Mitsubishi Delica Reviews

Mitsubishi Delica van L_1

Mitsubishi Delica 5th 2007-
  • Mitsubishi Delica van S_1
  • Mitsubishi Delica van S_2
  • Mitsubishi Delica van S_3
  • Mitsubishi Delica van S_4
  • Mitsubishi Delica van S_5
More Photos
Price (New)
---
  • Production 1968 - present
  • Also known as Mitsubishi L300
  • Many engine options are offered to people such as diesels engine of 2.5 liter and 2.8 liter, and petrol engines of 2.4 liter and 3.0 liter.
  • Mitsubishi Delica is a perfect car for family tours as it has lots of interior space with three row seat and space for keeping luggage as well.
  • Ground clearance is optimum to serve on road travels quite well, and it can even solve semi off road travel though it is not recommended.

New & Used prices

Generations

Reviews

Forum

Overall Rating

exterior 4.4
interior 3.8
engine performance 4.3
travelling performance 4.8
ride quality 4.6
fuel efficiency 4.1
Total 4.3

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Oct 14, 2009
exterior 5.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.5

Two years after purchasing

Two years have passed after the purchasing.

With my five family members, I use this one for skiing in winter (8 to 10 times a year) and camping in summer (moving by car two times of all the tour from Hokkaido/Tohoku, around 3,000 km in summer holidays).

Also, I use this for a short trip with 7 people, including parents from both sides.

[Advantages]

- The driving stability on snowy roads/rainy express highways is the driving performance of 4WD itself.

- Ride quality is also speciously and comfortable.

- It is the favorite of my family members, especially my wife.

- Fuel efficiency is better than I had thought (12 km/L on express highways, 8 km/L on general roads and 6 km/L for usual to and from).
- The load is adequate, I can put in anything.

- As this is a high-roofed car, I can go anywhere (generally) by car.

- The accident insurance fee became lower (the previous car was Legacy GT-B).

- Although I drove 1,000 km a day, I did not hurt my hip.

[Bad Points]

- I think the paint on the car seems weak. It came off because someone slightly scratched it at the parking lot probably.

- It is hard to see the view at the left pillar.

- Regarding the interior, it looks childish and cheap, especially around the meter.

- The sound of the engine sounds cheap like moo when it drives uphill.

[General Comments]

Overall, I am very satisfied. I would like to make a lot of good memories with my family with it and take good care of it.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 3, 2014
exterior 4.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

Body rigidity is excellent

[Exterior]
Considering the concept of the car, I wanted it to be sturdier but I like it anyway.

[Interior]
Not gorgeous but simple. Its equipments including hooks are nice. The body is short a bit but I do not feel it uncomfortable because I do not use the third row seats much. It matches for Delica.

[Engine Performance]
It is like the Diesel engine sound got a little quieter than that produced ten years ago.
The power is remarkable when the turbo kicks in.
From the characteristics of the diesel, I think the number of rotation is low on express highways and it is quieter than the gasoline car.

[Driving Performance]

My acquaintance's 2.4 diesel was lightweight and accordingly I think the handling was better, however diesel is also good.

Affected by its high body stiffness, operability and ride quality may be top class among domestic minivans.

This one is the car you realize that it is no good if the car body is not firm.

Most of all it is enjoyable when driving. I do not get car sick easily.

This was the point I decided.
With a wonderful appearance and big size alone it can not compare to the popular minivans.

[Ride quality]
The back double wishbone does a solid job.
I would not go as far as to say it is like a European car, but it is flexible.
If the quality of a ride is important to you, go for inch down instead of a 16 inch.

[Fuel efficiency]
With half-half city driving and highway, it is 11~13 km/L. Such fuel efficiency is amazing with this torque.

[Price]
Inexpensive, considering the performance.

[General comments]
Those looking for a minivan, it is worth trying it out even if you are not particularly interested in Delica.
The brand image may not be good, but you will get it once you drive it.

A good car.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 6, 2014
exterior 3.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

The first diesel in 15 years has evolved. A safe and comfortable car!

The car was delivered in October, 2013. Here is my review.
It worked very well on windy days or heavy snowy days.
Its thick flat torque ensures low fuel consumption and safe driving.
It is a great car.
Mitsubishi Motors HP excerpt
[Running along without stress even for a large number of people and multi-loading ride can make driving joyful and it has high environmental performance with low fuel consumption and cleaning the exhaust gas.]
[Exterior]
Its appearance is clumsy. Its width is good for roads in Japan, I think.

