ASUS ZenFone 2 ZE551ML 32GB Reviews

ASUS ZenFone 2 ZE551ML 32GB

Lowest Price P7,728.00 12 Prices
RAM
  • ALL
  • 2GB
  • 4GB
Color
ZE551ML features 5.5" display with Android 5.0 Lollipop, Atom Z3580 2.3 GHz / Z3560 1.8 GHz processor.
  • Release date : Mar 2015
  • Phablet, Android 5.0 Loll...
  • 5.5 inches (~403 ppi pixe...
  • 2G, 3G, 4G (LTE), 32GB, 2... more specs
Related Models
ASUS ZenFone 2 ZE551ML 32GB
Latest model
ASUS ZenFone 2 Laser ZE550KL
4.1(13)
P6,900.00 - (19 Prices)

Compare prices

Specs

Reviews

Forum

Overall Rating

Design 4.0
Portability 3.5
Operability 3.8
Response 4.6
Display 4.3
Listenability 4.1
Battery 3.3
Total 3.9

Please feel free to post your review on this product.

Write a Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jun 11, 2015
Design 4.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 2.0
Response 2.0
Display 3.0
Listenability 2.0
Battery 2.0
Total 2.7

I want my money back right away!

This phone is the worst ever. To be more precise, the worst company.
It suddenly showed X on its reception, so I put another SIM which is usable, but the situation didn't improve. I sent it to the repair center and waited for 5 days. When I finally got it back, I expected it to be fixed but it wasn't! (I struggled for not having a mobile phone during the 5 days it was at the repair, as I use it for my work, too.)

In the description, it said they replicated the situation so they did IO/FPC to solve this problem, updated the form and initialized the storage and it was fixed. I wonder what the 5 days was… I called the repair center again and waited for half an hour, and finally someone answered the phone. The person in charge was on another phone, so he is supposed to ring me back. I am worried what would happen next. I cannot accept to send it back to repair and not being able to use the phone again. This is the worst phone I lost money on. This is just terrible. I want my money back.

I am using IIJ's voice call SIM by the way.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 30, 2015
Design 3.0
Portability 3.0
Operability 3.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 3.0
Battery 4.0
Total 3.7

A flagship killer

<design>
The ""passable"". It is better than ZenFone5. It now has hairline scratch, so it looks more luxurious and has better grip. (It looks more like a home appliance than iPhone)

<portability>
It is bigger than 4-5inch devices. But this big display is the selling point of this phone, so if you cannot understand the merit of this, you shouldn't buy this phone.

<pushbutton usability>
It responds well. I wish it had backlights for buttons.

<IME>
I have nothing to complain about its preinstalled ATOK.

<response>
It is monstrously fast. I installed tens of apps from Google Play continuously, but it had no time lags. It did its job briskly. The images of the games are slimy, to.

<menu>
Simple and easy to use. When you are bothered with preinstalled apps you don't use, you can only show the apps you downloaded. It is great that it has that sort of choice left for the users. Domestic makes cannot do that because of their relation with carriers, I think.

<display>
I was not sure about its big screen at first, but once I started using it, I cannot stop. Kindle is easy to read, too.

<voice call sound quality>
Average.

<ringtone, music>
Average.

<battery>
It still has 70% or so left at the end of the day. When I leave location information on, it uses more battery.

<overall>
It goes one step ahead, and is made kindly for its users. I read in a review that the location of the power button is on the top of the body and it is difficult to use, but you can turn it on or off just by double tapping the display. I like iPhone, but I want them to copy this.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 28, 2015
Design 4.0
Portability 2.0
Operability 3.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 2.0
Total 3.7

It is OK to be big, but…

<portability>
It is heavy. I wish it was as light as ZenFone5.

<IME>
ATOK is easy to use. (I use it on my PC, too,)

<response>
ZenFone5 is better.

<menu>
I think this is what it should be. Average.

<voice call sound quality>
Better than feature phones.

<ringtone, music>
I cannot say it is particularly good.

