HUAWEI P9 lite Reviews

Lowest Price P8,881.51 16 Prices
Go to Shop GearBest
RAM
  • ALL
  • 2GB
  • 3GB
Color
Huawei P9 lite is a 5.2inch of display, Emotion UI 4.1 Android OS v6.0, fingerprint scanner.
  • Release date : Jun 2016
  • Smartphone, Android 6.0 +...
  • 5.2 inches, Full HD (1080...
  • 2G, 3G, 4G (LTE), 16GB, 2... more specs
HUAWEI P9 lite
Latest model
HUAWEI P10 lite
4.1(4)
P12,695.56 - (4 Prices)

Compare prices

Specs

Reviews

Forum

News

Overall Rating

Design 4.6
Portability 4.3
Operability 4.1
Response 4.3
Display 4.5
Listenability 4.0
Battery 4.4
Total 4.3

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 11, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability -
Battery 4.0
Total 4.8

It can still fight against other smartphones.

I bought it in June 2016. This is my impression after using it since then.
I am comparing it with ZenFone 3 Laser and RAIJIN.

<design>
It is not cheap. High quality. I don't care about it, though, as I put a case on.

<portability>
Because it has a smaller battery than RAIJIN, it is lighter. I personally find this is a good size. Please have a look at it in person at a shop.

<pushbutton usability>
Accuracy of the fingerprint sensor is good. It is much better than ZenFone 3 Laser or RAIJIN.
The positions of the power button and volume button are good, too.

<response>
This is the point I highly evaluate. This must be by far the best in middle-range smartphones. It has got No.1 for a reason. It only has half the RAM of RAIJIN or ZenFone 3 Laser, but this is much better than those two.

<menu>
This is the matter of getting use to.
If you don't like, change it.

<display>
Reasonable. It is not particularly good or bad.

<voice call sound quality>
N/A. I only use it for data communication.

<ringtone, music>
N/A. I use it in silent.

<battery>
I think this is very good, but it cannot beat a physical difference, battery capacity; you cannot compare it with RAIJIN. When you think about its capacity being 3000mAh, the battery life is good.

<overall>
It doesn't look cheap, and it has the best cost performance.
Even after getting ZenFone 3 Laser and RAIJIN, I am still using this as a main machine.
Also, as this is a very popular device, there are many accessories out there, which I find handy.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 6, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 3.0
Response 2.0
Display 3.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Total 3.7

I replaced ZenFone 2(ze551) with this.

The battery of ZenFone 2 (ze551) started to get deteriorated, so I replaced it.

<design>
It doesn't look cheap for its price. Good.
It is only my opinion, but it looks more expensive than my previous phone.

<portability>
It is now smaller from 5.5inchs display to 5.2inch; it is thinner and lighter, which means better portability.
My previous phone was about 240g including its case, but P9 lite weighs about 160g including the case. it is a lot lighter.

<pushbutton usability>
Average.

<response>
It is not slow, but compared to ze551, everything is slower. Every operation takes a little longer to be finished.

<menu>
There are no big difference.

<display>
Beautiful.

<voice call sound quality>
Average.

<ringtone, music>
I think it sounds a lot better now than my previous phone. Not a difference when using a headphone.

<battery>
For my usage, I needed a mobile booster with ze551 since it was new, but I don't need it with P9 lite.

<overall>
All in all, I am very happy with this other than its response.
If I could ask for more, I should have chosen P9 or Honor 8.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 5, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 3.0
Operability 3.0
Response 4.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.0

Just as it is said.

<design>
The surface is made of metal, and it has high-end feel.

<portability>
Average.

<pushbutton usability>
Average.

<IME>
Not good or bad.

<response>
Good!

<menu>
I cannot delete the apps I don't want. Not so good here.

<display>
Beautiful.

<voice call sound quality>
Average.

<ringtone, music>
Just as I expected.

<battery>
This is amazing. It lasts very long!

<overall>
All in all, this is good.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 3, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 3.0
Operability 3.0
Response 3.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Total 3.9

I used it for a week.

