HUAWEI P9 lite Reviews

Lowest Price P9,000 14 Prices
Contact Seller Taiyen General Merchandise
RAM
  • ALL
  • 2GB
  • 3GB
Color
Huawei P9 lite is a 5.2inch of display, Emotion UI 4.1 Android OS v6.0, fingerprint scanner.
  • Release date : Jun 2016
  • Smartphone, Android 6.0 +...
  • 5.2 inches, Full HD (1080...
  • 2G, 3G, 4G (LTE), 16GB, 2... more specs
Related Models
HUAWEI P9 lite
Latest model
HUAWEI P20 Lite (nova 3e)
P15,245 - (19 Prices)

Compare prices

Specs

Reviews

Forum

News

Overall Rating

Design 4.6
Portability 4.3
Operability 4.2
Response 4.4
Display 4.6
Listenability 4.1
Battery 4.5
Total 4.4

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 5, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Total 4.6

I'm happy with this.

<design>
This is totally fine.

<portability>
Because my previous phone was iPhone6, I thought it got slightly bigger at first. Having said that, this is still acceptable.

<pushbutton usability>
No problem.

<IME>
I thought this is easier than iPhone to type in.

<response>
No problem.

<menu>
This is totally fine, too.

<display>
A lot brighter than iPhone6.

<voice call sound quality>
I don't have any complaints.

<battery>
Because it was highly talked about, I expected it too highly; I thought it would last longer. It is not a problem, though. I think it lasts longer than iPhone 6.

<overall>
This is my first Android phone, so I was a little nervous about getting this. However, I don't feel uneasy about it and there is not much difference with iPhone 6. This works smoothly. I am happy with this.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 24, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 4.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability -
Battery 5.0
Total 4.7

I replaced Nexus 5 with this.

I got tired of the bad battery life of Nexus 5, so I got it replaced.

<design>
It looks more luxurious than its price. Gold looks even better.

<portability>
It is slightly bigger than Nexus 5, which means it is less portable, but I don't mind it much.

<pushbutton usability>
I was able to operate Nexus 5 with one hand, but it is hard to do so with this. I wish it had narrower bezel.

<response>
Fingerprint reader is quick and convenient. Now that I am used to it, I cannot go back to Nexus 5.

<menu>
Default menu is fine, but as there are many varieties of widgets, you can customize it, too.

<display>
It looks more bluey than Nexus 5. This might be easier to see in dark environment.

<battery>
With Nexus 5, battery only lasts for half a day, but this lasts for a few days.

<overall>
I didn't feel stressed changing from Nexus 5. It is a pity that it now doesn't support charging without a plug. It is very disappointing that qi is no longer popular.
Having said that this has the best cost performance. I can recommend this to those who are not too fussy.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 21, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 4.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.7

My second Huawei smartphone【Ascend G6 → P9 lite】

<design>
I chose white. It's stylish, and I like it.

<portability>
It is bigger than my previous phone, so it is slightly heavier. But it is within acceptable range.

<pushbutton usability>
As this has a bigger display, it is difficult to operate with one hand.

<response>
Response is better than my previous phone.

<menu>
Average.

<display>
Full HD and IPS LCD. Beautiful.

<voice call sound quality>
No particular problem.

<ringtone, music>
It feels better than my previous phone.

<battery>
I can use it for two days without charging.

<overall>
I have used Ascend G6 for two years, and I bought this for 20,000yen at the year end of 2016.
It has faster processing speed, and the resolution now is Full HD, so I can see movies more clearly.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 19, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 4.0
Response 4.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.4

High cost performance

It's been 2 days since I got this, but this is a lot better than I expected.

Design is thin and flat. Sophisticated.
I was worried that the display could be warped around Huawei logo. My lot (black) had the problem, too (the glass protection film can be pushed up), but I pressed G-Color Huawei P9 Lite film firmly, then it fit OK.

I have no problem with its response. It has no problem for playing relatively light games, and it works very lightly with business app.
I was worried as it only has 16GB ROM, but it seems fine; I have installed about 60 apps, most of them were business apps, but it only went over 10GB, so I still have more than 4GB left. I needed Micro SD, so I got SanDisk 128GB (extreme). Possibly because I went for the fast one, it is working pleasantly.

