Canon PowerShot G7 X Reviews

Expected Price P42,700
Canon Powershot G7X is a 20.2MP of valid pixels, 1.0 inch of sensor size, 3inch of LCD screen.
  • Compact, Approx. 20.2 meg...
  • AUTO, ISO 125 – ISO 12800... more specs
Canon PowerShot G7 X

Compare prices

Specs

Reviews

Forum

Overall Rating

Design 4.3
Image Quality 4.5
Operability 4.0
Battery 3.7
Portability 4.3
Functionality 4.4
Display 4.4
Grip Performance 3.8
Total 4.2

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Michael John Perez

  • Review by Michael John Perez
  • Sep 14, 2017
Design 5.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 5.0
Total 5.0

canon powershot G7 X

I love the camera and ung ibang napapanood Kong youtubers/bloggers puro ito gamit na cam. I wish na sana meron din akong ganito soon

Good Review

thrisia

  • Review by thrisia
  • Jun 16, 2017
Design 4.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 4.0

Canon Powershot G7 X

My brand new camera from my mama just receive it and i so happy because she knew how i wish to have one like this and never got an issues about this camera i just capture a lot of nice view and it was so good to this camera i like the image quality to this one thank you mama for giving me this very awesome camera.

Good Review

diobert

  • Review by diobert
  • Apr 10, 2017
Design 4.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 4.0

Canon Powershot G7 X

YES! summer is here na naman kaya ready na kami ng tropa sa travel at of course hindi dapat ito malimutan ang aking camera na matagal ko naring gamit bilib ako sa camera ko na ito bago kami pupunta sa aming travel charge ko mo na siya hanggang sa full na yung battery niya at hanggang whole day ko na gamit ito heavy duty ang camera ko na ito hindi din ito kagaya sa iba na pag gumalaw lang yung kamay mo blurry na ito hindi kahit sa sasakyan ako palagi akung na te take na pictures sa mga nice view hindi ito blurry kahit malayu ang pa ito kasi may auto focus siya kaya maganda talaga.

Good Review

Lourdes Maria

  • Review by Lourdes Maria
  • Feb 23, 2017
Design 4.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 4.0

Canon Powershot G7 X

GOOD;
This camera is nice when it comes to auto focus very clear and the design to this one is very classic it looks old style but i like it and very easy to grip the battery is long lasting also so no worries when you have a travel with friends easy to use because the functions are very easy and very portable. I sob love this camera

BAD:
Nothing!

Good Review

mOcHAlaLa22

  • Review by mOcHAlaLa22
  • Jan 25, 2017
Design 4.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 4.0

canon powershoot g7!

Canon Powershot G7 X a very worth the price camera so i grab it! Love to use this one because this camera knows what i wanted to capture and the image it appears is so clear. Very easy to operate and also very portable anywhere i want to go i just carry around. The function are very nice too. A very nice design and the battery is long lasting very good for a traveler like me. The camera moods are very cool also and the screen is easy to see. Can't wait to travel soon and use my new canon powershoot g7. I would highly recommend this camera!

Good Review

N99

  • Review by N99
  • Nov 28, 2016
Design 4.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 4.0

shot is the best in canon cam!

Finally I found this camera here in the priceprice because I just want to post my very excellent experience in using this camera now I start it the design and display of this camera was so nice look so simple but its fine. The quality of the image of this camera was so perfect its clear and has a good effect. Not difficult also to used it even the child know how to operate this camera so great it so much. The battery has a long long life so perfect camera specially if there is a big or special event happened to as so much nice. All the functions of this is working so will so its good that is the good thing of canon.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Aug 27, 2015
Design 4.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 4.4

My first Canon!

I think the most important thing is image quality, and I find it good. Compared to other compact digital cameras with bright lenses, it has less noise. But depending on your way of photographing, ISO goes higher and higher, so you have to change the setting a little.

I have used 3 cameras with 1-inch sensor, RX100, FZ1000 and this one. It is better than passable as a compact digital camera, but as I'm used to 1-inch sensor, I didn't get impressed that much.

My concern it that this camera moves its lens little by little, so it uses its battery quicker.

I'm very happy that I bought a new camera for 50,000yen.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Aug 24, 2015
Design 4.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 2.0
Battery 2.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 2.0
Total 3.4

I find the image quality is good

I bought this on the day it was released on the market. It's been a year since then, so I would like to write a review on it.

It looks like a slightly bigger version of S90 - S120. It is innocuous.

