Mitsubishi Outlander Reviews

Mitsubishi Outlander SUV L_1

Mitsubishi Outlander 3rd 2013-
  • Mitsubishi Outlander SUV S_1
  • Mitsubishi Outlander SUV S_2
  • Mitsubishi Outlander SUV S_3
  • Mitsubishi Outlander SUV S_4
  • Mitsubishi Outlander SUV S_5
More Photos
  • Production 2003 - present
  • 2014 model of Mitsubishi Outlander features engines of 2.4L 4 cylinder with CVT automatic transmission, and a 3.0L V6 AWD 6 speed automatic transmission.
  • Drivetrain spec consists of front wheel drive, with a horse power of 166 HP at 6000 RPM. Fuel economy consists of 25/31 MPG in city and highway.
  • Exterior spec consist of available body design, with additional colors. Interior features are attractive as well as of high quality. Safety features are also good.

New & Used prices

Generations

Reviews

Forum

News

Overall Rating

exterior 3.6
interior 3.4
engine performance 4.2
travelling performance 4.5
ride quality 4.1
fuel efficiency 4.6
Total 4.1

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 11, 2016
exterior 1.0
interior 1.0
engine performance 3.0
travelling performance 1.0
ride quality 1.0
fuel efficiency -
Total 1.4

Does this have value to society?

<exterior>
It looks a lot cooler with the model change, but it looks like it is just copying other makes. Or is it just me who think so? To me, it still looks like a truck from the rear.

<interior>
I heard it got better, but where exactly did it get better? It is only a commercial minivan. Maybe truck manufacturers are unsophisticated.

<engine performance>
It is good. It indeed is made by truck manufacturer. I am concerned about its fuel efficiency, though...

<drivability>
It's a truck.

<comfort>
Truck.

<fuel efficiency>
I cannot help comparing it with PHEV. It cannot be good.

<price>
You can buy Toyota's luxury SUV for this price.

<overall>
PHEV was really good. I don't know if there are any advantages for going for petrol model. Even when you sacrifice, you have no choice but to go for PHEV. I don't know why this thing even exist. Someone please tell me.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Nov 29, 2015
exterior 4.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 3.0
travelling performance 3.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 3.3

My previous car was a light vehicle

<exterior>
It looks like having recent trend and is similar to cars of other makes. But when you keep looking at it, it does have its character. It looks slimmer than PHEV, so I prefer this one.

<interior>
Because my previous car was a light vehicle, this is more than enough. The usability and easiness of using is better with this than PHEV.
Finger prints stand out on piano black.
Standard seats were better with PHEV.

<engine performance>
Enough.

<drivability>
Because my previous car was first generation ek Sports, I feel heaviness when it starts and stops. It doesn't stop precisely.

<comfort>
It is so good that it is not even comparable.

<price>
Expensive. It has safety equipment which is out of date compared to that of other makes. Its basic design is old fashioned, too. But it is expensive.

<overall>
Possibly thanks to its high eye point or its design, I didn't worry much about its width or length as I drive. I wouldn't have had any complaints if this had pedestrians, rear and side safety equipment, electrically controlled brake and brake hold.
It is a good car, but even before being compared with cars from other makes, it gets compared to PHEV by car critics, and is given an image of being inferior. Bad luck, or rather, Mitsubishi not doing well at selling.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Oct 4, 2009
exterior 5.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.7

Very satisfied with Outlander Roadest 4WD G after MC

[Exterior]
I am very happy with the Roadest's dedicated aero parts. Their placement is very stylish.
I feel like it is not just going to be liked by those who prefer the aero look. It also works great with the Ray wheels I added.

[Interior]
I did add the navigational system so it is on the better side, but without it I think it would be a pretty sad interior space.
Quality is also so so.

[Engine Performance]
Considering it is a 2.4L car, it moves pretty fast. Seems to be a lot more energetic than the other car I have at home, Estima. I feel I will also be able to enjoy the sports setting.
[Driving Performance]
It has the acceleration for overtaking, and if I use the puddle shift the sport driving is possible, too. The 4WD system is very like Mitsubishi all over.

[Ride Quality]
I think it deserves a passing grade for SUV. In the city travel I do not feel the rugged feeling of the street.

