Nikon D5300 Kit Reviews

Lowest Price P27,000 26 Prices
Go to Shop kimstore
Color
Nikon D5300 features good image quality, connectivity, and lightweight body.
Related Models
Nikon D5300 Kit

Compare prices

Specs

Reviews

Forum

Overall Rating

Design 4.1
Image Quality 4.5
Operability 4.1
Battery 4.1
Portability 4.2
Functionality 4.5
Display 4.5
Grip Performance 4.4
Total 4.3

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

jongjong

  • Review by jongjong
  • Jan 18, 2017
Design 4.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 4.0

The best nikon DSLR like!

Best camera I have now because it was a nikon DSLR camera I really like to have a camera like this cause for me it was so nice. The image quality also of this camera is so nice because all the result are perfect and has a good effect so much better. Its easy also to operate this camera and its not difficult and all the functions of it was working so will. The battery life also has a long long life and much better. And this camera is durable and great to have it.

Good Review

yen

  • Review by yen
  • Dec 9, 2016
Design 4.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 4.0

Pasko camera!

Pang pasko na talaga ang simoy ng hangin kaya ang ayos kasi ang daming party. At ang aking camera ay ready na para sa mga picture taking na magaganap kaya ang galing din nito. Kasi ang kalidad ng camera ay ang ganda at ang linaw walang problema na sa akin to, ang pag gamit nito ay ang dali lang hindi na ako mahihirapan pa kaya ang ayos. Ang haba-haba pa din naman ng buhay sa baterya nito kaya napa kaayos din naman kasi marami-rami ang makukuha ko na pictures nito. At maayos pa din naman na nag pa-function to na camera. Hindi pa naman hassle to dalhin na camera kaya ang ayos din naman. Ang overall performance ay sobrang galing at hindi na mag kaka problema nito at ang tibay din naman ng camera.

Good Review

Renier Moris

  • Review by Renier Moris
  • Sep 28, 2016
Design 4.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 4.0

dalawang taong gulang na ang cam ko.

Pros:
Ang design at display nitong aking camera kasi ang tagal ko na ngang gingamit ito mag dadalawang taon na ito pero ito parin naman ito. Gumagana din naman ng maayos to kasi ang galing pa hanggang ngayon. Ang image quality ay ang ganda pa at ang linaw din naman nito. Madali lang din naman ang pag operate nitong aking phone kaya ang galing din nito. Maayos din naman na nag function ang camera ko kaya patuloy pa din naman ang pag gamit ko nito.

Cons:
Ang baterya din nito ay medyo umiiksi na ang buhay nito kaya balak kong palitan ng bago nag baterya nito.

Good Review

Efren Rivera

  • Review by Efren Rivera
  • Jun 30, 2016
Design 4.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 4.0

My travelling camera

Travelling around the Philippines is my goal for this whole year and I want to spend the time of parents but before that I want also to thank my Nikon DSLR cam because without of this great cam I can't record all the good memories together of my family and of course the performance is most great and all the quality of the image are clear and has a good effect of it. And also this camera has a long life so we can used it for two days so good so far and it was very durable phone.

Good Review

Alodia Remedios

  • Review by Alodia Remedios
  • May 24, 2016
Design 4.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 4.0

to take picture camera na ang gagamitin ko

May camera na rin ako ngayon hindi na phone ang gagamitin ko sa pag kuha ng mga images kasi ngayon isang camera na nga talaga. Aba na surprise talaga ako sa pag gamit ko nito kasi ang linaw ng mga litrato at hindi na kina kailangan ng pag edit kasi ma ganda na ang effect sa mga pictures. Ang dali lang din naman gamitin ng camera na it kaya hindi ako nahihirapan sa pag gamit nito. Ang baterya pa naman nito ay hindi madaling malowbat kaya napa ka ayos at ang galing nito. Ang gaan-gaan pa naman dalhin nito kaya hindi to sa gabal kung dadalhin ko ito. Maayos din naman ang pa function sa camera na ito kaya wala talagang problema to sa akin at ito namang uri ng camera na ito ay ang tibay-tibay din naman nito tiyak na mag tatagal talaga to sa mga kamay ko.

