ASUS ZenFone 3 Laser ZC551KL Reviews

ASUS ZenFone 3 Laser ZC551KL

Lowest Price P8,495 12 Prices
Go to Shop cmkcellphones
Storage
  • ALL
  • 32GB
  • 64GB
RAM
  • ALL
  • 2GB
  • 4GB
Color
5.5 inch display and very lightweight (150 g) smartphone powered by Android 6.0 with brand-new ASUS ZenUI OS, 1.4 GHz 64-bit Quad Core Processor Snapdragon 430 CPU, 32GB main storage and 13 MP main camera
  • Phablet, Smartphone, Andr...
  • 5.5 inches, FHD (1920 x 1...
ASUS ZenFone 3 Laser ZC551KL

Compare prices

Specs

Reviews

Forum

News

Overall Rating

Design 4.5
Portability 4.1
Operability 4.0
Response 4.1
Display 4.1
Listenability 3.4
Battery 3.9
Total 4.0

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 27, 2017
Design 3.0
Portability 3.0
Operability 4.0
Response 3.0
Display 2.0
Listenability 2.0
Battery 2.0
Total 2.7

CPU (Soc) and RAM are not well-balanced?

<design>
It is up to each person's taste. It feels slippery to me, and it feels cold because it is made of metal and because I got it in winter.

<portability>
It doesn't fit in some pockets.

<pushbutton usability>
It only has volume button, power button and fingerprint reader, so it is not that bad once you get used to it.

<IME>
N/A. Preinstalled ATOK seems to be older version or cheap edition; it is a bit silly. I have purchased paid version of ATOK, so I disabled the preinstalled one and am using the one I bought.

<response>
Average. But it gets heavy when I use heavy apps or start websites with many pictures.

<menu>
It is good if you like ASUS's original menu.

<display>
It has ordinary tone of colors.

<voice call sound quality>
I have no problems so far. I have experienced no inconvenience for hearing so far.

<ringtone, music>
Sound quality is average, but it sounds loud.

<battery>
It doesn't last as long as I expected. It has many settings for it, but the battery life is not so good.
With other device, when it was fully charged in the morning, it had about 60% left at night. With this one, on the other hand, it gets less than 50 % and is about to be 40%. I am using it in the same way as my other device.

<overall>
It is supposed to have 4GB RAM, but it is about 3.5GB in reality. Also, because CPU is not powerful, it is not good for playing games. Actually, it sometimes is slow. Though it has big RAM, CPU is not powerful; it is like you can put many files on your desk (RAM) but takes time to find ones you need (CPU).

As for camera, AF is fast, but the image quality is not so good... I haven't been able to take any photos I find beautiful... Well, maybe I shouldn't expect too much for a mid-range device.

I haven't had any particular problems so far, but I felt its performance is actually not so good.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 26, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 3.0
Response 4.0
Display 4.0
Listenability -
Battery 3.0
Total 3.7

Enough performance for the price

This price for this performance is good enough. At first, I was muddled with some area, and I though it was not easy to use.

For example, it has ZenFone's original keyboard, and app menu are not shown, so I got muddled and couldn't change apps in the way I like.
But it can be changed to flick input when you change the setting, and you can change the hidden apps to be shown.
I changed a lot from its initial setting, but because I made it in the way I like, now I can use it pleasantly.

Earphone kept falling out and it was such a put off, but if you put it deeply, it fits all the way.

You may feel unhappy with it till you get used to it, but while using it, you will start to see its advantages.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 31, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.7

It is not perfect, but good as a mid-range smartphone

I wrote below comparing it with other device in the same price range or as a middle class machine. I cannot evaluate this correctly if I compare it with device in the different price range or different class with current smartphone market.

<design>
I don't feel secure because of it thinness, but I am personally happy with it in terms of its texture and color. Because it is big, women and kids may have to get used to it in using, but this is good for this price.

<portability>
It is thin but big, so some people may find it inconvenient. But some people have difficulty in typing in when their device is too small, so I think this is just right.

<pushbutton usability>
Buttons on sides are not slippery, and I like that they are poking out a little.

<IME>
It responds well, and it has ATOK installed. Very convenient. I think the response of the main key is good, too.

<response>
It is very good thanks to Gorilla Glass and octa-core.

<menu>
It has several more than ZenFone2. There are some area where it has been improved with Android 6.0.

<display>
Though it has a new one, it may not be able to handle something with high-load.

<ringtone, music>
It doesn't have anything particularly good, but it is relatively good.

<battery>
Some recent carrier smartphones have lower battery capacity, but this one has a right capacity battery.
By changing the setting of Android or installing specialized apps, its battery life can be longer. I cannot promise that, though, as I haven't adjusted mine yet.

<overall>
I bought it in the end of December 2016.
I bought this for the advantages I wrote above. This is an excellent device for those who use SIM free smartphones thinking design and balance. If you seek high performance or you are fussy, go for another smartphone. This price and memory are attractive, too.

Some people may find this disappointing expecting highly because of the make's advertisement. But there are some people who buy device early and look into them, so you should check those websites and decide which one suits you best.

Personally, if my budget allows, I would like to try other ZenFone 3 series.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 28, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Total 4.4

I replaced Zenfone5 with this

<design>
It uses metal on the body and metal plates on home button and edges. It has more high-end feel than its actual price.
As for the rear, the position of the camera, light and laser (infra red) emitting and receiving unit are different to other models.
The lens is poking out, and that makes it less stable placed on desks and that. Just a cheap case can improve this.

<portability>
I was worried as it is 5.5inch, but because it has narrow bezel and is thin, it seems not so different from ZenFone 5.

<pushbutton usability>
Just like other ZenFone series, return, home and task buttons are out of the screen. I personally like it as it allows me to use the screen. I want them to keep this with ZenFone series after this.

