ASUS ZenFone 3 Ultra ZU680KL Reviews

ASUS ZenFone 3 Ultra ZU680KL

Latest model
Lowest Price P22,990 7 Prices
Go to Shop widgetcity
Storage
  • ALL
  • 32GB
  • 64GB
  • 128GB
RAM
  • ALL
  • 3GB
  • 4GB
Color
ASUS Zenfone 3 Ultra is a 6.8inch FHD 1920 x 1080 of display, Android OS, v6.0.1 runs on a Qualcomm MSM8976 Snapdragon 652processor.
  • Release date : Aug 2016
  • Phablet, Smartphone, Asus...
  • 6.8 inches, 1080 x 1920 p...
  • 2G, 3G, 4G (LTE), 128GB, ... more specs
ASUS ZenFone 3 Ultra ZU680KL

Compare prices

Specs

Reviews

Forum

Overall Rating

Design 4.7
Portability 4.0
Operability 3.8
Response 4.7
Display 4.7
Listenability 4.8
Battery 4.5
Total 4.5

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 24, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 3.0
Operability -
Response 4.0
Display 4.0
Listenability -
Battery 5.0
Total 4.0

This is the only choice for me as I need this size.

Because I am into gadgets, I own devices with Snapdragon 820 or Kirin 960, and I also have iPhone 7 Plus.
I use my main machine as a kindle, so this size is easy to use.

As for my main machine, I have used P8 MAX, SH-06F, Xperia Z Ultra etc., but they were not perfect; some were not good with camera, some were not good with audio, and with some, I didn't like their frequency band. I had to take another smartphone or specialized device because of that, but now that I got this, I don't have to take out another device.

It does have bad connection stability of Bluetooth, and the setting of VPN is deleted automatically (I don't know how it happens), so it is not perfect. However, it doesn't have big problems that I cannot stand for daily use.

What I have to mention about this is that it is better than its higher model Deluxe for its audio and visual preformance. Especailly, Tru2Life plus with specialized chip is amazing.
Frame interpolation is amazing with this. When it is in use, it plays movies with low frame rate amazingly smoothly.

Some apps for PCs do the same job, but it is very convenient with this smartphone as it applies to all the movies no matter what player app I use.

If they make this like this (it feels it is made for an enthusiast), they could make SoC 820 or 821 with higher price to make it a high-end device. I hope they do so with the later model.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 7, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 4.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.7

Cool and elegant.

I wanted a big sized phone that I can use for business and private. I got this falling in love with it at a shop.

<design>
It is simple and thin. It also feels fashionable with high-end feel. I like it.

<portability>
I don't mind it as I was after a big sized phone anyway. It fits in the inside pocket of my jacket, and it fits in my pocket on my pants. I find it light for its size, too.

<response>
It is just pleasant.
I don't play games, but I don't get stressed with this in daily use.

<voice call sound quality>
I use it for work, but it has no problem.

<battery>
As I use it often, it uses up in one day. However, I have never had trouble with it a it supports quick charge. It is great that it charges up quickly for this size.

<overall>
I had been using Apple device, but it was a great decision that I went for this. I am happy with this in every way. This is a god device that makes me feel like using for a long time.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 25, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 3.0
Response 5.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Total 4.3

I replaced Aquos Pad SH-06F with this.

It's been two days since purchase. My previous phone was Aquos Pad SH-06F.

I find the usability bad. I might be used to Aquos Pad too much.

The home button and the back button seem to be further at the bottom for my hand, and they are difficult to press. It might be the matter of getting used to...

Sound quality, camera and the battery life are good.

The display doesn't get dark with the heat even when I am using Google Navi while charging.

I would have been very happy with this if it was water resistant...

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 9, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 3.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.4

ZenFone 3 Ultra ZU680KL review

I bought Xperia Z Ultra on the day it was released three years ago. I loved it and I had been using it, but after three years, I started to feel unhappy with its specification.
I was waiting for the successor model from SONY, but it seemed they were not releasing it, so I decided on this model.

New smartphones work lightly. I like it.
All in all, I am happy with this, but there are several points I am unsure about.
Firstly, it is difficult to operate the volume button when they are on the back. Because I use a diary case, controlling the volume is not so easy.
Also, though it has two speakers, it is not good that they are both at the bottom. When I watch movies holding the phone sideway the sound only comes from one side. The sound is much better than Xperia Z Ultra, though...
The display is a lot bigger than Xperia Z Ultra, so I wish the resolution was better. Well, it is still beautiful, though.

