Canon EOS 100D (Rebel SL1 / Kiss X7) Kit Reviews

Canon EOS 100D (Rebel SL1 / Kiss X7) Kit

Lowest Price P22,300 12 Prices
Color
Smallest and lightest in its class and Hybrid CMOS AF II.
  • DSLR - with Lens, Approx....
  • ISO 100 - ISO 6400
Canon EOS 100D (Rebel SL1 / Kiss X7) Kit

Compare prices

Specs

Reviews

Forum

News

Overall Rating

Design 4.4
Image Quality 4.4
Operability 4.3
Battery 4.1
Portability 4.7
Functionality 4.4
Display 4.5
Grip Performance 4.2
Total 4.4

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Roderick Romualdez

  • Review by Roderick Romualdez
  • May 24, 2016
Design 4.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 4.0

good camera in outing event

DESIGN is so much good camera and its more nice than other.
DISPLAY its attractive camera and I really glad to have a camera like these.
IMAGE QUALITY is good and clear capture so its more fun getting a lot of image.
OPERABILITY not difficult to used these camera and all the function is functioning will also.
PORTABILITY its not hassle camera and its good to bring in an outing so its great camera for me.
BATTERY life is long it will stay and used longer.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Aug 12, 2015
Design 5.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 4.8

The lightness is good

The lightness is convenient to carry around. I also like it because I can take a lot of beautiful pictures.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Aug 8, 2015
Design 4.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 4.0

Good

It was quite suitable for me who is a beginner. I recommend it for beginners.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jun 28, 2015
Design 5.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 5.0
Total 5.0

My first digital SLR camera.

Recently, digital cameras are flooding in the market, but my family has been using film camera only, and have been taking photos of anniversaries.

Gradually it is getting difficult to buy a film, and only limited shops provide DPE service. So I was thinking if it was the time I should migrate to a digital camera.

Then, my child accidentally dropped the camera on the ground, and the lens got damaged. The standard lens did not work any more.

Therefore, I looked up various cameras.
As I previously had CANON EOS KISS, I imagined the camera of the same maker might be better, so I decided [Canon Kiss X7 double zoom] lens kit, coming with two zoom lenses.

After all, it is easy to use. The body is light. LCD is beautiful and easy to see. The operation is easy. I love it. I have not been able to do high level operation, such as changing settings depending on the scene, but I will try to challenge one by one gradually.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 7, 2015
Design 5.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 4.1

You can take beautiful pictures.

I am a beginner when it becomes to photography and I purchased a SLR camera for the first time.

I do not take elaborate pictures because I don't have the skills for such photos, but I will try various things from now.

I am satisfied with picture quality, operability, and the design.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 11, 2015
Design 5.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 4.8

Congratulations for the single-lens reflex camera!

At last, I bought a single-lens reflex camera.
Before buying it, I read reviews

and commented to them. And now ...

I am going out to various places taking my camera with me and taking many photos, mainly sceneries, as much as I can (taking shots and learning at the same time).

EOS Kiss X 7 is very easy to use. Even a first time user of the single-lens reflex camera like myself. There is still a lot to learn but I would like to try each function and learn one by one and then utilize them effectively.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jul 5, 2015
Design 4.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 3.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 4.0

I think it is the best for those who start to use a single lens reflex

I think portability is excellent as a single lens reflex, so it may be possible to carry it lightheartedly for travel, too.

The price is such a price so the structure may be a little questionable, but the design is not bad and I am satisfied enough.

I am anxious about the battery a little so I recommend to buy a spare for users who shoot many photos.

Functions are easily understandable for beginners, so there is a feeling to be enjoyable variously after getting used to it.

If the size of LCD is 3 inches or so, it is enough and easy to watch.
At this price you get not only a SLR camera, but a genuine regular zoom lens and a telephoto zoom lens.
The lenses in question cost over 40,000-yen by themselves, which means the camera body is about 10,000-yen.

I believe this to be a perfect SLR camera to start with.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jul 4, 2015
Design 3.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 2.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 3.0
Total 3.6

A single lens camera that you can carry at ease.

After my compact digital camera got broken, I thought that my smartphone is enough for photo shooting, so that I was not interested in camera at all.

