Apple iPod Touch 8GB (4th Gen) Reviews

Compare prices

Specs

Reviews

Forum

Overall Rating

Design 4.3
Portability 4.4
Battery 4.0
Sound Quality 4.1
Operability 3.9
Attached Software 4.1
Expandability 3.3
Total 4.0

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Nov 20, 2012
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Sound Quality 3.0
Operability 5.0
Attached Software 5.0
Expandability 4.0
Total 4.3

It's the best if you don't consider it as a portable music player!

This is the situation half a year after purchase.

[Design]
I really like the shiny plating on the backside, but because I used a silicon cover that I have to remove from time to time some scratches got onto it.
The design is so pretty that I would like to have one without scratches just to put in a glass plate and decorate on a wall.

[Portability]
The size is a ''little too big'' for a portable music player.
There are no physical buttons so controlling outside can be a little inconvenient.
Currently my usage is limited to at home.
My oldest child is using an iPod (the long wheel version) and my younger one uses a Walkman S release.
I bought Walkman lately as well.

[Battery]
I seldom listen to music data, so I can't complain much for mostly checking youtube and internet.
Yet the impression I have for the battery is not lasting long enough for its size.
It's not too bad because I use it for domestic use and can recharge the battery right away.

[Sound Quality]
My oldest child cares less so no complaints about anything include MyiPod, but my youngest isn't happy.
I would say it's better buying Walkman because buying a better earpiece for better sound quality gets costly, unless otherwise no complaints about the manufacturer's product that came with it.
Cost performance would be better that way, too.
It shouldn't be a problem for a customer with basic product knowledge good enough to recognize the product as a convenient multi device with additional music function.
If his expectation is to listen to music over a cellphone, this product is more than enough.

[Operability]
I would hit ""Like!"".
This is so smooth.

[Attached Software]
I truly admire iTunes is quite an administration software.
I have used Mac since the first version had come out, and would often listen to music copied from CD, and/or internet radio.
I am amazed how the latest version has evolved over time, but on the other hand I am overwhelmed because there are too many funcions to make the most of them.
My older child is not fond of storing music because it is synched with MyiPod, connecting iPodtouch with PC is time consuming.
As a result, it does not have much exposure to proove its strength as a music player.
iTunes is not frequently optimized when it comes to iPodtouch neither.

[Expandability]
I would rate 5 stars for the current model.
Since the shape of the port has changed from iPhone5 series, I gave 4 stars concerning the future development.

[General Comments]
Before we knew it, the product has become a dedicated device for the internet my oldest one uses, however the screen image is still good with smooth touch, so I am pretty happy about it.
Because it is not good enough to stand as a music player, if you want an all in one type of product you should simply buy iPhone with a luxury earpiece and portable battery.
It is a good spec if you plan to use functions other than music player at home.
However iPodtouch5th is only available with 32GB and up, and its cost performance is low if you simply want to buy it for that purpose.
With the amount of money you spend, you could possibly get reasonable items such as nexsus7 and other tablets.
Touch that I currently own is to be replaced with probably iPadmini or nexus7 instead of iPodtouch, I guess.
I still believe it was the best possible model of iPodtouch that was perfectly handy for our family.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 19, 2013
Design 4.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Sound Quality 5.0
Operability 5.0
Attached Software 5.0
Expandability 3.0
Total 4.4

High-quality sound

"Its sound quality is better than any other feature phones I've ever had.
I can sometimes hear a low-pitched sound, but it's not that unnatural. You can't feel the sense of sounds filling up the space around you like you would if you connect it to an audio set, but its sound quality is good enough to be a portable music player. I can recommend it."

Good Review

Karen Key Baje

  • Review by Karen Key Baje
  • Nov 13, 2014
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Sound Quality 5.0
Operability 4.0
Attached Software 4.0
Expandability 4.0
Total 4.4

FS: ipod touch 4 th gen

FS: ipod touch 4 th gen for obly 4K

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 2, 2013
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Sound Quality 5.0
Operability 5.0
Attached Software 5.0
Expandability 5.0
Total 5.0

Highest level of cost performance

With the release of the new model the price dropped, but there's nothing to criticize in the functions provided and I have no areas of dissatisfaction.
I personally don't need anything more than this.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 22, 2013
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Sound Quality 5.0
Operability 2.0
Attached Software 3.0
Expandability 4.0
Total 4.1

Update to iOS6 is not recommended.