<What I like about this>
-design
Cute.

-fingerprint sensor
From standby, I can use it just by gently touching it. I can operate status bar, notification tub and shutter release with fingerprint sensor. Amazing.

<What I was not fully happy with>
-portability
Because my previous one was 4.6 inch and now it's 5.2 inch, I find it not so good. If I add making the display smaller and opening notification panel with navigation bar, and use FloatingButton, it should be fine once I get used to it. It is still big, though.

-pushbutton usability
Is it because of my fingers? I think it is not so good in responding. Because the volume button and the power button are close to each other on the side, I sometimes misoperate. This makes taking screenshots difficult.

-response
It gets jumpy just with playing simple games which even don't 3D, which is stressful.

<misc.>
-it comes with a protecting film
It comes with transparent case like a frost glass, too.

-display
It is beautiful, but because I am used to Xperia, it looks warmer in color. You can adjust color temperature, though. It feels it is bright. It is not as dark as Xperia.

-menu
It is like iPhone that I can place widgets. Home gets dark when I go setting other than with default home. It was solved when I got launcher app.

-voice call sound quality
When I made a phone call today, the person I talked to said they couldn't hear me. So... It is clear for me to hear.

-battery
I can use it without worrying for playing games and browsing during commuting or lunch break .

Now I have written above, I just thought it is reasonable for its price.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 2, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.7

My first Huawei smartphone after a while.

It is a completely different product compared to Huawei smartphone from several years ago. It is as good as a high end device in any way such as design and response.

I have used it for a month, and I still think this is of a totally different level; this definitely is the best among the smartphones in the same price range.

I am happy that it came with a protection film and a case. I can see that they think about users first.

This is so good that I am thinking about getting P9 or Mate 9 with Leica lens. This is so attractive.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 28, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 4.0
Response 4.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Total 4.1

I got this as a present for my dad in his 70s.

I bought this as my father's first smartphone. The display is more beautiful than I expected, and the response is good. I was worried at first as my father is in his 70s, but he learned how to use it fully in a month, and he is happy. This is too good for a beginner.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 16, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 4.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.7

The best cost performance

I replaced Z3 with this.

I like its simple design.
The response is so good that I even feel Z3 was sluggish.
It doesn't have unwanted apps.
What I need to mention here is its fingerprint sensor. It recognizes very quickly.
Also, the battery lasts well.
The camera is great, too, and I can enjoy professional setting. You don't need camera apps anymore.
Built-in speaker has a lot better sound quality than Z3.
It is better than Z3 in every way.

Anyway, Chinese smartphones are too good. This price for this function. Other makes cannot win.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 29, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 3.0
Operability 4.0
Response 4.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 3.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.0

My first smartphone

<design>
I find its simple design good. I like its not too flashy color.

<portability>
I think it is a bit big.

<pushbutton usability>
I cannot say much as this is my first smartphone, but I think this is good. I have no complaints.

<response>
I don't feel it is slow. No complaints.

<menu>
Average.

<display>
Beautiful.

<voice call sound quality>
I think this is not so good. I cannot say so clearly as I only have used this for voice calls several times.

<ringtone, music>
Ringtone sounds good. I don't know about music as I haven't tried it yet.

<battery>
I heard battery doesn't last long with smartphones, but it lasts amazingly long on me. It probably is because I don't use it much, but it lasts 4-5days once it is fully charged.

<overall>
I only can say I am glad I got this! I did my research before purchase, and I thought other device might be better, but I chose this thinking I only need to do the basics as this is my first smartphone. I made a right choice.
I use my smartphone for LINE, texts and browsing the Internet. I don't use it too often.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 27, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery -
Total 5.0

Unexpected initial failure

I checked if it works with no problem on the day I received this device. It failed to recognize an earphone, so I called the make. I was told it has an initial failure, so I sent it to the make with cash on delivery. It is sad, but it was just my bad luck.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 26, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 5.0
Response 3.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.7

Pretty good.

<design>
I personally like its design, texture and color. It has hair line finish on its back and has high-end feel.