If starts the car too soon, it cannot work well. So, I attached a corner sensor (obstacle sensor) on it.
Its ""rib bone frame"" makes its rigidity very firm.

[Interior]
It is old. But I do not care. I am considering the effective utilization of cup holders.

[Engine Performance]
It is wonderful. The engine performance seems better than CX5, its torque band is wide and comfortable for normal driving. Especially for 6 adult passengers' riding on the uphill lane of high ways, without shifting down,
the car can go up normally. Since its nominal towing capacity is 750kg, there is room for the carrying capacity.
Its exhaust gas is clean and it has been greatly improved since I rode Pajero 2.8L diesel 15 years ago.

[Driving Performance]
It can run safely on rainy, windy and snowy days. It helped me a lot and ran without any stress at all on those heavy snowy days in Feb. 2014.

[Ride Quality]
It has SUV unique ride quality. When riding, the eye line is as high as a person standing, so the visibility is very good. I picked people who get car sickness up, and they were not sick at all because this car is different from a passenger car.

[Fuel Efficiency]
Its fuel efficiency is 11-12km/L for normal driving. It can be perhaps 14 for longer rides, I think.
For the fast running of the vehicle, its rotation speed is at about 1,500, so, the fuel efficiency is higher, I think.
In snowy February the fuel efficiency was 10km.

[Price]
The price was a little high, but for its good performance and safety, it is cheap, I think.

[General Comments]
Its frame rigidity, engine performance, safety equipment and livability are all good, if maintained well, it can run for a long time.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 6, 2014
exterior 3.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

The first diesel in 15 years has evolved. A safe and comfortable car!

The car was delivered in October, 2013. Here is my review.
It worked very well on windy days or heavy snowy days.
Its thick flat torque ensures low fuel consumption and safe driving.
It is a great car.
Mitsubishi Motors HP excerpt
[Running along without stress even for a large number of people and multi-loading ride can make driving joyful and it has high environmental performance with low fuel consumption and cleaning the exhaust gas.]
[Exterior]
Its appearance is clumsy. Its width is good for roads in Japan, I think.

If starts the car too soon, it cannot work well. So, I attached a corner sensor (obstacle sensor) on it.
Its ""rib bone frame"" makes its rigidity very firm.

[Interior]
It is old. But I do not care. I am considering the effective utilization of cup holders.

[Engine Performance]
It is wonderful. The engine performance seems better than CX5, its torque band is wide and comfortable for normal driving. Especially for 6 adult passengers' riding on the uphill lane of high ways, without shifting down,
the car can go up normally. Since its nominal towing capacity is 750kg, there is room for the carrying capacity.
Its exhaust gas is clean and it has been greatly improved since I rode Pajero 2.8L diesel 15 years ago.

[Driving Performance]
It can run safely on rainy, windy and snowy days. It helped me a lot and ran without any stress at all on those heavy snowy days in Feb. 2014.

[Ride Quality]
It has SUV unique ride quality. When riding, the eye line is as high as a person standing, so the visibility is very good. I picked people who get car sickness up, and they were not sick at all because this car is different from a passenger car.

[Fuel Efficiency]
Its fuel efficiency is 11-12km/L for normal driving. It can be perhaps 14 for longer rides, I think.
For the fast running of the vehicle, its rotation speed is at about 1,500, so, the fuel efficiency is higher, I think.
In snowy February the fuel efficiency was 10km.

[Price]
The price was a little high, but for its good performance and safety, it is cheap, I think.

[General Comments]
Its frame rigidity, engine performance, safety equipment and livability are all good, if maintained well, it can run for a long time.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 3, 2011
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance -
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.8

G-POWER 4WD(2011 model year)

[Exterior]
I fell in love with the white back view camera and bought it.

[Interior]
My former car was a AIRTREK. I am very satisfied with the enriched features of the DELICA.

[Engine performance]
I just began driving it, but I plan to verify it carefully in the future.

[Drive performance]
As the center of gravity is high, there is no ""roll"" effect when you take a corner and it is very stable.

[Comfort]
The view is high and when turning left, as there is a little window near the pillar, it is easy to pilot.
The seats are so firm to extent I felt it would be hard to get sleepy while driving.

