Sony Xperia XZ Reviews

Lowest Price P11,899.97 23 Prices
Go to Shop AliExpress
Storage
  • ALL
  • 32GB
  • 64GB
Color
5.2 inch water resistant smartphone that features full HD display with curved glass equipped with 23 MP main camera and 13 MP front camera
  • Smartphone, Android OS v6...
  • 5.2 inches, Full HD (1920...
Sony Xperia XZ
Latest model
Sony Xperia XZ2
P30,299 - (18 Prices)

Compare prices

Specs

Reviews

Forum

News

Overall Rating

Design 4.6
Portability 4.1
Operability 4.3
Response 4.6
Display 4.5
Listenability 4.5
Battery 3.7
Total 4.3

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 6, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Operability -
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability -
Battery 4.0
Total 4.6

That's why I chose Xperia.

<design>
It looks luxurious and beautiful. It is good that it feels silky, but it might have been good with glass like Z series, too.

<portability>
It is bigger than 5inch smartphones, but I have no problem with it.

<pushbutton usability>
It is easy to press. I like the position of the buttons.

<display>
Very beautiful. I cannot help looking at it.

<voice call sound quality>
Average.

<ringtone, music>
Surround effect is good. I can hear it clearly.

<battery>
It lasts at least for two days.

<overall>
I was thinking to wait till XZs to be released, but because the image quality of the camera will be worse, though I was attracted to 4GB RAM, I decided on this.
Amazing Xperia. I am very happy with this in every way. 5.5 inch is too big; 5.2inch is perfect.
I feel the front camera is placed towards right, but I have no problem in using it. It has Type-C USB jack; I can use it without worrying which side is front or back, so I am happy with it.
This is my first Xperia, but I am glad I chose this. The camera has high image quality. Even the front camera is good.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 3, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Operability -
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability -
Battery 2.0
Total 4.2

I made a right choice!

<design>
I got black.
Comparing with other smartphones, I like the design of Xperia the best. It is simple and cool. I like it particularly because it is not rounded.
Fingerprints stand out on the rear panel, but if you are not happy with it, you can put a cover on.

<portability>
It is not particularly difficult to hold. It is thin and light. Easy to hold. It feels it is easy to drop, though, with its texture. If you are worried, again, put a cover on.

<pushbutton usability>
When I hold it in my right hand, the base of my thumb touches the volume button. I was worried it might cause misoperation before purchase, but I haven't had that problem so far. It doesn't mean the volume button is not sensitive, so I am happy.
The power button doesn't misoperate either.
I thought it is easy to take a screen shot (response is good) You press the power button and the volume - at the same time.

<response>
Very good. It works very lightly. I love playing games, but I can play pleasantly. Response speed is very important with rhythm games, but this never gets jumpy or sluggish. This actually is very good in response. I hope it keeps being like this.

<display>
Very beautiful. The color is beautiful and is easy to see.
With my family's smartphones or my tablet, it was very difficult to see in bright environment, but I can see it beautifully with this.
The camera performance is good, too. I can take good photos in dark environment.

<ringtone, music>
Beautiful. It is not even comparable with tablet. I sometimes listen to music without an earphone. With tablet, I couldn't put up with its rough sound, so I used Bluetooth speaker with it. With this, I don't need to use an external speaker. It is good that it has speaker on top and the bottom holding it vertically, or on both side holding it sideway.

<battery>
The battery run time is not good, to be honest. Compared to my tablet, whose battery run time was good, this is so bad that I was surprised. When I play games or watch movies, it doesn't last a day.

At the same time, I was surprised with its charging speed. When I charge it from the battery remaining nearly 0%, it gets 100% in an hour. You can carry a power bank, and because it charges so quickly, I find it OK.

<fingerprint sensor>
Because the power button is a fingerprint reader, I can unlock it just by pressing the power button. I even get worried if it was locked properly as it gets locked in a second. However, you can register only 5 fingerprints. It would have been better if I could register more. Well, if I could register 6, I was very happy with it. I wanted to register three fingerprints each of my each hand. (thumb, pointer and middle)

<overall>
I did research a lot on Xperia's functions and read reviews before purchase, but the reason I got this is that I fell in love with its design. I also am a SONY fan.

However, my decision was right. I don't have complaints other then its bad battery run time. Even this, I actually don't mind much. I am happy I chose Xperia.