<response>
Going straight to the point, it is enough and necessary. Snapdragon 430 is said to be lower to middle range, but it seems it is as good as previous 600 series, which is middle to high range. I play Cinderella girls straight stage, and that gives the highest load for the phone for my usage. But even that, I can play with 3D. It should be satisfactory unless you are a heavy user.

<menu>
Because I have Asus devices, I am used to it. Even putting it aside, this is an excellent UI.

<display>
FHD for 5.5inch, so it is not as good as high-end device, but it has high resolution and looks clearly. But with the default setting, the color looks rather whitish. Personally I don't mind it, but you can improve it by adjusting with the setting.

<voice call sound quality>
To me, ringtone and notification sound only have to he heard, so volume is the only point I should evaluate. No problem.
But this speaker may not be good enough to enjoy music or movies. It would be better to use a headphone or external speakers when you listen to music or watch movies.

<battery>
Not good or bad. For my usage, it has 40-50% remaining after a day.

<overall>
It has Soc which is powerful enough, 4GB RAM, 32GB ROM, FHD and finger print sensor. The images the camera takes are flat, but it is easy to use with high resolution. It is 30,000yen for this. For those who don't need DSDS, it feels it has good cost performance especially after getting disappointed with ZenFone 3 costing 40,000yen.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 19, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 4.0
Response 4.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 3.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.4

It is a good model, but it fails in reading SIM

I bought this for my parent's birthday present.

<design>
It costs less than 30,000yen, but it has high-end feel. Very good!

<portability>
It is compact for 5.5inch. It has both lightness easy enough for my over 60 year-old parent to use and screen size big enough for his aged eyes. Excellent.

<pushbutton usability>
Fingerprint sensor is rectangle, but I don't feel uneasy about it much.

<IME>
This was bad. I installed Google Japanese Input.

<response>
As for my parent's usage, using it heavily is only for watching movies. For this use, you can use it without feeling stressed. I don't know what it would be like with games, but this is good enough for this price.

<menu>
It has many unnecessary apps, but the menu function itself is good.

<display>
I was amazed with this image quality which is as good as carrier smartphones! Incredible.

<voice call sound quality>
N/A. He use this with data SIM.

<ringtone, music>
This is only as good as I expected, but my parent seems happy with it.

<battery>
As for my parent's usage, it lasts for a few days except when he used a lot for taking pictures while on holiday. Excellent.

<camera>
I think it sounds too big, but it has good enough performance that satisfies my parent, who likes taking photos. 5 stars.

<misc.>
I bought this thinking using it with micro size data SIM, but it didn't read it first. I asked at customer service center, then they said they would replace it for initial failure. Because I bought it online, they said it would take more than two weeks to replace it. That wouldn't have made to my parent's birthday, so I decided to seek other way.
When I looked up, it seemed it would work if I make it Nano SIM, so I bought a SIM cutter. Then it read the SIM. I was relieved. But using a SIM cutter made me nervous, and the fact that the users need to do this is a critical defect.

<overall>
My parent is happy with it, so considering its performance and price, I can give it 5 stars, but the initial failure of SIM reading is a big minus.
If you are thinking buying this, in case of initial failure, it is better to buy at a physical store.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 10, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 3.0
Response 3.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Total 3.9

I replaced ZenFone Go with this

I was not happy with ZenFone 5's camera image quality, so I replaced it.

<design>
It is like iPhone. It has good texture and shape.

<pushbutton usability>
ZenFone Go had a power button on top, but this one has one on the right side in the middle, so I accidentally press it often, and I end up turning it off.

<IME>
It is not just this model, but I think smartphones of this manufacturer is rather difficult to input text.

<display>
It is beautiful with full HD. It is not as good compared to Galaxy and iPhone.

<battery>
It lasts well as I only bought this recently, but even considering that, this has an excellent battery life. It should last at least a day even when I use it heavily.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 2, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 4.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 3.0
Battery 4.0
Total 4.4

I am very happy with this

I read many people reporting initial failure, so I had a difficulty in deciding, but I bought it daringly.
As a result, luckily, I didn't get the one with initial failure.

If I try to point out points I am not happy with this, it's the shape of the fingerprint sensor; it is long and thin vertically, so I cannot touch it well when I put a thick cover on it.
Also, it would be great if the battery life was a little longer.

I am very happy except for those points.

Good Review

natasha

  • Review by natasha
  • May 19, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 4.0
Response 4.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Total 4.0

ASUS ZenFone 3 Laser ZC551KL

Maganda ang phone ko na ito kasi magaling ito sa lalo na pag sa mga mobile games itong phone ko na ito matibay talaga lags wala ito at sa design lang naman din talaga ay napaka astig lang talaga ang ganda din ng camera nito kaya idol ko ang phone na ito hindi din naman mahirap gamitin kasi may mga phone kasing maraming function pero ito simple lang pero maraming gawa!

Good Review

Page 1 of 1

Latest Reviews for Mobile Phones

I replaced Xperia Z5 premium with this. I got this because it had terrible battery life. <design> It has high-end feel to it with its metallic body. Amazing. Its sides might get scratches easily, ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.9
  • Review by Japanese user
  • Date : Jan 26, 2017

<design> It looks beautiful. I especially like Asus's unique finish on its back. I am using a transparent cover made of TPU. <portability> My previous phone was Xperia Z3. I was surprised with ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.7
  • Review by Japanese user
  • Date : Jan 24, 2017

<design> It has glass with spin finish on its back, and it looks beautiful. But it looks it might crack if I drop it, so I am using it with TPU cover on. It doesn't look as beautiful as without a ...Read more

  • Rating : 3.7
  • Review by Japanese user
  • Date : Jan 21, 2017
View Mode: PC | Mobile