Nikon D7200 Body Reviews

Lowest Price P38,000 10 Prices
Go to Shop ONE STOP SHOP
D7200 delivers high performance with 24.2 MP, Built-in Wi-Fi, 51-point autofocus system, and Full-HD video support.
  • Release date : Mar 2015
  • DSLR - body only, 24.2 mp ... more specs
Related Models
Nikon D7200 Body

Compare prices

Specs

Reviews

Forum

Overall Rating

Design 4.3
Image Quality 4.7
Operability 4.4
Battery 4.5
Portability 4.3
Functionality 4.6
Display 4.6
Grip Performance 4.5
Total 4.5

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Aug 13, 2015
Design 5.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 5.0
Total 5.0

Adding to D7000! Very satisfied!

I own D7000, D800E and D4S.
I use both DX and FX depending on the situations.
I was impressed with the images of D4S, so I got D7200, which has the sensor, processing engine and AF from the same time as D4S.

I'm really happy with my decision!
Even at an aquarium, where I'm not used to take photos, I was able to take great images using high sensitivity and AF performance. It works great teaming up with DX10-24 wide-angle lens.

I also was interested in D400 or D9000 series, but am very satisfied with D7200!

Considering the characteristics of each camera, I would like to use D7000 with fixed focal length and standard lenses, and D7200 with micro, wide-angle and telephoto lenses.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Aug 9, 2015
Design 4.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 4.6

Superior to high end DSLRs in image quality and how it feels in your hand

I am a Canon user, but I couldn't forget esoteric photography Nikon cameras allow me to take, so I got this highly rated model.

I was surprised how good it was. This is too good to make it an every day camera. Nikon has models to make me think I would like to own at least one.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jul 30, 2015
Design 4.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 5.0
Battery 3.0
Portability 3.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 4.0

Replaced D7000 with this

Replaced D7000 with this.

Almost the same size, and though this is a little bit lighter, I don't feel any awkwardness in using this.

Because it has no low-pass filter, the image quality is sharp.
I was worried if the lenses I'd been using would be good enough because it has higher megapixels, but it has no problems probably thanks to this.

It looks great with high sensitivity, so I will carry this around in the nighttime, too.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jul 25, 2015
Design 5.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 5.0
Total 4.9

Satisfactory camera

<design>
This is the succession machine of D7000, and these two are pretty much the same. Feels great in my hand.

<image quality>
Brilliant. I took portraits of over 300 people, and when I printed out in A3 size, they were all clear and sharp.

<operation>
Very easy as I'm used to the operation of D7000. It feels smoother. But there were some troubles with the image on the monitor when I used the remote control.

<battery>
Battery life is long enough for one day photo shoot of an amateur photographer.

<portability>
Compact. Very good.

<function>
Most of the things I was not happy about have been improved. It has enough functions for an amateur photographer like me.

<screen>
A little bigger, and easier to see in bright environment.

<hold>
Very easy to hold. So even though it has high megapixels, it shows less camera shake.

<overall>
Compact and high performance. Great for sports photography. I haven't compared this with cameras from other makes, but because I only print out up to A3, this is an ideal camera. I bought a nano crystal coating type of lens, so I would like to adjust to be able to take better photos.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jul 23, 2015
Design 5.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 5.0
Total 5.0

Very good for photographing birds

<design>
I've been using D7000. Because these two are pretty much the same, I have no problem.
I'm still using D7000 after an overhaul.

<image quality>
Much better than D7000. You can see the difference especially in dark environment. When you develop with NX-D, you can choose 'even stronger 2' for active D lighting, so you don't have to set ISO high.

<operation>
Almost the same as D7000. But the location of the button for enlarge is different. I made mistakes many times when I first bought.

<battery>
Long battery life as D7000.

<portability>
Same as D7000. No problem.

<function>
ISO speed is not shown in the view finder when using ISO AUTO. (D7000 shows it)
I photograph without using a tripod using M mode. I change shutter speed and aperture considering the light, and when I find out the actual ISO speed, then I change the setting accordingly. Because ISO speed is shown in the shoulder of the camera, when I look at it, the camera moves and it changes the ISO speed again. It would be fine if I use a tripod, but for flying object, I'd rather hold the camera in my hand. It will be great if I could see the ISO speed in the viewfinder just like with D7000.

