ASUS ZenFone 3 Laser ZC551KL Reviews

ASUS ZenFone 3 Laser ZC551KL

Lowest Price P7,495 9 Prices
Contact Seller Shanylle General Merchandise
Storage
  • ALL
  • 32GB
  • 64GB
RAM
  • ALL
  • 2GB
  • 4GB
Color
5.5 inch display and very lightweight (150 g) smartphone powered by Android 6.0 with brand-new ASUS ZenUI OS, 1.4 GHz 64-bit Quad Core Processor Snapdragon 430 CPU, 32GB main storage and 13 MP main camera
  • Phablet, Smartphone, Andr...
  • 5.5 inches, FHD (1920 x 1...
ASUS ZenFone 3 Laser ZC551KL

Compare prices

Specs

Reviews

Forum

News

Overall Rating

Design 4.5
Portability 4.1
Operability 3.6
Response 4.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 3.5
Battery 4.0
Total 3.9

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 27, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability -
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability -
Battery 5.0
Total 5.0

My child uses it.

He used to use ZenFone 2 laser, and he replaced it with this.
He wanted a 5inch one, but it only came with 5.5inch display...
However, it is quite compact and slim though it has a 5.5inch display in real. He liked it very much.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 12, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Operability -
Response 5.0
Display 4.0
Listenability -
Battery 5.0
Total 4.6

It is good.

<design>
Since when it was first released, I found it super cool and luxurious.

<portability>
It is big, but this size is pretty average now, isn't it?

<pushbutton usability>
No problem.

<response>
The fastest among the phones I have used.

<menu>
No problem.

<display>
At first I found it a bit too white. but I can choose color anyway, and it has no problem once I got used to it.

<voice call soon quality>
No problem.

<ringtone, music>
Good.

<battery>
It lasts long enough.

<overall>
I do see reviews saying it's got malfunctions, but I have no problem. I don't have any trouble or complaint with it. With the newest model it still is inexpensive but has been improved performance-wise. Its improvement is amazing.
For me, this has nothing wrong.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Mar 3, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 1.0
Operability 3.0
Response 3.0
Display 1.0
Listenability 3.0
Battery 1.0
Total 2.3

It is not good or bad.

My first impression was, ""what a bad image quality!"" For some reason, it feels worse than Galaxy S2, the first smartphone I used five years ago.

Other than its bad battery life, it is good; it is for everyone, and is decent for its price.

If you attach importance to camera, I cannot recommend this. I personal find it inconvenient when it has this bad image quality, so I am planning to replace it sometime soon.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 21, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 3.0
Response 3.0
Display 3.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Total 3.9

The texture and the camera… good cost performance.

Though it looks metallic and has metallic texture, it is amazingly light, which I find interesting. Comparing its camera performance with other smartphone which are about 100,000yen, this is actually as good. You cannot underestimate this just because it is inexpensive.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 17, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 2.0
Response 3.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 2.0
Battery 4.0
Total 3.3

This is my first Asus smartphone, but…

I got this on the day it was released, and I have been using this since.

<design>
I don't mind how it looks as I put a cover on anyway. Sorry I am not really helpful here. I don't find it cheap, though.

<portability>
It is not that different from other 5.5inch phones. It is up to each person if it feels big or small, so please go to a shop and have a look at it in real.

<pushbutton usability>
Because it doesn't have a back light on the home button, it is difficult to use in dark environment.

<response>
Where is 4GB RAM... Because I had been using P9lite with 2GB RAM, I highly expected this to be good, but I actually I was disappointed.
I did a benchmark test, and it was clear that it was not as good. Is it because of the difference of CPU performance?
Having said that, it is not that bad, so don't worry. It shouldn't be a problem if you are a light user. I am saying it is not that good comparing it with middle range models such as P9lite and RAIJIN.

<menu>
Not good or bad. It is natural that you get muddled at first when you get a new device. You shouldn't think, ""oh, this is difficult to use"" or decide you don't understand just because you don't know it well; just try it enjoying the difference.

<display>
It is average FHD. This has blue light education mode. I don't know how effective it is as I am not using it. When I am using that mode, the images it show get yellowy.

<voice call sound quality>
N/A. I only use it for data.

<ringtone, music>
The sound of the speaker is bad. I cannot hear well without using outdoor mode. With outdoor mode, it sounds to loud...

<battery>
It is up to how you use it, but I think it is rather good. Because I only use it for data and as a substitute machine, I only charge it once in four days.