[Fuel Efficiency]
Usually just a little over 11km. Around 13km on highways. So it runs well. I am satisfied very much for 4WD SUV.

[General Comments]
I am satisfied very much except with the interior decoration. Greatly satisfied with the cost performance, the high quality audio system, the design, and the mileage.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 13, 2014
exterior 3.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.2

My review after driving for 700 km at EV mode

Outlander! My feedback after driving 700 km in EV mode (Total of 1500 km using engine).

[Exterior]
The front end design is not attractive, but the overall design is wonderful.

[Interior]
It does not look innovative. The original car navigation system matches the interior, but it is expensive for a SSD. However, the interior is simple and gives a feeling of calm.

[Engine Performance]
The quietness is exceptional when driving in motor mode. The engine is a bit noisy when using air conditioner.
The engine is relatively noisy when you drive at high speed or accelerate quickly. However, you will not be able to tell when you are driving normally. I wish the tachometer and the water temperature meter were standard option which was pointed out by other users.
As for the power, DLA-GG2W model has an engine which generates 118 PS and 2 motors which generate 82 PS each, so it is like a sports car.

[Driving Performance]
The smooth acceleration and the cornering stability are very comfortable. The paddle type regenerative braking system is convenient and fun to use.

[Ride Quality]
The stability and the quietness are wonderful. The stiff suspension is good, but it picks up road seam noise which needs to be improved to make it easy on the ear.
[Fuel Efficiency]
As an electric vehicle, the best result so far is 120 yen/50 km (4-hour charging). As a standard gasoline vehicle, the fuel efficiency is not good for long distance drive. The average result was 19.5 km/l after driving 1500 km.

[General Comments]
It is interesting and I enjoy it. The overall performance is very good. It is really an eco-friendly car. The reason why this car is not selling well is the front end design and Mitsubishi's advertising which both are unattractive.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 7, 2014
exterior 3.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 3.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 3.7

Impressions after driving through the dead of winter and spring for six month

[Exterior]
Although its appearance form is unrefined, it is conversely unique and outlandish. Its door mirror is too big. For its black body, the molding of the plating around the glass of the front grille and sides shines very well. If its fog lamp cover or doorknob were plated more, it would be a better car.

[Interior]
Its audio quality is originally good. I tried to unify its piano-black of OP, it was great. However, the interior quality is overall not very satisfying.
Without the navigator with badly reputable MMCS, fabric seat covers were used as display audio. However, since its display audio is foreign and its steering quality is poor, I can't get used to it. So, I really wanted the leather OP. If you open the center console box, there is a pocket tissue case and pen holder on the side of the lid, a USB terminal and a sub 12V cigar socket are hidden in the console which makes it convenient.

Because of my interest in landscape photography, a car which can be used as a lodge in winter wouldn't be bad. So, I chose the Outlander PHEV. With the 100V / 1500W outlet of OP used for electric blankets and so on, it was quite helpful.

[Engine + Motor Performance]
I almost drive it at eco mode. As for its engine performance, the power generation functions 80% when series running and the engine intervenes 50% when parallel running. When series running, the engine intervenes so smoothly that I do not know when the engine starts, it's so wonderful.
When parallel running on slopes, without the gear and torque, its engine performance is of no-power. However, when high speed running, perhaps because of the inertial force of the high speed, it becomes powerful. When climbing a long winding road, the eco mode is turned off, so it spends much gasoline. The remaining fuel amount should be necessarily noticed.

Compared to this, the motor performance is very satisfactory. If the battery is enough, you can drive it comfortably on any roads.

Now, (without traffic congestion, 2 ridges of 100m height difference, 50km one-way eco driving on the national highway), the endurance of fully charged battery is about 35km when the average outside temperature is 0 degrees C (the heater works) , and about 50 km when the average outside temperatures 15-20 degrees C (air conditioner stops). I wish its battery endurance can be increased to 100km in the next full change! Then, it will be the best play car!

[Driving Performance]
Quiet! Perfect. Its handling, S-AWC, cruise control and e-Assist are Good.
It was delivered in last December, and used at Ishikawa-Toyama during its frigid period for 1 month, its 4WD lock was unnecessary on both compacted snow roads and frozen roads, it ran at the normal eco mode.