At one point, my wife started to say that she wants to buy Kiss X7, and decided to buy it. Then we went to the nearest mass retailer camera shop and bought it.

Wow, it is so small. It is so small for me that it does not fit to my hand. It well fits to my wife and kids, though.

Recently I am getting used to it while I have been playing around with it.

Rather, I am always carrying it with me because it is small and light. Just like that the items with me for going out for work are, a lunch box, a water bottle, a camera and a wallet.
The 4 of us go to USJ twice a month recently, and I got my own camera, so my eyes often got on other cameras. Lots of people have EOSKISS.
Some have big ones but some have kiss ones too.

Only walking around the theme park so lighter is even better.

Well, if you have 5D or 70 it would be really cool.
Well, I am lightly equipped only with the standard 18-55 lens and gorilla pod (tripod I bought at around 1500-yen at a DIY store) and a remote controller.

The standard telephoto lens looks like a hen clam with a shampoo hat on and I feel ...
Now I enjoy taking photos more than playing in attractions.

Especially the night scenes of Hogwarts Castle in Harry potter area are very appealing.

It is moving I can take pictures that a mobile phone or point and shoot digital camera cannot take pictures with hands.

In addition, it is so light that even this tripod can hold. It is handy for the lightness.
Well, I have wordily written, but it was a small single lens that taught the enjoyment of camera to me who had had no interest in camera.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 31, 2015
Design 3.0
Image Quality 3.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 3.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 3.0
Total 3.8

The view from a junior in high school

[Design]

It is a design like CANON. It is contrastive to the uncouthness like NIKON, is it not? Since white is available, I think it is easy to use for women.

[Image Quality]

I think 18 mega-pixel is enough. When shooting in the brightness outside there is also a feeling of resolution and there is no complaint for amateurs.

[Operability]

The touch shutter is absolutely comfortable. I almost do not use it when gripping, but it is a complete function for using a tripod stand.
The camera body is small. I kept pressing the wrong areas until I finally remembered where all the dials and buttons were.

Battery:
The camera is small, so the capacity was bound to be sacrificed.
However, it lasts for 1000-2000 photos, so I never needed a backup battery.

Portability:
This is the selling point. This is where the camera gets five stars from me. It is so compact, there is no point in comparing it to other models. It is so easy to take anywhere, I just throw it in my bag and go to school with it. I use the 18-55mm lens that comes with the kit.

Functionality:
I feel that the art filters are a little lacking compared to the Pentax K50 but it's not a problem.

LCD:
The Clear View LCD II is very easy to look at. Also, among other manufacturer's entry level models 920,000 pixels is common but this one has 1.02 Megapixels. A huge gap cannot be seen between them and it doesn't clearly surpass them. However, since it became a touch panel the 3rd model LCD is small, that's why if you're used to using a smart phone you'll be able to use it without getting frustrated. At any rate, I feel like for handheld devices the LCD is only good for checking.
Grip:
It is a small camera, but the grip was better than I expected. Maybe the people with bigger hands will find it hard to hold.

General Comments:
Great for beginners. It even has a guide, so you will rarely be at a loss. This is the type of camera you end up bringing everywhere. The price is reasonable as well. If all of you people interested in SLR cameras think this is a hoax, I recommend buying it and seeing for yourself.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 24, 2015
Design 5.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 3.0
Grip Performance 5.0
Total 4.4

My first SLR camera.

It's a low price for a single lens reflex camera!!!

It's been half a year since I started using it but it's really a camera I would recommend as a first step towards using single lens reflex cameras.

For a moment, I bought it with curiosity for SLR cameras but ... I got sucked into how single lens reflex cameras are so interesting with this camera. It's an entry model but you'll be able to tell me that you'll have more than enough fun taking pictures with this camera.

I've also purchased a tripod and stuff like that, and my initial investment took a total of around 100,000 yen but someday I'm thinking of a camera that will make me save up for a full size one and L lens.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 6, 2015
Design 5.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 5.0
Total 5.0

The most suitable single-lens reflex camera for beginners.

I've been using a mirror lens but I've grown to want a single lens reflex camera so I bought this one.

Design:
Its design is faultless, just as you would expect from a single-lens reflex camera. You can't go wrong if you buy this.