When I replace this in the future, new ones will have been released. If the design is good, I will go for Xperia again.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 3, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 3.0
Operability -
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability -
Battery 4.0
Total 4.2

Compared to Z3.

I got this as it's been two years since I purchased Z3. This is my impression after using it updating to 7.0.

The weight and the size are the same as Z3. The display looks yellowy compared to Z3. I don't mind it when I look at this on its own. It actually looks natural.

The operability and the response have been improved. The finger print sensor is clever, so it is very convenient! As it has only 3GB RAM, it reloads when I change between apps, but it is not sluggish or anything. It is not that critical to me as I don't play games much.
It doesn't get hot after using it for a long time. Pleasant.
I was worried about the battery, but it is much better than my 2-year-old Z3.

Looking at the specification on the catalogue, I hesitated to get this as it didn't look that good. However, I can used this more pleasantly than Z3.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 2, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 3.0
Operability -
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability -
Battery 4.0
Total 4.2

I replaced Xperia ZR with this.

<design>
It is simple. I wish the bezel was smaller at the top and the bottom.

<portability>
It is slightly too big for me.

<pushbutton usability>
Average.

<response>
It responds faster than Xperia.

<menu>
I got muddled at first as my previous phone was ZR.

<display>
It is easy to see as it is big.

<ringtone, music>
The ringtone is not so good. It is good for playing music.

<battery>
It lasts for a day.

<overall>
All in all, I am happy with this. Having said that, I am disappointed that it doesn't have software it used to have such as QR code reader.
As for intelligent charging, it is good that it finishes charging by 7:30AM when I leave home starting to charge 12:30 at night, but when I had to leave home early at 6ish in the morning, it only had 80%. I panicked a little. When I leave home early, I have to change to normal charging when I get up. It is a little annoying.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 31, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability -
Response 4.0
Display 4.0
Listenability -
Battery 2.0
Total 4.0

Just as I expected.

<design>
Good!

<portability>
Average for a smartphone.

<pushbutton usability>
I am used to Xperia as I use tablet...

<response>
It surely is faster than iPad pro 12.9!

<menu>
I am used to this...

<display>
It is not as beautiful as Retina, but it is still beautiful!

<ringtone, music>
As I don't have Hi-Res audio, I only have tried DSEE HX, but as far as trying a headphone I got for free, which supports Hi-Res audio, it is amazing! I decided to change to Hi-Res!

<battery>
Smartphones' problem is here. As I got Android Wear, I thought I could check calls while leaving it in my bag, but... As I use GPS and voice calls a lot for work, I ordered a power bank.

<overall>
I carried a feature phone, iPad (carrier) and Xperia tablet, but I thought I can just carry Xperia and iPad with this, but it didn't work.
However, now I have set my mind on Hi-Res audio.
It seems it is impossible to make phone calls with Xperia tablet, so I will think about going for FREETEL!

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 31, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability -
Response 3.0
Display 5.0
Listenability -
Battery 1.0
Total 3.8

To be honest, I was very disappointed.

I replaced Xperia Z3 with Xperia XZ, but my first impression is that they are pretty much the same. Actually, its inconvenience stands out.

Now there are apps to take movies, so it is OK, but I was surprised that it not longer had screen recorder. I upload movies on YouTube, so I found it very troublesome.

Also, its battery run time is terrible. I looked up on the Internet to solve this problem, but it is still terrible.

The biggest trouble is that Wi-Fi disconnects often. I found this after purchase, and it still has that problem.

All three smartphones I had were Xperia, but this made me think I go for a different one with my next phone.

Oh, the advantage is camera!
The image quality is beautiful.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 29, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Operability -
Response 4.0
Display 5.0
Listenability -
Battery 3.0
Total 4.2

I don't dislike SONY anymore.

I replaced my Galaxy Note 3, which I used for 3 years and 6 months. I am a Galaxy fan, and when I first got Note 3, I was very impressed. Having said that, after three years, it started to get sluggish. With Samsung's trouble with battery, I decided to go back to SONY. This is my first SONY smartphone after the first Xperia.

<design>
It has a beautiful shape with round, angles and lines. Mine is black, but my son chose blue. Blue one might look cooler.

<portability>
It is a right size, but it feels I drop it easily without a case.

<pushbutton usability>
Because I am used to Galaxy's physical button, I am not used to this. Once I got used to this, it started to be more pleasant.

