Mitsubishi Mirage Reviews

Mitsubishi Mirage hatchback L_1

Mitsubishi Mirage 6th 2012-
  • Mitsubishi Mirage hatchback S_1
  • Mitsubishi Mirage hatchback S_2
  • Mitsubishi Mirage hatchback S_3
  • Mitsubishi Mirage hatchback S_4
  • Mitsubishi Mirage hatchback S_5
More Photos
  • Production 1978 - present
  • Known to return 32-34 MPG while offering numerous personalization options, low price and maintenance charge, the Mitsubishi Mirage might not be the most refined, but offers other benefits.
  • It is total value for money in class, offering maximum power displacement from a puny three cylindered 1.2 liter petrol engine.
  • Customers have left numerous positive reviews and remarks, while claiming that it is the most practical vehicle in its class.

New & Used prices

Generations

Reviews

Forum

News

Overall Rating

exterior 3.6
interior 3.3
engine performance 2.9
travelling performance 3.6
ride quality 3.6
fuel efficiency 3.8
Total 3.4

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 17, 2016
exterior 3.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 2.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 3.0
fuel efficiency -
Total 3.0

Test drive on 1000cc model

It has a good basic performance like turning and stopping. It drives stably. I thought this is more decent than Nissan March.
The problem is weakness of 1000cc model. If you find this acceptable, you would have no problem in using this.
With recent big facelift, styling now looks different. Also, engine displacement is now 1200cc, so I would like to try this again.

I want Mitsubishi to keep producing good cars taking Japanese users into account.

Good Review

RIANZO

  • Review by RIANZO
  • Jun 29, 2017
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

Mitsubishi Mirage

Yung feeling nabili ko na ang aking panagarap na sasakyan at ngayon mas excited pa ang aking mga kaibigan na ma drive test ito happy rin sila kasi sa dream ko at ngayon ito yung napili ko kasi malakas kasi ang makina nito at hindi lumalamon ng fuel tipid din talaga wala pa naman akung family kaya okay lang din sa akin ang space niya sa luob kaya this car ay para sa akin talaga.

  • Generation

    6th 2012-

Good Review

Ritzelle Ocpenia

  • Review by Ritzelle Ocpenia
  • Jun 13, 2016
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

My merge car from mitsubishi

ngayon hindi na ako mag ka problema kapag papunta ako sa pinag tatrabahoan ko kasi hindi na ako malate at on time na ako palagi kasi hindi na ako mag commute nito. Ang makina sa car ko na ito aba maayos na maayos talaga. Ang bilis pa naman tumakbo nito kaya mas magaling ang sasakyan ko na ito ang dali lang din naman i park nito kasi maliit naman ito. Ang sarap pang sakyan komportable talaga ako nito. At ang huli matipid din naman sa gasolina ang car ko na ito.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 30, 2015
exterior 2.0
interior 2.0
engine performance 1.0
travelling performance 3.0
ride quality 3.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 2.5

I used it as a rental car, and found that this is an easy car to ride and its fuel consumption is good.

This is a review after renting a car for 2 days and traveling 478 km on expressways, mountain roads and ordinary roads.

[Exterior]
- It looks small and the design has no specific characteristics. A typical design of import cars from ASEAN countries.
-The visibility in four directions is acceptable.
-I am concerned about the trunk lid because it opens with no sensation of having released the latch.
-I wonder why the name of the car is not "Corto". The way Mitsubishi names its cars is always questionable.

[Interior]
-As for the interior, there are cheap-looking bumpy plastic materials and the quality feels different for each of the parts.
*About the seat, I did not feel tiredness or pain while I rode in it for two days. It is a little good.

*The glove compartment for the front seat is substantial. However it is a shame that the only cup holder is in the rear seat.

*As for the habitability of the back seats, they are clearly narrower than those of a tall type "kei" (light) vehicle in length and height, so it feels confining.

[Engine Performance]

*At low revolutions, the quietness makes me feel as if there are not 3 cylinders. I do not mind the vibrations too. Also, by setting the accelerator to more than the accelerator opening, there is a feeling of driving. On flat ordinary roads, it is truly wonderful that it can move even when I barely step on the accelerator.
Although it is always the case for CVT, the car accelerates just like rubber that has been stretched. The car begins to accelerates after the engine noise has increased.

