Sony BDP-S370 Reviews

Expected Price ---
  • DVD Player, Blu-ray Player
  • Audio Output, BD-Live, Wi... more specs
Sony BDP-S370

Compare prices

Specs

Reviews

Forum

Overall Rating

Design 4.1
Operability 4.0
Picture Quality 4.4
Sound Quality 4.0
Reading Accuracy 4.0
Output Terminal 4.3
Size 4.4
Total 4.2

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Oct 16, 2010
Design 5.0
Operability 4.0
Picture Quality 4.0
Sound Quality 4.0
Reading Accuracy -
Output Terminal 4.0
Size 5.0
Total 4.3

It's good.

[Design]

It's chic. Some parts appear cheaply made, but is satisfactory with its price.

[Operability]

The cons are as below.

Cannot fast-forward audio files.

Cannot control music with the number keys.

Cannot skip to precise segments

SACD layer edit could only be done from the settings menu.

However, response speed is uncannily quick (Faster than a PS3!), so overall I'm satisfied.
As for the Blu-Ray, resolution is lower than PS3 (as in outlines seem thicker), but YCbCr (4:4:4) display couples the image naturally, and I love the image quality here more.

DVD up-scaling quality is about the same as a standard PS3 setting.
PS3's fast-forward mode is definitely cleaner.

[Sound Quality]

Not on par with PS3s that separates the image and sound through HDMI and component, but this device produces better sound compared to an HDMI-only PS3.
And the sound can be improved by turning OFF the display of the main unit.

[Reading Accuracy]

So far there have been no discs that this model cannot read.
Its drive has the high-speed data recognition as in reputation, probably with very high reading accuracy but here I prefer not to make a clear evaluation.

[Output Terminal]

I have no particular need regarding this point but if I spoke generally, the lack of analog multi-terminal and D-terminal may be noted.

[Size]
Its width is average. Yet both the depth and slimness of this model is very compact.

[General Comments]

Overall I am very satisfied with it.
However it is not DLNA-compatible as is the case in models other countries than Japan.
This is a disappointment.

Other points I have noticed.

It starts-up quite quickly even with its quick start-up feature being OFF.
Just push the play-button, it begins start-up and recognizes the disc and plays sound.
The whole process takes only about 20 seconds (with SACD).
It opens its tray about 1 second after you simply push the button but you need to wait for some time before you can use it with button operation.

I thought it could out-put image/sound separately as PS3; Image is out-put simultaneously to all terminals (composite included) whatever out-put setting.
It is still convenient, as image is out-put to composite terminals as well so that you can watch it in the sub-monitor without turning ON the projector.

As for operation noise, though its driving sound at starting-up/shutting-down is surprising, noises of disc-reading and fanning are almost unnoticeable.

The right side of the top panel tends to get hot.
It will be better not to put things there.
One good thing is that I can watch the highlights of the concert of The Berlin Philharmonic for free.

I do not use Gracenote very much.

The full HD of mp4 in my USB Flash Drive was played without any troubles.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Sep 21, 2010
Design 5.0
Operability 5.0
Picture Quality 4.0
Sound Quality 4.0
Reading Accuracy 5.0
Output Terminal 5.0
Size 5.0
Total 4.7

Good Deal

"It has been just about 3 days since purchase but I am sure that this is a good product.
It has a 36mm slim design and size. I like this point.

The simple and flat display does not compromise its visibility so much.
Its remote control looks cheap, which is disappointing, but after considering the price I simply accepted it as it is.

The image quality is not so good as that of PS3 in comparison but not too bad.
It plays beautifully to a reasonable extent CPRM-compatible discs (DVD-RW) in which some programs of WOWOW etc. are recorded. So I find it nice.

As I am using a separate amplifier, which of course has some effect on the sound quality, I am not sure whether this individual product is good or bad in this respect. But so far I have not found anything strange regarding this point. No problem.
The fan noise of PS3 had been unendurably annoying to me. That was the reason why I purchased this model and I am very satisfied with it.

Simple and compact with quick startup and many available media, it's a high CP model recommendable to those not so particular about image/sound quality.
The function is not yet used extensively on net environment and eager to test the external input (USB) from now; this is really worth at a price below 20,000 Yen.

"

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Sep 18, 2010
Design 3.0
Operability 5.0
Picture Quality 5.0
Sound Quality 2.0
Reading Accuracy 5.0
Output Terminal 5.0
Size 5.0
Total 4.3

Do I hope too much?

I bought it to replace my broken DVD HDD recorder.

[Design]
I wish it gave more of a high-end look.
Maybe I should not expect more for the price. .