<portability>
My previous phone was NEXUS 5. It is slightly big for my hand which is an average size for a 180cm tall man. But I think it is within acceptable range. It takes some getting used to. I am used to it now.

<pushbutton usability>
I don't have any particular complaints.

<response>
It sometimes takes time in launching LINE and getting messages. In a worst case, it takes a few hours till I get the message, so it is a big problem. I have tried all the settings I can find on the Internet, but it still has delay. Nexus 5 had never had a problem in launching LINE or delay in receiving messages.

When I try to open a folder which have some icons, it sometimes freezes.

<menu>
Compared to Nexus 5, it has more originality of the make, but it is usable once you get used to it.

<display>
Very beautiful. It shows pictures taken with a mirrorless camera beautifully. I am happy with it.

<voice call sound quality>
I don't use voice calls. This is for data communication. I use LINE or FB messenger calls, but I don't have any particular problem.

<battery>
This was the point I wanted to get it right, and I chose P9lite for it. I was right. I am satisfied with this. Nexus didn't last for a day, but this one lasts till nighttime even when I use it for the Internet, FB and LINE for 4 hours.
But I think this is affected by what kind of apps have been installed. With Nexus 5, I had installed a lot of game apps, but I haven't with this device. So I may not be able to compare these two simply, but it has satisfying battery capacity and control.

<overall>
Except for delay in opening the folder and launching LINE, and big time lag in receiving LINE messages, this is perfect.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 21, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 3.0
Operability 4.0
Response 5.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.3

I bought this because it was inexpensive.

<design>
The screen is big and beautiful.

<portability>
It is thin, so I can put it in my pocket somehow.

<pushbutton usability>
It is as fast as DIGNO, a smartphone I used to use. I haven't had any issues so far.

<IME>
N/A. I have installed ATOK.

<response>
No problem.

<menu>
Average.

<display>
Beautiful. It has higher resolution than movies before uploaded.

<voice call sound quality>
It is beautiful. It sounds clearly.

<ringtone, music>
It has much better sound than DIGNO.

<battery>
It lasts for two days.

<overall>
disadvantages
- When I get a call, it shows the number on its display not the caller's name. I can't tell who is the call from.
- I need a pin that came in the box when I change micro SD cards.

advantages
- It comes with the screen protector on its screen.
- It comes with a transparent case.

I was able to get it under 10,000yen, and I can use it for 2,980yen a month. I am paying less than half for mobile than before. I am happy with its performance, too. I made a right choice.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 20, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 4.0
Response 4.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 3.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.1

Evolution of smartphones is amazing!

I replaced Xperia Z1 with this.

<design>
It is simple and cool! It is good that its camera is not poking out.

<portability>
I am using a rugged armor with it, and it feels right in my hand.

<pushbutton usability>
Because Xperia has a power button on top and volume key at the bottom, I felt uneasy at first. But unexpectedly, I got used to this.
I wish shutter release was more convenient.

<IME>
I have no problem with the default one.

<response>
I mainly use this for LINE, browsing the Internet, camera and PVSTAR, but it never gets sluggish.
The response of the fingerprint sensor is amazing!

<menu>
I was not happy that it doesn't have App Drawer, but when I use ""hidden apps"" by pinching out, it can be used almost the same as App Drawer. Actually, I can have more apps where App Drawer was, so I find it good. Design is fashionable, too.

<display>
Very beautiful! I don't find it yellowy or bluey.

<voice call sound quality>
I haven't used it yet.

<ringtone, music>
It is not about ringtone, but I feel vibrating sound is noisier than my previous phone when it is at silent mode.

<battery>
This is amazing! It lasts for at least two days for my usage. I know I shouldn't compare it with my previous phone with its battery deteriorated, but even taking it into account, this is excellent.

<misc.>
-camera
I didn't expect it to be good, but this takes beautiful photos in bright environment. Personally, the photos taken with this camera look more beautiful then ones with Xperia. I sometimes feel like taking photos with my wife and child (I normally take their photos), so its high performance front camera is useful.

