Honda City Reviews

Honda City sedan L_1

Honda City 6th Generation Facelift (GM6) 2017-
  • Honda City sedan S_1
  • Honda City sedan S_2
  • Honda City sedan S_3
  • Honda City sedan S_4
  • Honda City sedan S_5
  • Honda City sedan S_6
  • Honda City sedan S_7
  • Honda City sedan S_8
More Photos
  • Production 1981 - present
  • Exterior consists of chrome finished grille, and classic body paint job. Along with cruise control, interior looks good with additional safety specs, including ABS.
  • Honda City is rivaled in class by the Toyota Yaris, Nissan Almera, Hyundai Accent, Holden Barina, Kia Rio, Suzuki SX4, Mazda 2 and the Ford Fiesta sedan.
  • Honda City draws power from a four-cylinder 1.5 liter petrol engine displacing 118 BHP along with 106 ft lb of torque.

New & Used prices

Models by year

Reviews

Forum

News

Overall Rating

exterior 4.3
interior 4.2
engine performance 4.1
travelling performance 4.4
ride quality 4.1
fuel efficiency 4.3
Total 4.2

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Rayannn Remss

  • Review by Rayannn Remss
  • Jun 26, 2018
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.3

comfort interior but poor paint

hindi ako experto sa car but I truly agree about its extraordinary looks and great mileage. I was searching for the car that was suitable for my business travel and it suited perfectly. For me it is a match made in heaven. Car is very spacious and comfortable for even long journeys. It is the best for family outings and business trips alike. I am a traveler and I like to travel this car is just perfect.the car has superb exterior and riding comfort is very smooth, actually I like suspension. It has lots of advance aspect such as, Appreciable Rear Parking Sensors. Excellent sunroof. Nice aerodynamic shape, very sport look. Sporty and rocking Dashboard. Doors Equipped with fingerprint Scanner. But according to me, car hood is very high and its difficult to see on the road and tyres quality should be improved.

  • Generation

    6th Generation Facelift (GM6) 2017-

Good Review

al1.jamal

  • Review by al1.jamal
  • Jun 21, 2018
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 3.0
ride quality 3.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 3.8

review from a loyal customer

It's not a question that honda city has a classic quite impressive design which will easily capture your attention. But as a loyal customer user of honda it's quite disappointing that the rear seats is not comforting, even just for a 30 minute ride you'll feel discomfort all of a sudden. Plus its suspension was horrible, driving through urban areas even if the road was plain the riding experience was poor.

  • Generation

    5th Generation (GM2, GM3) 2008-2013

Good Review

CcMerry.Poo

  • Review by CcMerry.Poo
  • Jun 13, 2018
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

Classy Car na gusto kong makuha

Gusto ko ng model na to kasi ang classy ng design niya napaka attractive tingnan malakas ang impact sa sinumang makatingin. Pag-iiponan ko talaga ang honda city nato para may makita naman akong ebidensiya sa mga pinaghirapan ko. Refer din kasi sa akin ng kaibigan ko ang model na ito since may ganito rin siya. Durable daw ang quality ng engine nito na may 1.2L i-VTEC Petrol and i-DTEC Diesel at gusto ko rin ma experience talaga ang 7-paddle shift meron ang model na ito.

  • Generation

    6th Generation (GM6) 2014-2017

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 15, 2017
exterior 3.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.3

Sports driving in excellent! DCT's S mode cannot be underestimated.

This is a review based mainly on driving with sports mode.

<exterior>
It has both size easy to handle and good design. However, when I compare it with European premium cars in higher grade, this looks poor.

<interior>
This is one of the best in this grade cars. It is minimum necessary, and is fashionable. Many of my friends who like cars have got on this, but none of them criticized about it.

<engine performance>
All I can say is amazing Honda. With normal mode, it takes a while to be ready to run even when I press the accelerator hard, so people say it feels sluggish and it has no quickness.
However, if you have set it at S mode beforehand, you'll see this is a quick, pleasant engine that reminds you of Civic or Integra.

<drivability>
I have mentioned about it in <engine performance>, too, but this is pleasant. I don't think you would think this doesn't have enough acceleration on local roads in Japan. Where the engine doesn't do well, the motor works to push the car forward.
Having said that, because I have driven CR-Z, whose suspension was tuned drastically in the past, and often drive my friend's Integra, Grace feels it has too big a roll for sports driving. Unless you have technique to control understeering and weight shifting, it would be difficult to drive like a sports car in mountains.
However, the acceleration of S mode using DCT and quickness are as good as sports cars around. It doesn't need to have absolute power; DCT covers powerlessness in terms of enjoying driving.