-During high-revolutions, the 1000 cc car does not have the power to climb sloping paths in spite of the screeching rotating sound it makes. On the sloping path toward the Hakone Ridge on the National Highway No. 1, I competed with a tourist bus. It is hard to accelerate on the steep slope from 10km/h.

[Driving Performance]
-The straight running on expressways is good. It is not necessary to correct little by little.
-In corners, it catches the road surface well and tires never screamed.
oThe steering wheel is at a light setting so you do not feel the grip of the road surface.

[Ride Quality]
o The ride quality is good with three passengers. It does not feel too hard nor too soft.
o The road noise is a little bit loud but this is normal for a car of this grade.

[Fuel Efficiency]
oThe fuel efficiency was exactly 20.0 km/L when I drove 478 km of highway, mountain roads and ordinary roads over two days, so it was good.
(The 478 km consists 40% of highways such as the capital freeway and the Tomei Expressway, 30% of mountain roads such as turnpikes and Route 1's hilly road, and 30% of ordinary roads such as Route 135)

[General Comments]
oThe actual fuel efficiency is very good as shown in the catalog.
-However, there are so many domestic light automobiles to choose from, so I can not find any reason to proactively choose this imported car.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 16, 2015
exterior 3.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 3.0
travelling performance 3.0
ride quality 3.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 3.3

When you ride it, you will come to like it.

[Evaluation Premise]

It has been about 1 year since I bought it. I have driven 15,000 km, almost all by myself. Each time I drive, I go for a short distance, of about 30km. I am an ex-racer and I used to drive an FC3S. For several reasons, I cannot spend too much money on a car, so I chose a Mirage. This Mirage is my "second car", and my "first car" is a GranTurismo 6 (which I drive about 40,000 km a year).

[Exterior]
Frankly, I think it lacks individuality. It is not particularly bad, but it lacks attractiveness. Personally, I find it unfortunate that it is small but wide.
I preferred the sharp image of the original design which was listed in the magazine "All about Mirage".
The small tires emphasize its squat form even more. As for the size of the tires, I understand the theory that the vehicle weight and the power performance are the same as that of the turbo engine of a compact car, but the design is not good at all.

The air-dam and the rear wing accent the appearance, which can be appreciated as a design in which the functionality is visually perceptible. The press line as well as the firmness of the surface are well-designed.
I selected the silver one, as the shadow of the press-line looks the most beautiful.

[Interior]
I feel the cheapness everywhere. The piano black in the center is beautiful, but it does not always look high-class. My car does not have a silver accent line as it is the grade M, so it looks even more cheaper. (Note: After the model's minor change in last January, all grades now have a silver line... *cry*). The printed pattern on the sheet of the grade M looks cheap. I regret it.
By now, I have only written unfavorable criticisms, but the analog meters with tachometers are not bad for me, because I am a professional driver. Apart from details, the interior design itself is simple and it is spacious, so I like it.

[Engine Performance]
It is sufficient. The adjustment of CVT is wonderful even with 4 passengers, so it is enough for everyday drives. However, I try to switch off the air conditioner (By doing that , the acceleration speed is higher).
I wish it had a little bit more torque, but if I take the suspension into consideration, I realize this may the best balance.

[Driving Performance]
What I feel driving is "everything is light". If I am driving alone, both the acceleration and the steering are light. I can feel how lightweight it is from all its behaviors.

But if I keep the gear shift in D, the acceleration at the end of the curves delays for about the time of 3 breaths. I cannot stand this, so now I always shift to Ds before corners, and only shift back to D after I leave the curve.
If it is in "Ds", the acceleration delays for just one breath and so I strongly accelerate accordingly (and the fuel consumption slightly worsens as a result).

At first, I felt it was unreliable because of the lightness of the steering, but it becomes of a suitable weight on expressways and so I do not feel any anxiety. The straight-line stability is good, and the straight-line is really stable even when going around corners on expressways while driving under the legal speed limit. The excellent aerodynamic performance prevents noise from wind and the influence of side-winds is minimal. The rolling at corners is a little large, but it does not understeer greatly and turns suprisingly well even when there are high G-forces when going around a corner.
When driving a little bit faster on mountain roads, you can enjoy driving by using the DS range of the gear shift. The brake control is stable.