<battery>
It goes flat easily.

<overall>
It is heavy with bad battery life. I feel iPad2 or iPad mini are easier to use.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 22, 2015
Design 4.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 4.0
Response 5.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 3.0
Battery 3.0
Total 3.9

It is good to turn optimization off for camera

I bought this on the day it came on the market. I replaced iPhone5 with this.

<display>
I am happy with its resolution. It would have been better if I could make it brighter.

<camera>
If you don't turn optimization off in menu, pictures look like colored pictures with noise. It improved a lot when I turned it off. Super resolution mode is excellent. Beautiful. You can enjoy using many modes.

<response>
Amazing.

<portability>
It fits in the front pocket of my jeans.

<design>
It uses resin like aluminum on its back, but it is not quite there yet. You need to see it in real. It is a little slippery. It is reasonable for its price.

<keyboard>
I can adjust it to come to left bottom. No problem.

<overall>
This performance for this price. I'm glad I bought this.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 19, 2015
Design 4.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Total 4.3

Evaluation on ZenFone2

Design is of typical smartphones.

Portability is not so good.

Buttons' tracking has no problems.

It is good that it has full version ATOK.

Menu is uncool.

Some people say on the Internet that the display is too dark, but I don't think so.

Battery life is relatively long. You would need a power bank if you use it heavily. But standard charger seems it is compatible with quick charge, but I cannot see its benefit; it is slow.

Comparing this with Ascend Mate 7, this needs simple Apn setting though Mate 7 recognizes SIM automatically.

It seems there are many failures with 4GB memory model, so if you are not using apps with high load, 2GB model should be good enough.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 18, 2015
Design 3.0
Portability 1.0
Operability 3.0
Response 3.0
Display 3.0
Listenability -
Battery 3.0
Total 2.7

Bad effect of having 4GB

<design>
This probably is not everyone's cup of tea, but this isn't showy but sedate.

<portability>
Because it is 5.5inch, it comes out from a shallow pocket. I had known this beforehand, though.

<pushbutton usability>
It has no problem for operating it with one hand as the display size is adjustable.

<response>
It has 4GB memory, so it is not jumpy and it doesn't freeze.

<menu>
No complaints.

<display>
Color and viewing angle is good enough, but it is not as good as my previous phone, iPhone6.

<battery>
Not good or bad. When I have it fully charged in the morning, for normal use (browsing while commuting, watching movies, LINE and checking e-mails), it goes down to 30% by night. It doesn't last for two days.

<overall>
The biggest problem is overheating. When I watched a movie on YouTube, it got high temperature (it was about 50 degrees). I think this probably is because of 4GB memory being too much. Also, it gets hot while charging, so I get worried it being too much load for the battery. As it is becoming summer and getting hotter, I think it can be even hotter. I had reserved this before it came on the market and bought it, but I should have waited and saw reports of malfunctions.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 17, 2015
Design 5.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 5.0
Total 5.0

The best mobile

I think this is the first ASUS product which caught this much attention.

Lost of companies cannot ignore that the world's biggest make of motherboard came mainstream with this mobile device.

Now we are in the age of everyone has a smartphone each, thinking the performance and cost performance for this price, this definitely is the best.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Sep 12, 2015
Design 5.0
Portability 3.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Total 4.4

I replaced my phone

5.5inch is too big. But it is easy to hold thanks to its rounded backside.
I am using a third party view case. It makes the phone bigger, but I can receive calls and talk one the phone without opening the case, so I find it convenient.

4GB certainly does have leeway. I don't need to worry about cache at all.

As for battery life, it feels about the same as my previous phone. When I turn the eco mode on and use automatic starting manager well, it would last longer than you would expect. It is good that it comes with a quick charger.