-fingerprint sensor
I wrote it in <response>, as well, but this is very easy to use. It is good that it recognizes my fingerprint whichever direction I touch it from. It is also convenient that I can use this not only for fingerprint authentication; I can pull task bar with this.

<overall>
I actually was thinking about getting P9. P9lite was not even in my shortlist, but I thought about getting this for its high cost performance and high reputation. I got this as I heard I could use this without getting muddled from Z1. I am very happy with this.
My wife uses Z3, but for my usage, this is as good as that. I think there are many people out there who own iPhone, Xperia or Galaxy not being able to use them fully.
The evolution of smartphones is amazing! I am intending to use this at least for two years, but I wonder what kind of device will be released then.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 20, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 3.0
Response 4.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 3.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.3

A new one was sold for less than 20,000yen, so I gave it a try.

<design>
It is cool though it is cheap. It is thin and has a big screen.

<portability>
It is easy to carry around because it is thin. It is so thin that I actually feel anxious.

<pushbutton usability>
I think the response is a little worse than my ZenFone 3 Laser. I don't have any issues with it, though.

<IME>
N/A. I have installed ATOK.

<response>
As I have written in <pushbutton usability>, it feels slightly bad.

<menu>
Average.

<display>
Beautiful. The resolution is better than movies uploaded.

<voice call sound quality>
N/A. I don't use this for voice calls.

<ringtone, music>
Average.

<battery>
I think it lasts well. I don't charge it every day.

<overall>
I bought this because it was cheap. I think it is a good device. I sometimes forgot to take my smartphone to work when I used it at home, so I bought a smartphone to use at home. It is good enough for surfing the Internet, checking mails and watching movies using wi-fi connection at home. I would like to cherish this.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 16, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability -
Response 5.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.7

Good cost performance.

It has a good design, and is easy to hold.
There are many covers on the market, but to me, the cover came in the box is good enough.

I think this is the best among the smartphones in this price range. This is good enough for those who don't play games like me. It never works slowly, and works lightly. Fingerprint sensor responds well, and it launches smoothly, too. The battery life is not bad either.

I have never felt it inconvenient in the two months I have been using this.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 7, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 4.0
Response 4.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.7

If you attach importance to cost performance, this would be the one for you.

<design>
It doesn't have a physical button. It is simple.

<portability>
It is easy to hold, but I accidentally touch the fingerprint sensor on its back.

<pushbutton usability.
The operability of the touch button is perfect.

<response>
It gets sluggish when many apps are working in the background, but it gets fast when I delete them with manager.

<menu>
Its original launcher is ordinary.

<display>
Its font is unique. Some people may feel uneasy with it at first.

<voice call sound quality>
It is good. It is not any different to other smartphones.

<ringtone, music>
There are many varieties. I find it difficult to choose. It is good in a way that I can change it depending on my mood.

<battery>
It is up to background and kind of games. The more you have, the quicker the battery goes flat.

<overall>
I was surprised that a smartphone less than 30,000yen has a fingerprint sensor. It is a pity that it is not water resistant, but other than that, its cost performance is the best. I'm amazed that they sell this high quality smartphone for this price.

Good Review

art capayao

  • Review by art capayao
  • Sep 27, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 4.0
Response 4.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Total 4.0

Huawei P9 lite

Design
handy and bar type
Portability:
5.2inch na kaya lang naman ma grip sa kamay at maganda siya kasi manipis siya
Operability
madali lang at fast naman siyang gamitin
Response
fast kasi maganda ang processor maganda din ang os niya
Display
FHD na may 5.2inch touchscreen
Listenavbility
loud and clear
Battery
its easy to get low bat and quick charging phonne

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 31, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 4.0
Response 4.0
Display 5.0
Listenability -
Battery 4.0
Total 4.2

It may not be a mainstream, but…

Because I have a main device, this is only a substitute machine. I mainly use this for GPS system when I go for touring. I replaced ZenFone, which was terrible in GPS accuracy.