Good Review

John Sugmaton

  • Review by John Sugmaton
  • Mar 30, 2016
Design 4.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 4.0

My D5300 camera approved

Design is very beautiful and its so good camera.
Display also of these camera is much attractive than other camera and I really like it.
Image quality is clear and has a nice effect of all the image.
Operability I can also used it very easy and I like these camera its not so difficulty in learning how to operate it.
Battery has a long long life so good for it.
Portability of course its not heavy camera so I love bringing it.
Functionality is good no problem of it so its nice camera its good performance.

Good Review

Jeric Mon

  • Review by Jeric Mon
  • Feb 24, 2016
Design 4.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 4.0

Nikon DSLR D5300 is good

I really wanted to have a camera and now I was so glad cause finally I have my very newest and brand new camera and it is Nikon DSLR D5300 with 1855 Lens I really like it camera the image quality also on these is very clear and has a perfect result of image. It was easy also to operate these cam so its convenient camera, the battery life is long and its good cause I can take many pictures on it. It was also portable camera I can bring these to anywhere so its nice camera and it also functioning will so its great to have it and I know these camera is durable.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jul 27, 2015
Design 5.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 5.0
Total 4.5

My first SLR

I already took a couple of photos, so I am going to write a review.

[Design]
I love the red exterior. It's cool.

[Image Quality]
Decent.

[Operability]
I was confused at first, but I had no issues with it after getting used to it.

[Battery]
I have not been using it a lot, but the battery lasts well even with wifi on.

[Portability]
It is light, but gets bulky when I attach a 18-140 lens.

[Functionality]
Decent.

[LCD]
Decent.

[Grip]
My hands are rather small, but I can hold it firmly.

[General Comments]
It is excellent.
Images I took were not blurred even though I took at night holding the camera with my hands.
Especially, I was impressed with the image of the moon which I could take clearly, while the image I took with a smartphone was just a shining ball.
Next time, I would like to buy a tripod and photograph the night sky.

One thing I do not like is that I have to create a folder each time I transfer images to my smartphone via Wi-Fi.
Well, I know that I can transfer all the images at once.,, Is it a problem in the application?

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jul 23, 2015
Design 5.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 4.5

Its cost performance is great.

I purchased D5300 18-140/VR kit to use it as a substitution of D800 and to take photos in a trip.

I did not plan to buy any other lens for DX, so I chose 18-140/VR that looked reasonably convenient and useful.

[Design]

I like Nikon's design. I think a red stripe in black is cool.

[Image Quality]

I have used D80 and D300, but I was surprised by overwhelmingly high resolutions and high sensitivity of D5300.

With this camera, at first I thought I would no longer need FX, but if compared there is no doubt that...

However, this is perfect as a substitute camera.

[Functionality]

It confuses me a little about the position of the buttons when I use the vari-angle LCD.
I guess this is that kind of thing one will face when they experienced D800 then go on with D5300.
But, there will be no problem once you get used to it.

[Battery]

If you do not abuse the LCD, its battery life is sufficient.
Live view and movie recording exhaust the battery quickly.

I suppose it is a trade-off between the reduced weight and the battery.

[Portability]
It is light and easy to carry, but the lens for 18-140/VR feels relatively big.
But that gives it a premium feel, and I am very satisfied with it.

[Functionality]

It surprised me.
The menu is well equipped like an advanced camera and there is the interval photographing, which contributes to time-lapse photography.

The GPS functionality allows me to later display a location on a map, which reminds me of good memories.

The Wi-Fi functionality is limited, but I think it is a convenient function for those who immediately upload photos to SNS.

[LCD]

It is a vari-angle type, so I think it has a good view.

Its performance is impressive when you need to take photos for a long time or when you use live view.
The LCD is a must when you want to take photos of stars.

[Grip]

Its small body is easy to carry, but it is a bit too small for my hands.

When I mount a big lens the body feels somewhat less stable.

[General Comments]

As a DX camera, its excellent high sensitivity, its perfect resolution, and its abundant functions satisfy me.

Its shortcoming is that, when you need it for recording or using the LCD for a long time, one battery lasts about 1 hour and 40 minutes.
At sunset, when the light begins to fade, the white balance begins to tend to blue, red and yellow.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jun 25, 2015
Design 4.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 4.3

I think the focal length of the lens is easy to use.