I actually had ordered the 2GB model on Amazon at first. Considering its price and necessity of 4GB, I decided on 2GB, but Amazon made a mistake and sent me 4GB model. I realized it after finishing all the settings. I didn't realize it as they look exactly the same. When I started charging it, it did quick charge, and I realized something was wrong. That's when I checked the box and realized with the mistake. When I contacted the shop, they told me it was fine to keep using it, so I ended up using this 4GB one. I know it is a rare case, but I am happy that I got 4GB now.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jun 21, 2015
Design 4.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 3.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 4.0
Total 4.4

View Flip Cover Deluxe. Good

<design>
The display side is not bad. It may not be characteristic. The backside feels cheap in its texture. But it became perfect when I put its official View Flip Cover Deluxe. It didn't get thicker even with the cover.

<portability>
Of course it gets big when it has a bigger screen.

<push button usability>
This has no problem. Recent smartphones work lightly with its touch panel. The power button is a little difficult to press, but when I open View Flip Cover Deluxe, it automatically cancels sleep, so I don't press it at all.

<IME>
N/A. I use Google Japanese input.

<response>
No complaints. It works lightly.

<menu>
Some seem to like it, and some don't. But I find it easy to see and easy to use. Nexus5's original lollipop UI is not bad, but ZenFone2 wins for its usability.

<display>
This has high definition, and because it has IPS liquid crystal display, the visibility is good. I like that I can change the tone of the color by software.

<battery>
It is good compared to Nexus5. But when I compare this with phones with long battery life…

<overall>
I have Nexus5 and Xperia Z ultra, but I only use ZenFone2 now. This device has stability. And View Flip Cover Deluxe is just too incredible… I had never seen an official cover with as high completion level as this one. It would have been perfect if I could use LTE with SIM slot 2…

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • Jun 10, 2015
Design 5.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 4.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability -
Battery 3.0
Total 4.3

Great machine but has room for improvement

This is amazing; it has this much function and is as good as the newest smartphones from carriers. But there are some things that I am not happy with.

Firstly, its LED lights. I cannot change the color of it. I wish it was changeable. Because it has the same color, when I receive calls or e-mails while charging, I cannot tell if it was a call or e-mail without turning the display on.

Secondly, infrared light. I wish this phone had it because it is very usable when I transfer data or contacts. It has NFC, but when I tried to transfer data from my previous phone using it, it said this is not compatible with it, so I had to transfer it to memory card first.

These are the things I was not happy with. People say it gets hot, but does it really get that hot? It certainly heats up, but it is cool enough to pick it up, and it doesn't get that bad even when I use it while charging.

Also, the battery consumes quickly probably because its RAM is 4GB. My previous phone was P-03E, and it had little battery capacity of 2600. This phone feels it lasts as long as that one.

I surf the Internet for about an hour while commuting in the morning, and use it for half an hour during lunch break. I use the Internet again or play games for an hour on the way back home. When I get home, the battery remaining is about 30%. I use this only for data, so I don't use this for voice calls.

All in all, I am very happy with this!

Good Review

Kim Che

  • Review by Kim Che
  • Sep 1, 2015
Design 4.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 4.0
Response 4.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Total 4.0

simple make u nice!

The design is very simple. The portability is perfect and it also easy to bring phone. Operability is much easier and friendly smartphone. The listenability is nice it has a loud volume and also the speaker of this phone has a clear voice so it is good you can hear the voices and also the sounds if you would. The camera has a clear image. The battery performance has a long life using, so it has nice smartphone.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 22, 2015
Design 4.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 4.0
Response 5.0
Display 4.0
Listenability -
Battery 3.0
Total 4.0

I would recommend for the camera with optimization off.

I bought it on the release date.
I replaced my mobile from iphone5.

[display]
resolution is good.
It's better if the brightness will be improved a little more.

[camera]
the noise will be stand out if you don't turn off optimization by menu.
I turned it off, then it was ok.
"super resolution" mode is very nice. beautiful.
I could enjoy with various mode.

[responce]
It's just great.

[Portability]
it fits in the jeans front pocket.

[Design]
the back made by resin, like a aluminum but just one more effort..
It's better to buy after you see the real one.
a little bit slippy.
it's suited to the price.

[keyboard]
no complain.