Also, because of the large tire size, I was worried about the operability and drive quality, but it was very pleasant.

[Fuel Efficiency]

It's not bad compared to HEVs and light-duty vehicles, but I don't really use it much on the weekdays so I'm not concerned with how more or less inefficient it is.

[Price]

I think that the listing price is high, but considering the equipment details and the actual sales price I think its a good buy.

[General Comments]

I'm entered in a contract until the end of January 2023.

I wondered which I should choose for type-50 (2010 model) or type-60 (2011 model). But finally, I realized the BIG-X version
and then I took the ETC combination to decide the type-60.
(Actually, I thought about choosing G-pre type of type-50, but I gave it up because of mismatching of my favorite color and the number o the seats.)

The equipment of type-60 are reduced, but I understood these conditions because they will be benefit when we will make them traded, moreover, they are working vwry well with ETC, have good fuel economy improvement.

Above all, I am totally not worried about them because not a big fun to drive car has changed any more.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 7, 2014
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 4.3

I expect it to be active as my kids grow!

[Exterior]
It's a matter of personal taste. But I like the design that does not look out-of-date.
I prefer to a standard-looking of D:5 which is for outdoor and 4WD.
I chose only white peal color on body for the first time. You cannot find this uniqueness in any other mini-van.
It is very simple and it has no cheapness that is found in the other mini-van. This car has an attractive aura!
(There might be some people who disagree)

[Interior]
It's also a matter of personal taste. I just made it simple for family and children use.
It is simple but ease of use! (Children get in a car with shoes on and its inside is soiled...)
I regret having beige color for interior. Thus the carpet is also in beige.
Car seat is very thick including third row and it is comfortable!
But the design in small part like cup holders should be improved....

[Engine Performance]
Everybody talks about Clean Diesel Vehicle today. But if you do not drive for commuting and if you are not a car maniac, a petrol vehicle is also fine.
It makes quick start and it is relatively low revolution (100km/ 2000rpm) and is not loud.
For the power, unless I get full 8 passengers, I am quite happy,
and it is probably designed a bit milder in a sense!!
As it has been said, it matches with CVT well!!
(You can get a good acceleration depending on how you do with the paddle shift during a over take)

[Driving Performance]
To be honest I thought there would be some rolling to certain extent, but there wasn't.
It is so stable! It is unbelievable!!
It does not show at all here, so there is not many chances for using 4WD though.
It is stable when I drive on the highway in the rain.
The paddle shift is useful when I drive down a steep incline!!

[Ride Quality]
The family members say that this car is more comfortable than the previous one...(It was SUBARU Wagon with a manual transmission)
All 8 family members can sit comfortably and the driving seat is positioned higher so that it makes my driving easier.
For example, if the driver's seat is positioned lower, I feel the speed directly at the speed of 100km/h. But when it is positioned higher, I feel less at the same speed...I have such a feeling.
Thanks to cruise control! I can relax in driving on the highway with the cruise control on.

[Fuel Efficiency]
A big difference between diesel and non-diesel is fuel efficiency (cost).
But it is 8.5km per liter in town, 10km per liter in the suburbs and 11.5km per liter on the highway.
It is acceptable for the car, 4WD with 8-seater with regular petrol, isn't it?
(My previous car was operated with premium unleaded petrol...)

[Price]
This time I found a used D:5 ( total mileage 10,000km) under very good conditions.
At first I decided that the budget for a mini-van was maximum 3 million yen.
I could not buy a brand-new but I could buy the used D:5 within my budget.
Of course I went there and checked the car. I chose the used D:5 rather than a brand-new SERENA.

[General Comments]
If I drove a mini-van, I was dreaming D:5.
I am very happy to find very good used car.
I do not use it for commuting but I do use for my family, 3 children, 2 parents and my wife.
I look forward to driving this car in years to come while my children are getting bigger.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 22, 2014
exterior 4.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 3.8

No Choice But This One, One and Only in the World

[Exterior]
Its brilliant design never grows old. Combining with Minivan's space utilization and SUV sturdiness aptly well, it sets the other types of minivans apart.

I think it cool not to be overly classy, which also holds true for the interior.

[Interior]
It is just what I had expected. It may be wrong to expect classy taste to this car. It is generally useful, but as I become the owner of this car, however, there are something I don't like about the interior designs. To be more specifically...

