ASUS ZenFone 2 ZE551ML 32GB Reviews

ASUS ZenFone 2 ZE551ML 32GB

Lowest Price P7,563 13 Prices
RAM
  • ALL
  • 2GB
  • 4GB
Color
ZE551ML features 5.5" display with Android 5.0 Lollipop, Atom Z3580 2.3 GHz / Z3560 1.8 GHz processor.
  • Release date : Mar 2015
  • Phablet, Android 5.0 Loll...
  • 5.5 inches (~403 ppi pixe...
  • 2G, 3G, 4G (LTE), 32GB, 2... more specs
Related Models
ASUS ZenFone 2 ZE551ML 32GB
Latest model
ASUS ZenFone 2 Laser ZE550KL
4.1(13)
P6,900 - (17 Prices)

Compare prices

Specs

Reviews

Forum

Overall Rating

Design 4.0
Portability 3.4
Operability 3.6
Response 4.7
Display 4.2
Listenability 3.9
Battery 3.0
Total 3.8

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jun 23, 2015
Design 2.0
Portability 1.0
Operability 2.0
Response 4.0
Display 3.0
Listenability 3.0
Battery 1.0
Total 2.3

My impression of using it in Taiwan

<design>
They are copying the design of HTC too much. This is too heavy, and it is lacking in good taste.

<portability>
5.5inch. I can say it has almost no portability.

<pushbutton usability>
Not so good.

<IME>
This has Android 5.0, but it doesn't have lollipop design like Sony and the way of text input remains as that of Android 4.1. Very inconvenient!

<response>
I admit this has 64bit! Good response!

<menu>
It had many various tooltype apps, but it was too crowded. It made me sick.

<display>
Not so good.

<voice call sound quality>
Nothing I would like to write about.

<ringtone, music>
I can clearly hear the difference in its performance with Sony. Just terrible!

<battery>
I went for 4G (LTE). When I use this for Twitter and listen to music connecting SRS-X11 with NFC, this only lasts less than a day... . Also, when I charge this from 13%, surprisingly, it takes over 23 hours...

<overall>
It is a good smartphone as a phone from Taiwan. It is better than HTC. But Sony users will find this appalling. I don't use this even as a substitute machine.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jun 22, 2015
Design 5.0
Portability 3.0
Operability 2.0
Response 4.0
Display 2.0
Listenability 3.0
Battery 3.0
Total 3.1

Cost performance is outstanding

I have used iPhone 5, Nexus 7 2013 (SIM free) then this device. I use my feature phone for voice calls, and I use this with data SIM. This is my review using it for a month after purchase.

<design>
I like hairline finish on its back. I see some reviews saying the texture is not good, but it is not as bad as I thought. I think it is good for its price.

<portability>
Not good or bad. I don't find it heavy or light. As my previous phone was Nexus 7, I am enjoying the benefit of having a ""mobile"" phone after a long time.

<pushbutton usability>
The volume button on its back is not as bad as I thought. But when I put it in a leather case, because it has to have more holes for it, it bends. The power button is small and difficult to use. Terrible. I can turn the screen on and off by double tap, so I use that function.

<IME>
I changed it to Google IME. I had an impression of the default one being not so good.

<response>
Nexus 7 was so good that it was difficult to believe it was an old model, but this is even better. When 2GB RAM model is this good, I cannot help wondering what 4GB RAM model is like.

<menu>
Default one was not so good in usability, so I changed the launcher. I can use the same launcher as my previous phone with Android; I appreciate Android's flexibility and extensibility.

<display>
The image quality is good. The color temperature adjustment app which is installed as default is very useful. When it is set at the brightest, it is OK, but when it is set at the darkest, I feel it is still too bright... I often use it when I rest during nighttime driving, so it is a little problematic.

<voice call sound quality>
I only have data SIM, so I am only using LINE and Skype. Average. I didn't feel anything particular.

<battery>
I don't find it good. I wonder if it is supposed to be like this. When I play games and watch movies, the battery goes down really quickly. I can charge it in my car or at work all the time, so I don't find it inconvenient, but I do get an impression that it uses a lot of battery.

