Sony Xperia X Compact Reviews

Lowest Price P17,880 2 Prices
Go to Shop kimstore
Color
Easy to carry 4.6 inch smartphone that features 3GB RAM, 32GB main storage, Quick and Adaptive charging, 23 MP main camera and 5 MP selfie camera
  • Smartphone, Google Android M
  • 4.6 inches, HD (1280 x 720)
Sony Xperia X Compact

Compare prices

Specs

Reviews

Forum

Overall Rating

Design 4.2
Portability 4.5
Operability 4.6
Response 4.6
Display 4.8
Listenability 4.4
Battery 4.4
Total 4.5

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 9, 2017
Design 3.0
Portability 3.0
Operability -
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability -
Battery 5.0
Total 4.2

As the first smartphones for an old couple

<design>
There's nothing too edgy about it. Mist Blue has fresh feel to it. It comes in Pink, which is not too flashy but sedate. When you get a gold diary case, it blends in nicely.

<portability>
It is easy to hold as it is compact. It doesn't have a strap hole for it, though. If you want to put a strap on, you need to put it in a diary case or a case with a strap hole. It seems there is bunker ring to stick on with sticky tape or a product you can put in an earphone jack. (You won't be able to use an earphone with a cable, though)

<pushbutton usability>
It has a volume button and the shutter release on its right side, which makes it easy to use. The power button is not poking out; it is flat. When you press it, it feels you are pressing in, which prevents misoperation. I like it. Fingerprint sensor works well, too.
Especially when I use it sideways to take photos, the shutter release is very easy to press.

<response>
Very good. But because the display is small, elderlies tap where they are not intending to tap, but I think everyone faces this problem at first; no problem.
The camera doesn't seem to read QR code as normal.

<menu>
This is very easy to use. The setting has different color icons, so it is easier to see than my SH-04H. Depending on the setting, you can make it simple like Raku-raku smartphone. You can enlarge characters, too. Convenient.

<display>
When you are used to smartphones with display bigger than 5inch, 4.6 surely looks small. Having said that, considering easiness in holding, this size is good.
The image is beautiful. People tend to think it is better for elderlies to go for a bigger display, but it makes the phone itself bigger, and it makes it difficult to hold. Even when you change the setting to make the characters big, it doesn't work with all the pages it shows.
The camera performance is very good, so this would be perfect for those who take photos a lot.

<voice call sound quality>
I find the voice call sound quality very good. The microphone is located close to users' mouth, which I find good. I especially feel so as my SH-04's microphone is an unbelievably tiny hole at the bottom of the phone.

<ringtone, music>
There are many choices in preinstalled ringtones. The sound quality is good, too.

<battery>
It went flat easily for the first several days as I used it a lot for setting, but once it got settled, it started to last long. I can use it for a day easily. It can last for two days.
The jack for a charger is USB-Micro C. If you want to use Micro B, you need to buy an adaptor for 500 yen, connect from PC using a Micro C USB cable, or buy a charger for Micro C.

<overall>
I got two different colored ones for an old couple. Most manufactures are making 5-inch smartphones, but this is a little small and easy to hold.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 6, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Total 4.6

I replaced Xperia Z3 Compact (SO-02G) with this.

This is mainly the comparison with Z3 Compact.

<design>
Unlike Z3C, the rear panel is plastic. However, it is glossy and I like it. Tiny dust can stand out on it, so I wipe it often.
Also, because the edges of the display is curved, you need to go for the film that covers the whole surface, not the one only for the flat surface. At first, I got the film that only covers the flat part, but when I swipe from the edge, my finger got caught with the film and the dust got caught there. I replaced it with the one that covers the whole surface.

<portability>
As the name says, it is compact. No complaints. As I have written above, the plastic body fits in my hand, so it is not slippery. What I am not happy with is its strength of vibration. Compared to Z3C, it feels stronger. It is good for notification as it makes it easier to notice, but the motor sound it makes when I press the home button is too loud. It is a pity especially because I liked the subtle feel with Z3C' short vibration.