What I expected this to be good the most was battery. It is just amazing. I left it on standby with wi-fi connected from last night, and it only went down by 1% from 100%.
Also, when I am installing apps, it never needs to be charged during installing, and I feel its stamina. Battery saving mode comes as default. When you use it, the battery doesn't go flat.

If you won't be happy with warped display, I cannot recommend this, but if you would like to choose a smartphone for its performance, this would be more than satisfactory. This is a great model with high cost performance.

I recommend 128GB Micro SD. You might regret if you go for slow SD card trying to save money.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 18, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability -
Battery -
Total 5.0

I think I will go for Huawei again.

I had used Kiwami of Freetel as my main phone, but I staretd to experience problems since I updated to Android 6.0. I couldn't downgrade it either. I couldn't put up with it, so I bought this with good reputation.

When I play games, I used Kiwami, but it worked slugishly even with not so heavy games, so I used this. P9 lite scored 10,000 points higer in benchnmark test, but I actually was not expecting it to be good. But it worked amazingly lightly unlike Kiwami, so I was surprised with the difference.

With the phones in low price range like Priori 3S or Kiwami, I always thought it cannot be helped that they were inconvenient as they were cheap. So I was relatively happy for its price. But now that I know P9 lite, I cannot go back to Freetel.

If Huawei makes a smartphone with removable battery, they would have a corner on the smartphone market.

I only have got it recently, and I might start to see it differently later on, but I am honestly happy that there is one more choice of a make called Huawei.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 15, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 4.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.7

Huawei P9 Lite, high cost performance

<design>
Its 5.2inch screen is not too big or too small. It looks simple.

<portability>
It is compact and light.

<pushbutton usability>
Because I had been using a tablet, at first I found this difficult to use. But I got used to it now. The sensitivity is good.

<response>
It works lightly and pleasantly.

<menu>
There are not too many or too little menu, so it is easy to use.

<display>
Bright and beautiful. The sensitivity of automatic brightness control is good, too.

<voice call sound quality>
I think it is not because of this device, but with Line free voice call, it sometimes gets noise or gets cut off.

<ringtone, music>
It sounds clearly.

<battery>
Because I am a light user (I use it for e-mails, LINE free voice calls and messaging, browsing when I am out), it lasts for about 6 days to reach 10% from fully charged. Amazing stamina. My image of smartphone having short battery life is blown away.

<overall>
I had used a feature phone and a tablet, but the battery of the tablet started to get deteriorated, so I bought Huawei P9 lite.
Because I still have an image of a smartphone having short battery life, I still take my feature phone with this when I go out, but P9 lite actually has more stamina than my feature phone. Surprising. I can feel safe with one smartphone when it has this much stamina. It is high in cost performance. I am happy with my purchase.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 12, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 5.0
Response 3.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.7

Failing in push notification is a disadvantage.

I bought this last June. I change my smartphones frequently; I have used Huawei smartphones three in a row, and I have used 4 other phones.

I realized that I don't get push notifications with Yahoo! auction and LINE. Especially with Yahoo! auction, it fails to notify me 80% of the time. This would be one and only problem.
Other problem can be that it gets jumpy when I use it heavily. As for operation, it probably is because there are too much programming and gets heavy, or I use it too heavily.

The developer seems they are not making effort to make it work lightly, so I think it can get heavy easily.

Having said that, it should be fine for light users. Those who use a lot should go for more expensive device or iPhone.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 11, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 4.0
Response 5.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Total 4.1

Unexpectedly good

I got this as my ZenFone 2 Lase broke.

The response is light. It is natural but it is a lot faster than ZenFone 2 Laser.

It is as big as ZenFone 2 Laser, and the display is bigger with 5.2inch display. But the home button is shown in the display, so the area it shows is about the same.

I haven't used voice calls as I use data SIM.

The speaker is monoaural, but it has better sound quality than the phones I had before: Xperia acro HD and AQUOS Phone Serie SHL23.

It is better at catching wi-fi connection and GPS than ZenFone 2 Laser or SHL 23.

The battery lasts as long as SHL23, too. I only check e-mails and browse the Internet during lunch break and on the way home, and I don't play games or make phone calls. So it uses 15-20% of the battery a day.