<overall>
I can see some points they could have been better, but its cost performance outweighs. If you see 5.5inch as ""it has the benefits of both smartphones and tablets"" or ""it is good for neither one thing nor the other"" makes difference in convenience. As for me, because I replaced iPhone 5 with Nexus 7, I enjoyed convenience and fun of big displays but I was feeling inconvenience in its portability. So this feels right for me.
But I use this for surfing the Internet and playing games using data SIM; if you own just this device, you may not be happy to hold this big device as a phone.

It can be said for Nexus 7 2013, too, but when I use this for games and watching movies, it gets warm... well, hot. When I am not paying much attention to it, it gets hard to hold.

If I have a worry about this phone, I would say I am worried about the time it brake because Asus has poor after service support even within warranty.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jun 20, 2015
Design 4.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 3.0
Response 5.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 3.0
Total 3.9

Its comfort in use is OK

I got this as a prize on the Internet, so I am using it. I have Xperia Z3 and tablet Z2, so I am comparing it with them.

With Antutu benchmark, it scored 40,439. It is about the same as Z3 or Z2. It has no sluggishness, so I can use it comfortably.
It would have been great if it had mobile wallet function and was water resistant.
I drop it without a cover as it is rounded. Covers are necessary. I cannot put a strap on, so I need to put it on a cover.
Because the home button doesn't light up, I need to operate it relying on my sense in darkness.
I am worried if USB port would last for two years as this is a product of Asus

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jun 19, 2015
Design 4.0
Portability 3.0
Operability 3.0
Response 5.0
Display 4.0
Listenability -
Battery 4.0
Total 3.8

It's worth more than its price, but...

<design>
It has rounded form and I find it cool. But when I use it on a table, it is unstable. I want them to do something about it.

<portability>
When a device is 5.5inch, it is a little heavy and big. This is the biggest it can be to fit in a chest pocket.

<pushbutton usability>
When I start it from sleep to see the page I was watching, sometimes it doesn't respond.

<IME>
Nothing to complain about. Amazing ATOK.

<response>
Nothing to complain about. Android has improved a lot, too.

<menu>
It has big characters, so it is easy to see.

<display>
I find the screen rather dark.

<battery>
When I use it connecting the Internet for two hours, it has about 50% remaining. It is much better than before.

<overall>
This is the third generation. I can see Android's big improvement. The response is good, and it works smoothly. It is good enough for web browsing.

It is a pity that there are Asus's original apps that cannot be uninstalled.

When I start from sleep, it fails to respond when I tap the image connecting the Internet, and wi-fi connection gets disconnected. This has some small problems, but I hope they do something about it with upgrade.

This size is perfect for putting it in a chest pocket, holding in one hand and operating with the other hand. Personally, I want a smartphone which is about 4-inch that I can hold and operate with the same hand.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jun 17, 2015
Design 4.0
Portability 3.0
Operability 3.0
Response 4.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 3.0
Battery 2.0
Total 3.3

Well, I'm not sure about this

It's only been a few days since I started using this, but it uses a lot of battery. Voice call is not good either. Also, though it cannot be helped because it is an Asus device, there are too many unwanted apps and they are using memory for no use. Also, the cleaning app is the one I totally hate, and it bothers me.
If this hadn't had this or unnecessary apps, this would have been really good.
To be honest, secondhand Ascend 7 was better. If it didn't have failure, I hadn't had to buy this.
Well, having said that, this is better than Chinese smartphones as they know about Japanese market better; every detail is well thought out.
It makes me feel ridiculous to have a carrier smartphones; these types of phones make me realize how bad carrier smartphones are.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jun 16, 2015
Design 4.0
Portability 3.0
Operability 3.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 3.0
Battery 2.0
Total 3.6

I'm pretty happy with this

I used it for a month and a half with data SIM. I have used three tablets in four years, but this is my first smartphone. I used tablets with mobile router, but the battery life of mobile router was bad, and it only lasted for 8 hours. So I bought this.

<design>
The back lid is cheap, but the design isn't bad. You need to open the back lid to put SIM in, and you need to be careful with scratch.

<portability>
Because the display is 5.5inch, I think this is reasonable. You have to choose between big screen or portability.