<pushbutton usability>
Because it has fingerprint sensor, it is a flat button unlike that of Z3C. It can be difficult to press time to time, but it is very convenient that it unlocks as I press the button. It is actually difficult to see the locked screen. As for the camera button, it hasn't been changed much. It is easy to press.
The volume button is located lower than with Z3C. I might get muddled till I get used to it.

<response>
The CPU is not high-end, but it works very lightly probably because it has 3GB RAM now. The camera launches very fast, too.

<menu>
It is not that different from Z3C.

<display>
No problem for daily use. It has better color expression than Z3C.

<ringtone, music>
It is amazing how it sound when I play music with this. This is what I was the most impressed with.
As for the speaker, it does have its limit with low tone, but the high tone of piano is very clear. I even think someone is playing around me.

As for the earphone, automatic optimization is excellent.
I use MDR-NC31 with noise cancelling function, which came with WALKMAN A16 series. Just by turning automatic optimization on, the sound changed completely. It sounded it maximizes the characteristic of the earphones.
Z3C had good sound quality, so I thought it wouldn't change much. This was a great surprise in a pleasant way.

<camera>
It has been improved more than Z3C. Good.
It can take good photos in dark environment or with back light. It reproduces the color nicely, too.
Also for UI, it changes to the front camera just when I swipe it down. Very convenient.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 25, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 4.0
Response 3.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 2.0
Battery 4.0
Total 4.0

The speaker sound

I have used Z3, A4, Z5 and X. I always go for compact. I always have been a fan of compact series. Among all the Android phones, Xperia is the easiest to use. Also, compact has great portability, so I have never been interested in any other smartphones.

I mainly use this for GPS and games. I use it as a GPS system while driving for work, so this is important.

X compact fits in my hand nicely, and it has bright colors. But the sound from the speaker is so small. Compared to Z5, the sound of alarm is a lot quieter. For using as a GPS system, I needed to turn the radio down, so that I can hear what it is saying. I put up with it for 3 days, but I couldn't concentrate on driving.

Other than the sound problem, it cannot handle heavy games. I experienced glitch, and the sound broke. This is not suitable for playing games.

I couldn't put up with these two points, so I bought iPhone 7. I don't like iPhone, but I had no other choice.

Other than the problems it has I wrote above, this is a very good device. I liked its look, too. It was disappointing! I want them to do better with the next device!

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 12, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.7

A good device

This is the 5th smartphone for me; the first one was Xperia SO-01B. I have use LG smartphone (this was a good device, too), but mostly, I have been using Xperia.
I thought I would not talk about smartphones anymore, but this was different. It surprised me in a good way.
This gives me satisfaction in owning it.
I definitely have to mention about its battery life, the pleasantness in fingerprint recognition and little heating issue. There are more good points, but with these three, this is particularly good.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 11, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Total 4.7

Xperia X Compact review

<design>
Generic. Not good or bad.
Icons are on left-hand side when tilted to the left, which makes it look unbalanced. Well, it is not too bad. You can get used to it while using it.
The rear panel is not made of glass, so it lacks in high-end feel, but this is fine as it is.
It is OK as long as I don't drop it. As for scratches, when you put it in a handkerchief or cloth to wipe glasses, it should be fine.

<portability>
Compact type has great portability. It fits in my pocket without making me feel uneasy about it in my pocket.

<pushbutton usability>
I have used Z3C then Z5C, so I don't feel awkward in using this.

<response>
Z5C's CPU specification is high, but it didn't have enough memory to handle its CPU specialized in 3D. Compared to that, this works a lot more lightly. This must be thanks to 3GB RAM... All I can say is ""Amazing."" If the resolutions of the display gets better, I want them to make it 4G.

<menu>
I have been using Xperia from my first smartphone, so I find it easy to use. This is the matter of getting used to.