<comfort>
I don't think there are people who would say the ride quality is bad. It is rather soft for Honda, but it gives me the feel that I am driving. I like it.

<fuel efficiency>
I went to a mountain using S mode. I drove with 86/BRZ and other high power sports cars, but the fuel efficiency went 22km/l. It has done 30km/l for downhill.
For traffic jams or driving in town, it is about 24km/l on average.

<overall>
There aren't many disadvantages this car has compared to cars around. An excellent car.

Good Review

Sandy Lyn Sarmiento

exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

SUPER GOOD STATUS

Used only to go school.
I had only some scratches on the right side of the car.
I changed battery to GOLD Motolite.
The price is definitely low in comparison to its quality. It s almost new.

  • Generation

    5th Generation (GM2, GM3) 2008-2013

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 25, 2016
exterior 5.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 3.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.3

Well balanced compact sedan, but…

<exterior>
It is up to each person's taste, but it is smart for a cheap compact sedan, and I like it. It probably is categorized as public sedan, but this looks smart. It is only my personal view, though. Its nose is as short as Fit, but it is well designed like sedan. But my family says what the difference is with Fit, so it might look like Fit for those who are not so fussy with cars.

<interior>
It is basically the same as Fit, but it is well done as a sedan. Especially the back seats are good.
But it has a drawback reasonable for the price. Bolts on the seat rails are not coverd, and the design below the steering is like under construction.
The sound of shutting the doors is better than it should for this price; they probably have studied about it from with N-One. But the sound of shutting the boot is very cheap.
The seat quality is better than Fit. Passenger seat is satisfactory, but driver seat is not good for long distance travel as driver's back sinks a lot. It is not good for those with backache.
Touch panel aircon has both good and bad reputation, but as I only touch to change the temperature setting, it is quite good.

<engine performance>
It doesn't feel uneasy at all, so you wouldn't realize it's hybrid unless told. It has satisfactory performance.
But it doesn't feel like Honda's engine. Mazda's engine is more like old Honda's engine.
Switching between EV and engine, shift shock of DCT... It is well done.

<drivability>
I chose DCT not being able to get used to CVT, but it was a right decision. Hybrid mechanism of this combination is well done.
Sometimes I have a feel I'm pulled without my intention, but CVT makes its driver feel uneasiness before stopping, too, so it is passable.

Fit felt it might fall over while turning, but this makes me feel sense of security as a sedan.
It is not good or bad overall.

<comfort>
I expected this to be quiet, but it is not as good as I expected. It gets big road noise, which I should have been able to imagine from the type of the car, but it is better than Fit 2. This is the best among the cars I compared with.

<fuel efficiency>
20km/l in town in winter. No complaints. I don't think I would use ECON button.
I didn't use ECON with Fit either. If you sacrifice comfort for fuel efficiency, it is not "fun to drive".
If you ask me why I went for hybrid, it is because I wanted to experience the newest technology, and I feel Honda cars go well with hybrid in terms of their quality.

<price>
Compare to Toyota Corolla hybrid with same sort of equipment, it is very inexpensive. It is cheaper by about 200,000yen.
But I'm not sure about the idea of saving fuel consumption by using electricity. I thought Honda gets good fuel consumption just by its engine like Skyactiv.
It may not be helped as Skyactiv seems not so good with actual fuel consumption, but the cost of electrical devices is on its users, so the manufacturer is not actually thinking about users.
Axela might have better cost value overall. It probably is more for long term Honda users who like machines.

<overall>
It is satisfactory enough for its price. The satisfaction level is based on its price, isn't it? This satisfactory level for this price.

Good Review

liezl banggod

  • Review by liezl banggod
  • May 10, 2017
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

Honda City

matagal ko na itong gamit ang car ko na ito sabi ng mga anak ko bili na daw ako ng bago pero ito na yung naka sanayan ko kasi komporatble na akung e drive ito at hindi ito mahirap e park bilib din naman ako sa engine mostly kasi sa work ko is travel kaya gamit ko talaga palagi ito so far kahit ma tagal ko na siyang gamit ay wala akung naging problem sa car ko.

  • Generation

    6th Generation (GM6) 2014-2017

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 26, 2016
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.5

This is a good car!!!

I've been driving Hybrid DX 4WD since July last year. I had a chance to try this car today, so I am writing my impression on it.