<pushbutton usability>
The power button is located in the middle at the top, so it is very difficult to use. But I can put it in sleep or start by double clicks anyway, so I don't mind it.

<IME>
I used Google with tablets, but ATOK is better.

<response>
No problem. But when I change the connection setting to choose between wi-fi or LTE to save power, right after the change, I cannot put it in sleep or start by double click possibly because it uses CPU power for connection.

<menu>
I don't know if it's Asus's menu or the function of 5.0, but it is easy to use.

<display>
It is bright and beautiful.

<voice call sound quality>
I use it with data SIM, but I use LaLa call. Voice call sound is average.

<ringtone, music>
Average.

<battery>
This is not good. This is not as bad as a mobile router, but it only lasts for a day or day and a half.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jun 12, 2015
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 4.0
Response 5.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 3.0
Total 4.1

I am satisfied

<design>
I like texture of the back lid. It doesn't feel cheap. But when I took it out of the box, glue-like thing was stuck on the back lid, and I wonder what it was.

<portability>
As my previous phone was iPhone 4S, I find this very big. But it fits well in my hand, and is easy to hold.

<pushbutton usability>
The space between panel keys is narrower than ZenFone 5. When I tried ZenFone 5 at a shop, I thought it is difficult to reach with my fingers, especially to back key. ZenFone 2, on the other hand, seems to be fine even with those who have small hands. Also, it has the function of showing the lock screen by double tap on the screen when it is at sleep, and putting in sleep with double tap. This is very convenient.
Panel keys don't have backlights, so they can be difficult to use in dark environment, but when you put it in one hand mode, those keys are shown on the display, so it is convenient for using it in dark.

<IME>
ATOK is preinstalled as standard IME, and I don't have any particular complaints with it. As for easiness of text input, iPhone wins.

<response>
No complaints. It works lightly. As I don't play games, there are some things I may not know about, but for web browsing, I have no complaints.

<menu>
It has many Asus original apps as default. Because I don't use most of them, I just find them annoying.
When I slide down, it shows the functions of wi-fi, freeing up of memory and that. I find it easy to use.

<display>
It is rather dark, and I find it difficult to see outside. The display itself is bright and has beautiful image quality.
Camera has good image quality, and I can take macro photos beautifully, too. I am not happy with its slow response of focus and shutter.

<voice call sound quality>
It is average. It is not difficult to hear and the volume is not too small.

<ringtone, music>
I don't listen to music with smartphones. N/A.

<battery>
I cannot say its battery life is good even as a compliment. When I surf the Internet for 2-3hours, use LINE for 2 hours or so, and use a bit of Twitter and Facebook, it goes down to under 15% at night. I'm worried what this would be like after a year. Mine is only 2GB RAM, so I assume it would be worse if it is with 4GB model...

<overall>
I can use it without feeling uneasy even though my previous phone was iPhone. The response is as I expected, and it has easy to use convenient functions that are signature of ZenFone 2. If you don't play games often like me, 2GB RAM model would be enough.
One and only disadvantage is its battery life. Other than that, I don't have any complaints, and I can recommend this.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jun 11, 2015
Design 4.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 3.0
Response 5.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 3.0
Total 4.0

This definitely worths more than its price

I ordered it at Asus Shop, and it was delivered on the release date.
This is my 10th smartphone. Recent phones I used are Xperia Z, Galaxy Note 3 and iPhone 5c. My review is based on my experience with these.

<design> 4 stars
This is about half the price of mainstream smartphones like iPhone, Galaxy, Xperia and that, but this still has high-end feel. Hairline finish on its back is good, too. It is nice red.

<portability> 4 stars
5.5inch and 170g, so it is bulky. It is thicker and heavier compared to Galaxy Note 3. The rounded back makes it easy to hold.

<pushbutton usability> 3 stars
The power button on top is difficult to press when I compare it with other smartphones, and it doesn't have clicking feel when I press it. Bad. But it makes it easy to hold that this doesn't have buttons on its sides.

<IME> 5 stars
This is the first time for me to use ATOK, but as I have heard, this is easy to use.

<response> 5 stars
I chose 2GB RAM model, but it works with no problems. It is as good as Note3 which has 3GB RAM.