Image quality:
It uses a pentadaha mirror so the images will look a little dark. At this price I think it's good.

Operability:
It's an entry-level machine so its operability has been simplified that I think a beginner won't get confused.

Battery:
I went wandering around taking pictures for one day so I think it has enough charge.

Portability:

It is the smallest and the lightest in the world. so, the portability is also the best.

[Functionality]

In order to cut down the cost, some functions are missing. But still it has enough functions for an entry model.

[LCD]

It is convenient because you can touch the screen and operate the camera. As tilting is not available, X7 is not suitable for self shooting.

[Grip]

It is compact, but provides good grip. People whose hands are small can hold the camera tightly, so it is good for female.

[General Comments]

In order to eliminate cost, the exterior is polycarbonate resin, and a pentadaha mirror was adapted. However, that is at the same useful in lowering cost and making it lighter, and from now on is assigned in extending the range of people starting to use single lens reflex cameras. Moreover, as a 50,000 yen machine, you would still have money leftover to buy double zoom lenses and sink yourself deeper and deeper in the lens quagmire, am I right?

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 5, 2015
Design 4.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 3.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 3.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 3.0
Total 3.9

I should have chosen X7i but...

It's been 5 months since I got this model, so here is my honest review.

I hope it would help for those who are thinking of taking pictures with the SLR.

At first, I did not know anything about cameras. At any rate, I looked at various cameras in the front of a store, but it was no wonder I did not see any difference. Finally I decided to buy X7 because, that it was ranked as hot-selling No,1 at kakaku.com and X7 was highly rated, that it was the lightest SLR camera, and that there was cash back campaign at that time. After I used X7 for 5 months to take pictures of my kids, I realized a couple of things, and I thought I should have bought X7i, Therefore, I will talk about some points or complaints which might never be exposed in the catalog and specifications.

Firstly, the point that beginners would never notice is the equipped telephoto lens (EF-S55-250). It is completely different between X7 and X7i.

The equipped lens of X7 is the "second model" and the one of X7i is "STM". It is a matter of course that STM has speedy AF, and the image quality is better with "STM". The "second model" becomes dull as it becomes closer to telephotography, but "STM" shows a sharp image quality. Of course, compared to the "L" lens that costs more than 100,000-yen, it is inferior, but it has an impression pressing hard to "L" lens, just with its sharpness.
(I always make it a point to take pictures and compare at the store though.)
In the end, I changed the telephoto lens for an STM. Even with just that I could buy the X7i at my present status.

Next, the X7 has a fixed screen but the X7i has a movable LCD.

I take pictures of children and pets but I try to shoot the background together in particular, so I always thought Wouldn't it be nice if the LCD can be moved... Just yesterday I took a picture of the cherry trees in the background with the children and pets but due to the low angle I could hardly see the LCD and took the picture relying on intuition.

AF of live view is extremely slow, but X7i seems even slower than that, so in that sense X7 seems better. If you are over particular about this point, then it would be better to decide after checking the AF of X8i or D8000 that are going to be released soon.

As for other detailed points, the sense of grip of X7i fits nicely, especially if you are male with big hands. After purchase, I have taking many pictures with other models, and what concerns me unexpectedly is the shutter sound. It is completely different from X7 and X7i.

Personally I feel more luxuriousness in the sound of X7i. X7 sounds somewhat cheap.
I complain a lot but thank it for leading me to the SLR world.

I could never enjoyed the kinds of pictures I take without the SLR.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 28, 2015
Design 4.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 3.0
Total 4.0

Kiss without love.

I bought it on January 4th in a lucky bag (60,000 yen) at Kitamura where I visit regularly. It was still within the cash-back campaign period so I got 7,000 yen back, so it really cost me 53,000 which pushed me over the edge to buy it on impulse. The only digital camera I had owned was an EOS Kiss X50 (red).

[Design]

I guess it appeals to everybody.

[Image Quality]

Unexpectedly good. It is a Canon, after all.

[Operability]

Apart from pushing unintended places because of its small size, I do not feel much inconvenience.

[Battery]

It lasts pretty well. Although it is a bit worrisome for shooting around the whole day...