I do have complaints, but it has high satisfaction level for me as I had been using Xperia Z Ultra.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 6, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability -
Operability 3.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.7

The big display is good!

I replaced Huawei MediaPad T2 7.0 Pro. I wanted to use just one phone, and I was using moto g4 plus mainly, but I felt the screen is too small, which made me decide on ZU680KL. I avoided ZenFone as the navigation keys are only printed and they don't light up. It is better when they light up.
I couldn't decide on this easily because of the price, but I am glad I bought it.

<design>
I like it.
Is this design the recent trend?

<portability>
I chose a device with 6.8inch screen; I cannot say it is too big. I wish it was lighter, though.
Because it is narrower by 1 cm in width compared to MediaPad, so it is easy to hold. If I could ask more, 6.4inch might be the best size...

<pushbutton usability>
There are only three physical buttons; the power button on the right side of the display, home button at the bottom and the volume button on the back.
The home button is also a fingerprint sensor. It feels weak. The volume button on the back is difficult to use. It is OK while talking on the phone, but when you are looking at the display while operating, you might need to be careful; you have to press upwards from behind the phone, so you may have a sad accident of slipping your hand then.

<response>
This is the comparison with Media Pad.
It light be because of the difference in CPU performance, but this has faster processing speed. With Media Pad, I mistapped, and also it sometimes stopped while scrolling and was slow in showing the display. I was stressed then, but it is not that bad.

<menu>
N/A. I have changed the launcher.

<display>
I can changed the color with the setting as you like. It seems it has blue light cutting function, but I don't know if it really is effective. Depending on a website, it sometimes show vertically, which makes it difficult to read.

<voice call sound quality>
I only make short calls, to I don't mind it.

<ringtone, music>
I get surprised when it is set at the loudest.

<battery>
It depends on your usage. It is enough for me as I am a light user.

<overall>
It is OK with me, but it is not convenient that I cannot use an SD card while using DSDS. This device seems to be big enough to make a slot for it... Having said that, this is the best device foe me at the moment.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 26, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 3.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 3.0
Total 4.3

I used to use Z Ultra and Z3, but replaced them with this.

<design>
It looks luxurious with metal used fully. It is as good as high-end smartphones from other makes.

<portability>
I carried Z Ultra for using with wi-fi connection and Z3 for voice calls, so I am happy that now I only have to carry one device, ZenFone 3 Ultra.

<pushbutton usability>
It was difficult to operate at first because the physical button felt hard and I was used to having a key on the screen. But I have no problem with it now as I got Bar Launcher app.

<response>
Fast. It is fast in this order; ZenFone 3 Ultra, Z3 and then Z Ultra.

<menu>
With Sony, I can only choose some preinstalled fonts, but with ZenFone 3 Ultra, I can install font I like using i-Font app. I like it. As for home launcher, I had used NOVA and customized a lot. Now that I have customized ZenFone 3 Ultra in the same way, there is not much difference.

<display>
Enough and necessary.

<voice call sound quality>
ZenFone 3 Ultra has a good speaker, so it is very easy to listen to. Overall voice call sound quality is more satisfying than I had imagined.

<ringtone, music>
When it is held vertically, the speaker has excellent sound. But sadly, when I put it sideway, its performance drops.

<battery>
It lasts longer than I imagined. It lasts for a day even when I use it heavily. I always carry 10000mAh battery anyway, so I am not so fussy about battery life, but I give it 5 stars when it lasts for two days fully used heavily.

<satisfaction level>
I was waiting for Z Ultra's successor model, but it seemed it wouldn't be released, so I got this. OS is now version 6.0, so I don't need to carry two devices anymore. I am very happy.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 26, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.9

The larger, the better.

I replaced Xperia Z5 premium with this. I got this because it had terrible battery life.

<design>
It has high-end feel to it with its metallic body. Amazing. Its sides might get scratches easily, though.

<portability>
It looks like a small tablet. When I use it for voice calls, people look at me. Unexpectedly, it fits in my pocket.

<pushbutton usability>
Home button is a physical button. Fingerprint sensor works fast, too. Volume button on its back is convenient when using voice calls.

<IME>
It has ATOK installed, but it is an old one.