<response>
It works very lightly. I feel it improved a lot in three years.

<menu>
It is not that different from Galaxy's home.

<display>
It is very beautiful. Impressed.

<ringtone, music>
The internal speaker is fine. Even with an average earphone, it is not even comparable with Galaxy Note 3.

<battery>
It sometimes fails to last till evening after using it for a day for normal use. I feel it is not good here.

<overall>
As I got this after three years, no matter what device I chose, I would have been satisfied with it. I was not a fan of SONY after my experience with the first Xperia, but I think I will start liking SONY.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 27, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability -
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability -
Battery 3.0
Total 4.6

For its one and only disadvantage…

<design>
Simple, and it is not rounded in a strange way. Very good. I like this much better than iPhone.

<portability>
No problem.

<pushbutton usability>
As I misparate volume keys because of its position, I want them to improve.

<response>
Amazing operability! If I say iPhone is smooth, Xperia XZ works quickly. I can use it very pleasantly.

<menu>
I used it with Xperia home. It is a basic Android home app; I have no problem with it.

<display>
Excellent! I was impressed with the color reproduction of OEL.

<ringtone, music>
It is very good for playing music using a headphone to play music and media, but the speaker volume is too small... Just like iPad Air 2, it makes the body vibrate; it doesn't use the power to make the sound big. I cannot hear in noisy environment or in the car... This is bad. Not acceptable.

<battery>
I think it uses battery more than iPhone, but it is not a big issue. I hadn't use Android phone for a while, but the battery run time at sleep is pretty good. I was impressed that they have improved this much.

<overall>
The sound volume of the internal speaker... This is the only disadvantage it had, but I couldn't put up with it; I let Xperia XZ go. I didn't mention about it, but the camera's image quality is very sharp and the color it shows is great, too. I like it other than the volume, so it was very sad and difficult decision. I want Sony Mobile to improve this speaker to be as good as iPhone's. If it had, this would have been the best smartphone.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 26, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability -
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability -
Battery 2.0
Total 4.4

Bad battery run time.

I got this as it is about the same size as Xperia Z4.
It is thicker by about 1mm. The size of the display is the same.
With Z4, I experienced heating issue at the back, but with XZ, I haven't experienced it so far.
As the power button of ZX is dented, I misoperate it less often.

When you play game apps continuously, both Z4 and ZX go down to 30% in 3 hours. The battery run time hasn't changed at all.

With ZX, live wall paper gets jumpy. Its graphic processing performance is bad. I think it has a lot of burden on the OS.

Soft charging is not working well. When it is on, it won't be ready before going to work.

Z4 and ZX have the same battery capacity.

As for the browser, Z4 had its standard one and google, but ZX only has google, which makes it more convenient.

I struggled to make the lock screen live wall paper.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 24, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability -
Response 4.0
Display 4.0
Listenability -
Battery 4.0
Total 4.4

You can depend on Xperia. The safest choice as an Android device.

We have an image of Xperia being a smartphone that does well with multimedia, but this is not the best in camera performance, audio performance or game processing speed; there are better device than this.

However, at the same time, this doesn't have anything it doesn't do well. This may not be the best in every way, but does better. The overall performance is good. I can recommend this highly to anyone. The safest choice.

Because it has a base model sold all over the world, this has a lot of choice in accessories and there is a lot of information about the device. This is the only Android smartphone that you can use external stereo microphone.

Because Chinese smartphone with high cost performance are getting popular, which makes Xperia not as popular. However there are not many smartphone with high perofmrance as flagship model with wallet feature, water resistance and full segment, so this is one of the best choice of a smartphone that has everyting.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 21, 2017
Design 3.0
Portability 4.0
Operability -
Response 3.0
Display 3.0
Listenability -
Battery 3.0
Total 3.2

This is my first time to use this. It is average for the price.

I got this as I was interested in it for its good reputation as an Android phone.

However, it was not as good as I expected. This is not something you should spend a lot of money on.

This is average for me. It is overly priced.

This is OK, though.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 18, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Operability -
Response 5.0
Display 4.0
Listenability -
Battery 3.0
Total 4.2

I failed again in choosing a smartphone.

<design>
It is simple. I won't get tired of it.
Forest Blue is chic. I like it.

<portability>
Because my previous smartphone was big, this is much better in terms of portability.