It works fast and stably. The battery lasts well, too. Fingerprint sensor is very convenient, and it doesn't have too many unwanted preinstalled apps compared to other phones.
All in all, I am very happy with this. The only problem I have at the moment is that the back key is located closer to the center compared to my previous phone, so I press where there is no key.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 11, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability -
Battery 4.0
Total 4.8

It can still fight against other smartphones.

I bought it in June 2016. This is my impression after using it since then.
I am comparing it with ZenFone 3 Laser and RAIJIN.

<design>
It is not cheap. High quality. I don't care about it, though, as I put a case on.

<portability>
Because it has a smaller battery than RAIJIN, it is lighter. I personally find this is a good size. Please have a look at it in person at a shop.

<pushbutton usability>
Accuracy of the fingerprint sensor is good. It is much better than ZenFone 3 Laser or RAIJIN.
The positions of the power button and volume button are good, too.

<response>
This is the point I highly evaluate. This must be by far the best in middle-range smartphones. It has got No.1 for a reason. It only has half the RAM of RAIJIN or ZenFone 3 Laser, but this is much better than those two.

<menu>
This is the matter of getting use to.
If you don't like, change it.

<display>
Reasonable. It is not particularly good or bad.

<voice call sound quality>
N/A. I only use it for data communication.

<ringtone, music>
N/A. I use it in silent.

<battery>
I think this is very good, but it cannot beat a physical difference, battery capacity; you cannot compare it with RAIJIN. When you think about its capacity being 3000mAh, the battery life is good.

<overall>
It doesn't look cheap, and it has the best cost performance.
Even after getting ZenFone 3 Laser and RAIJIN, I am still using this as a main machine.
Also, as this is a very popular device, there are many accessories out there, which I find handy.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 6, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 3.0
Response 2.0
Display 3.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Total 3.7

I replaced ZenFone 2(ze551) with this.

The battery of ZenFone 2 (ze551) started to get deteriorated, so I replaced it.

<design>
It doesn't look cheap for its price. Good.
It is only my opinion, but it looks more expensive than my previous phone.

<portability>
It is now smaller from 5.5inchs display to 5.2inch; it is thinner and lighter, which means better portability.
My previous phone was about 240g including its case, but P9 lite weighs about 160g including the case. it is a lot lighter.

<pushbutton usability>
Average.

<response>
It is not slow, but compared to ze551, everything is slower. Every operation takes a little longer to be finished.

<menu>
There are no big difference.

<display>
Beautiful.

<voice call sound quality>
Average.

<ringtone, music>
I think it sounds a lot better now than my previous phone. Not a difference when using a headphone.

<battery>
For my usage, I needed a mobile booster with ze551 since it was new, but I don't need it with P9 lite.

<overall>
All in all, I am very happy with this other than its response.
If I could ask for more, I should have chosen P9 or Honor 8.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 5, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 3.0
Operability 3.0
Response 4.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.0

Just as it is said.

<design>
The surface is made of metal, and it has high-end feel.

<portability>
Average.

<pushbutton usability>
Average.

<IME>
Not good or bad.

<response>
Good!

<menu>
I cannot delete the apps I don't want. Not so good here.

<display>
Beautiful.

<voice call sound quality>
Average.

<ringtone, music>
Just as I expected.

<battery>
This is amazing. It lasts very long!

<overall>
All in all, this is good.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 3, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 3.0
Operability 3.0
Response 3.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Total 3.9

I used it for a week.

<What I like about this>
-design
Cute.

-fingerprint sensor
From standby, I can use it just by gently touching it. I can operate status bar, notification tub and shutter release with fingerprint sensor. Amazing.

<What I was not fully happy with>
-portability
Because my previous one was 4.6 inch and now it's 5.2 inch, I find it not so good. If I add making the display smaller and opening notification panel with navigation bar, and use FloatingButton, it should be fine once I get used to it. It is still big, though.

-pushbutton usability
Is it because of my fingers? I think it is not so good in responding. Because the volume button and the power button are close to each other on the side, I sometimes misoperate. This makes taking screenshots difficult.

-response
It gets jumpy just with playing simple games which even don't 3D, which is stressful.

<misc.>
-it comes with a protecting film
It comes with transparent case like a frost glass, too.