[Portability]

This is just incomparable! It is smaller and lighter than Olympus E-420 or Nikon D40! In a sense, Canon deserves an applause for pushing the compactness to the limit! Amazing.
It is especially amazing if you add something like the pancake lens EF-S24mm/F2.8.
Functionality:
When you talk about auto-filters, it's Olympus. I wish Canon would have a more varied line-up.

LCD:
I think it's perfectly easy to look at.

Grip:
As expected, it's only at the little places of the body that "big-handed" me has trouble gripping. But you can think that this littleness has "nothing to do with it" or something.

Overall evaluation:
It's camera which you can think "this is as small as they can go..." Due to this compactness, it's perfect for lightly carrying it around to take pictures.
But, I am afraid that it does not fit Kiss X7 to attach a heavy telephoto lens.

Additionally, the accessory neck strap is quite poor. This would be due to extreme cutting cost, but I wanted to use better quality one. Actually, I bought a different strap separately, and am waiting for the delivery.

After I purchased X7, I feel that I have been falling into Canon's trap.
In spite that I have X50 and EF50, F18II (so called scattering bait lens), I purchased EF-S24mm/F2.8(pan cake lens), and I am going to buy EF40mm/F2.8 as well. Regarding telephoto lens, the kit zoom lens (about 400mm) does not cover kingfisher photo shooting, so that I want longer one, and, in addition, I also want a macro lens and wide zoom EF-S10-18mm lens, too. What on earth is this? I was going to stop buying Canon when I purchased the double zoom lens it, but, ..
Definitely the body is turning into an "scattered animal feed" body. Upon buying Kiss X7 I've come to want so many things one after the other... People who don't want to fall into the abyss should be safe if they stop with just a double zoom lens camera.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 26, 2015
Design 5.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 5.0
Battery 3.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 3.0
Total 4.5

It is small as I thought.

The Design:
It comes with an optical finder and is compact.
Even so, it's cute!

Image quality:
The skin color of children taken with the 18-55 STM normal lens is my particular favorite.
It feels a bit forced though.

Operability:
It's simple but I wanted the Q button to stand by itself.

Battery:
It doesn't use LV so I'm surprised I have to carry one. Just in case, I bought a Rowa Japan spare battery.

Portability:
No complaints here! It fits even in a small bag.

Functionality:
It has enough.

LCD:
It's a fixed type but not inconvenient at all.

In the bright outdoors, it dies not reflect light and I can see it well.

[Grip]

The camera body is so small for my hand that I cannot hold it tightly. If you insist on the grip, I would recommend higher class models.

I put third party battery grip by the way.

[General Comments]

It is an excellent casual family camera.

I love it.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 14, 2015
Design 4.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 4.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 4.0

!

Not too bulky, good design, not too heavy. It is convenient for carrying around.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 15, 2015
Design 5.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 4.9

Light and small.

I bought the SLR as a beginner

The screen is clear enough to see and use.

W zoom's kit lens are enough and it can take pictures of wild birds too.

The grip is too small so it may not comfortable to grip?

I think it is easy to grip for women.

The price is now cheaper and the best for SLR 1 beginners.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 5, 2015
Design 5.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 5.0
Total 5.0

photo

It is light and easy to carry

So I am really satisfied.

Once getting used to using a single lens reflex camera, I cannot use other cameras.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 25, 2015
Design 4.0
Image Quality 5.0
Operability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 4.8

A single-lens reflex camera for the first time.

I bought a SLR for the first time.

At first, I couldn't decide what to buy, but since it was the 1st place of the popular ranking and the price was reasonable, I decided on EOS KISS X7.

It is easy to use for beginners and also I am happy with the picture resolution and other functions.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 22, 2016
Design 5.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 4.0
Display 4.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 4.3

I recommend it to beginners

[Design]

Typical design of a camera.

[Picture Quality]

Good enough for this class of cameras.

[Operability]

Touching operation is also available, and is not so difficult.

[Battery]

Its life is longer than expected, If you mainly use the finder, the battery life lasts all day for 300 shots (L-sized and RAW) and 30 minutes moving pictures,

[Portability]

It is the top most advantage of this EOS Kiss 7. As it is light, it is very useful during overseas travel.