I find the image quality is good considering the fact that it has a 1-inch sensor and it is small in size.

I think it is usable even with high ISO (even with ISO3200).

Its resolution is enough, but it feels it's too sharp. It creates natural color.

The battery life is not so good because of downsizing. A spare battery gives you a sense of security.

It has no problems in terms of portability. The lens pokes out a little, but it doesn't bother me.

It has enough functions. It actually has so many functions that there are some functions I don't use.

As for the monitor, it is good that I can focus using touch screen and it tilts, too.

Hold is not so good.

I usually use custom mode; it is set about 28mm and F5.6 when it starts.
When I want bokeh effect for the background or when I take photos in dark environment, I open aperture. When I want to slow shutter speed on purpose, I sometimes go up to F11.

The thing I want them to improve is the exposure compensation dial. It is difficult to operate. I want them to do something about it.

I'm happy overall.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Aug 15, 2015
Design 4.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 5.0
Battery -
Portability 5.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 4.7

I was impressed

This is a good camera.

The reason why I didn't choose SONY (like RX100M3) is that I already have a camera which creates bright photos (Olympus EPL6).
- natural color
- light enough to take to work
- works well for dark environment
- has nice bokeh effect
I wanted such all-around camera, and decided on this.

The color it creates is not exactly the same as the real color, but it is natural. It is not too bright, so I don't think I'll get bored with it.

The battery was a worry, but I think it is OK. If you leave it on Auto, it constantly tries to focus on something, so it uses battery. If I leave it in P or A and use eco mode, it will last a day while I'm on a trip.

Olympus is for when I want to create a 'picture'.
G7X is for when I want to 'photograph'.
I want to keep using both like that.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jul 26, 2015
Design 4.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 3.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 3.0
Total 4.1

This joined with my S95

When I go for photo shooting, I take my DSLR with me. But for going out with my family or when photographing is not my main purpose, I used S95.
Its successor models (S100, S110 and S120) came on the market, and from about the time when S110 was released, I started to think about replacing it. But I thought, "S95 still does a good job" and I kept using this.
When G7X was released with a bigger sensor for a compact body as G series, not as S series, it aroused my interest. So I bought this before days out and trips during summer holidays.

<design>
Design is just like a normal digital camera, but the texture is great. It satisfies my desire for possessions.

<image quality>
I haven't changed the settings, and I just casually use this, but it takes beautiful photos. I like the color it creates, and it does well even with ISO640. Because the sensor is bigger, it can easily take photos with bokeh at the background. But I personally don't like bokeh effect for background.

<usability>
It is very convenient that I can manually move AF button using touch AF.

It is normal that I can assign function to a RINGFUNC button, but it is great that I can even customize the film button, which I don't use. I use the Func button for AF frame, and film button is for ISO.

Wi-fi easily connects just by using one button. I transferred the photos I took to my smartphone just to see how it works. It was easy.

The thing I am not happy with is the introduction of an exposure compensation dial. Most people seem to like this, but I prefer adjusting the exposure using a controller wheel at the back. I wish they didn't have this dial and made the mode dial flat.

<battery>
It took about 180 photos with the battery fully charged. I might have been too slow, but I don't have any particular complaints. But the battery indicator only has three marks (at 1, it turns yellow). I know it's too much to ask to show the remaining of the battery life in percentage but I wish it had at least 5 or 4 marks in the indicator.

<portability>
It might be a bit bigger than other digital cameras (especially the thickness), but I feel they did an awesome job making this great camera in this size.

<function>
It may be normal for a compact digital camera this age, but comparing with S95, I'm happy that I can manually change AF point, and it has a sprit level and its ND filter is built in.

<monitor>
It shows beautifully. Because it tilts, I can take photos from a difficult angle, too.

<hold>
It is not so good. I added a grip.

<overall>
I think I'm only using a tiny bit of the functions it has, but I'm happy overall.
Having said that, I still wish S95 to have this size sensor with about 16M pixels with better higher sensitivity performance to create better image quality. For that, I don't mind the lens is about 28-85mm. I hope they release a camera like that.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jul 26, 2015
Design 5.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 5.0
Total 4.8

I use this for photographing my child

I mainly take photos of a running around four-year-old and my family. I hardly ever photograph landscape, food or night view.

I wasn't intending to take photos as artworks (not that I can). I simply wanted to photograph my kid running around casually and beautifully. As I carry a lot of things as I go out, portability is important.

Amusing my child is more important, so taking photos are not in my priority.