<response>
It has no problem and works lightly.
It has 4GB, so it works very pleasantly.

<menu>
It is easy to understand.

<display>
What I am happiest about this phone is its size and image quality. It is excellent both with WEB and YouTube.

<voice call sound quality, music>
Speaker has great sound quality. But because I watch movies with this sideway, the position of the speaker is disappointing.
Also, the sound it makes when it has focused and shutter release sound are too loud. I hope it gets improved with update.

<battery>
Because it has big capacity, I cannot use it till it goes flat in one day. I feel safe with this and power efficient CPU.

<overall>
It seems phablets are getting popular in Japan finally. This is the biggest size for a phablet. I think this will be my partner for a long time.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 7, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 3.0
Operability 4.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.4

It has achieved perfect complementarity of a smartphone and a tablet.

<design>
It is flat and has narrow bezel, so it doesn't feel big for its screen size. It is simple and has high-end feel to it. I like it.

<portability>
This definitely is too big compared to iPhone or other smartphones in general, but it fits in my pocket. It fits in my jacket pocket, too.

<pushbutton usability>
It has a home button/fingerprint sensor below the screen, so I can operate it without picking it up leaving it on a table.

<response>
It has the newest mid-high SoC, so it works very lightly. It is very fast to launch any apps.

<menu>
It is easy to use that I can bring up many functions by gesture. Because my main machine is iPhone, I got muddled, but once I got used to it, I have no problem with it.

<display>
I was worried as it is only FHD for 6.9inch display. But I didn't need to worry about it. It is amazingly beautiful. It especially shows its ability when playing movies. You definitely would be impressed how smooth it looks and its little afterimage for quick moves. It is way smoother my iPad Pro.

<voice call sound quality>
It is clear and easy to hear.

<ringtone, music>
Average!

<battery>
It lasts well. It has about 50% of battery remaining at night for my usage.

<overall>
There are not many devices you can have amazing experience with like this smartphone. I have used ZenFone3, ZenFone 3 DX, Mate 9, iPhone 6S etc. within past 6 months, but this is the one I was impressed with the most when I opened that box and touched it. If you seek portability, I recommend other device, but if you would like to satisfy your desire to possess, this would be a good choice, too.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 14, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 4.0
Response 4.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Total 4.6

I'm glad I bought this!

I use 5.2inch Xperia Z5 for a smartphone, and 10.1inch Xperia Z2 Tablet (Wi-Fi model) for a tablet. I got this thinking this would be a handy size to take out for its size being between these two devices and has 4GB. 6.8inch is excellent. I'm very happy with this.

<design>
It is simple in design. With its full-metal body, it has both luxurious feel and rigidity. It is thin and light.

<portability>
I would like you to understand this evaluation as a device with 6.8inch display, but this is just right. It is thin and light with FHD, and it fits in a chest pocket of my jacket. If it was 7inch or 8inch, it would be difficult to do so, but I can do so with this device. Good.

<pushbutton usability>
The power button is in the middle of its side, so it is well balanced design-wise. Having said that, thinking when I turn it on and hold, it would have been better if it was positioned lower.
The home button feels heavy, so it needs to be lighter or the stroke is shallower or make it a touch key.
Also, the back button and menu key need to be touched properly to get it responded.
From the usability of the home button and menu key, I got stars off of it.

<response>
It works lightly with launching apps, changing between pages, and so on. It is pleasant to use.

<menu>
The setting menu is relatively subdivided small and hierarchy is not so deep. So it is easy to reach where you want to.
Dropdown list from menu button has a big icon and easy to understand.

<display>
The coloring is rich, and it is rather warm. It is not too sharp and is bright. It is a good screen.
When I watch movies with 5inch smartphones, I need to have a close look at it sometimes, but with 6.8inch display of this smartphone, my eyes don't get tired as much, so I can keep watching for a long time.
On the other hand, I need to pinch in as I read e-books and Nikkei online paper which I was able to read somehow with Z2 Tablet, but I can still see the entire page, so it is not a big disadvantage.

<voice call sound quality>
N/A. I use data SIM.

<camera>
Ability of description and color reproductivity are both good. I can do detailed manual setting, so once you get used to this, I think you can use it fully.
It shows a bar in the center for leveling, so I can photoshoot avoiding objects tilting.
The shutter release sound is rather loud as other people have pointed out, and it can be a negative.