<overall>
ASUS had a great evaluation with the previous model ZenFone 2 Laser, so I got a device from Asus for the first time, but it was not satisfactory.
What it is good is the range of accessories it offers. One of the selling point of this is a camera, but I don't see it is particularly good. Well, I haven't said anything nice about it, but it doesn't mean I don't like ASUS. My main PC is of ASUS, and I am happy with it.
It is not that ZenFone 3 Laser is bad, but other phones are getting better.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 13, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 4.0
Response 4.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 3.0
Battery 4.0
Total 4.0

My evaluation two months after purchase.

My previous phone was iPhone 6 Plus.

<design>
I don't like gold, so I went for silver. It is cool! When used with Asus original cover, it looks amazing.

<portability>
It is rather big. It fits in my pocket, but it nearly drops often.

<pushbutton usability>
The display is big and easy to type. The response of the button is not as good as iPhone, but it is not inconvenient in using LINE.

<response>
I play Tsum Tsum and Clash Royale. It certainly is not as good as iPhone for playing Tsum Tsum. This is good enough considering its price.

<menu>
Not good or bad.

<voice call sound quality>
Because it has Android, I can do more about this than with iPhone.

<voice call sound quality>
It sounds loud. I don't know if it is because of SIM or the device itself. It actually hurts my ears with high tone of the sound.

<ringtone, music>
I use Apple music and Spotify for listening to music. I find the sound quality good enough.

<battery>
It lasts for a day even when I play games when I adjust the setting.

<overall>
It is excellent considering its price. It is not as good as the device which costs twice as much, but it cannot be helped... The original cover is great both look-wise and function-wise.

Mine didn't have an initial failure. I haven't experienced any trouble in two months.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 6, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 3.0
Response 3.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Total 3.9

It is nicely done.

<design>
It is not bad. The display is 5.5inch, but it is not too big. I like its slim body.

<portability>
It cannot be helped that it is big, as it has 5.5inch display. Having said that , it is thinner and lighter than other smartphones with 5.5inch displays.

<pushbutton usability>
The button is at the bottom, so it is not easy to press. The display is big, so it might be good to have settings and that on the display.

<response>
It depends on how much battery remaining it has. When it has enough battery left, it is satisfying. When it doesn't have much battery left, it is slow. There are some modes to make the battery life better, but I haven't changed the setting yet.

<menu>
It is good that it has a lot to offer, but I don't use them all anyway.

<display>
It is big, so it is easier to type. The brightness is good, too.
When you adjust the color using the setting, it gets terrible, so don't use it.

<voice call sound quality>
It is easy to hear.

<ringtone, music>
It is fine once you get used to it, but at first, I was surprised how much it muffled. But it is good that I can change the setting for movies, music and games.

<battery>
Because it has 3000, it lasts for a day even when I use it heavily.

<overall>
It is not difficult to use because of 5.5inch display. I'm generally happy with this, but I am not sure about its speed depending on the battery remaining. Because the display is rounded, I cannot put a protection film properly from the edge to edge.
Even when I tried to get another film, it was difficult to find one that fits, so it is better not to get glass film.

Though it has 4GB RAM, I really don't see its benefit. CPU does the work, so it would have been better if they went for higher performance CPU with even with 3GB RAM.
This is my first time to use fingerprint reader, but I found it quite good.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Feb 3, 2017
Design 2.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 4.0
Response 4.0
Display 4.0
Listenability -
Battery 3.0
Total 3.5

The biggest disadvantage of this phone is that a protection film won't fit properly.

This is my review comparing it with Xperia Z3.

<design>
The design itself is simple. I like it. I have no complaints here. However, the screen is not flat but slanted at the sides, so there are no protection film that can cover the entire screen. There are some which fit in the display, but when you don't do it right, the edges don't stick properly, which makes it look ugly. I didn't expect this. If you want to a protection film properly, you shouldn't get this device.

<portability>
It is light for its size. Good.

<pushbutton usability>
I am using a keyboard. Because it has a big display, compared to Z3, I don't tap wrongly as much.

<response>
It works slimily. It is more comfortable to use compared to Z3.

<menu>
Average.

<display>
Beautiful. Compared to Z3, the resolution of characters are good, which improves easiness in reading Yahoo! News and Kindle.

<voice call sound quality>
N/A. This is only for data transmission.

<ringtone, music>
N/A. This is only for data transmission.

<battery>
It is only slightly better than Z3, which I got it second hand and used it for a year. It is not as good as I expect for a new smartphone. It lasts for a day, though, as I don't play games.