<pushbutton usability>
Without a protection film on it, fingers slide smoothly over it. Easy to use.

<response>
Very good. I don't get stressed.

<menu>
It looked cluttered at first compared to my previous smartphone, but I am used to it now.

<display>
Very beautiful. It has higher contrast. It looks brighter and the color is darker.

<voice call sound quality>
I have nothing to say about it. Average.

<ringtone, music>
This is disappointing. Because there are not so many apps that follows the equalizer setting, it doesn't work as I want it to. I bought this to use this equalizer. This makes this smartphone a failure.
Also, I think it is not loud enough when used with an earphone.

<battery>
It seems to have many functions to make the battery last longer. Even using them, it feels the battery run time is not so good.

<overall>
It is a good smartphone, but as I have written above, it doesn't do what I expect it to. I failed in choosing a smartphone, I must say. I didn't do enough research, but how could I imagine it wouldn't do what it was doing before.
Luckily, it has no problem in using for daily use, so I will put up with it. I will think about smartphones other than Xperia or Android next.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 14, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 3.0
Operability -
Response 5.0
Display 3.0
Listenability -
Battery 4.0
Total 3.8

I have no complaint so far.

<design>
Forest Blue is pretty good. It is darker than I expected, though.

<portability>
Because it has wider bezel on the top and the bottom, it feels slightly too big. Having said that, it is not inconvenient.

<pushbutton usability>
I don't have any complaint.

<response>
It is partly because I got it only recently, but it works as lightly as iPhone. I hope its stays like this.

<menu>
Not bad.

<display>
It is easy to see. With my previous phone, I used blue light cut mode often, so it is disappointing that this one doesn't have that function.

<overall>
It's only been a week since purchase but I am happy with its quick response. The design is beautiful, too, and I feel like showing it to other people. I would like to use this at least for three years. I want this to stay like this for a long time.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 14, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability -
Response 3.0
Display 5.0
Listenability -
Battery 5.0
Total 4.6

The parts I expected to improve didn’t. Disappointed...

<design>
I got Platinum. I don't see silver device often with current mobiles. I can say I chose this for its color.

<portability>
When you carry it without a case on, you can feel its thinness. I used to have Xperia Z1, but I think this is thinner than that. Having said that, because I carry it in an anti-shock case, I cannot actually feel its thinness.

<pushbutton usability>
This has a button for camera, which other cameras don't have. This is the advantage of this device.
I can take photos whenever I like. The camera starts very fast, so I think it is utilizing its advantage.

<response>
The problem is here. I don't feel it's fast compared to Galaxy S5. I sometimes even think Galaxy S5 is faster. Especially, when I try to check which apps are in use, it always fail to show it promptly.
With Chrome, when I open the second tab, it gets jumpy.

<menu>
Original for Xperia. It is easy to use.

<display>
When it shows photos taken with the camera, I can see the details of the photos. Beautiful. This model has a good camera, too.

<ringtone, music>
It has a stereo speaker, so when you can enjoy realistic sound from the top and bottom when held vertically, right and left when held sideways.

<battery>
My previous phone only lasted till lunch time whereas this lasts till evening. But it still doesn't last for a day.
It now has unwanted function like caring charging, but it is not practical that it takes 12 hours to charge up.
It is very sluggish anyway, and it is even worse when I use stamina mode, so I don't use it.

<fingerprint sensor>
Compared to fingerprint sensor for phones such as iPhone, this is not quite there yet. You are lucky if it works with a few touches.
Once every three times, it says ""you cannot use fingerprint sensor,"" and it stops unlocking with fingerprint. As it happens often recently, I unlock it with PIN.

<overall>
I was able to see its improvement with its camera, music and the display, but response and the battery, which I expected it to be good, haven't been improved much. I find it disappointing.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 13, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Operability -
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability -
Battery 4.0
Total 4.6

Getting a new phone.

I replaced URBANO L01 with Xperia XZ last December. This is a review after having used it for about three months. I might have written too much.

<design>
From the display to the sides and the back, everything is beautiful. There is nothing cheap about it. But because it is thin and flat, it is difficult to pick it up placing it on a desk.

<portability>
Because it has 5.2inch display, it is slightly big; it is hard to operate with one hand.