<interior>
I have written about this in the review of Hybrid version of this. Please refer that.

<engine performance>
It has tuned up differently from hybrid. (It has different compression ratio.) It has the maximum output of 132PS. I thought it would have been good if hybrid had 132PS like this one plus motor's output to make it 150PS. Petrol version Grace has good enough acceleration.

<comfort>
As for ride quality, I also have written in the review of Hybrid version. Please refer that.

<fuel efficiency>
This is crucially different from Hybrid. With 4WD Hybrid, for traveling in summer, it did a little less than 39km/l and 24km/l in town. With petrol, it did about 20km/l for long distance travel and 15km/l in town in summer. In winter, I assume it will be about 15km/l for long distance travel and 11km/l in town. My Hybrid is about 13km/l. When compared, Hybrid does a lot better in summer, but in winter, both petrol and hybrid have pretty much the same fuel consumption as Hybrid uses engine all the time in winter. New Prius achieves about 24km/l in town in winter. That is because New Prius has shield to prevent the engine to be cooled, so it can drive using its motor even in winter.
I have written something unnecessary, but if you drive 2,000 to 5,000km a year, I definitely recommend petrol one. If you drive more than 10,000km, Hybrid will be better.

<price>
I think it is rather expensive for this class car. I think it would be better if it was cheaper by 200,000 to 300,000yen. Petrol cars in this class are getting rare, so it should drop their price than Hybrid a lot more (It should be a little more expensive than 4WD kei cars.)

<overall>
Basically, Grace is a very good car. Analyzing fuel efficiency, distance you would travel and how long you would drive, if you don't drive much, it is better to go for petrol cars. If you drive over 10,000km a year, Hybrid will be better. If you don't look at its fuel efficiency, this car is a very good car among this class cars. I wonder why this doesn't sell well.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 16, 2016
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.5

Compact sedan with no disadvantages. I hope more young generations drive this

I'm around 30 years old.
I see Prius and minivans everywhere, so I wanted a unique family car. Then I found Grace. I did a test drive and decided getting it.

<exterior>
I had never seen Grace other than the one parked at the dealer, but it was sportier than I thought from looking at its photos. When I saw many photos, I thought white without aero parts make it look like a commercial vehicle and would be uncool, but when I actually saw it, it was more stylish than I thought.
Also, with EX grade, it has unity of 16inch aluminum wheels and plated door handles and they make it look sporty yet luxurious. You would get totally different impression with the standard one which has 15inch wheels and colored handles.
The luggage room has big capacity, but it doesn't look unnatural. Rear spoiler, which is a standard equipment, is a good accent and it gives it a flowing design from its front to rear.
When I looked at it on the photo, it looked like an uninteresting sedan depending on the angle I look at it from. When I see it in real, however, it looked like a car which men and women of all ages can drive, so I chose white.

<interior>
It has more luxurious feel than its class overall. But the plastic used around accessory socket are plasticky. Also, some people may be unhappy about its inside the door of the luggage room not being processed or shift lever which I cannot say it is chic. Anyway, they are not the parts you look at all the time, so they might be the points I should give up for cutting the cost.

<engine and motor performance>
It has enough acceleration for merging on highways even with normal mode. But possibly because I am not used to hybrid car as this is my first hybrid car, there is a tiny gap when I press the accelerator till its acceleration starts. Once it starts acceleration, I don't feel any inconvenience for its smooth acceleration.
It is not easy for me to change from engine to motor while driving along with other cars' flow.
S mode's acceleration is very powerful from the very moment I press the accelerator.

<drivability>
This is a newly designed sedan, so its stability is excellent. It responds well with my steering.

<comfort>
Its quietness is excellent. It doesn't have much road noise. It probably is one of the benefits of sedan. Actually, it is so quiet that you might hear the noise of the motor. Some people may not be happy with it. I, on the other hand, feel happy with it as it makes me think that I am using recent gimmick.
Shocks from going over bumps are soft even with 16inch wheels. I don't get tired much after long distance travel.
Rear seats have spacious foot space. It also has a socket for charging and aircon wind outlet. As for comfort, again, it feels like that of a car which is in higher grade.

<fuel efficiency>
This is my first hybrid, and I don't have any skills to drive fuel economically. But for driving 500km, half on highways, half on local roads, without trying to be fuel economical, it did 21km/l. It is a surprising number for me. Once I get used to it, I think it will be even better.