[Ride Quality]
Its seats with heaters are comfortable for people who have back pain which helps improve the fuel efficiency in winter. However, as for its quietness, I wish it had high-class seats to meet its luxury car needs.

[Fuel Efficiency]
Plug-in hybrid fuel consumption rate and self-approximation in winter (hybrid fuel efficiency about 14km / L)
Daily Mileage Total Mileage Fuel Consumption

Weekday (Commute/No quick charging) 35Km (EV) + 60km (HV) x 18 days = 1710km 0L + 77.1L

Weekday (Commute/No quick charging) 62Km (EV) + 33km (HV) x 6 days = 570km 0L + 14.1L

Holiday (Commute/No quick charging) 35Km (EV) + 125km (HV) x 4 days = 640km 0L + 35.7L
Holiday 20Km (EV) x 2 days = 40km 0 L

January's total 2960km about 126.9 L

Fuel consumption of plug-in-hybrid: 2960km + 126.9L = 23.3km/L

In winter, the average was around 23-28 km/L. Recently in spring, it was mostly over 30 km/L.
Although it takes about 30-40 minutes for a quick charge on my way to and from work, the mileage gradually increases.

[Price]

It is cheap considering the subsidy.

[General comments]

No gasoline needed to run 40km by using EV.
On average, it runs 1100km on a full charge and full tank of gas.

Also, it is amazing that it runs so silently with its highly efficient motor.
I took off one star because of classiness. I wish they would spend more money on the interior, navigator (as it will turn into a control box like a smartphone in the near future), and ride comfort.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 13, 2014
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.7

Preventing global warming

[Exterior] So-so.

[Interior] Feels good.

[Engine Performance] Amazing.

[Driving Performance] On a local road If feels like a bullet train.

[Ride Quality] Quiet and comfortable. You can hear the music perfectly.

[Fuel Effieciency] I drive around 40 km every day, so I almost don't use gasoline. I want to help prevent global warming.

[Price] Still no subsidiary aid refund, but I think it is comparatively cheap.

[General Comments] How durable is the battery really? I also wanted the roof rail.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 13, 2014
exterior 4.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.2

Depending on what's important to you

[Exterior] Technical silver
I personally like it.

[Interior]
I don't really care too much.

[Engine Performance]

It's quiet, but when I use the air conditioning in the morning the sound of the engine is surprisingly annoying.

[Driving Performance]

It can speed up so I think it's good.

Because I keep using auto-cruise all the time, I feel I can forget how to drive.

[Ride Quality]

I have to drive snowy roads, so I don't now.

[Fuel Efficiency]

If the number of (electric) charging points does not increase, the fuel efficiency of only gasoline is not good for long distance driving.

[Price]
In the big picture, or for the people who often drive in the city, this is a good deal.

[General Comments]
It's fun and exciting.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 10, 2014
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.5

Makes driving fun

[Exterior]
It is even better than on a test drive.

[Interior]
As other people said, it does not feel very smooth, but it is not bad either.

[Engine performance]
The motor is quiet. I'm not sure about the engine yet, as it was hardly running.
[Driving Performance]
Smooth acceleration feels good and regenerative braking via paddle is interesting.

[Ride Quality]
It feels substantial and you can comfortably relax while driving.

[Fuel Efficiency]
I wonder how long you can drive with a motor.

[Price]
I think it is not expensive for a plug-in hybrid with these abilities.

[General Comments]

It is the first time it made me think that driving can be this much fun.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jun 19, 2014
exterior 4.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 3.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 3.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 3.8

A car by which you don't get bored nor tired.

Since I have driven 6,000 km, I would like to write my impression.

[Exterior]
Even though this model is bitterly criticized, I personally like it.
But, it might be better to have a little larger width.
I feel that the stability is less from its appearance.

[Interior]
It looks curt a little.
I cannot understand the intension of the design around the hazard lamps well.
I feel it is plastic like as a whole.
[Engine Performance]
It is difficult to review it since the engine seldom starts, but
in many cases it is difficult to recognize that the engine is moving unless watching the monitor.