[General Comment]
This price and this performance.
I was satisfied with this product.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 24, 2015
Design 4.0
Portability 3.0
Operability 3.0
Response 5.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 4.0
Battery 4.0
Total 3.9

2 weeks later review

[Design]
I like that.

[Portability]
I get bewildered in size because i got used to iPhone5.
The nonslip supported with cover, that's good.

[Button operability]
I had no opportunity with iPhone, but sometimes it doesn't respond when i touched by dried finger.

[Responce]
Absolutely good.

[Display]
It's clear enough.

[Listenability]
good.

[Battery]
I was driving in mountain area with wifi on, bluetooth on, GPS on. (the lowest brightness)
The batter got lost 48% from 90%.
it drains 10% every 30 mins.

[Negative point]
the respond is not good sometimes when im texting by LINE.
but you restart the app, it will be back to normal.

[General Comment]
It would be perfect if it supports fingerprint authentication, waterproof.
2G model is good enough?

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 24, 2015
Design 4.0
Portability 3.0
Operability 4.0
Response 5.0
Display 4.0
Listenability -
Battery 2.0
Total 3.7

Fantastic cost performance

It's not so bad, but the back is tacky.
it is plastics, not metal but it could be heavier if it's metal so it's ok.

In summer, I'm worried about the battery because it's getting too hot.
I think 2g is better.

I mentioned a lot anyway,
I guess it is not popular commonly, though it's good one.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 25, 2015
Design 4.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 4.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability -
Battery 3.0
Total 4.2

The battery drains....

The review after I used it for a week.

Positive point
- response, the scroll is smooth.
- The sleep mode is released by double tap.
- 4G memory. (It hasn't hit me yet.. lol)
- big display, the quality of display
- easy to grip
- the unlock function by address registration
(if you register an address, for example a home, unlocked automatically when you are at there.)

Negative point
- the battery life is not so good
(I used to have iPhone 5s and compared with that, its battery drains faster even i use in same way.)

Others
- It says the charging time take 30 mins for 0% to 60%, but it is not fast like that.
- no attractive phone cases yet. lol

General Comment
it's good operate. good to hand grip considering the size, so i'm basically satisfied.
but I was expected, so it's so so for its price...

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 28, 2015
Design 4.0
Portability 2.0
Operability 3.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 2.0
Total 3.7

The big size is nice, though...

[Design]

[Portability]
heavy, i prefer to Zenfone5's weight.

[Button Operability]

[Response]
Zenfone5 is better.

[Display]
so so.
It's good to see, compared with Zenfone 5.

[Listenability]
It's better than a feature phones.

[Battery]
it drains fast.

[General Comment]
It's heavy, Battery life is bad,
I think iPad 2 or iPad mini are more easy to operate.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 14, 2015
Design 3.0
Portability 2.0
Operability 2.0
Response 2.0
Display 3.0
Listenability 3.0
Battery 3.0
Total 2.6

I regret to buy it

Design -> I like the look and the shape of the design, but I feel uncomfortable when I am holding.
Portability -> a bit bulky to carry around
Button -> not bad, but I like iphone better
Language device -> no problem
response -> sometimes slow and not smooth. is that how supposed to be?
menu -> i customize it for my own purpose
display -> beautiful, but the Xperia which my friend has, is better after I compared them.
audio -> i seldom speak on the phone, so i have no idea
battery -> it's common
Satisfaction : I bought it because the design is good and the TV commercial advertises it very well. However, it starts slowing down and is not that portable after I bought it. Thus, I am not satisfied.
Additionally, I did not know it was made by Samsung. My friends made fun of my cellphone, and called it "chomaho" (meaning Korean phone maker in a bad way).
My colleague told me a story that his company decides not to purchase or operate any Samsung products because they had an issue with it previously. I feel ashamed of using this phone because of its reputation

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 30, 2015
Design 3.0
Portability 3.0
Operability 3.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 3.0
Battery 4.0
Total 3.7

flagship

[Design]
This is the sensible choice.
It got better to compare with Zenfone 5.
The luxurious, the grip are got better because it got hairline finish now.
(it is like a "consumer electronics", compared to iPhone.)