I was enjoying Asphalt7 Heat by this model.
Since I updated iOS to 6.0, the movement became heavy and even the home screen became spastic.
After all I gave up on it and sold it off.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 21, 2013
Design 2.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 3.0
Sound Quality 3.0
Operability 2.0
Attached Software 2.0
Expandability 4.0
Total 2.9

A half-baked effort

I'm using both a smart phone of Android and a tablet.
I wanted to experience to use an iOs I hadn't before and the price of them had gone down, too, so I bought it.
I'm using WiFi at home and PORTUS by WILLCOM outside for the network connection.

[Design]
It's stylish and satisfies my desire to own stuff, but it turns into a completely different thing wrapped up with a silicon case and covered on the screen with a sheet for my fear of it getting scars, and I feel like saying ""I didn't expect this..."".

[Portability]
Thin and good, but it seems to be fragile, so I'm scared to put it in a pocket of my trousers.
I become a little nervous.

[Battery]
It fairly asts for music only, but it reduces faster when connecting the Internet.
There is no way due to its size.

[Sound Quality]
I knew it by checking the Internet, but I was disappointed when I replayed music for the first time because there was no difference from a non-brand MP3 player I was using before.
I felt so much better as it changed well after replacing the headphone.

It's a pain in the butt that I have to tap the screen for skipping songs while I am listening to them.
In order to mitigate the stress, I had to additionally buy a Bluetooth controller.
This might not be a problem if it was for those who use screen centric operations like internet though.

[Attached Software]
I think they are way too many to handle.
Considering those default apps being unable to delete, which occupies certain ratio of the 8G capacity makes me want to replace them with additional songs of my kind.
My hats off to the varieties of so many covers and docs!
I love the way Bluetooth enables to listen to the music without a cable in the car.

[General Comments]
I bought the product as iPhone without phone function.
But in reality the screen and letters are too small if I try to use it like other smartphones.
iTunes is hard to use as a music player.
It took forever only to add a few more songs.
This product is unfriendly for a first-time user.
After all, I use it every day as a music player, but don't use other functions.
So I think I could buy another model.
I don't have to buy Apple products for some time.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 21, 2013
Design 4.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 3.0
Sound Quality 3.0
Operability 3.0
Attached Software -
Expandability 4.0
Total 3.5

Bought it to migrate my smartphone apps

Movement of my smart phone was heavy, so I bought this one only for lightening it by transferring apps to iPod.
It's small and good for carrying.
But it's not easy to input for e-mails etc. as it is small. Character translation is also not enough as I get used to Android.
Battery also lasts well as there is no phone function.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 30, 2013
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 2.0
Sound Quality 3.0
Operability 3.0
Attached Software 3.0
Expandability 5.0
Total 3.7

It's cheap and good

The price is good, but 8GB is too small.
If I download many apps, it quickly runs out of its memory and slows down.

Good Review

Gelai408

  • Review by Gelai408
  • Aug 25, 2014
Design 4.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Sound Quality 5.0
Operability 4.0
Attached Software 4.0
Expandability 3.0
Total 4.0

iTouch 4th gen.

4th Gen . iPod or iTouch from apple brand, Good because it released an extreme sounds ,and many apps and free icons that you can used but you cannot expand the memory, only 8gb internal storage..Not good for me not enough ,i need more bigger memory..