[Driving Performance]
There is no complaint about this.
Once you know the quietness and feeling of acceleration, it would be difficult to return to the engine vehicle.
And, the ability to turn in a small radius is good for its body size.
There is no problem at all at narrow spaces since tires turn well.
Also, I do not get tired even though it is a long distance drive since the lookout is good due to its high vehicle height.
[Ride Quality]
It might be a little bit stiff. Especially you might feel it on rear seats. I do not like this stiff ride but it is far from modern cars' ride quality.

[Fuel Efficiency]
Mostly I drive for less than 50km every day. So I charge battery once per day.
Probably it costs about JPY120.
I joined the membership of charge network just in case.
The members can change battery at Mitsubishi dealer shops or expressways.
I was not able to measure the accurate fuel efficiency with the gasoline engine but it indicated 15.8km/L when I drove for 400km mainly on expressways without battery charge.
[Price]
I think that it is reasonable by the mechanism of running costs, maintenance costs, and the body. Especially, as the government subsidized 350,000 yen, it seems a sale from the balance against the basic cars running on gasoline.
I wish the interior texture could be improved if the price had increased more...

[General Comments]
I am very satisfied of it basically.

This is not a kind of the cars by only fuel efficiency on CM or magazines.
Such people will be likely satisfied by riding Prius.

This car should be ridden by the drivers in a short distance every day.
For those who have enough time to charge or
have a space for setting a charging facility at home or
understand that you drive a long distance, it runs about 15km/L without charging,

this car would be perfect.

Being able to adjust the amount of regeneration myself is so fun.
Gliding with a 0 regeneration does not charge any, but it is very efficient because of less resistance.
You can also charge more efficiently if you predict the traffic lights and adjust it.
When I went to a drive to a mountain, from the mountaintop to the bottom I could charge enough for driving 30km.
It is interesting that the more I drive, the longer the car can run.

But its turbo charge fills up about 80% in 30 min.
It is equivalent to 45km (or about 3L of gas) of driving distance.
With consideration of that this car has an engine, you should find the best balance of the loss of power and gas in total.
The fuel efficiency and motor drive are appealing,
but safety and comfort by e-Assist deserve more attention.
On the highway, it follows and stops behind a front car.
It is inconvenient that e-Assist shuts down when the car stops.
It works great in a lot of traffic.
I feel less tiring.

Auto brake is well controlled.
It actually saved me another day.
No one is perfect.
When we drive every day for long, moment of chance or unguarded moment is occurred.

Those who consider purchasing it, please think about e-Assist loaded car at any cost.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 7, 2014
exterior 3.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 3.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 3.7

Impressions after driving through the dead of winter and spring for six month

[Exterior]
Although its appearance form is unrefined, it is conversely unique and outlandish. Its door mirror is too big. For its black body, the molding of the plating around the glass of the front grille and sides shines very well. If its fog lamp cover or doorknob were plated more, it would be a better car.

[Interior]
Its audio quality is originally good. I tried to unify its piano-black of OP, it was great. However, the interior quality is overall not very satisfying.
Without the navigator with badly reputable MMCS, fabric seat covers were used as display audio. However, since its display audio is foreign and its steering quality is poor, I can't get used to it. So, I really wanted the leather OP. If you open the center console box, there is a pocket tissue case and pen holder on the side of the lid, a USB terminal and a sub 12V cigar socket are hidden in the console which makes it convenient.

Because of my interest in landscape photography, a car which can be used as a lodge in winter wouldn't be bad. So, I chose the Outlander PHEV. With the 100V / 1500W outlet of OP used for electric blankets and so on, it was quite helpful.

[Engine + Motor Performance]
I almost drive it at eco mode. As for its engine performance, the power generation functions 80% when series running and the engine intervenes 50% when parallel running. When series running, the engine intervenes so smoothly that I do not know when the engine starts, it's so wonderful.
When parallel running on slopes, without the gear and torque, its engine performance is of no-power. However, when high speed running, perhaps because of the inertial force of the high speed, it becomes powerful. When climbing a long winding road, the eco mode is turned off, so it spends much gasoline. The remaining fuel amount should be necessarily noticed.

Compared to this, the motor performance is very satisfactory. If the battery is enough, you can drive it comfortably on any roads.