<menu> N/A
I was to use ZenUI, but I changed to GO launcher I am used to use.

<display> 4 stars
The brightness set at the brightest is still dark, so it may be a little difficult to see outside. It has no problems inside.

<sound quality> 5 stars
It sounds big enough. No problem.

<ringtone, music> 3 stars
The variety of ringtones is not much, and they are not good in taste either.

<battery> 3 stars
It is about the same as Note 3. For using it for about two hours for LINE, a few voice calls and surfing the Internet, this should last from the morning to the night. If you play games and watch movies a lot, half a day would be the best it could do. It is good that it charges up in two hours or so.

<overall> 4 stars
This is a device with high cost performance. Even when you don't go for 4GB RAM, this would be enough as a recent smart phone. Moreover, it is great that it doesn't have carrier logo. It looks nice and simple. If it had better battery life, this would have been excellent.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jun 10, 2015
Design 3.0
Portability 2.0
Operability 2.0
Response 4.0
Display 3.0
Listenability -
Battery 2.0
Total 2.7

This was too much for me

The product I bought is Asus/ZenFone 2 (2G/32G)
I bought it in early September 2015.
I paid 32,980 yen.

I use for LINE, browsing the web and checking e-mails. I watch movies sometimes. I don't make phone calls or play games. I use my feature phone when I make calls.

<display>
This is big and easy to see. I have big fingers and I couldn't press keys with my previous phone, Stream X, but this one has big screen and keys are easy to use.
As for movies, this looks beautiful. I'm very happy with this.

<usability>
Because the volume button is on its back, it is difficult to press while watching the display. (It probably is good to change volume while you are making phone calls, though.)
The ledge of the power button is only 0.5mm or so in its thickness, so it is difficult to press. (I double tap normally, so I don't use it much, though.)
As for operating on the touch display, I don't feel uneasy possibly because I started to get used to it.

<battery>
Possibly because I put it in eco mode, it lasts for two full days with my usage. This consumes battery more than my previous phone Stream X, but charging it once in two days is not bad. (I think it depends on what apps you use and how often you use.)

<performance>
It works lightly. More than enough.

<misc.>
As other people are saying, preinstalled apps are using more than half of its memory. Now I know why they made the one with 4GB. I want the make to think about it.

<overall>
Thinking my usage, this was too much. For LINE, browsing the Web and checking e-mails, I could have gone for a smartphone with performance not as good as this but with longer battery life.
Full HD movies are very beautiful, and it is surprising. If you can use this fully, 30,000yen is a bargain.
I have no complaints with this performance, so I will try some ideas to reduce battery consumption. Also, this is heavy; I don't think I'll get used to it.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jun 5, 2015
Design 3.0
Portability 2.0
Operability 3.0
Response 3.0
Display 3.0
Listenability 3.0
Battery 1.0
Total 2.6

I returned it

<design>
I find it quite good as it has high-end feel, but I do't like that its back is rounded.

<portability>
This is heavier than I expected. I might feel so because it is heavy in the middle.

<pushbutton usability>
It is average. No problem.

<IME>
ATOK. I used it after a long while, then I found it uneasy to use.

<response>
Average.

<menu>
It has too many indications.

<voice call sound quality>
Quite average.

<ringtone, music>
It has many varieties.

<battery>
This is terrible. It drops by 10% an hour even when I am not using it. I felt uneasy when using it. It went flat within 5 hours though I only used it for web browsing for half an hour. Overheating problem is terrible; it gets as hot as a heat pack. I decreased the number of apps that start automatically, and I tried many optimizers, but none of them worked. Of course I finished apps. The phone itself is heavy, but I have to carry a power bank with this, so it is three times as heavy as iPhone.

<overall>
Overheating got terrible a week after purchase; it came to show its logo on the display and froze often. To turn it off, I tapped ""turn the power off"", but it didn't respond, so I had to use the power button to reboot. It showed the logo and froze a while at charging when I wasn't using, so I called the call center. The lady who took my call had no knowledge about it, and just said what probably is written on their manual. She just told me to initialize it.
It froze while initializing, and I finally got it done when I took the SIM card and SD card out.