-display
It is beautiful, but because I am used to Xperia, it looks warmer in color. You can adjust color temperature, though. It feels it is bright. It is not as dark as Xperia.

-menu
It is like iPhone that I can place widgets. Home gets dark when I go setting other than with default home. It was solved when I got launcher app.

-voice call sound quality
When I made a phone call today, the person I talked to said they couldn't hear me. So... It is clear for me to hear.

-battery
I can use it without worrying for playing games and browsing during commuting or lunch break .

Now I have written above, I just thought it is reasonable for its price.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 2, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.7

My first Huawei smartphone after a while.

It is a completely different product compared to Huawei smartphone from several years ago. It is as good as a high end device in any way such as design and response.

I have used it for a month, and I still think this is of a totally different level; this definitely is the best among the smartphones in the same price range.

I am happy that it came with a protection film and a case. I can see that they think about users first.

This is so good that I am thinking about getting P9 or Mate 9 with Leica lens. This is so attractive.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 28, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 4.0
Response 4.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Total 4.1

I got this as a present for my dad in his 70s.

I bought this as my father's first smartphone. The display is more beautiful than I expected, and the response is good. I was worried at first as my father is in his 70s, but he learned how to use it fully in a month, and he is happy. This is too good for a beginner.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 16, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 4.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.7

The best cost performance

I replaced Z3 with this.

I like its simple design.
The response is so good that I even feel Z3 was sluggish.
It doesn't have unwanted apps.
What I need to mention here is its fingerprint sensor. It recognizes very quickly.
Also, the battery lasts well.
The camera is great, too, and I can enjoy professional setting. You don't need camera apps anymore.
Built-in speaker has a lot better sound quality than Z3.
It is better than Z3 in every way.

Anyway, Chinese smartphones are too good. This price for this function. Other makes cannot win.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 29, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 3.0
Operability 4.0
Response 4.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 3.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.0

My first smartphone

<design>
I find its simple design good. I like its not too flashy color.

<portability>
I think it is a bit big.

<pushbutton usability>
I cannot say much as this is my first smartphone, but I think this is good. I have no complaints.

<response>
I don't feel it is slow. No complaints.

<menu>
Average.

<display>
Beautiful.

<voice call sound quality>
I think this is not so good. I cannot say so clearly as I only have used this for voice calls several times.

<ringtone, music>
Ringtone sounds good. I don't know about music as I haven't tried it yet.

<battery>
I heard battery doesn't last long with smartphones, but it lasts amazingly long on me. It probably is because I don't use it much, but it lasts 4-5days once it is fully charged.

<overall>
I only can say I am glad I got this! I did my research before purchase, and I thought other device might be better, but I chose this thinking I only need to do the basics as this is my first smartphone. I made a right choice.
I use my smartphone for LINE, texts and browsing the Internet. I don't use it too often.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 27, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery -
Total 5.0

Unexpected initial failure

I checked if it works with no problem on the day I received this device. It failed to recognize an earphone, so I called the make. I was told it has an initial failure, so I sent it to the make with cash on delivery. It is sad, but it was just my bad luck.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 26, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 5.0
Response 3.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.7

Pretty good.

<design>
I personally like its design, texture and color. It has hair line finish on its back and has high-end feel.

<portability>
My previous phone was NEXUS 5. It is slightly big for my hand which is an average size for a 180cm tall man. But I think it is within acceptable range. It takes some getting used to. I am used to it now.

<pushbutton usability>
I don't have any particular complaints.

<response>
It sometimes takes time in launching LINE and getting messages. In a worst case, it takes a few hours till I get the message, so it is a big problem. I have tried all the settings I can find on the Internet, but it still has delay. Nexus 5 had never had a problem in launching LINE or delay in receiving messages.

When I try to open a folder which have some icons, it sometimes freezes.

<menu>
Compared to Nexus 5, it has more originality of the make, but it is usable once you get used to it.

<display>
Very beautiful. It shows pictures taken with a mirrorless camera beautifully. I am happy with it.

<voice call sound quality>
I don't use voice calls. This is for data communication. I use LINE or FB messenger calls, but I don't have any particular problem.