Now, (without traffic congestion, 2 ridges of 100m height difference, 50km one-way eco driving on the national highway), the endurance of fully charged battery is about 35km when the average outside temperature is 0 degrees C (the heater works) , and about 50 km when the average outside temperatures 15-20 degrees C (air conditioner stops). I wish its battery endurance can be increased to 100km in the next full change! Then, it will be the best play car!

[Driving Performance]
Quiet! Perfect. Its handling, S-AWC, cruise control and e-Assist are Good.
It was delivered in last December, and used at Ishikawa-Toyama during its frigid period for 1 month, its 4WD lock was unnecessary on both compacted snow roads and frozen roads, it ran at the normal eco mode.

[Ride Quality]
Its seats with heaters are comfortable for people who have back pain which helps improve the fuel efficiency in winter. However, as for its quietness, I wish it had high-class seats to meet its luxury car needs.

[Fuel Efficiency]
Plug-in hybrid fuel consumption rate and self-approximation in winter (hybrid fuel efficiency about 14km / L)
Daily Mileage Total Mileage Fuel Consumption

Weekday (Commute/No quick charging) 35Km (EV) + 60km (HV) x 18 days = 1710km 0L + 77.1L

Weekday (Commute/No quick charging) 62Km (EV) + 33km (HV) x 6 days = 570km 0L + 14.1L

Holiday (Commute/No quick charging) 35Km (EV) + 125km (HV) x 4 days = 640km 0L + 35.7L
Holiday 20Km (EV) x 2 days = 40km 0 L

January's total 2960km about 126.9 L

Fuel consumption of plug-in-hybrid: 2960km + 126.9L = 23.3km/L

In winter, the average was around 23-28 km/L. Recently in spring, it was mostly over 30 km/L.
Although it takes about 30-40 minutes for a quick charge on my way to and from work, the mileage gradually increases.

[Price]

It is cheap considering the subsidy.

[General comments]

No gasoline needed to run 40km by using EV.
On average, it runs 1100km on a full charge and full tank of gas.

Also, it is amazing that it runs so silently with its highly efficient motor.
I took off one star because of classiness. I wish they would spend more money on the interior, navigator (as it will turn into a control box like a smartphone in the near future), and ride comfort.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 8, 2014
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 5.0

Full of surprises

This vehicle continues to be full of surprises.

The other day the fuel efficiency went over 200km/l. There is no way you would get these figures from a normal car. I am using it daily for commute, running the kids around and shopping so I have nothing to be unsatisfied about. If I charge it over night the electricity is only 100JPY.

I use the cruise control for high speed driving so, It is fantastic that it adjusts the speed automatically when I am between two other cars, even when the car in front of me slows down to keep a safe distance. I traded up from a car that was a much older generation model. It's probably the way it is now but....
If the car in front of me displays some erratic driving brake lamp flashes. I really appreciate that warns me when crossing the road lines without using an indicator.

More than anything it's quiet, it's wonderful I can drive in peace.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 5, 2014
exterior 1.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 2.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 3.2

I'm basically satisfied with it except the comfortability.

[Exterior]
If you look closer it has volume and good to some extent, but looking from a distance, you can never say it is cool by any standard. Personally, I like rather the gasoline specification as it is typical SUV feature including the setting of the color.
It is the first time that I purchase a car ignoring the appearance to some extent.
In this sense, the car has a strange fascination.

[Interior]
To my regret, I can not feel a delight to have purchased a new car.
This is not a car in the future. This is normal Japanese car.

[Engine Performance]
You will feel a certain shock when you start the engine to drive. I am fed up with the rough and the noisy sound of the engine. However, when the engine starts while the car is running, you won't be bothered by the sound and the shock from the engine.

[Driving Performance]
It's comfortable when you drive with the motor, since the power is enough. The smooth acceleration you feel without a sound is the attractiveness of this car. However, when you need to drive uphill when the battery is not charged enough, the engine needs to generate power hitting the high rpm which is a bit noisy and you might also feel the lack of power.

[Comfortability]
Initially, I did not get worried about it as I was filled with a sense of exaltation of purchasing a new car, but now this is the biggest dissatisfied point. I have no problem with the comfort when I drive on superhighway, but the entire car gets bumpy in the low to mile speed range even on a small undulation. Personally, I prefer a flexible suspension, so somehow I would like to improve this point.

