BMW 1 Series Reviews

BMW 1Series hatchback L_1

BMW 1 Series 6th Generation (F21) 2012-
  • BMW 1Series hatchback S_1
  • BMW 1Series hatchback S_2
  • BMW 1Series hatchback S_3
  • BMW 1Series hatchback S_4
  • BMW 1Series hatchback S_5
  • BMW 1Series hatchback S_6
  • BMW 1Series hatchback S_7
  • BMW 1Series hatchback S_8
More Photos
  • Production 2004 - present
  • The displacement of BMW 1 Series is found in two versions; one with 1598cc which runs of petrol and another of 1995cc which runs on diesel.
  • Powers provided by both the engines are 136 hp at 4400 rpm and 143 hp at 4000 rpm respectively which are standard.
  • Remarkable thing is the speed transmission of this car as it is eight in numbers and is entirely automatic with RWD technology for comfortable driving.

New & Used prices

Models by year

Reviews

Forum

Overall Rating

exterior 4.2
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.6
travelling performance 4.8
ride quality 4.3
fuel efficiency 3.8
Total 4.3

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 12, 2017
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 3.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 4.2

My wife is driving this.

<exterior>
It is categorized as a compact car, but it still has the typical design of BMW with a long nose, which I find cool. My wife said she definitely wanted it in red, so we looked for it. I wonder why primary colors suit imported cars.

<interior>
The texture is not good or bad. Average. You wouldn't get tired of this design. It doesn't have much storage, so my wife puts pockets to hang on seats.

<engine performance>
It accelerates strongly with 2L turbo.

<drivability>
Amazing joy of driving.
The stability at high speed is just as I have heard, but it is not that different from Dualis.
Those who know about cars might say, "You don't know anything about cars," but to amateurs drivers they are not different.

<comfort>
It is slightly hard, but it is comfortable on paved roads.

<fuel efficiency>
7km/l in town.
12km/l on expressways.

<overall>
It was satisfying in terms of design and drivability. My wife is happy that it is of BMW.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 21, 2017
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.5

The last model to enjoy NA direct 6 engine with MT.

<exterior>
It has the exterior for M sports, but it is not differentiated from 116 or 120. It is disappointing.

<interior>
I like sedate interior like this.

<engine performance>
This is just amazing. To buy this car means to buy this car to enjoy this engine. I feel the acceleration from mid speed is particularly awesome. How its revves up is very sporty.

<drivability>
Chassis performance is amazing. World's BMW. It runs accurately how I steer.
It doesn't wobble unnecessarily. It offers pleasure of driving as FR.

<comfort>
Some people are saying it is hard. I have got Bilstein's suspension kit, so it can be different, but I think this is not unreasonably hard taking the engine account.
If you are still using the original run flat tires, you should change them to BMW certified run flat tires. You can see the improvement of technology in tires.

<fuel efficiency>
About 10km/l?

<overall>
I would like to keep driving this.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 10, 2017
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.7

My impression after 10 years.

My impression after driving BMW116 for 10 years.
I heard 1 series will be FF soon, so this one (first generation) and the second generation will be the only 1 series with FR.
Of course newer cars are better as new technology is developed every day, but I assume there are people who are thinking to get used cars, so I would like to a review roughly.

I chose Quartz Blue, which was a special color. It is blueish grey. This color doesn't make it look old even when it is an old model. Nice color. 10-year old 116 in black, silver and white look old, but this colors is good. I don't think there are many of this car with this color in the market, so I think you are lucky if you can find one.

As for exterior and interior, everyone has different taste, but I think this is sportier than the 2nd generation. 2nd generation is much cooler with interior as its newer.

1600cc is powerful enough for driving in town. Because it is not too powerful, I can feel the chassis is well made.

Fuel consumption is about 10km/l. Of course, it does better on expressways; it is about 17km/l or so.

The standard tires are 195/55R/16, but when you go for optional tires, 205/55R/16, it is a lot more stable. I recommend them. I have both for summer and winter, so I have experienced them in real.