I bought 18-140 in addition to the 18-55 lens kit.
I am planning to throw the 18-55 away.

I was using the alpha 6000 as a lightweight APS-C device, but its LCD was so hard to see with the aperture setting in daylight that I switched.

The battery is the same as DF which also helps me a lot.

When I am in the mood I choose Df, but this can be my main camera when I need one to carry around casually.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 4, 2015
Design 4.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 3.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 3.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 5.0
Total 3.9

The standard APS-C single-lens reflex camera with high performance functions gathered conveniently in one

I recently started using D5300 to replace a compact digital camera that my family had used for about 8 years and to shoot airplanes.
I used to use Panasonic's compact digital camera and Nikon's film single-lens reflex camera.
Before I purchased D5300, I compared it with EOS Kiss X7i 18-135STM kit and Pentax K-50 18-135WR kit.

I usually leave a kit lens 18-140VR on the camera, but I leave a Tamron SP70-30 on the camera when I am at an airport to take photos.

[Design]

All Nikon SLR cameras have a design like this, don't they?
Personally I think the Pentax design is the best, but D5300 has a good design too.
EOS has a design with more curves.

[Image Quality]
Fantastic. As I am switching from a compact camera, it looks even better.
I have compared with pictures taken with other models, but this has an incredible resolution.
The high sensitivity sensor is awesome too.
Personally, I think I can use up to ISO1600 with no worry.
To upload to the web, 3200 to 6400 is OK too.
If you look at only the spec, the combination of the newest engine EXPEED4 and low-pass filterless 24MPDX Format Sensor is the same as that of upper model D7200.
But, as it now has more pixels, it became harder to focus and blurs.
So when a clumsy person like myself takes pictures, many become wasted.
Also, the file size became larger, so I am now bullying my SD card and PC!
The Full HD 60p movie has such a superior quality compared with Handycam that looks from another dimension.

[Operability]
It only has one dial, but adjusting SS, aperture and sensitivity is easier than I thought.
While pushing the Fn key which is allocated next to the mirror box, I can change its ISO sensitivity, and then while pushing the exposure compensation button which is placed in front of its shutter button, I compensate its exposure (when I use it in M mode, I adjust its diaphragm). It is convenient for me to control while my looking into a viewfinder.
However, I wish I could see its sensitivity on its finder when my controlling automatic sensitivity.
While watching the screen and pushing i button, I set up its white balance, picture control and AF mode, which is not so much inconvenient for me.
If you use the scene mode, the camera configures the exposure, picture control, AF mode etc., so it is an option whenever you feel lazy.

[Battery]
Without flash, I shot about 850 pictures and sent about 10 of them by Wi-Fi, then it started to drain out.
If you do not use Wi-Fi or GPS, it should hold a whole day.

[Portability]
As a SLR, I think it is more or less compact, but if you attach a 18-140VR, it weighs over 1 kg, and it becomes a very heavy and bulky load.

This combination of D5300 and 18-140R is about the maximum size for a normal person to think ""I will put it my bag and take it"" to a small trip or stroll.
Personally, I find it rather hard to simply say ""I will take the full size"" when I go out.

[Functionality]
For a standard-level digital SLR, I think it is equipped with fantastic functions and capacity. Likewise the full size camera (D610), the AF system with 39 points covers a very wide range of the screen with high density.

I believe it depends on the lens, but it focuses quickly and precisely.
AE and AWB are also stable.
Continuous mode has a normal speed (about 5 frames per second, which is enough), but with a proper SD card inserted, you can take as many pictures as you want without worrying about the buffer.

There is no doubt that image transfer by Wi-Fi is very useful for active SNS users.
As I do not GPS (because of personal information protection), I do not know exactly, but it is equipped with a full range of functions such as lens correction and image editing etc.
About the finder, I cannot say the magnification, field of vision rate, brightness are all good, so it is not really super easy to use.
Many times, when I check the image afterwards, it shows things that could not be seen on the finder.