[Fuel Efficiency]
It costs 120 to 130 Yen when you charge at night with ""half-day economy plan of Tokyo Electric Power Company (TEPCO). I think I can run around 40 km by this. It is sufficient to go shopping on the weekends. Number of times I go to a gas station has reduced once a month or less.

[Price]
I could be convinced if only the sens of the interior had been good.

[General Comments]
I purchased it amazed by the technology of PHEV. I have some complaiants about this car, but I can not find a car like this. I will continue using this car carefully.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 29, 2014
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 5.0

My impressions after driving 10,000 km and the problem.

Combined fuel efficiency: Charging the battery up to 80% daily at ECO mode/B0 setting, the mileage after a week of drive turned out as 540km with (the combined fuel efficiency of) 33km/L at full. Hybrid drive without battery charge was 22km/L or so. The fuel efficiency is awesome. (Under the same setting) the fuel efficiency appears to be worsened in the charge mode drive. The driving performance is pleasant with no issues.

The straight line stability is outstanding in particular. It does not stagger at the sudden start. My old one used to scare me with major stagger.

The interior is not equipped with the lights for the window open/close button (perhaps available with the upper graded version), for a car costing JPY 4 million should including the speed-sensing door lock function as a standard equipment.
An issue was found with the battery charger lid. From the following minor change in May, the lock function for the battery charger lid will be added at last.
At the motor show, one of the technical reps from Mitsubishi told me the lock function has been much anticipated from the start and they will make some improvements to it including the existing cars (I don't know if it'll be for free or with pay).

Certainly the battery charger lid of the current model is wet inside after rain. (it is wet as if the lid is wide open, but it is firmly closed with the battery lid, though). It is unsafe to remove the wet in case of getting the electric shock. Also, for the purpose of preventing the possibility of mischieves during the long our parking, the lock function should be equipped as a default. Despite my lengthy comment, I still think this car is nce and hopeful. I look forward to the futher improvements.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 24, 2014
exterior 4.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

How come so unpopular?

I like a car. I drove Trueno and Prelude. I have driven mostly 4WD cars like PRADO and PAJERO since I have a family.

The hood of Mitsubishi OUTLANDER is higher than other similar type of car, which is cool.

The full of new technology like Paddle shift and idle reduction is equipped and Mitsubishi tradition for 4WD technology give the high score to this car. It is very smooth to accelerate and the comfortability is soft and perfect to sit.

I wonder why it is not popular as such. I look forward to going skiing with this car.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 4, 2014
exterior 5.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.3

You can't find an SUV better than this.

[Exterior] The outer look from 30 degree diagonally from the back is cool as the head light area reminds me of Gundam.

[Interior] Applying mutiple plastic parts would make the scratches stand out.

[Engine Performance] Since I am over 40s, I don't drive any faster than 100km/h even on the free way. 170 horse power is more than enough.

[Driving Performance] Maybe CVT control is not working properly? It feels a bit weird at the start, but once running this is excellent, and the cornering is wonderful.

[Comfortability] Sooo nice, I never find myself tired even after having driven 500km a day. I can tell its body rigidity when passing over a ramp on the free way, etc.

[Fuel Efficiency] Oh well... for a town ride in Yokohama would be 6km/L, but it would go as good as 12km/L on free way (^^)v

[Price] Fully equipped for JPY 3million, the best possible cost performance that includes car navigation, back monitor, 4WD for 7 passengers, as well as safety devices.

[General Comments] Highly recommended for a car lover for sure.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 27, 2014
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.7

My first Mitsubishi, SUV, and 4WD.

This is my first car of MITSUBISHI. I am writing my impression after purchasing.

[Exterior]
It's pretty simple. With placidity, I think it's not a design for youth.
But, different from the photos in the catalog, the real car looks better than I expected.
It may be a good point that there aren't many users of this car.

[Interior]
On the premise of black, it's a lack of showiness and simple as well.
There isn't high-class feeling much, but I think this is not bad.
Usability isn't bad.

[Engine Performance]
The engine, actually it's a motor, is enough for town drive with the ECO mode.
The engine starts when necessary and enough acceleration is obtained through the series drive mode or parallel drive mode.
However, although it's ignorable during driving, the engine noise at the charge mode is fairly loud.