<ringtone, music>
The output is less than Z5C, but it is OK compared to Z3C.

<battery>
I am a little unhappy with its battery use while at stand by, but it uses less than Z5C.

<overall>
As a compact series phone, this is the best among the phones I have used.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 9, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 3.0
Operability 4.0
Response 4.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.0

It is good all in all

<design>
I replaced Z3C with this. As it's got thicker and bigger slightly, it is easier to hold.
Some people seem not so happy with the new cover made of plastic, not glass, but I think it won't get smashed in case I drop it, so I think this is good enough.

<portability>
Though it now is bigger, it is only bigger by several mm. I can use the same waist bag.
However, it now doesn't have a strap hole, I put a bunker ring to make it easier to hold. I wonder why they got rid of it.

<pushbutton usability>
The fingerprint sensor on the power button is very easy to use. It has high accuracy, so now I don't need a log in app.

<response>
CPU is now has lower grade, but probably thanks to 3GB RAM, it doesn't work too slow in switching in apps or scrolling.

<menu>
It is a pity that it no longer has a sub menu app like calculator. Having said that, the mistaking is standard with the OS, and it seems they can support it by switching tasks.

<display>
HD quality. But this is beautiful enough as it's got the small display. It is bright enough, and with auto setting, it changes to appropriate brightness in dark environment, which makes it a lot easier to see.

<ringtone, music>
The sound quality of Xperia. Especially with a noise cancelling earphone, I can hear well even while I'm flying.

<battery>
I only have started using this, so the phone itself hasn't learned how I use it and that. And yet, it lasts for a day easily. It doesn't use much even with the GPS.
I would need to get rid of apps I don't need or cancel background.

<overall>
I was happy with Z3C all in all, but I got it replaced. I'm excited to see how much I would be able to get satisfied.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 8, 2017
Design 3.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Total 4.6

This is 3GB RAM.

I got the battery and the cover of my Xperia Z3 Compact replaced only the end of last year, but I got this. This is the same as Z3C in terms of usability, so I am using it with no problem.

I point out what I am not fully happy about.
It looks cheaper now, but it is within acceptable range.
The charging port now is Type C at the bottom of the device, so I cannot charge it in a cradle.
I like the clicking feel Type C has.
I only have used smartphones with 2GB RAM including Z3C, but I find Z3C works with leeway. It opens lightly and shuts quickly. The sides of the display are rounded, so you need to be careful in choosing the film.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 5, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Total 5.0

Xperia compact series Z3 > Z5 > X

I have used Xperia compact series, Z3, Z5 and X.

I use my smartphone a lot in my daily life.
I often fall over and get drunk, so I use it roughly.

I dropped Z3 compact twice, and it broke with a cracked display. Even when I put an expensive glass film, it breaks from the edges, so I protected it with a bumper.
After, I lost a waterproof cover, and it died with water submerge.

I got Z5 compact in December 2015.
It didn't have a lid for water protection, so I didn't have to worry about submerge. For the display, as I was worried about the display getting cracked, I used a bumper at first. But because the body got more rigid, it didn't get scratched or cracked for a year even without a bumper.
But after 6 months, I was experiencing heating issues with this.
It was very stressful as it was slow in typing and in launching the camera. Because I am going on a trip this month, after 13 months, I decided to replace it.

XZ has a lot better resolution number with the front camera compared to compact, but because I like this size and the price is cheaper with compact, I decided on this.

It responds so fast that I cannot keep up with it.
The fingerprint sensor works perfectly whereas the previous one, it didn't.

The battery lasts well, though I only have used it for two days.

I was worried about heating issue, but it seems OK so far. When I used it a lot for initial setting and uploading, it got warm, though.

The sound got better, so I enjoy watching YouTube more.

This is a good device for this size and this performance.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 3, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 3.0
Operability 4.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 3.0
Total 4.0

I replaced Z3 Compact with this.