The back cover is very hard to open, and I needed tweezers to take the SIM card out, too. Because I threw the box out in a week, they didn't exchange it saying they couldn't accept as it had a missing piece. It would take two weeks for repair, and of course they didn't offer me a substitute machine, and they said that if they couldn't replicate the problem, they would return it to me without repair. Just terrible.
Because it didn't seem to go anywhere, I just went to the shop I bought this from without expecting anything. But surprisingly, they offered me a new one to exchange. They said they wouldn't be able to give me a box, but of course I didn't have any problem with it. They gave me a new earphone and a charger, too.

Asus's customer support center seems to have bad reputation, and it is right; you don't get anywhere with it.
My SIM card or SD card could have had problems, but I had no problem using it for the first week. I didn't watch movies or games, but even Line froze.

I bought HUAWEI Mate 7 attaching importance to battery. Of course I am selling ZenFone 2.
This monstrous performance was useless for a light user like me. Also, I think I got an inferior product. I will never buy a product from this make.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jun 4, 2015
Design 5.0
Portability 3.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Total 4.7

As my first smartphone

With my wife, I said good-bye to feature phones we had been using for a long time.
The display is very beautiful. The photos and movies of my child look great.
The best thing was the text input. I was not sure about using flick input as I had been using feature phones for a long time, but ATOK gesture input that is installed as original is very easy to use. It enabled me to get used to it easily.
I know it cannot be helped for its screen size, but it would have been perfect if it was lighter. Am I asking too much?

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 30, 2015
Design 3.0
Portability 2.0
Operability 4.0
Response 5.0
Display 3.0
Listenability 3.0
Battery 2.0
Total 3.1

I replaced arrows NX with this

Arrows NX was unbelievably sluggish and I couldn't put up with it, so I bought this.

<design>
I don't attach importance to it, but it is just average. It looks cheap, but it actually is cheap.

<portability>
I did know this before, but this is big. I use one hand mode often.

<pushbutton usability>
I personally find volume button on the back is easy to use.

<IME>
It is passable, but sometimes I wonder if it really is ATOK. But then, arrows NX which also had ATOK was bad, so this might be normal.

<response>
Fast! It works without making me stressed even when I play heavy browser games. Arrows NX, which costs twice as much, was very sluggish, so this response for this price is amazing; I have no complaints with it. It feels it responds three times faster with the same browser game.

<menu>
It is easy to use.

<display>
It may be a bit dark. It is hard to see outside sometimes.

<voice call sound quality>
N/A.

<ringtone, music>
It feels the sound is muffled compared to arrows NX.

<battery>
This is disappointing. Possibly because I use it a lot, I have to charge it every day; sometimes I even have to charge it twice a day. Having said that, this information may not be helpful as I really use it a lot.

<overall>
If it was water resistant, had longer battery life and improved SIM and SD card slots, this would have been perfect. It would be better if it had mobile wallet function, but I can survive without it.
I do have many small complaints, but because arrows NX had terrible response, with the price difference, I am relatively happy with this. 3.5 stars.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 29, 2015
Design 3.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 2.0
Total 4.1

Still, this is the best at the moment

This it the only SIM free smartphone under 50,000yen, which can score 48,000 with Antutu, so this is the best at the end of the day.
I bought this on the day it was released and have used it for two months. It doesn't freeze often, and it is made not to make me stressed. Well, it is made to be so, but...

1) battery –It consumes battery incredibly fast. Over 70% of battery consumption is by Android, so it seems there are some other reasons for this, but I cannot solve this problem by myself. Anyway, it is too fast.

2) display –Dark. It is hard to see in bright environment with clear weather.

3) preinstalled apps – There are too many. I deleted them anyway.

I do have some complaints, but still, this is the best at the moment, so I just have to ignore those problems. I am looking forward to Z ultra's next model.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 28, 2015
Design 4.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 4.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 3.0
Total 4.1

I'm happy with this

<design>
It doesn't look cheap with its metal-like cover. It feels cheap, though, when you touch it as it is thin plastic.

<portability>
I had Xperia UL, which is 5inch. This is bigger than that. It got bigger by 2cm vertically and by 1cm horizontally. It fits in my pocket, but it has a big presence. I wish it had a hole for strap.