I have been using GM1 with a prime lens for indoors and GM1 with a zoom lens for outside. I'm very happy with it.
I usually use face detection and shoot continuously with P mode or SS mode. I wanted a camera that would fit in my chest pocket, so I bought this.

<design>
I think it is good. I don't find it important, though.

<image quality>
Beautiful. Because the lens is bright, it doesn't use high ISO even in dark environment. So it has less noise.
It might be because I'm not a good photographer, but photographing a moving child with this is difficult.
Its AF is fast for a compact digital camera, but it is slower than GM with fast AF lens. I feel release time lag is longer, too.
When I take photos well, the image quality is more than enough. But the chances I can take photos well are less. When my child is still as I take photos with "Say, Cheese", it takes beautiful photos. GM1's face detection is more accurate.

<usability>
Good.
If you are used to the operation of compact digital cameras, using just one hand to zoom and release a shutter, you would have no problems.
If you think "I don't have to change lenses with compact digital cameras" rather than "I cannot change lenses with compact digital cameras" like my wife does, I recommend a compact digital camera than a mirror less camera.

<battery>
Not so good, but I don't find it any trouble.

<portability>
It feels heavy, but it fits in a chest pocket depending on the shirt. It is good that the lens doesn't poke out like a mirror less camera.

<function>
It is enough.
Tilt monitor is useful sometimes.

<monitor>
Beautiful.

<hold>
I normally operate this with one hand, but I have no problems.

<overall>
I bought this hoping for a bright zoom lens in normal range, 1inch sensor and a portability that fits in my chest pocket.
I think it is a wonderful camera for landscape, night view and still objects.
You can use this just like you do with a compact digital camera, so when my wife chooses a camera to take when she goes out, she always chooses this camera. But I cannot take good photos of a moving child much with this camera, so I don't take this out often. But it doesn't mean it is not as good as a mirror less camera. It has advantages, too.
You can take much more beautiful photos than compact digital cameras with high magnification.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jul 24, 2015
Design 5.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 4.5

I replaced DSC-RX100 with this

I was using RX100 as a substitute camera of my DSLR, but I replaced it with G7X.

These are the things I was not happy about RX100.
- Wide-angle end starts at 28mm. (G7X starts at 24mm)
- F-stop of telephoto end (100mm) is F4.9. (G7X is 2.8)
- The minimum focal distance is 55cm at telephoto end (100mm). (G7X is 40cm)
- White Balance sometimes goes odd.
- Exposure is darker.
- I accidentally press film button. I cannot change that even with the setting. (From Mark 2, you can change the setting to disable the button)
- It doesn't come with a battery charger. (G7X has it)
- It takes long for a lens to be stored after switching off the camera. (It is faster with G7X)

These are the things that RX100 were better.
- What it shows on the screen and the sound it makes when I change settings are better. RX100's were more detailed and it was more fun to operate. (G7X has the same old Canon compact digital camera sound. I found it boring)
- Setting menus are wide, but nicely sorted. Everything fits in one screen, so it is easy to see. (With G7X, because it is long, I have to scroll it down to see all the settings)
- Battery life is long. It lasted well even when I left it in the camera.
- The packaging had more luxurious feel, and that made me excited.
- I prefer its smooth feel when operating the control ring. There are no notches.
- With wide-angle end, the image quality of RX100 is better.

The functions only G7X has.
- Wi-fi is very convenient in sending data to PC without taking the SD card out. (It is slow, though)
- I played with the touch panel first, but I don't think it is necessary.
- I don't take selfies, so it is better if the screen is fixed to make the camera itself more compact.
-As I have used G12 and G15, I find exposure compensation dial convenient.

I was torn between G1X Mark2 and G7X, but G1X2 was not even comparable when I look at its response and ability of focusing.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jul 20, 2015
Design 4.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 3.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 3.0
Total 4.0

I bought this considering function and prtability to be important

When I go out for photo shooting, I take 5D3, 7D2, 328, 456, 24-105f4/, 100f2.8L micro and a tripod with me. I photograph wild birds, flowers and landscape. I wanted a portable camera with high performance to take out when I don't have particular purpose of photographing. So I bought G7X hoping it will make a substitute camera for 5D3 and 7D2.

<design>
It has high-end feel, and the right weight. It gives me sense of satisfaction.

<image quality>
To my eyes which are used to the images of 5D3 and 7D2... well, I think it is not fair to compare. It is much better than the compact digital cameras I used to own (one or two generations before), it is much better.