<battery>
This was the point I wanted to get it right, and I chose P9lite for it. I was right. I am satisfied with this. Nexus didn't last for a day, but this one lasts till nighttime even when I use it for the Internet, FB and LINE for 4 hours.
But I think this is affected by what kind of apps have been installed. With Nexus 5, I had installed a lot of game apps, but I haven't with this device. So I may not be able to compare these two simply, but it has satisfying battery capacity and control.

<overall>
Except for delay in opening the folder and launching LINE, and big time lag in receiving LINE messages, this is perfect.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 21, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 3.0
Operability 4.0
Response 5.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.3

I bought this because it was inexpensive.

<design>
The screen is big and beautiful.

<portability>
It is thin, so I can put it in my pocket somehow.

<pushbutton usability>
It is as fast as DIGNO, a smartphone I used to use. I haven't had any issues so far.

<IME>
N/A. I have installed ATOK.

<response>
No problem.

<menu>
Average.

<display>
Beautiful. It has higher resolution than movies before uploaded.

<voice call sound quality>
It is beautiful. It sounds clearly.

<ringtone, music>
It has much better sound than DIGNO.

<battery>
It lasts for two days.

<overall>
disadvantages
- When I get a call, it shows the number on its display not the caller's name. I can't tell who is the call from.
- I need a pin that came in the box when I change micro SD cards.

advantages
- It comes with the screen protector on its screen.
- It comes with a transparent case.

I was able to get it under 10,000yen, and I can use it for 2,980yen a month. I am paying less than half for mobile than before. I am happy with its performance, too. I made a right choice.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 20, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 4.0
Response 4.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 3.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.1

Evolution of smartphones is amazing!

I replaced Xperia Z1 with this.

<design>
It is simple and cool! It is good that its camera is not poking out.

<portability>
I am using a rugged armor with it, and it feels right in my hand.

<pushbutton usability>
Because Xperia has a power button on top and volume key at the bottom, I felt uneasy at first. But unexpectedly, I got used to this.
I wish shutter release was more convenient.

<IME>
I have no problem with the default one.

<response>
I mainly use this for LINE, browsing the Internet, camera and PVSTAR, but it never gets sluggish.
The response of the fingerprint sensor is amazing!

<menu>
I was not happy that it doesn't have App Drawer, but when I use ""hidden apps"" by pinching out, it can be used almost the same as App Drawer. Actually, I can have more apps where App Drawer was, so I find it good. Design is fashionable, too.

<display>
Very beautiful! I don't find it yellowy or bluey.

<voice call sound quality>
I haven't used it yet.

<ringtone, music>
It is not about ringtone, but I feel vibrating sound is noisier than my previous phone when it is at silent mode.

<battery>
This is amazing! It lasts for at least two days for my usage. I know I shouldn't compare it with my previous phone with its battery deteriorated, but even taking it into account, this is excellent.

<misc.>
-camera
I didn't expect it to be good, but this takes beautiful photos in bright environment. Personally, the photos taken with this camera look more beautiful then ones with Xperia. I sometimes feel like taking photos with my wife and child (I normally take their photos), so its high performance front camera is useful.

-fingerprint sensor
I wrote it in <response>, as well, but this is very easy to use. It is good that it recognizes my fingerprint whichever direction I touch it from. It is also convenient that I can use this not only for fingerprint authentication; I can pull task bar with this.

<overall>
I actually was thinking about getting P9. P9lite was not even in my shortlist, but I thought about getting this for its high cost performance and high reputation. I got this as I heard I could use this without getting muddled from Z1. I am very happy with this.
My wife uses Z3, but for my usage, this is as good as that. I think there are many people out there who own iPhone, Xperia or Galaxy not being able to use them fully.
The evolution of smartphones is amazing! I am intending to use this at least for two years, but I wonder what kind of device will be released then.

Good Review

Page 1 of 2

Latest Reviews for Mobile Phones

<design> The aluminum texture produces high-end feel. Hairline finish is beautiful. I like it. <portability> It feels vertically long in hand, but it is easy enough to hold. <pushbutton usability> ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.8
  • Review by Japanese user
  • Date : Mar 8, 2017

Maganda ang phone grabe..the beast

  • Rating : 5.0
  • Review by Eljhon Calderon
  • Date : May 17, 2018

Good phone and good price...thanks huawei

  • Rating : 5.0
  • Review by Eljhon Calderon
  • Date : May 16, 2018
View Mode: PC | Mobile