<overall>
What is this slanted display? Who wants this? Make it flat considering putting a perfection film. I have no idea why they decided on this. This ruins everything though it has great cost performance.
Do we have to check if the screen is flat or not before purchase? Who would expect a phone to be like this?

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 26, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 3.0
Response 4.0
Display 4.0
Listenability -
Battery 3.0
Total 3.7

Enough performance for the price

This price for this performance is good enough. At first, I was muddled with some area, and I though it was not easy to use.

For example, it has ZenFone's original keyboard, and app menu are not shown, so I got muddled and couldn't change apps in the way I like.
But it can be changed to flick input when you change the setting, and you can change the hidden apps to be shown.
I changed a lot from its initial setting, but because I made it in the way I like, now I can use it pleasantly.

Earphone kept falling out and it was such a put off, but if you put it deeply, it fits all the way.

You may feel unhappy with it till you get used to it, but while using it, you will start to see its advantages.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 31, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.7

It is not perfect, but good as a mid-range smartphone

I wrote below comparing it with other device in the same price range or as a middle class machine. I cannot evaluate this correctly if I compare it with device in the different price range or different class with current smartphone market.

<design>
I don't feel secure because of it thinness, but I am personally happy with it in terms of its texture and color. Because it is big, women and kids may have to get used to it in using, but this is good for this price.

<portability>
It is thin but big, so some people may find it inconvenient. But some people have difficulty in typing in when their device is too small, so I think this is just right.

<pushbutton usability>
Buttons on sides are not slippery, and I like that they are poking out a little.

<IME>
It responds well, and it has ATOK installed. Very convenient. I think the response of the main key is good, too.

<response>
It is very good thanks to Gorilla Glass and octa-core.

<menu>
It has several more than ZenFone2. There are some area where it has been improved with Android 6.0.

<display>
Though it has a new one, it may not be able to handle something with high-load.

<ringtone, music>
It doesn't have anything particularly good, but it is relatively good.

<battery>
Some recent carrier smartphones have lower battery capacity, but this one has a right capacity battery.
By changing the setting of Android or installing specialized apps, its battery life can be longer. I cannot promise that, though, as I haven't adjusted mine yet.

<overall>
I bought it in the end of December 2016.
I bought this for the advantages I wrote above. This is an excellent device for those who use SIM free smartphones thinking design and balance. If you seek high performance or you are fussy, go for another smartphone. This price and memory are attractive, too.

Some people may find this disappointing expecting highly because of the make's advertisement. But there are some people who buy device early and look into them, so you should check those websites and decide which one suits you best.

Personally, if my budget allows, I would like to try other ZenFone 3 series.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 28, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Total 4.4

I replaced Zenfone5 with this

<design>
It uses metal on the body and metal plates on home button and edges. It has more high-end feel than its actual price.
As for the rear, the position of the camera, light and laser (infra red) emitting and receiving unit are different to other models.
The lens is poking out, and that makes it less stable placed on desks and that. Just a cheap case can improve this.

<portability>
I was worried as it is 5.5inch, but because it has narrow bezel and is thin, it seems not so different from ZenFone 5.

<pushbutton usability>
Just like other ZenFone series, return, home and task buttons are out of the screen. I personally like it as it allows me to use the screen. I want them to keep this with ZenFone series after this.

<response>
Going straight to the point, it is enough and necessary. Snapdragon 430 is said to be lower to middle range, but it seems it is as good as previous 600 series, which is middle to high range. I play Cinderella girls straight stage, and that gives the highest load for the phone for my usage. But even that, I can play with 3D. It should be satisfactory unless you are a heavy user.

<menu>
Because I have Asus devices, I am used to it. Even putting it aside, this is an excellent UI.

<display>
FHD for 5.5inch, so it is not as good as high-end device, but it has high resolution and looks clearly. But with the default setting, the color looks rather whitish. Personally I don't mind it, but you can improve it by adjusting with the setting.

<voice call sound quality>
To me, ringtone and notification sound only have to he heard, so volume is the only point I should evaluate. No problem.
But this speaker may not be good enough to enjoy music or movies. It would be better to use a headphone or external speakers when you listen to music or watch movies.

<battery>
Not good or bad. For my usage, it has 40-50% remaining after a day.

<overall>
It has Soc which is powerful enough, 4GB RAM, 32GB ROM, FHD and finger print sensor. The images the camera takes are flat, but it is easy to use with high resolution. It is 30,000yen for this. For those who don't need DSDS, it feels it has good cost performance especially after getting disappointed with ZenFone 3 costing 40,000yen.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 19, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 4.0
Response 4.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 3.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.4

It is a good model, but it fails in reading SIM

I bought this for my parent's birthday present.

