with a smartphone, so I chose XZ. I was attracted to V20's DAC, but I think I was right.

<battery>
Good. Even when I leave DSEE-HX on all the time, it lasts for a day. I wish it lasted longer, though

<overall>
I am very happy.
I want Xperia to keep improving like this. I was a Sony fan, so I want them to do well.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 3, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 4.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 3.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.6

Every function is in this device.

<design>
It looks luxurious.

<portability>
The display is bigger now, so it is difficult to operate with one hand like I used to. The quality of the camera and sound is much better, so now I don't have to carry everything; I used to carry Walkman, camera, smartphone and my wallet. Very easy.

<pushbutton usability>
I was impressed with the idea that fingerprint sensor is a power button at the same time. When you make it learn fingerprints of several fingers, you wouldn't get frustrated with it. When your fingers are wet, it is not usable, though... Also the volume button would be easier to use when it is on the top.

<response>
I can use this with good response with most apps. I don't know what it will be like with apps with heavy burden, but it should be fine for average uses.

<menu>
Average.

<display>
Average.

<ringtone, music>
It is very good. It is not powerful enough for using with a headphone and doesn't sound as detailed as Walkman (ZX100), but it is good for listening to it for a bit. Also, it supports LDAC, so it is useful for listening using SRS-HG1.

<battery>
It lasts for a day easily just by charging once a day. But if you keep watching movies, it goes flat easily. This Xperia XZ supports Quick charge, too, so I feel safe even at those times. Now the jack has been changed to USB-type C. I got three cords including original one and third party ones. I think it's worth it. I want them to change the jack of Walkman, too.

<overall>
I think it is very well made.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 10, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.9

Good!

I replaced the first generation Xperia with this.

<design>
Xperia remains to be cool.

<portability>
Because the display is 5.2inch, it cannot be helped, but I give it 4 stars.

<pushbutton usability>
No problem.

<response>
Amazing!

<menu>
Good.

<display>
Excellent! Amazing Xperia!

<voice call sound quality>
Good.

<ringtone, music>
Good.

<battery>
I have about 60% left at night time.

<overall>
I can give it 5 stars with no complaints.

Good Review

Page 1 of 3

Latest Reviews for Mobile Phones

A review after using it for four months. <design> The logo doesn't stand out. Good. It has a cover on, so the design is not a big issue. <portability> I found Z2, the previous model, too big; I like ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.4
  • Review by Japanese user
  • Date : Mar 19, 2017

<design> It is simple. I never get tired of this design. <portability> It is right size. <pushbutton usability> No problem. <IME> No problem. <response> No problem. <menu> Easy to understand. <displa ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.2
  • Review by Japanese user
  • Date : Mar 18, 2017

<design> Because I mainly use it with one hand, I think this size is just right. Fingerprints stand out on its back panel. <portability Because its selling point is its compactness, it has no ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.6
  • Review by Japanese user
  • Date : Mar 17, 2017
View Mode: PC | Mobile