1. There is not enough space to hold the luggage. Either compartment of double-layered glove box is useful. Other than that, cup holders are redundantly arranged, but there is no other spaces fit for small objects.

2. Seat is comfortable for me, but its fabric may wear out with longer use.(I now know why so many people use seat covers.)

3. Witdh of accelerator pedal is a bit narrow.

4. There is no AC power source or electric tailgate unless you choose MMCS.

5. Even with MMCS performance live up to my expectation so I had to buy another from different manufacturer.

6. When we arrange the seats to full-flat style, they have the level differences which are really annoying.

7. There are hints of cost-cutting everywhere.

8. Right front A-pillar still has some blind corners, though I got used to it.

9. It is a great system that both average and instataneous mileage can be shown on a single display. But average mileage monitor only tells only of tripmeter A.

10. The security system that did not work on default setting. Fuel mileage gauge that was automatically reset.

11. Poor tone of the car-honking.

12. Sensitivity of auto lighting is not well even after having been readjusted by its dealer.

13.The order of light switches is arrayed from auto to position.

14. Its fog lamp switch.

15. The discrepancy of speedometer seems to be too much. When it says 100 k.p.h. it is actually about 95 k.p.h. To solve this changing tires that have larger outer diameter might help.

...There are some more to complain about this car, but as far as the overall satisfaction is concerned they are not the great issues. So if D5 owner has something that he/she doesn't like you can take this opportunity to improve your car life by doing something to get this situation under control.
The most irritating problem about this car is there is little space to store the things to be kept inside the car except under the seats. One of the reasons that I bought this car was it lets you stay in the car, so I equipped the car with Madlys Bed Kit and we secured the storing space under the bed kit. You may amply rest even on the flat seats by using cushions. But if you will eventually use the car to camp Bed Kit will surely of great help.

Comfortness of the car seats is very good, and to me who has lower-back pain did not feel back pain at all, nor did I experienced tiredness during long distances drive.

But I don't like its seat covers because their fabric does not seem to be so endurable. I will get them for my car eventually though.

[Engine Performance]
Without its diesel engines I would never have purchased this car. This is the feature I can't forgo for that car. Previous car had the average gas mileage about 10 k.p.l. but I couldn't underestimate the cost factor given the recent surge in gas prices and the fact that I use the car for long distances drive. But I couldn't like hybrid cars and I haven't even encountered the hybrid car types I would like to drive at all. So D:5 was the only choice I could think of.

Once I took the wheel, its sound was not that annoying. On the contrary the sound was really fun to listen to. At the start, I feel the moment of force is not strong enough, but it will improve with 1,750 r.p.m. and accelerates very well. Acceleration when overtaking another car in highway is really a piece of cake. I feel more speed than 206PS I used to drive. Fuel mileage is about 11 k.p.l in average. It has been getting a bit poor since I equipped with Thule jet bag which increases wind pressure. Without it it could be as much as 13 k.p.l. Even driving on the street or while on the traffic jam mileage could never be less than 10 k.p.l. For a minivan virtually a two ton, it performs really great.
The fuel cost for 1,000-kilometer-drive is estimated about half of high-octave gasoline with 10 k.p.l. gas mileage, about the same as the hybrid and regular car with 15 k.p.l. or less.

[Driving Performance]
I don't feel the seat is high-positioned at all. When turning the corner of the road, I can drive just I did in my previous car. The car has not yet shown the distinction 4WD car could be performing but I astonish the way the car can negotiate well under bad weathers such as downpour or gusty wind. Outrunning on the upslope road is pretty easy. The difference in fuel efficiency between 2WD and 4WD is only one percent. So I usually drive with 4WD auto mode.

[Comfortability]
Very good. It is relatively quiet including the engine sound. Comfortability of the seats are so great that even a long-distance drive is never hard for me.

[Fuel Efficiency]
Also see my comments on ""Engine Performance"". Given the weight and shape of the car, the mileage is nothing but excellent.

[Price]
Without discounts, retail price is never reasonable. Thanks to much effort by our dealer, we could have a nice deal. With the same price range, I could have purchased other car types with much more feel of quality and equipments. But I don't think the current car is overpriced because I am convinced that it has invested so much for its mechanical systems.