<screen>
Nothing special about it, but I find it good.

<hold>
Same as D7000. No problem.

<satisfaction>
I'm very satisfied especially with image quality. X1.3, which D7000 didn't have, is particularly good. It allows me to take more photos in continuous shooting. Sometimes the object can protrude when it is too close, though...

The photo samples here are taken with 80-400. I bought 300F4 PF lately, so even lighter and easier to use.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jun 23, 2015
Design 4.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 4.4

You may no longer need a full frame camera?

I bought this for telephotography rather than as a substitute machine of D750.

My first impression of D7200 was wrong in a good way.

I thought the image quality or high-sensitivity would be worse as this has a 24Mpix sensor for APS-C format camera, not for full frame camera. But it actually is doing a great job.

For comparison, I took photos in Jpeg fine, standard picture control, no vignette or lens correction, with ISO1600, 6400 and 12800. I used AF-S Nikkor 70mm f/4G ED, and photographed with 70mm for D7200 and 105mm for D750, so the resolution is the same.
As a result, I found that it is not as good as full frame DSLR, but as for APS-C, it has an amazing ISO tolerance.
When you compare the photos taken at ISO1600, the resolution of D7200 looked better than D750! It may be because it doesn't have LPF.
With D7200, because the mirror balancer is installed and has a smaller mirror, I could see almost no mirror slap. This works great especially for still photos you don't want to take at high sensitivity because you can lower shutter speed as much as you like.
Its ISO tolerance is only one level down, the resolution is high thanks to not having LPF and it has less mirror slap. So I can say there isn't a big difference with D750 for still photos or objects you can take with low shutter speed.

I found AF coverage was good, too.
It has the same AF sensor as D750, but because the camera image sensor size is small, the range that AF sensor can cover covers almost all the range of the image sensor size. That means there are more choices in choosing compositions.
When you use DX crop x 1.3, all the shooting coverage is covered by AF sensor, so it would be perfect for shooting moving objects in distance.
For AF performance, it is almost the same as D750 when you look at its speed, hesitation it shows and ability to capture. Quite good.

As for usability, this is compact and light compared to D750, which is the lightest model in full frame DSLRs. But because of its compactness, and the body design, which is of 3 years ago, it is not that easy to handle.
For this size and the feel of grip, I thought it would be a good idea to attach a battery grip, so I bought it.
When you take vertical composition photos without a battery grip, there is no space for my little finger to be placed and it touches the lens.

Operation is the same as D750, so no complaints here. If you are using D800 series, D4 series or D300 series, you might find it not satisfactory, but if you are using midrange or entry models, you'll have no problems in using this one.

I've been only writing advantages so far, but I'll show some disadvantages here.

First, when you use ISO-AUTO, the viewfinder doesn't show ISO speed, and I don't like that at all. It is not good that you have to take your eye off the viewfinder to check ISO.

Also, there is no low ISO speed. This is a No-no!
They might think it is OK because it can go up to SS1/8000 in bright environment, but I think there is a situation like you want to decide the exposure and shoot with slow ss but cannot use ND filter. It should be able to be set down to ISO50!

My complaints are just these two, and my overall feel to this camera is very good.

This is a very reasonably priced camera I can highly recommend. I think we will no longer need to pay more for heavy full frame DSLRs!

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jun 7, 2015
Design 5.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 5.0
Total 5.0

One step-up from D5300

<design>
It looks exactly the same as D7100. Good old Nikon design.

<image quality>
Good.
Thanks to more precise AF, I get less dissatisfying photos.
Image-processing engine is the same as D5300, but I didn't expect there was such a big difference in D5000 series and D7000 series.

<operation>
This is my first time to use a midrange DSLR. The usability is totally different to entry models.

<battery>
I usually take in jpeg, so no problems. I use a battery grip, but one battery is enough.

<portability>
The battery grip makes it heavy, but compared to full frame DSLRs, its portability is good. My priority is not in portability, as you can see it from the fact I'm using a battery grip.

<function>
Some people say the continuous shooting is not as good as Canon, but I'm satisfied with this.

<screen>
Easy to see. I wish it was a tilt and swivel monitor, though.