<pushbutton usability>
Each button is easy to press, but it would be better to have volume button on top of the power button. It feels I press it accidentally especially when I hold it in my right hand.
The camera button is located at the good spot when I take photos holding it sideways (SONY logo on the left.)
The accuracy of the fingerprint sensor is pretty good. It fails to recognize when my fingers are moist or when I have my gloves on, but I can used facial recognition for those time.
It seems flinger print recognition and facial recognition are done at the same time; when it recognizes one, it unlocks.

<response>
I feel it is very fast.

<heating issue>
When I switch pages while browsing the Internet, the back heats up, but it doesn't seem to be affecting the operation. Almost all the back panel is made of aluminum, so it has high performance in releasing the heat. Having said that I haven't used this in summer yet, so I'll see how it goes.

<menu>
The original one is fine. Multi windows introduced with android 7.0 is very useful. It allows me to browse the Internet while surfing the Internet.

<touch panel>
The sensitivity of the touch panel is excellent. The function of launching from sleep by double tapping the center of the touch panel didn't work well with Android 6.0.1(its success rate was about 20%), but it has been improved a lot with the update to Android 7.0. It now works 100% of the time.

<display>
It is bright and beautiful. It is interesting that I can adjust the white balance.

<voice call sound quality>
The sound quality is good. I like that it has speakers on the front, too. I find it interesting that I can change the sound quality with audio setting.

<battery>
I only need to charge it once a day. However, if you are switching pages often while browsing, it seems it goes flat relatively quickly.
The charging speed is fast. I use Type-C AC adapter 01. It charges up to 36% from 8% in half an hour, and it goes up to 67% in an hour.

<malfunctions I realized>
Since I updated to Android 7.0, the battery use while at sleep increased (When I check the battery image the percentage used while at idle is high). It didn't improve just by turning off the auto brightness adjustment. It still lasts for a day, so I don't think t is a big issue.

<overall>
It does have slight issues like the ones I have written above, but I am happy with this all in all. I think I can used this for a long time, and I would like to used it for a long time.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 10, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 3.0
Operability -
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability -
Battery 3.0
Total 4.0

It is well balanced.

<design>
The new material called Alkaleido has nice texture. I like it.
Silver tends to look futuristic in a dodgy way, but XZ's silver (platinum) is cool.
As an overall smartphone design, it is basically squarely, but the display is slightly rounded at corners and the corners of the phone is also a little bit rounded. It is great that it is not too round.

<portability>
Recent smartphones have big displays and big battery capacity, so they are less easier to carry around compared to old ones. I think it cannot be helped. It is not surprisingly heavy or anything, though.

<pushbutton usability>
It responds quickly when I want to operate. I particularly thought the speed of fingerprint recognition is fast. This surprised me when I first used this. You shouldn't experience it failing in recognizing fingerprint or slowing down.

<response>
This is not that good catalogue-wise, but unless you use it heavily, it works lightly.

<menu>
As I have been using Xperia UI for a while, I chose the same one. There is nothing I cannot put up with or anything.

<display>
It is so beautiful that I get excited looking at it. The camera performance is amazingly good, and it takes better photos than compact digital cameras.
Because the lens is bright, I can take photos feeling safe in dark environment. This is the biggest selling point; this is the most improved part from former Xperia. If you show this to those who use smartphones from a while ago, they would definitely be surprised.

<voice call sound quality>
This has been improved, too. Even with free calls with a messenger app, it sounds clear.

<battery>
I don't get amazed with its battery run time, but I think it does pretty well.

<overall>
I like taking photos, so I own cameras such as mirrorless camera. However, because I can take photos easily with smartphones whenever I want, I use it often. This one is not just easy to take photos but it takes good photos.
If you like taking photos, you wouldn't regret getting this.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 8, 2017
Design 3.0
Portability 3.0
Operability 4.0
Response 5.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.0

It responds lightly.

<design>
If I take it positively, this is the design that never gets old. The metal rear panel has high-end feel to it.
Loop surface looks modern at a glance, but I prefer the design of P-02E, with which I was able to tell front from back just with the feel of it.

<portability>
It is passable, but it is bigger than P-02E(5inch) height-wise and width-wise.
I heard I need aerial cable to watch TV, so I chose P-02E with internal rod antenna last time. But with SO-01J, just like a portable radio, I can watch TV with an earphone with cable. I was happy to find that out.