<ringtone, music>
The sound output with a headphone is good. It is not only thanks to its hardware but also ASUS's preinstalled music player app's high sound quality. It may not be as good as a MP3 player, but think this does better than Z5, which is well-known for its high sound quality.
Pitch extent, frequency balance and resolution are excellent. I can hear hi-hat cymbals clearly with and base drum sounds sharp with Hi-Res audio. Vocal sounds wet and clear, too. Localization of sound is well done, so you can immerse yourself in music.
One disappointing thing is that the preinstalled app I mentioned above shows songs in albums in alphabetical order, and it sometimes play songs in different order to its original order in the album. I hope they improve with the update of apps.
Because I mainly wrote about music, I didn't evaluate the speaker I don't use for listening to music and ringtones.
I think it was more practical to have one speaker each on top and bottom, not two at the bottom, thinking watching movies using the phone sideway.

<battery>
I don't think the battery life to be too short, but I think it consumes rather quickly for its 4,600mAh battery capacity. It is only my personal feel, but I feel Z2 Tablet with 6,000mAh has longer battery life, so I took it off stars comparing with it.

<overall>
There are some items I took stars off because of minor points I was not fully happy with, but none of them are crucial disadvantages. This device has more advantages than these negatives.
The best thing about this device is its screen size and the size of the device. This is the biggest it can be as an easy-to-carry mobile phone. Everything starts from here. Pricewise, it feels rather expensive, but it fulfills my purpose of getting this device, and it actually does better. I am very happy with my purchase.

Good Review

Gobby.ignacio@yahoo.com

  • Review by Gobby.ignacio@yahoo.com
  • Sep 30, 2016
Design 4.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 4.0
Response 4.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Total 4.0

Ang zenfone 3 is sulit!

Ito na talaga ang Zenfone 3 ko mahal nga naman ito pero ayos lang kasi ang ganda nga naman ng design nito kitang kita rin naman na ang sulit ang pera ko sa pag bili nitong aking phone. Ang gaan lang din naman dalhin nitong aking phone at hindi rin naman sagabal sa akin to. Sobrang dali lang din naman ang pag gamit nito kasi ang tagal ko ng gumagamit ng ASUS na phone kaya ang dali na lang talaga sa akin to. Mabilis din naman maka access ng internet connections kaya mabilis din akong maka download ng mga applications at games sa aking phone kaya ang ayos lang nito. Ang camera din ay ganda at ang linaw ng pag kuha ng mga litrato kaya ang galing nito. Ang lakas din naman ng volume sa speaker kaya perfect na itong phone ko at ang haba din naman ng buhay sa baterya nito kaya mas lalong sulit to kasi mas maeenjoy ko lalo ang pag gamit.

Good Review

Wallen Crisostomo

  • Review by Wallen Crisostomo
  • Aug 24, 2016
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Total 5.0

ASUS ZenFone 3 Ultra ZU680KL

Thanks to the big gift my handsome boyfriend I don't expect that you gave me this very beautiful and brand new phone I really happy to receive this kind of anniversary gift from my love. I like the design and display of this phone. Super handy and not hassle phone I want to used it. Easy to operate and used this it can also access easy the internet connection so great and I can download a lot of applications on this phone. The battery life is very long and last thing I love on it is the quality of the camera is very good and clear and also the volume of the speaker is very loud.

Good Review

Page 1 of 1

Latest Reviews for Mobile Phones

Kakabili ko lang nito feeling ko hindi ito tatagal kasi few weeks ko palang siyang binili madali ng magshut off tapos hindi soft touch yung screen niya iwan ko ka inis masyado. Madali kasi akong ...Read more

  • Rating : 2.7
  • Review by anthentic
  • Date : Oct 17, 2018

It's my first time to see such a quite appealing phone to me. I should buy this one, because sa unang tingin is talagang kapansin-pansin naman pero kasi talagang mahal siya at medyo pag-iiponan ko ...Read more

  • Rating : 5.0
  • Review by meredita
  • Date : Oct 12, 2018

Mai-co-compare ang phone na ito sa Xiaomi Mi A2 na meron ding massive na 5000mAh battery. Pinalitan ko nga lang ang ASUS camera app nito ng google camera kaya naging mas okay for me ang quality ng ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by Bea Pelayo
  • Date : Oct 10, 2018
View Mode: PC | Mobile