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Sep 9, 2013
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Sound Quality -
Operability 3.0
Attached Software -
Expandability 3.0
Total 4.0

"As a substitute for a smart phone. "

I'm stuck on feature phones, so I like this smartphone-like feature phone.
I use WiMAX outside.
I have iPod touch5 as well, but this 4th Generation is small and fits to my pocket very wll Recent ones are focused on a big screen but their portability is lost...
But I don't like its dull movement and responses when I push buttons.
It's been working for a year after all, so maybe it's fine lol

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 1, 2014
Design 4.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 3.0
Sound Quality 5.0
Operability 4.0
Attached Software 5.0
Expandability 1.0
Total 3.9

I want iPhone rather than iPodtouch.

My brother bought it two years ago.
I was using with SB's Wi-Fi, but I canceled it.
Now, my brother has become a substitute of a smartphone.
I guess its battery drains faster than WP.
I think its demerit is the small screen size. :'(

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 3, 2014
Design 3.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Sound Quality 3.0
Operability 3.0
Attached Software 3.0
Expandability 3.0
Total 3.3

Long-lasting model I can still use

I have used it for a long time since it was released.
Instead of using it in daily commuting, I use it for the lessons of my kid by inserting it the dock at home, and I put some music for my family in it and listen in the car.

But I miscalculated the advance in digital age.
I thought 8GB was enough, but recently it became insufficient.
So I erased apps that I don't use, try to use minimal accounts, and still use OS5.
If it gets broken, I will buy a new one. However, there is no sign of breaking. lol

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Apr 29, 2014
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Sound Quality 2.0
Operability 5.0
Attached Software 5.0
Expandability 3.0
Total 4.0

Got Retina display in my hands!

So amazed about the quality of the display to purchase instantlly

[Design]
Flowing shape makes me easy to carry.
Simple design for easy operation.
Messy home screen is minor problem, though.

[Portability]
Very light.
I am amazed that this products has been existing since 2010(actually since 2007 if we count the previous model)

[Battery]
I use this at home since it last longer than Android smart phone.

[Sound Quality]
It's not very good. The sound doesn't spread well.
I doesn't have an equalizer, so I can't even control the sound to make it better.
The recent app on music.jp allows the simultaneous display of lyrics and control with an equalizer and it also blocks ads, so I use this app all the time.

[Attached Software]
It used to be the best one even compared to Androids on the market.
I may depend on your preference, but even today you can't find ones with the same quality anywhere other than AppStore.
I recommend iPhontouch5th for starters.

[Expandability]
8GB but you can use apps like Dropbox and Box and create about 60GB on the internet.

[General Comments]
It's been working for a long time, but it is a bit too slow.
If you are using iPS4.3.5 or above, that's enough.
The internet is being riskier these days, so you may want to avoid it in that case.
Ones with iOS5 have YouTube app without ads as a default, so you can play videos and leave it.

Good Review

Lyka Sweet

  • Review by Lyka Sweet
  • Dec 17, 2013
Design 3.0
Portability 3.0
Battery 5.0
Sound Quality 5.0
Operability 4.0
Attached Software 4.0
Expandability 3.0
Total 3.9

I think that the ipod touch 4g need to have more functionality. I hate the back part of the ipod touch because its stainless and easy to have lots of scratches,eventough it has already a cover.Need more improvement.

[Good]
Sounds quality is good. It is soft touch. It has a long life battery.The durability is also quite good. It has a different equalizer.

[Bad]
I hate the back portion of the ipod touch 4g. No bluetooth. Picture quality is not good.Need to improved the back portion because it so easily get lots of scratches.The speaker is too small and it don't have lot sound.Hopefully the apple product will have a bluetooth so that its too easy to transfer the songs without connecting to itune.

Good Review

Phen Capili

  • Review by Phen Capili
  • Aug 21, 2013
Design 4.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Sound Quality 4.0
Operability 4.0
Attached Software 4.0
Expandability 4.0
Total 4.0

4th gen ipod touch

Matagal ko nang ginagamit itong Apple iPod Touch 8GB (4th Gen) sobrang na-satisfied naman ako sa quality and performance nito kasi matibay talaga yung quality nito.Tsaka wala akong masabi sa quality ng sounds nito kasi the best naman talaga kung i-cocompare mo siya sa mga ibang mp3 iba yung deliver nito kasi powerful and clear yung sounds niya kahit naka maximum volume pa siya malinaw pa rin yung deliver ng tunog at mafe-feel mo talaga yung impact nito,Kaya naman lagi ko siyang dinadala sa mga lakad ko lalo na pag malalayong biyahe kasi enjoy at nakakalibang talaga siyang gamitin.