<pushbutton usability>
The power switch is hard, and it is difficult to tell if I actually pressed it or not as it doesn't feel much when I press it. Touch panel is big, so the keys shown on the screen is big and easier to operate. My hands are not so big, but I can operate it with one hand without making it one hand mode.

<IME>
I have been using ATOK from a while ago, so I have no problem using it.

<response>
It doesn't get jumpy. Pleasant to use.

<menu>
I use it as original, but it has no problem.

<display>
It is said that its backlight is too dark, but it is bright enough when using it indoors (near window where the sunlight gets in).

<voice call sound quality>
N/A. I haven't made a contract for line yet.

<ringtone, music>
Even when it says it has high sound quality, speakers of smartphones are only bonus. I don't find it good, but good enough.

<battery>
I don't play games, but it consumes battery a lot when I use it. It might be better to have a power bank.

<overall>
The battery life may not be good, but I am quite happy overall.
It would have been better if it was water resistant and has a strap hole.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 27, 2015
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability -
Battery 5.0
Total 4.8

I got it!

<design>
The rounded part fits in my palm well unexpectedly, and it is easier to hold than iPhone 6 Plus.

<portability>
It cannot be helped that it is big.

<pushbutton usability>
I feel uneasy that the power button is located on its top with this size phone. But try double tapping the screen when it is at sleep state. Very easy to unlock.
The volume button is unique. It is difficult to press while holding. It makes it difficult to misuse, though.

<IME>
Preinstalled ATOK is very good. I am happy with it along with ME572CL.

<response>
It is not sluggish at all. I was very surprised. It is more pleasant to use than iPhone.

<menu>
Good old Asus's menu.

<display>
It is easy to see. It has high density and bright coloring. It is as good as Retina.

<voice call sound quality>
N/A. I use it for data communication.

<ringtone, music>

<battery>
Even when I set the brightness high, it lasts well. But it overheats often. My hands get sweaty.
Quick charge is good. I also like that it shows the time remaining to finish charging on the lock screen.

<overall>
It was expensive, but I made a right decision buying this. Ideally, I wish it had dual SIM compatible with 3g at least for voice calls.
The back lid is very stiff. I don' think you can take it off, so make a space using your nails from gap, and slide while your nails are still in the gap. The rid gradually comes off.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 26, 2015
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Total 4.9

Good cost performance

Comparison with iPhone. I have used 3G, 4S then 5, but this time, I changed it to the phone from other make for the first time.

<design>
It is not as luxurious, but when those who don't know much about smartphones look at this, it doesn't look like a second rate product from Asus and intel logo.
I personally like its rounded back.

<portability>
It is heavier and bigger than iPhone. (It is reasonable for its big screen)
It fits in my pocket. Great.

<pushbutton usability>
Average.

<IME>
It has ""learned"", so it has no problems.

<response>
Very good.

<menu>
I am using as default setting, and I find it easy to understand.

<diaplay>
Widget? Very useful.

<voice call sound quality>
N/A. I haven't used voice calls.

<ringtone, music>
I feel it is a little bad, but I don't mind it.

<battery>
I think it uses battery rather quickly, but it is within my expectation.
The battery doesn't drop much if it is only at standby. (When you unable resident apps)

<overall>
With my first Sim free phone, I was able to change my contract to a cheap SIM company. I pay a lot less now for monthly payment for my mobile phone.
I am very happy considering its price and performance.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 25, 2015
Design 4.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 4.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability -
Battery 3.0
Total 4.2

Battery consumption is...

It's been a week since purchase.

Advantages:
- Response, slimy
- Cancelling sleep by double tapping
- 4G memory. I haven't actually experienced its merit, though.
- Big display, image quality
- Easy to hold
- Trusted place lock. It doesn't get locked while you are at certain place you set as trusted place.

Disadvantages
- Battery life is not so good. My previous phone, iPhone5S, lasted longer than ZenFone2 when I used in the same way.

Misc.
- I think I was told it charges 0% to 60% in half an hour, but it is not that quick.
- There are not many good cases yet.