Also, using MF with finder is hard.
But that does not change the fact that this is an optical finder, not an EVF, so it is useful to track the movement of airplanes, for example.
I think that the most remarkable characteristic in D5000 series cameras is the vari-angle LCD, but I would not expect much if I were you haha.
The AF with Live View is slower than compact cameras, and it creates a huge time lag and shutter sound (maybe louder than when taking with finder) to release.
And maybe there is a problem with the control system, but after I release the shutter, the mirror comes down, the screen goes black for over a second and the camera freezes.
While I am thinking that a single-lens reflex camera is built with finder shooting in mind, I try not to use the live view function.
When I am shooting a video, AF becomes slow and it is hard to shoot a video with a handheld camera.

[LCD]
It is big and easy to watch. I even feel that the control panel was forced to the right edge of the camera because the LCD display is too big.
But I do not use the live view from a variety of angles by taking an advantage of the vari-angle.
A significance of existence of the vari-angle LCD is to flip and protect the display screen when it is not used.

[Grip]
The grip is firm for its size of the body, so it seems easy to grip for anyone with larger or smaller hands.
I consider myself an average-built and it fits perfectly in my hand.
Although it feels front-heavy when you attach the kit lens 18-140VR to it, it is still easy to hold for its wide lens which you can grip with stability.

[General Comments]

Its body is compact in size for a SLR but is full of advanced features and very easy to use, including the kit lens.

I think it is the best SLR for all the family to use, which works well for landscapes in your trips, casual snapshots in your daily life, and for dog photos.
It is very versatile, too; it demonstrates its best performance for airplane photos.
There are some features that could be better, such as live view response, magnification and coverage of the viewfinder.
Nevertheless, these are compensated with its size and the price.
I think its quality is generally very good.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 9, 2015
Design 5.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 5.0
Total 4.8

There are so many functions and it is easy to use.

The zoom lens is very large and bulky, but as for the operability, it is a single lens reflex camera that even women can operate.
I purchased a battery charging kit for spare, by which I can charge even in a car.
It is nice that I can transfer images to my smartphone immediately without worrying about the battery.
The camera allows me to expand my field of activities so I would like to take photos of different sceneries.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 1, 2015
Design 4.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 3.0
Battery 4.0
Portability -
Functionality 4.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 4.1

I know it is rather too late for the review, but...

It might be not useful because the new model D5500 will be released soon...

[Design]

If I say this is just like Nikon, I say it all.
This is where preferences are divided.
I think it is a good design.

[Image Quality]

I think that the image quality hardly vary because even the image sensor is the same as the image engine even on D5500. So I will review.

The image quality is good, especially, the resolution is splendid.
I think this may be due to low-pass filter.

I am testing the noise so I wilp will attach a picture.
It developed a RAW data in the computer and trimmed the picture and to make the pixels in the same size.
The noise reduction is probably not working.

There is no problem with picture quality until ISO800.
ISO1600 is not very good, and with ISO3200 or above, the pictures look rough.

The noise getting worse after ISO1600 applies to both, but with the same pixel size, D5300 definitely has higher resolution.
Also, in terms of noise, Kiss-X6i may produce a little zblurry images, but they do not annoy me.
With D5300, it feels a little rough.

And Kiss-X6i seems to reproduce skin colors that are closer to the actual colors.
D5300 looks yellowish.
I may be wrong, because my monitor is not properly calibrated.""

[Operability]

I believe I have already got used to the commands by now, but something does not feel right.
It is like many buttons with different functions are scattered here and there.
There are too many menus that cannot be activated with a single push.
In case of D5500, since an LCD touch sensor is equipped, I think it may improve a lot.

[Battery]
I do not think the capacity is specifically small, but it is better to provide a spare.
[Portability]
It is nonsense to request seek portability in a single lens reflex.

[Functionality]
A full function set is provided so I do not feel overs and shorts.
I personally do not use GPS or WiFi.
[LCD]
It is easy to watch with the variable angle. However, it is too late to provide the LCD screen touch sensor from the next model.
Neither good or bad. Single lens reflex cameras must be like this.

[General Comments]
it will become a fairly good camera if the operability is improved.
I look forward to D5500, but probably I will not buy this one.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 21, 2015
Design 5.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 3.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 5.0
Total 4.6

It is the best among all APS-C models in

I switched from D5100 18-105 VR lens kit.
I reviewed APS-C D digital single lens reflex camera.

I did not review its design, because my point of view would be included.