Good Review

Rendel Vital

  • Review by Rendel Vital
  • Mar 14, 2013
Design 4.0
Portability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Sound Quality 4.0
Operability 4.0
Attached Software 4.0
Expandability 2.0
Total 3.7

8gb or 6gb?!

binili ko itong ipod touch na ito para sa pamangkin ko as a very late christmas gift. wala naman siyang problema sa pag set-up dito. okay naman ang lahat. ang napansin ko lang na medyo off eh yung capacity nit. ang sabe eh meron itong 8gb na capacity. pero kapag sinaksak na eh makikita na lang na 6gb na lang pala talaga yung capacity nito.. parang ang unfair naman ata. pero nung naghanap ako ng mga comments tungkol sa capacity, ganun daw talaga kasi yung nasakop eh yung operating system daw yun.. kung alam ko lang ito eh di sana pala yung 16 or yung 32gb na lang yung binili ko. pero natutuwa pa rin naman yung pamangkin ko dito.

Good Review

Meryll9007

  • Review by Meryll9007
  • Feb 6, 2013
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Sound Quality 5.0
Operability 5.0
Attached Software 5.0
Expandability 2.0
Total 4.6

the gift ;)

nung natanggap ko yung ganito ko, syempre naman tuwang tuwa ako! kala ko nga malaki na yung 8gb na internal storage, hindi pala. bitin na bitin yung internal storage tapos pangit pa sa Apple na walang microSD slot yung mga gadgets nila di tulad ng mga Android. so ang ginagawa ko tuloy eh pili lang yung mga albums na nilalagay ko dito. tapos isang movie lang pwede para kapag ko nang panuorin, papalitan ko na ng iba. pero hindi na ako nagrereklamo kasi binigay lang ito sakin as gift eh. kaya laking pasasalamat ko na rin at nakalibre ako ng isang Apple iPod Touch na 4th gen.

Good Review

sir.chieffy.12

  • Review by sir.chieffy.12
  • Nov 21, 2012
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Sound Quality 5.0
Operability 5.0
Attached Software 5.0
Expandability 2.0
Total 4.4

di pwede 8gb lang

Smooth naman ang browsing dito sa iTouch at mabilis rin. Tapos okay din maglaro ng games dito at magdowload ng iba iabgn applications na pwede mong magamit sa mga bagay bagay. Okay na rin yung front and rear facing cameras pero hindi pa rin ganun kaganda yung resolution ng camera. Pero pwede na yung video recording niya, maayos naman. Kaso lang, mminsan nagkakaproblema siya sa iPod dock ko. Ewan ko ba kung bakit pero yung previous iPods ko naman eh gumagana ng maayos tapos maliit lang yung 8gb para sa iTouch.

Good Review

Page 1 of 1

Latest Reviews for MP3 Players

[Good] Great Software Frequent Software Updates Great Camera Quality User-Friendly User Interface (GUI) Picture Quality and Screen Quality is not so good A lot of downloadable Music and Applications ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.6
  • Review by Moshi Monster
  • Date : Aug 4, 2016

It comes in different and neck turner colors. It has a 5MP f/2.4 camera with LED flash and 1080p video. Dual-core A5 SoC. 32-64GB storage (Mine's 32GB). With lightning connector, as you can see on ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by joshuabelisario
  • Date : Sep 28, 2015

Clip ko lang sa short ko at yun dala dala ko na ito kahit saan , iPod Nano 16GB dapat ang memory para sulit at hindi kulang yung mga dapat mong ilagay . Apple iPod Nano isa sa matibay na gadget.. ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.9
  • Review by Minta Cortes
  • Date : May 12, 2015
View Mode: PC | Mobile