<usability>
When I hold the camera with my right hand, my thumb accidentally presses film button, so I removed the film button function. (I'm happy with this flexibility)

<battery>
It uses monitor when it takes photos, so its battery life is not long. I take a spare battery when I go photo shooting.

<portability>
The biggest reason I decided on G7X when I compared with other models was this portability. Its size and shape are just right for taking out daily.

<function>
It has functions 5D3 and 7D2 don't have, so I enjoy taking photos with aperture priority and take extra shots using creative functions.

<monitor>
It looks beautiful unless direct sun light hits. I think it needs EVF.

<hold>
The body was slippery and I was worried I could drop it. So I bought a silicon grip and put under Canon logo to make fingers sit more easily.

Also, the hand strap doesn't have a ring so it easily falls out from my arm, so I used skinny Velcro to make a strap by wrapping it around the hand strap. I use the Velcro to make the ring smaller, so it won't fall from my arm.

My hands are normal size, but my pointer finger that releses shutter touches knurled mode dial (between my first and second knuckle) and it hurts. If the dial has R0.5-R1.0mm, it will be fine.

You need to improve it here, Canon.

<satisfaction>
It does have advantages and disadvantages, but lots of functions on this camera makes photographing fun. It will take time to figure out if it can become a substitute machine of 5D3 and 7D2.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jul 15, 2015
Design 4.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 5.0
Battery 3.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 3.0
Total 4.0

I have to say it is well done that this high image quality is achieved by this small sized-camera.

I have been using SONY NEX-5ND. I wanted more compact one, so I bought this.

<design>
I prefer harder design, but this is not bad.

<image quality>
Good enough. I am not happy that the sides get distorted.

<usability>
When I take photos, I priorities exposure. I can customize rings and buttons, and it also has an exposure compensation dial. It is a lot easier to use than NEX-5ND.

<battery>
Not so good. It is better to have a spare battery if you use for a whole day.

<portability>
It is a bit heavy for a compact digital camera, but it is passable. I use HAKUBA pics gear DP01 for a case.

<function>
Because the lens is quite bright I use flash less often.

<monitor>
It is easy to see even in dark environment.

<hold>
Not good. I assume it cannot be helped because of its size.

<overall>
It is great in usability and has a bright lens. I think it is a great camera.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jun 19, 2015
Design 5.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 3.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 3.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 4.1

I replaced CyberShot DSC-HX30V with this one

I bought CyberShot DSC-HX30V three years ago, and I replaced that with G7X.
Like some other reviewers, Sony RX100 series was in my choice, too. Because the telephoto distance was longer by 100 and I can select the focus on the touch screen, I chose G7X.

<design>
I think it is simple and cool.
Especially the red used on dials is cool.

<image quality>
It is amazing I can take night view without using a tripod.
I take my APS-C camera (EOSD) less often now.

<usability>
I had been using SONY, so I haven't been able to use it smoothly yet. Hopefully I'll get used to it.
It would have been better if I could choose scene select more easily.

<battery>
It is not enough to use it fully for a whole day (without filming), so I bought a spare battery. I don't have any problem so far.

<portability>
It is much more portable than a DSLR, but when I put this in my pocket like I did with my DSC-HX30V, the part that lens gets stored got dented. I had to take it to get it fixed. From then on, I'm carrying this camera in a little pouch.

<function>
It is enough, but I wish it had RAW.

<monitor>
Tilting touch screen is very convenient when I take low angle photos. But it is a pity that it doesn't tilt upwards (to take high angle shots).

<hold>
It has a thumb grip, so the hold is very good. But as my thumb is too big, I sometimes press film button accidentally.

<overall>
Of course it is not as good as DSLRs, but as a compact digital camera, I don't have any complaints.
It doesn't have some functions my previous compact digital camera had like partial color and sweep panorama, and its optical zoom magnification is less. It is inconvenient that it doesn't have those functions, but the benefit from this bigger sensor and stability of color cover those inconvenience.
It works great when you don't bother to shoot using a DSLR.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jun 19, 2015
Design 5.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 3.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 4.0

Mega

I bought this right at the start of 2015, and I've been using this for 6months now.

<design>
I love this.

<image quality>
Much better than compact digital cameras I had used before. Not even comparable.

<usability>
It took a while till I get used to it at first. The more I get used to it, the easier it gets to use this camera.

<battery>
When I take photos whenever I want to, the battery dies in a day. I took about 250-300 photos. So I always take a spare battery with me.