[Functionality]
It is amazing that I can play blue-ray, DVD, SACD, and CD within 20,000 yen that was the price at which I bought it.

[Sound Quality]
What disappoints me the most is its sound quality.
If you say it's what I can expect of Sony, that would be the end of it, but poor mid-range tones are not acceptable. Nevertheless it's not mid scoop sound.
I think it can be described as narrow band and mild play sound.
Reproduced sound, in other words.
Especially when I played high-quality CD and DVD, I recognized it.
Most probably I will buy new model with better sound quality.
(I used it with audio power amplifier: SANSUI AU-X1111)
Although I tried it with a digital amplifier via HDMI, the quality was even worse.
I would like to hear the other's opinion.

[Remote Controller]
It would be better if it looked high-class. But it is value for money.

[General Comments]
The rest doesn't match with the image quality -- that's my impression.
Am I asking too much?

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Sep 17, 2010
Design 5.0
Operability 5.0
Picture Quality 5.0
Sound Quality 5.0
Reading Accuracy 5.0
Output Terminal 5.0
Size 4.0
Total 4.9

Fast

What I found after starting it up was that the letters were displayed clearer than S360.
I think the image quality became more vivid compared to S360.
It loads BDs faster than PS3 and quickly starts playing.
S360 didn't have an open/close button on the remote that is available this time.
This time, the screen shows various information while connected to the Internet.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Dec 8, 2010
Design 3.0
Operability 1.0
Picture Quality 3.0
Sound Quality 3.0
Reading Accuracy 1.0
Output Terminal 3.0
Size 4.0
Total 2.6

It's buggy.

As others have pointed out, it has many bugs.
I will list what I have noticed.
The disk cannot be ejected sometimes.
The disk cannot be read once every 10 times.
I had the disk drive exchanged, but it has not improved.
The power turns off when the subtitles appear.
Sony recognized that it was a bug when I sent it for repair.
They told me they would fix it for the next update.

You cannot fix those problems of ""unable to eject discs"" or ""it won't read discs"" without unplugging the electric cord.
Sony told me that it did not recognize this as a bug.
So this will remain unfixed.

This player is a substitute for appropriate ones.
Only those who want to watch SACD or BD but cannot afford nice ones.
I will never buy Sony's audio-related products again.

Good Review

CoBixx0201

  • Review by CoBixx0201
  • Sep 10, 2014
Design 4.0
Operability 4.0
Picture Quality 5.0
Sound Quality 5.0
Reading Accuracy 4.0
Output Terminal 4.0
Size 4.0
Total 4.3

Long lasting but expensive sony

Many users said that when you buy an expensive gadget or things it will really last longer, the capacity and the durability is long...For my sony dvd player , it is expensive because i bought brand new and it is the latest for sony player last year, Now this sony dvd player entertains me and my family by watching blu ray movies and using it in my games, also it is wifi ready ,but i didn't used or connect it to wifi..,The best sound and picture quality, HD display, Hdmi , usb terminal and component connections are the best, features, working good and better..

Good Review

Leah Rondaza

  • Review by Leah Rondaza
  • Nov 27, 2012
Design 4.0
Operability 4.0
Picture Quality 5.0
Sound Quality 5.0
Reading Accuracy 4.0
Output Terminal 4.0
Size 4.0
Total 4.3

bluray player

Mura na itong Sony BDP-S370 para sa isang bluray player. Although, more on the average pricing area siya, mura pa rin ito kasi Sony ang tatak ng appliance na ito. Kaya nitong gawin ang lahat ng gusto mong gawin ng isang bluray player. Wala ka namang mairereklamo pa dito. Maganda naman yung quality ng picture and sound. Okay rin yung additional internet features niya. At maayos din naman yung playback feature niya.

Good Review

Page 1 of 1

Latest Reviews for DVD / Blu-ray Players

This is one of the simplest DVD player that I know, It is very easy to use it, not too complicated like other DVD players. Great picture and sound quality especially with added speakers to enhance ...Read more

  • Rating : 3.6
  • Review by I am Rocky
  • Date : Jun 2, 2018

even for first time users madali lang gamitin ang dvd player na ito, I just need to use it to play old DVDs that we have at home kaya good thing nakita ko ito from Sony, bsta Sony brand magandang ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by Keifer Man
  • Date : Jun 1, 2018

Not complicated to operate, easy to follow instructions manual so even if you are not used to operating such thing you will be able to set it up properly and also make it function.easy to touch ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.1
  • Review by Hermainie Lopez
  • Date : May 17, 2018
View Mode: PC | Mobile