[Driving Performance]
Since it almost runs by the motor, it accelerates without noise.
Unlike an engine car, the engine noise doesn't become large when the speed increased and I feel it's very quiet.
Thank to the electric control system S-AWC, the driving is very stable and smooth to go round a curve. I cannot believe it is a SUV over 1.8t.
Moreover, the full of safety equipments makes you feel safe.

[Comfortability]
You might feel some degree of heaviness during driving because of the heavy body weight, especially on the rear.
However, I personally have no problem with it.

[Fuel Efficiency]
It does not use much fuel if only you drive nearby.
I think it's very economical if the battery is charged utilizing the late-night electricity.
I think it's just average as a hybrid car for a long distance drive or a highway drive .
But, thinking of heavyweight SUV with 4WD, it's not bad than expected.

[Price]
I don't think it's inexpensive, but considering as a plug-in hybrid car of SUV with 4WD it's never expensive.
Other than these, considering cash handout or tax reduction from the government, I think it's a good buy.

[General Comments]
If you don't dislike the design, you would feel generally satisfied.
I had no interest whatsoever before, but I changed my mind after test driving it.
After the purchase, I enjoy driving it with paddle shift.
If they put more efforts into design and advertisement, it should sell better.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 25, 2014
exterior 3.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.3

It's not only fuel efficiency.

[Exterior]
It depends on your taste, but personally I like the front design. I don't like the rear design.

[Interior]
It's satisfactory for the price range of gasoline models. I had a piano black panel attached as an option, but as the material is different from the center panel, scratches are noticeable. The area around the backseats is generally simple.

[Engine Performance]
As long as I drive normally, I have no complaints, but it's very annoying while I try to go uphill with no battery.

At high speeds, t's so good that I am not aware of starting of the engine. As it's a four cylinder eco-engine, sound quality is not expected.

[Driving Performance]
As it's not a sport car, it seems users who require such a power performance would not buy this at all. In daily life, there is almost no worry. It rather belongs to the fast group among eco-cars. It curves well partly due to the electronic control and so on.

[Comfortability]
It's a little hard but very satisfactory.

[Fuel Efficiency]
It not so good for the hybrid driving, but it's satisfactory enough for the body weight of 1800 kg.
For mainly driving within the short distances, the fuel efficiency becomes pretty well. I drive the car for total 80km for commuting, and during the season when I don't run the a/c, it would go as great as 40- 50 km/L considering the electric bill (I count the charged electric expense as a part of the gas fee).

[Price]
Considering the installation of the multiple systems of the latest kind, this is affordable.

There is no perfect car, so some flaws are acceptable. Although it has many improvements to make, what it has now is very satisfactory. I look forward to the full model change for this car.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 31, 2007
exterior 3.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.0

Mitsubishi review

Since it was delivered to me about 2 weeks ago, I have driven 2000 km.
I have no complains whatsoever about its driving performance.
It's so much better than the Toyota Kluger I used to drive in terms of running, turning, and stopping that it can't be compared.
Toyota is great with the interior. They know well what consumers want.
However, the Oulander, which is known for its Spartan air and made in Okazaki, the home of Ieyasu, reminds me of the simple taste of Yacho miso.
There is Mitsubishi on the other side of the Yahagi River. Why is there such a difference?

I hope it continues to be a maniac Outlander.

Good Review

Page 1 of 1

Latest Reviews for Cars

It has a good basic performance like turning and stopping. It drives stably. I thought this is more decent than Nissan March. The problem is weakness of 1000cc model. If you find this acceptable, ...Read more

  • Rating : 3.0
  • Review by Japanese user
  • Date : Feb 17, 2016

Yung feeling nabili ko na ang aking panagarap na sasakyan at ngayon mas excited pa ang aking mga kaibigan na ma drive test ito happy rin sila kasi sa dream ko at ngayon ito yung napili ko kasi ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by RIANZO
  • Date : Jun 29, 2017

Matagal na din naman pala itong sasakyan namin at dito ako unang natutung mag drive kaya subrang especial ito sa akin kasi naman sa school days ko pa ito gamit pa namin hanggang ngayon maganda kasi ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by Geraldin
  • Date : Jun 24, 2017
View Mode: PC | Mobile