Overall
It is easy to use and easy to hold for its size, so I am quite happy. But because I had high expectation, I feel it is not so good for its price. LOL.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 24, 2015
Design 4.0
Portability 3.0
Operability 4.0
Response 5.0
Display 4.0
Listenability -
Battery 2.0
Total 3.7

One of the best in terms of cost performance

It is quite good, but its back looks uncool. It is made of plastic, not metal. Having said that, it would be heavy if it was made of metal, so I assume it is OK.

I'm more worried about its overheating problem than the battery life; it gets hot, so I am worried how it would do in summer.

As for the cost performance I mentioned in the title, I think 2G is better.

In conclusion, it is a quite good product, but it may not be for everyone.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 24, 2015
Design 4.0
Portability 3.0
Operability 3.0
Response 5.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Total 3.9

A review after using it for two weeks

<design>
I like it.

<portability>
Because my previous phone was iPhone5, I get muddled with this size. The official cover is slip-proof, so I feel safe when I use this.

<pushbutton usability>
I never had this problem with iPhone, but it sometimes fails to respond when I operate it with dry hands. I cannot replicate the problem.

<IME>
It doesn't give me names in kanji. My operational problem?

<response>
It surely is good.

<menu>
The menu when I put its official cover on looks cool.

<display>
Beautiful enough.

<voice call sound quality>
Pleasant.

<ringtone, music>
I haven't downloaded music yet. Ringtones are average.

<battery>
I traveled on mountain roads using GPS system for two hours with its wi-fi on, Bluetooth on and with the brightness set to the minimum. The battery went down to 48% from 90%. It drops by 10% in half an hour.

<things I am concerned>
When I charge it with a third party charger, orange LED to light up while charging stays on even when I take the cable out.

<overall>
It would have been perfect if it had fingerprint authentication and water resistance function.
2GB model might have been good enough.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 20, 2015
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 4.0
Response 5.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 2.0
Total 4.1

I can recommend this other than its battery

I got the silver one sent. This is a review after using it for a few days.
I replaced Galaxy S4 with ZenFone2, so this is a comparison of these two.
You probably don't feel uneasy about using this if you have used smartphones before; it works lightly as it should, takes beautiful photos, and it has Asus's light and convenient tools, so it is pleasant to use. But how fast the battery consumes is not acceptable.

<design>
The rounded design makes its 5.5inch screen slim and easy to hold. I put a clear cover on, but the silver case with hairline finishes makes it not look like plastic.

<portability>
The big screen works inferior to portability, but because it has 3.3mm narrow bezel and is rounded, it is not inconvenient to carry around for men. Actually it is easier to hold than Xperia.

<pushbutton usability>
Only physical buttons are power button on the top and the volume button in the middle of tis back. I don't accidentally touch them when I hold a phone with its edge. It turns on when I double tap the screen, so I use this function most of the time.

<IME>
It has ATOK, so I can get kanji I want most of the time.

<response>
This is amazingly good. I have no problem with apps I usually use.

<menu>
You would easily get used to User IF called Asus ZenUI. This tool becomes like air.

<voice call sound quality>
It is not good or bad.

<battery>
This was problematic. I disabled software to start automatically with CleanMaster, left GPS on and wi-fi off, left it with 4G at standby, then it went down to 86% from 100% within 4 hours. It doesn't get too hot.

Good Review

Page 1 of 3

Latest Reviews for Mobile Phones

Good morning sa lahat ang matibay ko na phone na ito ay napakahusay sasabihin ko sa inyu kung paano ako napa bilib sa phone na ito kasi pwedi akung mag download ng kahit anung games without any lags ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by jan dyll
  • Date : Jun 21, 2017

Maganda pang gaming ang phone kung ito kasi naman ang bilis nito at hindi din ito hang ap kaya maganda ang dali lang e operate hindi din ako palaging nag charge na kasi hindi ito madaling ma lowbat ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by rosita
  • Date : Jun 15, 2017

Ang ganda ng bagong smartphone ko na ito ang linis tingnan ang smooth lang talaga gamitin nito tapus ang camera ang napaka linaw at ang design talaga at madali lang itong dalhin hindi mahirap gamitin ...Read more

  • Rating : 5.0
  • Review by dina frances
  • Date : Jun 6, 2017
View Mode: PC | Mobile