[Portability]
It's bigger, compared with 4-5 inch phones.
But the display size is the good point of this product,
so if you feel that it's big, it is better not to buy.

[Button Operability]
It is responsive.
I wish it has a button backlit.

[Responce]
Extremely fast.
I continued to install so many apps at Google play, but no lags.
It's very smoothly.
nothing problems for games as well.

[Display]
Honestly I was a skeptical but it's very nice actually.
It's also good to read for Kindle.

[Listenability]
Ordinary.

[Battery]
It still has about 70% at an end of the day.
It will get lost more battery if you turn the GPS on.

[General Comment]
I saw a review that it's difficult to reach the power button on the top.
but it's able to turn on/off with a double tap on the screen.
In my opinion as a iPhone lovers, I wish that it will be reflected to iPhone.

Good Review

Review in Kakaku.com

  • Review by Japanese user
  • May 17, 2015
Design 4.0
Portability 4.0
Operability 3.0
Response 5.0
Display 4.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 3.0
Total 4.0

Absolutely it's worth it more than the price.

I made a reservation at ASUS shop and got this on the release date.
I've been used 10 smartphones now,
Xperia Z, Galaxy Note3 and iPhone 5c are my recent phones.
I'll write this review based on that.

Design: 4
It's lower than half the price compared with main stream phones like a iPhone, Galaxy or Xperia but looks luxurious.

Poratbility: 4
5.5 inch display, 170g body, as it is bulky.
It's thick and heavy compared with Galaxy Note 3, but good for hand grip with this round-shaped back.

Button operability: 3
It's not easy to press the power button on the upper compared with other phones,
and also it doesn't feel the button pressing and that's bad.
But it's good for gripping than i expected because there's no button on the side.

Display: 4
I think it's a little bit hard to see it outside because the brightness is low.
but indoor, it is fine.

Listenability: 5
clearly. fine.

Battery: 3
It's almost same as Note 3.
It should be ok from morning till night for only chat, not too much call, about 2 hours web browsing.
If you watch video or play games much, maybe it will runs out within half a day.

General comment: 4
good cost performance after all.
It's not 4GB RAM though, but it's good enough as a recent smartphones.
It would be perfect if the battery life is better.

Good Review

pmaaaae

  • Review by pmaaaae
  • Jun 5, 2015
Design 4.0
Portability 5.0
Operability 5.0
Response 5.0
Display 5.0
Listenability 5.0
Battery 3.0
Total 4.6

Asus Zenfone 2 551ML

[Good]

Mabilis ang system nya and hindi sya nag hahang. And syempre as expected, malaki ang capacity nya. Sobrang ganda for gamers. And para sa mga bet na bet mag selfie, perfect sya.

[Bad]
Medyo mabilis ma drain yung battery. Tapos medyo malabo yung light lalo na kapag maliwanag. Medyo marami ng apps na naka download sa mismong phone.

Good Review1

Page 1 of 2

Latest Reviews for Mobile Phones

Maganda ang phone ko na ito kasi magaling ito sa lalo na pag sa mga mobile games itong phone ko na ito matibay talaga lags wala ito at sa design lang naman din talaga ay napaka astig lang talaga ang ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by natasha
  • Date : May 19, 2017

<design> I chose red. It has nice texture, and I am happy with it. It doesn't look cheap for its price, and it is simple as it doesn't have unwanted carrier logo. <portability> I can put a phone up ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.2
  • Review by Japanese user
  • Date : Jul 5, 2015

Ang phone ko na ito ay isang epic talaga kasi naman ang gara ng camera nito at hindi ito gaya ng iba na maganda lang sa una kaya subrang ganda nito kahit anong game na install ko okay din talaga very ...Read more

  • Rating : 4.0
  • Review by eda yap
  • Date : May 16, 2017
View Mode: PC | Mobile