Thanks to this camera with telephoto zoom lens, I was nicely able to take shots of small animals I ran into during my vacation. It fairly weighed with a camera body and two lenses in my bag, but I didn't feel it was too hard to be carrying it around(except for rainy days)

[Functionality]

Almost every function is equipped, but I can not say that the AF ability is very good in movie mode. Canon claims that this movie function is better than the greater model X7i's, but you gradually miss objects even after you could come into focus. It is especially bad for moving objects.

[LCD]
"touch shutter" is very useful.

[Grip]
I think my hands are rather big, but grip is not bad for me.

[General comments]
I have been a camera fan since the times of film cameras and what I first bought for myself was a used Canon newF-1AE. However, I lost my interest of photograph after that and about 10 years passed. In the interim digital cameras spread among people, so I could hardly catch up the knowledge of it even though I thought about buying a new one when I got married. Because my knowledge of digital cameras was less, I found it charming that its photo quality is good and the weight is light, and I eventually bought this camera.
At any rate, i had no extra budget, nor any particular biases. That was certainly the truth. Until my child was born...

When my child was born I immediately wanted to take good pictures, I came to think more than what I had before, and a lot of dissatisfying points came out, such as the adverse effect of having too few buttons (annoying during operation), auto focus function (for dim light and moving objects) . These days I want a solid mid level camera even though it's heavy. I've come to notice that compared to Nikon, it has fewer lenses.

I'm writing about the points that are dissatisfying for me, but ultimately it's a good camera.

I would recommend it to women and as anyone's first single lens reflex camera.

My review is from those kind of ways of thinking.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 20, 2015
Design 5.0
Image Quality 4.0
Operability 4.0
Battery 3.0
Portability 5.0
Functionality 5.0
Display 5.0
Grip Performance 4.0
Total 4.4

X7 is a little giant

[Design]

Common design of successive EOS series. I like it.

As various portions has been shaped up, the body shape resulted in somewhat round body, which is so cute.

[Picture Quality]

It might be true that high sensitivity does not have advantages, but still it works for me.

[Operability]

EOS Kiss X7 has fewer buttons compared with my 7D2, but it would be rather preferable when you mainly take a photo in auto mode.

Both have quick menu. So it is fine once you get used to using it.

[Battery]

Probably because the battery size is as small as those of compact cameras, its battery life covers relatively fewer number of shooting photos.

If you use EOS X7 as a main camera, then the battery life may not be long enough.

[Portability]

I had believed that I should not expect it on a SLR camera, but EOS Kiss X7 is a different camera.

It is true that it becomes bulky, once you attach a standard zoom lens with the body, but still they are light.

You may keep feeling at ease even when you carry the camera with you in a handy bag.

[Functionality]

There are several limitations, such that there are few focal points, or, that there are small choices of picture quality when you shoot moving photo. But, X7 at least covers basic functions.

[LCD]

It is average quality of recent Canon SLR cameras.
Touch panel is useful, once you get familiar with it.

[Grip]

The depth of grip is well secured. It seems to be the same as KissDN.

The grip is better than compact digital camera or regular mirror less model as is to be expected.

[General Comments]

As I bought 7D2, I did not use 50D, which had been my beloved model, any more. And when I tried 7D2 moving picture shooting in a basketball game, I realized the moving picture was better than expected. Therefore I have considered about X7, a video camera and EOS-M2 which to buy. And finally, I chose and bought X7 which I had been interested is since last year.

Being this size for a DSLR is certainly amazing. So much so that although my main camera is the 7D2,

it looks like I will be taking out the 7X more often.

That is how this camera is incredibly compact and light.

Good Review

Page 1 of 3

Latest Reviews for Digital Cameras

Best for Videography and photography

  • Rating : 4.3
  • Review by Jasper Ocampo
  • Date : Jun 14, 2018

Ito ang first camera na gamit ko na parang professional ang kuha, okay din kasi ang kuha niya espcially kapag gamit ko ang autoc focus, long range lens niya maliinaw pa din ito. Okay din ang battery ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.5
  • Review by Margarette Solomon
  • Date : Jun 13, 2018

one of the best camera that you can get at such affordable price. I have been using professional cameras so I know if it is a good camera to use or not, and if you are looking for something that is ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.5
  • Review by jordan_0123
  • Date : Jun 11, 2018
View Mode: PC | Mobile