<portability>
It is so compact that I can take it out easily. Very convenient.

<function>
Good enough for a high-end compact digital camera.

<monitor>
It is good enough for checking the photos on the screen.

<hold>
I put an official case on so it is easy to use.

<overall>
Auto, Program AE, Shutter priority AE, Aperture priority AE and manual. Depending on the object, I can photograph adjusting the setting appropriately.
This camera made taking photos more fun.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 25, 2015
Design 5.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 3.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 3.0
Total 4.0

High-end compact digital camera

<design>
It is simple overall but detailed. I like it.

<image quality>
No complaints. It shows in details even for landscape photos.

<usability>
It takes time to get used to it. You cannot operate intuitively.
Exposure compensation dial is good.
I sometimes press film button accidentally, so I wonder if it is located correctly.

<battery>
I've never felt it was not enough as I only take some photos when I find something I would like to photograph.

<portability>
There are many cameras that are called 'compact digital cameras' but not so compact. This one really is a 'compact camera'.

<function>
It has many functions like image stabilizer, ND filter, hand held night view and so on. It is a pity that there are some modes that I only can keep photos in jpeg.

<monitor>
No complaints. I think it is OK. It only moves upwards, but it is enough for me.

<hold>
It is difficult to hold. You need to practice to hold the camera in both hands while focusing using a touch panel.

<overall>
It is a compact digital camera with great image quality. I'm very satisfied.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 24, 2015
Design 3.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 2.0
Battery 3.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 3.0
Total 3.6

My impression after using for two days

My impression after using this camera for two days for landscape photographs and railway photographs.
I mainly used AUTO mode.
I had been using cameras with high magnification. I chose this one for its image quality (especially its F number). The cameras I had been using showed noise with ISO over 400, so my review may seem exaggerated. This is just for your info.

<design>
The cameras with high magnification are like DSLRs in their shapes, so I'm not quite used to this compact digital camera's shape. But it doesn't affect when I photograph. Film button doesn't bother me, either. It is usable.

<image quality>
My honest thought on this is, "How can a compact digital camera take beautiful photos like these?" If you want to achieve bokeh effect, you can do that even with an iPhone by close-up. But with this one, even from far distance, you can achieve bokeh in the way you intended.
It is also good at night view photography. With ISO3200, I was able to take sharp photos without a tripod.

<usability>
I have mostly used AUTO mode. I tried to choose various modes without looking at an instruction manual, and I thought it would be easy once you get used to it. It might take time till you get used to it first. As it has a lot of functions it is difficult to find where what you are looking for is.

<battery>
I have bought a spare battery. I used for railway photo shoot for an hour and a half using ECO mode switching on and off the power. It lasted. So I think it is good as a substitute camera.

<portability>
I bought the case as well, and a neck strap came with it. I hung it from my neck. It didn't feel heavy. I can use the camera quickly, so I think it is great.

<function>
I like plus movie auto mode. With this function, I can record a movie for a few seconds when I take a photo. This is an amazing function when you don't want to use all the data by filming but want to record the atmosphere of when you took the photo.

<monitor>
Even when I set the brightness at the lowest, it is OK to use outside during daytime. At first, I thought a camera without an EVF is not as stable and is difficult to photograph. But after buying this camera, one of the disadvantages I had expected was gone.

<hold>
Because I had been using a camera like a DSLR, it took a while to get used to hold this camera. But within two days, I think I found a good way to hold this camera. It does have weight, so I can feel that I'm photographing.

<overall>
The disadvantage I found was only its usability. Even that will not be a problem once you get used to it.
It is great that I can take beautiful photos with this light camera.
As some people have pointed out, I can see the image runs at the wide-angle end (In other words, it feels like the camera is forced to take photos). Thinking that, I still find it is a great camera.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 19, 2015
Design 4.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 5.0
Battery 3.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 3.0
Total 4.0

It is true that it is compact but has high image quality

<design>
I cannot say I find it cool even to be polite. But its simple and rough look makes me think it is saying "use me as a tool". I wish they made it easier to hold, though.

<image quality>
It photographs long distance view beautifully. I was surprised how much 1-inch sensor has improved. I can see its 20.9MP ability. It can even be printed A3 size. If I take a similar scenery photo with EOS5D3, I don't think I can tell the difference. Maybe its tone reproduction might be sacrificed. It doesn't look rich, and it looks more flat.