I installed GPS app right away, and gave it a try. Well, I wish. My motorbike is hibernating this season, so I tried it with my car.
ZenFone lost satellite reception when I went underpass or between tall buildings, but this one had no problem.
When I checked with GPS app, it has the same accuracy as my main machine. Smartphones used as GPS for motorbikes have to be strong against heat in summer. I wonder how well this will do. ZenFone sometimes rebooted again an again with heat and stopped working.

I wrote it is only a substitute machine, but it doesn't work sluggishly and LCD is beautiful with FHD. Camera is not bad either. This might be better than my main machine, Xperia Z3 Compact.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 16, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 4.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.6

I bought two

I have wanted a SIM free smartphone. I got this for its cost performance though I was worried as this was made in China. It was better than I expected, so I bought one for my wife, too.
Preinstalled IME is not easy to use, so I installed Google Japanese input.
Battery life is good, so I like it.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 13, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 5.0
Response 4.0
Display 5.0
Listenability -
Battery 5.0
Total 4.8

My evaluation on using this with Honor 8

<design>
Unlike Honor 8, this is made of plastic, but I don't mind it.

<portability>
I think 5.2inch is easy to carry around and well-balanced size.

<pushbutton usability>
I don't see any particular problems.

<IME>
Just like Honor 8, preinstalled IME works sluggishly, so I use Google Japanese Input.

<response>
It gets jumpy occasionally compared to Honor 8 possibly because it has less RAM, but it is not bad.

<menu>
EMUI4.1 looks too cluttered personally, so I want it to be updated with 7.0.
I don't like home like iOS, so I downloaded nova launcher.

<display>
Not good or bad. I don't see any problems with it.

<voice call sound quality>
N/A. I use this for data networking.

<ringtone, music>
N/A. I use it in silent mode most of the time.

<battery>
I assume 3000mAh is average, but because this is good in power saving, it feels it lasts quite long.

<overall>
I got this after Honor 8, so I am not happy with its response and RAM management, but all in all, I am happy with this. I heard RAM management gets better with 7.0 beta, so I am looking forward to update.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 2, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 3.0
Operability 4.0
Response 5.0
Display 3.0
Listenability 3.0
Battery 4.0
Total 3.7

The performance is worth more than its price

<design>
It is stylish enough to carry around.

<portability>
I prefer smartphones to be small, so it would be great if they make one smaller than 5inch.

<pushbutton usability>
Fingerprint sensor is easy to operate and it starts quickly.

<IME>
It doesn't take time to transliterate. It is not excellent, but it is good enough for daily use.

<response>
Fast. This probably is one of the best among smartphones released in 2016.

<menu>
You need to get used to it, but it is good that it is easy to see.

<display>
The color it shows is not cold but warm. If you worry about blue light, this tone might be good.

<voice call sound quality>
It is sometimes difficult to hear. I don't know if it is because of the reception or phone itself. I don't know the cause.

<ringtone, music>
I think this is too good for a phone in this price range.

<battery>
I don't use it that heavily. It lasts a day easily.

<overall>
The quality is the highest for this price range phone. I was using Xperia Z3, and this definitely is better than that at least. Excellent cost performance.

Good Review

Page 1 of 2

Latest Reviews for Mobile Phones

Talagang super galing ng huawei na phone nagyon maganda ang phone kasi its not so pricey gaya ng iba pero ang ganda ng specs niya kung sa ibang brand man ito mahal talaga lalo na pag ganito ka husay ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by marianee
  • Date : Feb 13, 2018

Actually pang 3 phone ko na to I am a fun and proud Cherry mobile users but nong nadiscover to tong Huawei Y6II I'm so amazed with the features. From the design kahit me kalakihan sya kaya nga ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.6
  • Review by Margz Sarga
  • Date : Feb 6, 2018

Best Android Phone ever. Best Camera ive ever seeN. I use P9 and P10 plus at the same time.This are crazy amazing stuff... 100%

  • Rating : 5.0
  • Review by Ranier Cristian V. Pabelonia
  • Date : Feb 5, 2018
View Mode: PC | Mobile