<design>
It costs less than 30,000yen, but it has high-end feel. Very good!

<portability>
It is compact for 5.5inch. It has both lightness easy enough for my over 60 year-old parent to use and screen size big enough for his aged eyes. Excellent.

<pushbutton usability>
Fingerprint sensor is rectangle, but I don't feel uneasy about it much.

<IME>
This was bad. I installed Google Japanese Input.

<response>
As for my parent's usage, using it heavily is only for watching movies. For this use, you can use it without feeling stressed. I don't know what it would be like with games, but this is good enough for this price.

<menu>
It has many unnecessary apps, but the menu function itself is good.

<display>
I was amazed with this image quality which is as good as carrier smartphones! Incredible.

<voice call sound quality>
N/A. He use this with data SIM.

<ringtone, music>
This is only as good as I expected, but my parent seems happy with it.

<battery>
As for my parent's usage, it lasts for a few days except when he used a lot for taking pictures while on holiday. Excellent.

<camera>
I think it sounds too big, but it has good enough performance that satisfies my parent, who likes taking photos. 5 stars.

<misc.>
I bought this thinking using it with micro size data SIM, but it didn't read it first. I asked at customer service center, then they said they would replace it for initial failure. Because I bought it online, they said it would take more than two weeks to replace it. That wouldn't have made to my parent's birthday, so I decided to seek other way.
When I looked up, it seemed it would work if I make it Nano SIM, so I bought a SIM cutter. Then it read the SIM. I was relieved. But using a SIM cutter made me nervous, and the fact that the users need to do this is a critical defect.

<overall>
My parent is happy with it, so considering its performance and price, I can give it 5 stars, but the initial failure of SIM reading is a big minus.
If you are thinking buying this, in case of initial failure, it is better to buy at a physical store.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 10, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 3.0
Response 3.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Total 3.9

I replaced ZenFone Go with this

I was not happy with ZenFone 5's camera image quality, so I replaced it.

<design>
It is like iPhone. It has good texture and shape.

<pushbutton usability>
ZenFone Go had a power button on top, but this one has one on the right side in the middle, so I accidentally press it often, and I end up turning it off.

<IME>
It is not just this model, but I think smartphones of this manufacturer is rather difficult to input text.

<display>
It is beautiful with full HD. It is not as good compared to Galaxy and iPhone.

<battery>
It lasts well as I only bought this recently, but even considering that, this has an excellent battery life. It should last at least a day even when I use it heavily.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jan 2, 2017
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 4.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 3.0
Battery 4.0
Total 4.4

I am very happy with this

I read many people reporting initial failure, so I had a difficulty in deciding, but I bought it daringly.
As a result, luckily, I didn't get the one with initial failure.

If I try to point out points I am not happy with this, it's the shape of the fingerprint sensor; it is long and thin vertically, so I cannot touch it well when I put a thick cover on it.
Also, it would be great if the battery life was a little longer.

I am very happy except for those points.

Good Review

natasha

  • Review by natasha
  • May 19, 2017
Design 4.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 4.0
Response 4.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Total 4.0

ASUS ZenFone 3 Laser ZC551KL

Maganda ang phone ko na ito kasi magaling ito sa lalo na pag sa mga mobile games itong phone ko na ito matibay talaga lags wala ito at sa design lang naman din talaga ay napaka astig lang talaga ang ganda din ng camera nito kaya idol ko ang phone na ito hindi din naman mahirap gamitin kasi may mga phone kasing maraming function pero ito simple lang pero maraming gawa!

Good Review

Page 1 of 1

Latest Reviews for Mobile Phones

Napaka laki ng screen nito kaya okay manuod ng movie at pang games. Malinaw at nag rerspond ang screen hndi mabagal. Big and fast performance. Aprub to sa akin!

  • Rating : 4.6
  • Review by Patty Claire
  • Date : Aug 17, 2018

Yung battery nito ay hindi talaga maganda. Kapag ginagamit ko ang phone na ito sa pagba-bike ko na may bluetooth music at maps at 4G pero naka off ang screen, nagtatagal lang ang battery nito ng ...Read more

  • Rating : 2.7
  • Review by Applez Cruzado
  • Date : Aug 16, 2018

May ganito akong phone recently pero hindi ko siya nagustuhan and I'm not a pro-gaming lad kaya I don't like its specs specially ang framework ng mobile phone na ito. As what I remembered parang one ...Read more

  • Rating : 3.6
  • Review by *XEN2*
  • Date : Aug 15, 2018
View Mode: PC | Mobile