<hold>
Good.

<overall>
Some seem to have complaints in continuous shooting, but since my previous camera was D5300, I'm quite happy with this.
I didn't know D5000 series and D7000 series are this different.
I'll be able to enjoy castle photography more!

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 31, 2015
Design 4.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 3.0
Display 3.0
Grip Performance 3.0
Total 3.6

Buffer size of Canon7DII is much better...

The buffer size has been increased compared to D7100, but Canon 7DII is much better. It's a pity, but Canon wins by a mile here.
There is not much difference in image quality, so if you are not using continuous shooting, 7100 will do the job. If you want continuous shooting, go for 7DII not 7200.
I feel frustrated as a Nikon user. Might have to buy Canon or OM-D EM-1...

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 30, 2015
Design 5.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 5.0
Total 4.9

I ended up getting this

I only had used 3000 and 5000 series for DX format since they introduced 24 megapixels. But because the accuracy of AF was not good enough, I had to buy this.

I don't use dynamic-area AF or continuous shooting, so I only need the high accuracy of basic AF. With D3000 and D5000 series, it depended on which lens to use, and I had problems like front focus. I was focusing manually, but I couldn't put up with it anymore.

As a result, buying this was a good choice. It focuses on the object perfectly. AF micro adjustment works great, too. I will not need to take many photos anymore just in case they were not focused properly.
This is heavy for DX format camera, but I hope low-end cameras to have this AF module and AF micro adjustment.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 25, 2015
Design 5.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 5.0
Total 4.6

Great camera for me

There is nothing I'm not satisfied with this camera considering my skills of photographing. I wish I was a good photographer and could point out some disadvantages of this camera.

I enjoy using this Wi-Fi function.

I wish it had a vari-angle or a tilt and swivel monitor.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 23, 2015
Design 3.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 3.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 3.8

A substitute camera for birds

I bought this as a substitute camera for photographing birds.

The camera I mainly use is D4+500mm F4VR, and I'm planning to use this for rainy days as a compact system.

I'm teaming up this with old 300mm F4+a conversion lens.

I only have used TC-14II, and haven't been able to shoot flying objects yet, but I feel I will be able to use it a lot.

My setting is A mode, VIVID, F8 and up to ISO2000, automatic.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 17, 2015
Design 4.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 5.0
Total 4.4

This may not stand out, but is a great camera

I have used almost all Nikon DSLRs (it doesn't mean I made great use of all of them, though), and if you ask me, this old machine geek, I would say this definitely is a high performance DSLR even though it may not look spectacular.

Both high sensitivity and AF have been improved, and that makes this camera very easy to use. Especially with darker lenses or conversion lenses, the accuracy and the speed of AF have improved, and sometimes it does better jobs than D4.

AF of D4 showed hesitation and lacked in stability. It often focused on the background not the object, too. It was improved in D4s with the change of algorithm (the answer from the Nikon support), but that know-how must be used in D7200.
As I'm not a good photographer, especially when I take the photos of wild birds, I end up taking a lot of unsatisfactory photos with D4.

High sensitivity is as good as D700. Having said that, if you are shooting moving objects, they don't turn out as good because of high number of megapixels.

You do have to choose right lenses with this camera, but I highly recommend this one.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 13, 2015
Design 3.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 5.0
Total 4.3

My first Nikon DSLR

It's been two weeks since I bought this camera. I have taken about 600 photos with this.

I had been using old EOS Kiss, and this is my first Nikon DSLR.

The thing I was happy the most about this camera is its viewfinder. It's big and easy to see, so it makes easier for shooting.

Grip is not as deep as D750, but easy to hold. The reliable feel I get is totally different to EOS Kiss.

As for portability, I thought it would a bit heavy when I saw the weight on specification. But it doesn't feel heavy when I am actually using it.

I am satisfied with its image quality overall. Dynamic range is wide, and it is practical up to ISO3200. It doesn't look that sharp when I saw the photo taken in the actual size, but it has 24 megapixels, and performance of the lens (I use Nikkor 50 f/1.8G) and luminance noise affect it, too. So it doesn't bother me. High megapixels were not the reason why I chose this camera, anyway.

AWB doesn't work well especially in the evening. Turns out blue. So I manually adjust WB.