As for troubles, BMW has high reliability with engine and electrical system. However, with this, I experienced troubles with the engine and the sensor that supports ignition. I have two BMW mini, but I can say the same thing with them, too. Troubles with the sensor can occur depending on which year model it is.

It is getting cheaper with used ones, so I think this is a good model to try out BMW for the first time.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 31, 2017
exterior 4.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 3.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 3.8

It has high satisfaction level, though it is of the lowest grade.

I have driven E30 320i(88) and E46 325i(05) two years each, and I bought my first new car in the last year of my 20's. I was torn between 118i and 118d till the last moment, but I decided on 118i as the sound it makes at high rpm sounds like that of 6 cylinder engine. I will go for diesel next time.

I didn't like the design of the seats with Style, with Sport, I didn't like the design of the wheels. I cannot go to mountains to ski with Msp, so I decided on Standard model. I chose Mineral Grey. Traditional BMW color.

Amazing steering of FR, pleasant engine for its specification, rough yet tasteful design., a center console tilting towards the driver seat... It has a lot of traditions of BMW. Its 1.5L engine makes me wonder if it is really 136PS up to the mid-speed. Because I ride my motorbike on circuit, I don't hit the gas with my car, so I feel this has enough performance.
Fuel efficiency is usually 11-12km/l (using EcoPro, I live in suburban area.) It does over 15km/l when I go long distance travel. I think it is relatively good.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 15, 2016
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 4.0

Amazing only small-sized hatchback with FR

<exterior>
Maybe I can say it is adorably ugly? Personally, it looks cute and I like it, but if you ask me everyone would love it... well... Having said that, the line from its front nose looks really beautiful from its sides. Its rear looks average.

<interior>
The interior is of a proper BMW's driver's car; it is very easy to use for driving. The texture is not bad, but there are some plasticky parts, so it looks not as good compared to high-end models of other makes'.
GPS system has minimum function and is usable, but the lines of roads are a little difficult to see. It's got easier to see with recent model, so I think it is improving year by year.
I like the blinker and the shift knob being electronic.

<engine performance>
Like recent trend cars with small exhaust amount, it accelerates with nice engine sound when I press the accelerator. With Sport mode, you can enjoy its advantage, but Comfort mode is enough for driving in town.
I tried this and 116 to compare. I chose 120 as its acceleration from middle speed was better. If you are only driving in town, 116 (or now it is 118) is enough. However compared to cars with big exhaust amount, torque curve is steep, and at very low speed, I can see torque's weakness coming from small exhaust amount.

<drivability>
At low speed including at start, it feels a little jumpy. At mid speed, however, it is very smooth possibly thanks to 8 speed AT. It feels more natural than my previous car with DCT.
Also, turn-in ability is very high. It turns stably as if it is stuck on roads. For driving at high speed, it has straight line stability like all other German cars. I feel safe driving.

<comfort>
I get knock up feel directly when I drive over bumps possibly because of run flat tires. It doesn't bother a driver, but it seems it does passengers in passenger seat and the rear. This is not a car to seek comfort anyway, so I think this is not bad.
Idle stop is usable, but it gives shocks at start, so I tend to disable it when I have other people in the car. The newer the model is, the less shocks you get.
Seats are firm, and it seems it is less tiring after long distance travel.

<fuel efficiency>
It is about 10km/l in town and 14-17km/l on expressways. Not good or bad. When I have to make constant stop in traffic jam, the fuel consumptions drops.

<overall>
This car offers you joy of driving you cannot get with other cars if you like driving. This has several things that can be improved, but this is a very good car. I tried other cars from BMW as loaner vehicles when I got my car serviced or when it was getting a car maintenance. I did feel all of them have something similar to each other. You would choose which model to go for depending on your life style. 1 series is small but is FR, and that cannot be seen with cars from other makes. This is an excellent car for small number of passengers.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Dec 24, 2015
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.8

Sedate ride

I wanted to drive BMW's straight-six engine, so I bought M135i after its facelift. The car I drove before that was VW Golf GTIVI and Fiat Panda.