As for its image quality, APS-C is one of the best one at any circumstances.
If you like to just take a picture, this model would be no less better than upper-class models.
For your information, I could not discriminate between D 5100 and this model at all.

As for the operability, I put minus 1 point because I often have to look the screen to call up functions.
I can not switch its setting without looking it.
But some might ask: ""Is that much necessary in a entry-level camera?""
The custom button does quite a good job too.

My comment about the battery is of someone who uses WiFi+GPS a lot.
If I do not use it, it easily holds two days when I am traveling (taking over 200 pictures in a day).
If compared with D5100, it feels almost the same.

In terms of portability, thanks to the carbon body, it is very light.
If they want to make it even lighter, they will have to make the lens of carbon too; otherwise, the balance...
I think the lenses of D5100 had a better balance.

In terms of functionality, I have no complaints. Right now, it has everything (except for a touch panel).

But the GPS is slow to capture the location, and gets lost too easily.
The opinions may divide, but even where compact cameras like Sony HX-30V and FinePix F770EXR capture so easily, this does not.
I do not think it is in a reliable level.
Naturally, it is useful if you have it.

Although my hands are small for a male, the camera does not have enough space to place the middle finger.

Though this is something you get used to eventually.

I did not have this problem with D5100.

Despite the fact that there are some points I do not like, I think this one is the best for beginners or for those looking for a auxiliary camera.

It has been on the market for a year now and I recommend it also for its reasonable price.

Still, I do not think it is necessary for those who has D5100/5200 to replace it, if you do not find the useful features so appealing.
I purchased this for its Wi-Fi and GPS functions, but other than these, I do not see much improvements to justify my replacement.
However, it is supplemented with wider telephoto end, which was slightly insufficient with 18-105VR lens, so I no longer need to use a telephoto lens.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 18, 2015
Design 5.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 5.0
Total 5.0

This is the best camera!

D3000 was my first SLR camera, and I was surprised by the picture quality compared to compact digital cameras, then I bought D7000 and D5300 as D7100's substitute.
So this review is about D3000, D5000, D7000 series.

I mostly take pictures of my kids but also landscapes, animals, birds, and flowers as well.

[Image Quality]
I have nothing bad to say about the image quality. The 24 million pixels-picture is so detailed that you feel you do not need a macro lens.
I am extremely satisfied.
When looking at the camera display with low sensitivity, D3200 and D7100 are not so different.

If a photo is saved in JPEG format, thanks to the image process engine Expeed4 (D3200 and D7100 had an Expeed3, the high sensitivity has been improved slightly.
Especially for the noise reduction for gray and black color in high sensitivity.

However, if you ajust the NR with the software Nikon Capture NX-D, it improves tremendously.
Please be sure to use NX-D. I recommend it.

Also, the 18mm to 140mm lens in the kit is specially high in resolution in the focal length of semi-telephoto and telephoto, and the focus speed is quick and quiet too.
I have a Sigma 18 -250mm, but I think when I magnify the view with this camera's, the resolution is higher that that of Sigma 250mm.
But, Sigma is better for wide-angle.
By the way, RX100's camera-integrated lens is sharper on wide angle side than any other lens.
Since 18-140mm goes up to 140mm, it is possible to use the ""compression effect"" when shooting with telephoto lens, and it is also fun to take landscape pictures.
Both the 1st picture (140mm) and the 2nd (27mm) portray the same mountain in the background, but the difference is totally different.

It should be noted that RX100 is not winning D5300 for representation using ""blur"" even it's handstand. This is the best part of single-lens reflex.
By the way, the demerit of the 18mm to 140mm lens is the outskirts fade on the wide angle side, light dimes and ghosts easily appeare.

I will come back to the body, the dynamic range of D5300 is ""Though it seems to be common."" quite expensive than RX100.
The images of light and shadow jumble under a direct sunshine when light is strong happen to become whity.
I have a feeling that I can shoot with an exposure about -0.7, which makes images less whity.
I shoot the exposure of -0.7 and with +-3 brackets in fine days.
When I take photos in this way, there are many cases that the face of a focused subject (which is often my child) becomes dark.
Later I have to adjust it by lifting the exposure and shadowy part with NX-D.
Also, the skin color of my child in a photo looks very close to the real skin color and the photo quality is good.
It is rare that the white balance becomes out of balance.