AF is fast, and doesn't hesitate much.

One complaint I have is the location of WB, QUAL, ISO buttons (I knew this before I bought). Even though I need to use them while shooting, I need to take my left hand off from the lens to press one of these buttons. It will be more convenient if I can operate them with my right hand.

Battery life is quite long. I haven't seen the battery status indicator showing more than two ticks low.

Screen is very nice. Color reproduction is good, and if you adjust its color checking with your PC monitor, you can take the photos you just imagined.

Capture NX-D is not as bad as some people say, by the way. I've never used Capture NX2, and that I cannot compare these two, but it is not bad when you compare with DPP. It takes forever to start, though. You click, and then it starts when you've almost forgotten about it. (It may be because of my PC's specification, too)

I did write quite a bit, but overall, I find this a great DSLR. You get awesome pictures, and moreover, it is fun to take photos with this.

I only bought one 50mm lens because I wanted to restrict angle of view. When I come to be able to make great use of this lens, I'll buy another one.

I'm going to enjoy F-mount lenses.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 22, 2015
Design 5.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 5.0
Total 4.9

The rightly improved third generation of D7000 series

Replaced D7100 with this. Review after using for a month.

<design>
Almost the same as D7100. A proper midrange DSLR. You can use the same battery grip you used with D7100.

<image quality>
The quality of photos taken in dark environment has improved thanks to EXPEED4. AF performance has improved, and it is stronger with high sensitivity.

WB and color reproduction have improved, too, compared to its previous model.

<operation>
Same as D7100 except for the items in imenu and color of info screen. If you have used D7100, you'll get used to it in half a day.

<battery>
The battery life is quite good. When you are shooting for a long time like a sports game, you might want to attach MB-D15.

<portability>
As D5500 and D3300 have realized their weight saving, I was expecting D7200 to be lighter, too. But it is the same compactness and weight as D7100. Better portability than full frame DSLRs, though.

<function>
Wi-fi and NFC make it possible to check the photos with device with bigger screen like smartphones or tablets right after photographing. I can easily attach photos on e-mails or upload photos on SNS, too. You can also use a smartphone app to remotely control the camera.

With the increase in buffer size, continuous shooting is much easier.

This works the best at a race in a sport carnival.

<screen>
Great in visibility with 3.2 inch screen.

<hold>
same as D7100. You can hold it in one hand and it still feels steady.

<overall>
This is a rightly improved midrange Nikon DSLR incorporating D7100 user needs. There are some opinions on replacing it or not from D7100, but I honestly think I made a great choice getting D7200. Photography is only a hobby or a pastime for amateur photographers after all. I would like to take photos without stress.

D7200 will be a great partner for you to enjoy photographing.

If you cannot decide between D7100 and D7200, I highly recommend D7200.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 17, 2015
Design 4.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 5.0
Total 4.5

Lightweight and easy to carry

I traded in D300, which I used for 7 years, and bought this one. It is lighter than D300 by 100g. I felt the difference right away.

There are more complicated operations like 'Do this while you do that' compared to D300, but it is good in order to prevent malfunction.

Before, there was a time like "I thought I had set AV...", but no problems like that so far.

As TV ad says, thanks to the increase in buffer size, continuous shooting feels great.
Continuous AF works great, too.

The buttons feel cheap compared to D300, though. Maybe because of weight saving and price?
D300 was a flagship of APS-C format cameras, so it might have had the best parts. No problem for operation.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 20, 2015
Design 5.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 5.0
Total 4.9

Developed as they should be

I take landscape and railroad photos using D810 and D7000.
When D7100 came on the market, because its continuous shooting didn't work well, I didn't replace it.
I tried D7200 at Nikon showroom, and I was satisfied with its continuous shooting ability when with ipe8. The fact that D7200 has EXPEED4 like D810 is another reason why I decided to replace.
I had ordered beforehand, so I got it at the presale on the 18th. I went to Showa Memorial Park straight after that for a trial shoot. I took the photos without using a tripod. I used NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II.

<design>
I like this design continuing from D7000. Great Nikon design.

<image quality>
I was satisfied with the image quality of the photos taken with D7000. After taking 250 photos in this trial, I think I can say I'm satisfied with this, too.
Compared to D810, which I mainly use, the photos are not as detailed, but in terms of color, I like its natural color.