<design>
People say it is not so good as it is plasticky. I use the white one, but I don't find it that cheap. It is heavier than Z3C, so I still feel odd carrying it around, but it is easy to hold.

<portability>
Same as above.

<pushbutton usability>
Same as Z3C.

<response>
Switching between apps is amazingly fast. Before, when I got a Line message while playing games, I had to restart the game app as it froze. With this, on the other hand, I can switch between apps smoothly.

<menu>
Same.

<display>
Pretty much the same.

<voice call sound quality>
I haven't used it yet.

<ringtone, music>
I feel it is better than the previous model.

<battery>
It is not that different from Z3C.

<overall>
All in all, I am happy with this. As other people say, fingerprint recognition is amazing! I can switch between apps smoothly, so I am very happy with this.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 8, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Total 5.0

This size is the best.

I replaced Z3 compact with this. I carry a bag when commuting or going out, so this size is handy as I can operate it with one hand.
As for its look, because I put a cover on, I don't mind it at all. Actually, the back is less breakable than glass, so I think it is good.
Fingerprint sensor responds quickly, and Z3 didn't have it, so I was very impressed.
The one sold outside Japan wasn't water resistant, but the one for Japan is. I am glad they made so.
CPU is not high-performance, but I can play heavy games smoothly. So far, it doesn't have sound skipping. Z3 was terrible there.
I put a diary case on it, so I don't put a protector film. It responds well and I can use it without feeling stressed.
What I am happy with the most is its charging method; it now is USB Type-C. With Z3, a seal came off from the cap and the connection of cradle charger got bad. It was terrible.

It's only been two days, but I have no complaints so far, and I think I can used this for two years again. Nowadays, smartphones with displays bigger than 5inch are becoming mainstream. I want them to keep making this size phone.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 25, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 4.0
Response 3.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Total 4.0

Comparison with Z3 compact

<design>
It is not as cool as Z3, and it is plasticky too. But this is good as it is.

<portability>
There are not many choices for small ones; either this or Aquos mini. With a small one, it doesn't feel bulky in a pocket.

<pushbutton usability>
I feel uneasy about its volume button as it has been changed, but thanks to it, I have less chance to misoperate. I think it should be fine once I get used to it.

<response>
Sometimes I can see it doesn't respond quickly or gets jumpy. I don't feel so for daily use.

<voice call sound quality>
The sound from speaker got better with realistic feel. With the volume set loud, it seems it gets clipping noise a little.

<battery>
Not bad.

<overall>
It feels warmer than Z3.

Fingerprint authentication gives me a sense of security, but it actually is bothersome. Because I am using a diary case, holding it in the other hand and try to get my fingerprint read doesn't go smoothly.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 5, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Total 5.0

I replaced Z3 compact with this

I replaced X3 compact with this. X Compact used plastic for its back, got thicker and longer, so I had negative impression about it. But I was attracted with its exquisite coloring and more functions (bigger pixel numbers of camera, fingerprint sensor, water resistant USB-C without a cap, bigger memory). The screen got more beautiful; it is not even comparable with iPhone. It now has less high-end feel, but this model's cuteness outweighs.

Good Review

Page 1 of 1

Latest Reviews for Mobile Phones

<design> If I take it positively, this is the design that never gets old. The metal rear panel has high-end feel to it. Loop surface looks modern at a glance, but I prefer the design of P-02E, with ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by Japanese user
  • Date : Mar 8, 2017

<design> No complaints. Amazing Xperia. <portability> It is the same as Z5 size-wise, so I am not evaluating it. <pushbutton usability> The power button is a lot easier to press compared to Z5! The ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.7
  • Review by Japanese user
  • Date : Feb 28, 2017

I replaced Z3 with XZ. It looks good. The camera performance is good. Response is not bad. However, GPS is totally unusable. Even when I change the setting to be more precise, it is still terrible. ...Read more

  • Rating : 3.7
  • Review by Japanese user
  • Date : Feb 22, 2017
View Mode: PC | Mobile