Just to tell you, with the body sophisticated up to here, I think the influence to the image quality greatly depends on ""lens"" and your ""skills"" (including settings, subject, composition, focus and so on).

[Operability]

The LCD is vari-angle, so all the buttons are on the right side. There seems to be users that find it difficult to use (because they were used to other models), but I think it is extremely easy to operate.
I hold the bottom of the lens with my left hand, then I make all the commands with only my right hand.
Also, another thing that is easier to use than in D7100 is the i button.
D5300's i button is very easy to use. You can do almost all the tasks here, with no need to go to the menu.
I wonder if the users who say this is hard to use have ever used this D5300 i button.
For these things, I would like everybody to pick up it and operate it.

[Battery]
It lasts enough.
If you charge it on the previous night, next day I would not need to exchange it during while shooting.

[Portability][Grip]
It is light. When I attach 70-200 mm F2.8 lense to D7100, I can feel D5300+18-140 mm lighter like a toy.
My hand is small, but obviously I can hold it in one hand.
In the same way, my wife with small hands said to me that D5300 was lighter than D 7100 and better.

[Functionality]
AF: 39 points focus points widely cover left to right.
D7100 is wider than this 39 points in upward and downward, but 39 points of D5300 is enough.
As I was not very happy with the 11 points of D3200, I swiched to D7100.
Of course D3200 was a very good model, but when you get addicted to cameras, you want a camera with better focus points.
Specially, when focused in the locations of 1/3 right, or 1/3 left consciously in the shooting of trichotomy composition, it is convenient to have wide focus points of left to right as D5300.

As you can see in the 6th image is of a falling leaf, this camera follows the movements well too.

Scene mode:
For persons who use a single-lens reflex camera for the first time, I recommend you this camera, which has many scene modes.
I used to use this scene mode frequently for the first one year.
For example, in ""landscape"" mode, this camera automatically changes for the suitable setup (F value 9 to 11, picture control in ""landscape"", and so on) in landscape shooting.
First I learned the relations between of F value and SS, ISO when I saw this ""setup"".
D7100 also has scene mode, but in D5300, scenes, snaps of children, portraits of night views and macro, which are used more frequently, are in the mode dial mode and so I can set it up in a single shot.

This scene mode is actually convenient and I was struggling to take a picture of the sunset, but when I switched it to the sunset mode, I started to take better pictures.

Also, the setting screen on under the menu, has more functions than D3200 and less than D7100, but it is more than enough.

[LCD]
The vari-angle screen is very convenient for low angles.
I took a lot of picturess of fallen leaves in the autumn.

[General Comments]
I am very happy with it.
It is the best model.
D5500 has just been released, but I can recommend this model for a long time.

Good Review

YeXyexXYeLiT

  • Review by YeXyexXYeLiT
  • Jun 2, 2015
Design 4.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 3.0
Total 4.4

Awesome Nikon DSLR D5300 camera

Price is extreme high. Pero hanep naman sa kagandahan this camera could offer. With its 24.2MP DX-Format CMOS Sensor the best image you expect or beyond your expectations.EXPEED 4 Image Processor so less crams.3.2" 1,037k-Dot Vari-Angle LCD Monitor not too small to see pictures after captured.

Good Review

cRayMarT80

  • Review by cRayMarT80
  • May 19, 2015
Design 3.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 5.0
Total 4.3

Expect NIkon camera

Reviews for Nikon Expect the unexpected , I always think that Nikon camera has the quality that no one can copy. I love the lens of my Nikon DSLR D5300 , very clear and you can check the image quality in digital and printed , amazing quality , Good battery, very good performance...

Good Review1

Mar A.

  • Review by Mar A.
  • Jan 6, 2015
Design 4.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 5.0
Total 4.8

Explore Nikon D5300

Saktong pabuya sa sarili ang isang to , isang taon ko din itong pinag iponan pero sulit naman yung ipon kai nakuha ko rin sa wakas ang Nikon DSLR D5300 na may 1855 lens sobrang laki na yun para saken, Gusto ko lang e explore yng konting kaalaman ko sa photography at kasama ang partner ko na bago ang DSLR ko, adjustable lenses na may napakagandang Lcd screen, malinaw at mukhang matibay naman hindi madali mabasag, mataas din yung battery life nito,kulang nalang ako ng tripod para complete na yung adventure ko, explore sa 2015 , kasama ang nikon DSLR ko..