With wide-angle end, bokeh gets radiated. I'mnot really happy about this. 1-inch sensor with F2.8 can create passable bokeh effect.

<usability>
It only requires 1 or 2 actions for all the functions I need. It is fun to operate using a ring at the lens for MF and step zoom. It only takes a second or less to start, so I don't miss a snap opportunity. I like its quickness.

<battery>
Its stamina may not be that good. It lasts a day somehow for filming for 10minutes and shooting 200 still images with continuous with AF mode. You can think positively that it lasts at least a day, so it is not such a big problem. A spare battery would be good for peace of mind.

<portability>
It fits in a chest pocket. A bit thick, though. It does have portability of a compact digital camera.

<function>
Image stabilizer will work great in filming. Of course for photographing, too.
It does have new functions like Star Time-lapse movie and face detection auto focus, but as I don't use it, I cannot evaluate those functions.

<monitor>
It does tilt upwards but not downwards. If you want to make the monitor look down, you have to hold the camera upside down.

<hold>
It is OK. The thumb grip at the back is working well. I don't think I can hold it without it. I put a grip from Deff. That makes it a lot easier to hold.

<overall>
This is my first compact digital camera after G12, and I realized how much they have improved. This image quality for this size camera is enough. I do feel the photos are overly processed, but this camera makes me feel like using it like a DSLR.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 11, 2015
Design 4.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 4.3

Great texture. I'm happy with its image quality, too

<design>
I'm happy with both its texture and the look. The red lines on shutter release button and mode dial stand out, and I find them good. It does have Canon's rough feel on the whole, though.

<image quality>
It is as good as DSLR (EOS70D). Just amazing. I used to take both my DSLR and compact digital camera to go on a trip, but from now, I will only take G7X with me. I will use my DSLR for my grand children's sports day and concerts, but other than that, I would use G7X. For 2L and A4 size, I cannot tell the difference with 70D. I assume there may be some difference when it is in actual pixels.

<usability>
No problems in particular.
The exposure dial is too heavy to operate by one finger. I think it needs to be this heavy to prevent a glitch while using or storing, though.
It takes a bit for setting of a self-timer. (I used to use LUMIX)

<battery>
It's been a month since purchase. I use this for a whole day, and I have never thought it didn't last long enough. I only take 100-200 photos, though. I do carry a spare batter just in case.

<portability>
It is heavier than RX100M3, but it still fits in my pocket. LX100 was too big to put in a pocket, so I took it off a list.

<function>
The image stabilizer works well, so I never get blurry photos. The sprit level is very useful, too.
Touch monitor may be a convenient function for some people, but not for me. I have never used that function with 70D either.
I find function buttons and menu buttons are easy to use.
It doesn't have AVCHD for filming, and I find it inconvenient. (Both LF1 and LX100 have both MP4 and AVCHD)

<monitor>
It is not difficult to see, but it is hard in bright environment. Especially sprit level is difficult to see, so I hope they make it clearer to see by making the line thicker or use darker color. It might need an EVF.
It only tilts upwards, so it is convenient but not inevitable.

<hold>
I think it is reasonable for a compact digital camera.

<overall>
A compact digital camera needs portability, but because it is a camera, the quality of photos it takes is more important. At this stage, even though I have some complaints, G7X is a camera that has both. RX100 has been improving from M2 to M3, but G7X came on the market after RX100M3. So I think this is a satisfactory camera. Especially for a camera to take to a trip, this is awesome. I'm looking for its improvement.

Good Review

Page 1 of 3

Latest Reviews for Digital Cameras

Talagang gustong-gusto ko ang Canon EOS 80D. Baguhan lang ako when it comes to cameras at photography pero gusto kong simulan nang may camera na maaasahan ko at tatagal sa akin habang nasasanay ako. ...Read more

  • Rating : 5.0
  • Review by Altis138
  • Date : Feb 21, 2018

Ang Canon EOS M100 Kit ay may sapat na perfornance para maka-capture ng JPEG images o kombinasyon ng JPEG at RAW files. Ang camera na ito ay compact mirrorless camera na madaling gamitin at mayroong ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by Tesla0439
  • Date : Feb 20, 2018

Sobrang nagustuhan ko ang camera na ito. Natutunan kong mag shoot sa old 35mm rangefinder na may fixed lens. Itong camera na ito na may f/2 aperture ay yung pinakamagandang camera na nagamit ko at ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by Martian104
  • Date : Feb 15, 2018
View Mode: PC | Mobile