<operation>
Almost the same as D7000, so no problem.
The letters shown in the screen are big enough for my aging eyes, which is very helpful.

<battery>
Long battery life just like D7000.

<portability>
Compared to D810, compact and lightweight.

<function>
A sprit level is not shown in the viewfinder, and I'm not happy about this. I find it really useful when I use D800 and D810, so it's a pity they decided not to introduce that to D7200.
The shutter release button requires to be pressed a bit harder.

<screen>
Easy to see.

<hold>
No problem.

<satisfaction>
Things I was not happy about with D7100 have been improved. Very satisfied.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 19, 2015
Design 5.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 5.0
Total 4.9

Another wonderful DSLR from Nikon

<design>
I've used D7000 and D7100, so no difference.

<image quality>
Big difference

<operation>
No change

<battery>
No change

<function>
No change

<screen>
No change

<hold>
No change

<overall>
I was using D7100 with ISO under 1000. This one is much better than I expected. Nikon is not really good at selling their products, maybe? This is not just a newer version.
There is a trouble with the shutter release button. I need a further checking.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 19, 2015
Design 3.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 4.4

Replacing my D7100

<design>
No difference with D7100 other than the shape of built-in flash.

<image quality>
I'm trying out tonight how AF and high sensitivity have improved.

<operation>
There is a minor change in menu, but the machine itself hasn't changed compared to D7100, which is good.

<battery>
Same as D7100. Good.

<portability>
Exactly the same as D7100.

<function>
It has more buffer capacity, so I can enjoy continuous shooting.

<hold>
I wish it has a deeper grip.

<overall>
There are not many differences with D7100, so I found it easy to use. They fixed a few problems D7100 had, which is great.
It was a pity, though, that it didn't come with accessory shoe cover. I bought it separately.
Overall, it feels more like 'D7100 S' rather than D7200.

Good Review

Loida Pentio

  • Review by Loida Pentio
  • Jan 14, 2016
Design 3.0
Image Quality 3.0
Operability 3.0
Battery 3.0
Portability 3.0
Functionality 3.0
Display 3.0
Grip Performance 3.0
Total 3.0

grateful cam

These camera is very nice style I really like the design and the display on this cause its simple that's why its beautiful. The image quality is perfect cause the result of all pictures is clear and has a good effect in all photos. It very simple and easy to operate and use. The battery can stay longer hours. It carry-able cam all the events that I'am invited I assure that I bring this also so that I can take photos and I have a pictures of every events. Its functioning will and the overall performance is very grateful and its much better camera.

Good Review

Zette Pritus

  • Review by Zette Pritus
  • Dec 16, 2015
Design 4.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 4.0

record and taking pix:)

My Nikon DSLR D7200 Body it is a very nice and awesome camera ever! the design of this camera is very elegant and yet very simple display. The image quality of this camera is very perfect cause its clear and nice. The operability is very easy and simple to used this camera. The battery has a long life so I can used it in a long day and take many picture on it so good to have this. Its portable camera also I can bring this anywhere so its more fun in taking pictures. This type of camera is durable and its functioning will. The overall performance on this camera is very perfect for me. I don't have any bad problems on this wonderful camera. I enjoy using this camera because not only taking pictures but I can also record video on this DSLR camera.

Good Review

Page 1 of 2

Latest Reviews for Digital Cameras

It was way better that my old canon camera na every after 700 shots kailangan na niyang e.recharge but this new one I had the nikon D3400 has the ability of 1200 shots before ma drain ang battery at ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.3
  • Review by ongcay
  • Date : Aug 14, 2018

Ang mga kuhang photos at videos ng nikon D3400 ko ay napaka ganda, vibrant at glowing ang mga shots nito as if parang na re-reserve niya ang exact lifelike emotions and moment in every capture it ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.3
  • Review by anel
  • Date : Aug 9, 2018

Luma na ang version na ito ng nikon but there's nothing more convenient and easy to use but this one specially for beginners. A user-friendly camera it is! Kahit naman din luma na ito ang 3.0 inch ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.1
  • Review by jhon2x
  • Date : Aug 6, 2018
View Mode: PC | Mobile