<price>
I think its cost performance is very high. When you look at it closely, you do see some parts where they cut the cost from, but thinking the fact that this is a middle range compact sedan, I think it is natural.
I got 200,000yen discount for the one before facelift with the same equipment as the newest model. I got 100,000yen more for trade-in price, too. I think I got it very cheap.

<overall>
All in all, this is a well-united car with no disadvantages. As this car's rival is Corolla Axio (or possibly Prius), this car's target probably is a veteran user. But this is a sedan which can answer the demands of young generations like “I want a sedan but they all look like for old people” or “I'm in my 20-30's, but now I have a family and want a car different from others with one grade higher.”

I started to see more of this around in town since I got it delivered. I can recommend this to men and women of all ages.

Good Review

jongjong

  • Review by jongjong
  • Jan 20, 2017
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

City honda car

The style of this motorcycle was so great and I like it much I know it looks small car for me but I don't care cause I really like it much, the engine performance was so good cause it was functioning well and no problem at all. The travelling performance was nice because it will run so fast and in a high speed. I really like to ride this car I feel so comfortable and spacious and I find no hassle cause there is enough space for my luggage so it will not be hassle for me and the last thing the gasoline on this is not big expensive.

Good Review

Wil Skinner

exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.7

cant go wrong - great fuel efficiency, smooth easy

cant go wrong - great fuel efficiency, smooth easy

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Dec 6, 2015
exterior 4.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.5

I drove this for about two weeks as a loaner vehicle

I borrowed it for two weeks from the dealer for various reasons. I did about 200km. I will write my impression on this car on highways and on local roads comparing with 2nd generation Fit Hybrid RS. The grade is EX, 2WD.

<exterior>
Its exterior is acceptable. Compared to Accord Hybrid, I prefer this design. You won't get tired of it after 10 years.

<interior>
Simple. There is a vent to cool the battery down on driver side rear seats.
It is not too luxurious or too plasticky.

<engine performance>
It is well-done compared to Fit2 Hybrid.
I can feel that it is using its motor a lot. (I can hear the sound of the motor running)

<drivability>
It feels like old 2000cc class cars like Accord or Mark 2. It didn't feel cheap.
You should get rid of the idea of the suspensions getting worse with recent cars than cars before.
There were a few times where the car didn't start properly as I start. It probably is the characteristic of new hybrid.

<comfort>
It is good, but I wish the seats were better. I prefer seats made with moquette.

<fuel efficiency>
Nothing to complain about. I used to use CVT and cruise control, and it didn't work well, but it is better now.
I drove about 60km on a highway. With cruise control, it went over 30km.
For short distance travel (less than 5km), it was about 15km.

<price>
When I did a test drive this car right after it came on the market last year, I thought this price was too expensive for this. But now that I have driven this for two weeks, I understand that this price is reasonable. It has this much equipment, so I think it cannot be helped. I don't think you would regret.

<overall>
This is not too luxurious but it is not a bread-and-butter car either. I changed my evaluation on this car completely in these two weeks.
Each car has disadvantages. This car's engine sometimes idles away as it starts, and it sometimes has a big shock when changing between its motor and engine.
But I gave it 5starts for satisfaction because I find this car to be well-made.
I think it should sell better. This car is that good.

Good Review

Lotte Alvarez

  • Review by Lotte Alvarez
  • Sep 28, 2016
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

My car honda city cutie

My HONDA CITY is a cute car of ,mine I like this cause it was good and fit for the girl and great to have it. The engine performance was so good and functioning will so great to have it. The travelling performance is perfect cause it will run fast and even in a rough road still run fast. I like to ride this car cause I feel so comfortable and feel so relax on it. The gasoline also is not so big expensive much better to have it. And I will take care of this car.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Oct 23, 2015
exterior 5.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.7

It is compact, but you can drive feeling sense of security

<exterior>
I chose tinted silver for a color. I think is good color.
The body design is not bad. It is not a compact car which has been added a cargo forcibly, so its design looks right.
This is not boxy, so it may be difficult to grasp its size.

<interior>
Interior itself is OK. I think it is high quality for this grade. Having said that, my previous car (Forester SG5) had a lot of storage space around driver's seat, so in terms of that, I am not happy. There are not enough space for sunglasses, pens, notepads and that. It is not convenient for using for work.
I find the visor is cheap, too. When I put tickets in between the belt, it is difficult to take them out.

<engine performance>
It is powerful for this class car, so I feel sense of security. I don't like how hybrid car starts, but Fit and Grace are not that bad. This is better for me than Aqua, the car I had originally planned to buy.