<exterior>
Both its front and back look sharper after facelift. I like it.

<interior>
I'm happy with its texture and shape. I can adjust seats to the detail, so I was able to make it fit to my body.

<engine performance>
It feels sophisticated and delicate. I thought it would be overpowering, but I was able to drive it naturally. Of course, once I press the accelerator hard, it accelerates amazingly.

<drivability>
It feels heavy at the front, but it drives stably. Idling stop system is improved; it works smoothly.

<comfort>
It is flexible, and has a good ride quality. With the pleasant engine, it makes me feel like driving it forever.

<fuel efficiency>
There are sports, comfort and eco mode. I drive with comfort mode. When I drive mainly on highways with the flow of the traffic, it is about 12-13km/l. Under the same condition, GTI with 4-cylinder 2000cc turbo engine was 14-15km/l and Panda with 2-cylinder 900cc engine was 19-20km/l. Considering its displacement, I think this fuel efficiency is reasonable.

<price>
You get what you paid for.

<overall>
I bought it without doing a test drive. I thought it would be sportier, but it actually drives sedately and luxury. You can drive safely with leeway from low speed to high speed. Also, its perfection level is high in terms of the quality and contents. I'm happy with it.
I am writing things I realized after driving for about 2,000km below.
1, It probably is to prevent pressing them wrongly, but the level difference between accelerator and brake pedal is too much. 2, I want the turn signal lights to flash four times not three times. 3, I want manual intermittent wiper. 4, When I drive into a tunnel with automatic lights on, it takes about 2 minutes till it turns off after getting out the tunnel. 5, You need more experience to get used to iDrive than touch panel one. 6, Odometer and tripmeter are located too low, so it is hard to see.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 23, 2014
exterior 3.0
interior 2.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 3.8

It looks adult-like

A switch from the E87 Japan red to the Style Valencia orange.

Previously it felt like a sports car and although it is the same series it has a strangely adult-like feeling.
Personally I like the face of the first generation better.

The chassis progressed nicely, so no complaint there.

Interior is not too luxurious. Appropriate for the price, I guess, but the seats are extremely good.

Since it is a car from a domestic inventory, I do not think attaching the back monitor is necessary.
One month from the delivery and over 1,000km, current fuel efficiency is around 15km (normal mode).
As I live way out in the country where there is no traffic signal, I must drive pretty far even for shopping and its good fuel efficiency is very helpful.

I really want to push that ""SOS button"" when waiting for traffic signals.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 16, 2014
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.8

Although it takes a lot of effort..

After driving for 40,000km, its ignition coil and the washer tank leaked. Repaired.
After driving for 50,000km, oil leakage from oil pan gasket. Repaired.

This is an enjoyable car to drive, although it takes a lot of effort.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 1, 2014
exterior 3.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.2

Stick with it!

I bought this to replace my E X6.

[Exterior]

Frankly speaking, the moment I saw it, I thought I wouldn't buy it.

For, I've had an E87 Series 1 and I really liked its design, so this design was not personally my taste.

When I went to a dealer when M Sport version was released, I thought this might be worth buying. This is my final evaluation for this model.

[Driving performance]
I was openly saying to the sales person that this was totally unacceptable, but he strongly recommended me to give it a try, then I drove it.

I've had a prior model off E87. So I was trying to explain how these two models were different but the prior model was too old, so I couldn't compare them. Apart from the design, this new model is well-made. I think I can say it meets all the standards of acceleration, fuel efficiency, and long distance drive.

I use it as a second car, so when I occasionally drive it, it always makes me think what an excellent car it is.
Eco-mode is a little bit irritating, but it's okay because with that you concentrate on safe driving!

Sport-mode shows such acceleration unbelievable for its body size and engine displacement. (You can keep up with other high-performance cars on freeways.)

As a result, it has perfect driving performance.