<pushbutton usability>
I started to get used to it, and it now is not a big deal anymore, but at first I felt uneasy as P-02E had a physical key.
The power button is also a fingerprint sensor, so as long as you register your fingerprint, you can unlock it easily.
The shutter release is a physical key. Because I use left hand a lot, too, this is not that convenient.

<response>
It is fast in loading, and it responds lightly. I like it.
I cannot bring myself to play games with a smartphone, so I haven't checked how it does with games.

<display>
It doesn't feel it is a lot more beautiful than P-02E. I have set the setting for high quality image mode as Dynamic, but when I turn it OFF or when I choose X-Reality, it seemed the color is rather sedate.
What I found it to be so Sony is that users can adjust white balance of the display as they like. If you are not happy with the color in real and the color on the display, you can adjust it to the way you like. I haven't done it, though.
Smart backlight function, which leaves the backlight on when the sensor recognizes that it is used in hands.

<voice call sound quality>
Not that different from P-02E.

<ringtone, music>
The speaker sound is loud for its size.
When you use a Hi-Res earphone, you can not only enjoy Hi-Res audio but also normal sound files with high quality sound. I haven't tried it though as I cannot see that advantage when I use it outside (Normal earphones do well, too.)

<battery>
For my usage, when I use it from it being fully charged, it goes down to about 60%.

<misc.>
The camera performance they are highly talking about on ads is very good, too. It can not only focus in dark environment easily but also adjust the image recognizing it quickly. I was amazed.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 28, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability -
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Total 4.7

Z5 (SOV32) to XZ

<design>
No complaints. Amazing Xperia.

<portability>
It is the same as Z5 size-wise, so I am not evaluating it.

<pushbutton usability>
The power button is a lot easier to press compared to Z5! The accuracy of the fingerprint has been improved a lot.

<response>
Z5 got hot when I operated it a little. With XZ, it even doesn't get warm.

<menu>
One star off, as they got rid of Small app.

<display>
It has higher resolution than Z5.

<ringtone, music>
The sound is more realistic than that of the imbedded speaker of Z5.

<battery>
It is pretty much the same as Z5. N/A.

<overall>
I think it is well made.
Sadly, XZs and XZ Premium were released, which means this will be an old device...

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 20, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Total 5.0

Third Xperia

<design>
Good.

<pushbutton usability>
The power button is different from Z4, so I feel uneasy.

<response>
It works lightly.

<meny>
Easy to see.

<display>
My eyes don't get tired compared to Z4.

<voice call sound quality>
Beautiful.

<ringtone, music>
It has better sound than Z4.

<overal>
It doesn't have heating issues, has good reponse and good battery life. I think I can use it for a long time.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 20, 2017
Design 1.0
Portability 1.0
Operability 1.0
Response 3.0
Display 3.0
Listenability 3.0
Battery 1.0
Total 1.9

My previous phone was Z3C.

Because Z3C was not supported with the new update, I reluctantly replaced it with this. I feel I lost more than I got. Type-C looks useful, but I need a conversion connector, so I find it is still inconvenient. Other device still has micro.

Basically, I am waiting for the update of OS. If yours is not 7.0 yet, you shouldn't update it.

I feel the speed of camera, Wi-Fi and operation got faster. What I thought this to be better than Z3C is its speaker. The sound of movies is easy to hear. Well, it was a compact device, so of course this is better here.

Because of the design rounded on both sides, none of the protector film fits good.

It is so disapointing that it doesn't support OTG... It is now water resistant and it does not support OTG... I hope they might change here with an update.

Good Review

Page 1 of 3

Latest Reviews for Mobile Phones

<design> I like its pastel color. <portability> It is big, but it is easy to hold. <pushbutton usability> The fingerprint sensor on the power button is good. <response> It is the same as the previous ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.8
  • Review by Japanese user
  • Date : Apr 4, 2017

I have used SHARP products. I was looking for a compact one, but SHAPR only had big ones, so I decided on a SONY smartphone. The usability is a lot worse. <design> All the smartphones look pretty ...Read more

  • Rating : 3.2
  • Review by Japanese user
  • Date : Mar 31, 2017

<design> It has both easiness in hold and coolness. It has right thickness, so it is very easy to hold. <portability> I used 5.5inch smartphone, too, but I came back to this size in the end. <pushbut ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.4
  • Review by Japanese user
  • Date : Mar 31, 2017
View Mode: PC | Mobile