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Nov 25, 2013
Design 5.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 5.0
Total 5.0

A middle-class SLR with improved depiciton performance and functions

"[General Comments]
I've replaced my D5200 with this model after just 1 year of use. Not only its description performance has been enhanced but also its features have been reinforced. Especially its description performance has become the best among all the Nikon APS-C class models. Also, its latest features such as vari-angle LCD, Wi-Fi and built-in GPS have been tuned carefully. I thought this has been made into a camera that everyone should first consider buying among all the Nikon DSLR cameras.

[Design]
Its basic design follows the design of D5000 series, but there are some minor changes made, for example, to finishing of its shoulders and the thumb rubber grip. This time around, its body is made completely of resin with carbon fiber. I think this is a newly-made change.

[Image Quality]
Its pixel number is the same as D5200, but its image processing engine has been changed to a new version as it has become low-path filter-less. As compare to D5200, I could tell that the resolution performance has improved slightly.

Also about the high sensitivity function, decrease of noise feeling and image dissection feeling has especially been reduced.
As a Nicon's APS-C class digital single-lens reflex, it has evolved to the top level of graphic depiction function.

[Usability]
This model is basically an interface of entry and middle classes. For example, setting of the self-timer is canceld at every shooting etc. Even though, it is devised that the setting status is verified by a view and I think it's possible to operate perfunctory without seeing the manual.

[Battery]
It's changed to EN-EL 14al and the capacity has increased by 15%. If still images, you can take about 600 photos (500 photos on D5200), but I could actually take more than that. It depends on your photo-shooting style, but you can have a spare battery if you have a room for budget.

[Portability]
As a DSLR camera, it's really compact and light. I think it's not a size that is troublesome for you to carry around.

[Functionality]
Wi-Fi and GPS have been newly equipped to the camera. In general, all the latest features have been implemented.
As for the performance of continuous-shooting feature, it's really powerful for this category of camera. You can take photos at a pace of 3.5 photos/sec on 12bitRAW before the SD card is full. As for the status of AF performance, the continuous-shooting performance was compromised at times. This could be the difference between this machine and other high-end machines.
D5200's LCD monitor was 3"", but as the size increased to 3.2"" its aspect has changed to the same as its image sensor, that is 3:2. So the display size of still images has become one-size bigger. Also, it supports a vari-angle panel, so it comes with a relatively wide-angled panel.

[Grip]
Its gripping part is bigger. The General Comments feel including the body shape is great. "

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Dec 17, 2013
Design 3.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Portability 3.0
Functionality 3.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 5.0
Total 4.0

Maybe this is how it really is?

"This is my first single lens reflex camera since the second generation EOS. Since digital cameras became popular, I had been using high class compact ones, and this is my first digital single lens camera. As I'm new to this, I can't tell whether or not Image Quality is great, but frankly, I'm slightly let down after paying 100,000 yen.
Live view is too slow, and I don't know when I'm supposed to shoot. The video is horrible. As it can't catch up with the subject's movement, it's all out of focus.

If you just want to take still pictures with a finder, you don't need other functions.
Please be aware that this is an amateur's impressions.
"

Good Review

Page 1 of 2

Latest Reviews for Digital Cameras

great long range using teh lens at ang angganda ng kuha niya like a professional photographer. Good for long range ang lens niya kaya if you wanted to use it sa mga scenery images okay gamitin ang ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by Jay Poblacion
  • Date : Jun 1, 2018

This is a good brand for camera kasi maganda talaga ang quality nito kapag ginamit mo it has a lot features that you can use to make your pictures more amazing. Okay din na it has a red color camera ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by jacquelyn antonio
  • Date : Jun 1, 2018

For casual user maganda ang isang ito ang fantastic ang resolution ng isang ito medyo old school ang design but nahusay naman madali lang sa auto focus but nahirapan ako pag dating sa fast shooting ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by edward.tag
  • Date : Mar 27, 2018
View Mode: PC | Mobile