[Interior]

Neither good nor bad. One may say its embedded monitor, to which only the official navi-system is applicable, should be better one, as it is predetermined.

[General Comments]
The ugly design looks adorable to me once I get used to seeing it. I absolutely recommend this. When I test drove 135, I was very surprised to see the car picking up a lot of speed. I think 116 is an eco-car that can burn up the road. This would be a suitable description for the car. Of course, it is a car with which I can enjoy a lot the pleasure of slipping through the wind.

What I think everyone is misunderstanding is that C segment's interior is cheap and it is the cheapest car as it required a great amount of manpower and money to develop. But, this is wrong. Those who don't like it should pay more to buy three-cylinder or higher grade ones.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Oct 11, 2013
exterior 4.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 4.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

New fashionista "all-in-one ramen"

After having spent 71/2 years with E90 320i, I have switched over to 116i Fashionista.

[Exterior]

It's ""face"" in the front looks adorable. Turning on the small light would add eyebrows.
Comparint to the ""face"" the ""butt"" from the rear does not look so attractive. The white grill mashes with the mineral white.
Prior to E90 320i, I used to own a lancia Dedra. The ""face"" of F20, which has bipolarized evaluation, was something I had minded since its debut.
At the debut of E90, its design had the same thing, too.
The exterior dimensions are not actually as small as it appears, and it is tall as well.

[Interior]

The front seats are sufficiently spacious. I gave up on the previous model because of the back seats, but now you can sit them.
The texture of the dashboard is not as good as it should be, but the light leather seats and wood-patterned trims add a stylish air.
It comes with a car navigator inside the meter, comfort access, parking support, driving assistance, SOS call, 24-hour telephone service etc.
The E90 for the smartphone is an evolution that is impressive.

Recently, the newly released iPhone5 connection kit has made it possible to operate the displayed iPhone screen via the iDrive touch panel.

[Engine Performance]

It is an diesel like engine that climbs slopes while accelerating even with idling and alpha.

Although the natural blowing E90 has a 4 shot natural aspiration which has different characteristics, this is also a good engine.

[Driving Performance]

It runs briskly. In any scene it's easy to turn the wheel, and you get a good response. When you turn at the intersection in the city, it feels great.
The electronic powering steering is rather light in the low speed, so you have to get used to it.
Thanks to the idling stop, it's quiet while you wait for the traffic signal.
At first, it stumbled before starting off, but now I remove my foot on the brake when the signal changes and start moving forward a bit, so I have no problem now.

[Comfortability]
It feels comfortable and relaxing. With the comfort mode, thanks to the high torque and fast shift-up...
It goes into cruise mode straight away sometimes. The overall quiet performance is better than the E90.

[Fuel Efficiency]

I was driving 10km/L right after I bought it, but I was only driving it around the city. The E90 did 7km/L. This might increase in the future.

[Price]

I bought this car for a number of reasons. Firstly, the salesman I bought my last car from helped me out and got me a discount plus accessory options. Secondly, I had a good rating on my E90 which was due for its third service. And lastly, they were also offering a special interest rate.

[General Comments]
At first, I was thinking about the new Audi S3, which is progressively becoming IT or the Volvo T40 with safety equipment, but I learned about the new fashionista, and I chose the BMW, which is safe and fun.
I hope to drive it for a long time.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 21, 2013
exterior 3.0
interior 3.0
engine performance 4.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 5.0
fuel efficiency 4.0
Total 4.0

It runs well, but...

Exterior

I thought the design wasn't that great when I first saw a picture of it, but I actually don't mind it that much in real life. It's a strange design.

I think the M Sports is designed to appeal to the masses.

Interior

There's nothing really that special about the interior. Some people might find the display annoying as it sticks out a bit.

Engine Performance

I didn't know what to think of a BMW with a turbo engine...

But it's a torque engine and so accelerates fast enough.