It gives you the feeling that you want to modify something for the car, so if you set aside the budget for later modifications you can really enjoy the life with this car.

[General Comments]
You can car camp. It is equipped with 4WD, all-weather maneuverability, clean diesel engines, not styled with so called ""family-car"", and it is the one and only car that meets the factors for what true car lovers really want.

Seven years has passed since the model was first released so I initially hesitated to buy this car for a new car and I had my previous car cheked for mandatory car-check one month earlier. Once I test-drived, however, I fell in love with it instantly and I signed the deal soon afterward because it was much better than I thought. For the photographing trip, previous car, Accord Tourer, was totally unfit for camping in a car. So it is essential for me to find a car that can camp in the car comfortably even for people with back pain problems. Another great thing is that this car is really ahead of time. D:5 equipped with clean diesel engine is a perfect fit for me.
It may not be a car type for everyone but for those who love this particular type, it will surely become their best companion. I've got little interest in mini vans by other car makers. I chose D5, not a mini van and that's that. I have already run this car more than 2,000 kilometers in only one month since it was delivered to my house. I guess it will be my long time partner by the time I have run this for 100,000 kilometers or more.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 27, 2014
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 3.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.3

A rare kind nowadays, the genuine 4WD one box car

If the present DELICA is herbivore, this SPACE GEAR is carnivore.

The SPACE GEAR showed a great driving performance in the recent huge snow and flood.

Even trucks and mini-bans 4WD got stuck in deep snow, its high suspension ran over all the deep ruts, stack of snow no problem. That was amazing.

In addition, the high eye position due to the high suspension also helped to maintain a good view in a bad weather.
I have put a new radiator recently and been giving a good maintenance in order to reach over 300,000 km of mileage.

The car weight is really heavy, and the fuel efficiency is awful, but I just love this heaviness like a tank.

It is a one-box car made for man.

If they put PHEV on this car, I am sure it will sell so much...

The clean diesel that is recently coming popular is excellent, but somehow I can not go for the DELICA that has become like Toyota cars in the bad way. I expect Mitsubishi to step in.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Nov 15, 2009
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.8

I switched from the D4.

It has improved considerably on the D4. The cornering function has a good control on the roll. All in all, it's a good car.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Nov 13, 2011
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.8

I can't think of anything else.

It's been just 1 year since I purchased it. I haven't found a Japanese mini-van better than the D5 so far. I'm not completely satisfied with the interior, but if you think about the car's personality, it's excellent.

The exterior is also boxy, and it's so attractive that it has many designs around the hands. The fuel economy is better than the value in the catalog. Maybe they didn't make it going after the catalog value. Especially, Toyota has a huge difference between the catalog and the real values.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Nov 29, 2007
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.5

Mitsubishi review

This is a vehicle with its excellent cost performance.
As the driver's seat is adjustable for its height, I could sustain the same viewpoint from the previous generation. Or you could adjust it at the lower point though it is not automatic.
Although the walk-through is not available, the floor console is very convenient.
Those indirect light settings of the interior brings the calm atmosphere.

Regarding the fuel efficiency, the average 7.1km/L for commuting seems fair to me.

I heard that the special edition will be released early next year,
I think it would be nice if electrically powered seats or seat warmers are set up.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jul 13, 2007
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

Mitsubishi review

My comment only refers to the test run because the vehicle has not been shipped to me as of yet. My first impression when I sat on the driver's seat was not as pleasant as it should be, but once started running it was not a problem at all. Although the interior seems simple, it is always good as the saying goes.

Good Review

Page 1 of 1

Latest Reviews for Cars

Matagal na din naman pala itong sasakyan namin at dito ako unang natutung mag drive kaya subrang especial ito sa akin kasi naman sa school days ko pa ito gamit pa namin hanggang ngayon maganda kasi ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by Geraldin
  • Date : Jun 24, 2017

been using my car for a long time now and i am so happy that i dont have any issues to this one the engine is still good as new the only one that i changed to this car is the cover of my sets and ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by lucio ram
  • Date : Jun 9, 2017

Ang aking sporty na car ay magandang gamitin kasi palagi kaming nga pupunta sa farm namin at okay itong e drive kahit off road mn mabilis talaga at malakas ang makina kaya wala akung naging problema ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by Maura
  • Date : May 30, 2017
View Mode: PC | Mobile