It does not have any peculiar controls and it moves lightly so you will not get tired when driving a long distance. If you drive alone daily, you will feel as if the car were a part of you. You might even feel like you want to go somewhere once you get in the car. The more you drive, the more you will love it. This would explain why I have driven 15,000 km in a year even though I do not drive to work. It makes me feel like driving a long way around for no reason.

[Ride Quality]
I don't think it is good-looking, but it is not bad. Maybe because of its priority on mileage, it often feels the fine projections/recesses of the road. As I was a street-racer once, I feel this is better.( This comment might be unusual)

I always drive alone, so I don't know how comfortable the rear seat is.
When other people sit in the rear seat, they don't complain about it.

[Fuel Efficiency]
Its fuel efficiency is about 22km/L when I ride alone and drive on a not-crowded national road in the suburbs at the speed of 60-80km/h with the air-conditioning off.
It is around 20 km/L for cruising on express highways at about 100 km/h and around 18 km/L on busy streets. However, each rate becomes worse by around 2 km/L when using the air conditioner. If I drive carefully for fuel efficiency while watching the eco-meter, it becomes a little better.

As a caution, the fuel efficiency during the first 10 minutes just after starting the car is not good (Is this due to the warming-up?). Therefore, the fuel efficiency may not increase as expected when repeatedly driving short-distances.
I bought this car in January before they did a tweak, so the price was very good. I was considering eK Custom but this was less expensive. Even after the tweak, if you choose the car grade carefully, this should be cost-effective.
Even though this is a cheap car, it is not a shoddy car. When driving the car I feel that they tried their very best to balance low price, low-fuel consumption and driving performance.

[Reason for bad sales]
Sorry to say, but Mirage is not selling well.
I tried to think of the reason on my own and came to the conclusion that it does not have any merits other than "having a low price and low fuel consumption, and being compact".
In Japan today, I think there are surprisingly few people who choose a car only because "it is cheap".
My opinion is that in present-day Japan, a car will not be selected unless it has some merits other than that cheap price, such as "It has a low price but circlecircle, so I decided to buy it."

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Oct 28, 2009
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 3.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 3.7

It's extremely easy to use.

It'll be the 10th year next year, and I'm sufficiently satisfied. Even if I purchase another car in the future, I have no intention of letting go of this one. I intend to drive it until the end. It's easy to drive, and even though it looks small, it's spacious and comfortable inside. After I had the tired up, the balance has improved considerably. If I had to find a fault, when you go uphill with the cargo full, it feels rather weak. Mine is the first generation, and I love its unique appearance. I don't like the one after the model change.
The car is useful for daily shopping to a long trip. The car is big enough for two persons to stay and sleep inside.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Oct 28, 2009
exterior 5.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 3.0
travelling performance 3.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 3.5

It's a good buy as used now.

It's a very good car.

If you buy it as used, the cost performance is excellent.

It has some space issues, but it's a good item as you can enjoy doing various things without thinking about buying it cheap and selling.

As people depend less and less on cars, you can avoid problems such as bad fuel economy and high parking fees, if you buy a good used at a cheap price, instead of an expensive new or used one.

It's a must buy.

Good Review

Page 1 of 1

Latest Reviews for Cars

<exterior> It looks a lot cooler with the model change, but it looks like it is just copying other makes. Or is it just me who think so? To me, it still looks like a truck from the rear. <interior> ...Read more

  • Rating : 1.4
  • Review by Japanese user
  • Date : Feb 11, 2016

Matagal na din naman pala itong sasakyan namin at dito ako unang natutung mag drive kaya subrang especial ito sa akin kasi naman sa school days ko pa ito gamit pa namin hanggang ngayon maganda kasi ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by Geraldin
  • Date : Jun 24, 2017

been using my car for a long time now and i am so happy that i dont have any issues to this one the engine is still good as new the only one that i changed to this car is the cover of my sets and ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by lucio ram
  • Date : Jun 9, 2017
View Mode: PC | Mobile