<drivability>
It's only been a week since the delivery, so I haven't driven roughly or anything yet. I like the feel when the car starts and its acceleration. The response of pedals is sensitive, too. It makes me feel like pressing the accelerator more. I'm not talking bad about it, but when I tried Aqua, it didn't accelerate as much as I wanted even when I pressed the accelerator to the floor, and I thought it would be hard to merge on highways. I thought it was not dependable.

<comfort>
This is my first Sedan. I find it comfortable. I might feel this way because my previous car Forester had rather hard suspensions. My dog looks comfortable, too.

<fuel efficiency>
I've only done 120km, and the average is 22km/l. I think it can be better. This indicator makes me drive more gently. It has an effect of suppressing rough driving.

<price>
I had a discount about 300,000yen to 400,000yen. It was one of the selected models, so loan interest was 1.9percent. I wasn't planning to buy new Grace, but this made me decide on this.

<overall>
Compact sedans are not popular now, but they are good when you actually try them. I think Grace should me more popular. I will keep driving this car. I'll give 95 percent for score. I'm satisfied.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Oct 18, 2015
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.5

This is exactly what I expected

I'm a 70-year-old man.
It was delivered in late September, and I've done 490km so far. I ordered in early July, but it was the time of a model change, so I had to wait for longer than I was supposed to. But it ended up being a bit cheaper, and auto retractable mirror came as standard equipment, so it was not that bad.

<exterior>
It is stylish. I chose alabaster silver.

<interior>
I tried sedans of other makes, but this had better texture. I chose MOP leather seats, and that makes it look even better.

<engine performance>
I haven't tried S mode or ECON mode. I'm not that concerned about its engine performance.

<drivability>
My previous car was CVT, so I'm still not used to DCT.
When I was driving to the next level at the car park, there was no torque for a second as the gear was changed. I felt it was odd.

<comfort>
It is quiet and good.

<fuel efficiency>
I mainly drive in town, and it is about 21km/l on average. I was using aircon most of the time, so it will be better from now on. It is twice as good as my previous car (sedan 2l petrol), so I'm happy.

<price>
I would say it is reasonably priced.

<overall>
I bought this for downsizing and to change for hybrid. This is what I expected.

Good Review

Achaia Avendula

  • Review by Achaia Avendula
  • Oct 7, 2014
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

honda city

[Good]
Very good especially if its driven with your family
Amazing ride. Dont forget to buy the new one. Youll never regret buying it. Great ride quality, amazing travelling experience especially with your family, great fuel efficiency, beautiful exterior, comfortable interior, ride quality is great and the engine performance is just the best.
[Bad] there's no negative thing i can say about it.

Good Review

ajzpnta

  • Review by ajzpnta
  • Sep 19, 2014
exterior 4.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.2

Mine is Atom

[Good]
My car is named Atom. I love how smooth it is when i drive it. I love how comfortable it is inside when im resting from driving and its exterior is nice and it looks good but im looking for something new when it comes to exterior of Honda

[Bad]
i like the exterior of Honda city and its color (urban titatnium) but i dont like it as much as is do like the exterior of Hyundai elantra (white) so it looks like so elegant. .

Good Review

sheena112608

  • Review by sheena112608
  • Sep 16, 2014
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 2.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 4.0

Hodnda city cars

[Good]

Nice to use even it last for how many years. And it is easily to operate than the other cars i had. So anu pa?buy your own cars na at main store of honda city and give it to your daughter or son. I hope it will help you

[Bad]
Not good for students driver. It is easity damge when it crushed or touch the simento. But you can trust the honda city cars. It is very nice for a gift if you are rich person

Good Review

Page 1 of 1

Latest Reviews for Cars

It’s always felt a traditional town car such as the Volkswagen cars, what it lacked in nimbleness, it made up for with supreme cabin practicality. There’s a decent amount of clutch and brake pedal ...Read more

  • Rating : 3.2
  • Review by lakam
  • Date : Jul 12, 2018

Nice car pero I have an issue with the suspension medyo harsh kasi kapag dumadaan ako sa uneven roads. Also okay lang engine performance niya kapag short trips at town work but as I observed medyo ...Read more

  • Rating : 3.7
  • Review by Cruz Anabel
  • Date : Jul 12, 2018

I drove about 5000km. It is a fun car to drive, but it is not straightforward. <exterior> Both the front and the rear are not so good. I especially didn't like its front bottom being black. With ...Read more

  • Rating : 3.7
  • Review by Japanese user
  • Date : Feb 23, 2017
View Mode: PC | Mobile