Driving Performance

Extremely nice, and rather so natural. The position during the cornering and the behaviour at the acceleration work are nice.
Run and turn come along so naturally.
Stopping however is not so good. Right before stopping at the traffic light, it falls forward a bit.
Comparing to those other import cars I have driven in the past, this one is especially ugly.

Comfortability
Extremely nice. Although this is an 18"" vehicle, this is better than A class 17"".

Fuel Efficiency
This is not fall under a good category, I guess this is acceptable for FR.

Price

The price is a bit higher than other same class cars, but you could feel it inexpensive if you consider the structure.

Satisfaction

You could feel unnatural when you are turning off a vehicle engine when stopped so it may be better to keep this function off. This should be a check point.
And maybe you notice that speeding down is not smooth when you apply the break. But it can be OK if you get used to it.
Going straight and curved, especially curved, were jaunty despite it was wearing 18-inch tires.

However 17-in tires can be better if you think about its balance. M-Sports have front and rear tires with different diameter, so you may need much cost for tires.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Dec 2, 2007
exterior 5.0
interior 5.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 5.0
Total 4.8

BMW review

I bought a brand new 130i MT in late September, 2007. My former vehicle was 325i M-Tech (e30) made in 1990 with over 270k mileage.

As we all probably know, since 1 series does not have the authoritative dignity like the other kinds of BMW (lol), if that's a part of your motive for purchasing the brand, I would at least recommend you to go 310i or higher.1 series is more like for those who are ""particular"" about its engine and design.
I, on the other hand, bought it for its inline-six engine and transmission (MT vehicle is very rare to find nowadays?). It's been two months since the delivery, but I am still in the learning process to get used to the design that does not have a trank room.

The fuel efficiency of 116i shows a better figure than VW Golf (my family has prior experiences for having owned 116i, VW Golf I to V). Now that I have passed the trainee status on 130i, and when I drive in town I see the fuel efficiency showing 8km/L, and 12km/L on the high way. It does have five doors, but don't expect the space utility you could get with VW Golf.
There are pro and con about riding feeling, but for me it is hard due to M-sport being the standard setting for 130i. Even on a small gap of the road, the body moves up and down(it also means body rigidity is high), not only driver but passenger will have hard time( It may change after a while when hardness is gone). 116i with the same body but normal suspension system runs smoothly.
In some opinions, 116i is said to be ""rigid"", but I assume most of such concerns should be resolved by the tire selection.

Regarding 1 series (130i in particular), I see it as ""the evolved version of Z3 M Coupe with additional seats and doors in the rear"" rather than ""the 3 series without the trunk (though this is the actual epithode)."" Therefore, comparing to those rivals in the same segment, this ""5 door vehicle"" has a dare differentiation.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Nov 13, 2007
exterior 5.0
interior 4.0
engine performance 5.0
travelling performance 5.0
ride quality 4.0
fuel efficiency 3.0
Total 4.3

BMW review

Puchased 118 in March 2007. It is in the red prior to the minor change and it is no longer available, but this is my third generation BMW. As for my part, considering the dealer's customer service and its holistic approach, there is no other domestic dealers that could offer such good service. At any rate, visit the dealer if you have a chance! The test drive will give you much insight.

Good Review

Page 1 of 1

Latest Reviews for Cars

* I tried Mazda CS-5, so it includes comparison. * This is my first time to try a BMW car. <exterior> Just amazing! The body line and the face are cool with or without comparing it with its previous ...Read more

  • Rating : 3.6
  • Review by Japanese user
  • Date : Mar 6, 2017

<exterior> There are not many choices for cars that are not minivans which can have over 7 passengers. This is not bad. Because I really liked this interior, I got this. I am not fussy. It didn't ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.5
  • Review by Japanese user
  • Date : Feb 28, 2017

<exterior> This is more like a wagon with height rather than a minivan. It looks chubby but it is amazing with its line which uses straight line and curvy line well. It looks powerful from the ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.5
  • Review by Japanese user
  • Date : Feb 27, 2017
View Mode: PC | Mobile